About Active-PK by LCR Health

Published on: May 24, 2017

LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement promises to use a three-ingredient blend of naturally occurring compounds that can promote AMPK activation, leading to boosted energy, clearer thinking, decreased intraabdominal (or "deep") fat, and a faster metabolism and flatter belly.

In fact, the promotional videos claims the supplement’s ingredients might even be able to help you lead a longer, healthier life.

Just take two capsules per day with a glass of water, with or without food, and the ingredients will go to work all day after being digested by your stomach. The company tells us Active-PK is safe and effective for all Americans, who should experience maximum benefits after a few months of regular use.

There’s no doubt that we’re in the midst of an obesity epidemic, which can have all sorts of health consequences. But can you expect LCR Health’s Active-PK supplement to boost AMPK levels? Even then, might this deliver meaningful results?

Let’s kick things off by discussing the basics.

What Is AMPK & How Does It Relate to Deep Fat?

5' AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme (a substance that causes a chemical reaction) that performs multiple functions in the body. These include:

  • Inhibiting the synthesis of fatty acids, cholesterol, and triglycerides
  • Inhibiting glycogen synthesis
  • Stimulating glycolysis (the breakdown of glucose, or sugar)
  • Stimulating glucose uptake in skeletal muscle
  • Regulating some aspects of cell function (removal of unnecessary and dysfunctional components)
  • Increasing mitochondrial (a cell’s “battery”) creation

Based on these benefits, we can see that AMPK plays an important role in energy sensing, as mentioned on the Active-PK website. So it’s no surprise that one of the best methods of boosting AMPK levels in the body is through exercise (although there is some controversy about this), since it’s thought to increase fatty acid metabolism and provide more energy for cells.

With this in mind, we didn’t encounter any substantive clinical evidence listed on authoritative websites like the National Institutes of Health’s PubMed during our research that AMPK, in humans:

  • Has any specific role related to deep fat (whether stopping buildup or improving its availability for energy production),
  • That activation declines with age or as a result of overeating (or “nutritional overload” as mentioned in the Active-PK promo video),
  • That elevated activation can lead to reduced weight and increased lifespan
  • That reduced AMPK signaling can cause chronic inflammation, increased belly fat, high cholesterol and triglycerides, elevated blood sugar, or insulin resistance,

Regardless, what about the ingredients found in Active-PK?

Have Active-PK’s Ingredients Been Shown to Boost AMPK Levels?

According to the Nutritional Facts label listed on the supplement’s website, Active-PK contains the following:

  • Gynostemma pentapyllum leaf extract (1.2% damulin A) (ActivAMP) 450mg
  • Quercetin dihydrate 100mg
  • Berberine HCl 100mg

Gynostemma Pentapyllum/ActivAMP

According to their summarizations of the available clinical evidence, websites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD indicate that 30mg per day of gynostemma pentapyllum (Jiaogulan) has been shown to reduce cholesterol, which could certainly have a beneficial impact on overall health.

The gynostemma pentapyllum in Active-PK is Gencor’s proprietary ActivAMP, which claims to have clinical evidence that the ingredient can significantly decrease body fat mass, percent body fat, body weight and BMI, and total abdominal area. We’ve requested a copy of this study and will follow up as soon as a response is received.

Quercetin & Berberine

These same sites also indicate that 1,000mg per day of quercetin may help address some aspects of prostatitis, and that some preliminary evidence indicates berberine may slightly reduce blood sugar levels in people with diabetes and help lower cholesterol levels in people with high cholesterol.

However, none of these sites reported conclusive evidence indicating these ingredients, whether alone or in conjunction, could meaningfully boost AMPK levels or produce any of the related benefits claimed by LCR Health.

What About LCR Health’s Test?

