GOLO Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
GOLO Diet

Overall Rating

3.4

64 Customer Reviews

Summary

GOLO is a diet program designed to help aid weight loss through exercise, meal plans, and its Release supplement. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.4 Stars out of 64 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:34%
63% Recommend This Company
Start your review of GOLO Diet:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 18, 2016

Don't Waste Your Time

By Shannon, New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the GOLO Starter Kit, and although their website says you have 40 days to return it if you aren't satisfied, they do NOT pay for the return shipping costs. They'll give you the $1.00 back, but big whoop, they can keep the dumb dollar! They pretty much hold your credit card hostage until they receive the box back, or they'll charge you the full amount.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Shannon, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our return policy. You are correct we do not pay the return shipping on products sent back to us as we offer free shipping at the time of order. I am not sure what you mean by ‘hold your credit card hostage’ but most companies do not refund the amount you paid until you return the products to them. Our $1 trial gave our customers 40 days to decide if they wanted to keep it and we feel that was a fair amount of time.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 325 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2016

I feel like I was deceived.

By Linda Richard , United States, Verified Reviewer

Should have known the so called trial of this product was not what it seemed like to me at first. I did not sign up for anything more than the advertised $1 trial. Everything else they tried to get me to buy, I declined. I was charged the one dollar and was happy to try their product. Today, I was charged nearly $60 on my credit card. I have no idea what the charge is for. Don't get cheated by their too good to be true trial. I beginning to think it's never a good idea to give any of these online deals your credit card info. Beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Linda, We are sorry that there was some confusion with our $1 trial offer. At the time, our program was priced at $59.90, with a $1 trial offer. With that offer you received our complete plan for $1, plus free shipping. If at the end of 40 days we did not receive the product back, you were charged the balance of $58.90. Because you decided to keep the program, you were charged this amount. We do not ‘try to get you to buy anything’ but we did offer additional supplements at the time of order. If you chose additional supplements, you were still only charged the $1. We feel our offer was very fair and many people have benefited from having the ability to try our program before totally investing in it.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 308 People Have Voted

Posted on May 31, 2016

Unhappy!

By Lynette Hardin, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I saw the ad on TV and decided to order this, well the price was $39.99 so I thought I would definitely try this. When I checked out, it charged my credit card $109.00 not the $39.99! That should tell us all something. I immediately called their customer service. They were closed so I left a voice mail. It's been four days and no return call. It's a good thing I have my bank to dispute the charge.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Lynette, We are sorry that we were unable to return your call promptly. Our office hours are Monday-Friday 9-5 EST. We try to return calls and emails promptly so I apologize. According to our records we did credit you the amount that was ordered inadvertently and, because we were unable to stop the shipment, you were sent the additional products gratis. If that is incorrect, please contact us at 800-730-4656 to discuss. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 289 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 26, 2016

Bogus!

By Ceci, Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this product a little over a month ago and I am here to tell you that this stuff wasn't for me and the customer service group are rude as heck.

I did not get my money back, the product doesn't work and I am warning you so that you don't get ripped pop like I did. Save your hard earned money. My advice is to get on a good healthy food plan and work out regularly and you will see results.

Shame on GOLO for preying on the vulnerable! They should be ashamed. The only thing I have to say to them is that Karma is a, you know what.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Ceci,

When we spoke with you today, you advised us that you were only able to use the product for a few days and had to stop due to a sensitivity to one of the ingredients.

You returned the supplements to us but threw away the rest of the items that came in the Rescue Plan. We issued you a refund for the items that were returned and advised you that we would be happy to issue a refund for the additional amount if you could return the other items. I am sorry that you were unhappy with this response however we did do all that we could for you and we did refund you in full for the items that were returned.

GOLO has helped many people who had previously been unable to lose weight by "getting on a good healthy food plan and working out". It is not always that easy especially for those with Insulin Resistance. Again, we are sorry that we were unable to issue you a full refund and if you are able to locate the other items we would still be more than happy to issue the final refund when you are able to return them to us.

