About Active-PK by LCR Health

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: May 24, 2017

LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement promises to use a three-ingredient blend of naturally occurring compounds that can promote AMPK activation, leading to boosted energy, clearer thinking, decreased intraabdominal (or "deep") fat, and a faster metabolism and flatter belly.

In fact, the promotional videos claims the supplement’s ingredients might even be able to help you lead a longer, healthier life.

Just take two capsules per day with a glass of water, with or without food, and the ingredients will go to work all day after being digested by your stomach. The company tells us Active-PK is safe and effective for all Americans, who should experience maximum benefits after a few months of regular use.

There’s no doubt that we’re in the midst of an obesity epidemic, which can have all sorts of health consequences. But can you expect LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement to boost AMPK levels? Even then, might this deliver meaningful results?

Let’s kick things off by discussing the basics.

What Is AMPK & How Does It Relate to Deep Fat?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme (a substance that causes a chemical reaction) that performs multiple functions in the body. These include:

  • Inhibiting the synthesis of fatty acids, cholesterol, and triglycerides
  • Inhibiting glycogen synthesis
  • Stimulating glycolysis (the breakdown of glucose, or sugar)
  • Stimulating glucose uptake in skeletal muscle
  • Regulating some aspects of cell function (removal of unnecessary and dysfunctional components)
  • Increasing mitochondrial (a cell’s “battery”) creation

Based on these benefits, we can see that AMPK plays an important role in energy sensing, as mentioned on the Active-PK website. So it’s no surprise that one of the best methods of boosting AMPK levels in the body is through exercise (although there is some controversy about this), since it’s thought to increase fatty acid metabolism and provide more energy for cells.

With this in mind, we didn’t encounter any substantive clinical evidence listed on authoritative websites like the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed during our research that AMPK, in humans:

  • Has any specific role related to deep fat (whether stopping buildup or improving its availability for energy production),
  • That activation declines with age or as a result of overeating (or “nutritional overload” as mentioned in the Active-PK promo video),
  • That elevated activation can lead to reduced weight and increased lifespan
  • That reduced AMPK signaling can cause chronic inflammation, increased belly fat, high cholesterol and triglycerides, elevated blood sugar, or insulin resistance,

Regardless, what about the ingredients found in Active-PK?

Have Active-PK’s Ingredients Been Shown to Boost AMPK Levels?

According to the Nutritional Facts label listed on the supplement’s website, Active-PK contains the following:

  • Gynostemma pentapyllum leaf extract (1.2% damulin A) (ActivAMP) 450mg
  • Quercetin dihydrate 100mg
  • Berberine HCl 100mg

Gynostemma Pentapyllum/ActivAMP

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate that 30mg per day of gynostemma pentapyllum (Jiaogulan) has been shown to reduce cholesterol, which could certainly have a beneficial impact on overall health.

The gynostemma pentapyllum in Active-PK is Gencor’s proprietary ActivAMP, which claims to have clinical evidence that the ingredient can significantly decrease body fat mass, percent body fat, body weight and BMI, and total abdominal area. We’ve requested a copy of this study and will follow up as soon as a response is received.

Quercetin & Berberine

These same sites also indicate that 1,000mg per day of quercetin may help address some aspects of prostatitis, and that some preliminary evidence indicates berberine may slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes and help lower cholesterol levels in people with high cholesterol.

However, none of these sites reported conclusive evidence indicating these ingredients, whether alone or in conjunction, could meaningfully boost AMPK levels or produce any of the related benefits claimed by LCR Health.

What About LCR Health’s Test?

Despite this, the Active-PK promo video indicated that the supplement was tested on a group of user beginning in January 2016, which found that after two weeks:

  • 95% reported fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 73% reported losing weight
  • 81% reported losing belly fat
  • 95% had more overall energy than before

Then, after four weeks of use:

  • 100% fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 75% reported losing weight
  • 90% reported losing belly fat
  • 100% had more overall energy than before
  • 96% felt Active-PK could help them live longer

We also sent an email to LCR Health for a copy of this study and will update based on their response.

