• 1001 Customer Reviews
  • 91% Recommend This Service
4.6 out of 5
5 star: 85% 4 star: 5% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 7%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Never too late for counseling

    • By Marissa C.,
    • Johnson City, TN,
    • Aug 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    This is my first experience with counseling. BetterHelp has made it extremely easy to access the help I have needed. BetterHelp took questions about me and paired me with a terrific counselor.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Accessible
    • Affordable
    • Easy to navigate
    • Because of the uniqueness of this service, insurance will not help

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I've shared this app with so many friends

    • By Michelle D.,
    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Aug 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I started therapy during the initial quarantine. My depression was high and I was home alone most days and wanted to put myself in a better mindset. I've always wanted to do therapy but my schedule changes and it's so hard to find something affordable. I love all the different ways I can communicate with my therapist because sometimes you just want to write a message or talk on the phone instead of actually video chatting.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenience
    • Affordability
    • The in-depth questionnaire to match you to a therapist
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • BetterHelp is great

    • By Zahra A.,
    • Eastern Province, Saudi Arabia,
    • Aug 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    It's a fruitful online experience where it helps me to reduce my level of stress and has helped me to get through my depression.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Worksheets
    • Availability of counselor between sessions to help
    • Its fruitful online experience
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great!

    • By Sabrina S.,
    • Mount Laurel, NJ,
    • Aug 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’ll keep it simple. Awesome app, awesome therapist. Also, group sessions or webinars available for specific topics like relationships or anxiety. Reaping the benefits of online therapy in such a short amount of time.

    Pros and Cons:

    • My therapist
    • Group webinars
    • Video call sessions bi-weekly
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Help is just a message away!

    • By Pamela W.,
    • Bethesda, MD,
    • Aug 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    In just a busy, stressful world it’s nice to know that help is just a message away or a weekly session. This keeps me together and less stressed! I highly recommend it!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenient
    • Easy to use
    • My sessions
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Provides a great service for a niche but growing group of people

    • By David T.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp has been very good for me. I don't need counseling as a medical treatment, but having a professional to talk to and deconstruct my inner conflicts with has really helped put my mind at ease. The counselor I was matched with has a lot in common with me but is still open-minded and authoritative when it comes to empathizing or providing perspective from different viewpoints.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Compatible counselor
    • Multiple ways to keep in contact
    • Costs about as much as my phone bill
    • Business side can be slow to respond
    • Hours available for phone appts can be limited
    • App can be occasionally glitchy

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great, non-traditional approach to counseling

    • By Joe M.,
    • Westborough, MA,
    • Aug 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’m going through a divorce and in an effort to ensure that I’m the best parent I can be for my four children, I decided to pursue one-on-one counseling.

    I’m extremely pleased with my experience at BetterHelp. Being able to participate in therapy sessions from home, either by video or audio-only works extremely well for me. Being able to message my therapist with confidence that he will get back to me in a timely manner is icing on the cake.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Excellent job finding me the right therapist
    • Multiple forms of communication available
    • The journaling feature which can then inform future sessions
    • Video can be finicky
    • More expensive than traditional therapy co-pays (but worth it)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • BetterHelp is the real deal

    • By Charlie C.,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Aug 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I had a great experience with BetterHelp who helped me find a therapist who has changed my life. Through easy and affordable weekly sessions, I could discuss anything about my life and slowly grow to overcome my trauma and external challenges. I love the ability to choose between video chats, phone chats, and text chats.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Affordable
    • Easy to get care
    • Great therapy
    • Had to try a few times to get the right therapist

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • BetterHelp is a great option for the introvert without health insurance

    • By K P.,
    • Little Rock, AR,
    • Aug 5, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    Them: Real, professional, licensed professionals that don't require that you have health insurance.

    You: Home, no pants, no stress, cry all you want.

    Win, win.

    More benefits: Refer friends and get a free week, private chat room for you and your therapist, affordable payment plans, choose another therapist if yours isn't a good fit, did I mention that you don't have to put on pants?

    Pros and Cons:

    • Affordable
    • No health insurance needed
    • No parking stress
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great service, help anywhere!

