Curology Review - Does It Really Work?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Nov 27, 2019

What Is Curology?

Curology is an online skincare company that promises to give you a personalized skincare service that is comparable to visiting a dermatologist.

Once you sign up and identify your main skincare problems and goals, the company will send you three products, including a “Superbottle” formulated with three active ingredients meant to reduce your acne, hydrate your skin, minimize hyperpigmentation and more, depending on your specifications.

Dr. David Lortscher, a dermatologist practicing in New Mexico, founded Curology in 2013 after seeking ways to create effective acne solutions that could be accessible to everyone, regardless of cost. Today, Curology’s products are backed by a medical team with more than 135 years of combined experience.

The company’s goal is to make prescription-strength skincare products accessible for more people. If you’ve been struggling with problems that drugstore products don’t seem to fix, then Curology may offer a convenient way to deal with precisely what’s bothering you without the costly and time-consuming process of making in-person appointments at the dermatologist.

In this Curology review, we'll discuss the ingredients and how effective their ingredients are to help you determine whether or not your skin can benefit from the products.

How Curology Works

Curology claims its customized, prescription-strength formulas will work for 88% of people.

Once you start to sign up, Curology prompts you to identify your skincare goals. These include fighting breakouts, treating clogged pores, fading dark spots, boosting firmness, improving skin texture, and fighting wrinkles. You can select as many as are applicable.

Next, you’ll specify whether you break out on your face, neck, shoulders/chest/back, or all three, and whether your skin type best qualifies as very dry, very oily, or something in between. After a few more skin-related questions, you’ll share basic facts about your health history and medication use.

At this point, Curology will share a free trial offer with you. If you enroll, you’ll get your first month of products free, so long as you pay $4.95 shipping and handling.

Looking Closer at Curology’s Main Products

Here’s a summary of the three products included in every Curology order.

1. Light Hydrating Cleanser

This cleanser is designed for daily use and works to remove dirt and build up and preps your skin for your custom product. It’s designed to create a barrier effect that keeps your skin moisturized without irritating it.

To use, massage the cleanser onto damp skin for up to two minutes before rinsing thoroughly and patting your skin dry.

2. Personalized Superbottle

This nightly serum is customized specifically for your skin based on the answers in your questionnaire.

You can’t tell during the ordering process what’s included in yours when signing up for a free trial, but you can find this information on your Treatment Page after you officially commit to a subscription.

It’s best to use it in the evening once your skin is dry after using the cleanser. If your skin becomes irritated, cut back its use to every other day.

3. Gentle Clog-Free Moisturizer

This final part of your skincare routine is designed to keep your skin hydrated.

Following the quiz, you will choose between a standard moisturizer or a richer formula designed for dry, aging skin, and then decide if you want to complete the Curology signup.

You can apply it to your skin in the morning after it’s been gently washed and padded dry. It’s also possible to reapply the moisturizer at night after using the cleanser and custom product if your skin needs it.

The company states that most people will need to use these products daily for six to eight weeks for their acne to clear up, and that they can continue using them as needed after this point.

If your skin doesn’t improve, the Curology suggests reaching out with your concerns so that you can try a new formulation with different active ingredients.

Curology Active Ingredients

Your personalized Curology Superbottle will contain a custom mix of three of the following ingredients. We’ve shared the key benefits of each, as reported by Consumer Lab, the Mayo Clinic, or WebMD.

Clindamycin

This common antibiotic is used to treat bacterial infections. Though it’s often taken orally, it can also be used as a skincare ingredient to kill off the acne that gets trapped in clogged pores and lead to inflammation.

One double-blind study from 1981 found that people with acne who used clindamycin experienced more significant improvements for their skin than those using a placebo.

While topical clindamycin won’t cure your acne, it can help you keep it from flaring up, especially if you use it regularly. Keep in mind that your symptoms may return if you stop its use.