What Kinds of Side Effects Might You Experience From Active-PK’s Ingredients?

On their website, LCR Health tells us that Active-PK is vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free, and friendly for all dietary considerations. And because it consists of naturally occurring nutrients found in food products and the body, that it’s safe to use and produces no known side-effects.

However, they note that this product isn’t intended for those with preexisting medical conditions. Also that because of its ability to reduce the size of fat cells, it shouldn’t be taken by those who are “severely underweight.” And as always, you should consult with your physician before beginning any new supplements.

According to the authoritative sites mentioned earlier, gynostemma pentapyllum may cause moderate reactions with immunosuppressants and medications that slow blood clotting, while berberine could potentially cause a major reaction with cyclosporine.

How much Does Active-PK Cost?

How much you pay for each bottle of Active-PK depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $152
  • 6 Bottles: $323

The single bottle option charges an extra $3.95 S&H, while all others are free.

LCR Health provides a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, on all Active-PK orders, which you can request by calling the company at (844)-650-5933 or sending an email to support@lcrhealth.com.

What else do we know about the company?

What Can We Learn From Reviews About Active-PK’s Manufacturer?

As is often the case when we write about nutritional supplements, we didn’t encounter any online customer feedback for Active-PK at the time of our research.

However, the supplement is manufactured by Los Angeles-based LCR Health, which is a division of Live Cell Research. LCR Health also manufactures another supplement called Active Stem, while Live Cell Research produces popular options like LA-3 and QL-5.

Overall, Live Cell Research’s products had an average customer rating of about four stars here on HighYa, with common compliments referencing beneficial results (reduced belly fat and weight, improved mobility, decreased cravings, etc.), while common complaints seemed related to no results and high price.

Obviously, Active-PK is a completely different formulation, so we’re not saying you’ll experience the same. However, we believe this information can provide you with a clearer overall picture of the situation.

From a company perspective, Live Cell Research had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and six closed complaints at the time of our research. No details were provided.

Now, how do Active-PK's price and manufacturer reputation compare to the competition?

Are There Other AMPK-Boosting Supplements Like Active-PK?

If you search online, you’ll only find a couple of other AMPK activators currently on the market, such as Life Extension’s AMPK Activator ($25) and the previously mentioned LA-3 ($46.99).

In fact, comparing LA-3 and Active-PK’s formulations, they’re the exact same product, even down to the amount each ingredient. Despite this, LA-3 is marketed as a “longevity activator,” while Active-PK promises to target deep fat.

Which of these might provide the best results? We’ll conclude with our thoughts in just a second, but let’s first take a look at the person behind Active-PK.

Who Is Dr. Rand McClain?

According to his LinkedIn page, Dr. Rand McClain is a Medical Doctor at Performance Sports and Rejuvenation Medicine in Santa Monica, CA. Previously, he trained in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture at the Yo San University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences.

In the Active-PK long form sales video, he tells us that some have called him one of the top regenerative health doctors in L.A.

Does Dr. McClain’s experience and medical training necessarily mean this supplement’s right for you, though?

Our Final Thoughts about Active-PK From LCR Health

In the end, based on the mostly positive feedback from customers for the company’s other products, it certainly seems like LCR Health and Live Cell Research are focused on creating supplements that provide value.

Just like any other supplement, though, what works fantastically for you might not work at all for someone else, which is why the company stands behind Active-PK with a 90-day refund policy. You will, however, lose a couple of bucks in return shipping.

Despite these positive aspects, it seemed that authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD reported little-to-no clinical evidence that the supplement’s ingredients (singularly or synergistically) can meaningfully boost AMPK activation, or consequently deliver on its claims.

If you feel like giving Active-PK a shot, though, just be sure to speak with your doctor about any concerns you’re experiencing, what you’re expecting to achieve with the supplement, as well as any other supplements or medications you’re currently taking.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

68 Consumer Reviews for Active-PK by LCR Health

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 18 3 star: 4 2 star: 2 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 72% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Linden, Canada,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have now been using the product for one month, have seen no benefit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Murray W.

