About Effy Jewelry

Boasting hundreds of jewelry pieces that are inspired by trends around the globe, Effy Jewelry claims to offer fine and fashion jewelry designs that promise to satisfy your wanderlust with a little sparkle.

Effy Jewelry began as a small jewelry operation in Aruba. Founded by Fatollah “Effy” Hermatian, an electrical engineer who emigrated from Iran in 1978 to become a jewelry designer, the Effy brand has grown is now operates under the name BH Multi.

Effy Jewelry can be found online at www.effyjewelry.com, at Macy’s, as well as 4000 other retail locations worldwide.

From classic three-stone rings, to Effy Jewelry’s signature leopard design featured on brooches, rings, necklaces and bracelets, the brand has garnered a lot of attention for offering a wide variety of styles that are frequently sold at slashed prices.

Effy Promises To Be a Girl’s Best Friend

When asked to pitch his company in a brief statement, Effy Hematian stated that Effy Jewelry was built on a foundation of superior design, craftsmanship, and quality.

Claiming to be trendsetters in the fashion jewelry market due to their hundreds of exclusive new designs every year, Effy Hemetian claims that customers love Effy Jewelry because the brand is trusted to deliver better value and quality.

In an interview, Effy Hemetial also stated that he will never compromise the quality of his products to bring down prices.

How To Shop at Effy Jewelry

Like any other online retailer, shoppers can go to their website and browse current inventory based on the type of jewelry you are interested in. Effy Jewelry offers men’s and women’s lines, a small collection of unisex religious and spiritual jewelry, as well as a bridal collection.

The pricing at Effy Jewelry is as diverse as their inventory. In their earring category alone green amethyst or citrine cushion cut studs are available for $95, while a pair of three-tiered emerald drops sell for $15,250.

When ordering from Effy Jewelry online, all purchases over $200 receive free, insured and trackable shipping.

Effy Jewelry says that any customers who are dissatisfied with their purchase are welcome to return or exchange their item as long as it is returned within 30 days from the date of shipment, and the jewelry is free from scratches, blemishes, sizing, or alterations. Any items that are considered Special Orders, such as those with engraving or specialty sizing, can still be returned, but unfortunately a 20% restocking fee will be applied.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service for a Return Authorization Number at 877-ASK-EFFY (275-3339).

Allegations Against Effy Jewelry

Effy Jewelry came under attack when a gemologist contracted by Macy’s (one of Effy Jewelry’s partner retailers) noticed that the stones being sold under the Effy Jewelry brand were sub-par (the article is available here).

The initial focus was on Effy Jewelry’s rubies. Rubies are the second hardest stone, only slightly less so than diamonds, and have become increasingly rare since Burmese mines were shut down in the early 2000s. Gem dealers found an alternative source of rubies in Africa, but the stones were of lesser quality than Burmese rubies, filled with fissures.

Effy Jewelry is accused of adding leaded glass to the poor quality stones, then treating them with heat to enhance their color and presentation. The Jeweler’s Association states that these rubies are not “real” as they fall short of the durability offered by a genuine stone.

Even more disturbing, when these artificially enhanced stones, called “treated rubies” “enhanced rubies,” “composite rubies,” or “hybrid gemstones,” are heated, the filling may leak out, causing the composited shards of inferior ruby to shatter.

To the naked eye of an ordinary consumer, there is no visible difference. However, fine jewelry is often considered an investment that will last many generations while holding its value — a promise these composited and treated stones can’t uphold.

Furthermore, in a piece exploring the topic of composite rubies, Good Morning America interviewed experts who say these composite rubies are too fragile to even clean using normal methods, and may also experience color fading over time. As such, they are worth only a fraction of the stones they represent.

In the class action lawsuit against Macy’s, many consumers stated feeling duped that they were presented with items of a supposed high-value, which upon inspection by gemologists, turned out to be nearly worthless. An article explaining the case can be found here.

