35 Consumer Reviews for Effy Jewelry - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 1 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 17% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 35
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Diamond bracelet with faulty clasp

    • RUBY PRINCESS,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On November 4, 2018 on the Ruby Princess, I purchased a diamond bracelet at Effy. The clasp would not stay fastened and I took it back to the manager. He fooled with it and put it back on my wrist. It remained on my wrist for the rest of the cruise. I discovered it missing when I arrived at my car in Honolulu. I reported it missing to the Sheriff's deputy in Honolulu as well as lost and found. When I called Effy, they offered to sell me a replacement at a good price. I do not consider this a good enough response to my loss due to a faulty clasp.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your email. As we discussed on the phone, Effy offers a lifetime warranty on items purchased from us, however, the warranty cannot cover the loss of an item. We can offer a significant discount on future purchases for your trouble.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Rosemary N.

      What do you consider a significant discount, if I wanted to replace the lost bracelet? I still think the loss should be covered by warranty. The loss was due to a faulty clasp.

    • Jan 25, 2019

      Patricia R.

      I purchased a watercolor ring multi-stone Effy, got it today. Effy is NOT STAMPED on any piece.

      Waiting for the second one tomorrow.

      Trouble brewing...a lot of money paid out.

    • Jan 28, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Patricia,

      Would you kindly let me know if the ring needed to be sized for you? Please reach out to me at andream@effyjewelry.com so we may resolve your issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Cheap junk at high prices

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased me a necklace and earring set at Amber Cove in the Caribbean. I have worn the jewelry twice in the last year. The magnet fell out from the necklace and cannot be replaced. £1,000 was what he paid. Please do not buy this brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (8)
    View all 8 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 2, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I am sorry to hear that your purchase from Effy is in need of repair. Please know that ALL Effy Jewelry purchased from us comes with a lifetime warranty, which guarantees repairs at no charge. Please contact us at 1-888-ASK-EFFY and we will advise you on how to send your item back to us in New York for repair, at no cost to you. Looking forward to assisting you!

    • Nov 9, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      We bought over $7.000.00 of jewelry. The first one was a white gold ring. The next day, I took it back (aboard ship) and told them I don't ever buy white gold. Then the salesman proceeded to show me a more expensive yellow gold ring; it was supposed to be $100.00 difference for their good. Anyway, that night was the last night and they had a drawing. I bought the yellow gold at what I thought was a certain price but I was to use the white gold ring on trade-in. I bought the yellow-ring for myself and I bought another ring for my husband, as we booked this cruise to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. In the meantime, he ( I remember his name) gave us a goody bag with an Effy scarf, keychain and other cheap things in it, he put a necklace in the goody bag also which was supposed to be free. Guess what, it didn't cost me $150.00, and I didn't realize it until we contacted the shop. (Again, it was supposed to be free.)

      Then at the end of the cruise, the Effy people told us the diamonds were made in America. They were not as they, Effy, didn't give us the actual receipt. We bought the jewelry October 18th and 19th after all this time after begging, phone calls, and emails, we get the receipt. But we had to stop at customs and pay $130.00 for a fee, saying the jewelry wasn't made in the United States. I would like to be refunded the $150.00 necklace that was supposed to be free and the $130 custom charge, which would be a total back to me for the amount of $280.00. They did say I could use the $150.00 for an item to buy from Effy. I would never buy from Effy again.

    • Nov 12, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mary, I would kindly reach out to me directly so that I may assist you. You should not have incurred any taxes duties from customs, and I'd like to help you with that, as well as your other inquiry. Please call 1-888-ASK EFFY (X251), and I will be happy to help you.

    • Nov 12, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      This whole situation is still not resolved.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Mary J. L.

      Why try to call it? It is an invalid number and I tried to copy and paste my comment from November 08, 2018 from their website but it would not let me do so. I tried calling the Effy phone number which you posted is 1-888-ask-Effy or 1-888-275-3339. Who are you fooling? People don't bother.

    • Nov 15, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mary, We did speak yesterday 11/14 and we came to a resolution. Thank you for your time.

    • Nov 25, 2018

      Mo D.

      I purchased an Effy diamond ring in Macy’s (in Chicago) back in August, and in spite of promises, I have STILL have not received certificates of authentication. I have since returned to store, phoned, emailed and written to them, but I have heard nothing back! What’s that about?

    • Dec 11, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Mo, I would direct you back to Macy's to inquire about your certificates or you may contact us directly at 1-888-ASK-EFFY (X 502).

