About Active-PK by LCR Health

Published on: May 24, 2017

LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement promises to use a three-ingredient blend of naturally occurring compounds that can promote AMPK activation, leading to boosted energy, clearer thinking, decreased intraabdominal (or "deep") fat, and a faster metabolism and flatter belly.

In fact, the promotional videos claims the supplement’s ingredients might even be able to help you lead a longer, healthier life.

Just take two capsules per day with a glass of water, with or without food, and the ingredients will go to work all day after being digested by your stomach. The company tells us Active-PK is safe and effective for all Americans, who should experience maximum benefits after a few months of regular use.

There’s no doubt that we’re in the midst of an obesity epidemic, which can have all sorts of health consequences. But can you expect LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement to boost AMPK levels? Even then, might this deliver meaningful results?

Let’s kick things off by discussing the basics.

What Is AMPK & How Does It Relate to Deep Fat?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme (a substance that causes a chemical reaction) that performs multiple functions in the body. These include:

  • Inhibiting the synthesis of fatty acids, cholesterol, and triglycerides
  • Inhibiting glycogen synthesis
  • Stimulating glycolysis (the breakdown of glucose, or sugar)
  • Stimulating glucose uptake in skeletal muscle
  • Regulating some aspects of cell function (removal of unnecessary and dysfunctional components)
  • Increasing mitochondrial (a cell’s “battery”) creation

Based on these benefits, we can see that AMPK plays an important role in energy sensing, as mentioned on the Active-PK website. So it’s no surprise that one of the best methods of boosting AMPK levels in the body is through exercise (although there is some controversy about this), since it’s thought to increase fatty acid metabolism and provide more energy for cells.

With this in mind, we didn’t encounter any substantive clinical evidence listed on authoritative websites like the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed during our research that AMPK, in humans:

  • Has any specific role related to deep fat (whether stopping buildup or improving its availability for energy production),
  • That activation declines with age or as a result of overeating (or “nutritional overload” as mentioned in the Active-PK promo video),
  • That elevated activation can lead to reduced weight and increased lifespan
  • That reduced AMPK signaling can cause chronic inflammation, increased belly fat, high cholesterol and triglycerides, elevated blood sugar, or insulin resistance,

Regardless, what about the ingredients found in Active-PK?

Have Active-PK’s Ingredients Been Shown to Boost AMPK Levels?

According to the Nutritional Facts label listed on the supplement’s website, Active-PK contains the following:

  • Gynostemma pentapyllum leaf extract (1.2% damulin A) (ActivAMP) 450mg
  • Quercetin dihydrate 100mg
  • Berberine HCl 100mg

Gynostemma Pentapyllum/ActivAMP

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate that 30mg per day of gynostemma pentapyllum (Jiaogulan) has been shown to reduce cholesterol, which could certainly have a beneficial impact on overall health.

The gynostemma pentapyllum in Active-PK is Gencor’s proprietary ActivAMP, which claims to have clinical evidence that the ingredient can significantly decrease body fat mass, percent body fat, body weight and BMI, and total abdominal area. We’ve requested a copy of this study and will follow up as soon as a response is received.

Quercetin & Berberine

These same sites also indicate that 1,000mg per day of quercetin may help address some aspects of prostatitis, and that some preliminary evidence indicates berberine may slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes and help lower cholesterol levels in people with high cholesterol.

However, none of these sites reported conclusive evidence indicating these ingredients, whether alone or in conjunction, could meaningfully boost AMPK levels or produce any of the related benefits claimed by LCR Health.

What About LCR Health’s Test?

Despite this, the Active-PK promo video indicated that the supplement was tested on a group of user beginning in January 2016, which found that after two weeks:

  • 95% reported fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 73% reported losing weight
  • 81% reported losing belly fat
  • 95% had more overall energy than before

Then, after four weeks of use:

  • 100% fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 75% reported losing weight
  • 90% reported losing belly fat
  • 100% had more overall energy than before
  • 96% felt Active-PK could help them live longer

We also sent an email to LCR Health for a copy of this study and will update based on their response.

What Kinds of Side Effects Might You Experience From Active-PK’s Ingredients?

On their website, LCR Health tells us that Active-PK is vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free, and friendly for all dietary considerations. And because it consists of naturally occurring nutrients found in food products and the body, that it’s safe to use and produces no known side-effects.