Additional allegations were that Macy’s (supplied by Effy Jewelry) knowingly sold the following without disclosing the additional, potentially devaluing, information to their customers:

  • Rubies that were composites or filled with glass or lead filled glass;
  • Stones were being passed as untreated “green amethyst,” when in fact this stone was actually Praseolite (a heated form of quartz). Only purple amethyst is natural, real amethyst, and therefore of a much higher value;
  • Sapphires were fracture filled with glass;
  • Black sapphires were being passed off as “black diamonds”;
  • Many diamonds were enhanced by laser drilling or filing of surface cavities and fractures with a hardened substance;
  • Diamonds were irradiated or heated to induce color and then represented to be natural black diamonds.

A broadcast report of the investigation of composite rubies by Good Morning America can be found here.

While some of the articles do not directly name Effy Jewelry as the supplier to Macy’s, Lord and Taylor, and the other stores in question, details from a dissatisfied customer who purchased directly through Effy Jewelry can be found here.

The Bottom Line

Despite rampant reports of fraudulent gems, many consumers state that they are happy with their Effy Jewelry purchases in forum chatter.

While the jewelry sold by Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price, without receiving all the important information.

If you’re interested in purchasing jewelry from the Effy Jewelry line, it’s important to arm yourself with information. Be sure to ask the salesperson:

  1. Is this ruby treated?
  2. If so, how was it treated?
  3. Is there lead glass in the ruby? Federal laws require that retailers provide consumers with a full refund if the product sold was misrepresented or determined to fraudulent.

If purchasing from Effy Jewelry online, it’s recommended that buyers take their newly purchased gemstones to a professional for an evaluation before the 30-day return period is up.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

19 Consumer Reviews for Effy Jewelry

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 16% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 19
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent company

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband bought an Alexandrite ring for me, for our wedding anniversary, while we were on a cruise with Royal Carribean, in the Southern Caribbean, at the Effy Store #10, last February. My husband paid $3,000 US funds. The exchange is 30% higher in US funds than Canadian funds.

    I just had my ring appraised, for insurance purposes. It came back at $2,450 CAD.

    I called and emailed Effy, someone called me back once and left a message for me to call. That was two weeks ago. I have called, left messages and emailed about eight times. No one returns calls or emails.

    DON'T EVER BUY from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I am so sorry you are having difficulty reaching our customer service department. I would as you to kindly call 1-877-ASK-EFFY x 404 or 251 and we will promptly call you back. I am looking forward to taking care of you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied customer

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a gold and diamond ring while on vacation on a Carnival Cruise-Breeze at a port in Cozumel on 05/04/18. On 05/06/18 while at the airport waiting to depart for home, I looked at the ring in the box and noticed it was broken. I sent an email while at the airport to EFFY and then called on 05/07 to speak to Customer Service. I was given an RMA 1187119 to return the ring.

    About 2-3 weeks later I receive a phone call from New York headquarters stating the ring would be special ordered and should receive it by August (?). I am very upset and disappointed! I purchased this product to wear to an event. I have paid for a product that I am not using. I called today and spoke to a very rude manager by the name of Ralphi Setar about my ring and how unacceptable the timeframe was. I own other EFFY jewelry, but this is my last purchase. EFFY does not believe in accommodating their customers for the inconvenience.

    Don't buy from EFFY, there are no refunds on any purchases and long extensive wait periods for returns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 20, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your feedback. After speaking with you on the phone, I was able to place a rush on your special ordered ring and I see that we just sent the new ring to you this week. We try to ensure our guest's satisfaction, and hope that you enjoy your new ring for many years to come!

    • Jul 27, 2018

      Rose C.

      I purchased a diamond necklace at the Fred Meyer trunk show. The chain was very cheaply made. The ring that holds the clasp kept opening. I called Effy but they transferred me and had to leave a voice message. No one ever returned my call, so I went on their website and wrote them to contact me and no one has called or emailed me. Bad customer service. They just lost themselves a customer.

