BetterHelp Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

1355 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 1355 Reviews
5 Star:85% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:6%
93% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Feb 27, 2021

Better than any face-to-face therapist I've ever had

By Angela S., Mayfield, PA, Verified Reviewer

I have an amazing therapist from BetterHelp. She has helped me more than any face-to-face therapist ever has. She is such a good listener, and she really helps me with my problems.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good listener

Listens to my problems

Convenient scheduling

Pricey

Posted on Feb 27, 2021

Season Apple

By Alexandra G., Harleysville, PA, Verified Reviewer

I have a therapist named Season Apple. And because of BetterHelp I was able to fill out info about what I’m looking for and wait to get matched with a therapist! It’s almost like tinder for the mental health experts, haha. I had so many issues, especially with Covid, with my last therapist. The availability can be tight at times but BetterHelp offers journals and urgent messaging. 10/10 love this.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Able to schedule when I need it

Season Apple, and the matching service

Different means of communication they offer

Availability can be hard

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

BetterHelp is affordable, high quality, and a great platform to use!

By Matt G., Salt Lake City, UT, Verified Reviewer

This platform has been so helpful to me for my mental health. At first, I was hesitant because of previous reviews. But after being matched with an awesome counselor, I’ve made so much progress in my life than I have made from other therapy sources I’ve tried. The best of all is that it was affordable, because as university students, we need affordable options. I highly recommend this to anyone who needs quick and affordable help.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Affordable

Easy to use

High quality counselors

Minor video chat issues

Not enough background information

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

There's help out there!

By Sharon M., Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

I was looking for support and insight during this COVID-19 shutdown.

I'm glad I gave BetterHelp a try.

They begin with a series of questions to help narrow down a counselor match. I decided to be open to the process and just see how it goes. It's turned out to be helpful so far.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good match with counselor after answering questions

Surprised at how comfortable I was with Zoom

The webinars are also helpful

I wish the counseling sessions were 50 minutes long

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

To me as good as in-person counseling!

By Hanne-Marie C., Frederiksberg, Denmark, Verified Reviewer

It took a few tries to get matched with the right counselor (just as in real life), but once I got my last one, my life got better within a year. I was suicidal at the initial meeting, and a year later I am able to quit counseling despite going through many difficult things in that year. I felt lucky to be able to change counselors fairly easily despite the hassle of retelling the story every time.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The good counselors

Ease of meeting

The ability to look back at texts

Worksheets

Ease of switching counselors

Lack of "download all text" button

Lack of downloadable worksheets

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2021

Great service

By Rahmat K., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

The day I decided to sign up for BetterHelp, I was hurting. Although I didn’t know what to expect and thought it was a bit expensive for me, I didn’t care. I needed some help and needed it right there and then. Today I am glad to say that I don’t regret a bit of having made that choice. Working with Lyn was a great experience and I am thankful she was the one I was assigned to. She is very attentive and listens to me ramble every time. I needed that as I had too much on my chest. She helped me embraced a choice I wanted and needed to make a long time ago without regretting some of the choices I had already made. Thanks again Lyn and keep doing what you do best.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

The therapist

Accessibility

Price

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2021

Great and convenient way to get support

By Franklin H., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Great service that connects you with counselors, group educational sessions, and a journal to track your moods and progress.

I've been using all three for 3 weeks now and it's been a solid support system for me and my wife.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Connection to a counselor (message/phone/video)

Journal

Group presentations

Repetitive subjects of groups

Hit-or-miss with counselor fit

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 25, 2021

BetterHelp is wonderful

By Alexandra N., Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp.com is the most wonderful website for counseling. It has improved my life in ways I never imagined. I, however, have gotten to know my counselor and the website does not pay him well. It also says that my counselor works less that he actually does. It is not fair to counselors.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very user-friendly

Offers a variety of great counselors

I get the help I need

It underpays counselors

It does not calculate counselors actual work time

It deceives counselors

Posted on Feb 24, 2021

BetterHelp for the win

By Katrin M., Braunau, Austria, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp is a very good option if you are not comfortable seeing somebody in person during the pandemic, but also if you do not feel on one level with counselors that would be available in your region. It is so easy to match a suitable counselor to your needs and my experiences have been great. I was matched with a professional that I cannot recommend enough. She has given me plenty of good advice and it made me feel instantly better talking to her. I think anyone can benefit from starting therapy on BetterHelp!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexibility

Effectiveness

User-friendly

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2021

BetterHelp is giving me so much fresh air

By Aimee J., Ohio, Verified Reviewer

I decided to try BetterHelp because my anxiety felt crushing. I wish I would have reached out sooner, but I'm so grateful I finally did it. My counselor is kind and calm and helps me think with a fresh perspective without any judgment. It feels safe to tell her all the things bouncing around in my head I'd never want my family or friends to hear.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Love the journal feature on the app, I can blurt out whatever I'm feeling at any time and choose whether I want to share with my counselor.

My counselor never tries to convince me of anything. She's a great listener and encourager. Never judgemental.

Having the app on my phone doesn't make counseling impersonal like I worried it would. With video calls, a real human is there.

I wish I could set up recurring meetings. Right now the app only allows us to schedule one week at a time.

Would be more helpful if sharing journal entries worked like a Google Doc, so I could go back and add something after it's without sending the whole entry in the chat again.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Feb 23, 2021

BetterHelp review

By Angelina M., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp is really great, I have actually recommended it to a ton of my friends. I never saw myself as someone who needed to go to therapy but BetterHelp has actually HELPED me. It is a great service and not a bad price for the high-quality counselors that are matched to you.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

User friendly

Good quality counselors

They find the right match

The price is still a bit high for not being "in-person"

Not enough different services through the site

Does not accept insurance coverage

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 12-22 of 1355

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.