BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2120 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2120 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:5%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

Wonderful service!

By Ruth M., Raleigh, NC, Verified Reviewer

It is so nice to be able to contact my counselor whenever I need her instead of having to set up an appointment over the phone for an in-person time. I love how timely she gets back to me as well! This service is absolutely wonderful and I will not be going back to another in-person counselor. Well worth it!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 14, 2021

BetterHelp

By Lynn C., Auckland, New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

My experience with BetterHelp has exceeded all my expectations. I was unsure what to expect but it is prompt and easy to use. Amanda, my therapist, is absolutely excellent. She listens so well and her insights are so very helpful. I am far away from home, being an immigrant, and I am very grateful to have Amanda’s support. I can not recommend her enough.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Effective

Excellent therapist

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 6, 2021

Accessible therapy

By Maggie M., Arlington Heights, IL, Verified Reviewer

I have really benefited from BetterHelp! It has made therapy more accessible, more affordable, and has helped keep me accountable in my healing process.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Affordable

Helpful

Can’t change the initial bio/write-up I made about myself, which seems really out of date now

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

Helped me in many ways

By Albert R., Saudi Arabia, Verified Reviewer

It's a great experience. I enjoyed the therapist I got, and it helped me get away from many dark places. This site helped a lot. Anyone that wants some help I would recommend it 100%.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Reliable

Supportive to their people

So nice and gentle

Site sometimes has problems

Sometimes notifications don't make any sound

Calls also sometimes lag out or not work

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

Great experience!

By Mo S., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has been convenient and has allowed me to maintain therapy sessions. I was able to find a therapist that is the right match for me. I don’t think I’ll ever return to traditional therapy sessions in an office. I love my therapeutic experience!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience of having sessions while home

Ability to schedule own sessions based on availability

Ability to find a therapist that matches needs

Inability to schedule more than one session

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

This works!

By Mark J., Maine, Verified Reviewer

I am 57 years old and have never done any type of therapy previously. Due to some life events, I recognized the need for some help in getting some things straightened out in my head. I needed to do online therapy, and an internet search led me to BetterHelp. Their algorithm or method truly matched me with the best therapist for me. After eight weeks, I am back on track and perhaps even better than ever.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The therapist

The algorithm or matching method

Reasonable pricing

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

A great place to seek help

By Lou Ann A., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I have used 2 therapists in BetterHelp and both have been excellent. You can reach out to them at any time. And they respond quickly.

They have helped me through a rough time in my life.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Accessible at all times

Quick response

Sessions when and where I need them

Expensive

Posted on Dec 5, 2021

BetterHelp really has helped

By Stephen M., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has been a very helpful and easy-to-use service during these difficult times. It’s fitted well to the limitations we’ve been put under in the last year or so. The service is good, there’s more than just a counselor, there are tools and webinars so it’s a well-rounded service.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexibility and therapy from home

The supporting tools like webinars

I’m lucky to have a good counselor

The payment window to therapy window not lining up (charge period starts before therapy period, so tricky to line up)

In theory you have a session per week, so can’t miss a session one week then have two the next week

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

BetterHelp helps

By Debbi F., Adliya, Bahrain, Verified Reviewer

The therapist I was assigned to with BetterHelp has helped me a lot. I signed up to BetterHelp during a dark time in my life and it's been helping me get back up on my feet, slowly but surely.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient – online

Assigned a great therapist

Easy scheduling

Difference in time zones made it hard to schedule a good time

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Helpful

By Jeanette R., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've had a hard time keeping therapy appointments in the past, but with the convenience of BetterHelp, I look forward to speaking with my therapist every week.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience

My therapist

Text, call, or video chats

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 4, 2021

Great for my needs

By Tommy V., Eugene, OR, Verified Reviewer

As a full-time college student, and a full-time worker, I find it hard to not only make time for therapy but make time for myself. BetterHelp is affordable and flexible around my busy life schedule while still being effective! For me personally, I plan to use BetterHelp for a long time, especially while I’m figuring who I am.

I recommend it for those in a similar position as me and even for those who haven’t ever been to therapy before. I hadn’t ever been to therapy before these either so this was totally new to me. BetterHelp was guiding me through the entire process and everything has been working smoothly so far.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

I can easily schedule and make time for my appointments

I enjoy it from the comfort of my own home or from wherever life takes me

It’s affordable

The website and app can be a little slow

Some of the webinars feel a little too “for the effect,” if you know what I mean

Showing 265-275 of 2120

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.