About Basis by Elysium

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 24, 2016

If you’ve been a HighYa reader for long, you already recognize that there are a lot of products claiming to work at the cellular level, whether they’re supposed to help you look younger or improve your health. But in a lot of instances, these products fail to deliver on their promises. Is Basis by Elysium different, though?

According to Elysium, after decades of research by leading scientists and clinicians, this nutritional supplement was designed to repair cells damaged by the aging process and environmental toxins, while keeping healthy cells healthy. As a result, Basis could help you experience benefits not attainable through diet and exercise alone, such as “more consistent energy, better quality sleep, and sharper cognitive function.”

Basis accomplishes this by boosting your body’s production of a coenzyme called NAD+ (we’ll talk more about this soon), which is responsible for cellular energy production, damage repair, and more. All you have to do is take two capsules each morning, and with regular use, Basis could “optimize your health” for the long-term.

You’re here for one main reason: you want to know if Basis by Elysium is the real deal, and that’s exactly what we’ll help you find out in this review. To begin, let’s take a closer look at the role of NAD+ in the body.

Nicotinamide Adenine Dinucleotide (NAD+) & Your Health

In the Complete Guide to Nicotinamide Riboside, we discussed this important coenzyme (a lesser-known version of vitamin B3), how it works within the human body, and many of its claimed benefits. So, if you’re looking to get an in-depth look at the situation, this is definitely worth a read.

In a nutshell though, nicotinamide riboside (NR) doesn’t directly cause any benefits in the body. Instead, as a coenzyme (a substance that enhances the action of an enzyme), it binds with protein molecules to create active enzymes. NR also boosts levels of another coenzyme called nicotinamide adenine dinucleotide (NAD+), which is essential for proper cellular function, but is something that begins declining in our 20s.

However, supplementation of nicotinamide riboside has been clinically shown to combat many side effects associated with this NAD+ reduction, including improving communication between your cells’ nuclei and their mitochondria, leading to improved cellular health, boosted cognitive function and synaptic plasticity, reduced likelihood of neurodegenerative diseases, and more. In order to provide these benefits, Basis only contains two ingredients: nicotinamide riboside and pterostilbene, a potent polyphenol and derivative of resveratrol found in blueberries that boosts sirtuin levels, another enzyme associated with slowed aging.

Here’s the thing though: Much of the current clinical research on these substances has been conducted on non-human subjects (often yeast or mice), which is something you can see for yourself by quickly browsing the citations on Elysium’s website. So, although much of this research is positive, it’s still far from “proven” that these substance will provide these same benefits in humans.

Where Does Elysium Obtain Their Nicotinamide Riboside From?

Over the past couple years, we’ve seen an explosion in the number of nicotinamide riboside supplements available on the market. Not just because of the positive research that continues to pile up, but because of a new way of obtaining NR in the first place.

You see, until recently, NR was manufactured using a labor-intensive 8-step process derived from tryptophan. Today though, a company named ChromaDex manufactures the “first and only commercially-available nicotinamide riboside (NR) with five patents issued and more pending,” which they sell as a standalone ingredient under the trade name Niagen. This is why you’ll find dozens of different Niagen supplements (such as one from Live Cell Research – more about this shortly) manufactured by completely different companies.

However, there wasn’t a nutritional label listed on the Elysium website, although there’s no indication on their website that Basis contains Niagen (or the amount), so it’s not clear if additional commercial sources of nicotinamide riboside are used.

Whether it goes by Niagen or another name, or it’s manufactured by Elysium or another company, what’s everyone saying about these NR supplements?

Do Nicotinamide Riboside Supplements Like Basis Really Work?

We already talked about the positive—yet preliminary—clinical research for nicotinamide riboside above, but what are real-world customers experiencing with these supplements?

Basis by Elysium has received a fair amount of high-level media attention recently, having been featured in MIT Technology Review, The Boston Globe, Scientific American, Fast Company, and more. Most of these were high-level reviews talking about the scientific credentials of many of the people behind the company (we’ll talk more about this in the following section), but not necessarily reviews about the supplement itself.

However, we did find one first-hand review on CorpsStrength.com, where the author concluded that they didn’t experience any noticeable results from taking Basis for an undisclosed period of time. On the upside, they didn’t claim to have experienced any side effects, either.