Some people experience side effects from using clindamycin like heartburn, joint pain, and yellowing skin. These kinds of symptoms are most common when the compound is taken orally.

Azelaic acid

This gentle, versatile ingredient works to fight acne, reduce acne scars and hyperpigmentation, and combat other side effects of inflammation. It works as an exfoliant to unclog pores and refine the skin’s surface for a better complexion.

When added to skin creams, azelaic acid treats pimples and acne-induced swelling by killing the bacteria that infect your pores. A 1989 clinical study found that a topical product with 20% azelaic acid significantly reduced the number of acne lesions and led to significant overall improvements.

Azelaic acid is safe to use up to twice a day, though those with sensitive skin may need to restrict their use to a few times a week.

Tretinoin

Also called retinoic acid, tretinoin is related to vitamin A and is considered useful for reducing the appearance of fine wrinkles, sun damage, and discoloration.

Tretinoin is considered an anti-aging product when used topically, and it affects the production of skin oils in ways that make it difficult for pimples to develop. One 2009 study found that participants who were treated with varying strengths of tretinoin experienced more acne reduction than control groups.

You’ll likely need to use products that contain the compound for several months before you notice improvements.

Niacinamide

As another name for vitamin B3, niacinamide has shown promise in clinical studies for improving the appearance and elasticity of aging skin. It’s a popular topical ingredient for dry skin.

The compound works with the natural substances on your skin to improve the appearance of enlarged pores, uneven skin tone, dullness, and fine lines and wrinkles. It also improves your skin’s moisture barrier to reduce the effects of environmental damage.

Zinc Pyrithione

While commonly used to treat dandruff, this cosmetic ingredient also cleanses the skin and inhibits the growth of microorganisms. This makes it useful for treating psoriasis, eczema, and other skin irritations that can cause dry, flakey skin.

Tranexamic acid

As a synthetic version of the amino acid lysine, tranexamic acid applied topically works to fade dark spots, acne scars and other signs of skin discoloration. The benefits are compounded when you use it with other skin-repairing compounds like vitamin C, retinol, and hyaluronic acid.

Ideally, you should apply it twice a day, though those with sensitive skin should use it every few days.

We couldn’t find any published studies for topical tranexamic acid, though Wayne State University currently has one in progress.

Metronidazole

This antibiotic is an effective treatment for rosacea (a type of adult acne), though it’s often used to treat infections in the liver, vagina, stomach, and joints, as well as other skin conditions. You should expect it to take three weeks or longer before you start noticing any benefits.

Other Ingredients

Curology also contains a range of inactive ingredients. The company states that they will vary by formulation, but that they are fragrance-free, non-pore-clogging and create a pH between 4-5 (slight acidity). These ingredients include the following:

Aloe barbadensis leaf juice, C13-14 isoparaffin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, water, laureth-7, maltodextrin, phenoxyethanol, polyacrylamide, tocopheryl acetate, triethylene glycol.

Superbottles that include tretinoin also contain the antioxidant BHT (butylated hydroxytoluene).

Key Takeaways: Curology products contain a mix of ingredients, most of which show clinical evidence for reducing acne, shrinking pores, fading hyperpigmentation, and keeping your skin moisturized and healthy.

You should feel confident that there’s a good chance the ingredients chosen for your personalized skincare product will produce the desired results.

Are There Any Side Effects?

Our research didn’t bring up any dangerous side effects associated with Curology ingredients, though some users reported unpleasant reactions like skin irritation, redness, and dryness.

In most cases, these side effects seemed to be temporary and faded away after a few weeks when the user’s skin adjusted to the formula. We couldn’t find any information to show that certain people should avoid Curology ingredients.

We couldn’t find any information about those If you have naturally sensitive skin, you may want to limit your product use to a few times a week.

What Do Customer Reviews Say?

More than 300 HighYa reviewers have rated Curology, for an average score of 4.3 stars. 81% of users say they would recommend the brand to their friends. Below, we broke down their comments into some key takeaways.

