Read 41 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 24% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 41
Sort reviews by:

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent

    • St. Paul, MN,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a ruby ring at a going out of business sale at a department store. I was assured that the ruby was genuine, and it was grouped away from the display of fake rubies. When I got my paperwork from the company, my ruby was described as a "lead/glass filled ruby."

    I was lied to by both the salesperson and by Effy Jewelry. Unfortunately, because it was sold, no exchange or refund, they are not standing by their jewelry and have not replied to my emails when I sent them to complain. Since I trusted the store that I had shopped at for decades, I never dreamt this could happen. This is a misrepresentation and is illegal. I don't know of any recourse at this point except for a class action lawsuit, and I am hoping that with all the complaints this will happen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 23, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Lynn,

      Would you kindly call me directly at 212-730-8889 x 251 so that we may discuss this? I'd like to know which store this ring was purchased from and I'd like to see a copy of the paperwork that was given to you. I look forward to assisting you.

    • Jan 24, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Lynn,

      It was my pleasure speaking with you today. I look forward to assisting you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Stones falling out

    • Derry, NH,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a blue diamond flip top ring a few years ago in the Bahamas. I wore it a few times and a diamond fell out of the top flip portion. I was lucky enough to find the diamond and had it reset. I received the ring back, and a short while later a diamond fell out of the side. I really like the ring, but the setting doesn't seem to hold the stones. I don't really wear it that often and am not rough on it. So disappointed because I love the designs, but I will not buy any other pieces from Effy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Pamela,

      Sorry to hear that your ring is in need of repair but rest assured this is covered under your lifetime warranty from Effy Jewelry. Please fill out our online form at customercare@effyjewelry .com and one of our guest care agents will handle your request. I may also be reached at 212-730-8889 X 251. We look forward to assisting you.

    • Feb 4, 2019

      Sue W.

      Love your designs but using "I" included diamonds is unacceptable in high-end jewelry costing thousands of dollars. Most jewelry authorities state "I" included diamonds are the worst you can use and the inclusions are easily seen with the naked eye. Effy needs to stop this practice.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Complain about watch band

    • Amsterdam, the Netherlands,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a beautiful Effy watch - the Columbus circle diamond. But the stingray leather band has broken.

    So I contacted Effy Watch to buy a new band and they just simply said no, we don’t sell bands anymore. And they did not even try any solution. So now I have a $3500 watch without the accessory band. This is not the way a big company should work with their customers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 21, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      First, let me apologize for the response you received when reaching out to guest services. Would you kindly provide information on the watch that was purchased so that I may assist you? I will need the receipt information as well as a photo of your watch. Please reach out to me at Andream@effyjewelry.com so that I may help obtain a replacement watch band for your watch. I look forward to assisting you.

    • Feb 4, 2019

      Lisa D.

      I also got caught up in Effy on a recent cruise. I went to a presentation given by Effy claiming each piece of jewelry was inspected by Mr. Effy himself and that I would have first class service should I ever have a problem. Within 48 hours of owning the ring, even before the cruise ended, my ring that I paid significantly for had lost two diamonds. I have called 1-888-ASK-EFFY numerous times and left voicemails and my call has not been returned. To do over again I would not trust this company with my extravagant purchase! I feel completely untrusting and feel I got a piece of junk.

    • Mar 19, 2019

      Elizabeth H.

      I bought a ring in your Effy store on the golden princess on the15th of February 2019. It was not an Effy ring, it was sold to me by Ronald Manggelo, who was in your Effy store as a representative. I have not seen or heard anything again as this ring had to be sized and has supposed to have turned up at my home. We have three Effy pieces that we love. I have a limited edition emerald and my husband has a beautiful mans ring, and I have signature panther earrings. I am disappointed and angry that I could purchase something in an Effy store under your banner and I feel I have been ripped off.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I couldn’t be happier

    • East Setauket, NY,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a multi-stone ring I had admired from Macy’s last December, and was very dismayed to find that one of the side stones fell out. I called Effy and was delighted to hear from their customer service rep, Rosita, that Effy would replace the stone free of charge...Kudos to Effy for standing behind their product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Wonderful pieces.

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought an Effy Panther ring and an Effy Panther pendant about a year ago and am extremely pleased with both. They both look dynamic in sunlight or bright light and have been admired by friends in the jewelry trade. Beautiful jewelry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Paid way too much

    • New Mexico,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a beautiful cross pendant in the Baker Building, Bay St. Nassau, Bahamas last Christmas and came home to find that the "great price" "best possible price, bottom line" was thousands more than the same piece in the US. I took my cross and receipt to a local jeweler who I trust and have purchased from for years only to feel like a fool. She had the same Effy piece for significantly less. I have several pieces from Effy that I’ve purchased over the years and have always been happy, until now. I will never ever buy from them again, and I’ll make sure to tell everyone around me on my cruise this season too. I am embarrassed that I was taken advantage of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your email. Please know that we have many items in our collection that may look similar. Would you kindly call me at 1 888-ASK-EFFY x 251 so that we can discuss your purchase? I'm looking forward to helping you!

