About DailyBurn

DailyBurn is an online fitness destination for men and women that claims to provide 16 different exercise programs and more than 100 workouts—all from elite expert trainers—that can keep you motivated and give you better results in less time, using daily routines, meal plans, recipes, and supplement recommendations. Because of this, DailyBurn dubs itself as a “digital fitness solution” that acts as your complete resource for working out, whether at home or on the go (we’ll talk more about this in a moment).

Maybe you’re looking to improve your fitness based on a New Year’s resolution, or perhaps you’ve been working out for a while and are just looking to spice things up by trying something new. Whatever the case may be, is DailyBurn a quality website that can help you reach your goals? We’ll answer this important question shortly, but first, let’s take a look at how DailyBurn works.

Understanding how DailyBurn Works

In order to access DailyBurn’s fitness library, you’ll need to answer a few basic questions on the company’s home page. This includes entering your current weight, your goal weight, and your gender, age, and email address.

Then, you’ll complete a 2-minute assessment where you’ll need to indicate your gender, age range, current fitness level, and your ideal type of workout.

Based on your answers to these questions, DailyBurn will display a recommended trainer and fitness program, at which point you’ll be able to watch a video preview in order to get a better idea if it’s right for you.

Related: GOLO Weight Loss Program Review

Then, if you decide to sign up for DailyBurn’s free trial (more about this in the Pricing section), you’ll gain access not just to your recommended program, but also to their library of more than 100 workout videos across all programs, which are sorted by:

  • Goals (strength, weight loss, stay fit, etc.)
  • Difficulty (beginner, intermediate, advanced)
  • Duration (anywhere from 2 weeks to 3 months)
  • Workout length (between 15 and 50 minutes)

If you’d like full details about any of the programs, all you need to do is click on them and you’ll be taken to their home page.

Regardless of the program you choose, DailyBurn’s videos can be streamed through your laptop, phone, tablet, and even devices like Roku, Xbox, and more (a full list of supported devices can be found here). And as you move through your chosen program, DailyBurn is claimed to visualize your progress (e.g. number of workouts completed, weight lost, calories burned, etc.) using graphs and encouraging messages.

What Workouts Does Dailyburn Offer?

So, can you achieve your fitness goals using DailyBurn? Probably so. But is it right for you? Let's take a look at the Workouts offered by Dailyburn.

Overall, DailyBurn provides access to 18 different workout programs, which contain 100+ individual workouts combined:

  • Black Fire – A two-month program lead by trainer Bob Harper that focuses on short, full-body exercises. Recommended for advanced users looking for “intense results.”
  • DailyBurn 365 – If you’re looking to tone up and lose weight, the 365 program provides access to new, live (or on-demand), full body workouts each day. Each workout lasts 30 minutes, is fun to do, and requires no additional equipment.
  • Inferno – Lead by trainer Anja Garcia, this 21-day program will subject you to “gut-wrenching, grueling” workouts, and keep you motivated as you attempt to break your AMRAP (as many reps as possible) record each week.
  • Cardio Sculpt – Over the course of 3 months, you’ll work out 6X per week with this program (12 different workouts in total), which will focus on achieving lean legs, toned abs, and a tight butt.
  • Live To Fail – An intense 90-day course for advanced users that will “push your body to the limit,” regardless of whether you’re looking to lose weight or gain muscle. In fact, DailyBurn claims Live To Fail can help you “progress towards being in the best shape of your life.”
  • DB15 – At just 15 minutes per workout over the course of 15 days, DB15 can help you quickly “transform your body,” regardless of your fitness level, with targeted exercises that encompass everything from MMA to yoga.
  • True Beginner – As the name suggests, this is the program for you if you’re just starting out. Here, you’ll be able to ease back into fitness over the course of 4 weeks.
  • Inferno HR – Similar to the original Inferno program, Inferno HR will focus on intense, advanced exercises that are ideal for achieving both strength and weight loss. This time though, you’ll add a heart rate monitor into the mix for “personalized feedback that will lead to intense results.”
  • Tactical Bodyweight Training (TBT) – Lead by trainer Cody Storey, who studied in “primal movements,” TBT is a 28-day course that helps improve your range of motion, strength, and mobility.
  • Move! – Through the thirty 47-minute workouts found in the Move! program, lead trainer Keaira LaShae will help boost your metabolism using dance-inspired workouts that can help you tone up and lose weight.
  • CORE – A two-week program that strengthens and tones a wide variety of muscles, including “abs, obliques, lower back, glutes, and hip flexors.”
  • Yoga Made Simple – Looking to get into yoga, regardless of your fitness level? Lead trainer Briohny Smyth can help you do just that with this 4-week course focused on gentle movements and stress relief.
  • Yoga – Whether you’re a novice or more experienced practitioner, Yoga will move you along a progression—at your own pace—from basic poses to more advanced ones, all aimed at improving your mobility and flexibility.
  • Pilates (Phase I & II) – Each of these 3-week courses lead by trainer Andrea Speir will help improve your strength and flexibility by focusing “on the body's "Powerhouse," the abdominals and center of the body” and “controlling the flow of your movements.”
  • DBK – Moving away from outdated workouts, you’ll learn how to use kettlebells to improve strength and increase toning, “while transforming your body.” This course is three months long, with 15 different 50-minute exercises.
  • Total Cardio – Combining the techniques of three different DailyBurn trainers, this course will use cardiovascular exercises to help you lose weight and increase strength over 28 days.
  • Beautiful Belly Yoga – Targeted at expecting mothers, this program goes at your own pace over the course of 3 trimesters and helps you continue your yoga practice.
  • Recover – Using five, 30-minute workouts over the course of a week, this program uses Yoga to “open you up,” Myofascial Release to relieve tension, and Mobility to help restore movement.

