Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Apr 30, 2020

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher claims to combat many forms of skin discoloration, including age spots, sun spots, and liver spots. This advanced serum promises to transform a blotchy, uneven skin tone to restore your skin and give you a more youthful appearance.

Dr. Gundry is an American doctor and author who formerly worked as a cardiac surgeon. He’s written numerous books on holistic wellness through a better diet and has released a line of supplements and skincare products designed to keep you looking young and feeling healthy.

The Dark Spot Diminisher’s formula contains a range of ingredients that will purportedly improve your skin’s health without adverse side effects, meaning that you can use it for the long term.

These claims aren’t unique within the anti-aging skincare industry. Does the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher stand out from other options? Our analysis of this premium product will help you decide if it is a good option for you.

Pros
  • Ingredients show clinical evidence for reducing dark spots
  • Minimal side effects associated with ingredients
  • Positive customer reviews indicate it works for many
Cons
  • Confusing pricing information
  • No ingredients that stand out compared to other dark spot treatments

How to Use It

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is a skincare serum designed for twice-daily use. The company suggests you apply it to your trouble spots twice daily in the morning and evening.

You can start by applying a dime-sized amount to your dark spots and surrounding areas, massaging it into your skin with gentle circular motions.

Make sure you leave it on for as long as possible before showering or otherwise rinsing it off so that the active ingredients have time to work.

Analysis of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher act as emollients, exfoliants, skin lightening agents, humectants, thickening agents, preservatives, natural sources of antioxidants, and other skin conditioning agents.

A few deserve a second look.

Bacillus ferment is an enzyme-based skin exfoliant that is used as an alternative to alpha hydroxy acid (AHA), a class of compounds that are often used to plump and smooth the skin while visibly brightening dark spots. Some people experience adverse side effects from AHA’s like burning, itching, or even blisters, so bacillus ferment is often used as a milder alternative with less risk of irritation.

Diglucosyl gallic acid, also known as trihydroxy benzoic acid alpha-glucoside, is a patented molecule that’s used to lighten skin pigmentation and brighten your overall skin tone. It can reduce dark spots and prevent new ones from forming.

Sodium hyaluronate is a common ingredient in anti-aging products because it will purportedly increase your collagen production to improve your skin’s elasticity and fill in fine lines and wrinkles. Clinical evidence shows that it will work as described, but only when taken as injections. There’s less evidence right now that it will work when used topically in a skin cream.

Diamond powder is often added to skincare products, both to increase their perceived value and to act as a natural exfoliant. The powder is commonly used as a brightener to disguise fine lines and wrinkles by reflecting light off your skin. However, this ingredient is listed low in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher, so you shouldn’t assume there’s much in it.

Finally, the serum includes a range of plant extracts that are known as polyphenols. Renowned for their high antioxidant content, polyphenols applied topically are considered an effective way to combat some of the causes of aging skin, including environmental damage and free radical exposure.

Overall, many ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher show promise for working as described to moisturize your skin and lighten your dark spots.

Possible Side Effects

According to the company website, all Dark Spot Diminisher ingredients are 100% safe for topical use and won’t lead to skin irritation when used correctly.

We didn’t uncover any known side effects throughout the research process, and in at least one case—bacillus ferment—a milder version of a popular ingredient is used to reduce irritation further.

If you tend to have sensitive skin, it’s still a good idea to perform a patch test before using this product. Dab a small amount on your arm and watch how your skin responds over 24 hours before applying it to your face.

Pricing and Money-Back Guarantee

Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is currently listed on the company’s official website at the following prices:

  • One Bottle: $120
  • Two Bottles: $228
  • Three Bottles: $324

However, we also found an “internet only promotion” offer from the company where the same-sized bottles of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher cost the following:

  • One Bottle: $49
  • Two Bottles: $86 ($43 each)
  • Three Bottles: $120 ($40 each)

In other words, you may want to shop around.

Shipping seems to be free for all purchases, and you can expect two to seven-day delivery.

All orders from the company website qualify for a 90-day money-back warranty that comes into effect on the day you make the purchase. Keep in mind that purchases from other retailers such as Amazon don’t qualify for this refund and that you’ll need to pay any return shipping costs.

You can initiate this process by contacting customer service at (800) 852-0477 or support@gundrymd.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

We have almost 500 reviews of the Gundy MD here at HighYa, and the product has averaged an impressive 4.2 stars, with 89% of users saying that they would recommend to it a friend. Here’s a closer look at what these customers want you to know:

Common Compliments:

  • Began to reduce dark spots within a week of use
  • Left hands looking younger after treatment
  • Works well if you prep your skin beforehand

Common Complaints:

  • Didn’t work as promised to lighten dark spots, even after months of use
  • The scent was too strong for some users
  • Results were too subtle for the cost
  • Left a reddish tone on some user’s skin
  • Some experienced delayed shipping

Popular Alternatives

Plenty of options are available today, promising to restore your skin and even out its coloring. Here’s a summary of how it compares to two popular products: the Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector and the City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector.