Helpful Review? 286 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2016

GOLO Weight Loss Pills

By Lisa King, Utah, Verified Reviewer

I was just looking at their website and had clicked on the 90 day plan. It automatically processes your order and doesn't give you an opportunity to actually "confirm" your order. I don't really see how I "saved" 30.00 either since one bottle is 29.95 anyway. So I was charged $89.85. I requested a cancelation on my order twice with no response from GOLO whatsoever. Due to being on vacation I could not refuse the package upon arrival. I don't see any return policy offered to the customers.

Since taking this product I have not lost any weight whatsoever and I do not feel any different health-wise either. I have a couple of months worth of the product left but do not expect to see any results whatsoever. I have cleaned up my diet and have started an exercise regimen. I was hoping for a little jump start but am not seeing it at all with GOLO. I would not recommend this product to anyone. You'll only be losing weight in your wallet or bank account. I think losing weight with "a pill" is an impossibility and I'm going to quit buying these alleged weight loss pills from companies. Save your money. This product does not work at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Lisa, We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems while ordering GOLO. When you click the ‘order’ button, you are actually placing an order.

Our 30 day plan (one bottle) is $39.95, not $29.95. With this plan you receive the Release supplement, our meal plan, free online membership and our other booklets to help you follow the program. I have personally reviewed our cancellation requests and we have had no luck finding one for your order. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee on our program, this is notated multiple times on our website.

If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 272 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 17, 2016

Unbelieveable

By Cheryl, Columbus, Ohio, Verified Reviewer

If you are to the point I was at, where you decided to never to buy a quote, "diet plan" again but know healthy eating and exercise is the only thing that works then This is for you! I have been on it two weeks and have lost 7 lbs. Since the first day I have not been hungry at all. I am truly amazed. I am 47 and cannot budge my weight normally. I have critical sleep apnea which over long term has given me serious sinus issues. Two specialists told me I would never feel normal in my head again. I am not kidding, three days into the diet, I had a 85% improvement.

I have energy I haven't had since I was young. This is not auto ship and totally worth it. P.S. I normally don't write reviews but if someone else with weight/health problems can benefit, I want you to know this it the way to do it. I feel control, even keeled, no moodiness or depression!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 271 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2016

GOLO is a lot of work

By Gary Cline, Novato, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am writing this review in the hopes that readers will learn more about my personal experiences with the GOLO plan and hopefully benefit. To begin, I purchased the plan in July of 2016 and received my GOLO "box" toward the end of July. My official "start" date was August 2nd, 2016. My starting weight was 183.5 pounds. I had already lost about 5 pounds from my high of 188 pounds on July 15th. My goal weight is 165 - 170 pounds.

By my simple calculations a GOLO Fuel Point is equal to about 3.12 calories. You can see, for example that two eggs equals 50 GOLO points and when multiplied by 3.12, equals about 156 calories, the standard for two 50 gram eggs. So, when you extrapolate this out further for me, my GOLO daily food allowance is 450 points plus 58 "Fit Points" for walking/jogging for 45 minutes a day. You get a total "Daily Fuel Allowance" of 508 points which, when multiplied by 3.12 you get the caloric equivalent of 1,584 in what I call the "Caloric Fuel Allowance."

GOLO says you can go 10% below or 10% higher than your "Daily Fuel Allowance" which, for me would be between 457 points (1426 calories) and 558 points (1743 calories).

I am 67 years old, 5'10" and I know that my Body Weight Maintenance level is approximately 1500 calories/Day. Theoretically, If I consume less than that I lose weight, and the converse is true also. However, I know positively that the only way I can and do lose weight is by consuming around 1,000 calories (or less) a day. This is because with my Maintenance Level at 1500 calories, I would not and did not lose weight on the GOLO Plan.