    • Jul 30, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Thank you for your inquiry. Please accept my apologies for the difficulty you are having. Kindly contact me at 1-877-ASK-EFFY x251 and I will be more than happy to assist you.

    • Aug 16, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      Hi Britane! I know we sent you your special ordered ring several weeks ago and hoping that you are enjoying it!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Diamond engagement ring, diamond necklace, and diamond earrings

    • Palm City, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a diamond engagement ring on board the Emerald Princess New Year's Eve 12/31/2015 at the Effy shop as a surprise, and at midnight, I proposed to my fiance. She was totally surprised. The next day we pulled into St Thomas VI, and the manager on board gave me a personal note to give to the Effy manager at the pier, telling him to size the ring for us. Later that day we picked it up and everything was perfect. While we were there we purchased a matching diamond necklace We returned to ship and purchased matching diamond earrings at the Effy store. We recently had a minor problem and sent it to New York. Effy fixed it. Their service was impeccable! Thank you Effy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Broken promise

    • Carnival Vista,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The cruise with Carnival was great. Our only real disappointment was our purchase at Effy Jewelry. When you first go into the store, everyone is so nice. We were guaranteed the best price on the diamond earrings we were looking at. So the purchase was made.

    Upon arrival in Aruba, we brought the earrings to the Effy store near the port. The same exact earrings $300 cheaper. That didn’t make me happy. So back we go to Effy on the ship. Once again we were treated very nice and guaranteed it would be taken care. Next day we are at sea, and the tune has changed. The MGR who represented himself as the owner tells us that the earings we looked at were different. From this point on he wasn’t that friendly employee. He would do nothing for us. I felt like we just said no to a timeshare salesman.

    STAY AWAY from Effy on Carnival VISTA or should I call them "iffy."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 30, 2018

      Michael R., Director of Online Marketing and eCommerce

      Hi James,

      So sorry to hear about your experience in one of our locations. Please contact us directly at 1-877-ASK EFFY x 251 and we will be happy to help you!

    • Jul 3, 2018

      KIM R.

      I purchased my ring and you sized it, that took three more weeks before I received the ring. I wore the ring for two days and a stone fell out, so I sent it back for repair, three weeks later, no ring. This started back on May 25th, 2018. I sent the ring and the stone back and for some reason, I am not told when the ring will be ready. I really want to order other items that go with the ring, however, it is hard to do, since I still cannot get the first order complete. I am really saddened by the whole experience.

    • Jul 20, 2018

      Andrea M.,

      I'm sorry to hear that you found a price discrepancy in your purchase. Would you kindly reach out to our headquarters in New York so that we may look into this request and rectify this for you? Please call 1-888-ASK-EFFY to reach our customer service department. Looking forward to helping you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Great service, great product

    We recently completed two cruises with Princess Cruiseline. I can say that my wife has purchased jewelry, mostly from Diamonds International. On our first cruise, we met one of the representatives of Effy boutique onboard and again saw him at the Diamond International on shore. He was extremely helpful, however, we did not buy jewelry at that time.

    The next cruise, my wife was wearing her Tanzanite and decided her pendant was not large enough. We went to Effy onboard our next ship and purchased a pendant and earrings. The representatives were again very helpful. This was our first jewelry purchase onboard the ship and must say we are completely satisfied.

    A couple years ago, we purchased our Tanzanite off the ship at one of their recommended jewelers, along with my brother and his wife. My sister-in-law's ring was resized as we waited, but when she returned home, she noticed the stone was not set right. She contacted Princess and sent it in to be repaired. Within 3 weeks, she had it back and wears it to this day.

    It appears from the reviews that ring sizing is an issue onboard at Effy, but with all the jewelry sold, there can be an occasional mix-up. We found that Princess works very hard to stand behind their product and services. We would not hesitate to purchase jewelry onboard at Effy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Merchandise not received

    Please do not purchase Effy Jewelry on a cruise, either on board or in port. I would suggest going to Macy's or one of their stateside stores.

