About Effy Jewelry

Boasting hundreds of jewelry pieces that are inspired by trends around the globe, Effy Jewelry claims to offer fine and fashion jewelry designs that promise to satisfy your wanderlust with a little sparkle.

Effy Jewelry began as a small jewelry operation in Aruba. Founded by Fatollah “Effy” Hermatian, an electrical engineer who emigrated from Iran in 1978 to become a jewelry designer, the Effy brand has grown is now operates under the name BH Multi.

Effy Jewelry can be found online at www.effyjewelry.com, at Macy’s, as well as 4000 other retail locations worldwide.

From classic three-stone rings, to Effy Jewelry’s signature leopard design featured on brooches, rings, necklaces and bracelets, the brand has garnered a lot of attention for offering a wide variety of styles that are frequently sold at slashed prices.

Effy Promises To Be a Girl’s Best Friend

When asked to pitch his company in a brief statement, Effy Hematian stated that Effy Jewelry was built on a foundation of superior design, craftsmanship, and quality.

Claiming to be trendsetters in the fashion jewelry market due to their hundreds of exclusive new designs every year, Effy Hemetian claims that customers love Effy Jewelry because the brand is trusted to deliver better value and quality.

In an interview, Effy Hemetial also stated that he will never compromise the quality of his products to bring down prices.

How To Shop at Effy Jewelry

Like any other online retailer, shoppers can go to their website and browse current inventory based on the type of jewelry you are interested in. Effy Jewelry offers men’s and women’s lines, a small collection of unisex religious and spiritual jewelry, as well as a bridal collection.

The pricing at Effy Jewelry is as diverse as their inventory. In their earring category alone green amethyst or citrine cushion cut studs are available for $95, while a pair of three-tiered emerald drops sell for $15,250.

When ordering from Effy Jewelry online, all purchases over $200 receive free, insured and trackable shipping.

Effy Jewelry says that any customers who are dissatisfied with their purchase are welcome to return or exchange their item as long as it is returned within 30 days from the date of shipment, and the jewelry is free from scratches, blemishes, sizing, or alterations. Any items that are considered Special Orders, such as those with engraving or specialty sizing, can still be returned, but unfortunately a 20% restocking fee will be applied.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service for a Return Authorization Number at 877-ASK-EFFY (275-3339).

Allegations Against Effy Jewelry

Effy Jewelry came under attack when a gemologist contracted by Macy’s (one of Effy Jewelry’s partner retailers) noticed that the stones being sold under the Effy Jewelry brand were sub-par (the article is available here).

The initial focus was on Effy Jewelry’s rubies. Rubies are the second hardest stone, only slightly less so than diamonds, and have become increasingly rare since Burmese mines were shut down in the early 2000s. Gem dealers found an alternative source of rubies in Africa, but the stones were of lesser quality than Burmese rubies, filled with fissures.

Effy Jewelry is accused of adding leaded glass to the poor quality stones, then treating them with heat to enhance their color and presentation. The Jeweler’s Association states that these rubies are not “real” as they fall short of the durability offered by a genuine stone.

Even more disturbing, when these artificially enhanced stones, called “treated rubies” “enhanced rubies,” “composite rubies,” or “hybrid gemstones,” are heated, the filling may leak out, causing the composited shards of inferior ruby to shatter.

To the naked eye of an ordinary consumer, there is no visible difference. However, fine jewelry is often considered an investment that will last many generations while holding its value — a promise these composited and treated stones can’t uphold.

Furthermore, in a piece exploring the topic of composite rubies, Good Morning America interviewed experts who say these composite rubies are too fragile to even clean using normal methods, and may also experience color fading over time. As such, they are worth only a fraction of the stones they represent.

In the class action lawsuit against Macy’s, many consumers stated feeling duped that they were presented with items of a supposed high-value, which upon inspection by gemologists, turned out to be nearly worthless. An article explaining the case can be found here.

Additional allegations were that Macy’s (supplied by Effy Jewelry) knowingly sold the following without disclosing the additional, potentially devaluing, information to their customers:

  • Rubies that were composites or filled with glass or lead filled glass;
  • Stones were being passed as untreated “green amethyst,” when in fact this stone was actually Praseolite (a heated form of quartz). Only purple amethyst is natural, real amethyst, and therefore of a much higher value;
  • Sapphires were fracture filled with glass;
  • Black sapphires were being passed off as “black diamonds”;
  • Many diamonds were enhanced by laser drilling or filing of surface cavities and fractures with a hardened substance;
  • Diamonds were irradiated or heated to induce color and then represented to be natural black diamonds.

