Read 47 Effy Jewelry Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 8 4 star: 2 3 star: 1 2 star: 5 1 star:  31
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Paid way too much

    • New Mexico,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a beautiful cross pendant in the Baker Building, Bay St. Nassau, Bahamas last Christmas and came home to find that the "great price" "best possible price, bottom line" was thousands more than the same piece in the US. I took my cross and receipt to a local jeweler who I trust and have purchased from for years only to feel like a fool. She had the same Effy piece for significantly less. I have several pieces from Effy that I’ve purchased over the years and have always been happy, until now. I will never ever buy from them again, and I’ll make sure to tell everyone around me on my cruise this season too. I am embarrassed that I was taken advantage of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your email. Please know that we have many items in our collection that may look similar. Would you kindly call me at 1 888-ASK-EFFY x 251 so that we can discuss your purchase? I'm looking forward to helping you!


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Diamond bracelet with faulty clasp

    • RUBY PRINCESS,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On November 4, 2018 on the Ruby Princess, I purchased a diamond bracelet at Effy. The clasp would not stay fastened and I took it back to the manager. He fooled with it and put it back on my wrist. It remained on my wrist for the rest of the cruise. I discovered it missing when I arrived at my car in Honolulu. I reported it missing to the Sheriff's deputy in Honolulu as well as lost and found. When I called Effy, they offered to sell me a replacement at a good price. I do not consider this a good enough response to my loss due to a faulty clasp.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your email. As we discussed on the phone, Effy offers a lifetime warranty on items purchased from us, however, the warranty cannot cover the loss of an item. We can offer a significant discount on future purchases for your trouble.


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Cheap junk at high prices

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband purchased me a necklace and earring set at Amber Cove in the Caribbean. I have worn the jewelry twice in the last year. The magnet fell out from the necklace and cannot be replaced. £1,000 was what he paid. Please do not buy this brand.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 2, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      I am sorry to hear that your purchase from Effy is in need of repair. Please know that ALL Effy Jewelry purchased from us comes with a lifetime warranty, which guarantees repairs at no charge. Please contact us at 1-888-ASK-EFFY and we will advise you on how to send your item back to us in New York for repair, at no cost to you. Looking forward to assisting you!


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Effy Jewelry represents the worst quality gems

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I recently purchased an emerald ring branded Effy. This is absolutely the worst emerald I have ever seen! It is extremely cloudy. And the green is a light green, not a rich green as I would have expected. I think the Effy brand name should be consistent with "crap jewelry." I hope you don't lose your money as I did. I waited too long to be able to return it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 1, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Justyna, I'm sorry you are unhappy with your recent purchase. Would you reach out to me so that I may assist you? 1-888-ASK-EFFY x251.


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So, I read Effy's response and it is the same party line when I complained to Effy on the ship. But here's the thing. I told the saleswoman the price I got online from their own website and she said, "Wow, you got a really good price." So I said, "So how much would it be if I bought it here in your store?" She told me $3500. She did not even mention the matching.

    Then I complained to the ship and they had the store manager call me. She said she called home office and told her to tell me the party line in Effy's response below. So here's what I'm very angry over.

    First, she checked all their sales from the cruise for me and confirmed all were sold at the discounted price on the web. Then two days later on our last day at sea they announced a sale of 50% off. So I went in and asked to see a different necklace that she said was part of the sale. It was discounted to the same price on the web. That necklaces had been on sale on their website for many weeks at 50% off ($895). So if you do the math here, half off the current price would be about $450. But no, it was $895. So these people for the first day of the cruise were already being charged 50% off as they were matching the website's price. By posting a sign 8 days later about the sale was false advertising. Further price matching is usually against another retailer. I would have fully expected the jewelry to be the same price as their website.

    So again, false advertising that they were having a big 50% off sale because it was the last day at sea when in fact the prices were unchanged from the first day at sea. Most people on the ship were elderly. They live on fixed incomes and are trying to enjoy the last years of their lives. Shame on you Effy for trying to deceive them out of their money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Oct 19, 2018

    Questionable sales processes

    I bought a piece directly from Effy for $1900. I was on a cruise a few weeks later that had an Effy store onboard. The same piece I was told was $3500. I called their management to complain that I felt they were cheating elderly retired people. They gave me a lame excuse and assured me they sold all pieces onboard for the same online price. But I was told $3500 not $1900 for the same piece. Then two days later they announced a sale for 50% off. But it wasn't. They didn't change their prices. They were the same as the website, which were on sale for many weeks already. Shady company if you ask me.

    • Oct 19, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Lisa, thank you for your comments. Please note that retail pricing is shown on all of our price tags, and we offer sales in our Effy boutiques and on our website. We also offer a price match guarantee on all purchases as is clearly stated on our receipts and we have a lifetime warranty on all of our jewelry as well.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Poor quality

    • Nova Scotia, Canada,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Poor quality jewelry. My wife loved the designs of the Effy line of rings. Over the past 12 months I had purchased two Effy rings, and in both cases, the main stone fell out. They were replaced by the jewelry store but I think this says something about the manufacturing quality of their products, very poor. I contacted their Customer Service department, they apologized, but that was it. So much time wasted dealing with their product and the embarrassment my wife felt in a public setting when the rings failed was awful for her. I will not be buying another product from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 28, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi Marvin, thank you for your comments regarding your recent purchases. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with both rings you purchased from us, and would like to have the opportunity to speak with you directly. Would you kindly call me at 1-877-ASK-EFFY x251? This is my direct line and I look forward to helping you.