But don't get me wrong here. I'm not bashing the GOLO Plan at all. But now, having tried it for 4 weeks, I realized what was going on and I've made adjustments to the plan that are specific to me and only me. I totally agree with all the GOLO "Matrix Meal Plan" and all of the nutritional advice about eating Real Food, etc. That has helped me a lot. But what I've done is just to simply scale back the portion sizes so that my daily caloric equivalent comes out to 1,000 or less per day. At this rate I figure I'm losing 500 calories a day from my maintenance level of 1500, which equates to 500 times 6 = 3,000 less calories a week, which equals one pound. I can see why so many people have failed using the GOLO Plan out of the box and why it has received so many bad to horrible reviews here. I think that this plan would work best for people who are less than 40 and are simply obese or morbidly obese. Do I think that the GOLO support staff could do a better job? Absolutely! But this plan is similar in a lot of ways to Weight Watchers except WW allows you way, way too much food and calories.

One last thing. The special "Release" supplement is no magic pill. I think it does help some with regularity issues associated with just about any "diet" but the truth is you can take a 250mg Magnesium supplement and achieve the same, or better, results and it's a lot cheaper.

Hope this review helps.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 254 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2016

Just started so can't give 5-STARS yet

By Robin Vecchio, Sunnyvale, CA, Verified Reviewer

Heard about this on a TV commercial twice (Not an infomercial; they don't really hard-sell). As one with a lot of stress, high blood pressure, type-2 diabetes & obesity, I was very interested in a product that talked about helping with INSULIN RESISTANCE, but also claimed to offer restoration of overall health, in general.

So, being one who DOES NOT have money to spend, and DOES NOT try just anything and everything that's new on the market, I did a TON of in-depth research on GOLO: reviews, videos, philosophy, product ingredients, approach, and SUCCESS STORIES! I even called the company and spoke to a manager because the phone rep didn't have all the answers to my many questions. I have tried a lot of weight-loss plans (Weight Watchers 3x, Jenny Craig, The Food Lovers Diet, Deal-a-Meal, etc.), and was NOT successful.

What is different about GOLO than all the others is 1) IT'S AFFORDABLE, 2) there's NO AUTO SHIP (so everything is in the control of the consumer), 3) there is FREE SHIPPING, 4) there's a 30-day Money Back Guarantee, 5) the supplement is ALL NATURAL INGREDIENTS with NO CAFFEINE, & most importantly 6) this program encompasses ALL OUR BODY NEEDS to get back in metabolic balance & optimal health: RIGHT NUTRIENTS of RIGHT (whole, unprocessed) foods of right proportions, and the right amount daily movement.

I realized eating the foods recommended is not only healthier but CHEAPER. I tossed out all my processed/boxed items, cleaned out my refrigerator of junk food (except for the 1/2 carton of ice cream for when I want a "cheat") & though still learning "the system" am already feeling better on Day-3!

GOLO offers a lot of support, online, by phone, email & even a closed Facebook Group where you get inspiration, discuss challenges, discover recipes, and get support from other GOLOists. The power of success lies in the hands of the consumer that will make it or break it for them. GOLO does not force you to buy their foods, does not auto-ship, ships for FREE, offers an optional exercise plan (w/bands) but just recommends any sort of exercise/movement daily to help you get healthier overall, and tells you the foods (whole/unprocessed) you need to get healthier, and which ones to avoid.

This program has a lot of testimonies of successful people who have lowered their blood pressure as well as their A1C, triglycerides, etc., as well as lost inches in their middle, lost weight, gained more energy, slept better and had less stress! For $30/bottle (or $50/for 2) it's TOTALLY worth the investment, but like with anything...What you put into it will depend on what you get out of it.

GO GOLO!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 14, 2016

Robin,

I am so glad to hear that you are satisfied with the program. Please keep us informed of your progress! :)

Helpful Review? 243 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2016

DO NOT order this product.