Mind Your Connection

After signing up for DailyBurn’s free trial and testing out some of their content, we found that their videos looked crisp and clear; even when viewing them in full screen mode on a PC.

However, it’s important to keep in mind that you’ll probably need a fairly fast internet connection to stream the content without any lag, which means that viewing them over your carrier’s plan may eat up (no pun intended) a lot of data, and/or could lead to some frustrating viewing experiences when trying to workout when using anything other than a Wi-Fi connection.

In short, while DailyBurn’s content may be accessible from almost anywhere, your user experience may not be equally enjoyable in all locations.

You Need to Be Self-Motivated

It’s also important to keep in mind that, while some of DailyBurn’s fitness tools can provide you with a much needed motivational boost, for the most part, you’ll be on your own throughout the entirety of your program.

Because of this, if you tend to lack self-motivation when working out, the independent nature of DailyBurn may not be idea for achieving your fitness goals. In other words, DailyBurn may be able to show you the path to fitness, but it’s up to you to get off the couch and put in the effort.

It’s Not Just About Working Out

Speaking of which, achieving your fitness goals is often just as much (if not more) about proper nutrition than it is about the types of exercise you’re doing, so it’s good that DailyBurn’s programs address both. In other words, as long as you have the motivation to stick with it, DailyBurn’s well-rounded programs appear to address all of your needs.

Are Consumers Talking About DailyBurn? What’s the Buzz?

Since writing our original review, 70+ HighYa readers have expressed their opinions about DailyBurn, most of which seem to be positive.

With an average rating of 2.9 stars, some of the most common compliments appear to relate to the variety of workouts and programs available, low price for what you get, positive results from sticking with the programs, the ability to access content wherever you are, and excellent customer support.

On the other hand, some of the most common customer complaints appear to reference difficulty cancelling free trials without being charged, in addition to excessive emails (note: we didn’t receive too many emails after signing up for DailyBurn’s trial).

Outside of HighYa, DailyBurn appears to have an equally positive online customer reputation. The company isn’t rated with the Better Business Bureau, although they did hold 27 closed complaints (as of 1/17/17), most of which appear to reference billing problems/cancelling trials or subscriptions.

DailyBurn Pricing & Refund Policy

When initially signing up for DailyBurn, you can opt for a free 30-day trial, which gives you full access to your recommended program, as well as to DailyBurn’s complete library of videos, articles, and nutritional information. When signing up for your trial, you’ll also have the ability to add 1-on-1 coaching guidance for an additional $15 per month, which can be declined if you’re not interested.

If you cancel your DailyBurn trial before the 30 days is up, the company claims you won’t be charged a penny. However, if you decide to stick with your program, you’ll be charged $12.95 per month. According to the company, your membership can be canceled at any time without further obligation.

DailyBurn recently added a Premium service as well, which gives customers access to a full library of all past 365 workouts and exclusive access to new features and content before anyone else. The price is $26.95/mo.

Important note: Keep in mind that membership fees may not be your only costs. Some programs may not require any additional equipment, while others may require weights and other devices that could increase your overall cost by $100 or more.

Also, your nutrition plan will include recommended supplements (which can be purchased directly through DailyBurn), although these can be purchased through third parties if you prefer. In fact, they may not be required at all if you choose.

With this said, DailyBurn does not offer refunds or credits for partial months. In other words, once your cancellation is processed, you’ll continue to have access to the site for the remainder of the month, after which your access will be revoked.

Breaking: DailyBurn Partners with Nautilus for New Video Series

On January 17th, 2017, Nautilus (manufacturer of popular fitness equipment, including the Bowflex MAX Trainer) announced their partnership with DailyBurn to “provide subscribers with exclusive, unprecedented access to Bowflex expert training advice, with new streaming workout videos for Bowflex Max Trainer cardio machine customers.”

In everyday terms, what does this mean for you?

