BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

1908 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 1908 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:5%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jan 16, 2022

When there was no other way

By Jeanne L., Texas, Verified Reviewer

I am so glad to have stumbled across BetterHelp. It has been a roller-coaster of a year or even 6 months but with the help of BetterHelp, I have been able to keep most of the bad.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How they match you with someone but if you do not fit right with them you can switch counselors

How I can be completely myself and even while having a super hard time I still feel like I'm where I should be

Wish the app had a few additional things on it and was a little more customizable

Wish it would link to my calendar

Posted on Jan 15, 2022

Healing the mind

By Kim M., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has provided me with the support I need to overcome my life challenges. They are always available through email, chat or video. They provide a journal on the website to contact your therapist when needed and the therapists are very friendly where you can open up and be yourself. I would recommend to family and friends. They have really helped me to grow.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jan 13, 2022

BetterHelp = better life

By Lisa M., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I love BetterHelp. I filled out a brief questionnaire and was matched with the best therapist in the world. She was kind and caring. She understood my needs and provided practical exercises to help me better my everyday life and mental health at a time when I was at my lowest. The therapist reached out within 48 hours during the holidays. Amazing.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick response

Matched to a wonderful therapist

Flexibility

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 13, 2022

BetterHelp therapy works

By Damon W., Conyers, GA, Verified Reviewer

So far, my overall experience with BetterHelp therapy has been very helpful. This is my first time using therapy. I was very hesitant and doubtful.

I have been assigned a great therapist. My sessions are easy to schedule and participate in. I have a few options on how to participate. I am seeing results already. I recommend BetterHelp therapy to help us deal with the stress life brings.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Online sign-up

Information on administrative costs and participation

My therapist is great - no judgement, listens and assess the issues, provides help to resolve

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 12, 2022

Amazing

By Leyla H., London, United Kindom, Verified Reviewer

Great support in a short time, easy to settle your appointments when it suits you better. They matched me with a therapist and I am so glad I have met Yolla.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

How easy it was to sign up

The therapist match

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Amazing

By Latanya R., Cincinnati, OH, Verified Reviewer

Best decision I’ve made all year for myself. Worth every penny! Please start now to become your best self. Can’t recommend BetterHelp enough.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The quiz to match me with ideal therapist

Schedule flexibility

The texting option for emergencies

I’d like to be able to schedule all of my appointments in advance

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

A wonderful investment

By Tyler P., Buffalo, NY, Verified Reviewer

At first, I was jaw-dropped by the cost, but it is so SO helpful. I got out of a toxic relationship before I started and my therapist has helped me through the ups and downs. I would recommend this to anyone.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No long wait

Wonderful resources

I can message my therapist at anytime

Expensive

Sometimes the live chat is glitchy

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Get unstuck!

By Kelsey O., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp has been a great resource for me to shake off that feeling of being stuck in life. After years of reading self-help books, BetterHelp has provided an extra push for me to start practicing the exercises and habits that will improve my life. Give it a try if you need help moving things forward.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Affordable

Options to try out different therapists

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Wheel of Recovery 4 Parts

By Michael C., Hudson Valley, NY, Verified Reviewer

For me, my four parts are medicine, therapy, sobriety, and sleep. When they’re all cared for, my wheel rolls. If one is not fulfilled life gets very bumpy.

Having BetterHelp at my fingertips makes sure 1/4 of my cogs is always cared for and in sync with the other three. I can confidently say that I wouldn’t be where I am without my provider on BetterHelp.com.

Thank you, thank you, thank you. I recommend this service to anyone I feel would benefit.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Use anywhere

Same as FT with a friend but with a pro

The journal

I’ll find one eventually

Just make sure you pick a reliable video chat device and place to session

Posted on Jan 7, 2022

Best counseling available

By Sara B., Sterling, VA, Verified Reviewer

Therapy was always considered a negative thing to me growing up. As I got older, talk of therapy and counseling became more acceptable. I went to one therapist for a few years until they became too attached and crossed the lines of professionalism.

I struggled to find something until I came across BetterHelp. I believe it was recommended by a friend and I tried it. I was connected with Jessica Zike, LCSW, who has been my counselor for 3 years.

Jessica has gotten to know me, actively listened, and remembers what we talk about. She challenges me, pushes me, offers applicable materials to read and research, is attentive, kind, and considerate.

Finding BetterHelp has been life-changing. I love looking back and seeing how much I've grown, and I thank the wonderful people at BetterHelp.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexible

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Dec 30, 2021

Good with matching a therapist

By Nathan C., High Desert, CA, Verified Reviewer

The app and website were thorough with asking about current difficulties, mental health diagnosis, and what types of therapy I've been in before. Scheduling is straightforward. The app also reminds me to schedule a session if I forget. Also matched me up with a great and experienced therapist.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick with matching a therapist

Easy scheduling

Reminders to make appointments

Wish they took insurance

Login sometimes slow

Showing 12-22 of 1908

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.