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Effy Jewelry represents the worst quality gems

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased an emerald ring branded Effy. This is absolutely the worst emerald I have ever seen! It is extremely cloudy. And the green is a light green, not a rich green as I would have expected. I think the Effy brand name should be consistent with "crap jewelry." I hope you don't lose your money as I did. I waited too long to be able to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 1, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Justyna, I'm sorry you are unhappy with your recent purchase. Would you reach out to me so that I may assist you? 1-888-ASK-EFFY x251.

    • Nov 14, 2018

      Barry C.

      I recently purchased a diamond ring for my wife from Effy Jeweler’s onboard MSC Poesia. I paid in euros, the equivalent of £2560 for it. I have had it valued for insurance purposes, which is always much higher than its actual value and they have said a figure of £1750. I am shocked and disappointed, as the purchases from other cruise lines have always proved to be good value. Please be very wary if you consider buying from this company.

    • Nov 15, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Barry, Was your item purchased at an Effy Location? Please call me so that we can discuss. 1-888-ASK-EFFY (x251) or email me at Andream@effyjewelry.com

      Looking forward to assisting you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I read Effy's response and it is the same party line when I complained to Effy on the ship. But here's the thing. I told the saleswoman the price I got online from their own website and she said, "Wow, you got a really good price." So I said, "So how much would it be if I bought it here in your store?" She told me $3500. She did not even mention the matching.

    Then I complained to the ship and they had the store manager call me. She said she called home office and told her to tell me the party line in Effy's response below. So here's what I'm very angry over.

    First, she checked all their sales from the cruise for me and confirmed all were sold at the discounted price on the web. Then two days later on our last day at sea they announced a sale of 50% off. So I went in and asked to see a different necklace that she said was part of the sale. It was discounted to the same price on the web. That necklaces had been on sale on their website for many weeks at 50% off ($895). So if you do the math here, half off the current price would be about $450. But no, it was $895. So these people for the first day of the cruise were already being charged 50% off as they were matching the website's price. By posting a sign 8 days later about the sale was false advertising. Further price matching is usually against another retailer. I would have fully expected the jewelry to be the same price as their website.

    So again, false advertising that they were having a big 50% off sale because it was the last day at sea when in fact the prices were unchanged from the first day at sea. Most people on the ship were elderly. They live on fixed incomes and are trying to enjoy the last years of their lives. Shame on you Effy for trying to deceive them out of their money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 19, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Lisa, thank you for your comments. Please note that retail pricing is shown on all of our price tags, and we offer sales in our Effy boutiques and on our website. We also offer a price match guarantee on all purchases as is clearly stated on our receipts and we have a lifetime warranty on all of our jewelry as well.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    Questionable sales processes

    I bought a piece directly from Effy for $1900. I was on a cruise a few weeks later that had an Effy store onboard. The same piece I was told was $3500. I called their management to complain that I felt they were cheating elderly retired people. They gave me a lame excuse and assured me they sold all pieces onboard for the same online price. But I was told $3500 not $1900 for the same piece. Then two days later they announced a sale for 50% off. But it wasn't. They didn't change their prices. They were the same as the website, which were on sale for many weeks already. Shady company if you ask me.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Poor quality jewelry. My wife loved the designs of the Effy line of rings. Over the past 12 months I had purchased two Effy rings, and in both cases, the main stone fell out. They were replaced by the jewelry store but I think this says something about the manufacturing quality of their products, very poor. I contacted their Customer Service department, they apologized, but that was it. So much time wasted dealing with their product and the embarrassment my wife felt in a public setting when the rings failed was awful for her. I will not be buying another product from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 28, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Marvin, thank you for your comments regarding your recent purchases. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with both rings you purchased from us, and would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. Would you kindly call me at 1-877-ASK-EFFY x251? This is my direct line and I look forward to helping you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent company

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband bought an Alexandrite ring for me, for our wedding anniversary, while we were on a cruise with Royal Carribean, in the Southern Caribbean, at the Effy Store #10, last February. My husband paid $3,000 US funds. The exchange is 30% higher in US funds than Canadian funds.

    I just had my ring appraised, for insurance purposes. It came back at $2,450 CAD.

    I called and emailed Effy, someone called me back once and left a message for me to call. That was two weeks ago. I have called, left messages and emailed about eight times. No one returns calls or emails.

    DON'T EVER BUY from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I am so sorry you are having difficulty reaching our customer service department. I would as you to kindly call 1-877-ASK-EFFY x 404 or 251 and we will promptly call you back. I am looking forward to taking care of you!