By Tracy, TX, Verified Reviewer

Ordered this for my Mom. She did not like the product after giving it a shot for over 2 weeks. Said it made her tired and irritable. Called the GOLO company to see about getting a refund. Their policy is 30 days FROM the date you order. So tell me why a company offering a bonafide​ weight loss product would have in essence a NO REFUND policy. Because they are crooks and know their product does NOT work and WILL NOT refund your money. 30 days from the date of order. (They could technically take 29 days to deliver it and then you would be totally screwed.) Even half way legit companies selling weight loss products give more than a 30 trial period. I would have rather put $90 on a roulette table. Better odds.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Tracy, We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with GOLO. I can understand ‘not liking a product’, however, many things can make you feel tired and irritable when following a new eating program, especially if you eliminate processed food, caffeine, sugars or other foods. Note: Most supplement products are not returnable once opened. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee, this is notated multiple times on our website and also in our terms and conditions. We have worked very hard to offer an affordable, healthy weight loss solution and feel our return policy is fair. Our orders are shipped promptly the following business day from the order date, and we offer 3 day priority shipping.

If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 239 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2016

Don't Be Fooled

By Brad E., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I tried this product for the last 30 days, in hopes of expediting my weight loss journey. Unfortunately, I gained 6 lbs over the 30 days. When I called to initiate a return authorization, they said sorry you missed your return window (by 3 days). Don't be fooled.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 14, 2016

We are sorry to hear that GOLO did not work out for you. Because this review does not include your name we are unable to verify your account and order date. GOLO's Rescue Plan includes the Release supplement and a patented meal plan that when used together have helped many people lose weight the healthy way. Because we have not spoken to you, we have no way to confirm your compliance to our program.

Most companies have a return policy and ours is clearly notated multiple times on our website and is displayed during the ordering process. We offer free support to our customers at any time especially if they are having trouble on the plan. Please feel free to give me a call at 1-800-730-4656 for assistance.

Helpful Review? 239 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2016

The Expense That Keeps On Taking…

By Chris, Moorpark, California, Verified Reviewer

Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don't forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop.

The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That's no secret.

Golo addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you're not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet.

Aside from various fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in Golo Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price Golo charges.

The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor's advice.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 7, 2016

Hi Chris, We are sorry that you may not have had a great experience with GOLO. We do not have enough information from this review to confirm but on first check we cannot find a customer from Moorpark, CA with the first name Chris. Because Highya does not require you to verify that you are an actual customer, we cannot confirm if you actually tried our product or may have just been given some false information. If you would like to give us your full name we can look up your order to see what happened and try to rectify.

I have responded to each of your comments below in an effort to address your concerns:

"Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don’t forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop."

- At GOLO we do not believe in ‘auto-ship’ or ‘auto-bill’. You are only charged for your initial order. After that, we feel it is up to the customer’s discretion on whether they want or need to continue taking our Release supplement. Our no auto-ship/auto-bill policy is listed over 8 times on our website. Our system does not even have the ability to charge a card after the first order so there is no way that we could continue to charge you.

"The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That’s no secret."

- Although it may seem that ‘eating right and exercising’ is ‘common sense’, in order to lose weight effectively it’s a bit more complicated than that. Our program includes our patented meal plan that is personalized to an individual’s energy needs, not just a ‘one size fits all’ diet. And as many people can attest to, just eating right or exercising has not been successful for many.

"GOLO addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you’re not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet."

- GOLO is for anyone who is trying to lose weight and not just those who are pre-diabetic or diabetic. Anyone who is overweight may be producing too much insulin. When this occurs, insulin begins to work against you, making it difficult to release fat from the body, and easy to gain weight. Managing insulin is critical for effective and lasting weight loss.

"Aside from fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in GOLO Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price GOLO charges."

- Our Release supplement is an all-natural, plant based formula that includes 10 active ingredients of which Inositol is one of the ingredients in the proprietary blend. Flaxseed oil is a natural, organic non-active ingredient (binder) in the Release supplement. Our 90 day supply of Release sells for $89.85. There have been over 200 studies on the efficacy and safety of the ingredients in the Release supplement. Included with the Release supplement is our patented meal plan including our 7 day Kickstart plan, membership to our online membership site, and other booklets to support your weight loss journey. Our product is one of the most affordable weight loss programs on the market and is safe and effective.

"The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor’s advice."