Here on HighYa, Live Cell Research’s Niagen supplement had a 3-star rating based on 73 reader reviews at the time of our research. As you might imagine with such an evenly split reputation, some customers claimed to have experienced boosted energy, improved mental clarity, and improved sleep; while others claimed to have experienced nothing at all.

Let’s talk more about Elysium’s power-packed team of scientific professionals next.

The Team Behind Basis by Elysium

Compared to most of the other nicotinamide riboside supplements out there, Elysium’s CEO Eric Marcotulli has assembled a “dream team” of 30+ industry innovators and science and medicine pioneers to create the Basis supplement. This includes Chief Scientist Lenny Guarente, who has “focused his research on what keeps us healthy as we age” for more than 35 years, and who also runs MIT’s Glenn Lab for the Science of Aging, as well as Nobel laureates Aaron Ciechanover, Eric Kandel, Martin Karplus, and more.

According to Eric, the market potential for something like Basis was ripe for development, as he was “overwhelmed with the response” after reaching out to these scientists. In the future, the company hopes to continue identifying “novel compounds to produce health products that can directly improve our health.”

Given the clinically studied ingredients and the scientific support behind Basis, how much will you pay for the supplement?

How Much Does Basis by Elysium Cost?

Basis is available through the following options:

  • One Bottle: $60
  • Monthly Subscription: $50 per bottle
  • Semi-Annual Subscription: $45 per bottle ($270 due at checkout)
  • Annual Subscription: $40 per bottle ($480 due at checkout)

All orders include free Ground shipping.

Important note: If you choose any of the subscription options, Elysium will continue sending you a fresh bottle of Basis once per month. If you’re on a monthly plan, these recurring shipments can be canceled at any time. However, semi-annual or annual subscriptions cannot be canceled mid-term.

In addition, keep in mind that after your Basis order has shipped, no refunds are available.

In order to speak with one of Elysium’s customer support representatives, you’ll need to call toll-free (888) 220-6436 or send an email to care@elysiumhealth.com.

Will Basis by Elysium Improve Your Health—or Your Life?

In classical mythology, Elysium was “the abode of the blessed after death.” But can the company’s first supplement, Basis, help you live a healthier, happier, and longer life in this world?

Based on the available clinical evidence and customer feedback for similar products, we’d recommend keeping your expectations realistic for Basis. In other words, could the NR contained in Basis really help improve cellular function? Considering the mounting clinical evidence, it certainly seems well within the realm of possibilities.

On the flip side, even if Basis’ ingredients work exactly like the company claims, you might not experience any noticeable exterior benefits. According to their FAQ:

“Basis is designed to work beneath the surface on the health of your cells, and its primary purpose is not to deliver surface-level results. Taking Basis is an investment in your long-term health, and you may not feel different despite the improvements happening inside your body. Everyone’s physiology is unique and results vary from person to person.”

Given this, if you don’t experience any “surface-level results” with Basis, how will you be able to tell the difference between it working and it not? How can you gauge whether or not your $60-per month investment is worthwhile? Ultimately, despite the clinical research and scientific credentials behind the supplement, you’ll have to decide whether or not it’s worth taking the risk.

In our opinion, if you feel like giving Basis by Elysium a try, we’d recommend starting with a single bottle, since refunds aren’t available and you can’t cancel an annual or semi-annual subscription mid-term. Then, depending on your results, you make a more informed decision about how to proceed.

Did you give Basis by Elysium a try? How long did you take it? What kinds of benefits did you experience? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 38 Basis by Elysium Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 8 3 star: 5 2 star: 5 1 star:  10
Bottom Line: 55% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 95 out 99 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Circumstances have changed and I won't buy Elysium product

    • USA,
    • Oct 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am updating the review to low since Elysium isn't purchasing their Niagen from ChromaDex anymore. And, the product sold by Elysium is now alleged to be contaminated with the toxin Toluene. Read online from attorney Shelly Albaum.

    I gained tremendous benefit from the usage of Niagen and Pterostilbene combo. Elysium used to source them through ChromaDex. My purchases are now from Amazon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jun 22, 2016

    Excellent experience with both Niagen & company I chose to purchase from

    Not all reviewers include their age, dosage taken or company purchased from. Niagen is sold by many different companies and in different dosages. This is important information to have when reading a review. My product review will be at the end, after giving all relevant data.

