About Effy Jewelry

Boasting hundreds of jewelry pieces that are inspired by trends around the globe, Effy Jewelry claims to offer fine and fashion jewelry designs that promise to satisfy your wanderlust with a little sparkle.

Effy Jewelry began as a small jewelry operation in Aruba. Founded by Fatollah “Effy” Hermatian, an electrical engineer who emigrated from Iran in 1978 to become a jewelry designer, the Effy brand has grown is now operates under the name BH Multi.

Effy Jewelry can be found online at www.effyjewelry.com, at Macy’s, as well as 4000 other retail locations worldwide.

From classic three-stone rings, to Effy Jewelry’s signature leopard design featured on brooches, rings, necklaces and bracelets, the brand has garnered a lot of attention for offering a wide variety of styles that are frequently sold at slashed prices.

Effy Promises To Be a Girl’s Best Friend

When asked to pitch his company in a brief statement, Effy Hematian stated that Effy Jewelry was built on a foundation of superior design, craftsmanship, and quality.

Claiming to be trendsetters in the fashion jewelry market due to their hundreds of exclusive new designs every year, Effy Hemetian claims that customers love Effy Jewelry because the brand is trusted to deliver better value and quality.

In an interview, Effy Hemetial also stated that he will never compromise the quality of his products to bring down prices.

How To Shop at Effy Jewelry

Like any other online retailer, shoppers can go to their website and browse current inventory based on the type of jewelry you are interested in. Effy Jewelry offers men’s and women’s lines, a small collection of unisex religious and spiritual jewelry, as well as a bridal collection.

The pricing at Effy Jewelry is as diverse as their inventory. In their earring category alone green amethyst or citrine cushion cut studs are available for $95, while a pair of three-tiered emerald drops sell for $15,250.

When ordering from Effy Jewelry online, all purchases over $200 receive free, insured and trackable shipping.

Effy Jewelry says that any customers who are dissatisfied with their purchase are welcome to return or exchange their item as long as it is returned within 30 days from the date of shipment, and the jewelry is free from scratches, blemishes, sizing, or alterations. Any items that are considered Special Orders, such as those with engraving or specialty sizing, can still be returned, but unfortunately a 20% restocking fee will be applied.

In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service for a Return Authorization Number at 877-ASK-EFFY (275-3339).

Allegations Against Effy Jewelry

Effy Jewelry came under attack when a gemologist contracted by Macy’s (one of Effy Jewelry’s partner retailers) noticed that the stones being sold under the Effy Jewelry brand were sub-par (the article is available here).

The initial focus was on Effy Jewelry’s rubies. Rubies are the second hardest stone, only slightly less so than diamonds, and have become increasingly rare since Burmese mines were shut down in the early 2000s. Gem dealers found an alternative source of rubies in Africa, but the stones were of lesser quality than Burmese rubies, filled with fissures.

Effy Jewelry is accused of adding leaded glass to the poor quality stones, then treating them with heat to enhance their color and presentation. The Jeweler’s Association states that these rubies are not “real” as they fall short of the durability offered by a genuine stone.

Even more disturbing, when these artificially enhanced stones, called “treated rubies” “enhanced rubies,” “composite rubies,” or “hybrid gemstones,” are heated, the filling may leak out, causing the composited shards of inferior ruby to shatter.

To the naked eye of an ordinary consumer, there is no visible difference. However, fine jewelry is often considered an investment that will last many generations while holding its value — a promise these composited and treated stones can’t uphold.

Furthermore, in a piece exploring the topic of composite rubies, Good Morning America interviewed experts who say these composite rubies are too fragile to even clean using normal methods, and may also experience color fading over time. As such, they are worth only a fraction of the stones they represent.

In the class action lawsuit against Macy’s, many consumers stated feeling duped that they were presented with items of a supposed high-value, which upon inspection by gemologists, turned out to be nearly worthless. An article explaining the case can be found here.

Additional allegations were that Macy’s (supplied by Effy Jewelry) knowingly sold the following without disclosing the additional, potentially devaluing, information to their customers:

  • Rubies that were composites or filled with glass or lead filled glass;
  • Stones were being passed as untreated “green amethyst,” when in fact this stone was actually Praseolite (a heated form of quartz). Only purple amethyst is natural, real amethyst, and therefore of a much higher value;
  • Sapphires were fracture filled with glass;
  • Black sapphires were being passed off as “black diamonds”;
  • Many diamonds were enhanced by laser drilling or filing of surface cavities and fractures with a hardened substance;
  • Diamonds were irradiated or heated to induce color and then represented to be natural black diamonds.