- While this advice seems like sensible advice, over 2/3 of our society is overweight or obese. GOLO was created to introduce a total healthcare solution that specifically targets weight gain, obesity and obesity-related conditions and diseases such as type 2 diabetes and heart disease. We want to empower individuals to become better informed, more self-reliant and motivated to take control of their weight and to adopt a healthy lifestyle that will help them achieve a better quality of life. GOLO has helped people all over the world achieve sustainable weight loss and better health through the GOLO Rescue Plan. Numerous doctors not only follow GOLO, but recommend GOLO to their patients.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any further questions at 800-730-4656

Sincerely,
Jackie

Helpful Review? 224 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 26, 2016

Another scam

By Paula Williams, Santa Cruz, CA, Verified Reviewer

I did this and nothing happened. I thought I have insulin resistance, but if I do, this product made no difference. Keep your money and just eat a balanced diet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Paula, We are sorry to hear that you did not get the results you were looking for with GOLO. From this review we cannot tell how long you followed GOLO. Depending on how much weight you need to lose, current health status (including insulin resistance) and how closely you followed our plan, results will vary. Our program is not a ‘quick-fix’ or a ‘magic pill’, but a healthy, affordable and sustainable way to lose weight and improve your health.

If you would like to further discuss your results, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 208 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 24, 2016

GREAT PLAN, 10 pounds off in 11 days.

By Susan, Lake Wylie, SC, Verified Reviewer

I got my package 11 days ago. I have followed it to the T. I have lost 10 pounds in 11 days. I read every booklet and took everything as exactly as they said. I'm amazed, as nothing else has worked, and I can't afford NutriSystem, and the food on Nutrisystem has horrible ratings. So I couldn't see paying $300 a month, for a bunch of garbage.

You have to do what GOLO says which means NO processed foods, No snacking of any kind. I have eaten WHOLE foods, and just the right amounts. I am not hungry, and I feel great.

Prior, I couldn't even get out of bed in mornings. I'd go back to sleep after I dropped my kids at school. Since I started with GOLO, I only did that 1 time in the last 11 days as I have a lot more energy.

I'm motivated but if you don't do what they say. it isn't going to work, I don't guess. It was a little confusing and overwhelming at first, but I got used to what portions were, and what I could eat and now I'm good.

I stay at home, so I have more time to prepare and work at it. For snacks, I eat a handful of raw almonds or raw pecans and drink only water and follow their matrix structured meals. I don't have many cravings at all for sweets and my scale has been a great motivator. I weigh myself at the same time, right when I get up each morning with no clothes. It's important to weigh yourself at the same time each morning as weight fluctuates during the day. This is the only true way to know if you are gaining or losing weight.

During my second week, I began to exercise for 20 minutes a day. This is my third day of exercise. It does work. I take 2 pills with each meal because I have a lot of weight to lose (62 pounds to be exact). Not sure I will get all of it off but I am motivated and I feel so much better. I have high hopes that I can do it now.

The cost of the supplements are not that bad either, and you don't have to take them forever. As for Nutrisystem, as soon as you stop buying/eating their food, boom, the weight is back.

Can you eat bars and drinks for your whole life? I can't. This is real food, so how can you go wrong? Plus it is quite a bit of food I would say. Try GOLO if you are serious about changing your life and committing to what you have to do.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 196 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 24, 2016

No results

By Natalie I., Boca Raton, FL, Verified Reviewer

After struggling to lose weight with working out -- walking several miles per week, minimizing intake of carbs, and following the Insulin-resistance diet to maintain blood sugar levels. I had hoped that in taking the Golo supplement, that these nutrients would help my body to metabolize more effectively to produce weight loss.

As I opened the Golo package, a bunch of leaflets dropped out. I found the directions for the eating plan confusing. So, after just not "getting" the diet plan, I read the book The Insulin Resistance Diet. I have been following that and taking the Golo.