However, they note that this product isn’t intended for those with preexisting medical conditions. Also that because of its ability to reduce the size of fat cells, it shouldn’t be taken by those who are “severely underweight.” And as always, you should consult with your physician before beginning any new supplements.

According to the authoritative sites mentioned earlier, gynostemma pentapyllum may cause moderate reactions with immunosuppressants and medications that slow blood clotting, while berberine could potentially cause a major reaction with cyclosporine.

How much Does Active-PK Cost?

How much you pay for each bottle of Active-PK depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $152
  • 6 Bottles: $323

The single bottle option charges an extra $3.95 S&H, while all others are free.

LCR Health provides a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, on all Active-PK orders, which you can request by calling the company at (844)-650-5933 or sending an email to support@lcrhealth.com.

What else do we know about the company?

What Can We Learn From Reviews About Active-PK’s Manufacturer?

As is often the case when we write about nutritional supplements, we didn’t encounter any online customer feedback for Active-PK at the time of our research.

However, the supplement is manufactured by Los Angeles-based LCR Health, which is a division of Live Cell Research. LCR Health also manufactures another supplement called Active Stem, while Live Cell Research produces popular options like LA-3 and QL-5.

Overall, Live Cell Research’s products had an average customer rating of about four stars here on HighYa, with common compliments referencing beneficial results (reduced belly fat and weight, improved mobility, decreased cravings, etc.), while common complaints seemed related to no results and high price.

Obviously, Active-PK is a completely different formulation, so we’re not saying you’ll experience the same. However, we believe this information can provide you with a clearer overall picture of the situation.

From a company perspective, Live Cell Research had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and six closed complaints at the time of our research. No details were provided.

Now, how do Active-PK's price and manufacturer reputation compare to the competition?

Are There Other AMPK-Boosting Supplements Like Active-PK?

If you search online, you’ll only find a couple of other AMPK activators currently on the market, such as Life Extension’s AMPK Activator ($25) and the previously mentioned LA-3 ($46.99).

In fact, comparing LA-3 and Active-PK’s formulations, they’re the exact same product, even down to the amount each ingredient. Despite this, LA-3 is marketed as a “longevity activator,” while Active-PK promises to target deep fat.

Which of these might provide the best results? We’ll conclude with our thoughts in just a second, but let’s first take a look at the person behind Active-PK.

Who Is Dr. Rand McClain?

According to his LinkedIn page, Dr. Rand McClain is a Medical Doctor at Performance Sports and Rejuvenation Medicine in Santa Monica, CA. Previously, he trained in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture at the Yo San University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences.

In the Active-PK long form sales video, he tells us that some have called him one of the top regenerative health doctors in L.A.

Does Dr. McClain’s experience and medical training necessarily mean this supplement’s right for you, though?

Our Final Thoughts about Active-PK From LCR Health

In the end, based on the mostly positive feedback from customers for the company’s other products, it certainly seems like LCR Health and Live Cell Research are focused on creating supplements that provide value.

Just like any other supplement, though, what works fantastically for you might not work at all for someone else, which is why the company stands behind Active-PK with a 90-day refund policy. You will, however, lose a couple of bucks in return shipping.

Despite these positive aspects, it seemed that authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD reported little-to-no clinical evidence that the supplement’s ingredients (singularly or synergistically) can meaningfully boost AMPK activation, or consequently deliver on its claims.

If you feel like giving Active-PK a shot, though, just be sure to speak with your doctor about any concerns you’re experiencing, what you’re expecting to achieve with the supplement, as well as any other supplements or medications you’re currently taking.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Active-PK by LCR Health

Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 9 4 star: 5 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It works fast!

    • California,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I lost 15 lbs in just over three weeks. I know it's not advertised as a weight loss product, but deep fat has weight just like body fat. Being an Exercise Physiologist I'm always a little apprehensive of this type of product, but this one works.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    More energy

    • Ocala, FL,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I seem to have more energy, however, I have eight days left on Active-PK. I’m undecided as to wether to continue. At my age, it might take more time to decide about any benefit. I’d like to try another 30 days to finally decide about the benefits if any.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No loss

    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking two tablets every morning for the last four weeks. There has been NO weight loss or tummy loss. I am active as I walk every day and go to the gym at least three times a week. I have always had energy so can't really tell if that helped. What do I do now?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 13, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Beth, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for giving Active-PK a try! While many of our customers experience all of Active-PK’s benefits right away, it can typically take three months to see maximum results. I encourage you to continue taking the tablets every morning as you have been doing! As we understand everybody is different, we will wholeheartedly stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, no questions asked. Please feel free to reach out to me at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any future questions, comments, or if you decide to take advantage of our refund policy.