Gundry MD Polyphenol Dark Spot Diminisher Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector
Cost $120 per bottle (1-oz) $129.95 per bottle (1-oz) $72 per bottle (1-oz)
Key Ingredients Bacillus ferment, Diglucosyl gallic acid, Sodium hyaluronate, polyphenols Kakadu Plum, DermalRx, Daisy Flower Extract, Niacinamide Alpha Arbutin, Sepiwhite-MSH, Resveratrol
Average HighYa Rating 4.2, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.5, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.3, 89% would recommend to a friend

As this chart shows, both the Gundry MD and Beverly Hills MD dark spot treatments cost approximately the same amount, at over $120 per 1-oz bottle. The City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot is comparatively affordable at almost half the cost.

What’s interesting is that all three products rely on significantly different ingredients to achieve the same aim—fading dark spots on the skin. One consistency between them is that each contains a plethora of plant-based ingredients that act as natural sources of antioxidants and polyphenols to improve your skin naturally.

Each has also earned a stellar review from HighYa readers, averaging more than four stars and close to nine out of 10 readers recommending them to others.

In our estimation, this means that you can’t go wrong with experimenting with any one of these dark spot removers. Each company also offers a no-questions-asked return policy, so you will only be out the cost of shipping if you decide it isn’t right for you.

The Bottom Line: Is It Worth It?

Overall, the Gundry MD Dark Spot Corrector seems to be a viable option for improving your skin and fading dark spots. None of the product’s ingredients raised any red flags from a safety standpoint, and many show clinical evidence for improving your skin texture and tone so that you look younger.

One thing to be aware of is that this product seems to be sold at wildly varying price points across the web – even from the official company. We found savings of almost 60% per bottle on different websites, so we recommend shopping around before committing either way.

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher was a positive purchase for many reviewers, and there’s a good chance that you will have a similar experience. Just keep in mind that there are plenty of similar products available that will likely deliver the same level of results, so it’s worth shopping around.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher:
  • 519 Customer Reviews
  • 89% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 51% 4 star: 34% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 6%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Outstanding Product

    • By Susan S.,
    • Williamsville, NY,
    • Sep 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I followed the instructions to the "T" with excellent results. My facial age spots are almost gone. I'm am very pleased with my results.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to apply
    • No odor
    • Fast results
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Outstanding!

    • By M B.,
    • New York,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    Loved this product. Highly recommend. Looking forward to getting more. Thank you so much!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Even skin tone
    • Healthy glow
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dark Spot Diminisher

    • By Linda G.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Sep 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The product was easy to use although there weren't any written instructions with it. I used it twice a day on a freshly cleansed face. Also, I made sure it had time to sufficiently dry before going to bed.

    Pros and Cons:

    • It lightened the dark spot on my forehead
    • It was easy to use
    • It was delivered quickly
    • It didn't do a good job on the dark spot on my upper lip
    • Well, of course I would have loved for it to cost less

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Slowly but surely!

    • By Jet B.,
    • Glendora, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I guess I waited too long to start work on the dark spots as it took a little long to see the improvement but it's finally here. Slowly but surely the dark spots around my eyes have started to diminish and what an improvement and I haven't started my second bottle.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The consistency is thin and spreads evenly
    • It has a light and wonderful fragrance
    • It works!
    • Took a white to see improvement
    • Price

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Pretty good product

    • By George G.,
    • Berea, OH,
    • Sep 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    It seems to help with my brown spots. Although I think the cost is a bit much. Re-orders should be given a discount in pricing. Would love to re-order but at $126 for one bottle! Too much money for me at this time. And yes, you gotta use it twice a day to see any results.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • Cost

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Will be purchasing more

    • By Karen S.,
    • Helendale, CA,
    • Sep 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I’m just on my first bottle and I can’t believe how well this stuff works. I have tried others, but nothing has even come close to the results I am seeing. I will definitely be purchasing more!

    Pros and Cons:

    • I love how my dark spots are fading
    • I love how soft it makes my skin feel
    • I love how fast I started seeing results
    • The dropper
    • Wish the bottle was larger

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • I love this product!

