About Curology

Curology offers tailor-made skincare products that promise to treat both acne and aging. Using prescription-only ingredients, Curology will blend a personalized formula for you based off of your medical history, photos, and skin goals.

Each personalized formula will contain three active ingredients chosen for your skin from the following treatments:

  • Acne: Curology says that drugstore products may get rid of 30 percent of your acne. However, they claim that “prescription treatments like ours can eliminate 90 percent.” This formula includes azelaic acid, clindamycin, niacinamide, tretinoin, and zinc pyrithione.
  • Clogged pores: To help relieve plugs and clogged pores, Curology blends a mix of tretinoin, a topical prescription acne treatment similar to Retin-A, azelaic acid, clindamycin, niacinamide, and zinc pyrithione
  • Dark spots: Curlology claims that, when used with sun protection, their formula containing azelaic acid, niacinamide, and tretinoin can help to fade the dark spots caused by sun exposure and acne.
  • Firmness: According to their website, an independent clinical study (meaning that it was performed by a third party), showed a 38 percent increase in firmness within eight weeks of using their custom formula that includes tretinoin and vitamin C.
  • Texture: Curology claims that their formula, which includes tretinoin, can help to regenerate skin cells, improve glow, and smooth your skin’s surface.
  • Wrinkles: Similar to their formula addressing firmness, the active ingredients in Curology’s wrinkle formula are tretinoin and vitamin C.

A custom blend of prescription-strength active ingredients sounds promising. However, how can Curology offer regulated ingredients through a website?

How Does Curology Work?

Instead of an in-office visit to describe your skin concerns, the first step to using Curology is taking a questionnaire. Because it’s in lieu of meeting with a dermatologist face-to-face, signing up isn’t a short process. We’ve broken it down into the sections below:

1. Sharing Your Skin Goals

Screenshot of curology.comImage via Curology

First, to learn about your skin goals, the questionnaire asks that you choose which aspects of your complexion you’d like to treat. You can pick as many as you’d like. However, since the formulas are blended with three active ingredients, I limited my selection to three: clogged pores, firmness, and skin texture.

Screenshot of curology.comImage via Curology

Next, you’re asked to select your skin type. While this might seem fairly straightforward, it’s slightly disconcerting that there are no descriptions to help guide your selection—similar to the previous step. As someone who has neither oily or dry skin, it’s also frustrating to see that there is no option for “normal,” which is different from “combination” as the latter suggests an oily t-zone and dry cheeks.

Screenshot of curology.comImage via Curology

After selecting your skin type, Curology gives you the opportunity to specify which areas of skin are of concern, including your face, neck, shoulders/ back/ chest, or other. You can select as many areas as apply.

How many pimples did you get in the last week? That’s one of the last questions in the skin-goals section of Curology’s questionnaire. Finally, they ask how often you wear sunscreen or other forms of SPF. What level of SPF or how often it’s applied isn’t specified—important information we’re pretty sure an in-person derm would want to double check.

2. Have Your Medical History Handy

To gain a better understanding of your health, Curology asks the following questions:

  • Are you using a product containing a non-prescription retinoid, such as retinol or retinyl palmitate?
  • Which product are you using, is it working, and does it irritate your skin?
  • Have you ever used any prescription topicals (creams, gels, etc.) for acne or skin aging? If the answer is yes, you’re allowed to select from a long list of possible products.
  • Are you currently using the product? If the answer is yes, you’ll select the specific brand and concentration of the product. For example, since I had said yes to tretinoin, a topical treatment similar to Retin-A, I was shown a list of the nine different creams and gels in that category, and asked to select what I use.
  • Next, you’re asked to describe how your skin feels when using the previously specified products. Please note that, if you have not previously used any prescription topicals for your skin, you’ll likely be able to skip this section.

After gaining a thorough understanding of your skin history, Curology gets down to some more general medical queries. These will include your gender, then, if you’re female, a bunch of additional questions relating to hormonal birth control.

Because prescription acne products shouldn’t be used while pregnant, Curology requires female customers to agree that they are not pregnant or nursing—and they’ll notify their dermatology provider if they become so in the future.

Before ending this section of the questionnaire, you are given the opportunity to tell your dermatology provider any additional information, such as your skincare routine, or make special requests for your medication.

What’s Included In Your Curology Membership?

Joining Curology’s subscription program includes the following benefits:

  • Prescription-strength skincare, which Curology claims is custom-formulated to address your specific needs.
  • Real dermatology care through what Curology calls your dermatology provider. You’re given the name of your dermatology provider and some information about their background and experience during the signup process. For example, I was assigned Rachel Rivard, a Family Nurse Practitioner with four years of primary care experience.
  • Unlimited free shipping of your custom prescription, meaning that your order will be shipped as often as needed.