Despite this, the Active-PK promo video indicated that the supplement was tested on a group of user beginning in January 2016, which found that after two weeks:

  • 95% reported fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 73% reported losing weight
  • 81% reported losing belly fat
  • 95% had more overall energy than before

Then, after four weeks of use:

  • 100% fewer cravings for unhealthy food
  • 75% reported losing weight
  • 90% reported losing belly fat
  • 100% had more overall energy than before
  • 96% felt Active-PK could help them live longer

We also sent an email to LCR Health for a copy of this study and will update based on their response.

What Kinds of Side Effects Might You Experience From Active-PK’s Ingredients?

On their website, LCR Health tells us that Active-PK is vegetarian, gluten-free, lactose-free, and friendly for all dietary considerations. And because it consists of naturally occurring nutrients found in food products and the body, that it’s safe to use and produces no known side-effects.

However, they note that this product isn’t intended for those with preexisting medical conditions. Also that because of its ability to reduce the size of fat cells, it shouldn’t be taken by those who are “severely underweight.” And as always, you should consult with your physician before beginning any new supplements.

According to the authoritative sites mentioned earlier, gynostemma pentapyllum may cause moderate reactions with immunosuppressants and medications that slow blood clotting, while berberine could potentially cause a major reaction with cyclosporine.

How much Does Active-PK Cost?

How much you pay for each bottle of Active-PK depends on how many you purchase:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99
  • 3 Bottles: $152
  • 6 Bottles: $323

The single bottle option charges an extra $3.95 S&H, while all others are free.

LCR Health provides a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H, on all Active-PK orders, which you can request by calling the company at (844)-650-5933 or sending an email to support@lcrhealth.com.

What else do we know about the company?

What Can We Learn From Reviews About Active-PK’s Manufacturer?

As is often the case when we write about nutritional supplements, we didn’t encounter any online customer feedback for Active-PK at the time of our research.

However, the supplement is manufactured by Los Angeles-based LCR Health, which is a division of Live Cell Research. LCR Health also manufactures another supplement called Active Stem, while Live Cell Research produces popular options like LA-3 and QL-5.

Overall, Live Cell Research’s products had an average customer rating of about four stars here on HighYa, with common compliments referencing beneficial results (reduced belly fat and weight, improved mobility, decreased cravings, etc.), while common complaints seemed related to no results and high price.

Obviously, Active-PK is a completely different formulation, so we’re not saying you’ll experience the same. However, we believe this information can provide you with a clearer overall picture of the situation.

From a company perspective, Live Cell Research had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating and six closed complaints at the time of our research. No details were provided.

Now, how do Active-PK's price and manufacturer reputation compare to the competition?

Are There Other AMPK-Boosting Supplements Like Active-PK?

If you search online, you’ll only find a couple of other AMPK activators currently on the market, such as Life Extension’s AMPK Activator ($25) and the previously mentioned LA-3 ($46.99).

In fact, comparing LA-3 and Active-PK’s formulations, they’re the exact same product, even down to the amount each ingredient. Despite this, LA-3 is marketed as a “longevity activator,” while Active-PK promises to target deep fat.

Which of these might provide the best results? We’ll conclude with our thoughts in just a second, but let’s first take a look at the person behind Active-PK.

Who Is Dr. Rand McClain?

According to his LinkedIn page, Dr. Rand McClain is a Medical Doctor at Performance Sports and Rejuvenation Medicine in Santa Monica, CA. Previously, he trained in Traditional Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture at the Yo San University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, and earned his Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from Western University of Health Sciences.

In the Active-PK long form sales video, he tells us that some have called him one of the top regenerative health doctors in L.A.

Does Dr. McClain’s experience and medical training necessarily mean this supplement’s right for you, though?

Our Final Thoughts about Active-PK From LCR Health

In the end, based on the mostly positive feedback from customers for the company’s other products, it certainly seems like LCR Health and Live Cell Research are focused on creating supplements that provide value.

Just like any other supplement, though, what works fantastically for you might not work at all for someone else, which is why the company stands behind Active-PK with a 90-day refund policy. You will, however, lose a couple of bucks in return shipping.

