Active-PK Reviews - Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Jun 11, 2019

Active-PK from LCR Health is a supplement that claims it can boost AMPK levels inside your body, resulting in reduced fatigue, a slimmer waistline, fewer cravings, and clearer thinking.

All of this is claimed to be done without the use of caffeine, dairy, synthetic additives, or animal byproducts.

To achieve the purported benefits of this supplement, LCR Health says to take two capsules of Active-PK daily with a glass of water, either with food or on an empty stomach.

Can you realistically expect to experience these benefits and are there other supplements claiming to deliver the same?

To help you gain a better understanding, in this Active-PK review we draw on the knowledge of professional opinion and discuss how the supplement works, its ingredients, efficacy, side effects and whether this is right for you.

How Does Active-PK Work?

To understand how Active-PK works, it's important to get familiar with what AMPK is. 5'-AMP-activated protein kinase (AMPK) is an enzyme found in all mammalian cells that “activates” during physical activity. In humans, AMPK activates in skeletal muscle, although in other mammals, such as mice, it also generates in other organs.

Once activated, a 2010 study reports that AMPK “stimulates energy generating processes such as glucose uptake and fatty acid oxidation and decreases energy consuming processes such as protein and lipid synthesis.”

The study’s authors are Dr. Erik Richter, professor of Human Physiology and Exercise Physiology at the University of Copenhagen, along with Dr. Neil Ruderman, director of the Diabetic Cardiovascular Disease Program Project at Boston Medical Center,

Richter and Ruderman state in the study that AMPK initiates the entry of glucose into cells and helps break down fatty acids inside tissues, both of which produce usable energy for the body.

The enzyme also inhibits cells from using energy for other tasks, such as creating proteins and lipids, thereby making more power available for immediate use by the body.

As a result, Dr. Barry Sears told us, “AMP kinase is an energy sensor that can be considered the enzyme of life, as it regulates every aspect of your metabolism leading to greater health and lifespan.”

Taken together, this is why LCR Health refers to AMPK as your body’s metabolic “master switch,” since it “tells your body to stop storing fat and start converting it into clean, usable fuel,” they say.

Active-PK Ingredients and its Efficacy

Per the supplement facts label listed on the LCR Health website, Active-PK contains the following ingredients:

  • Gynostemma Pentaphyllum Leaf Extract 450 mg
  • Quercetin Dihydrate 100 mg
  • Berberine HCl 100 mg

Sites like WebMD, Natural Medicines Database and Examine.com report that taking between 500 mg and 1.5 grams of berberine per day could help ease conditions related to canker sores, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS). Active-PK’s 100 mg dose is much lower.

Furthermore, taking 30 mg of Gynostemma pentaphyllum (also commonly known as jiaogulan) daily has been shown to help decrease total cholesterol and increase good HDL in individuals with high cholesterol levels.

Outside of these, however, these sites indicate there’s insufficient clinical evidence showing that quercetin can reliably deliver health benefits in humans.

Also, the sites didn’t indicate that any of these ingredients can deliver on LCR Health’s claims of boosting AMPK levels, trimming abdominal fat, increasing endurance, raising metabolism, supporting energy levels, or optimizing brain function.

We contacted Dr. Erik A. Richter for a professional opinion. Richter is one of the two men who wrote the study we mentioned earlier.

“In my professional opinion,” Richter said, “It’s not possible for over-the-counter ingredients to meaningfully boost AMPK levels and result in benefits such as increased energy, better brain function, and weight loss.”

However, he emphasized, “there are multiple pharma companies working on AMPK activators, so it is not an impossible future possibility.”

Potential Side Effects

The LCR Health website points out that because Active-PK contains all-natural ingredients, it’s safe to use and causes no known side effects. However, it’s important to emphasize that just because something is natural, this doesn’t automatically mean it’s completely safe.

For example, WebMD, Natural Medicines Database, and Examine.com report that berberine is unsafe to take if you’re pregnant, nursing, have diabetes, or are experiencing low blood pressure.

Furthermore, it can cause a major interaction with Cyclosporine and minor interactions with medications changed by the liver.

While up to 500 mg of quercetin has been used in studies that lasted up to 12 weeks, it’s unknown if it’s safe for longer-term use. It can also cause moderate interactions with Cyclosporin, antibiotics, and medications changed by the liver.