I followed the instructions and consistently took a Golo pill with my meals. However, after more than 30 days I have just not seen the results that other people have shared. I recognize that this product is not a magic pill. However, it just didn't work for me. I have no issues with the customer service people, as I was charged properly and my shipment arrived as ordered. The issue is the product just doesn't seem to be effective in helping me reach my goals of weight loss.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Natalie,

I am sorry that you found the plan confusing and I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally to assist you with the plan. I am not completely familiar with the book that you refer to however, I do know that if you were following it you should be able to follow ours AND it will most likely be much easier. Please call me directly at 800-730-4656.

Helpful Review? 187 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2016

Don't waste your money

By Samantha Emmons, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I got this for my father and thought it would help him lose weight. He has been on GOLO for 120 days and has not lost anything at all. All it did was make him feel sick and made him very constipated. No one in this company ever calls you back. There is no refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Samantha, We are sorry to hear that your father has not lost weight with GOLO. Results may vary depending on how closely the program is being followed and/or current health status. Our program includes the Release supplement along with a patented meal plan that has helped many people lose weight and improve their overall health. We also offer free support and coaching via phone or email and try to return calls and emails promptly. We noticed that you received your order on 4/25, which means that as of the time of this review your father would have been on GOLO for about 70 days. We would be more than happy to talk with him to see how we can help. We are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 184 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 13, 2016

Does it work?

By Joanna, Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I needed something that was safe & didn't make me sick to my stomach taking it. I had tried Metformin (which made my stomach a mess & is no longer prescribed by doctors). I read a review that said Golo was a scam but I'm not one for gossip & figured if none of them died after trying it I'd give it a shot. I used it for 2-3 months then went for a clinical blood test. When the doctor reviewed the blood test she said "Now that's what we like to see! Your A1c is 7." I don't know anything about A1c but she was happy 'til I told her I wasn't taking any of the sugar meds they had prescribed but was taking Golo. I haven't been trying to lose weight and I haven't been going with any foods I like either. At 73 I want to enjoy my foods before I kick the bucket & this is no scam Folks. This supplement does feed the pancreas & did the job for me. I was diagnosed as a type 2 diabetic at 36. I'm 73 now so if this works for me imagine what it can do for a younger person.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing.

Helpful Review? 177 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 7, 2016

Excellent Program

By Pamela, Plainfield, WI, Verified Reviewer

This is day three of starting and I am already down 3 pounds. I have found with Release my cravings for sweets has diminished. I also find I am not really all that hungry, but I follow the plan for meals anyway. Once you figure out the Matrix, it is very easy to follow. Similar to Weight Watchers only healthier as you make balanced meal choices. It is portion control and you can have desert is you desire, just calculate the meal value. I can even enjoy a glass of wine.

I first saw the ad for this about two months ago and thought this is just another one of those auto ship things. Boy was I wrong. It is so affordable and the last diet you will ever need, as it is lifestyle change eating REAL food. I am pre-diabetic which was concerning me and I did not want to go on insulin. I feel this is a game changer for me and will ward off any future issues with diabetes.

I do wish they would come up with a cookbook. That would be awesome. In the meantime, it is simple enough to figure out meals. I know it says not to lose too fast, so I am guessing it is more water weight at first and will taper off to normal weight loss. I am so glad I took the chance and am very impressed with the materials to get one started.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Oct 18, 2016

Pamela,

We are so happy to hear that the program is going well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress and don't forget to join the GOLO Members Facebook group! :)

Helpful Review? 164 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 6, 2017

Best program!

By Dawn, Lake Worth, FL, Verified Reviewer

I have tried SO many different programs and diets, and nothing has worked. I saw GOLO advertised on TV, but I thought it was just another gimmick. When my husband saw it, he researched it and told me to try it.

I did the seven-day kickstart program, and after the week was up, I weighed myself and just about fell over; I lost eight pounds! I didn't always eat exactly what was in the kickstart program because I didn't like everything, but I substituted with something similar. I like how I can have fruit and potatoes, and even bread! I don't understand the insulin thing, but it's definitely working. I'm not hungry, and I'm not craving other foods.