Great Skincare Solution for Many

Dozens of reviewers raved about how Curology products transformed their hair. Some wrote that they had tried lots of other products, including Proactiv, Neutrogena, and prescription-strength ointments from their dermatologist before realizing they got the best results from the Curology line.

These users claimed that Curology cleared up their acne, gave them glowing skin, and improved their skin’s texture, and reduced the appearance of redness and irritation. Some also reported that they had used the products happily for several years.

Didn’t Work As Described for Some

Not all reviewers noticed a change from using Curology products. Some wrote that they didn’t feel good on their face and that the products themselves felt cheap and hard to apply. A few also noted that they experienced more acne, often in new places, after starting to use the Curology.

Many of these reviewers reported that they had to cancel their subscription because they couldn’t use up all the products they received the first time around.

Points for Prescription-Strength Ingredients

Some reviewers liked how Curology products let them access prescription-strength ingredients without having to go to the dermatologist.

As one example, a reviewer noted that she appreciated the emollient properties in tretinoin because it kept her skin feeling moist and supple for less money than it would cost to make an office call.

Miracle Product for Acne

Some reviewers wrote that they had long suffered from acne before finally finding success with Curology.

These products purportedly controlled their whiteheads and red patches better than any other “miracle” product they had tried. Many users wrote that their friends and family immediately noticed the improvements and complimented them on their skin.

Billing and Subscription Problems

Some Curology users weren’t happy with their customer service experience. Some wrote that they struggled to cancel their subscription and were still billed and received products after they put them on hold. Others wrote that they never received their orders and struggled to get customer service to fix the issue.

Key Takeaways: Overall, Curology users seem to think these products are worth it for their skin. Though they don’t work for everyone, many people noted that they improved their complexion, smoothed out their skin, and reduced the signs of acne.

Just keep in mind you might have some problems canceling your account if the products aren’t right for you.

What Does Curology Cost?

At the time of writing, Curology members are charged varying rates depending on which plan they choose.

You can try a 30-day free trial for the cost of shipping – $4.95 – and any applicable sales tax. A 30-day supply will cost you $19.95, and a 60-day supply is $39.90. The two-month plan has free shipping, while the monthly plan will charge shipping and handling.

If you want to subscribe to the full Curology routine (Superbottle, cleanser, and moisturizer), you’ll pay $59.90 per 60-day supply plus any taxes when applicable.

That means that the total cost of a Curology membership is around $240 - $480 per year. As The Law Dictionary reports that the average price for a dermatologist appointment in the United States is between $100-$200 per visit (not counting products), you are likely to save money going the Curology route instead.

However, most insurance plans cover general dermatology procedures, so you need to factor in these savings in your personal cost analysis.

Viseslav Tonkovic-Capin, an MD Board-certified Dermatologist based in Kansas City, agrees that Curology makes sense for people who want a little more from their skincare products than what’s available at the drug store, but don’t want to visit the dermatologist.

The concept of Curology is excellent, and it does make sense,” she told us. “[However], the vast majority of people with acne would benefit from just over the counter acne treatments.”

Dr. Tonkovic-Capin clarified that Curology seems to do an excellent job of bridging the gap between drugstore products and the top-of-the-line products only available from a dermatologist. “[I believe] Curology is very well positioned in between over the counter acne treatments and seeing a dermatologist in person.”

Curology’s Refund Policy

There is no minimum commitment when signing up for Curology, meaning that you can cancel at any time.

If you’re not satisfied with your Curology formula, the company promises to refund 100 percent of your charge within the first 30 days if you aren’t satisfied. To request a refund, email customer service at support@curology.com for further instructions.

Curology does not accept health insurance to cover the cost of your membership. However, if you have a Health Savings Account or Flexible Spending Account, your consultation may qualify as a deductible expense—check with your provider to be sure.

