Start your review of BetterHelp:
  • 1208 Customer Reviews
  • 92% Recommend This Service
4.6 out of 5
5 star: 85% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 0% 1 star: 6%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Dr. Brewer is phenomenal and has helped me more than I thought possible

    Overall Experience:

    Dr. Brewer has helped me exponentially with intimacy issues in my marriage without making me feel uncomfortable in any way. I can be fully open with her, and she handles each question with grace and understanding. I am incredibly grateful for the strides she has helped me make in my marriage. I would highly recommend her!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 2, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Thank you for your review Esther! We are so happy to hear that Dr. Brewer has helped you in your marriage. We hope there is continued growth and learning in the future, as well as with your partner. Thanks again!


  • Amazing, helpful service

    Overall Experience:

    I sought a counselor in the mountain area I am living in after separation and needing some help adjusting to this time in my life. There are few counselors here that I could find at all. I went online and found BetterHelp. I wasn't sure how this would work and was a little unsure of this type of help. I figured I would give it a try as the cost was reasonable and it was so necessary for me.

    I was so pleasantly surprised how easy the whole process is. I find it very easy to connect with the counselor chosen based on my needs and profile. I am able to send her messages and emails and contact her if needed in between sessions and she responds so quickly. She is truly interested in my well-being and has my best interest at heart. I feel I am getting so much from the sessions via phone and look forward to them.

    The thing is too, right now, I am on a very tight budget, and this is affordable for me. BetterHelp makes it possible for almost anyone to get the counseling they need at an affordable cost with a qualified professional to help sort through issues and make things more manageable.

    I am so grateful to BetterHelp for this service and to my counselor. This has been a real blessing to me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Lynn! Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so happy to hear that you found our process easy and affordable. We wish you all the best and continued wellness!


  • Very happy

    Overall Experience:

    I love the online aspect of this. My counselor Clea is very easy to talk to. I have a personal therapist as well, but this allows me to communicate with my therapist 24/7. I don't have to take off work to go to appointments, which is great. I've been able to talk about things I've kept inside for a very long time. I would highly recommend BetterHelp.com.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 25, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Thanks for your review Thomas! We're so happy to hear that you're able to get in touch with Clea when you need to, outside of your other counseling needs. We hope you're able to continue to talk things out, and we wish you all the best!


  • My review

    Overall Experience:

    I just recently signed up with BetterHelp, and it has been a good experience. Melaney has been a great therapist. She jumped right in with my issues. I was surprised to receive messages on Sunday and Labor Day, just shows how dedicated she is to her clients.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 12, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Thanks for letting us know Michele! It sounds like you indeed got matched with one of the dedicated counselors on the platform, who took time out of her holiday weekend to communicate with you and help get you acquainted on the platform! We're so excited for you to continue with Melaney, and wish you all the best!


  • Life changing service!

    • By Erin Ball,
    • Michigan,
    • Aug 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I LOVE this service. It has helped me SO much. I have been recommending it to all of my friends and family members. It is such a great tool, especially for technology savvy folks that might not have the time in their busy schedules to arrange a face-to-face appointment every week (as in traditional counseling).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 12, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Thanks for your honest review Erin! We're glad you're able to utilize the convenience factor of our platform, and that you're able to connect with your counselor at your leisure. Have a great rest of your week!


  • So happy with the service

    Overall Experience:

    I agreed to give BetterHelp a try, although I felt it was a long shot. I accepted a trial offer, and I didn't have high hopes or any expectations for the type of service, or the quality of service that I would receive. After my second live session and after numerous chat messages exchanged, I can gladly and confidently say that is the luckiest accident I've ever had, stumbling onto this website. I'm really happy with the service. My therapist is wonderful, the site is very professional, and it exceeded my expectations. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 12, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Michelle! Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad that your experience has exceeded your expectations by so much! We're so excited for you, and wish you the best as you continue your wellness journey.


  • My experience with BetterHelp

    • By Hannah E.,
    • San Antonio, Texas,
    • Aug 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I've been using BetterHelp for a couple of weeks now. I got off to a bit of a rocky start trying to find a therapist that was a good fit for me, and that will happen, even when finding a therapist to work with face-to-face. However, after switching counselors a couple of times, I was matched with a therapist who has been immensely helpful to me! I like that there are different options like connecting with your counselor over chat, phone or video.