    • Jun 25, 2018

      Dave D.

      I've taken a hundred and twenty pills, that's a total of 8 weeks, with every no result. How do I get my money back?

    • Jun 29, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Dave, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I can begin the refund process for you right away!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My results of Active-PK.

    I am 72 years old, and get short of breath. I am very healthy in every other way, chest x-rays and all other tests keep coming back normal.

    I walk twice a day, but hills get me a bit and I have to slow down.

    I took Active-PK (3 months supply) for about 3 weeks with no outstanding results then suddenly noticed my breathing was getting better and better. It had in fact improved by about 85%.

    So I was absolutely wrapped. I am ordering another months supply. Even though I love the product, ordering 3 months in one go is a bit expensive for me.

    All the best.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Renewed energy

    It has been a little over 30 days since I started using Active-PK. I felt a difference immediately. What I mean is, I started feeling more refreshed and energetic when I wake up in the morning. Before Active-PK I would feel sluggish and tired. The only downside I see right now is I find it hard to wind down and go to sleep. I haven't changed anything different with my diet or habits since I started and it may contribute to the alertness and constant energy. Otherwise, I am very happy with the product. Now I need to find a product all natural to help me curve my sugar cravens. LOL.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Wire fraud

    • California,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my opinion, the whole online sales process for this product is nothing more than a scam. I ordered $127.00 worth of product on 4/9/18 and got a printable receipt stating that my order would be shipped in 24 hours. Eight days later I called to see where it was. I was told that it was in the warehouse and would be shipped out that afternoon. Two days later, I called again and got the same response - it's in the warehouse. Why is it in your warehouse and not at my house? I live just three hours away from their location.

    I asked that my order be canceled and monies returned to my account. Supposedly, only a supervisor could do that, and there were none available at that time. I left my name and phone number with a request that I receive a return call. It's after 2:00 Friday afternoon, 24 hours later, and I've still not had the courtesy of a call. There is definitely something not right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 27, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi John, I'm Taylor from LCR Health. Thank you so much for reaching out. I am truly so sorry to hear about the frustration and inconvenience that you have experienced. Typically, our shipments take up to 7-10 days to arrive at their destination, but due to the high demand of Active-PK, it may take a little longer. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund right away. Please email me to my personal email, Taylor@LCRHealth.com, and I can begin the refund process right away. Again, I am so sorry for the miscommunication and confusion that we have caused. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!

    • May 17, 2018

      Julie

      So I had some stomach side effects such as nausea and upset feeling for the first month, but it changed depending on the time of day it was taken, with or without food. I persisted and just finished the three months. (Now 8 lbs heavier. ) I had sleep issues, mostly from taking it too late in the day.

      I don't feel that I got any real benefits from it. I did talk to Brett at the helpline and he suggested another product. We will see how getting a refund goes before buying their next product. Taylor could you contact me for this, please. Thanks.

      As a side, all the people I talked and emailed were very helpful. The product was just as described, and the concept seems to sound as if that is what your body needs.

      -Julie

    • Jun 29, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Julie, I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience. As always, we ask that you consult your primary care physician to ensure that Active-PK is right for you. Please feel free to reach out to me at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I can get a refund process started you right away.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Would like to review the product, but it is taking so long to get it...

    Very slow in getting the product shipped to me. This is the worst I have experienced ordering any supplement online. Makes me think the company is at best totally lame, or at worst a scam. I am about ready to ask for a refund because I am tired of waiting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 25, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Peggie, I'm Taylor from LCR Health. Thank you so much for reaching out. I am so sorry to hear that you are experiencing this! According to our records, I can see that the package was delivered to you. I would like to make sure that you have received it since writing this review. Please email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com if there are any outstanding issues. In addition, if you would still like to receive a refund, just email me and I can assist you with that process as well! I look forward to hearing from you to ensure that everything is resolved.

    • Jun 10, 2018

      Janet J.

      Hi Taylor,

      I am just contemplating ordering from LCR, but I have a big question. I don't want to lose weight (or at least not too much). I am 5'1" and weigh 130 lbs. I have carcinoid cancer (NETs Neuroendocrine tumors). I was dx'd in 2000 and am doing well. Having seen too many cancer patients lose tremendous amounts of weight and then pass away, I don't want to lose weight. Still, I'd like to try your product. Could you advise me, please?