I am so happy I found this program!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 161 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2016

Using the positives of the Golo program

By Anonymous, Verified Reviewer

So far, I've lost 3 inches of belly fat and 5 pounds in about 6 weeks. And that's with a holiday family picnic in there with over indulging. A past member of Weight Watchers, I am not a fan of counting and micro managing day to day eating logs. So getting into Golo's Fuel Points was quickly tossed aside. I truly don't like the idea of trying to calculate how much more you can eat every time you add a little more exercise/activity into your day, too. To me, that is too much food-focused living.

Golo also focuses on making your own healthier foods instead of eating prepackaged items. While ideal, this is tough for people with busy schedules out of the house. Their recommended cooking roughly 2 hours a week works here for some meals, but supplementing with canned soups and other prepackaged items is more realistic still. That may and should evolve over time: goal here.

Note: it is summer, too hot to heat up the kitchen. Crockpot cooking in the basement is the focus now.

What works best here is to review their basic food plan, skip all the points calculating and nonsense, and instead use common sense. Develop your own customized plan with their tools. I add in some of Weight Watcher's basics (like visual measuring with servings) and Weigh Down Workshop plus Overeaters Anon for handling cravings, binges and other issues.

Also, instead of using their Facebook closed group, I prefer Overeaters Anon group. The Golo FB group focuses way too much on fuel points and how many are in every item in a recipe and so on. It's like Golo strives to compete with the Weight Watcher's point system, which is crazy because WW has spent tons of time, money and people hours building that so members quickly get points with tech tools. Golo will have a long way to go to catch up.

The price for the plan and product seem fine, even for the exercise band. Shipping was prompt. Customer service is quick & courteous via email, Facebook and on the phone. The staff seem to try to work with you to find the positives and customize a working plan for your lifestyle. So 2 thumbs up!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

This is great to hear! Thanks so much for keeping us informed.

Helpful Review? 124 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 12, 2016

Weight loss on Golo

By Lisa, Marshalltown, IA, Verified Reviewer

I started taking Golo at the end of March 2016. I have lost 20 pounds since I started this program and I feel great! My face has shrunk and my overall appearance has decreased. I look and feel more healthy and slimmer.

I am more confident and my A1C is 5.5! I had been back and forth from 5.7 -6.2. I feel like Golo has helped me maintain my weight and I still want to drop another 10 pounds. I have lost weight before but I feel like I am losing fat this time and it shows. Thanks Golo.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Lisa,

This is great news! We are so happy to hear that things are going well for you. Please keep us updated.

Helpful Review? 122 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2016

Still working on it

By Candi Rivera, Roselle, NJ, Verified Reviewer

GOLO seems so far to be working for me and I hope that the weight loss is going to work too.

So far I feel good and my body totally feels different and better. I will weigh myself on Sunday, it has been three weeks now so I believe it's time to get on the scale. Ever since I started cooking the meals and eating the breakfast plan I have been noticing and feeling full, not hungry after every meal.

I am a full blown diabetic for 30 years now so my weight has been a challenge with the ups and downs of weight control. Here goes nothing and I am hoping this is my last stop.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 122 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2016

Over the moon!

By Keona, Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I have had major problems losing weight for awhile. Lost 60 pounds on my own but then the scale hit a complete stop, I did everything imaginable. I was very against taking what I called short cuts but the hard workouts calorie cutting made my lack of results more depressing and the scale slowly started creeping back up again. Before I knew it 15 pounds of my progress was back on me. I have been following the Golo road map and I am proud to say that I have taken 6 of those 15 pounds off in 9 days. I would highly recommend this program to anyone.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 104 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 5, 2017

My new way of life

By Melinda, Los Angeles, CA, Verified Reviewer

Prior to GOLO, I have tried everything; shakes, no carb, low carb, dairy free, you name it. I decided to try GOLO because I felt out of control, and I looked like it too.

I took a day or two to go over the meal plans and system and then did my shopping. The food choices are so open. This eating really becomes what you want it to be, with the exception of processed food. The inches came off quicker than the pounds, but at day 53, I had lost 20 lbs and 6 inches off my waist. You will never worry about going hungry, as the food is plentiful. You can still have dairy and bread and lose weight.

