About Active-PK by LCR Health

Published on: May 24, 2017

LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement promises to use a three-ingredient blend of naturally occurring compounds that can promote AMPK activation, leading to boosted energy, clearer thinking, decreased intraabdominal (or "deep") fat, and a faster metabolism and flatter belly.

In fact, the promotional videos claims the supplement’s ingredients might even be able to help you lead a longer, healthier life.

Just take two capsules per day with a glass of water, with or without food, and the ingredients will go to work all day after being digested by your stomach. The company tells us Active-PK is safe and effective for all Americans, who should experience maximum benefits after a few months of regular use.

There’s no doubt that we’re in the midst of an obesity epidemic, which can have all sorts of health consequences. But can you expect LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement to boost AMPK levels? Even then, might this deliver meaningful results?

Let’s kick things off by discussing the basics.

What Is AMPK & How Does It Relate to Deep Fat?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme (a substance that causes a chemical reaction) that performs multiple functions in the body. These include:

  • Inhibiting the synthesis of fatty acids, cholesterol, and triglycerides
  • Inhibiting glycogen synthesis
  • Stimulating glycolysis (the breakdown of glucose, or sugar)
  • Stimulating glucose uptake in skeletal muscle
  • Regulating some aspects of cell function (removal of unnecessary and dysfunctional components)
  • Increasing mitochondrial (a cell’s “battery”) creation

Based on these benefits, we can see that AMPK plays an important role in energy sensing, as mentioned on the Active-PK website. So it’s no surprise that one of the best methods of boosting AMPK levels in the body is through exercise (although there is some controversy about this), since it’s thought to increase fatty acid metabolism and provide more energy for cells.

With this in mind, we didn’t encounter any substantive clinical evidence listed on authoritative websites like the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed during our research that AMPK, in humans:

  • Has any specific role related to deep fat (whether stopping buildup or improving its availability for energy production),
  • That activation declines with age or as a result of overeating (or “nutritional overload” as mentioned in the Active-PK promo video),
  • That elevated activation can lead to reduced weight and increased lifespan
  • That reduced AMPK signaling can cause chronic inflammation, increased belly fat, high cholesterol and triglycerides, elevated blood sugar, or insulin resistance,

Regardless, what about the ingredients found in Active-PK?

Have Active-PK’s Ingredients Been Shown to Boost AMPK Levels?

According to the Nutritional Facts label listed on the supplement’s website, Active-PK contains the following:

  • Gynostemma pentapyllum leaf extract (1.2% damulin A) (ActivAMP) 450mg
  • Quercetin dihydrate 100mg
  • Berberine HCl 100mg

Gynostemma Pentapyllum/ActivAMP

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate that 30mg per day of gynostemma pentapyllum (Jiaogulan) has been shown to reduce cholesterol, which could certainly have a beneficial impact on overall health.

The gynostemma pentapyllum in Active-PK is Gencor’s proprietary ActivAMP, which claims to have clinical evidence that the ingredient can significantly decrease body fat mass, percent body fat, body weight and BMI, and total abdominal area. We’ve requested a copy of this study and will follow up as soon as a response is received.

Quercetin & Berberine

These same sites also indicate that 1,000mg per day of quercetin may help address some aspects of prostatitis, and that some preliminary evidence indicates berberine may slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes and help lower cholesterol levels in people with high cholesterol.

However, none of these sites reported conclusive evidence indicating these ingredients, whether alone or in conjunction, could meaningfully boost AMPK levels or produce any of the related benefits claimed by LCR Health.

What About LCR Health’s Test?

Despite this, the Active-PK promo video indicated that the supplement was tested on a group of user beginning in January 2016, which found that after two weeks:

  • 95% reported fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 73% reported losing weight
  • 81% reported losing belly fat
  • 95% had more overall energy than before

Then, after four weeks of use:

  • 100% fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 75% reported losing weight
  • 90% reported losing belly fat
  • 100% had more overall energy than before
  • 96% felt Active-PK could help them live longer

We also sent an email to LCR Health for a copy of this study and will update based on their response.

What Kinds of Side Effects Might You Experience From Active-PK’s Ingredients?

On their website, LCR Health tells us that Active-PK is vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free, and friendly for all dietary considerations. And because it consists of naturally occurring nutrients found in food products and the body, that it’s safe to use and produces no known side-effects.

However, they note that this product isn’t intended for those with preexisting medical conditions. Also that because of its ability to reduce the size of fat cells, it shouldn’t be taken by those who are “severely underweight.” And as always, you should consult with your physician before beginning any new supplements.

