About Focallure

By Autumn Yates
HighYa Staff Published on: Apr 7, 2017

Focallure is a a one-stop online shop for all of your beauty needs, offering premium products, including makeup, skin care, teeth whitening, and even a strapless push-up bra, all at not-so-premium prices.

Beyond quality and affordability, Focallure states that they stand out from other online cosmetics retailers by offering the following:

  • Cosmetics inspired by French trends. Focallure states that their makeup and skin care lines closely follow those you can find in France.
  • Selling only cruelty-free products. Focallure promises that their cosmetics haven’t been tested on animals.
  • Exceptional customer service. Focallure states that customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance and that their representatives are available 24/7 to answer questions or offer assistance.
  • Made and sold in the USA. Focallure states that their products are manufactured and shipped from the U.S., listing a company address in Las Vegas, Nevada.
  • Free shipping on all orders over $25. Focallure ships worldwide, and offers free shipping on any order over $25 both in the U.S. and internationally.

So, what kind of products does Focallure sell? The website lists four major categories of products: makeup, cleansing, teeth, and Lifting Bra-Lifty. Here’s an overview of each.

Focallure Cosmetics for Face, Lips, and Eyes

Makeup appears to be the website’s largest category consisting of exclusively Focallure-brand products. Within Focallure’s cosmetics menu, you can find subcategories listing makeup for the face, lips, eyes, and accessories.

1. Focallure Face Collection

Focallure sells three products in their face collection, each of which is available in three shades. They are a foundation stick, concealer, and face setting powder.

  • Focallure Foundation Setting Powder ($15): Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in three shades.
  • Focallure Face Contour Highlighter ($18): Claims to be non-greasy and non-creasing, as well as paraben and fragrance-free.
  • Focallure Complete Coverage Concealer ($13): Full-coverage formula that claims to be enriched with Matrixyl 3000, a compound that includes peptides to support the skin’s youthful appearance and elasticity.

2. Focallure Lipstick Collections

Focallure states that their lip colors are naturally waterproof and easy to use. There are two available formulas:

  • Focallure Matte Lipstick ($13): Chubby-pencil style lipstick that claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.
  • Focallure Matte Liquid Lipstick ($14): A liquid-to-matte formula that promises intense color and all-day wear. Also free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates. Available in 12 shades.

3. Focallure Eyes Collection

Focallure offers a wider range of eye makeup, including several shades of shadow palettes, eyeliners, brow filler, and false lashes:

  • Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palette ($18): Available in four tones, each palette contains 10 eyeshadows that range from matte, to shimmer, and sparkle.
  • Focallure Waterproof Eyeliner Pencil ($17): Promises to be 100% waterproof and smudge-proof, while sweat and tear-resistant.
  • Focallure Double-Take Brow Pencil ($16): Retractable brow pencil is available in three shades. Claims to be free of parabens, sulfates, and phthalates.
  • Focallure Long-Wear Gel Liner ($9): Long-wearing, gel-based liner is available in five unnamed shades. Some guesswork required to figure out which color you’re ordering.

4. Focallure Accessories

Focallure’s website lists a variety of cleansing and anti-aging products that appear to not be associated with the brand. These include a 5-in-1 Facial Cleansing Brush ($20.95), a Chinese-brand charcoal whitening toothpaste ($14.95), a blackhead and pimple remover ($5.99), along with many other products that all fall under the category of “beauty.”

What We Spotted When Shopping Focallure

At HighYa, we’ve reviewed the websites of hundreds of cosmetics products and brands, as well as an extensive collection articles that inform on related topics, like evaluating the difference between designer and knock-off cosmetics.

We also write about how to help you recognize potential sources for trouble when ordering online. In fact, it was just recently that we published How to Tell If an Online Store Is Legit: 11 Steps to Check Any Website—which is why several aspects of shopping Focallure stood out as possible yellow flags.

As we started our standard process of reviewing each cosmetics category, we couldn’t help but notice a that the written content describing categories had a higher than average frequency of grammatical errors.