Note that our dermatology provider, Rachel Rivard, did not have previous dermatology experience before joining the Curology team. While still a licensed medical professional, her bio explains that she received extensive training with Curology's board-certified dermatologists.

This is technically in line with Curology’s About section, in which they claim to pair you with a “licensed dermatology provider for personalized acne and anti-aging treatment,” we feel that some customers could be misled by that wording into believing that they’ll receive attention from a licensed dermatologist.

Will it affect the quality of dermatology care that you receive through Curology? Likely not, as long as you remember that Curology is a service focused on skincare, not to identify potential abnormal moles or explore other unrelated conditions.

Instead, plan on reaching out to your dermatology provider only with questions and concerns that relate to your Curology products, such as if your skin feels too dry. This allows your dermatology provider to give you a less irritating formula and continue customizing your skincare.

Curology Membership Pricing & Refund Policies

Curology members are charged $19.95 each month. This cost includes a 90-day supply of your custom-blended skincare formula.

What if you run out of your Curology formula before 90 days? The company states that you are always free to request an earlier shipment. Additionally, they promise to never charge extra based on the frequency of shipment, and, again, there is no extra charge for shipping and handling.

That means that the total cost of a Curology membership is slightly less than $240 per year. When compared with seeing an in-person dermatologist, which can be hundreds or thousands, that’s a great deal.

Your Curology membership also includes the above-mentioned access to your dermatology provider. They state that most new members contact their dermatology providers every 30-90 days as treatment begins to adjust your formula. However, there are no extra fees for more frequent contact. Once your formula is working well for you, Curology does require that you check in a minimum of once a year—a requirement when using any prescription-strength medication.

There is no minimum commitment when signing up for Curology, meaning that you can cancel at anytime.

If you’re not satisfied with your Curology formula, the company promises to refund 100 percent of your charge. Note that this is only valid for the first 90 days, and is not applied automatically. To request a refund, email Curology’s customer service at support@curology.com for further instructions.

Curology does not accept health insurance to cover the cost of your membership. However, if you have a Health Savings Account or Flexible Spending Account, your consultation may qualify as a deductible expense—check with your provider to be sure.

Curology Reviews: What Are Customers Saying About It?

Curology, previously known as PocketDerm, has a devoted following of customers who have shared their positive skin changes.

Positive skin changesImage via Reddit

The Reddit user whose image is shared above stated that her acne has visibly reduced in three months. She also shared her personalized formula on the forum:

“At first, it was 4% Niacinamide 1% Clindamycin 4% Azelaic Acid. It changed to .018% Tretinoin 1 % Clindamycin 8% Azelaic Acid at the start of September.”

The PocketDerm referral thread is out of date, as the company has changed their name and promotional offers. However, it’s also full of Curology members sharing their positive experiences, many of whom say that their formula resulted in completely clear skin, including this review:

“Pocketderm has literally saved my face from painful hormonal cysts. Right now I just have some scarring/PIH/PIE to work on. Overall, very satisfied with pocketderm and Dr. Satur is both responsive warm to all my questions.

My Rx is spironolactone (75 mg daily at night) with 4% niacinamide / 1% clindamycin / 4% azelaic acid.

Background: I was a student experiencing THE WORST cystic breakouts of my life along my jaw. literally wanted to cry whenever I looked in the mirror. I tried to see a dermatologist, but my primary care physician would not refer me to one without seeing her first.. Her first available appointment was 2 months away and the cysts were starting to spread along from my jaw to the sides of my face. I figured it was hormonal cuz I never had this type of acne before and I was getting desperate. I could NOT wait 2 months so I looked to Pocketderm.

Yes, I was wary about Pocketderm actually working, but I was more desperate to get my clear skin back. After I got my order, it took about 2-3 months before the cysts all disappeared and I just have some marks left that I need to fade (using MUA lactic acid and fade peels).

Currently I still use Pocketderm as a preventative measure. I still get random tiny pimples once every couple weeks (but no more cysts) and the pimples just shrink overnight. I'm very satisfied with the results and customer service. Plus it's great that you can order more without charge.”

I found this particular review interesting as her prescription shows that Curology isn’t just prescribing one-size-fits-all topical treatments for members, but are actually evaluating your skincare needs and blending custom treatments as claimed.