      Thank you,

      Jan.

    • Jun 14, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Jan, thank you for considering ordering from LCR Health. I’m happy to hear that you are doing well! Prior to starting any supplements from LCR Health, we ask that you consult your primary care physician to ensure that LCR Health products are right for you and that there won’t be any interactions. Please feel free to email me personally at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any future questions, concerns, or comments. I’d be more than happy to help you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I feel lighter and less tiered

    I have been taking Active PK early in the morning, and I feel lighter and less bloating and have less craving for food. My knees and legs and arms were swollen before and no diet would work, until my husband introduced me to Active PK. I feel great and I have more energy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Noticed a difference immediately

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am truly surprised that I noticed a difference immediately, mentally and physically. It wasn't a tremendous difference but a difference, no less.

    Full disclosure; I'm past 50, I have had a thyroid problem in the past, and for about three years, I have been eating more fruits and vegetables and exercising. I was feeling better but the holiday season messed with my whole routine. I ate things that were not good for me (sugar), didn't exercise very much and was having a hard time getting back into a regular routine. I had horrible sugar cravings, didn't want to exercise and just felt "blah!"

    I saw the video and really ordered it for the deep belly fat issue. With the very first day, I noticed that I didn't crave sugar near as much! I had a little more energy and on the second day; I truly wanted to go to the gym! I'm hoping that the effects continue but will follow up to add more when I know. In the meantime, I will continue the use and hope that the deep belly fat goes away too! It might be a win-win!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    I bought this product as suggested and got a 3-month supply. It did not do anything for me. I wonder how it worked for others. I followed the directions as stated on the bottle. I will not be wasting any more money on this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (10)
    View all 10 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi David, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry to hear that you did not experience all of the results you had expected when taking Active-PK. As with all products, we do understand it may work for some and not for others. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund! Please email me at Taylor@lcrhealth.com and I can assist you with this right away! I look forward to hearing from you!

    • Jan 16, 2018

      Ellena Young

      I wish I had read your comment before investing in this product. Like you, I bought a 90-day supply and took it diligently for 45 days but no results. I was hoping that it would have helped me with the belly fat. It would've been nice to be one of the 70% that saw a reduction in weight and body fat.

    • Jan 18, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Elena! I'm Taylor from LCR Health. Thank you so much for reaching out to me. I am upset to hear that you are not fully satisfied with your Active-PK experience so far. I am so sorry about this. We typically suggest that our customers try Active-PK consistently for at least 3 months to experience the full results. But if you are still not completely satisfied with your experience, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Just email me at Taylor@lcrhealth.com. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!

    • Jan 20, 2018

      Ellena Young

      Thank you, Taylor. I have already contacted LCR customer service and they have already complied with the return policy. Mahalo for your interest, and how I truly wished it was a success for me.

    • Mar 1, 2018

      marsha moye

      I have been taking this for a month. I suffer from chronic fatigue and the improvement in my energy is NOT my imagination. I have tried dozens of "fixes" and this is the ONLY on with a positive result.

    • Mar 20, 2018

      james

      Is this product safe to take if I am on high blood pressure pills?

    • Mar 21, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi James! I'm Taylor from LCR Health. We suggest that you consult your primary physician prior to beginning any new product, to ensure that you do not experience any interactions with other medications you may be taking. If you have any other questions, please email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com. Thank you!

    • Apr 5, 2018

      Nerlie homere

      I would like to try this medicine.

    • Apr 6, 2018

      Ross Gordon

      I want a refund, there are no results from the product.

    • Apr 24, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Ross, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with Active-PK. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Just email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com, and I can begin the refund process right away. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Pretty amazing stuff

    • California,
    • Nov 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Active-PK for a month now. I started the first two weeks with 2 a day and wasn't seeing much result. I bumped it up to 4 a day (I'm a pretty big guy). My cognitive functions have increased drastically. I'm sharper and think much clearer. My energy level has increased, and my desire for junk food has decreased immensely.

    Although I haven't seen much weight loss, all the other effects are far worth it. You must keep in mind this product talks about attacking deep tissue fat, the fat that is unseen. In researching belly fat, I've found there are two different fats the deep tissue fat and a fat just below the skin surface. You can't see the deep tissue fat.

    But none the less, I will keep using for the other effects and if I lose some weight with it, great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Active-PK by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review