For example, the description on the Focallure Face Collection page states:

Our mineral face collection contains natural ingredient makeup easy-to-use and defines, illuminate or enhance your requested features. Our collection has Foundation in 3 colors vary by your skin color, Highlighter and the famous Complete-Coverage® Concealer that also available in the variety of colors.“

Poor grammar alone isn’t a major red flag indicating a poor quality product. Though it’s worth noting as possibly raising questions as to whether or not Focallure was truly made and sold in the U.S. as they claim.

Moving on, as we read through Focallure’s individual product descriptions, we noticed that they sounded surprisingly similar to some of our favorite brands.

For example, here’s the description of Focallure Foundation Setting Powder from their website:

“With just five pure ingredients, Focallure Face Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

From Ulta, here’s the description of bareMinerals Matte Mineral Foundation:

“With just five pure ingredients, bareMinerals SPF 15 Foundation delivers flawless coverage and the creamy minerals are clinically proven to improve the appearance of skin over time. It looks like a powder, feels like a cream, and buffs on like silk, giving skin a natural luminosity while feeling as if you are not wearing any makeup at all.”

Because the bareMinerals brand has been around for over 35 years, we’re pretty confident that they came up with this description first.

Evidence of Focallure appearing to copy cosmetics descriptions from better-known brands can be seen again and again through their website.

For example, Focallure Ultimate Eyeshadow Palettes 1-4 all use the following description:

Loaded with 10 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Focallure could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.

This is a near verbatim use of the description for Urban Decay’s popular Naked Palette, as seen at Sephora:

Loaded with 12 bronze-hued shadows in an insane range of finishes only Urban Decay could dream up—including matte, satin, shimmer and sparkle, Naked takes neutral eye color to a new level. From the palest champagne to the grittiest gunmetal, it’s everything you need to let eyes go laid-back, beachy vibe, or black-tie drama.”

To be clear, modeling your makeup after a better-known brand is the cornerstone of knockoff cosmetics. The appearance of lifting another company’s descriptions doesn’t necessarily mean that Focallure is selling poor quality products.

But it does bring their ethics into question—if Focallure did, indeed, copy the description of more popular makeup brands, can consumers trust their other promises that might be more important, such as a commitment to cruelty-free cosmetics, including sun protection, or being free of talc?

Again, just because a company appears to have copied descriptions doesn’t mean that you’ll receive a poor-quality product. But, it does bring into question the ingredients and methods used to create the product you’ll receive.

We Tried to Contact Focallure Customer Service

To give Focallure a fair chance at responding, we attempted to reach out to their customer service representatives.

Our first attempt was through their Contact page, where we found that there was only a form to request contact—and no phone number listed.

This is another potential yellow flag that we mention in our list of tips when trying to determine if a company is legit. In our experience, legitimate online retailers should list where their business is located, as well as a phone number an email to reach them.

In a final attempt to contact Focallure, we reached out to customer service through their Facebook page.

Per our interaction with the company, the representative who responded stated that no phone number was available. When pressed for any information that could confirm that they were based in the United States, the representative stopped responding. Follow-up questions regarding the product descriptions that appear to be copied were left unanswered.

Focallure Return and Refund Policy—Final or Not?

Prices for Focallure products vary with your purchase. But what if you’re unsatisfied?

To wrap up our research on Focallure, we headed to their Refund Policy page where things take a final confusing turn. At the top of the page, shoppers are told:

“All products are sold ‘as is.’ You assume the responsibility for your purchase, and no refunds will be issued. All sales are final.”

Next, customers are instructed to contact customer service if your product arrives damaged. Following is a list of products for which partial refunds are applicable, including books and CDs—of which we didn’t see any for sale on the website.

This is followed by additional info on potential refunds, and the statement that they only replace items if they are defective or damaged. If shoppers need to exchange it for the same item, to send an email at support@bestmakeupsponge.com.

Should You Order From Focallure?

Focallure certainly lists some attractive cosmetics products on their website. However, even if you look beyond the considerable number of yellow flags we noticed while exploring their products—particularly duplicate descriptions—you’re still faced with one important question:

Why order from a company that refuses to allow exchanges if you’re not satisfied?