Bottom Line: Should You Sign Up for Curology?

Curology products have high reviews on HighYa, which indicates that the majority of customers are happy with their purchase.

Likewise, the active ingredients in Curology products show clinical evidence for reducing acne, smoothing out rough patches, and minimizing the appearance of acne scars, fine lines, and wrinkles.

Considering the out-of-pocket cost of seeing a dermatologist, Curology’s low-fee membership plan is definitely appealing to those who have basic medical coverage or aren’t covered at all.

However, even when you have insurance, seeing a dermatologist can sometimes take months—whereas Curology promises that their dermatology providers will get back to you within 24-48 hours.

Our bottom line? If you struggle with mild to moderate acne or anti-aging concerns, Curology’s relatively low cost and impressive customer reviews means that there’s minimal risk in trying out Curology’s custom skincare formulas. We recommend planning to commit for at least eight weeks so that you can determine whether the products really work.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Curology:
  • 317 Customer Reviews
  • 81% Recommend This Company
4.3 out of 5
5 star: 77% 4 star: 3% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 3% 1 star: 14%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Made my cystic acne so much worse!

    • By Emma Jean,
    • Illinois,
    • Mar 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got the trial of Curology. I was under the impression that I was going to get a whole skin care routine... However, they sent me this one bottle of night time cream. So I decided to try it anyway.

    They told me it would get worse before it got better and now after almost two months it hasn't gotten better. I have acne on parts of my face that I have NEVER had before; blackheads and whiteheads that are totally different, and the cystic acne I have has gotten so much worse and isn't clearing up. I can't touch my face without it hurting and it has been a nightmare.

    I do NOT recommend this for cystic acne, and I should have listened to all my friends who told me it was a scam. Now my face is COVERED in cysts, and my dermatologist has never seen anything like it. I now have to get cortisone shots all over my chin, which I have NEVER had to do before. BEWARE. This is the worst my skin has ever been! Not to mention $40 for a tiny bottle of cream. Proactive worked so much better and is cheaper.

    Don't fall for it ladies. Don't make my nightmare your nightmare. I'm devastated. My dermatologist is working overtime trying to help women not make the mistake I did and so am I. Please find a REAL, IN PERSON DOCTOR before you try this. I don't want any other women going through what I am. Please be cautious!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 5, 2018

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Hi Emma - I'm so sorry to hear that you had such a poor reaction to your prescription. If you haven't already, reach out to your Curology provider (https://curology.com/contact). He or she will be happy to offer advice to help determine what may have gone wrong, or advise you if you are allergic to something in our medications.

      Please do also reach out to our support team (support@curology.com), as we offer a 90-day money back guarantee, which it sounds like you will qualify for. Please don't hesitate to let our team know if there is anything else we can help you with.


  • They trick you if you want to cancel

    • By Hannah T.,
    • Kentucky,
    • Sep 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used this for about 6 months. I never noticed a difference (good nor bad), so I canceled my subscription. Low and behold, 2 months later I get an email saying I had a shipment on its way! I check my account, and somehow it's changed back to a two-month subscription! This is absolutely criminal, and I'm not just going to sit back and let them take my $40 that I didn't consent to be taken for their awful formula. DO NOT try this unless you feel confident that you'll want it forever, apparently!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worse off than before

    Overall Experience:

    I tried Curology for 3 months and have come out the other side much, much worse. I went through 5 different formulas and will give Curology props that their “dermatology providers” were attentive and always responded swiftly with helpful information (how qualified this advice actually is, is yet to be determined).

    However, each of these formulas made me break out in areas I've never had issues with, completely dried out my skin to the point of slight pain when smiling/etc, and did nothing to my enlarged pores (in fact, each formula made me break out with many whiteheads, which is unusual for my skin).