    • Dec 13, 2018

      Hillary G.

      Hello Andrea, 1-888-ASK-EFFY will not connect and cannot be completed as dialed.

    • Dec 17, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Please try my line directly, 212-730-8889 x 251.

    • Jan 29, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Hillary,

      I'm happy we were finally able to connect today and resolve your issue. I look forward to helping you again in the future! Please feel free to reach out to me at any time.

    • Jan 29, 2019

      Hillary G.

      Andrea, thank you for speaking with me and helping me with this issue. I really appreciate you going the extra mile for me.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Diamond bracelet with faulty clasp

    • RUBY PRINCESS,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On November 4, 2018 on the Ruby Princess, I purchased a diamond bracelet at Effy. The clasp would not stay fastened and I took it back to the manager. He fooled with it and put it back on my wrist. It remained on my wrist for the rest of the cruise. I discovered it missing when I arrived at my car in Honolulu. I reported it missing to the Sheriff's deputy in Honolulu as well as lost and found. When I called Effy, they offered to sell me a replacement at a good price. I do not consider this a good enough response to my loss due to a faulty clasp.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your email. As we discussed on the phone, Effy offers a lifetime warranty on items purchased from us, however, the warranty cannot cover the loss of an item. We can offer a significant discount on future purchases for your trouble.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Rosemary N.

      What do you consider a significant discount, if I wanted to replace the lost bracelet? I still think the loss should be covered by warranty. The loss was due to a faulty clasp.

    • Jan 25, 2019

      Patricia R.

      I purchased a watercolor ring multi-stone Effy, got it today. Effy is NOT STAMPED on any piece.

      Waiting for the second one tomorrow.

      Trouble brewing...a lot of money paid out.

    • Jan 28, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Patricia,

      Would you kindly let me know if the ring needed to be sized for you? Please reach out to me at andream@effyjewelry.com so we may resolve your issue.

    • Feb 7, 2019

      Kathryn N.

      While traveling with me on a recent cruise my mother purchased a ring that required resizing and was then to be sent to her - it’s been over a month since we returned to Melbourne (4th of January) and she has not received it. She is really disappointed as it was a gift from my father for their 60th wedding anniversary, which was yesterday, and they are having a lunch tomorrow and she does not have her gift to show off!

      Are you able to tell us how far away it is?

      Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Cheap junk at high prices

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased me a necklace and earring set at Amber Cove in the Caribbean. I have worn the jewelry twice in the last year. The magnet fell out from the necklace and cannot be replaced. £1,000 was what he paid. Please do not buy this brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I am sorry to hear that your purchase from Effy is in need of repair. Please know that ALL Effy Jewelry purchased from us comes with a lifetime warranty, which guarantees repairs at no charge. Please contact us at 1-888-ASK-EFFY and we will advise you on how to send your item back to us in New York for repair, at no cost to you. Looking forward to assisting you!

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      We bought over $7.000.00 of jewelry. The first one was a white gold ring. The next day, I took it back (aboard ship) and told them I don't ever buy white gold. Then the salesman proceeded to show me a more expensive yellow gold ring; it was supposed to be $100.00 difference for their good. Anyway, that night was the last night and they had a drawing. I bought the yellow gold at what I thought was a certain price but I was to use the white gold ring on trade-in. I bought the yellow-ring for myself and I bought another ring for my husband, as we booked this cruise to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. In the meantime, he ( I remember his name) gave us a goody bag with an Effy scarf, keychain and other cheap things in it, he put a necklace in the goody bag also which was supposed to be free. Guess what, it didn't cost me $150.00, and I didn't realize it until we contacted the shop. (Again, it was supposed to be free.)

      Then at the end of the cruise, the Effy people told us the diamonds were made in America. They were not as they, Effy, didn't give us the actual receipt. We bought the jewelry October 18th and 19th after all this time after begging, phone calls, and emails, we get the receipt. But we had to stop at customs and pay $130.00 for a fee, saying the jewelry wasn't made in the United States. I would like to be refunded the $150.00 necklace that was supposed to be free and the $130 custom charge, which would be a total back to me for the amount of $280.00. They did say I could use the $150.00 for an item to buy from Effy. I would never buy from Effy again.

    • Nov 12, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mary, I would kindly reach out to me directly so that I may assist you. You should not have incurred any taxes duties from customs, and I'd like to help you with that, as well as your other inquiry. Please call 1-888-ASK EFFY (X251), and I will be happy to help you.