The answer to that question is up to every consumer. However, considering that the prices listed on Focallure are within $1-$5 of the listed prices for brand name products available at your local Sephora, Ulta, or Target, we know where we’d feel more comfortable shopping.

Editor's Note: This Editorial Review was published on April 7, 2017 using publicly available information at the time of research located at www.shopfocallure.com. Information is subject to change on www.shopfocallure.com. Please visit main company website for latest details.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

414 Consumer Reviews for Focallure

Average Consumer Rating: 2.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 133 4 star: 69 3 star: 19 2 star: 23 1 star:  170
Bottom Line: 51% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 414
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not order from here

    I ordered a few things on their website in March and still haven't received them, but if course they took my money! There is no contact number or email. I've tried multiple times to get a response or money back and received nothing! DO NOT order from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • May 1, 2017

      Nataly, Beauty Expert

      Hello Kaliope,

      We are sorry that you feel that way, and that you haven't received your order yet. Your order left our warehouse five days after the payment confirmation has been completed. Shipping tracking information was sent to your email, and it is now in transit. You should expect to receive your order within couple days. Please contact our customer service department in the future using the email mentioned on our website support@shopfocallure.com.

      In case there are any issues with the carrier that was delivering your package, we will reship your order, or refund the full amount paid with your card. If by any chance, you are not satisfied with any of the products purchased, you have 30 days to apply for a refund, no questions asked!

      Best regards,

      Nik Popov

      Senior of Customer Service

    • May 4, 2017

      Rachel

      I ordered two push-up bras on April 22nd, and I still haven't received them. They immediately took the money out of my account. I contacted customer service a few days ago with my order number and never received a response. This is obviously a scam! Do not order anything from this company.

    • Jul 6, 2017

      Crystal

      I order Focallure products from the Wish app. Yes, Focallure is a Chinese company and they also sell products on AliExpress as well. I've received every product that I ordered from Focallure on Wish. So far I've been relatively satisfied with their liquid lipsticks. But, they are a Chinese company and there are Chinese letters on the boxes that give that fact away.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No delivery yet

    It's been 30 days (3/30/17) since I ordered for the Lift Bra and I'm yet to have it delivered. The only contact is via email, and they have only responded once with an unclear answer. So far, it doesn't look good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Tina P,

      Dear Loretta,

      We're extremely sorry that you had to face such difficulties. We may not be able to change the past but if you give us a chance, we will completely make it up to you. Our Customer Happiness Officer will contact you to know more about the issue you faced, and I can assure you that we will do our best to solve each and every issue.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Still no product!

    • May 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two push-up bras on April 22nd. Immediately the money was taken out of my account, but I still haven't received my product. Emails to customer service have not been returned. Save yourself the trouble and shop elsewhere!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Didn't your mama teach you not to tell lies?

    On 4/21/17 I placed an order using my PayPal account.

    This is the shipping policy copied from their site:

    STANDARD GROUND EXPEDITED U.S. SHIPPING (2-8 BUSINESS DAYS)

    U.S. orders will be shipped via UPS, FedEx, DHL, or U.S. Postal Service Priority Mail. Most packages arrive within 2-8 business days. (not a guaranteed service)

    $4.95 charge for all U.S. orders under $25.00 - Above it's FREE!

    $24.88 charge for Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands countries. (Free above $100.00)

    *U.S orders under 0.03 lbs will be shipped by non-trackable service. Delivery within 7 days.

    Alrighty, so on May 1st I attempted to track my order through the form on their site, but nothing for my order could be found. Also, on May 1st I then emailed them, because even though their site proudly states "24/7 customer support" there is no contact info anywhere to be found other than an email address. When my message sent, I received a confirmation stating that I should get a response within 8-12 hours. Again, what happened to 24/7 support?

    After the first email, I received no response.

    On May 2nd I emailed again. There was no response as of the morning of May 4th (today).

    On May 4th I go to their Facebook page and send a message. No response on Facebook, but later in the day I get an email response (three days after I sent the first email) stating that my order is already on its way, with a USPS tracking number, and then it says that the tracking number may not work for a few days (?).