    Some of the reviewers appear to believe the product is made in China. The ingredient Niagen (Nicotinamide Riboside) is manufactured in the US and sold to other vendors that resell it in various strengths and prices. I noticed that CVS discontinued theirs due to low sales, but, in looking at a bottle I noticed the dosage was only for one 75mg capsule daily and might explain the lower price mentioned in one review. That’s not the recommended dosage from the reading I’ve done.

    I’m a 64 year old female that bought my product through Elysium Health, LLC. The product is sold as “Basis” and each dose consists of 250mg Nicotinamide Riboside and 50mg Pterostilbene. Two capsules equal one dose, so, each capsule is 150mg NR and 25mg Pterostilbene. When I saw the close out in CVS I bought the remaining bottles they had on the shelf and now take an additional 75mg daily for a total of 325mg Nicotinamide Riboside along with 50mg Pterostilbene.

    In comparison to my very muscular and skinny self as an 18 year old, I’m 20 pounds overweight and would like to lose about 10 pounds. The only medications I use are restasis for dry eyes. My eating pattern is relatively healthy and the weight gain has been due to lower energy and lower activity in recent years without lowering caloric intake. So, there’s nothing to change in diet if in fact I end up with more energy and can become more active again. That was my thinking/hoping before starting Niagen. I included the word hoping since I realize everyone responds differently to medications and supplements. Even the same supplement can create a different response due to variations in filler used in the capsules by different companies. And, it’s very important to take any supplement with lot’s of water to avoid any liver issues. Based on the reviews, I’m guessing not all are drinking a good amount of water with each dose.

    I have no relationship with any company that makes or sells Niagen and I’m not being compensated for this review. I’m just hoping it will be helpful to others.

    Elysium Health, LLC has been superb. Three weeks into using the product I received the following email from the company:

    Hi xxx-

    I'm writing to see how you are now that you've started incorporating Basis into your daily routine.

    On behalf of the Elysium team, we are grateful to be working with people like you, proactively seeking the best ways to sustain health. If there is anything we can help you with, please let me know.

    You can reach my customer care team at care@elysiumhealth.com or by phone Monday through Friday, 9am-5pm EST, at +1.888.220.6436.

    Hope to hear from you soon!

    All the best, Tom

    My purchase was for a one month supply set up with auto refill and I sent him a note asking about the timing of billing and shipping of the next month supply. He responded the next day. I’d rate the Elysium customer service as excellent.

    Just before starting my first dose last month I had a complete blood work up done and I’m scheduled for another one in November 2016.

    After about a week I thought I was feeling more energetic. At the ten day point there was no doubt about it. I can walk and bike ride further than before without getting tired. What stops me is going until my thighs are a bit sore. This in itself is fantastic since I had lost most of my energy and could only go short distances before feeling that thigh soreness. I measure in blocks since I’m taking baby steps instead of overdoing it. I used to get tired after one block and now go around the block four times. I’ll try increasing by another block next week.

    My mental clarity has greatly improved and I can’t believe the speed of my typing. It’s dramatically faster. I noticed these improvements before I started the extra 75mg two days ago.

    There are two changes that I don’t view as good or bad. My dreams are very vivid and I have quite the recall. The other issue is that I have to make sure to go to bed at a decent hour since no matter what time I go to bed I still wake up at my usual time. I’m still full of energy, but, know the body needs a certain amount of sleep to rebuild. But, I feel a bit like an energizer bunny that can keep going and going. Fortunately, I have no problems going to sleep and sleep well.

    The negative I have experienced is having to urinate more often due to drinking more water than usual. The Niagen isn’t making me more thirsty, but, being a relatively new supplement I feel it is a good idea to stay very well hydrated until I have been on it for about six months and see what my blood work looks like. Plus, I’m more active now.

    Overall, that mental clarity, speed of typing and energy to simply do more throughout the day is simply wonderful. My walking and bike riding are so much easier too.

    Apparently, it doesn’t do the same for all and it would be interesting to know what all the variables are. I’m hoping this review ends up helpful to some. I’ll update with other changes that are good or bad.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    From couch sitter, age 60 (heart attack) to athlete

    In 2016 I had a major heart attack (called the Widow Maker). Prior to that (5 years) I had my second major open heart surgery (valve replacement). At the age of 59, I was overweight (268 lbs) and trying to recover from the heart attack. I was on depression meds, cholesterol meds, blood pressure meds, and a plethora of other meds. My short term memory was like Swiss Cheese, my ability to walk up stairs was like running a marathon. Every joint hurt and I would have night sweats and cramping. To say I was a mess would be an understatement.

