About Effy Jewelry

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 12, 2015

Boasting hundreds of jewelry pieces that are inspired by trends around the globe, Effy Jewelry claims to offer fine and fashion jewelry designs that promise to satisfy your wanderlust with a little sparkle.

Effy Jewelry began as a small jewelry operation in Aruba. Founded by Fatollah “Effy” Hermatian, an electrical engineer who emigrated from Iran in 1978 to become a jewelry designer, the Effy brand has grown is now operates under the name BH Multi.

Effy Jewelry can be found online, at Macy’s, as well as 4000 other retail locations worldwide.

From classic three-stone rings to Effy Jewelry’s signature leopard design featured on brooches, rings, necklaces and bracelets, the brand has garnered a lot of attention for offering a wide variety of styles that are frequently sold at slashed prices.

Effy Promises to Be a Girl’s Best Friend

When asked to pitch his company in a brief statement, Effy Hematian stated that Effy Jewelry was built on a foundation of superior design, craftsmanship, and quality.

Claiming to be trendsetters in the fashion jewelry market due to their hundreds of exclusive new designs every year, Effy Hemetian claims that customers love Effy Jewelry because the brand is trusted to deliver better value and quality.

In an interview, Effy Hemetial also stated that he will never compromise the quality of his products to bring down prices.

How to Shop at Effy Jewelry

Like any other online retailer, shoppers can go to their website and browse current inventory based on the type of jewelry you are interested in. Effy Jewelry offers men’s and women’s lines, a small collection of unisex religious and spiritual jewelry, as well as a bridal collection.

The pricing at Effy Jewelry is as diverse as its inventory. In their earring category alone green amethyst or citrine cushion cut studs are available for $95, while a pair of three-tiered emerald drops sell for $15,250.

When ordering from Effy Jewelry online, all purchases over $200 receive free, insured and trackable shipping.

Effy Jewelry says that any customers who are dissatisfied with their purchase are welcome to return or exchange their item as long as it is returned within 30 days from the date of shipment, and the jewelry is free from scratches, blemishes, sizing, or alterations.

Any items that are considered Special Orders, such as those with engraving or specialty sizing, can still be returned, but unfortunately, a 20% restocking fee will be applied.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service for a Return Authorization Number at 877-ASK-EFFY (275-3339).

Allegations Against Effy Jewelry

Effy Jewelry came under attack when a gemologist contracted by Macy’s (one of Effy Jewelry’s partner retailers) noticed that the stones being sold under the Effy Jewelry brand were sub-par (the article is available here).

The initial focus was on Effy Jewelry’s rubies. Rubies are the second hardest stone, only slightly less so than diamonds, and have become increasingly rare since Burmese mines were shut down in the early 2000s.

Gem dealers found an alternative source of rubies in Africa, but the stones were of lesser quality than Burmese rubies, filled with fissures.

Effy Jewelry is accused of adding leaded glass to the poor quality stones, then treating them with heat to enhance their color and presentation. The Jeweler’s Association states that these rubies are not “real” as they fall short of the durability offered by a genuine stone.

Even more disturbing, when these artificially enhanced stones, called “treated rubies” “enhanced rubies,” “composite rubies,” or “hybrid gemstones,” are heated, the filling may leak out, causing the composited shards of inferior ruby to shatter.

To the naked eye of an ordinary consumer, there is no visible difference. However, fine jewelry is often considered an investment that will last many generations while holding its value — a promise these composited and treated stones can’t uphold.

Furthermore, in a piece exploring the topic of composite rubies, Good Morning America interviewed experts who say these composite rubies are too fragile to even clean using normal methods, and may also experience color fading over time.

As such, they are worth only a fraction of the stones they represent.

In the class action lawsuit against Macy’s, many consumers stated feeling duped that they were presented with items of a supposed high-value, which upon inspection by gemologists, turned out to be nearly worthless.

Additional allegations were that Macy’s (supplied by Effy Jewelry) knowingly sold the following without disclosing the additional, potentially devaluing, information to their customers:

  • Rubies that were composites or filled with glass or lead-filled glass;

  • Stones were being passed as untreated “green amethyst,” when in fact this stone was actually Praseolite (a heated form of quartz). Only purple amethyst is natural, real amethyst, and therefore of a much higher value;

  • Sapphires were fracture-filled with glass;

  • Black sapphires were being passed off as “black diamonds”;

  • Many diamonds were enhanced by laser drilling or filing of surface cavities and fractures with a hardened substance;

  • Diamonds were irradiated or heated to induce color and then represented to be natural black diamonds.