Despite these positive aspects, it seemed that authoritative sites like the Natural Medicines Database and WebMD reported little-to-no clinical evidence that the supplement’s ingredients (singularly or synergistically) can meaningfully boost AMPK activation, or consequently deliver on its claims.

If you feel like giving Active-PK a shot, though, just be sure to speak with your doctor about any concerns you’re experiencing, what you’re expecting to achieve with the supplement, as well as any other supplements or medications you’re currently taking.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

55 Consumer Reviews for Active-PK by LCR Health

Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 22 4 star: 16 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  12
Bottom Line: 75% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 55
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I love thus product

    • New York,
    • Nov 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After viewing the video on Facebook about this product, I bought it. And I must say, I love it. After taking it in the morning, I get a sudden boost of energy. Although I broke the rules a bit, I only take one capsule, since I am a nurse and I work the night shift. Honestly, I do see changes in my tummy. I am only 5 feet, 1 inch tall and I weigh 173 lbs. I lost 2 lbs, but my body is changing. I feel more focus, I get things done. This is a great product. Because I take BP meds and cholesterol meds, I go easy. But in a few weeks, I may be taking two caps a day. Overall, I love this product and will highly recommend it to anyone who has a big midsection to deal with. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Broke out in a rash

    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I broke out in a body rash from taking this. Very disappointing! I need a refund. I had to wait to go to urgent care, then dermatologist, then allergist. They all agreed that it was probably the pills and the only way to know for sure is to take them again. I will NOT be doing that!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      Taylor Gladhill, Customer Relations

      Hi Jill, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience. We take all customer feedback very seriously so I will pass this along to our product development team immediately. I have also passed along your information to our customer service team and they will be contacting you to further discuss your review. I want to apologize again that this was your experience and we look forward to making this right.

    • Nov 6, 2018

      Charity I.

      I would like to try this product.

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Atishma L.

      My husband got a lot of gut problems.

    • Nov 10, 2018

      Vic Z.

      Your ordering system is not working correctly. I was charged multiple times when I attempted to upgrade. No, I did not hit the "order key" twice.

    • Nov 11, 2018

      Gary R.

      Are there any contraindications of using Active-PK with heart medicines that reduce blood clotting? Can you provide specific heart medications that would be contraindicated?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff

    • Lewiston, NY,
    • Oct 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started using Active-PK by LCR Health, I've been using it now for a total of 42 days. I take it first thing in the morning as suggested on an empty stomach. I went from a size 36 to a size 34 in waist size in the 42 days, mostly belly fat. I also bicycle most days when the weather is good in New York, 25-35 miles, 4-5 days a week, which will come to an end soon. I do 15-minute stretch exercise every morning. I work out three days a week in the gym for roughly a hour, to an hour and a half.

    I really watch my carb intake and sugars. Since starting Active-PK my craving for snacks and bad foods has pretty much diminished, I can walk by them into a grocery store now, without the urge of buying something sweet. And best of all, I don't seem to need much food to fill me up, and I do feel more alert and have more energy than I've had before. I still take my regular vitamins B12 complex, fish oil, vitamin D, Jin sing and I'm only on one medication, levothyroxine, which is for thyroid, lowest dosage 50 mcg daily, and I take that at bedtime. I can honestly say I feel better at age 69 than I felt in a long time, and I do things a 40-year-old can't do. I'm very active hiking, biking, kayaking. I want to enjoy life to the fullest! Keep making Active, I for one will keep taking it. Thank you Active-PK.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 45 people found this review helpful

    LCR Health will do their best to rip you off

    • Oak Ridge, TN,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did try Active-PK from LCR Health. I couldn't tell that it did anything for me. When I called them, they said perhaps I had not taken it for long enough and made me an offer to sell me a 90-day supply for about half of their retail price. I agreed to try it for a longer period of time, for three more months. I still could not see or feel any results like they described in their literature.