    It did absolutely nothing for my existing issues and only created new ones. I have requested a full refund for each product, as Curology did not even come close to their assertions of clearer skin. As someone who struggles with acne, I know that your skin has to get used to products, but it shouldn't take 3 months and you wind up WORSE OFF than when you began. Shame on Curology.

    They really don't have too many tricks up their sleeves when it comes to formulations, and you mostly get a “give it time” or “dilute it with moisturizer” responses. If I could give it zero stars I would. Stay away. I know this seems like a better option than going to a dermatologist, but it isn't!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely amazing

    • By Riley H.,
    • Richland, WA,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Hi, I’m Riley, your average teen girl with mild acne that always seemed to be getting worse. My pimples started showing up increasingly frequently and increasing in quantity. I would go to sleep after I popped a pimple and then wake up the next morning with three more. I would become incredibly anxious right before my period due to the fact that I knew I was going to break out terribly. I felt disgusting and dirty, I thought it was how I cleaned my face and I would constantly change cleansers and moisturizers trying to find one that wouldn’t break me out. I even considered meeting with a local dermatologist to prescribe something that might not have even worked. I paid hundreds of dollars on makeup trying to cover up what I couldn’t hide. I felt helpless, powerless, and out of luck.

    That was until Curology came along. I was scrolling through my Instagram when I saw an ad for this skin care product and like every other ad I saw, I just scrolled past it. Then Isaw it again, and again, and again, until I saw it so many times that I just clicked on their website and read what it was all about. I finally gave in and sent in all my stuff and received my trial bottle.

    The first month no changes really happened, and I started to lose hope that the second month that nothing would change. That was until people started noticing, “your skin is really clearing up what are you using?” “Your skin looks great.” And just small things from my family and friends. And around my third month, I didn’t break out during my menstrual cycle, and it was like a miracle. This was the first time in months and months I hadn’t at least had one pimple during my period.

    And now I’m on month 6 and let me tell you, I could not be happier with this product and everything to do with it. From the dermatologist, to the specializing for me, to the adorable packaging. I stopped needing to wear foundation, I simplified my morning and night process, and everything became 10000x easier. This is truly a blessing in a bottle. Thank you to everyone at Curology for giving me back my healthy, happy, and clear skin. Along with my confidence.

    Thank you for letting me be able to showcase my natural beauty. This is everything I could have ever asked for, thank you so much, Curology, for giving me back my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I wish this had worked

    • By Lin R.,
    • Washington, DC,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used Curology for eight weeks before finally giving up. It made my acne so much worse. I broke out over my entire face instead of just my jawline (my trouble area). The breakouts we're cystic and painful, and they never got better or reduced. Within days of stopping Curology, my face improved.

    I reached out twice to my specialist for advice. The first time she told me five weeks was too soon to make a determination. The second time she gave me a list of generic advice like "cut out dairy" and "check your other face products." I've had acne for 13 years. You think I haven't already done those things? Very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 1, 2018

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Hi Lin,

      Thank you so much for sharing your review. I'm sorry to hear that we were unable to help! Do know that it can be common for your skin to get worse before it gets better with prescription medication, so patience is key. If you cancel within your first 90 days, please reach out to our support team (support@curology.com). We offer a 90-day guarantee for situations just like this one.

      If there is anything else we can help with, please don't hesitate to let us know!


  • Tricked

    • By Hannah,
    • Austin, TX,
    • Jul 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It kind of worked and I was impressed until I realized they supplement their prescription with recommendations for more products that actually work. So, it seems like it's working, but it's actually because of the other stuff you're buying,

    Also, I stuck a Q-tip into my bottle to find I was tricked. The real bottom is not even an inch from the top of the bottle, more than halfway from the "real bottom."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 31, 2017

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Hi Hannah,

      So sorry to hear that your prescription did not work for you.

      While the majority of our patients see results within 2-3 months, sadly that is not the case for everyone. I'm sorry you found it did not work for you.