A broadcast report of the investigation of composite rubies by Good Morning America can be found here.

While some of the articles do not directly name Effy Jewelry as the supplier to Macy’s, Lord and Taylor, and the other stores in question, details from a dissatisfied customer who purchased directly through Effy Jewelry can be found here.

The Bottom Line

Despite rampant reports of fraudulent gems, many consumers state that they are happy with their Effy Jewelry purchases in forum chatter.

While the jewelry sold by Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price, without receiving all the important information.

If you’re interested in purchasing jewelry from the Effy Jewelry line, it’s important to arm yourself with information. Be sure to ask the salesperson:

  1. Is this ruby treated?
  2. If so, how was it treated?
  3. Is there lead glass in the ruby? Federal laws require that retailers provide consumers with a full refund if the product sold was misrepresented or determined to fraudulent.

If purchasing from Effy Jewelry online, it’s recommended that buyers take their newly purchased gemstones to a professional for an evaluation before the 30-day return period is up.

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

13 Consumer Reviews for Effy Jewelry

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 13
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Engagement ring

    • Perth, Western Australia,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were engaged in the Effy store on the 19th of December 2016. We purchase two rings one for me and one for my fiance. His had to be made as it needed to be a size z. Assurances of two weeks maximum were made.

    After eight and a half months of trying to get Effy to answer any emails messages or phone calls without any reply, both emails from myself and my fiance, and calls from both, we resorted to contacting Princess Cruises. They advised that they would reply to us in five days again nothing! My ring is dull and lackluster now, and we had proposed our engagement party until we got home and his ring would have arrived.

    We are not a young couple, in fact, we had been friends for over 30 years before getting together. Eight months later we don't think it appropriate to hold a party!

    Finally, the ring arrived without any apology or any advice. Then Princess Cruises replied TWO WEEKS AFTER the arrival of the ring, apologizing for Effy and giving us a $100 credit on our next cruise. No, I would not recommend Effy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in June this year. While on that cruise we went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of Effy staff, and that it could be resized.

    In August I finally had time to go to the jeweler to find out as bout resizing. Three different jewelers have told me the exact opposite of Effy staff. They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    To top it all off, I have not received a response to any of the emails I have sent to Princess Cruises or Effy Jewelry in the last 2-3 weeks. Absolutely appalling customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in July this year (2017). While on that cruise my partner and I went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring, which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of the staff, that it could be resized.

    I have just come home today, after going to several jewelry stores, gutted because I was told the exact opposite! They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    I have messaged them today asking someone to contact me so an acceptable resolution can be achieved asap. After reading these reviews, I doubt they will call or email back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Effy does not return calls for returns

    • Cleveland, Ohio,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a pendant. Spoke to the e-commerce manager at Effy. He said that the item was returnable within 30 days for a refund. I received the pendant. Upon seeing it in the box, I decided that it was too small and not to my liking. I tried calling the toll free number, the local number and the e-commerce manager. No one answered the phone numbers. I left emails at the company site and to the e-commerce manager. No one returned a call or emailed me. It has been several days so far.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality bracelet and customer service

    I purchased a Tanzanite Bracelet in November of 2016. I have worn it out on about ten occasions, and at beginning of April, the bracelet broke.

    I attempted to contact Effy on numerous occasions but was unable to get a response. Now I am wondering if they are still in business given the poor quality of their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Very poor organization and customer service.

    On 02.27.17, while cruising on the Carnival Vista, I purchased an Effy white gold blue sapphire bracelet. The paperwork (a receipt and certificate of appraisal), provided on the night before debarking, turned out to be for another item purchased by another customer.

    Upon returning home, I immediately called the Effy's customer service number and ended up speaking to a man who identified himself as "Rafi" and as a manager. When I explained the situation, he seemed not the least concerned about my situation and was more worried that I had another customer's information. In any event, he indicated that he would send the correct documents.