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent company

    • Ontario, Canada,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband bought an Alexandrite ring for me, for our wedding anniversary, while we were on a cruise with Royal Carribean, in the Southern Caribbean, at the Effy Store #10, last February. My husband paid $3,000 US funds. The exchange is 30% higher in US funds than Canadian funds.

    I just had my ring appraised, for insurance purposes. It came back at $2,450 CAD.

    I called and emailed Effy, someone called me back once and left a message for me to call. That was two weeks ago. I have called, left messages and emailed about eight times. No one returns calls or emails.

    DON'T EVER BUY from this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 16, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      I am so sorry you are having difficulty reaching our customer service department. I would as you to kindly call 1-877-ASK-EFFY x 404 or 251 and we will promptly call you back. I am looking forward to taking care of you!


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Dissatisfied customer

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a gold and diamond ring while on vacation on a Carnival Cruise-Breeze at a port in Cozumel on 05/04/18. On 05/06/18 while at the airport waiting to depart for home, I looked at the ring in the box and noticed it was broken. I sent an email while at the airport to EFFY and then called on 05/07 to speak to Customer Service. I was given an RMA 1187119 to return the ring.

    About 2-3 weeks later I receive a phone call from New York headquarters stating the ring would be special ordered and should receive it by August (?). I am very upset and disappointed! I purchased this product to wear to an event. I have paid for a product that I am not using. I called today and spoke to a very rude manager by the name of Ralphi Setar about my ring and how unacceptable the timeframe was. I own other EFFY jewelry, but this is my last purchase. EFFY does not believe in accommodating their customers for the inconvenience.

    Don't buy from EFFY, there are no refunds on any purchases and long extensive wait periods for returns.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 20, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Thank you for your feedback. After speaking with you on the phone, I was able to place a rush on your special ordered ring and I see that we just sent the new ring to you this week. We try to ensure our guest's satisfaction, and hope that you enjoy your new ring for many years to come!


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Diamond engagement ring, diamond necklace, and diamond earrings

    • Palm City, FL,
    • Jun 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a diamond engagement ring on board the Emerald Princess New Year's Eve 12/31/2015 at the Effy shop as a surprise, and at midnight, I proposed to my fiance. She was totally surprised. The next day we pulled into St Thomas VI, and the manager on board gave me a personal note to give to the Effy manager at the pier, telling him to size the ring for us. Later that day we picked it up and everything was perfect. While we were there we purchased a matching diamond necklace We returned to ship and purchased matching diamond earrings at the Effy store. We recently had a minor problem and sent it to New York. Effy fixed it. Their service was impeccable! Thank you Effy!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Broken promise

    • Carnival Vista,
    • May 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The cruise with Carnival was great. Our only real disappointment was our purchase at Effy Jewelry. When you first go into the store, everyone is so nice. We were guaranteed the best price on the diamond earrings we were looking at. So the purchase was made.

    Upon arrival in Aruba, we brought the earrings to the Effy store near the port. The same exact earrings $300 cheaper. That didn’t make me happy. So back we go to Effy on the ship. Once again we were treated very nice and guaranteed it would be taken care. Next day we are at sea, and the tune has changed. The MGR who represented himself as the owner tells us that the earings we looked at were different. From this point on he wasn’t that friendly employee. He would do nothing for us. I felt like we just said no to a timeshare salesman.

    STAY AWAY from Effy on Carnival VISTA or should I call them "iffy."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 30, 2018

      Company Response from Effy Jewelry

      Hi James,

      So sorry to hear about your experience in one of our locations. Please contact us directly at 1-877-ASK EFFY x 251 and we will be happy to help you!


  • 6 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Great service, great product

    We recently completed two cruises with Princess Cruiseline. I can say that my wife has purchased jewelry, mostly from Diamonds International. On our first cruise, we met one of the representatives of Effy boutique onboard and again saw him at the Diamond International on shore. He was extremely helpful, however, we did not buy jewelry at that time.

    The next cruise, my wife was wearing her Tanzanite and decided her pendant was not large enough. We went to Effy onboard our next ship and purchased a pendant and earrings. The representatives were again very helpful. This was our first jewelry purchase onboard the ship and must say we are completely satisfied.

    A couple years ago, we purchased our Tanzanite off the ship at one of their recommended jewelers, along with my brother and his wife. My sister-in-law's ring was resized as we waited, but when she returned home, she noticed the stone was not set right. She contacted Princess and sent it in to be repaired. Within 3 weeks, she had it back and wears it to this day.

    It appears from the reviews that ring sizing is an issue onboard at Effy, but with all the jewelry sold, there can be an occasional mix-up. We found that Princess works very hard to stand behind their product and services. We would not hesitate to purchase jewelry onboard at Effy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 47

Write a Review for Effy Jewelry!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review