Finally, while Gynostemma may be safe to take for up to fours months, these sites indicate it can cause side effects like severe nausea and increased bowel movements (no specific circumstances noted).

It’s also possibly unsafe for those who are pregnant or breastfeeding, as well as those with autoimmune diseases, bleeding disorders, diabetes, or who are scheduled to undergo surgery within two weeks (since it may slow blood clotting).

Together, the LCR Health website recommends speaking with your physician before purchasing Active-PK, which is certainly something we’d advise as well.

How Much Does Active-PK Cost?

Active-PK is only available for purchase on the LCR Health website, priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $69
  • 3 Bottles: $186.30 ($62.10 per bottle)
  • 6 Bottles: $330.15 ($55.03 per bottle)

All orders come with LCR Health’s 90-day Ironclad Guarantee, less shipping, which you can request by calling 800-384-8308 or sending an email to support@LCRHealth.com.

Active-PK vs. Competing AMPK Dietary Supplements

We found dozens of standalone jiaogulan, quercetin, and berberine dietary supplements during our research, many of which were priced well below $20 per bottle.

However, we encountered only a handful of top-rated options on Amazon that specifically advertised AMPK activation in their names. Here’s how their prices and ingredients compared to Active-PK:

Brand Price Ingredients
Active-PK by LCR Health $69 Gynostemma 450 mg, Quercetin 100 mg, Berberine 100 mg
Life Extension AMPK Metabolic Activator $21.97 Calcium 130 mg, Hesperidin 500 mg, ActivAMP Gynostemma 450 mg
LUZ AMPK Activator $35.97 Gynostemma 150 mg, Berberine 900 mg, Alpha-Lipoic Acid 300 mg, Resveratrol 150 mg
Takenutritionx AMPK Activator $36.99 Gynostemma 450 mg,
Quercetin 100mg,
Berberine 100mg
Botanic Choice AMPK Formula $50 ActivAMP Gynostemma 150 mg, Berberine 17 mg, Rosehip 400 mg
Horbaach AMPK Metabolic Activator $16.87 ActivAMP Gynostemma 450 mg

Price-wise, we can see that Horbaach’s AMPK Metabolic Activator is the lowest cost option among popular competitors above, by a decent margin. It only contains 450 mg of Gynostemma, although as we discussed above, there’s insufficient reported clinical evidence that it can help humans lose weight, increase energy, or improve brain function.

Life Extension also contains the same level of Gynostemma as Active-PK, but at a much lower price. It doesn’t contain quercetin, but again, there’s insufficient clinical support that it can activate AMPK in humans.

From an ingredients perspective, Takenutritionx’s AMPK Activator features the same formulation and dosages as Active-PK, but at a meaningfully lower price. In fact, consumers can purchase two bottles of Takenutritionx for only a couple of dollars more than a single bottle of Active-PK.

Based on this, we can see that Active-PK isn’t necessarily the “revolutionary formula” advertised by LCR Health.

Bottom Line: Is Active-PK Worth It?

At the time of publishing, dozens of HighYa readers have given Active-PK an average rating of 3.6 stars, many of which reported excellent customer support, as well as benefits like reduced weight and inches around their waist, improved sleep, decreased cravings, and boosted energy. LCR Health had similar Better Business Bureau feedback at the time of our research.

So, if you’re looking to purchase your next dietary supplement from a reputable company, LCR Health appears to be safe to order from should you have concerns with your order in the future.

It’s important to balance the positives by pointing out that many HighYa readers reported no results with Active-PK, although a company representative responded in most of these instances to address the customers' concerns.

Furthermore, websites like WebMD and the Natural Medicines Database, along with medical professionals like Erik Richter, report insufficient clinical evidence supporting LCR Health’s claims related to AMPK activation, weight loss, or boosted energy or improved brain function for Active-PK’s ingredients.

Finally, Active-PK comes with a much higher price than popular competitors on Amazon. And based on our experience writing about hundreds of dietary supplements over the years, customers typically don’t report meaningfully better results after paying more for one.

Taken together, if you’re looking to explore potential AMPK activation, we think it’s difficult to justify paying a much higher price for Active-PK.