According to the authoritative sites mentioned earlier, gynostemma pentapyllum may cause moderate reactions with immunosuppressants and medications that slow blood clotting, while berberine could potentially cause a major reaction with cyclosporine.

How much Does Active-PK Cost?

How much you pay for each bottle of Active-PK depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $152
  • 6 Bottles: $323

The single bottle option charges an extra $3.95 S&H, while all others are free.

LCR Health provides a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, on all Active-PK orders, which you can request by calling the company at (844)-650-5933 or sending an email to support@lcrhealth.com.

What else do we know about the company?

What Can We Learn From Reviews About Active-PK’s Manufacturer?

As is often the case when we write about nutritional supplements, we didn’t encounter any online customer feedback for Active-PK at the time of our research.

However, the supplement is manufactured by Los Angeles-based LCR Health, which is a division of Live Cell Research. LCR Health also manufactures another supplement called Active Stem, while Live Cell Research produces popular options like LA-3 and QL-5.

Overall, Live Cell Research’s products had an average customer rating of about four stars here on HighYa, with common compliments referencing beneficial results (reduced belly fat and weight, improved mobility, decreased cravings, etc.), while common complaints seemed related to no results and high price.

Obviously, Active-PK is a completely different formulation, so we’re not saying you’ll experience the same. However, we believe this information can provide you with a clearer overall picture of the situation.

From a company perspective, Live Cell Research had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and six closed complaints at the time of our research. No details were provided.

Now, how do Active-PK's price and manufacturer reputation compare to the competition?

Are There Other AMPK-Boosting Supplements Like Active-PK?

If you search online, you’ll only find a couple of other AMPK activators currently on the market, such as Life Extension’s AMPK Activator ($25) and the previously mentioned LA-3 ($46.99).

In fact, comparing LA-3 and Active-PK’s formulations, they’re the exact same product, even down to the amount each ingredient. Despite this, LA-3 is marketed as a “longevity activator,” while Active-PK promises to target deep fat.

Which of these might provide the best results? We’ll conclude with our thoughts in just a second, but let’s first take a look at the person behind Active-PK.

Who Is Dr. Rand McClain?

According to his LinkedIn page, Dr. Rand McClain is a Medical Doctor at Performance Sports and Rejuvenation Medicine in Santa Monica, CA. Previously, he trained in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture at the Yo San University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences.

In the Active-PK long form sales video, he tells us that some have called him one of the top regenerative health doctors in L.A.

Does Dr. McClain’s experience and medical training necessarily mean this supplement’s right for you, though?

Our Final Thoughts about Active-PK From LCR Health

In the end, based on the mostly positive feedback from customers for the company’s other products, it certainly seems like LCR Health and Live Cell Research are focused on creating supplements that provide value.

Just like any other supplement, though, what works fantastically for you might not work at all for someone else, which is why the company stands behind Active-PK with a 90-day refund policy. You will, however, lose a couple of bucks in return shipping.

Despite these positive aspects, it seemed that authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD reported little-to-no clinical evidence that the supplement’s ingredients (singularly or synergistically) can meaningfully boost AMPK activation, or consequently deliver on its claims.

If you feel like giving Active-PK a shot, though, just be sure to speak with your doctor about any concerns you’re experiencing, what you’re expecting to achieve with the supplement, as well as any other supplements or medications you’re currently taking.

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

14 Consumer Reviews for Active-PK by LCR Health

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 6 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  4
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 14
Sort reviews by:

  • Pretty amazing stuff

    • California,
    • Nov 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Active-PK for a month now. I started the first two weeks with 2 a day and wasn't seeing much result. I bumped it up to 4 a day (I'm a pretty big guy). My cognitive functions have increased drastically. I'm sharper and think much clearer. My energy level has increased, and my desire for junk food has decreased immensely.

    Although I haven't seen much weight loss, all the other effects are far worth it. You must keep in mind this product talks about attacking deep tissue fat, the fat that is unseen. In researching belly fat, I've found there are two different fats the deep tissue fat and a fat just below the skin surface. You can't see the deep tissue fat.

    But none the less, I will keep using for the other effects and if I lose some weight with it, great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    It didn't help me lose anything.

    I gave Active PK a try. After a few weeks, I called and said it wasn't helping and I wanted to send it back. They said, "No, no, please keep trying it, try three a day instead of two." Well, that didn't help either, so I called again and said I want to send them back. The response was "Try four pills a day; try two in the morning and two in the afternoon for a few weeks." That didn't help either.

    By that time I was half done with my pills and decided to send them back. They did not give me a full refund, only half a refund, because of all the pills I tried and couldn't return. They were not honest, as the company said they would give a 90-day full refund. I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 6, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi there Kathleen. Thank you so much for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits of Active-PK. While a majority of our customers love Active-PK, we realize that it does not work the same way for everyone. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products when requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please email me directly at Taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.