Additionally, I couldn’t help but feel excited to read that their prescriptions included oral treatments, including spironolactone, as that was the only medication which worked to treat my own acne after years of trying different prescriptions, including Accutane.

Related: Got Pimples? How to Treat Adult Acne

Will Curology Work For You?

Considering the heaps of positive reviews that we were able to find for Curology’s telemedicine approach to tailor-made skin care, we feel confident suggesting that those who are struggling might find relief with their products. Further, we were unable to locate any negative reviews of Curology’s claims to provide attentive care.

What about Curology’s anti-aging treatments? While the above reviews focuse more on clogged pores, we double checked Curology’s ingredients and found evidence supporting that their anti-aging formulas are equally effective. For example, vitamin C and niacinamide are antioxidants known to fade hyperpigmentation, and tretinoin (the active ingredient in Retin-A) is known to boost cell turnover.

Considering the out-of-pocket cost of seeing a dermatologist, Curology’s low-fee membership plan is definitely appealing to those who have basic medical coverage, or aren’t covered at all. However, even when you have insurance, seeing a dermatologist can sometimes take months—whereas Curology promises that their dermatology providers will get back to you within 24-48 hours.

While telemedicine and online consultations might appear fly-by-night, it appears that Curology really does strive to offer everything that they claim: custom skincare treatments that are conveniently delivered to your door. Just remember that there are certain medications, such as Accutane, that they are unable to prescribe due to the severity of side effects.

The bottom line? If you struggle with mild to moderate acne or anti-aging concerns, the low cost of membership and satisfaction guarantee means that there’s minimal risk to trying out Curology’s custom skincare formulas.

More on Skincare:

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

78 Consumer Reviews for Curology

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 43 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 7 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 60% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Terrible experience!

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a terrible customer service experience with Arianne. Beware, when you sign up for a Curology subscription, they are basically scammers.

    I signed up for the free trial kit, which didn't react well with my skin, so I requested a formula change. I emailed the support team asking how payment would go and how I would proceed with getting another trial kit. Arianne replied back with a generic response that my "shipment is set to process" and my "new formula will apply to this shipment." Which DIDN'T ADDRESS ANY of my concerns!

    I then see a $40 charge on my credit card bill. They charged me for a full-size bottle when I simply requested for a trial-sized formula change. I tried to reach out to Arianne to get a refund or work something out, but she stopped replying.

    Bottom line...the concept of Curology has potential, but they have to stop taking advantage of their customers. We need to find a formula that WORKS for us BEFORE we commit to the $40 full-size bottle! So disappointing...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever!

    • Liberty, KY,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have read these reviews because this is exactly what happened to me! The formula didn’t work, I canceled my membership, was still charged, sent several emails (when I finally labeled one urgent it was answered almost five days after the initial email). They say they refund within the first 90 days if you’re not happy, this is a lie. I literally had to go as far as calling my credit card company and informing them of what happened. Now, my bank has blocked all charges from this terrible company. And I emailed that I was doing so in which I was told they would issue a refund only this once. Which is completely against what their 90-day satisfaction policy is. To add to the financial irritation, my skin literally broke out in an allergic reaction and we are talking hives. I don’t typically have sensitive skin, but it felt like I was pouring a chemical fire on my face. I am glad I stopped using it sooner rather than later!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 10, 2018

      Curology,

      Hi Colbi,

      Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you had such a poor experience. Our team is experiencing higher than normal volume over the holiday season, and we apologize for any delays this may cause. We're working hard to reply to all concerns.

      Please know we're happy to issue a 90-day guarantee to all patients who cancel within that timeframe. If this was not issued upon your request, please reach out to our team and we'll be happy to investigate this further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible customer service!

    • New Mexico,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to give it a try. Everything went ok, but I never noticed a difference in my skin, so I requested to cancel the subscription. I have requested a refund multiple times, emailed them multiple times, and I never received a reply. They don't have the decency to answer you back. They also don't have a phone number to talk to a real person, which is absolutely ridiculous. Good luck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Saved my skin, saved my confidence

    • Huntsville, AL,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly...I can’t say enough good things about this product. I’ve had horrible hormonal acne for the last 2 years. I had to have multiple surgeries for some health issues, so heavy exposure to anesthesia messed up my skin. I tried everything from over the counter and every single high-end product hoping I’d find a miracle. I’m 22 and a student so I really like going without makeup most days, but the last 2 years I’ve felt embarrassed of my face without makeup on. Curology worked within the first month. It cleared up all of my problematic areas and even helped reduce my oiliness. I’m incredibly thankful I gave this small little miracle bottle a try. I finally feel like my best self again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    This is the worst mistake I ever made.