» Keep Reading: A Beginner’s Guide to Losing Weight and Getting in Shape

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 70 Active-PK Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 19 3 star: 4 2 star: 2 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 71% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 70
Sort reviews by:

  • 43 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing product

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jun 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am onto my second bottle now. My weight is exactly the same. I took two tablets early in the morning every day until the last week, where I only took one tablet in the morning. I now just take the one tablet daily. I was getting very bad nausea every night from the tablets. The sickness was terrible. I didn't feel sick in the beginning, it built up over time. Taking just one tablet is better. I also got very painful leg cramps in the calf muscles in the beginning. They seem to have eased up now. As I bought three bottles originally, I will keep on going until the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 12, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Lea, Taylor here with LCR Health. I am sorry to hear that you have not experienced the results you anticipated from taking Active-PK thus far. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee to ensure that each customer has a fair amount of time to begin seeing the benefits of Active PK, as some people may take longer to see results than others.

      I would be more than happy to issue you a refund at the end of your trial period if you are still dissatisfied with Active-PK at that point. Please keep in mind that it is always very important to consult your physician, prior to starting any new supplement, especially if any type of side effects occur.

      Please send me an email at [email protected] if you have any further questions or comments, or if you would like me to begin processing your refund for you. Thank you Lea.


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Active-PK

    Hi. So far I give it no stars!

    I've been using it for one week, and so far I gained five pounds. My eating habits have not changed. I'm gluten intolerant, therefore, my diet stayed the same. I still workout daily, walk the dog, etc.

    I don't get it! I will give it a go for 30 days and then will give more feedback to all. I wrote to them and haven't heard. I'm just wondering if I must be doing something else? It seemed so easy; two pills daily, that's it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 11, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi there Sylvie, thank you for leaving us a valuable review on your experience so far with Active-PK. I am sorry to hear that you are not receiving the benefits you were expecting as of yet. We always recommend that our customers give the product at least 30 days for it to work and for your body to adjust to it. We stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, so if any point you are dissatisfied, you are welcome to return the product for a full refund. Please email me personally at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any questions or comments you may have. Thank you Sylvie.


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Placebo?

    • New York,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took as directed for two months to curb my appetite but it had absolutely no impact whatsoever. Very disappointing. I was skeptical but ordered it because they offered a full refund minus the return shipping. I am a firm believer that weight loss or appetite suppressant is never an easy thing. My advice, buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 25, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Hilary, thank you for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits that Active-PK has to offer but thank you for giving our product a fair try.

      I’m happy to hear that you took advantage of our effortless return policy! Again, thank you for giving our product a try Hilary! Please e-mail me at taylor@lcrhealth.com if you have any questions or concerns!


  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    It didn't help me lose anything.

    I gave Active PK a try. After a few weeks, I called and said it wasn't helping and I wanted to send it back. They said, "No, no, please keep trying it, try three a day instead of two." Well, that didn't help either, so I called again and said I want to send them back. The response was "Try four pills a day; try two in the morning and two in the afternoon for a few weeks." That didn't help either.

    By that time I was half done with my pills and decided to send them back. They did not give me a full refund, only half a refund, because of all the pills I tried and couldn't return. They were not honest, as the company said they would give a 90-day full refund. I would not recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 6, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi there Kathleen. Thank you so much for letting me know about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry that you did not experience the many benefits of Active-PK. While a majority of our customers love Active-PK, we realize that it does not work the same way for everyone. As it is the industry standard, we do ask that you return the products when requesting a full refund, as to ensure that you gave the product a fair trial. As an extra convenience, we offer a 40% refund to customers who decide to not send back the product containers. Please email me directly at Taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back, regardless of how long it has been. Thank you.


  • 38 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    I bought this product as suggested and got a 3-month supply. It did not do anything for me. I wonder how it worked for others. I followed the directions as stated on the bottle. I will not be wasting any more money on this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 29, 2017

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi David, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Active-PK. I am so sorry to hear that you did not experience all of the results you had expected when taking Active-PK. As with all products, we do understand it may work for some and not for others. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund! Please email me at Taylor@lcrhealth.com and I can assist you with this right away! I look forward to hearing from you!


  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Would like to review the product, but it is taking so long to get it...

    Very slow in getting the product shipped to me. This is the worst I have experienced ordering any supplement online. Makes me think the company is at best totally lame, or at worst a scam. I am about ready to ask for a refund because I am tired of waiting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 25, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Peggie, I'm Taylor from LCR Health. Thank you so much for reaching out. I am so sorry to hear that you are experiencing this! According to our records, I can see that the package was delivered to you. I would like to make sure that you have received it since writing this review. Please email me at Taylor@LCRHealth.com if there are any outstanding issues. In addition, if you would still like to receive a refund, just email me and I can assist you with that process as well! I look forward to hearing from you to ensure that everything is resolved.