After purchasing a MAX Trainer, you can sign up for a free 8-week trial to DailyBurn. Combined, Nautilus tells us that their equipment and DailyBurn’s videos can provide you with training plans and workout schedules you need to help keep you motivated.

Additionally, DailyBurn will provide access to an 8-week course hosted by Bowflex Fitness Advisors Tom Holland and Amy Dixon. This specially designed program for MAX Trainer owners is split into two phases:

  • Phase 1 – Even before your machine arrives, these bodyweight-focused strength and cardio exercises can help you get ready for MAX Trainer.
  • Phase 2 – Here, you’ll work up to MAX Trainer’s 14-minute programs via three mini phases that last two weeks each. Each week, you’ll learn a new workout and receive suggestions for supplemental workouts if you’re ready.

After your Bowflex trial ends, you’ll roll over to DailyBurn’s standard $14.95/mo membership.

Can DailyBurn Help You Achieve Your Fitness Goals?

Chopping to the Point: Given DailyBurn’s positive online reputation with customers, their more than 7 years in business, their wide variety of workout programs and videos (and the expert trainers who host them), as well as their complementary nutrition information and meal plans, it’s very likely that you’ll be able to find fitness success using their site.

However, keep in mind that you’ll need to be self-motivated in order to achieve this success. In addition, based on our research, you might want to cancel your trial a few days before the 30-day mark in order to avoid possibly being charged.

What’s your experience with DailyBurn? Help your fellow consumers be more informed by writing your review below!

See Also: Forget Diet Pills—Lose Weight by Changing Your Habits

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

83 Consumer Reviews for DailyBurn

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 25 4 star: 15 3 star: 4 2 star: 4 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 53% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 83
Sort reviews by:

  • 86 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Still can't get rid of them

    • Texas,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    Unfortunately since I hadn't really been using the service I asked to cancel within the 30 day trial period. Instead I was billed for a full year (at the time $60/year) even though I requested cancelation. And now, a year later I have been billed another $60 again. I don't like those kind of business practices. Of course, no response from customer service (which you can't access by phone).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 4, 2014

      alexis,

      did they ever fix it? I read this post and hurried up and canceled it the same day I signed up for it!

    • Aug 4, 2014

      alexis jones,

      did they fix it? I'm worried...

    • Aug 11, 2014

      Anne,

      Cancel your credit card!

    • Dec 3, 2014

      Laure,

      I had paid for Daily Burn last winter. It was $15.00 a month with no prepaid year. When I got laid off and could no longer pay for the service. I opted out (Cancel) and it was done. They were very good about canceling me and I am now working again and looking forward to getting back at.

    • Jan 12, 2015

      Ava,

      I've never had that problem with them. I'm a bit skeptical about your problem. Usually when I see people make comments about companies I've researched a ton before using, it's just some competitor. There was only one time I had meant to cancel for awhile and forgot, but they were quick in helping me out.

    • Feb 3, 2015

      Linda,

      Next time pay with a prepaid card or Visa/MasterCard gift card especially when trying on a trial basis.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Key West, FL,
    • Oct 27, 2014

    They inundate you with emails to update your registration and of course their site content is limited without paying for an upgrade, then when you forget to cancel, they keep your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2015

      Curtis,

      I have not signed up. But, how is it a scam based on your comments? You have to pay for things in life, why would they offer everything for free? And if YOU forget to cancel, of course you will get charged.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev,

      Agreed. People rate this based on their own stupidity in not cancelling on time because they forgot. It probably also shows they lack motivation to actual work out in the first place so their reviews are meaningless in the long run. Classic example of the lazy generation looking to whine and have things handed to them on a plate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 42 out 115 people found this review helpful

    The old 'free trial, but charge you after trick.

    • Auckland, New Zealand,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I don't know why I accepted the free trial on the Roku. Just saw 'free' and thought, sweet, why not?

    Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions. I got charged. I really hate businesses that do this. It should be illegal, and mandatory to send an email 24 hours before putting a customer on a paid plan.

    Yeah, all that legal nonsense has them covered, and my fault for not reading, but it's just plain sneaky. And they know exactly what they're doing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 10, 2015

      Jeanne,

      It seems ridiculous for you to blame a company for you not reading the agreement and expecting something to be free forever. Allowing you to try their service for a free month isn't a scam or sneaky. Nor is it sneaky to bill you after the free month. It isn't the responsibility of any company to remind you to cancel before they charge you either.

      It's called being a responsible consumer.