A broadcast report of the investigation of composite rubies by Good Morning America can be found here.

While some of the articles do not directly name Effy Jewelry as the supplier to Macy’s, Lord and Taylor, and the other stores in question, details from a dissatisfied customer who purchased directly through Effy Jewelry can be found here.

The Bottom Line

Despite rampant reports of fraudulent gems, many consumers state that they are happy with their Effy Jewelry purchases in forum chatter.

While the jewelry sold by Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price, without receiving all the important information.

If you’re interested in purchasing jewelry from the Effy Jewelry line, it’s important to arm yourself with information. Be sure to ask the salesperson:

  1. Is this ruby treated?
  2. If so, how was it treated?
  3. Is there lead glass in the ruby? Federal laws require that retailers provide consumers with a full refund if the product sold was misrepresented or determined to fraudulent.

If purchasing from Effy Jewelry online, it’s recommended that buyers take their newly purchased gemstones to a professional for an evaluation before the 30-day return period is up.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 58 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 6 1 star:  39
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 58
Sort reviews by:

  • Quality

    • Denver, CO,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a Russolite princess cut ring with several very small diamonds on the band on 9/1 on our cruise. Today on 9/6 I’ve noticed that one of the small diamonds is missing. I am very disappointed, to say the least, especially since having it for such a short time. I am still on vacation and leaving for home today and will call Effy when back. I hope that they stand behind their product as stated. Love the ring but disappointed as I said in the quality.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very poor

    • West Sussex, England,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We paid out for a Ring on the 26th of May 2019 when we were on the Royal Caribbean ship Independence at sea Effy Jewelry shop. As this was our 28th wedding anniversary gift from my husband, Effy told us that we could have the ring sized in Southampton. This was not so and we had to send the ring back to the USA and find the nearest FedEx. I had to keep emailing them asking if the ring was coming back.

    I had the ring back 3 days and 2 of the diamonds fell out. I had an independence jewelry shop look at the ring to be told the ring was very poor quality. So I am now getting a refund but not for what we paid for the ring. My husband feels we are being short-changed over the exchange rate. Four months in the whole situation has been very very stressful and upsetting to me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Gold, Ruby Ring

    My husband purchased a Gold Ruby Ring for me on a cruise ship in February 2019 and one of the Rubies has fallen out, and is lost. I am very unhappy as it has only been a few months. I have sent an email to Effy Jewelry to have the ring fixed, and have not heard anything from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 11, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      I am so sorry to hear that your ring needs a stone replaced. As you know, all Effy jewelry comes with a lifetime warranty and we repair it for you at no charge. I was unable to find the email that you sent to our company website (customerservice@effyjewelry.com) but if you would forward your inquiry to me at andream@effyjewelry.com I will be more than happy to assist you.


  • Upset/trash

    • Cruise ,
    • Aug 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a ring on the Carnival cruise line on May 12, 2019. This piece of jewelry is junk. The ring is turning a brassy discoloration. Plus one diamond already fell out. I can’t believe I was that stupid to get suckered into this purchase. $1,200.00 for costume jewelry. I’m so angry and disappointed in myself that I can be robbed. Paying that much money for a poor quality ring.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Vivian,

      I am so sorry that you are having an issue with your recent purchase. Please contact me directly at Andream@effyjewelry.com so that I may personally assist you. Your Effy Jewelry comes with a lifetime warranty and we will repair it for you at no charge for life. I am looking forward to helping you.


  • Earrings, bracelet, and now pendent

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Aug 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought many pieces of jewelry from Effy - my wedding ring, a bracelet, earrings with a matching chocolate diamond ring, necklace pendant. Three of the four pieces are already needing repair. The bracelet has already gone in for repair and is broken in exactly the same place. One of the earrings the diamond has fallen out of and the pendant. I just purchased for my 50th birthday has completely fallen apart. I was an Effy fan and am so disillusioned by my purchases. I have spent a bundle on my jewelry and am so disappointed by the quality. We have saved up for these special events in our lives birthday, wedding, wedding anniversary. I will not purchase another piece from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 27, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Liane,

      So sorry for the trouble your jewelry is causing you. Please reach out to me directly at andream@effyjewelry.com so that we may decide on the best solution for you. Looking forward to assisting you.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Purchase of necklace/pendant

    • Rockledge, FL,
    • Aug 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased a 14k necklace/pendant with black and white diamonds but after reading a review of Effy, I have concerns about the quality and if the diamonds are real or enhanced. I was not told of an authenticity warranty or that the necklace was to be checked by the retailer every 6 months. Please advise. Thank you.