    So after 30 years of being sick, I started to research all the supplements that helped with memory and physical recovery, which led to researching aging. This, in turn, led to Basis, among other products. Of course, I understood that exercise was needed, but previously I had tried and failed over the last three decades. So I figured if I ate well, took supplements and tried a product like Basis that would be enough.

    I did start to take Basis and eventually started to exercise slowly. When exercising, I noticed after about eight weeks my pain was there, but my recovery was faster than in the past. Plus my memory seemed better. I slowly started to do strength training and after six months of exercise and Basis (and traditional supplements) felt pretty good. At that time I decided to stop taking Basis and for the following six months I continued to exercise. After about two weeks I noticed it was a little harder and took longer and longer to recover. In addition, my family started to make fun of memory issues (again). So I decided to order Basis again.

    This time though I increased the amount to double, and after three weeks I definitely noticed the change. My exercise routine was increased, along with the amount of weights. After eight months I entered into my first Powerlifting competition and after 30 years of little to no exercise, two open heart surgeries, a major heart attack, being severely overweight and being 61, I won the California State Powerlifting Championship and set two state records. I am now training for the USPA National Championship and will try to qualify for the IPF World Championships.

    Did Basis make me stronger? No. What it did do is somehow allow me to have the same degree of recovery as when I was in my 20's. I am stronger now and with clearer thinking than I was 25 years ago. Of course, there is no one single pill that will reverse aging, but if taking Basis and the proper supplements in conjunction with diet and strength training, is any proof of success then I am proof of that.

    By the way, my squat is 405 lbs, my deadlift if 500 lbs and my bench press is 260 lbs. You can look me up on Facebook in the group Strength Athlete Spirit.

    Frank Westall.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    I've been taking Basis daily for 6 months

    • Arizona,
    • Jul 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 46 and I've decided to try Basis for 1 year and then decide whether to continue.

    I can't say I feel any different or that I know that it is working. I can however say that I haven't been sick in that time (unusual for me) and I feel great.

    I have no evidence that I feel great because of Basis and Basis does not claim to boost immunity so my health is probably a coincidence.

    I have started running again and I do feel like I have more energy. Whether this is because I'm taking better care of myself or because of Basis, it is impossible to say.

    I do have to say their customer service is excellent.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Basis: Maybe Excellent, Maybe Not

    I am taking the recommended dosage of two Basis caps per day. I noticed an almost immediate positive effect after just a few days, but I'm well acquainted with the placebo effect (Google it), and I am a bit of a hypochondriac, so I'm going to give myself six months before reevaluating where I am in some specific benchmark areas: General energy level; Recovery time after heavy activity; Degree of wakefulness during waking activities; Quality of sleep; and Ability to rise in the morning without that awful "sleep hangover" feeling. I plan to take Basis for the year either way, as I think that should be a sufficient amount of time for change at the cellular level to manifest. If I continue to feel good and getting better, I will continue taking it! The capsules are not large and are easy to take, with no unpleasant odors, tastes, or afterburn in the gastric tract. As a previous poster mentioned, I take them with a full glass of water - always a good idea.

    I should add that I am a chronically ill person, having suffered an auto accident that left me with permanent disabilities for which I take daily medications. I have seen and felt the negative effect these daily medications have had over the past few years, and I'm not looking for a fountain of youth in Basis, but rather looking to supplement my own body's ability to rebound, and to raise my general level of health, so that perhaps I do not need to take as many daily medications in order to have a reasonable level of energy and recovery for an overweight 54 year old man, which is me. I'm also working on incorporating some better lifestyle changes - cleaning up the diet, getting some daily exercise - in short, I'm taking Basis not as a panacea for my own body's aging, but rather as a part of a plan to implement better pathways to feeling good as a part f my daily program of life. I hope that makes sense. I do think anyone taking Basis in the belief that it is some mystical, miracle cure is bound to be disappointed, because that kind of thing just doesn't exist. Good health is a journey, not a destination, and you get there by taking each day as you go, making positive decisions regarding your health one step at a time.