    Each counselor is a little different in terms of how fast they respond to messages or what their availability is for sessions. The first counselor I connected with only had weekday mornings available because she worked part-time as a therapist at a clinic as well, but the new therapist I have has sessions all day and even in the evening because she does this full-time. So I find that to be really helpful too. My first therapist would respond once every couple of days; my new therapist usually replies in a few hours. All are different, so just let your counselor know up front what kind of response time you're looking for and when you're looking to have sessions. If their availability doesn't match up, it's okay to request a new counselor. You can do it at the click of a button on the app. You don't even have to deal with the uncomfortableness of explaining it to your current counselor like you would have to do in traditional face-to-face therapy.

    I have not experienced the billing issues that others have stated here, but I am on the weekly billing plan. For financial reasons, I once had to cancel to take a week off, and I wasn't charged any further money. When I was ready to resume, I just reconnected my account and picked back up from there making my usual weekly payments. It clearly states that if you choose the monthly plan you will pay the month in full, so maybe the people on here just didn't read the billing information. They also offer financial aid to those who need it and are income-eligible, to lower your monthly bill. I only pay about $2 more per week for this unlimited counseling than my insurance copay is for one visit per week with an in-person therapist.

    I have dealt with customer service a few times over email for account issues, and they've always been quick and friendly in their replies. All in all, I am thankful to have found this service, and I have actually found it more helpful than most of the traditional in-person therapy sessions I've attended over the years.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 28, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Hannah E! Thanks for leaving your honest review for us. We are so happy that you were able to find the right counselor for you on your weekly subscription plan and appreciate your positivity! We hope you continue your journey to wellness!


  • Introvert bliss

    • By Becky Smith,
    • Brentwood, CA,
    • Aug 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I finally reached out to someone when I was feeling so depressed I couldn't leave my bed. They matched me up with a good counselor who was easy for me to talk with. I have been talking with my counselor for a week now, and I am feeling better and being encouraged to go out and do something that I wouldn't have thought of. I know that I can talk with them about my issues and concerns and they will give good feedback and suggestions to make things better for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 28, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Becky,

      WOW, we could not be more happy for you! We hope things continue to go well for you, and we are so glad your matched counselor has been a big help. Have a great day!


  • BetterHelp was a pleasant surprise.

    • By Glen,
    • New Jersey,
    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was a little unsure at first. I have visited therapists face to face but never in a format such as this. By communicating via the internet, it was a surprisingly good experience for me. Convenient and available 24/7. There is also the benefit of revisiting conversations; a record of your conversations with your therapist is always available for you to read anytime. This was another bonus for me. My counselor Ted was excellent to work with. Compassionate, intelligent, and a great communicator.

    I found the whole experience very worthwhile. I am feeling much better as a result.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 25, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Glen! Thanks so much for your honest review! We are so happy to hear that you had a great experience with Ted and that you found him compassionate, intelligent, and a great communicator through our platform!


  • Scam

    • By Gina Walker,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw this ad on Facebook and thought it'd be nice to talk with someone in the comfort of my own home. Next day, I was contacted by a counselor, at which time I responded that I did not want the service. I can talk to friends/family for free, and to cancel my subscription.

    After several months, and a VERY long phone call with the number on my credit card bill, repeating that I've never used the service and that I want it canceled, and a full refund, I'm STILL being billed $180 a month. I'm trying to obtain an itemized bill, and obtaining legal counsel to get all this money refunded. Total scam. Apparently, if you tell anyone you don't want this, or try to stop it, they can't relay that info to the "billing" department.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 1, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi Gina

      Please get in touch with us at contact@betterhelp.com. We can assist you with any charges made on your account with our Support Team.


  • Do not use!

    • By D,
    • Ohio,
    • Jul 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was told I'd be charged $46, but I was charged $180 with no warning. It took me hours to finally reach them by phone, where they told me I'd have to wait for an email the next business day (funny because they took my money within seconds). I'm already broke, and now I'm in a complete hole until next payday. And all because I wanted "affordable help." Do NOT use!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 1, 2017

      Company Response from BetterHelp

      Hi D,

      If you need to get in touch with us, please email us at contact@betterhelp.com. We'd be happy to assist you with your subscription plan!


Showing 1178-1188 of 1208

Write a Review for BetterHelp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BetterHelp