Start your review of BetterHelp:
  • 1099 Customer Reviews
  • 91% Recommend This Service
4.6 out of 5
5 star: 85% 4 star: 6% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 1% 1 star: 7%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Very satisfied

    • By Kirsten J.,
    • Ivanhoe, NC,
    • Sep 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was cautious about online counseling, but I am glad I signed up. The messaging works so well because I have time to put my thoughts down and make sure I say everything I need to say. My counselor takes time to read and understand my issues and is able to give a thoughtful response in a timely manner. I have only been with my counselor for a few weeks and I feel better understood than I ever did with traditional in-person counseling.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Communicating is done on my schedule and I get timely responses
    • Counselor takes the time to understand my issues
    • I can write a message any time, so I don’t need to hold anything in until the next session
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Got therapy help for depression, anxiety, and managing stress. Very beneficial.

    • By Shay B.,
    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Sep 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I first found BetterHelp on an ad on instagram. I was hesitant at first because I have never been to a therapist but after my first session, I felt comfortable and knew it would benefit me in the long run. I came for help with my depression, anxiety, and managing stress because they were all making me upset in my everyday life. Once I connected with my therapist I told them about my problems and it felt good to have someone listen and give advice who was not associated with my everyday life. Within a few sessions, I could see a difference with my attitude towards life and my overview on myself. Overall, I enjoyed BetterHelp because I believe it helped me find myself and made me a happier person. I would recommend it to anyone who is afraid to go to therapy, and especially if you do not enjoy face to face sessions.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Offered multiple ways of communicating, - phone call, video chat, or messaging
    • The online journal to express my feelings
    • The group activities
    • You can look back on your conversation with your therapist and look back at the worksheets they gave you
    • Online and I could schedule my own appointments whenever I wanted to
    • Cost, could be costly if you do not have the money, also gets converted into CAD from USD
    • Sometimes the online classes (or group activities) are during times that I cannot attend because they are during the day and I work

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Awesome

    • By Victoria R.,
    • Owatonna, MN,
    • Sep 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’ve been in therapy for a long time and wasn’t sure about online therapy, but it is AWESOME! It’s flexible, I don’t have to leave work to go to an office, I can do it on my time. After work, after my sons are in bed, whenever the therapist and I are both available. There’s chat, phone, and video options so I can choose whatever I’m comfortable with. My therapist is very receptive and honest. She responds to what I say, doesn’t just tell me what I wanna hear, and listens.

    I can even do sessions on my phone!

    I’m enjoying my sessions very much.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Flexible
    • Fulfilling
    • Amazing therapist
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great!

    • By Jordan C.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Sep 12, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I've really come to understand myself more by using BetterHelp. I came not really believing this would work, and also not really believing I had a problem. However, the more I opened myself up the more I found that I had alot of things buried deep that affected my character. I'm really starting to address it, and become one with myself.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Quick service
    • Helpful resources
    • Groupinars
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • A viable option

    • By Samantha P.,
    • Nashville, TN,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp is a blessing, it is virtual so I can get into a comfortable state at home and feel like I can open up more. Also, the options of chat, phone call, and video chat are there for anyone to feel comfortable to decide on what platform would work for them. I also appreciate the counselor matching system, as I get matched according to my preferences, versus vice versa. I went with my first match and she has been such a blessing, that I would recommend her personally and the platform when anyone in my life decides to seek therapy.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Virtual, "at home" therapy option
    • Counselor matching
    • Multiple payment plans and sliding scale
    • Multiple session options (no commitment to any one, either)
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Really happy I gave it a shot

