About City Lips

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Aug 13, 2018

Using a unique collagen peptide technology to hydrate and moisturize at the cellular level, City Lips promises to help you experience plumper, younger-looking lips, with fewer lines and wrinkles, in just 10 minutes.

Per City Lips’ website, apply one even coat on your lips anytime you want using the built-in soft brush. If you’d like to add color, wait two minutes. Then, you can add a second layer of City Lips for an added boost of shine and volume—it will even act as a sealant to help your lipstick look better and last longer.

For semi-permanent results within 30 days, you can apply nightly before bedtime as well, and you won’t have to worry about burning, irritation, numbness or harsh side effects.

These all seem like great benefits, for sure. But when it comes down to it, does City Lips really feature cutting edge beauty technology? How does it compare to the competition? Which options might deliver the most value?

In this article, we’ll dig in and discuss what we learned during our research.

What Causes Less-Than-Stellar Lips?

Like the rest of the skin on your body, your lips contain three layers consisting primarily of the proteins keratin, collagen, and elastin.

When we’re young, these proteins are abundant and give our skin its taut, smooth texture. Due to the normal aging process, as well as premature aging caused by environmental factors like UV exposure, smoking, and pollution, these proteins become less abundant, leading to skin that wrinkles and sags.

Unlike most of the other skin on your body, though, the protective layer (stratum corneum) covering the outer layer of our lips is very thin. Our lips also don't contain oil glands, which means they're especially prone to environmental stresses from the sun, weather, dehydration, and just everyday use.

Combined, lips tend to droop, become thinner, and form cracks and wrinkles as we get older, sometimes faster than the surrounding skin.

What Ingredients Does City Lips Use to Plump Your Pout?

According to the ingredients listed on their website, the product contains the following:

Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Phenyl Trimethicone, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, PPG-51/SMDI Copolymer, Silica, Petrolatum, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Microcrystalline Wax, Tribehenin, Glycerin, Octyldodecyl PCA, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Water, Caprylyl Glycol, Benzyl Nicotinate, Flavor, Cetyl Tallowate, O-Cymen-5-OL, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Sorbitan Isostearate, Sucrose Distearate, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil, Ceramide 2, PEG-10 Phytosterol, Sodium Cocoyl Amino Acids, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Saccharin, Sarcosine, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Magnesium Aspartate, Potassium Aspartate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Palmitoyl Hexapeptide-12, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Oil, Cananga Odorata Flower Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Fruit Oil, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate

We’re not chemists here at HighYa, but according to third-party websites that most consumers would have access to, like Truth In Aging, WebMD, and EWG.org, most of City Lips’ ingredients act as common emollients, moisturizers, skin conditioning and thickening agents, preservatives, penetration enhancers, dispersing agents, solvents, and fragrances.

Many of these are what you might expect to find in other sunscreens (especially hydrogenated polyisobutene and VP/hexadecene copolymer) and skincare products, since they help provide water retention and wear resistance.

What about the collagen peptide technology referenced on City Lips’ website? While they didn’t confirm anything specific, according to LotionCrafter, dipalmitoyl hydroxyproline is also known as the proprietary ingredient Sepilift, which “firms the tissues by stimulating the contraction of collagen fibers, by protecting the skin fibers from enzymatic lysis or breakdown and scavenges free radicals.”

Whether in the synovial fluid in joints, skin, or the receptor surfaces of cells, the sodium hyaluronate (hyaluronic acid; proprietary formulation, Celadrin) in City Lips provides several functions in the human body, especially related to cushioning and lubrication. Although they also point out that, “there is no evidence to support the claim that taking it by mouth or applying it to the skin can prevent changes associated with aging.”

However, HA has been shown to hold 1,000 times its weight in water, so it may deliver a temporary plumping effect to areas where it’s applied. But we didn’t encounter any cumulative clinical evidence indicating this can provide a ‘semi-permanent’ effect with regular use.

According to Paula’s Choice, palmitoyl hexapeptide-12 is a synthetic peptide that blends “several amino acids, including glycine, histidine, and lysine … Theoretically, many peptides have skin-restoring abilities, and this is one of the newer synthetic options that is believed to help skin look and act younger."

Finally, these sites summarized that palmitoyl oligopeptide, also known as Matrixyl 3000, has limited clinical research indicating that it may help skin produce more collagen. This is the same “new class of oligopeptides” referenced in the ABC News video clip featured on one of City Lips’ websites.

Will this blend of ingredients cause any side effects?

Are There Any Potential Side Effects With City Lips?

Per City Lip’s commercial, you won’t have to worry about any side effects commonly associated with lip plumpers, including burning, irritation, or numbness. And based on what we learned from many of the sites referenced in the previous section, this seems to be the case in most instances.

However, while EWG ranked butylene glycol as a low overall hazard, they also noted that its most common side effect is mild skin irritation, which might be something to keep in mind if you’re especially sensitive to beauty products.

How Much Does City Lips Cost?