I am now down 30 lbs and two pant sizes. This is it for me. The GOLO way of life is mine.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you. Please keep us informed of your progress! Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 96 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2018

Product Changed - Does Not Work

By Felix G., Oklahoma City, OK, Verified Reviewer

The Release dietary supplement initially put out by GOLO (containing Magnesium 30 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Chromium 70 mcg, and a Proprietary Blend of 405 mg was phenomenal. It was ideal for insulin management and weight loss. I know for I experienced it. I lost a lot of weight and my blood sugar was under control. However, not long ago, they changed the product by SIGNIFICANTLY reducing all the supplement ingredients. It is now a piece of junk. It no longer works. Tried to contact Customer Service about it. No response. The price for the product remains the same for the three-month supply. This means less cost for the company and more profit. No longer does this company seem to care about its customers or effectiveness of their product. It's just about profits. I will no longer purchase their product or recommend them to anyone else as I used to. Food for thought before you consider buying this product. Don't waste your hard-earned money! I recommend you research a competitor for their products. Good luck.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

May 29, 2018

Hi Felix!

GOLO reformulated our product in June 2017 however, the change actually increased the active ingredients in the proprietary blend and has received much better reviews from our customers. You see, the original supplement was a soft gel that was not vegetarian and it was also rather large and difficult for some to swallow. Based on customer feedback we made the decision to make a smaller, vegetarian pill. In order to do this, the ingredients were switched to powder instead of liquid. When the ingredients are delivered in powdered form, they are actually more concentrated than they are in liquid and this is how we were able to increase the potency in the new capsule that we offer.

Since the change, our customers have reported an increase in energy and much better results. I am truly sorry to hear that you feel that they don't work as well. I would love to speak with you personally to try to resolve your concerns. Please call 800-730-4656 and ask to speak with Eden.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 64 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2017

Horrible side effects

By Lena Polk, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

GOLO Release capsules elevated my blood pressure so high I had to be admitted to the hospital through the ER. I had to stay for two days trying to get my blood pressure down. My Endocrinologist informed me that Rhodiola can significantly raise blood pressure.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 58 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

It's not working for me

By John Heil, Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have been following a calorie count and taking the pills as per the instructions and have lost no weight. I am even walking and cannot lose weight. This is very disappointing. I was hoping this plan would work, but it's just like any other diet plan making promises but not delivering.

I really was hoping GOLO was the answer I needed. I was really interested in this plan because I've tried others that didn't work.

Well be wary what you read and consult your doctor first, which I didn't, and learned later that he didn't think it would work. Well, lesson learned.

Now I'm going back to a nutritionist to get an eating clean plan that will fall in line with my needs and body type. I hope this will work because GOLO did not.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jun 1, 2017

Hi John!

I notice that you say you were "following a calorie count" but GOLO does not want you to count calories. In fact, we never want you to have to do that again!

If you were following a different plan then the one that came with your kit, that is probably why you didn't see the results you hoped for. The biggest problem with diets is that most people don't eat enough when on them. That is why we included a detailed plan to help you learn how to EAT to lose weight. Most of our customers are shocked that they are able to eat so much food and still lose!

I would be happy to assist you personally with your eating plan (remember we offer FREE coaching to all of our customers). Give me a call 800-730-GOLO!

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 27, 2018

It's worth the leap!

By Laura J., Paso Robles, CA, Verified Reviewer

My husband and I researched Golo for a couple of months after seeing it on a TV commercial. We decided that it was a clean, healthy and reasonably sustainable lifestyle change. I decided to take the leap and see what happens. I told myself, “As long as I feel better then it's worth it.”

The very first week I not only felt better but also lost weight. This cycle never stops. I am currently 34 lbs away from my 100 lb goal and I don't regret a single day!

It's worth it!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 21, 2019

Thank you so much for sharing your story Laura! We are so excited to follow your success story!

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 64

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.