    At this time I cannot give a fair rating since I do not know the actual quality of my purchase and I have received no authenticity warranty.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 8, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for reaching out. All Effy jewelry comes with a lifetime warranty and a certificate of authenticity which we can provide to you. Please email a copy of your receipt and a picture of the item you purchased to my email address: andream@effyjewelry.com and we will assist you promptly. Rest assured that we stand behind the quality of Effy jewelry and we look forward to assisting you.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very positive experience

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own several pieces of lovely Effy Jewelry. No problems to date, save numerous compliments and great enjoyment in wearing these pieces.

    Interesting to note that most of the aforementioned negative experiences arise from purchases made on cruises...FWIW...draw your own conclusions from my comment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Wish I'd seen reviews before buying!

    • Canada,
    • Jul 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My partner took me shopping for my birthday and we found what appeared to be a gorgeous diamond ring. Less than three months after purchase a stone disappeared. I had just received my "lifetime warranty" papers in the mail about a week beforehand.

    I opened a ticket on their website and, though I receive far too much promotional mail from them, I have heard absolutely nothing regarding the open ticket.

    Superior craftsmanship? Stones don't fall from rings unless the setting was loose to begin with.

    Very, very disappointed in this expensive piece of jewelry I cannot wear and they, apparently, don't want to fix.

    Next step, take it to a local custom jeweler, have it inspected, replace the stone. From expensive to VERY expensive.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 29, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Kat,

      I am sorry to hear that you need to have your ring repaired. We will gladly assist you in that! I checked our online inquiries and did not see your ticket requesting service but rest assured we will take care of you. Please forward your inquiry directly to me at andream@effyjewelry.com and I will ensure that we help you. I will need your receipt number as well as the item number of your ring. Looking forward to helping you!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    • California,
    • Jul 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Beautiful ring, but the quality of the craftsmanship is TERRIBLE. I have had to send my ring back for a missing stone FIVE TIMES IN ONE YEAR (this latest will the 5th, and I just got the ring back a few weeks ago from the 4th repair). I had the ring only a few hours when the first stone fell out. Not once has customer service apologized or offered any compensation for having to send it back, where they kept the ring four weeks each time, so many times. Truly disappointing. This was a gift for my 50th birthday, and the ring has spent more time in repair than on my finger. Never again will I purchase jewelry from Effy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Chrisitna,

      I know how disappointed you are and as we told you via our email communication, we are working hard on replacing your ring with a brand new ring in your correct size. We do make every effort to satisfy our guests with the lifetime warranty we provide and we hope to get your new ring to you ASAP! My apologies again.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Four years on, still happy

    • Australia,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I knew nothing about this company and purchased a beautiful ring with black diamonds while cruising on "Oasis of the sea," Royal Caribbean.

    I have had no issues with this ring and wear it every day, shower, swimming in the beach and general life activities (cooking, cleaning, etc.).

    It’s nice to see after-sale support is still available if needed. Yet to identify how it will be experienced in Australia, however. I am still satisfied with my purchase.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 26, 2019

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your kind words! We hope you enjoy your ring for many years to come and please feel free to reach out to us for any reason.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    FAULTY RING

    • Munich, Germany,
    • Jul 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a ring on a cruise ship at the end of May 2019 and wore it for the first time recently. It kept catching on clothing and upon closer examination, I discovered that one of the small claws is not covering the gem stone. Its end is standing upright away from the stone and catches on the material. If also scratches upon touch.

    This is very clearly a manufacturing fault.

    Upon contacting Customer Service I was asked to provide an estimate for a repair.

    And here comes the "NO GO":

    IF EFFY would even be prepared to accept the cost for a repair, it would be in the form of a "Store Credit".

    So, I have to purchase a new item to be credited (not re-imbursed) with the cost for repair of the faulty one??

    To actually attempt to make even more money out of this situation is outrageous.

    ONCE and NEVER AGAIN!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 58

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review