    • Oct 17, 2018

      Lori M.

      Well, I contacted Andrea M. as requested. After talking to her and sending my appraisals to her, she NEVER called me back! So rude! This is the worst company to deal with.

    • Nov 1, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Lori, thank you for allowing me to assist you after our initial conversation. I'm thrilled that you are now happy with your ring, and the resolution that we were able to iron out together. Feel free to reach out to me again at any time!

    • Nov 1, 2018

      Lori M.

      I must say Andrea, I was pleasantly surprised by your call. You not only offered me a full refund, but you also let us compromise in a partial refund and me keeping my anniversary gift from my husband. Thank you. That was very professional of your company. We are very pleased with the outcome and yes, with this customer service, I would shop at Effy again. Thanks again Andrea.

    • Jan 20, 2019

      Latika M.

      My husband bought me a tennis bracelet from Effy on the 12/23/18. It cost $9450. We were not told we would have to pay GST as well once we arrived home in Australia. I had it valued by a certified valuer as soon as we arrived home as we were told it was worth $16000 and that Effy was able to reduce the price as there was no middle man. I was quite shocked to find out that the bracelets diamonds were a grade less than stated on the Effy description and that 12 diamonds were loose. I contacted Effy and they replied saying that they would refund and send me details in order to do so and that I must pay the insurance. I was only able to find one place that would ensure the items travel to the US and it had to be a completely new booking that would cost me $1000. With no guarantees that it would arrive in time of which I had 10 days from Effy's email. I work full time and have had huge issues finding anyone that would ensure it. Then if held up in customs it may not arrive in time. Then what? I have to pay for it to come back? I’m hugely disappointed and frustrated. Considering going to Current Affair with this as the Australian public needs to know about this fraudulent behavior.

    • Jan 22, 2019

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Latika!

      Thank you for your email. Please let me address all of your concerns here. The prepaid label we have provided you is fully insured for the full value of your bracelet as we use a third party insurance agency to provide this service. We do not ask our guests to pay for insurance. You need only bring your package to a FedEx Courier service with the forms filled out to mail the bracelet back to us. The thirty day grace period for refunds will allow for the time that a package may be delayed in customs. As for the appraisal value, please understand that appraisals are subjective and we do stand behind the quality of our jewelry. This is why we offer a lifetime warranty. Please rest assured that the refund will be granted once we have the bracelet in our HQ. We can be reached at 212-730-8889 and our headquarters are located in New York. Feel free to reach out to us with any questions!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied customer

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a gold and diamond ring while on vacation on a Carnival Cruise-Breeze at a port in Cozumel on 05/04/18. On 05/06/18 while at the airport waiting to depart for home, I looked at the ring in the box and noticed it was broken. I sent an email while at the airport to EFFY and then called on 05/07 to speak to Customer Service. I was given an RMA 1187119 to return the ring.

    About 2-3 weeks later I receive a phone call from New York headquarters stating the ring would be special ordered and should receive it by August (?). I am very upset and disappointed! I purchased this product to wear to an event. I have paid for a product that I am not using. I called today and spoke to a very rude manager by the name of Ralphi Setar about my ring and how unacceptable the timeframe was. I own other EFFY jewelry, but this is my last purchase. EFFY does not believe in accommodating their customers for the inconvenience.

    Don't buy from EFFY, there are no refunds on any purchases and long extensive wait periods for returns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your feedback. After speaking with you on the phone, I was able to place a rush on your special ordered ring and I see that we just sent the new ring to you this week. We try to ensure our guest's satisfaction, and hope that you enjoy your new ring for many years to come!

    • Jul 27, 2018

      Rose C.

      I purchased a diamond necklace at the Fred Meyer trunk show. The chain was very cheaply made. The ring that holds the clasp kept opening. I called Effy but they transferred me and had to leave a voice message. No one ever returned my call, so I went on their website and wrote them to contact me and no one has called or emailed me. Bad customer service. They just lost themselves a customer.

    • Jul 30, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your inquiry. Please accept my apologies for the difficulty you are having. Kindly contact me at 1-877-ASK-EFFY x251 and I will be more than happy to assist you.