    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this because it was a free trial and I was breaking out. I canceled the trial right away so that I would not forget, and it said I could restart at any time. If the treatment went well, I would restart.

    My skin cleared up in a matter of DAYS. Then, suddenly I have cystic acne which I've never had before. Just as other reviews have said. Just as my best friend who now lives in New York and wasn't here to stop me from doing internet trials.

    Then I got an email saying my second bottle had shipped? What a nightmare. And they're denying I canceled my subscription when I literally did it immediately after ordering.

    Seriously. This is a MESS. These other responses have to be paid. They tell you that your skin is just adjusting? This has done permanent damage to my face. I am terrified.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 7, 2018

      Curology,

      Hi Jenn,

      So sorry to hear you did not see the results you were hoping for! Do know that it can be common for your skin to worsen before it gets better, and our medical team is on hand to help offer advice to keep your skin on track. I encourage you to reach out to them with updated photos. They'll be more than happy to check in with you and offer advice.

      I'm sorry to hear you had trouble cancelling your account. If you received an email confirming your cancellation prior to this latest shipment, please do forward that to our support team and we'll be happy to look into what may have gone wrong here.

      Once your account is cancelled, no new shipments will be processed. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with. Our support team can be reached at support@curology.com, anytime.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Not good, don't recommend

    • New York,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Honestly, the first week I felt pretty good about it, confident that it would work. Thankfully I took pictures before because about a week and a half after I started breaking out all over my forehead and I NEVER did. The only good thing about it was that my skin became less dry obviously because of the moisturizer. If you really are breaking out and don't know what to do, I would talk to a dermatologist that you know face to face.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2018

      Curology,

      Hi Nati,

      I'm sorry to hear you did not see the results you were hoping for. Do know that as your skin clears out with prescription medication it can temporarily get worse before it gets better. If you encounter this we encourage you to reach out directly to your medical provider. He or she is on hand to help get your skin on track! A majority of our patients who stick with their formula find they see results within two to three months, so we encourage you to stick with it!

    • Dec 7, 2018

      Madeline T.

      I have loved Curology over the past year that I've used it. I have had the worst cystic acne baes on anyone that I've ever met and Curology saved me. I saw an ad on Instagram of a girl's before and after pictures, and her story, and I was immediately hooked. I saw a dramatic improvement in my overall skin texture in the 30-day trial, and I've been ordering from them since. I've definitely needed to be patient, though, because the whole "breaking out all over again" thing happens whenever I change my formula (which I've done five to six times now, strengthening ingredients, etc.) but it's over with quickly, even though at first it may seem a little discouraging. The best advice is stick with it! You'll make it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Miracle maker!

    • Utah,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered it because I saw it on Instagram. When I got, the package was so cute!

    Since I got Curology, my face has been better than ever.

    I've recommended it to friends and family already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Don’t do it. Just don’t.

    • California,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only reason I am writing this is to help others avoid going through what I went through. I started the trial because of the reviews, but come to think of it the only reviews on their site are good reviews because they FILTER them. The actual treatment DID NOT WORK and made me break out in cystic acne, which I’ve never had before, and then to make matters worse, when I tried to cancel because I was having allergic reactions, they still charged me for the 2-month bottle and shipped it out to me. They ignored my email regarding the situation. They have the worst customer service and product. I feel so discourage and so bad about myself because of them. I can’t believe I actually trusted fake and paid reviews. Just don’t waste your time, go to an actual dermatologist.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Amazing!

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely love Curology. It has worked for me like a miracle. I noticed results the first 3 days! I've been using it for about 2-3 months and my skin has never looked any better. I have struggled with acne for 4 years and Curology has been the only product that has worked. Highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Skin savior

    • New York,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Curology is made for your skin problems. The pictures of the before and after of people's skin after using Curology is so amazing. I want my skin to look good like that. Since I've been using Curology, I've seen a delightful change in my skin.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I love it

    • Visalia, CA,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m 16 and I’ve battled some serious acne stages. Since I first became a teenager, I feel like I've never had clear skin, which sucks. I've tried everything from cheap to pricey, and nothing really worked. I found Curology and thought I'd give it a try. From August 22 to now November 19th I can say that I've never been happier with my skin. My pores are almost nonexistent, my skin is so smooth, my scars are almost completely faded, and I do not have a single pimple on my face. I use it every single night, and I can proudly say that this product is probably the greatest thing I've ever done for my skin.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Curology!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review