      As we know everyone's skin is different, we do offer a 90-day money back guarantee to allow you to fully test out your medication risk-free. So please do contact our support team (support@curology.com) and they'll be happy to help.

      Do also know that it is normal for your skin to get worse before it gets better if you are still early in your treatment reach out to your medical provider. He or she will be happy to review your current skin condition and offer advice on how to manage the purge.

      Again, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. We're happy to help however we can.


  • Terrible customer service and possible scam!

    Overall Experience:

    I received the first bottle and was thrilled with the formula. It worked as well (perhaps better) than previous prescriptions I'd gotten for basically the same product in separate bottles. However, the "one month's" supply lasted only a couple of weeks, and the reviewer who stated that the bottom was a 1/4 inch or so from the top was being accurate. Then, when I attempted to send new photos to my provider and to order an "extra" bottle, I received no help whatsoever.

    When the provider finally contacted me, she stated that my bottle was on the way. That was approximately a week ago (it's now August 2nd), but I've received nothing. When I called my bank this morning, I discovered that I'd been charged $39.95 on July 14th! When I attempted to track the package, I learned that Curology had merely created a SHIPPING LABEL on July 15th, but had provided USPS with nothing else and the aforementioned was awaiting the actual product to be sent!

    Meanwhile, customer service has failed to respond to me at all, and my provider/PA/doctor takes forever, claims she didn't receive the pictures I downloaded and can't help me with billing issues. Their website provides no phone number and when my bank gave me one it went straight to voicemail. I'm furious and am going to be forced to freeze my account unless this can be resolved. I will provide a follow-up message when (and if) it is.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 4, 2017

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Sorry to hear that!

      Our team works hard to respond to all messages within 24-48 hours, if not sooner. If it has been long and you still have not heard back, let me know and we'll be happy to look into this further for you.

      As for your shipment, do know that while it isn't common, shipments may get lost in transit and result in tracking information not updating. If that is the case, reach out to our support team (support@curology.com) and they'll be happy to look into getting a replacement sent to you.

      If you have any additional questions or concerns, don't hesitate to email us at support@curology.com. We're happy to help!


  • Subscription canceled, they took my money

    • By Ashley W.,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I canceled my subscription with Curology in May; I have the screenshot where it says "are you sure you want to cancel?" I clicked yes, then it said "you will be missed." They took money out of my bank account for this month when I already canceled, so of course, they don't have a phone number you can call, you have to email them, and I did. They said someone will get back to you in 48-72 hours. So I sent another email asking for someone to get back to me today as this is my money they took. No one responded. Post poor customer service. I will never recommend them, and their product didn't even help me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 8, 2018

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Hi Ashley,

      Thank you for sharing your review. I'm sorry to hear you had such a poor experience. Do know that our support team works hard to reply to all messages ASAP. If you have not yet heard back from our team, check your spam inbox, as our responses may get misdirected there on occasion.

      Do also know that once your account is canceled, no new charges will be run. However, if a shipment was purchased while your account was active, we will continue to process and ship that out for you to ensure that you receive all shipments that you purchased while an active member with us.

      If you are unable to locate a response from our support team in your email inbox, please reach out again and share a phone number our team can reach you at. We'll be happy to give you a call instead to ensure we are able to help address any questions or concerns you may have.


  • Not for me

    • By Jensen M.,
    • Colorado Springs, CO,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I tried Curology because it kept popping up on my Instagram and Snapchat as an ad. I’ve never had too much trouble with my skin, just a few pimples here and there. Never suffered from zits (I’ve been quite lucky) but I wanted to give the formula a try because why not try to achieve flawless skin?

    I honestly regret trying it now. They keep mentioning online about "skin purging" where according to Curology, your skin is SUPPOSED to get way worse before it gets better. So when painful, almost impossible to get rid of zits started showing up, I figured it was just part of the "purging process" and didn’t give it much thought. Then I started to get rashes and my skin started flaking. I tried to use less of the medication in case I was maybe overdoing it, but my face just got worse and worse.