A broadcast report of the investigation of composite rubies by Good Morning America can be found here.

While some of the articles do not directly name Effy Jewelry as the supplier to Macy’s, Lord and Taylor, and the other stores in question, details from a dissatisfied customer who purchased directly through Effy Jewelry can be found here.

The Bottom Line

Despite rampant reports of fraudulent gems, many consumers state that they are happy with their Effy Jewelry purchases.

While the jewelry sold by Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price, without receiving all the important information.

If you’re interested in purchasing jewelry from the Effy Jewelry line, it’s important to arm yourself with information. Be sure to ask the salesperson:

  1. Is this ruby treated?
  2. If so, how was it treated?
  3. Is there lead glass in the ruby? Federal laws require that retailers provide consumers with a full refund if the product sold was misrepresented or determined to fraudulent.

If purchasing from Effy Jewelry online, it’s recommended that buyers take their newly purchased gemstones to a professional for an evaluation before the 30-day return period is up.


Read 75 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 17 4 star: 4 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 75
Sort reviews by:

  • Sales staff

    • By Michael M.,
    • Mocksville, NC,
    • Mar 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased blue diamonds, a ring, and matching earrings on a HAL Cruise. I want to give a shout out to the Supervisor in the shop Mr. "Retche" and Sales Associate Qin. I wanted to buy my wife something nice for our 45th Anniversary. These 2 people worked with us, found what we liked, and Mr. "Retche" was very helpful; and I really appreciate his willingness to negotiate the price. We will always remember our experience and recommend Effy to all of our friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Jewelry sub par

    • By Penny S.,
    • Cartersville, GA,
    • Mar 7, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a few pieces at Effy aboard Carnival's Fantasy Of The Seas last month. Very high pressure manager.

    Was told if I would buy a bracelet he (personally) would give me a ring and earrings at no cost to me.

    I decided not to keep a necklace and ring so I took them to Guest Relations, they called him down and I told him I wanted to return the items, he said no no no, just wear them for a month or so and if I still wasn't satisfied to return them for a full refund. As we disembarked I got the itemized bill, before I had just received the credit card bill with the total, I was already off the ship when I saw I was charged for the items he personally gave me and even an item I was promised but never received. So I got out the jewelry to make sure everything was there and I was missing an omega necklace and a bracelet that was $850, there was already a stone missing. Poor quality! Talked to Effy customer service and they said that they checked with the store and that everything was sold under honest terms and the items I was to receive free were not items that the store could give away. Told them their manager (I have his name and email address) said he personally would give them to me. Thank goodness I had friends with me that heard him also. They said I could return them within 30 days and they would exchange them but no refund. What happened to the month or two he said to keep them?

    What a SCAM! What about the broken pieces and the item I was charged for and didn't receive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2020

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Penny,

      So sorry for any confusion regarding your recent purchase. Would you please email me directly at andream@effyjewelry.com so that we may sort this out for you promptly? Please include the receipt information as well. I look forward to assisting you!


  • Totally happy!

    I own an EFFY pave white and champagne diamond and rose gold ring and matching pave diamond necklace. They are both absolutely stunning and I get compliments on them all the time. I’ve worn them nearly every day for almost four years and they look as good as the day we purchased them, no missing diamonds, no fading, no problems at all. Bought the ring at Helzberg Diamonds in Dayton, Ohio and the necklace on St. Thomas, USVI.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Terrific after sales service

    • By Kaye H.,
    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Jan 24, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased a ring on a Princess Cruise in Australia.

    The ring was far too big and I was told that it could be made to fit free of charge through an agent in Australia.

    Following a misunderstanding with this agent, I contacted Effy in New York and was advised to return the ring to New York where it has since been resized and returned to me at no cost to myself.