    • Feb 16, 2015

      Beth,

      "Forgot all about it. Never read the terms and conditions." The company is not responsible for reminding you to cancel your trial and not have your card charged. This is not "sneaky" this is just common sense for any free trial. This is the third negative review I've read where it was the irresponsibility of the consumer that caused the issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 61 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Rip Off Artists

    • Nov 27, 2014

    Lured in by "only $10 a month with first month free trial', you will find your card being charged $50 a month. Great program but dishonest about getting subscriptions, then refusing to refund. False advertising will lead me to complain to the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 55 out 122 people found this review helpful

    Definitely a scam

    • Dec 2, 2014

    This program does not work especially if you live in an apartment and you have neighbors. Also, they don't cancel the program when you want it canceled. They charge for the month after too. That is a nice ploy to get an extra $25. They send you emails daily but don't ever tell you what day they are deciding to charge you. Companies with integrity send you emails telling you, you are being billed. I would definitely not recommend this program to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2014

      Sj,

      I have to say, I have been tempted by this but I do live in an apartment (with wooden flooring) and the girl downstairs likes to complain at the slightest of sound so you have brought up a very valid consideration. I will think more on it. Thanks

    • Jan 3, 2015

      R.,

      While I appreciate the heads up about their extra charges on cancelation, it is unfair to call it a scam because you live in an apartment. I know this is not everything covered in your feedback, but this really made me wonder about how well I can trust your particular assessment.

    • Jan 10, 2015

      Trev,

      So it's the programs fault because you live in an apartment?! I can't comment on the cancelation policy or procedures, but it just seems like too many people give bad reviews for nonsensical purposes.

    • Jan 11, 2015

      AL,

      That is just dump to blame Daily Burn for you living in an apartment.

    • Feb 17, 2015

      JR,

      Go to a park, you can access it from your phone/tablet. I live in an apartment (2nd floor) and I go to the park to do my routines. Much better out in the sun. Don't be a hater, get up and work out.

    • Mar 23, 2015

      Laura

      It's not false advertising. I tried it for a month and looked at the pricing options. I subscribed for a year at $120 which works out to $10 a month.

    • Aug 18, 2015

      Jennifer

      So, because you have a small apartment & don't feel comfortable exercising in that space, you are saying that Daily Burn doesn't work & is to blame? Like JR said, take your phone/tablet to the park if you are serious about using a self-paced internet based exercise program & don't want to exercise at home. Sounds like going to a gym is a better fit for you anyway and I like that Daily Burn doesn't email me all the time. I don't want to be bombarded with emails. Lastly, you sign-up for a subscription & then are surprised when they bill your credit card? This is not at all a fair review of this product/company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Complete Scam

    • New York, NY,
    • Jul 18, 2015

    I tried their free trial on Hulu, and within a week I unsubscribed permanently, and suddenly I see a charge of $30 out of nowhere. Company does not even have a darn help line number.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 4, 2015

      Julie,

      Did you ever find out what this charge was for? Were you able to get a refund?

    • Aug 21, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Kareena! It looks like you had upgraded to our Premium Monthly plan and was taken care of right away and was refunded in full.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 24 people found this review helpful

    I did not realize I was being charged monthly

    • Lindenhurst, NY,
    • May 1, 2015

    Please ensure that you do not mistakenly hit auto renew. I had NO idea I was paying for this monthly as it gets blended into the iTunes bill with the songs I downloaded.

    I did not like this program. It is not worth the fee in my opinion.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 29 people found this review helpful

    SCAM!

    • May 21, 2015

    I signed up for the trial and was not impressed. The workouts are only 30 minutes and not that great. I could then never cancel it! Suddenly could not get on website and 1-800 number failed. I finally disputed with credit card and had to change my credit card number to get it off. Such a scam! Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bad Business

    • Kewadin, MI,
    • Jun 3, 2015

    I emailed them three times can't get a hold of anyone. My daughter canceled this over email because you can't get anyone live there. This was done three months ago yet she got charged again this month. Stay well away from these scam artists.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Horrbile

    • Jun 18, 2015

    So I paid for this for three months and got bored and I canceled my subscription. Come to find out they charged me a few months later and I cannot even remove my credit card info. There is no phone number to call and complain, this is a HORRIBLE company and I am disgusted with them. I canceled AGAIN and entered a closed account credit information so they can try to steal from there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 37 people found this review helpful

    Billing Scam

    • Milwaukee, WI,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    I will echo what the other reviews citing bad business/billing practices have said. They charge you without consent. I can't speak to the workout quality as I never had time to actually use the program. My review is based solely on the fact that I went online in my account settings and CANCELED my membership. The message on the screen when I did so stated I would no longer be billed. However, they switched my request to "pause membership", not my actual request to cancel. I look at my bank account today to see they started charging me after two months of no charges. I know for a fact that I did not "pause" my membership – I CANCELED it. Nice little racket they have going on here. If you give this company your credit card info be aware and watch your account like a hawk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 28, 2015

      Tamara , Manager, Customer Support

      Hi Heather, if you haven't yet reached out to us about your previous account trouble, please do. We'll be able to help! support@dailyburn.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 83

Write a Review for DailyBurn!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review