BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2239 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2239 Reviews
5 Star:87% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Affordable, competent care

By Jennifer M. , Fruitland Park, FL

I’ve had 4 or 5 different therapists in the past 2 years and none have stuck. It wasn’t until the use of this platform and the ease of scheduling that I’ve been able to get the care that I’ve needed.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of scheduling

Ease of communicating with therapist

Ability to use phone or computer

Costs not as affordable without insurance

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Horrible

By Jacqui B. , Salt Lake City, UT

Meds only. According to my therapist who NEVER talked to me, or met with me, meds were the answer. I hope to NEVER work with a therapist like her. I hope to work with some that’s trying a holistic approach first and then meds.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

The fact that no other options were provided - meds or nothing, get out of here

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Grateful

By Margaret C., Albuquerque, NM, Verified Reviewer

I am pleasantly surprised by online counseling! It has been a God-send in saving time traveling and away from work. In addition, it was very simple to start and my counselor has been so compassionate and helpful. I am ever so grateful for BetterHelp!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Compassion

Convenience

Helpfulness

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

BetterHelp when you need it

By Karen R., Gore, VA, Verified Reviewer

I heard about BetterHelp on Meidas Touch a podcast I listen to. Their pushing your company couldn’t have come at a better time for me. I had been waiting for a therapist since March of this year and in my local area there were none available. I took the leap of faith and gave it a try. I’m so glad I did! Thank goodness you are there.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Setting a time that fits into my schedule

My therapist is great

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Great way to gain mental health

By Daisy Y., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

What a wonderful way to better yourself. You may think virtual therapy is a sham, but I have nothing but good things to say about my therapist and BetterHelp. This kind of service makes you accountable for your well-being, makes you put in the work, and also fits into your schedule seamlessly. I never regret my sessions with my therapist and always end them with peace and a plan of action. I highly recommend BetterHelp to get on track, feel energy and happiness, and have it all work within the busy schedule of life. I also had to try on a few therapists to find the best fit. BetterHelp makes it so easy to do so, without hurting anyone's feelings, with only your best interests and health at heart.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience

Flexibility of therapist and finding one that fits

Virtual

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

Great service

By Jan G., White Plains, NY, Verified Reviewer

Very satisfied with the service. Excellent counselor and very convenient. I also appreciate the educational webinars. The webinars cover a wide range of topics.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenience

Professional

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

BetterHelp really helps

By Simoma R. , Merseburg, Germany

BetterHelp proved to be a very professional platform paying extra careful attention to customer's needs and providing a very efficient customized service.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Attention to details

Quick answers

Easy to use

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 1, 2022

I am going though a major life change

By Brian R., Burlington, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp was so easy to sign up and the questions asked of you honestly will get you to the best therapist for you. In minutes I had a person assinghed to me and started journaling. So many great group sessions on a wide variety of issues. They are included in your monthly fee! How great is that?

Go for it! No regrets.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast easy to get a therapist

All people are caring, you feel safe to open up

No matter you schedule, group sessions run all the time

It's in the States and I'm in Canada, so it might be tricky in claiming expense

Posted on Jun 30, 2022

Quick access to a quality professional therapist

By Mike L., Lansing, MI, Verified Reviewer

I experienced a work-stress crisis where I needed quick mental health assistance. BetterHelp proved to be a great option for me. I was able to quickly be matched with a therapist and had an initial session within a few days. I liked the questions they asked in preparing a match for me. The questions were thoughtful and made me feel my answers would help match me with an appropriate therapist/counselor.

My counselor has been really helpful in guiding me and helping me get perspective on a few challenges I have. I enjoy being able to connect with her via video on my phone from the comfort of my home. I still feel a personal connection with her although we’re not in-person and in some ways, I feel more comfortable in opening up because I’m at home and in a comfy place for myself.

I’m really happy overall. For me, the price is good for short-term counseling and although I’d love to stick with my BetterHelp counselor moving forward, I’ll probably need to stop in a few months but I’d definitely be open to return for a month’s subscription if I have a sudden need for help again.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick access to care

Remote video options

Good system for matching with a counselor

Convenient communication options (ex: chat, video, audio)

Price is high (versus full insurance) if considering long-term care

Mobile app seems under developed and a bit glitchy

Posted on Jun 28, 2022

If you need help please try this!

By Carito T., Argentina, Verified Reviewer

Without expectations, if you just want to experiment and open yourself to an online space with prepared people who listen to you and give you tools so that you can advance in your personal healing. It has served me well, I have been trying it for 1 month and it has been a key space for me to feel better. I have taken the support groups on basic topics, it has several useful online tools.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The group of professionals gives me confidence

Being able to manage time, being online makes it easier to get a space out of my schedule

Connect in another way

Maybe I had problems taking sessions from my computer, I would have to try again

Posted on Jun 28, 2022

This has been a great experience for me!

By Christa C., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp was a perfect solution to me, as I live out in the country with therapists not readily available to me. They are careful to match you up with the right therapist for your personality and beliefs, and I really appreciate that. My therapist was so helpful from the get-go, and I've seen significant improvement in only 2 months of weekly sessions. It is affordable as well as convenient. I would recommend BetterHelp to anyone that needs help.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient online video sessions

Affordable

They matched me with a compatible therapist

There wasn't really a con for me in using this service, but videos were slightly blurry each session

Showing 12-22 of 2239

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.