    • By Emma T.,
    • Boulder, CO,
    • Aug 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Easy to use app that helps connect you to great counselors from all over the country. Keeping in contact with your counselor is super easy with messaging, self-scheduling for live sessions, and your choice of phone or video calls. I’m glad I tried out the app, my counselor really helped me to see what I needed to do to get out of a dark place.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • Connected me to a great counselor
    • Allowed me to get help from home
    • It was a bit tricky to find out how to change counselors
    • I wish there were a few more affordable options, a session once per month?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best decision of 2020

    • By Anne L.,
    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp has been helping me a lot since I joined 4/5 months ago. When you have to travel, if your work schedule changes each week, and/or if a pandemic arises, well BetterHelp and your assigned counselor are there for you anyway. And it is a true blessing to be able to keep working with the same person while moving to a new country, while being in a lockdown, and so on. I got assigned with an amazing therapist and the sessions with her have been super helpful!

    Pros and Cons:

    • You can travel and keep the same therapist
    • Flexible schedule for the sessions
    • Possible to message between session if need be
    • I've had some issue with the website and app but nothing major

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Good attention to my needs

    • By Nancy F.,
    • Parkville, MD,
    • Aug 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I discovered BetterHelp while looking for a counselor to help me through a rough patch in my personal life that was affecting my work and my health. BetterHelp asked some questions to help find me a counselor whom they thought would be a good fit for me and they did an excellent job. I'm very happy with my counselor, our method of communication, and for the guidance and help she has given me. Things are turning around.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Confidentiality
    • Timely response
    • Method of communication
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Saved my life

    • By Taya H.,
    • California,
    • Aug 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was in such a dark space in my life, I felt so alone and unsure about myself and if I’m a good person or just a complete mess, to put it nicely. This app has literally saved my life. I feel so much support and clarity, and it’s so convenient as well!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • Fast response
    • 24/7 availability
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Convenient and helpful

    • By Basil A.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 3, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp offers all ways possible to communicate. Continuous interaction through text. Video calls have an excellent signal. Affordable plans financially.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Communication
    • Good signal
    • Affordable
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Wonderful mental health service

    • By Charlotte S.,
    • Detroit, MI,
    • Aug 1, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    My counselor, Traci Baxendale-Ball, was an enormous help in learning to cope with my mental health issues. She is a patient listener and an extremely educated therapist who can offer a wide variety of tools and resources for dealing with many different mental health issues. BetterHelp was convenient and easy to use and very user-friendly.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Matched me to a counselor that was a good fit
    • Ease of service
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • On your time

    • By Justine P.,
    • Iowa,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 2+ years
    Overall Experience:

    I have gained a lot from BetterHelp and was matched with a great therapist who really understands my needs. I love that I can participate whenever I am feeling up to it, I can send unlimited messages if I need to, or when I am in a bad place and don’t say anything, I am still reminded each day that she is there whenever I feel up for talking. I have seen several therapists over the years and I have never made progress with anyone until I joined BetterHelp. It has pulled me out of some dark places many times and helped me work through some very difficult things in my life.

    Pros and Cons:

    • I am able to participate on my time and do it from wherever I happen to be at the time
    • They offer many ways to participate and you can schedule one-on-one appointments with video or chat
    • They really listen to what you say and ensure they understand how you're feeling before moving forward
    • Insurance does not cover it

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best money I have ever spent

    • By Fanny A.,
    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    My therapist is available Monday-Sunday on a call, text, or email. She is great, and I feel like her and I really click. We have been able to work through years of issues in a short time span because I got matched with a great therapist. It's a little pricey, but it is worth every cent.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Flexibility
    • Easy to use
    • Matches you with a therapist
    • It's pricey

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • High vs low

    • By Charmaine J.,
    • Odenton, MD,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I really struck gold with my counselor, Adrienne. My major issue is the lousy video connection we’ve had during our sessions. I would only recommend because it’s a good service to have available. But the video sucks, the quality needs improvement. There’s also a delay in speech sometimes, which is frustrating when you have to repeat yourself, or you’re talking over someone. At first, it was confusing whether you use Magellan or BetterHelp. I went with BH because I got the exact type of counselor I was looking for.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Good counselor
    • Accommodating
    • Lousy connection

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Very good idea, very helpful way of approaching therapy

    • By Giulia F.,
    • Milan, Italy,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with BetterHelp was really good. I was matched with a counselor suitable for my needs, the phone calls always worked and so did also the scheduling of each session. I find this an amazing tool to approach therapy, even by those who are on a tight budget or with time constraints or with geographic barriers. I would recommend signing up and giving it a try to anyone.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Possible to schedule at convenience
    • Great offer of communication tools
    • Good match with therapist
    • Sometimes connection with the phone was bad

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • No thanks!