    Now get this! I didn't order any more of their Active-PK product. Today, October 1, 2018, I received an email saying they HAVE shipped me a 6-bottle order of Active-PK on my MEMBERSHIP. I never signed up for any membership. I called them. A lady on the phone agreed to cancel my "membership" and instructed me to call when I received the order for a "Return Authorization." Once they receive my return, they will refund the cost to my credit card. Sure enough, they have charged my credit card without my permission! Watch out. LCR Health will try to rip you off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results for my Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

    • Florida,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first tried LCRs Midogen but couldn't stand the taste. Someone from the company called me to ask how the product was affecting me but I couldn't tell since my aversion to the taste overwhelmed my desire to get better. I was offered capsules in exchange for the powder (a year's worth) and agreed.

    I took Midogen, Vital Stem and Active-PK together daily. About 6-8 weeks later I went from waking in the morning, going in for a nap 30 minutes later and repeating this pattern until bedtime around 11:00 pm to waking up earlier, having more energy and not needing any naps. When I ran out of Active-PK I substituted LE's AMPK Metabolic Activator (different ingredients).

    Results: much lower energy, requiring an afternoon nap. Even though the cost is prohibitive for me, I don't have a choice but to reorder Active-PK. I'll run out of Vital Stem in the next couple of months (by then I'll have Active-PK) and see what happens without Vital Stem. I never expected this kind of response from my body but am very happy with the product(s).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    I have been taking Active-PK for 10 days and I love the way I feel. I am more energetic, sleep better and get up without the stiff joints I usually had. I have a better disposition. I do not have the aches and pains I have had for so long. I look and feel better than I have in years. I am 80 years young, and I wish I had found this years ago. I tell everyone about Active-PK, I love it. I will continue it. Also, my belly has gone down a little.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Good and getting better

    • Florida,
    • Sep 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As we age, we tend to get complacent in our lifestyle. After being a caretaker for my aging father for the last 4 years or so, I took far better care of him than myself. He enjoyed being served his very Italian foods, most of his choices not conducive to a sedentary lifestyle. After his passing earlier this year, it was time to get back to my old healthier lifestyle. I totally knew what to do, and just had to break out of my last 4 years of being a full-time elder sitter, it was slowly killing me!

    So I knew how to get my diet back to clean eating, but I needed a nudge to push through my 60-year-old very tired metabolism. I wanted to get back to the gym. I found Active-PK and Prime ATP and placed my order...unsure of exactly what to expect.

    I VERY quickly noticed I almost couldn't wait to get to the gym in the morning to burn some energy and some fat. I feel much more alert and WAY more productive. As a bonus, I've also dropped 20 lbs. So, I CAN definitely say this: "eating well and exercise as we know, is the key to a better life." There is no doubt LCR Health has boosted my focus, my desire to feel better, and I do believe that I will continue to use their products well into the future. THANKS LCR!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Trying to remember

    • Aurora, CO,
    • Sep 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I keep forgetting to take it on an empty stomach. If I do remember, I feel as though I can actually feel the difference in my fat belly! It is probably just my imagination, but wouldn't that be a great factor!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I have lost a couple of pounds and I am experiencing more energy.

    • Orangevale, CA,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking two Active-PK capsules every morning on an empty stomach, as directed, for a couple of weeks now. I am experiencing more energy and have lost a couple of pounds. I am very pleased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Pleased with results

    • Gold River, CA,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have lost about five pounds a week for the first three weeks. I've been following the hints given via email and hope to meet my goal in another month or two...my goal to go from 210 pounds to 185.

    I am having very little trouble avoiding tempting foods.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    After two weeks

    • Lake Winnebago, MO,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After two weeks I see a reduction in my waistline and I have more energy. I am looking forward to seeing what will happen in another couple of weeks, then looking forward to two months, then three months.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 55

Write a Review for Active-PK by LCR Health!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review