    Good luck to everyone giving this a try - I hope you find some improvement in the way you feel!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely, go for it!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Aug 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Elysium basis for ten months now. I experienced an immediate change in my energy levels. No more crashing after 2 pm. After about 20 days I noticed my eyesight improving. I had been having trouble seeing from afar, and I noticed while driving that I could see clearly much further within a few days.

    Still skeptic and thinking that I was biased to 'notice things,' I continued to take the supplement for the second month. Having taken digestive enzymes before, I noticed a similar temporary 'side effect,' the skin on your hands and face becomes extremely dry and wrinkly while the body begins to get rid of accumulated toxins. I continued to moisturize to counteract the effects. That is why I knew something was happening at the cellular level.

    After about three months of taking the supplement, my short and long term memory improved greatly. I am studying part time while working full time and I began experiencing a hard time retaining what I read. Next, I saw my face and body muscles tightening and my skin glowing. I don't work out, and occasionally take 30 minutes walks around town.

    Overall I can say with certainty that this supplement reversed the functions of my body to the time I was on my 20's. I took this one step further and got blood work done to see what the supplement was doing at a cellular level. My bad cholesterol went down 36 points without me changing a thing about my diet or exercise routine. My glucose level in the blood lowered by 20%. Any health indicators of blood count and enzymes improved markedly compared to my previous lab tests two years ago.

    I am subscribed to a monthly order I am seriously considering buying this for my parents.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Reaction

    I had a bad reaction taking this and developed severe pain in my arms. I'm on Aspirin therapy, so I'm guessing this caused a reaction. After stopping, the pain went away, so I would not take this if you're on meds like me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Three week experience

    • Cypress, Texas,
    • Jul 31, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a male, 65 years old. I am over weight and have the usual problems that come with it. My experience after three weeks is interesting.

    1. I sleep a lot better.

    2. My dreams are more vivid and I remember them clearly.

    3. My thought processes is keener.

    4. I am starting to become more active. My base line for activity started out as a coach potato.

    Now for the record I am not jumping over tall buildings or running a marathon. I plan to continue with the program and see where it takes me. I will update my review if I feel there is anything I can add.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Neutral feelings

    I am taking Basis by Elysium for three months now, and I do not feel any change, neither negative or positive. I almost feel like I'm more tired, but don't know if that is from Basis, which it probably is NOT. They told me the cells inside my body would be experiencing the effect of Basis, but there is no way I can be sure. I'm continuing to take it, just because I hope it is working, and I was impressed with the scientific team that worked on it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    No effect at all

    • Florida,
    • Apr 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a Microbiologist and Doctor, I was intrigued by the claims. My wife and I both took two capsules daily at the same time in the morning. Neither of us can say it had any noticeable effect on us at all. We are still as tired as ever, LOL. No extra energy or pep.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Elysium beware

    • Alexandria, VA,
    • Apr 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered Elysium after reading about it and many reviews. It seemed like a good idea. As a science type approach to my supplements, the only variable was the addition of Elysium to my daily routine. I don't know if cellular energy is supposed to be painful, but after a couple of days, I noticed aches and pains in parts of my body that don't normally experience that; shoulders, neck, legs. Some days it felt as though everything just hurt.

    And it didn't help with my sleeping. My strength actually declined and going to the gym and/or running was becoming a chore not the enjoyable adventure of pushing myself as before.

    I continued, thinking maybe it was just my body getting used to a new substance. However, I got tired of feeling like you know what.

    I stopped taking Elysium after about three weeks (that was two days ago), and I am starting to feel "normal" again. The gym tonight was awesome; that aggressive approach that is actually fun.

    I don't know if this is a unique perhaps side effect that only happened to me, but I thought enough of it to write this review to give folks another viewpoint.

    I am very physically active, have been since my teens; I am now in my 50's and am not slowing down.

    As for the one star, it wouldn't let me leave no stars. No supplement should make anyone feel that bad.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not great service

    • Hawaii,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for six months (big mistake). The second order arrived too late, so I was without the product for a week. They didn't respond to my email about it, so I finally called them. For your information, even though the potential for shipping issues remain, they refuse to send the other four bottles I have already paid for at one time. "Oh, we just can't change the way we do our orders."

    So buyer beware of this. No refunds, no flexibility. Not impressed with this company. Effects have been negligible to none for two months. If I continue, it's not going to be with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Basis by Elysium!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review