    • Nov 12, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      This whole situation is still not resolved.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      Why try to call it? It is an invalid number and I tried to copy and paste my comment from November 08, 2018 from their website but it would not let me do so. I tried calling the Effy phone number which you posted is 1-888-ask-Effy or 1-888-275-3339. Who are you fooling? People don't bother.

    • Nov 15, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mary, We did speak yesterday 11/14 and we came to a resolution. Thank you for your time.

    • Nov 25, 2018

      Mo D.

      I purchased an Effy diamond ring in Macy’s (in Chicago) back in August, and in spite of promises, I have STILL have not received certificates of authentication. I have since returned to store, phoned, emailed and written to them, but I have heard nothing back! What’s that about?

    • Dec 11, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mo, I would direct you back to Macy's to inquire about your certificates or you may contact us directly at 1-888-ASK-EFFY (X 502).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Effy Jewelry represents the worst quality gems

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased an emerald ring branded Effy. This is absolutely the worst emerald I have ever seen! It is extremely cloudy. And the green is a light green, not a rich green as I would have expected. I think the Effy brand name should be consistent with "crap jewelry." I hope you don't lose your money as I did. I waited too long to be able to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Justyna, I'm sorry you are unhappy with your recent purchase. Would you reach out to me so that I may assist you? 1-888-ASK-EFFY x251.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Barry C.

      I recently purchased a diamond ring for my wife from Effy Jeweler’s onboard MSC Poesia. I paid in euros, the equivalent of £2560 for it. I have had it valued for insurance purposes, which is always much higher than its actual value and they have said a figure of £1750. I am shocked and disappointed, as the purchases from other cruise lines have always proved to be good value. Please be very wary if you consider buying from this company.

    • Nov 15, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Barry, Was your item purchased at an Effy Location? Please call me so that we can discuss. 1-888-ASK-EFFY (x251) or email me at Andream@effyjewelry.com

      Looking forward to assisting you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I read Effy's response and it is the same party line when I complained to Effy on the ship. But here's the thing. I told the saleswoman the price I got online from their own website and she said, "Wow, you got a really good price." So I said, "So how much would it be if I bought it here in your store?" She told me $3500. She did not even mention the matching.

    Then I complained to the ship and they had the store manager call me. She said she called home office and told her to tell me the party line in Effy's response below. So here's what I'm very angry over.

    First, she checked all their sales from the cruise for me and confirmed all were sold at the discounted price on the web. Then two days later on our last day at sea they announced a sale of 50% off. So I went in and asked to see a different necklace that she said was part of the sale. It was discounted to the same price on the web. That necklaces had been on sale on their website for many weeks at 50% off ($895). So if you do the math here, half off the current price would be about $450. But no, it was $895. So these people for the first day of the cruise were already being charged 50% off as they were matching the website's price. By posting a sign 8 days later about the sale was false advertising. Further price matching is usually against another retailer. I would have fully expected the jewelry to be the same price as their website.

    So again, false advertising that they were having a big 50% off sale because it was the last day at sea when in fact the prices were unchanged from the first day at sea. Most people on the ship were elderly. They live on fixed incomes and are trying to enjoy the last years of their lives. Shame on you Effy for trying to deceive them out of their money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Lisa, thank you for your comments. Please note that retail pricing is shown on all of our price tags, and we offer sales in our Effy boutiques and on our website. We also offer a price match guarantee on all purchases as is clearly stated on our receipts and we have a lifetime warranty on all of our jewelry as well.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    Questionable sales processes

    I bought a piece directly from Effy for $1900. I was on a cruise a few weeks later that had an Effy store onboard. The same piece I was told was $3500. I called their management to complain that I felt they were cheating elderly retired people. They gave me a lame excuse and assured me they sold all pieces onboard for the same online price. But I was told $3500 not $1900 for the same piece. Then two days later they announced a sale for 50% off. But it wasn't. They didn't change their prices. They were the same as the website, which were on sale for many weeks already. Shady company if you ask me.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Poor quality jewelry. My wife loved the designs of the Effy line of rings. Over the past 12 months I had purchased two Effy rings, and in both cases, the main stone fell out. They were replaced by the jewelry store but I think this says something about the manufacturing quality of their products, very poor. I contacted their Customer Service department, they apologized, but that was it. So much time wasted dealing with their product and the embarrassment my wife felt in a public setting when the rings failed was awful for her. I will not be buying another product from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 28, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Marvin, thank you for your comments regarding your recent purchases. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with both rings you purchased from us, and would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. Would you kindly call me at 1-877-ASK-EFFY x251? This is my direct line and I look forward to helping you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 41

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review