    This was nine days ago, and I have as yet to receive the promised materials. I called again today at 3:00 PM, only to be told by "Jessie" that all managerial and supervisory personnel had gone home. When I asked her what I could do to resolve the matter, she indicated that I should write an email to the address on their website site. How about that for sparkling customer service?

    Don't deal with Effy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Quality and customer service are a big letdown!

    • Lawrenceburg, KY,
    • Feb 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    On a cruise three weeks ago, my husband decided to spoil me and buy me a new diamond ring since I lost my engagement ring over ten years ago. We have been married 25 years this year, and he wanted to finally get me another ring. After hearing the jewelry shop workers boast about the amazing quality of Effy Jewelry, the lifetime warranty, and made in the USA brand, we purchased a ring valued at $2,995.

    Just two weeks after getting home, I noticed a rough feel to the band of my 24 karats white gold band on my ring. Upon further inspection, I was shocked to see that it was broken completely into. I was shocked but remembered what the workers said about the amazing customer service. So, I called.

    The lady did apologize as she told me it would take up to six weeks to fix. Okay, that stinks, but it is what it is. She then told me that I would get an email instructing me further. I was expecting a pre-paid shipping code, but instead, they tell ME that I need to pay for a certain shipping and insure the full value of the ring! Seriously?

    I have owned this ring for three weeks, and it broke in half. They should have offered to take complete and total responsibility for anything involved in getting it repaired and back on my finger ASAP! I guess we disagree on what customer service should be.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Buyer Beware of Effy

    I purchased an Effy ring while on a Celebrity cruise. The convincing sales representative stated that the ring can be traded in or upgraded by Effy at any time. We then asked if the ring can be made in white gold and they said that it can be done. So we purchased the ring and after several weeks it was delivered to our home and it was in white gold as promised.

    However, the emerald stone was not the same one that I purchased. During a phone call to Effy, I was told that the stone was indeed the same stone. Later, I contacted Effy to ask if I could visit their store in New York with intent to either trade the ring or have the emerald replaced. I was told that I must contact the cruise line, and they told me that I had to contact their customer service department, I think it is a contract service called Seaboard.

    After a month of phone calls and emails in which I asked to upgrade the emerald or to trade in the ring toward a different one, and their assurances that they will help, I am now told to send the ring to their company and they will see what they can do. This after they were sent copies of the receipts and Effy photos of the ring.

    I want to point out that we recently went on a cruise in the Caribbean and the Effy stores on some of the islands all repeated an Effy policy that we can upgrade a ring at any time. So I am lied to and given the runaround and neither Effy or the Celebrity cruise line cares. Oh, just to mention that the ring cost $1,500.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 34 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Not as it seems

    • Texas,
    • Sep 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased me a Tanzanian bracelet in distance from Effy. It was not fitting right and I was told to take it to their jeweler in Cozumel where he ruined it! I have never seen such poor workmanship.

    When we got back from our cruise I was told to send it to Effy in New York, I did that. That was back in March of 2016 and it is now September of 2016. I have not gotten it back nor have I ever worn it once!

    I have made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau New York. And 11 days later, Effy still hasn't responded!

    By the way Effy is not registered with the Better Business Bureau in any state. This is the worst company to do business with from which I've ever bought from!

    Buyer beware: Sugar drips off their lips until you buy and have a problem with customer service! Then you are sent to rafi a man who is not a problem solver at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Porosity

    I bought an Effy men's ring on a cruise in January 2016. I decided to have the ring resized up one size in July due to it always having been a little tight. The jeweler contacted me to say there was a lot of porosity in the white gold shank, making it difficult to resize, he said this was very poor workmanship. This ring was not the quality sold to me and I would advise consumers to steer clear of Effy if they want quality jeweler.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Customer Service

    • Toronto, Ontario, Canada,
    • May 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a sapphire and diamond ring on a cruise and within two weeks of purchase one of the diamonds fell out. It took me a week of emails and voice mails to receive a response from Effy and they told me to insure it and courier it to them at my cost.

    I emailed and left messages asking if they would reimburse the costs since the ring was only a few weeks old and they did not respond until I called the cruise line and complained. I then received a call from customer service and was told that Effy are not responsible for the cost and when I said that that since it was within two weeks of purchase, they must make poor quality jewelry, the customer service rep hung up on me. Do not purchase from Effy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 13

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review