  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Wire fraud

    • California,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In my opinion, the whole online sales process for this product is nothing more than a scam. I ordered $127.00 worth of product on 4/9/18 and got a printable receipt stating that my order would be shipped in 24 hours. Eight days later I called to see where it was. I was told that it was in the warehouse and would be shipped out that afternoon. Two days later, I called again and got the same response - it's in the warehouse. Why is it in your warehouse and not at my house? I live just three hours away from their location.

    I asked that my order be canceled and monies returned to my account. Supposedly, only a supervisor could do that, and there were none available at that time. I left my name and phone number with a request that I receive a return call. It's after 2:00 Friday afternoon, 24 hours later, and I've still not had the courtesy of a call. There is definitely something not right.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 27, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi John, I'm Taylor from LCR Health. Thank you so much for reaching out. I am truly so sorry to hear about the frustration and inconvenience that you have experienced. Typically, our shipments take up to 7-10 days to arrive at their destination, but due to the high demand of Active-PK, it may take a little longer. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund right away. Please email me to my personal email, Taylor@LCRHealth.com, and I can begin the refund process right away. Again, I am so sorry for the miscommunication and confusion that we have caused. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    No loss

    • San Bernardino, CA,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking two tablets every morning for the last four weeks. There has been NO weight loss or tummy loss. I am active as I walk every day and go to the gym at least three times a week. I have always had energy so can't really tell if that helped. What do I do now?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 13, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Beth, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for giving Active-PK a try! While many of our customers experience all of Active-PK’s benefits right away, it can typically take three months to see maximum results. I encourage you to continue taking the tablets every morning as you have been doing! As we understand everybody is different, we will wholeheartedly stand by our 90-day money back guarantee, no questions asked. Please feel free to reach out to me at taylor@lcrhealth.com with any future questions, comments, or if you decide to take advantage of our refund policy.


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off! Totally!

    • Denver, CO,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took it, as directed, for three months. Not one pound, not one inch did I lose. I might as well have eaten mothballs for the same effect. I will give it NO STARS. My advice is, do NOT buy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 2, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Bob, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m very sorry to hear that you did not experience the results you were expecting. We understand that everybody is different so we will always honor our 90-day money back guarantee. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    LCR Health

    • Saint Petesburg, FL,
    • Aug 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My review is on LCR Health. I bought a 90-day supply of their Active Stem, which was an absolute waste of time and money. This product also came with a 90-day money back guarantee. I had to file a BBB complaint in order to get my refund. Bottom line, LCR Health is a SCAM, save your time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 23, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi James, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience with us. Customer experience is our number one priority, and I want to apologize that your experience was not a reflection of this. I will look into this immediately and ensure it does not happen again. Please email me personally at taylor@lcrhealth.com and I would love an opportunity to make this right! Again, apologies for any inconvenience and confusion we have caused.


  • 61 out 65 people found this review helpful

    LCR Health will do their best to rip you off

    • Oak Ridge, TN,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did try Active-PK from LCR Health. I couldn't tell that it did anything for me. When I called them, they said perhaps I had not taken it for long enough and made me an offer to sell me a 90-day supply for about half of their retail price. I agreed to try it for a longer period of time, for three more months. I still could not see or feel any results like they described in their literature.

    Now get this! I didn't order any more of their Active-PK product. Today, October 1, 2018, I received an email saying they HAVE shipped me a 6-bottle order of Active-PK on my MEMBERSHIP. I never signed up for any membership. I called them. A lady on the phone agreed to cancel my "membership" and instructed me to call when I received the order for a "Return Authorization." Once they receive my return, they will refund the cost to my credit card. Sure enough, they have charged my credit card without my permission! Watch out. LCR Health will try to rip you off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 14, 2018

      Company Response from LCR Health

      Hi Rex, my name is Taylor with LCR Health. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience; it is never our intention to confuse our customers or charge their credit cards without authorization. That would be unethical. It sounds like you may have accidentally signed up for our VIP Membership program which is completely optional. Please email me at taylor@lcrhealth.com, and I will be more than happy to further discuss your experience and to look into your account to ensure that you are fully refunded. Again, I want to apologize for any inconvenience! I look forward to making this right.


Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for Active-PK!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review