    • Aug 16, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Britane! I know we sent you your special ordered ring several weeks ago and hoping that you are enjoying it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Diamond engagement ring, diamond necklace, and diamond earrings

    • Palm City, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a diamond engagement ring on board the Emerald Princess New Year's Eve 12/31/2015 at the Effy shop as a surprise, and at midnight, I proposed to my fiance. She was totally surprised. The next day we pulled into St Thomas VI, and the manager on board gave me a personal note to give to the Effy manager at the pier, telling him to size the ring for us. Later that day we picked it up and everything was perfect. While we were there we purchased a matching diamond necklace We returned to ship and purchased matching diamond earrings at the Effy store. We recently had a minor problem and sent it to New York. Effy fixed it. Their service was impeccable! Thank you Effy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Broken promise

    • Carnival Vista,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The cruise with Carnival was great. Our only real disappointment was our purchase at Effy Jewelry. When you first go into the store, everyone is so nice. We were guaranteed the best price on the diamond earrings we were looking at. So the purchase was made.

    Upon arrival in Aruba, we brought the earrings to the Effy store near the port. The same exact earrings $300 cheaper. That didn’t make me happy. So back we go to Effy on the ship. Once again we were treated very nice and guaranteed it would be taken care. Next day we are at sea, and the tune has changed. The MGR who represented himself as the owner tells us that the earings we looked at were different. From this point on he wasn’t that friendly employee. He would do nothing for us. I felt like we just said no to a timeshare salesman.

    STAY AWAY from Effy on Carnival VISTA or should I call them "iffy."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 30, 2018

      Michael R., Director of Online Marketing and eCommerce

      Hi James,

      So sorry to hear about your experience in one of our locations. Please contact us directly at 1-877-ASK EFFY x 251 and we will be happy to help you!

    • Jul 3, 2018

      KIM R.

      I purchased my ring and you sized it, that took three more weeks before I received the ring. I wore the ring for two days and a stone fell out, so I sent it back for repair, three weeks later, no ring. This started back on May 25th, 2018. I sent the ring and the stone back and for some reason, I am not told when the ring will be ready. I really want to order other items that go with the ring, however, it is hard to do, since I still cannot get the first order complete. I am really saddened by the whole experience.

    • Jul 20, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I'm sorry to hear that you found a price discrepancy in your purchase. Would you kindly reach out to our headquarters in New York so that we may look into this request and rectify this for you? Please call 1-888-ASK-EFFY to reach our customer service department. Looking forward to helping you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great service, great product

    We recently completed two cruises with Princess Cruiseline. I can say that my wife has purchased jewelry, mostly from Diamonds International. On our first cruise, we met one of the representatives of Effy boutique onboard and again saw him at the Diamond International on shore. He was extremely helpful, however, we did not buy jewelry at that time.

    The next cruise, my wife was wearing her Tanzanite and decided her pendant was not large enough. We went to Effy onboard our next ship and purchased a pendant and earrings. The representatives were again very helpful. This was our first jewelry purchase onboard the ship and must say we are completely satisfied.

    A couple years ago, we purchased our Tanzanite off the ship at one of their recommended jewelers, along with my brother and his wife. My sister-in-law's ring was resized as we waited, but when she returned home, she noticed the stone was not set right. She contacted Princess and sent it in to be repaired. Within 3 weeks, she had it back and wears it to this day.

    It appears from the reviews that ring sizing is an issue onboard at Effy, but with all the jewelry sold, there can be an occasional mix-up. We found that Princess works very hard to stand behind their product and services. We would not hesitate to purchase jewelry onboard at Effy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Merchandise not received

    Please do not purchase Effy Jewelry on a cruise, either on board or in port. I would suggest going to Macy's or one of their stateside stores.

    I purchased a ruby ring on Carnival's Paradise. The ring was sized, and I thought all was well and good. I picked up the ring the last day of the cruise. As I walked out of the store, I looked more closely at the ring and saw a stone was missing. I went back in and asked the manager for a refund. He assured me that he was going to New York the next day (we were returning to Tampa then) and would get it repaired and have it shipped overnight and that I would have it within a week. Two weeks and still no ring! Five phone calls and not one return call.

    I finally reached a lady at Effy that is supposed to be a manager in customer service. After explaining the situation, she placed me on hold. She checked their files and have NO record of the ring being in New York. She stated they had to contact the cruise ship to see if the ring can be mailed to me. When I ask why it was repaired and returned to the ship, her story changed. Now she doesn't know where the ring is or if it was ever mailed to New York.

    I just want a refund. NEVER EVER purchase from Effy and expect any kind of good quality service. Very disappointed in the company. I have 11 pieces of Effy Jewelry. If I ever purchase from them, it will probably be through Macy's.

    Right now I just want my $1800 refund, not stories about how they don't know where it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 35

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review