    I am thrilled with my ring and the after-sales care provided by Effy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love every piece I own

    • By Joyce T.,
    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jan 20, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am addicted to Effy, it's a statement. Love my pendants, rings, and bracelet. Great Christmas present for my sister. I am in a rock band and I get lots of compliments on the stones as the blue topaz is my favorite. Best thing is there’s so much to choose from!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love my Effy

    • By Ashton K.,
    • Hayden, AL,
    • Jan 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bought a new wedding set from the Carnival Fantasy while in Mexico. It’s a Canare diamond wedding set and I LOVE IT! The salespeople were some of the sweetest people ever. I have had rings from Zales and Kays that the rhodium dulled over and over on and diamonds fell out of but my Effy is just as bright white gold as the day I got it and my diamonds sparkle from one end of the ring to the other. I get compliments on my set all the time. I’m not sure about having to pay customs (as others have stated) because we did not have to do that. I would highly recommend Effy Jewelry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Unpleasant store staff

    • By Ajur Z.,
    • Oranjestad, Aruba,
    • Jan 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The day before my flight I came to purchase a jewelry pendant. Opening hours were claimed to be true before I arrived. However, I arrived to see closed doors past the opening hours and specialists stating that they are busy putting down Christmas decorations and are unwilling to let me come in. I was shocked with such unfriendly, rude, and disrespectful staff. I would never recommend anyone such experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 13, 2020

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      So sorry for your experience in one of our shops. Unfortunately, due to security issues, we cannot allow guests in the store while we are not open to conduct business. Please reach out to us if you are in need of any items you may see on our website and one of our guest care agents will be more than happy to assist you. You may reach us at customercare@effyjewelry.com.


  • Overpriced JUNK!

    • By Terri R.,
    • Green Bay, WI,
    • Dec 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I can see why Effy ONLY offers a lifetime warranty rather than a money-back guarantee! They'd most DEFINITELY go out of business because their jewelry is overpriced JUNK! My husband paid almost $3000 for a new wedding ring set for me from Younkers before they went out of business, and I have had nothing but PROBLEMS with it ever since! The dipping keeps rubbing off, making the ring look DULL! This should NOT HAPPEN AT ALL, for the price we paid! I finally had a jeweler look at it, and he even said it was of very low quality! You're better off with a ring from a bubble gum machine! SAVE YOUR MONEY! I WISH I could get my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I love Effy

    • By Brenda C.,
    • California,
    • Dec 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only heard of Effy in 2018 when I was on the Carnival Imagination. My first purchase was a Tanzanite ring for about $150. It was on Sterling Silver. I wore this ring every day. In 3 months, I went on the same cruise and purchased a beautiful Diamond Ring from Effy tagged st $2495, but spent $1495, which I also wear every day. Three months after that, I purchased Tanzanite earrings, tanzanite bracelets, Diamond earrings, etc. Spent about $12k on the 4 cruises in the year.

    I often go into Macy's to see their Effy sales. But the bargain is much cheaper to buy on the cruise ship, almost 60%-70% off - and no tax.

    I previously would shop Tiffany & Co, but I found the styles at Effy and value amazing.

    Surprisingly, I had the same salesperson on the ship 3 times, and all experienced and customer service is amazing.

    I get compliments on the jewelry at work.

    One of my favorite pieces is the diamond pave halo necklace.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Strike 3 for Effy

    • By Teri P.,
    • Nassau,
    • Nov 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I already had two bad experiences with Effy on the quality of their jewelry. I decided to look at their jewelry again. I was looking at their Final Call section and asked to try on a set of three little rings that had diamonds around them. The original price on the tag was $2995.00. They gave me a price of $1080.00. Then the salesgirl said she had something similar and went and grabbed a similar looking ring that had multiple diamond bands but this time they were all attached to each other. I looked at the price tag and it said $1295.00. I thought wow, it should come down to $500-$600.00 and I would probably get it. I asked what the price would be and the manager took it and came back with a price of $1450.00 and I looked at the ring and he had ripped off the price tag. Anyone who shops at these stores is crazy, you are being ripped off. WARNING...DO NOT SHOP HERE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Watercolor collection.

    • By Sue K.,
    • California,
    • Nov 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I gave myself a ring, pendant, and earings on an MSC cruise in October. I wear my ring every day and still look adoringly at it. It's the watercolor diamond and sapphire collection with 2 starfish.

    Everyone in the Effy store on board the Armonia was great. I had more fun in the EFFY shop than anyplace else on the boat.

    Granted, it has only been a month since I got my jewelry, but I still adore it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 75

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Effy Jewelry