Available in Clear Advanced, Nude York, Orchid, Sangria, Tokyo Kiss, Sun Diego, Tinsel Town, Holly, Los AngeLips, and Plum Springs colors, City Lips was priced as follows:

  • 1 Tube: $35
  • 2 Tubes: $66
  • 3 Tubes: $87

After ordering, the company tells us your package will leave their facilities within 24 hours and will usually arrive at your doorstep within 2-7 business days (for U.S. orders). Applied 2-3 times per day, as well as at night, they claim each tube will last 4-6 weeks.

Regardless of the quantity, all orders come with a 60-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In order to request one, customer support can be reached at 800 347-1558 or support@citybeauty.com.

Are There Any City Lips Customer Reviews?

Since writing our original review, 160 HighYa readers have chimed in about their City Lips experiences, giving the lip plumper an average rating of 4.2 stars. Common compliments related to more voluminous and hydrated lips, without side effects. The relatively few complaints frequently referenced less noticeable results than expected.

On Amazon and Makeup Alley, City Lips had three and 3.5-star ratings respectively, with many of the same compliments referenced on HighYa. Frequent customer complaints appeared to revolve around no results and side effects (typically irritation).

Important: According to a company representative we spoke with, “Amazon is an unauthorized reseller, so we cannot guarantee that these are our products.”

From a company perspective, City Beauty is based out of Salt Lake City, UT and held an A rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 11 closed complaints, as of 8/10/18. Most related to support issues, although a company representative responded in each instance with a solution.

Obviously, this is only intended to act as an overview of the situation, and not to insinuate you’ll experience any of the same with City Lips, or any of the company’s other products.

Speaking of other products …

Does City Lips’ Advanced Formula Have Any Competition?

Type, “lip plumper” or “lip enhancer” into any search engine and you’ll be met with hundreds of relevant options. You could almost certainly find at least a couple options browsing the aisles of local retailers with beauty sections, as well.

Price-wise, you could find some as low as $20, with others well in excess of $100.

Given this, how can you choose between all these competing lip plumpers?

The Beauty Insiders recommends that you start by taking a look at the product’s manufacturer and their online customer feedback. Based on what we learned during our research, the general customer consensus seemed to be positive when it came to City Beauty’s products. And at $35 (if ordering just one tube), it was priced at the lower end of the spectrum, too.

For example, Lipsation’s $69 will provide the same hyaluronic acid as this lip plumper, but the company didn’t provide additional information about its formulation. Also, many customers reported less-than-stellar experiences here on HighYa.

Whole formulation-wise, at $50, Idol Lips provided many of the same ingredients as City Lips, although not necessarily the same Sepilift blend. However, you'll find that most manufacturers promise to provide some unique formulation or technology that delivers better (or at least different) results than the competition.

According to their website, City Lips’ formulation was tested by Good Housekeeping in 2004, which found it increased lip volume by an average of three millimeters. In a 2007 follow-up, comparing City Lips to five other competing formulations, they found that the “original winner is still champion.”

With this said, other popular brands priced in line with (or lower than) City Lips, that promised many of the same results, and featured similarly high customer reviews, included Physician’s Formula Plump Potion ($10), Soap & Glory Extreme Plump Lip Gloss $12, Too Faced Injection Power Lip Gloss ($22), and Estee Lauder New Dimension Plump + Fill ($42).

Our Bottom Line About City Lips

Was City Lips the least expensive lip plumper or enhancer on the market at the time of our research? No.

But keep in mind that price is only one component of overall value. In other words, as we learned from The Beauty Insiders earlier, be sure to factor in City Lips’ (and City Beauty’s) generally positive customer consensus, the comparatively low reports of irritation, and their top spot among Good Housekeeping’s picks.

And if you find that it doesn’t deliver the value you were expecting, the company seems to stand behind their product with a 60-day refund policy, less shipping.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

165 Consumer Reviews for City Lips

Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 103 4 star: 30 3 star: 4 2 star: 10 1 star:  18
Bottom Line: 79% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 165
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No difference in appearance of lips

    • Georgia,
    • Sep 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using almost an entire tube of City Lips (which I purchased directly from their Facebook ad), I do not notice any significant change in the appearance of my lips or surrounding skin. The moisturizing properties are temporarily effective but no more than any other quality lip gloss. I applied several times daily and at night. Ultimately it did not meet my expectations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wanted to love this, and I had really high hopes! It doesn't plump my lips...not even a little. After reading very mixed reviews, I ended up buying it because I have some lines around my mouth even though I do NOT smoke. I was hoping City Lips could help. It didn't help at all. It's a pretty lip gloss, but the shine is not worth the price tag.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Does NOTHING for me

    • Massachusetts,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is just really expensive lip gloss with a bit of a tingle. Does absolutely NOTHING to reduce the appearance of wrinkles above my lips. Just gives me shiny, greasy lips. Yuck. I should have known better and not wasted my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 36 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Extra charges from City Beauty

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order, and the same day they charged an "international service" even though their website states they are in California. They won't reimburse me for the "international service." The bank can't do anything about it because it's associated with City Beauty. I would have to dispute the entire purchase. PayPal can't do anything about it. I won't order anything again, and I will make sure to tell everyone about City Beauty and their rip-off habits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Victoria, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's amazing to find a beauty (anti-aging) product that does what it promises! I'm completely hooked on this product. My lips really, really are fuller now than before I started using the clear gloss. I noticed a difference within a week, I think. I'm on my third tube and will continue to always use this product. I'm so happy and impressed! I LOVE it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Monica B.