    A week after I stopped using Curology my face completely cleared. No more pimples or painful zits. Curology simply wasn’t for me. It didn’t work whatsoever. Lesson learned!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 25, 2019

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      Hi Jensen,

      Thanks for reaching out and sharing your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your formula did not work for you.

      Please know that your medical provider is on hand to help adjust your formula or offer advice to assist with adjusting to your treatment. He or she is available anytime via your Curology Account.

      If you have any other questions, our support team is happy to help! Reach out to us anytime here: support@curology.com.


  • Clownery

    • By Kevin H.,
    • Los Angles, CA,
    • Oct 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Trying something for a short period of time and then subscribing to their monthly service have became a big part of my life, I have 6 monthly subscription, ranging from dog food to streaming services. I found out about Curology in one of my favorite YouTuber's video, I didn't really need skincare products at the time, but I wanted to support the content creator, and the price for the first shipment was only about $6, so I decided to try it out.

    One month down the line, nothing has changed about my skin, good or bad, I still had over half of the products from the first shipment. I didn't know when I would be charged for the next shipment, and didn't bother to check, I thought to myself, I'll just wait for an update since Curology is always spamming my phone number with texts.

    I wanted to cancel my subscription for the time being, because A) no change to my skin, B) didn't finish my products yet, why would I need more? I wanted to finish the current 3 bottles I had and see if there's progress and then make a decision.

    One day, I just get an email and text update saying that my shipment for this month is on their way. Beyond confused, because I didn't get updates being charged, and they clearly had my contact information. I tried to email customer service and of course, there's nothing they can do about it.

    Seems like a quick cash grab.

    I don't think I have used the product long enough to write an accurate review, but if a company really believes in their products to have effects and can guarantee customers to return after they’ve already used the product, why use these kinds of clownery tricks to drive away potential long term customers?

    Anyways, now I have $70 worth of skincare products lying around my house that I don't really know what to do with.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I'm angry

    Overall Experience:

    I got the trial version, and with the basic formulation (AZELAIC ACID, CLINDAMYCIN, NIACINAMIDE) they give most people, and I tried it for a month. I had decent acne on my forehead due to hormone imbalance from BC.

    They warned me that it's going to get worse before it gets better. At first, it really did get worse. My skin texture got really weird with these tiny bumps literally everywhere on my face. I got really worried but decided to continue. Although the zits came down in size, they were still very persistent and would become really pushy. I continued the treatment that was supposed to help me also get rid of the dark spots left over from the acne. Well, guess what? The amount of zits that the medication "brought out" to try to "clear up" the acne actually made more dark spots and did not help them.

    I decided to take a break after the month and came back to it a little later, and all the acne inflamed again. I decided to stop using it and went on a search to get serum and moisturizer to get rid of my spotted forehead. Mind you, I used my Teint Idole 24 hr Lancome foundation, which is full coverage and even two layers of it would not cover the dark spots completely. I bought Even Better Serum and the new Moisture Surge Gel to try to recover. Two weeks later everything cleared up and dark spots are fading.

    Throughout this time, I was in a middle of a move and had a car accident. I tried contacting support only to get their voicemail box. I contacted my Curology "doctor," and she explained that there are no return or refunds. While I still have two more bottles of that formula sitting in their boxes untouched. And I know for a fact I'm not the only one with that formula. In fact, most people get the same "unique" formula when they sign up.

    The point of the story is it's probably not a good idea to deal with this product or company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 22, 2017

      Company Response from Curology Inc.

      I'm sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with our service. Our support team is more than happy to help look into your account to see if you qualify for our 90-day money back guarantee. You can reach out to them via email at support@curology.com, and they'll be sure to get back to you within 24-48 hours.

      Don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything else we can help you with!


Showing 1-11 of 317

Write a Review for Curology!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Curology