      I did finally receive my product, seems to be largely a shipping problem. I have tried the product for 2 days now, nothing to report yet.

    • Feb 11, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Murray, I'm sorry to hear that you haven't received your product. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I'll look into your account. Looking forward to hearing from you!

    • Feb 15, 2019

      Cherry K.

      I sent two emails requesting confirmation of my order and have not had the courtesy of a reply. PLEASE ANSWER MY EMAIL.

    • Feb 28, 2019

      Violet B.

      I received 3 bottles of this product a few weeks ago. I was subsequently diagnosed with endometrial cancer and my doctor advised against using this. The bottles were never opened. Any way I can return them, please?

    • Mar 3, 2019

      Samer H.

      Hi, if you can send me info on how can I order.

    • Mar 11, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Cherry and Violet, please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I'd be happy to help.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Feb 17, 2019

    Update

    One day after writing this review my product arrived. I have tried it for two days, nothing to report yet.

    (read moreread less...)
    • Previous review
    • Feb 10, 2019

    Scam

    I ordered the product a month ago. I have still not received any product. I sent two emails to the company inquiring what was happening, they don't even bother to reply. My suggestion, try a different company.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very helpful

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The review of the product and company has allowed me to place my order with full confidence. Which I will do next, if it works great. If not, at least I know my cholesterol levels may lower and my card details won't be exploited. Thank you for your information.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Houston, TX,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money! Used three bottles and had no results what so ever. In my humble opinion, it's total crap. LCR called me to see how I liked the product and I told them I got no benefits from the product at all. Their reply was that I needed to buy three more bottles. I asked the lady if she would buy more of a product that didn't work and there was dead silence. They say if you don't like the product they will refund your money...that is a joke! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Brad, I'm very sorry to hear about your experience with Active-PK. This product has helped many people but we do understand that everybody is different, which is why we will always honor our 90 day money back guarantee. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I'd be happy to begin your refund process immediately.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    After one week. Zero weight loss.

    • Miami, FL,
    • Mar 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken the product as instructed for one week and all I have lost is my money.

    How can I get a refund? Sorry, but I can not recommend this product. Looks like it just does not work for me. Great disappointment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 13, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Manuel, I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't seen the results you had expected! We understand that everybody is different so it may work for some but not others. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    It's more crap

    • North Carolina,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wound up tricked into 12 frickin' bottles of this stuff and used it as directed, with no visible or physical effect. This is just another BS hype to get your money. Leave it in your wallet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 28, 2019

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Chase, I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't seen improvements from taking Active-PK and that you feel that you were tricked into purchasing 12 bottles. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.cm and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Inches lost on waste

    • New Hampshire,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 41-year-old mom of two who has had two c-sections and I could never seem to lose that unwanted belly flop over my incision line. I have even gone as far as having lipo suction (which by the way just made the stomach look worse in that area). I started Active-PK about 40 days ago and I'm a bit in shock how much my stomach has gone down and how good I feel. I think that belly bulge is almost down to the way it was pre-children, a good two inches down.

    I'm excited to see how this product keeps working and I would highly recommend. Thanks so much!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Positive results

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first learned about Active-PK by watching a video the company put out. I decided to try it because the doctor who helped formulate this product is a reputable doctor in LA. I am a nurse by profession. I have never been a really thin person and like many have gone up and down back and fourth over the years with my weight. I ordered three bottles, a 3-month supply, and just started on my last bottle. For me, it has worked so I will be ordering more. I have lost inches and weight and am feeling good. Just as it directs, I get up every morning and take two with a glass of water. I have never experienced any side effects and it does not cause you to feel jittery. It is stated that you need to take it for a while, no miracles overnight, and I agree. Patience.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 84 out 89 people found this review helpful

    Just bought Active-PK.

    • Pembroke Pines, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the ad on Facebook during the middle of the night. I have degenerative discs in my neck, so I rarely sleep a full night and read to fall back asleep. Something about the ad caught my attention. I have never used a weight loss pill, special meals or been on any weight loss program. I watched the video and was impressed with the scientific data about weight loss. I scrolled through the website, checked the price, and thought I would order it in the morning when I could get my card. On the order screen, it said PayPal, so I went ahead and ordered it. I received my first order of Acive-PK on Tuesday, November 20th, two days later. I took the first two Wednesday morning as directed.