    I purchased a ruby ring on Carnival's Paradise. The ring was sized, and I thought all was well and good. I picked up the ring the last day of the cruise. As I walked out of the store, I looked more closely at the ring and saw a stone was missing. I went back in and asked the manager for a refund. He assured me that he was going to New York the next day (we were returning to Tampa then) and would get it repaired and have it shipped overnight and that I would have it within a week. Two weeks and still no ring! Five phone calls and not one return call.

    I finally reached a lady at Effy that is supposed to be a manager in customer service. After explaining the situation, she placed me on hold. She checked their files and have NO record of the ring being in New York. She stated they had to contact the cruise ship to see if the ring can be mailed to me. When I ask why it was repaired and returned to the ship, her story changed. Now she doesn't know where the ring is or if it was ever mailed to New York.

    I just want a refund. NEVER EVER purchase from Effy and expect any kind of good quality service. Very disappointed in the company. I have 11 pieces of Effy Jewelry. If I ever purchase from them, it will probably be through Macy's.

    Right now I just want my $1800 refund, not stories about how they don't know where it is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Engagement ring

    • Perth, Western Australia,
    • Sep 26, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    We were engaged in the Effy store on the 19th of December 2016. We purchase two rings one for me and one for my fiance. His had to be made as it needed to be a size z. Assurances of two weeks maximum were made.

    After eight and a half months of trying to get Effy to answer any emails messages or phone calls without any reply, both emails from myself and my fiance, and calls from both, we resorted to contacting Princess Cruises. They advised that they would reply to us in five days again nothing! My ring is dull and lackluster now, and we had proposed our engagement party until we got home and his ring would have arrived.

    We are not a young couple, in fact, we had been friends for over 30 years before getting together. Eight months later we don't think it appropriate to hold a party!

    Finally, the ring arrived without any apology or any advice. Then Princess Cruises replied TWO WEEKS AFTER the arrival of the ring, apologizing for Effy and giving us a $100 credit on our next cruise. No, I would not recommend Effy!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in June this year. While on that cruise we went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of Effy staff, and that it could be resized.

    In August I finally had time to go to the jeweler to find out as bout resizing. Three different jewelers have told me the exact opposite of Effy staff. They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    To top it all off, I have not received a response to any of the emails I have sent to Princess Cruises or Effy Jewelry in the last 2-3 weeks. Absolutely appalling customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Conned!

    • Queensland, Australia,
    • Sep 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner and I were on a Sun Princess cruise in July this year (2017). While on that cruise my partner and I went into the Effy Jewelry store and found a gorgeous Tanzanite ring, which I chose as my engagement ring. It was several sizes too big, but the ladies assured us that someone on shore would be able to resize it.

    The ring was purchased based on the expert opinion of the staff, that it could be resized.

    I have just come home today, after going to several jewelry stores, gutted because I was told the exact opposite! They CANNOT resize the ring. It is way too large and resizing would damage the ring setting, etc.

    This is absolutely unacceptable. We purchased the ring only because Effy staff (it was more than one person!) promised us it could be resized. I feel so angry and upset that we have been conned into purchasing a ring which I cannot use for its intended purpose.

    I have messaged them today asking someone to contact me so an acceptable resolution can be achieved asap. After reading these reviews, I doubt they will call or email back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 38 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Effy does not return calls for returns

    • Cleveland, Ohio,
    • Jun 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a pendant. Spoke to the e-commerce manager at Effy. He said that the item was returnable within 30 days for a refund. I received the pendant. Upon seeing it in the box, I decided that it was too small and not to my liking. I tried calling the toll free number, the local number and the e-commerce manager. No one answered the phone numbers. I left emails at the company site and to the e-commerce manager. No one returned a call or emailed me. It has been several days so far.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality bracelet and customer service

    I purchased a Tanzanite Bracelet in November of 2016. I have worn it out on about ten occasions, and at beginning of April, the bracelet broke.

    I attempted to contact Effy on numerous occasions but was unable to get a response. Now I am wondering if they are still in business given the poor quality of their products.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 19

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review