    • Sep 21, 2017

      Joe Hickey

      I bought three bottles of ACTIVE-PK. I also started watching what I was eating and walking 1.7 miles in 30 minutes. When I started this, I weighed 230 lbs and I'm 6 feet tall.

      I just finished my third bottle and my weight is at 238.8 lbs! In 3 months, I have picked up 8.8 lbs, walking in 90-degree temperatures and watching my diet did not work for me. I'm trying to lose weight not add on more pounds. I would NOT recommend this product.

      Very disappointed!

    • Sep 22, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Joe! Taylor from LCR Health here. Thank you so much for leaving us a valuable review of your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry to hear that you had an adverse reaction. We do understand that everybody's body is different and Active-PK may not work for everyone. We also suggest that you consult your primary physician before consuming any new product to ensure that you won't experience any interactions while on the product. I would love to offer you a full refund just for giving our product a try. Please email me directly at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I can begin the refund process for you right away! I look forward to hearing from you.

    • Oct 22, 2017

      Cornelia

      Active-PK product I've used and its a scam. They promised all kinds of health improvements with the liver, even weight loss, mental, joints, etc. I was glad to find it and I even asked my doctor to give me an order for another blood test at the end of three months to see the improvements. At the end of three months, I bought another bottle to ensure I have enough for good results. To my disappointment, I not only failed to show any improvement but worse, I gained weight and my health was same or worse after three months of taking the product.

      My previous blood work was done in May 2017 after my yearly checkup. In August I had blood work done after completing the three months of Active-PK. I feel like these people are lying and taking advantage of consumers. I wrote to them and the first response was to try it longer, but my second and third email was not acknowledged. I requested a full refund.

    • Oct 24, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Cornelia! Taylor from LCR Health here. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a valuable review about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry to hear that you did not experience all of the results you had expected when using Active-PK. While a majority of our customers love Active-PK, we do understand that it may not work for everyone. Like with all products, it may work well for some and not for others. I am also very sorry that you have not been able to receive a full refund yet. Please send me an email to me directly at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I will ensure that you receive a full refund right away. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    I lost 7 lbs in three weeks. I did not change my eating habits, but I did drink seven glasses of water a day, sometimes eight glasses, and I still lost 7 lbs. Yes I would recommend this to a friend and I am about to order again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This product WORKS.

    I never buy infomercial products, but the video made a lot of sense, so I ordered. I have been on ActivePK for 90 days. My sugar cravings are gone. I'm able to sustain a 1350/daily calorie diet. I am losing weight! I feel good, and my blood sugar seems more stable than I can remember for a long time. I don't feel emotionally overwhelmed by "dieting" or feel "deprived." I want to eat healthy foods rather than bingeing on sugar and carbs. I feel that this product has "smoothed out" the weight loss process for me. I will stay on it until I hit my goal weight. 38 pounds to go!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    I was able to get a FULL refund because I did not like the taste.

    I have been trying (LIVASTEMx6) LIV Active Stem by LCR in 16 oz with water and some berry drinks. I did not like the taste of the additive Sucralose (Splenda), and I wish I could have had the freedom to add my own additive instead of using Splenda for sweetening. I bought the powder containers. I am used to soda pop type drinks. But that is just my taste buds; everyone else may vary.

    I would say try it thoroughly, knowing this company can give you a refund if you don't like it. So I give them a four-star review because of their excellent refund policy and the hopes it may help people with their health.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hello Roger, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you are not enjoying the taste of Active Stem when added to water. Please keep in mind that you can add the powder to any healthy drink of your choice! We, unfortunately, do not offer this product in capsule form. If you do not wish to continue taking it, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund just for giving Active Stem a try.

      Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you or if you have any other questions I can help you with. Thank you Roger.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Aug 7, 2017

    Horrible taste

    I have been trying (LIVASTEMx6) LIV Active Stem by LCR in 16 oz. of water and it tastes awful! If this was the only way to drink it? I hate the Splenda addictive, and I wish I could have the freedom to add my own additive. I bought about seven power containers over six months ago. Can I trade these in for tablets?

    My advice is to buy a sample package first if you like, then think about buying big to save money. Unfortunately, I bought big, and I hate the flavor, thus I can barely drink have a scoop every some often. Sorry, I like taste, and I am used to soda pop type drinks.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Placebo?