    I own my own business and work 10 hours a day, seven days a week. My mind is constantly tumbling with thoughts of what needs to be done. That morning at 10 am, I walked into my office with such calmness that I can’t ever remember feeling. I had NO thoughts. I was scheduled to go to a lunch with my entire family. I had been nervous that I would have to rush through it to get back to work. I actually took the rest of the day off and wasn’t stressed about it. I don’t know how to explain how fast they worked or all the benefits I have received in the last ten days.

    I have slept every single night without ANY neck pain. I have not had one migraine that usually accompanies the neck pain. I am calm and stress-free. I spend 4 to 6 hours a day driving. I was a train wreck while driving. I would curse out drivers and feel like I was going to have a stroke. I am completely calm now while driving. That change alone is miraculous.

    I also have no hunger pains. I keep snacks in my car for when I can’t eat, and I haven’t touched them. I eat a banana for breakfast and literally forget to eat until dinner.

    I can’t say enough about these pills. I tell everyone. I bought a 90-day supply and have already gone through one whole bottle giving them to people to try.

    One of my managers started his free sample yesterday and texted me at 10 am to tell me how calm he was. He texted me this morning and said he slept through the night for the first time in years. He’s calm and relaxed for the first time that he can remember.

    I’m not a paid reviewer, I don’t work for LCR, I’m just a very happy customer. I don’t even care if I lose any weight. All these other benefits are worth the money.

    I just wanted to share my story. I hope these benefits last for a long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Enjoying life again.

    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will be 75 in January and am in good health for my age, but I have been chronically tired for about 3 years. I would sleep well but wake up in the morning with no physical or mental energy. I avoided going out in the evening because I was so lethargic.

    Now I get out of bed looking forward to the day, full of enthusiasm. Instead of sitting in front of the television and snacking, I am busy with far more interesting things to do an people to see.

    Active-PK has curbed my appetite and I am slowly losing weight. I checked with my doctor to see if it was safe for me to take the product along with my blood pressure medicine and she gave me the go-ahead.

    The only minor downside for me is I am beginning to feel slightly hyper, but I will take that over being vaguely depressed.

    I am halfway through my first bottle of Active-PK and hope the benefits I am feeling will continue.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Excellent overall experience with the product: Active-PK by LCR

    • Princeton, NJ,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am understandably skeptical of the sorts of claims made by LCR because so many supplements are pitched with wild claims that don't materialize. I must say that the supporting data provided was very compelling and the guarantee of a full refund caused me to take a chance.

    Well, I note that my appetite is much more in check and I appear to have more energy while eating less. Having more energy, controlling my appetite and having my body make better use of the food consumed were my goals. I felt I was eating well, but the nutrients were not making me feel well fed. I was always tired. I am an entrepreneur and stamina is essential to my ability to perform. I very much appreciate that there are no poor side effects. Every other thing I've tried has caffeine and made me feel awful. So far, I think this product is delivering on its promise and the impact overall has been positive. I look forward to slimming down further, getting stronger and continuing to live a good life.

    If I had to note a downside, it's the continuous upselling. Just how many supplements do we need to stay healthy? At some point, it's overwhelming, confusing, and not financially feasible.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 32 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Almost what I was looking for

    • Tyne and Wear, England,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After two months of taking 2 tablets a day, I have been impressed by the increased energy I have been able to demonstrate in spite of a poor sleep pattern (usually only about 3 to 5 hours a night much interrupted by calls to the loo). This pattern normally leaves me desperate for sleep, and afternoon naps have to be taken to remain sane. Since taking the Active-PK, the naps have been unnecessary and I can keep an active lifestyle without difficulty.

    The only disappointment has been a failure to lose any of the extra 7 pounds over goal weight (defined by insurance tables, etc.) I carry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 68

Write a Review for Active-PK by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review