    • By Theresa F.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The therapist was terrible. She only wanted one kind of therapy, which isn’t for me. She assigned lots of homework; I felt as though I was completing a workbook. Not helpful or therapeutic at all. Pass on this app.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Affordable, convenient, and helpful

    • By Robbie P.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    My experience has been so beneficial by using this service. In two sessions I have made great strides. It is so convenient. I was hesitant about using online service for therapy but I am very pleased. I would have to drive miles from my home to get someone on my insurance. The cost is what my co-pay would be. If you're in doubt, give it a try. I think they offer one week free. The other plus is if you have a bad day you can text your counselor on the BetterHelp site and they will answer you when they don’t have a client. I have been using Gayle Reed. I can’t say enough about how pleased I am with her.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Great counselor
    • Convenient
    • Can reach out to counselor in between scheduled weekly session
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Better help

    • By Brian V.,
    • Santa Rosa Beach, FL,
    • Jul 31, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I did not click with my first counselor, so I changed and I was very pleased with the lady I chose. Diane Poehlman was a caring professional.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Someone who listens and offers suggestions to help and let me decide if it was something I could do
    • Always getting confirmation that my feelings were not something that I should get over, that I should embrace them and work through them
    • Having access to 24/7 support if needed
    • Not having male counselors to choose from

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • An online experience at my control

    • By Amy G.,
    • Fairbanks, AK,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp has been worth the effort to engage with my counselor and focus on getting the help that I need. The online platform has been easy to navigate, and helpful to see my own improvement.

    Pros and Cons:

    • At my convenience
    • Great counselor assigned to me
    • Great online platform
    • At first I thought it was expensive

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Therapy for the modern world!

    • By Ben H.,
    • California,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Such a great platform. Especially for people like me who don't have time to visit an office every week.

    You can easily switch counselors and try new counselors if it isn't working out.

    Scheduling appointments is easy and seamless!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Virtual and remote
    • Easy to use platform and scheduling
    • Relevant counselors to the issues you're facing
    • Not much onboarding or showing you how to use platform
    • Billing cycle is inconsistent (was billed on random days)

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great place to go!

    • By Christian G.,
    • Coeur d'Alene, ID,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    This site is so helpful! I am so glad I took the chance and signed up. I have already been helped so much, I feel like a big weight was lifted! Highly recommend!

    Pros and Cons:

    • The different ways you can talk to the counselors
    • The fact I can journal or message the councilor anytime
    • Schedule time and we can choose how you would like to speak to your counselor
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Brent calmed me down at a time of need

    • By Shabnam B.,
    • Dubai, United Arab Emirates,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I joined therapy because I didn't know what else to do with the dangerously heightened anxiety I was facing in the past months. Since speaking to Brent, he has helped me realize that although I can help others, I cannot force them to change, and that that's not my responsibility. He helped me realize I cannot live a life anticipating worst-case scenarios, something which I have been battling with for a while now. He offered me techniques that have helped me be a better communicator as well as tools to better look after myself during times of extreme stress.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Flexible communication
    • Flexible timing
    • Financial support
    • The live sessions on cell phone are faulty

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Convenient and effective!

    • By Christine F.,
    • Brooklyn, NY,
    • Jul 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp is a really cool app to help get therapy at the convenience of your own home. There are on-demand unlimited texting and weekly one on one calls/chats. This app has helped me personally navigate through some tough times.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Convenience
    • Options to call or text
    • The therapist
    • Due to a high demand for COVID times I didn’t get my weekly call as stated when I signed up

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 1001

Write a Review for BetterHelp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BetterHelp