    Remember the site says that when they use USPS, they ship Priority, which takes three business days anywhere in the US. I run a business and ship daily. I know this. I ordered two weeks ago, Priority takes three days, but the tracking number isn't working yet? Hogwash! If priority tracking won't be available for a few days as they stated, and as it shows on the USPS site, that means that the package has not actually been picked up and scanned in by the USPS, which means that they haven't shipped it. They have only printed the postage for it, which will print a tracking number, but nothing will show up on the USPS until they get it and scan it in. In other words, they are a big ole' liars and my order has not shipped, it has just been printed.

    More verification. I go back to the site package tracking form, and when I put on my order, I get a screen saying: "Order placed: April 21. Order Ready: May 4." And then it has "in transit," "out for delivery," and "delivered," and those three spots are all blank.

    So much for their "2-8 business days" delivery. That can't really happen when they don't even have it ready to ship until day nine (13 days after the order was placed), now can it? Extra long story short, their site is nothing but lies as far as delivery time and customer support. It should NOT take three days to reply, nor should it take 13 days to pack up my one little item to ship. Shoot, it probably won't actually get shipped until day 14.

    Lastly, what really sent me over the edge was the blatant lie in the email saying my package is on its way when I know for a fact it has not yet been picked up by USPS.

    Lesson learned. I will never shop with this company again. Through my research, I have found the exact same item for half their cost elsewhere anyway. Lies, a total lack of customer support, and price gouging. That's a quality business model they have there.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • May 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not buy the backless, strapless, push-up sticky bra if you are looking for lift and support. It does NOT work and is a total waste of money! They will not refund you either. I threw mine right into the trash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this

    • New York,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't bother buying this. It's two months later and I never even got my item. All the reviews there are fake, and the tracking number they gave me wasn't even real.

    I doubt I'll even get my money back at this point.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Slow to ship

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 30, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took 18 days to even ship! No warning of this. In fact, when I ordered it, the message said delivery was 3 days. Still hasn't arrived! Hardly worth it, I asked for a refund they just ignored and shipped days later.

    With the way the emails are written I dont think they're professional in anyway and I am pretty sure they are not English.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Worst company to do business with

    I have never had such a bad experience ordering online.

    I placed an order with this company and after I was told the product was out of stock and would not be available in time for my trip (that I needed it for), I canceled my order. They refused to cancel my order, and I ended up canceling my order three times in writing. A month later I received the package and immediately refused it. It went back to them, and I just got word today that they are sending it back to me.

    Who does business like this? I have filed a complaint with PayPal.

    DO NOT order from Focallure!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    You won't get product and customer service is hell!

    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Jun 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I never received products, and customer service is TERRIBLE to work with. They give you every excuse in the book: "standard shipping time," "tracking numbers unavailable." On top of working with five DIFFERENT "agents" during the last interaction, I had them actually resort to pointing the finger at me and accusing me of "not asking for a refund" (which I did at least three times before I filed a fraud complaint with my bank).

    COMPLETE scam and waste of time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Nothing like described

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jun 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The website is all wrong; it has no details of the sizes of the products. They claim to be cruelty-free, but I have checked with PETA, and they are NOT registered, and their products are NOT cruelty-free.

    I got delivered a small tub of sand! It was supposed to be a body scrub, but there was no labeling, just a completely blank pot. Very dodgy. It took over a month to arrive and cost nearly $30. Very poor service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No

    I am a high-end makeup purchaser. Makeup, not necessarily facial regime. I go to MD QUALITY. I expect what is advertised. However, just like any online purchase, you gamble. So I purchased three colors.

    This is the worst lip color, gloss, and lipstick I have encountered. It is sticky, then dry and cotton-like. The sparkles float onto your face. SERIOUSLY! If I had not opened the package and ripped it, and tried one, I'd be returning them. I tried all three. Color is off. For sure the texture is awful. It's bad, bad, bad. If you want a cotton ball on your lips, and that what you're getting. Gritty and horrible.

    I love Chanel lip gloss, always have. I thought this would be similar. Oh my goodness, pay for one tube of Chanel before even wasting your time. Sorry, but I'm just super disappointed and waited a long time for the product. So then when it completely sucked, I decided to write this review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 414

Write a Review for Focallure!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review