    • New York,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took as directed for two months to curb my appetite but it had absolutely no impact whatsoever. Very disappointing. I was skeptical but ordered it because they offered a full refund minus the return shipping. I am a firm believer that weight loss or appetite suppressant is never an easy thing. My advice, buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 25, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Hilary, thank you for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits that Active-PK has to offer but thank you for giving our product a fair try.

      I’m happy to hear that you took advantage of our effortless return policy! Again, thank you for giving our product a try Hilary! Please e-mail me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you have any questions or concerns!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Active-PK

    Hi. So far I give it no stars!

    I've been using it for one week, and so far I gained five pounds. My eating habits have not changed. I'm gluten intolerant, therefore, my diet stayed the same. I still workout daily, walk the dog, etc.

    I don't get it! I will give it a go for 30 days and then will give more feedback to all. I wrote to them and haven't heard. I'm just wondering if I must be doing something else? It seemed so easy; two pills daily, that's it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi there Sylvie, thank you for leaving us a valuable review on your experience so far with Active-PK. I am sorry to hear that you are not receiving the benefits you were expecting as of yet. We always recommend that our customers give the product at least 30 days for it to work and for your body to adjust to it. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, so if any point you are dissatisfied, you are welcome to return the product for a full refund. Please email me personally at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any questions or comments you may have. Thank you Sylvie.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Progress not perfection

    Both in our sixties, my wife and I started Active-PK two weeks ago. Without noticing, we both experienced a gradual energy increase, especially the Mrs. who seemed to be in an endless slump, never wanting to go anywhere or do anything. Our grandsons, 19 and 21, visited and she prepared meals every day while we also showed them around the Upstate. I was totally amazed. We also started eating healthier as our energy levels gradually increased with no jittery or uneasy side effects whatsoever. The wife has renewed past interests including doing more around the house and playing outdoor games. I enjoy the gym three times weekly.

    For us, embracing the fact that progress, not perfection, is do-able. A shared desire for fresh fruits and vegetables along with a more active life style kicked in and seems to be a natural course of action.

    Bottom line, give Active-PK a try. It's a win-win, especially with their 90-day money back guarantee. Will update our progress in the next couple of weeks. Thanks Cowboy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Belly Fat

    I have been taking ACTIVE-PK for 2 months and the belly is still big. I'm not giving up after watching that entirely too long presentation but hope to try for another 2 months and will report back

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 26, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hello Richard,

      Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your experience with Active-PK. While most customers see results in the first 30 days, it may take longer for others so do not be discouraged. Remember, we always stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, so you can give our product a fair trial without the risk! Please feel free to email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you have any questions or comments.

      Thank you again Richard.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Fist day with results

    I'm a cancer survivor. I'm not overweight much (125-ish), but I do have high bad cholesterol, sever fatigue from post cancer treatment along with a few other problems like chemo brain. My husband is a little over weight, high cholesterol and in a high-stress job. We both took this and noticed a big difference the first day. I cleaned the entire basement, and I hate going down there. I could remember details of my day that I could NEVER normally remember. My attitude was even more positive. My husband felt a serious change in energy too. I'm curious to see how things progress. This supplement was researched by my husband and was in no way prescribed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 39 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic drop in A1C level in first 90 days

    My husband and I started taking Active-PK 90 days ago. He has seen a significant weight loss, but he was also making serious changes to his food intake. He is 66 and has seemed to have turned into the Energizer Bunny!

    Myself, one the other hand, have not seen the weight loss or incredible increase in my energy. However, I started taking the product hoping it would help me with my diabetes. I have been experiencing increasing A1C levels. I am 59 years old and had managed to get my A1C down to a "normal" reading of 6.0 just two years ago.

    I truly could not improve my diet anymore. I have spent endless hours studying glycemic loads of foods, tracked all my eating while recording glucose levels, cutting out foods that severely spiked my blood sugar, and given up all alcohol except an occasional glass (never more than two) of wine.

    All my doctor could say was that I was getting older. No way I was going to accept that answer. Then I watched this advertising video and understood the potential of Active-PK in helping my body improve the use of the glucose. And...

    Just 90 days after starting this supplement, I had my first appointment with my doctor to have my quarterly A1C level review. During my prior visits I saw my A1C go from 6.5 to 7.6 with each higher A1C reading, the doctor increased my oral medication.

    The last visit my A1C was 7.6 and this one 6.9! Hooray! I have made no other changes in my diet since starting this product. It is summer, and I am very active, but still, no way that much of a drop came from the additional activity. I'm looking forward to what the next 90 days reading will be!

    I have NEVER written a review of a product in my life. Then again, I have never had one effect my life so positively.

    If my A1C continues to improve, which I can't imagine it won't, I will be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 14

Write a Review for Active-PK by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review