      If you're so "happy and impressed" with this product, why won't you recommend it to a friend?

    • Aug 31, 2018

      Janis L.

      I am also wondering why you would not recommend the product if you are so happy with it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results!

    I routinely buy products such as this and have never seen any results. But I don’t use it as a lip gloss. I use it on ALL the fine lines around my mouth, cheeks, chin, eyes, and brow. This makes me have a "gloss face," so obviously I use it as a night procedure along with Pond's Cold Cream. My son and my husband have each compliments me on looking younger after only two weeks of use. I’m sticking with this new regimen that I’ve created for myself. I’m 62, so don’t wait to be my age, get a start now! I wish I had!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Plumps, but stings

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It plumped my lips which lessened the appearance of fine lines. However, it does sting and burns and it makes your lips feel numb, while it's plumping for about a full five to seven minutes. This is the first try. I'll continue to use it and see what happens.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Fabulous

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and received my City Lips within a week, and I ordered the special of three tubes, just in case I liked it, because it was expensive. I am over 50 and my lipstick would bleed into the lines by the end of the day, and I’ve only been using the product for about 1 and 1/2 weeks and I am not having that problem anymore! I have also noticed a definite plump in my lips. Like, they are my old gorgeous lips.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2018

      Theresa M.

      I am very impressed that you are no longer having lipstick bleed into your lip lines. It's really an amazing result for me to hear that you're now having because what most women experience lipstick bleeding into their lip lines. I cannot tell you how impressed your comment made ME feel, I am very happy for you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Cornwall, United Kingdom,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one of these after reading the general description and thought it sounded a good buy! Well, I will not be buying this City Lips product again, no tingling sensation, no plumping, no DIFFERENCE! Whoever wrote their selling advertisement should be named Dick Turpin and to top it off, I was hit with a further fee for £19.00 on customs charges. Ladies, don’t waste your money, it’s literally a lip gloss in fancy packaging.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2018

      Theresa M.

      I can't help but wonder if you were accidentally scammed. You may have gotten on a page that was run by scammers. I personally have NOT tried City Lips (I actually heard about it by reading about it). From everything I have read about the authentic City Lips, you should have had a tingling, numbing and plumping effect on your lips. If none of those things didn't happen to you, then that's what makes me believe you were scammed.

      As for being hit with a further fee of £19.00 I don't know about that, but I haven't read anyone else legitimately being charged, as of yet, but I'm still reading.

      Sorry this happened to you Sharon C. I read at the top of this there are several other lips and here's a copy of what brands you can try. It won't make up for your loss but at least HighYa helped you out somehow here: "Other popular brands priced in line with (or lower than) City Lips, that promised many of the same results, and featured similarly high customer reviews, included Physician’s Formula Plump Potion ($10), Soap & Glory Extreme Plump Lip Gloss $12, Too Faced Injection Power Lip Gloss ($22), and Estee Lauder New Dimension Plump + Fill ($42)."

      Hope this all helps Sharon C. You can find them in the United Kingdom.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Very conditioning, nourishing, but not much plumping

    • Farmington, MO,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the way the City Lips make my lips FEEL, but when it comes to living up to the reputation of plumping and filling in the wrinkles and fine lines, it’s a bit disappointing. It does take my normally dry lips From using the CPAP machine every night and completely restores moisture and rejuvenates them as well, but as far as plumping, and filling in my wrinkles and fine lines? No, it does none of those things.

    I would not pay any of the prices listed under the ordering options again for a nourishing lip gloss, even though it does qualify in my opinion as a lip revitalizer. I thought about trying a tinted gloss, but again, I would have to say no. They only way I would even consider paying the cheapest price I’ve found again is if they come out with a lip stain or color that is smudge, bleed, or smear proof type of color that will last all day without reapplication then being able to apply the clear over the smudge-proof color.

    My lips do FEEL nice, but LOOKS the same as when I began using this product, over 4-5 months ago.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2018

      Theresa M.

      Great idea, if they come out with a lip stain or color that is smudge, bleed, or smear proof type of color that will last all day without reapplication, then being able to apply the clear over the smudge-proof color. You should contact the City Lips company and suggest that to them. Very, very good idea!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting and ave been hit with a customs fee

    • North Wales, England,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order on the 13th of June for plumping City Lips and was redirected to what I thought was a free one, which turned out it was not, and I had paid for two. But it has been three weeks now and all I have received is a customs charge for £17.79. I am disgusted that people can rip you off and try and get away with it. I have contacted them as I want it sorted out, why should I pay because they want to make a fast buck by not paying correct fees?

    I would definitely not buy these.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 15, 2018

      Kimberly S.

      Same here. They charged an international service even though it's from the state from California. Now they won't reimburse me for the international service and the bank can't do anything about it. PayPal can't do anything about it. I won't order anything again and I will make sure to tell everyone about City Beauty and their rip-off habits.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 165

Write a Review for City Lips!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review