    • By Breanna E.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’m so happy I decided to try online therapy! It’s been about 10 years since I did my last in-person therapy session and I had always wanted to start going again but never found the time until the pandemic hit. Unfortunately, I had a lot more time after that! After losing my job (along with lots of other people), I got an ad while cruising on Facebook for BetterHelp, I had heard of BetterHelp before so I really just went out on a limb and said why not? I’m so happy I did! My therapist is awesome, we get along great and she totally understands me and gets where I’m coming from. I look forward to having future sessions with her. I find comfort in knowing that I can always message her on the app if I’m having a crisis or going through something and need to talk to her urgently. Also, I love the webinars! I love it because I can watch something educational about different subjects and utilize the things I learn in my own life. It’s kind of like having a bunch of different therapists who help you out in different sections of your life. Anyway, I just think it’s a great time for people to have these kinds of tools available to them. I appreciate it!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Conveniently available from your device
    • The option to choose your therapist from a selection
    • The choice of video, phone, or online chat
    • The ability for your therapist and you to work on worksheets together through the app
    • It’s expensive

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time

    • By Violet J.,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    So far I’ve been on BetterHelp for 2 months. I have been assigned 3 therapists and had only 3 sessions even though they advertised 4 sessions every month. It’s a nightmare if you wanna switch therapists, and two of my therapists didn’t even bother to show up for appointments. Overall I’m very disappointed.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Unprofessional
    • Lack of communication
    • Waste of money

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Great online therapy platform

    • By Claudia R.,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love BetterHelp. The process of registering was also great. The series of questions you are prompted to ask help match you with the best counselor that fits your needs. It's like Match.com for therapy! It's also more affordable and super convenient. No more driving across town stressed in traffic to avoid a late fee for not showing up on time. Download the app, be online at the time of your appointment, and it's as simple as that. Not regretting my decision even a little bit!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Great registration process to help match you with a therapist
    • Convenience of scheduling
    • Different options of connecting with your therapist - phone, video, text
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great experience that has improved my mental health

    • By Serethiel F.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I've been working with my counselor through BetterHelp for four or five months now. I was worried about the first couple of sessions that my counselor wouldn't be a good match for me, but I was proved completely wrong.

    My counselor is great to work with, but also fosters independence so that I'm not relying on her for good mental health. We have video counseling sessions, but I can also message her on the BetterHelp platform at any time.

    My mental health has improved since I started working with my counselor, and I've really enjoyed my sessions.

    I'd recommend thinking about the environment you have to do your sessions in. If you won't be able to find a quiet place by yourself with good internet, BetterHelp may not be the right service for you. I know I'm not comfortable doing my sessions with my roommate in the house, even if he wears headphones. Luckily, he is willing to leave while I do my sessions.

    If you don't have that kind of environment, consider an in-person counseling service.

    Regarding the price, it's a set monthly price that includes one video or phone session a week, however, when my counselor recommends only two sessions for the month, I still get charged the full amount. Even so, it's less expensive than many other counseling services.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Great match with my counselor
    • I can message my counselor at any time
    • My counselor fosters my independence, not my dependence on her
    • Oftentimes the video will cut out either due to the BetterHelp platform or my counselor's WiFi
    • Set monthly price that includes one session a week, however, when my counselor recommends only two sessions for the month, I still get charged the full amount

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Truly refreshing

    • By Stephanie A.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • Sep 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    BetterHelp has guided me into the path of "self-love and awareness." I first came into this in a mental state that was broken. I cried every day, every morning I would fight back the tears. I was hurting inside due to someone else’s actions towards me and me not being aware enough to read the red flags. I’m so glad to say I’m in a better headspace. I thank God also for keeping me centered. BetterHelp has been amazing to me.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Attentiveness
    • Self awareness
    • Judgement free zone
    • I wish the sessions were longer

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best therapy I've ever received

    • By Sarah M.,
    • Washington,
    • Sep 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I love that I don't have to deal with finding parking, or trying to drive home in tears after a session. With BetterHelp, I am healing in the comfort of my home and exactly how I want to - whether it's via a phone call or a video chat. My therapist is better than any other therapist I've work with and has such relevant experience when it comes to my needs - I never would have found her without BetterHelp because she doesn't live in my area. I'm grateful for a service like this that makes therapy accessible and affordable (sliding scale helps during this COVID time).

    Pros and Cons:

    • Virtual sessions
    • My therapist
    • Affordable
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 1099

Write a Review for BetterHelp!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
BetterHelp