    • By Mary R.,
    • Mendota Heights, MN,
    • Sep 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have worked as a landscaper for over 30 years, and even though I have been careful to use sunscreen on my face and body, I have been troubled to see an increase in dark spots on my face and on the back of my hands. I was researching skincare products online and saw an ad for Dr. Gundry's Dark Spot Diminisher. I watched his video and was intrigued by his research and development methods. I love that he developed this product with his wife's skin concerns in mind. I also was fascinated with the connection made between people working in the wine-making industry and the diminishing of dark spots on the back of their hands, which contributed to the research for this product. I watched the whole video, and read reviews, and even though I am on a tight budget due to our current world health crisis, I decided I wanted to splurge and treat myself. Skincare is the one area I have always invested in.

    My first thought when I applied this product was that the scent was wonderful, not perfume-ey, just light and clean. I had read that in the online reviews, and I found it to be true for me as well. It feels amazing, and my skin looks good even without foundation. After 2 weeks I noticed improvement, spots definitely fading. After a month, I needed more! I was hooked. This product works really well. The second month has shown continued improvement, not just in the brown spots, but in the overall tone and condition of my skin. I wish I could afford to buy multiple bottles so I could utilize the significant price breaks, but I just can't.

    I love this product and will always use it! I used LaMer skincare and other fine (and pricey) brands but I have never achieved the kind of visible results that this product has given me. It is my one little luxury in life! I am almost 63 years old, and the spots on my hands made me so self-conscious. One, in particular, was almost black, and large. They are barely visible now and I am ready to order another bottle.

    P.S. When I placed my first order, there was a bit of a wait for the product, understandably, with all that is currently happening. I received a really thoughtful email apologizing for the minor delay, with a discount code for my next purchase, which was really a treat. I am impressed with this company and with Dr. Gundry! Thanks.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Effectiveness
    • Non-irritating to my sensitive skin
    • The scent
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Far better than laser treatments I spent much more than I could afford on!

    • By Hildegard W.,
    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada,
    • Sep 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I'm a month away from being 74, but am still a very busy bookkeeper. My health is excellent and I have always looked young for my age, but for several years now, I have been embarrassed by brown blotches, about the size of a smaller fingertip, on the calves of my legs, my hands, and the sides of my face. When I met the love of my life at 69 (see, one must never give up) I spent hundreds on only three laser treatments, but the promised results amounted to zero change.

    On the other hand, three days after starting to use your product, both the spots on my face and calves were already lighter. It was a miracle, in my books (pardon the pun).

    Pros and Cons:

    • I must admit, I have little time to fuss, so I just slapped some lotion on. I waited for an adverse reaction, there was none.
    • Quick to apply, for those of us with lots to do, and kind to my sensitive skin.
    • Your product delivery time and follow-up deserves a big, gold star!
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Absolutely amazed

    • By Angelique F.,
    • Edison, NJ,
    • Sep 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Hi, I have to say I was quite skeptical trying another product, trying to help me with the blemishes on my face. I was extremely insecure. I hated going out in front of people and being up close to someone, not that you actually had to be close to see. I think I’ve tried every product under the sun to try and get them to go away. Reverted back to makeup but didn’t work. I like to have that natural look and don’t wear a lot of makeup and never had to on my face for any reason other than some eyeshadow and mascara to make my eyes pop. I was so unhappy, asking myself why? Why is this happening to me? How could this happen to my face after I’ve always taken such care of my skin and hydrated well. I had such beautiful skin when I was younger and in the last two years now at 42 years old they just came out in spots and big patches. I hated myself and hated being around people. I didn’t even want to go out of my house. Looked like a woman that had been in the sun for years but in actuality, I steer clear from the sun. So one day I came across this ad and took a chance and I’m so happy that I did. It’s like magic in a bottle. I’m still in the process and a little over a month using and can see a difference already. I am hopeful and praying that it will all clear up with this cream that I have fallen in love with. My confidence isn’t still low but I do feel better and again am hopeful that one day my face will be beautiful and clear again.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The richness
    • Soothing
    • Hydrating
    • Would love to send pics
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Just starting to see results

    • By Robert S.,
    • St. Clair Shores, MI,
    • Sep 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Great timing. It was just yesterday that I noticed some results. Just as I thought I got scammed, I saw some results the next day. I'm hoping for at least a 50% improvement and plan to try the recommended 90 days and then compare results. I took pictures of when I began and will take them now, and then again in 90 days.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to use
    • Goes a long way (at least for me)
    • The fragrance doesn't appeal to me at all

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • My experience with Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher

    • By Marchel P.,
    • Greensboro, NC,
    • Sep 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have used the Gundy MD Spot Diminisher for only 3 weeks but see positive results. I can see the dark areas lessening in darkness. They have not completely gone but have definitely diminished in darkness! I have sensitive skin but did not have a reaction of any kind! I recommend the product.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Dropper dispenser
    • Easy to apply
    • No residue
    • Too thin
    • In a glass bottle

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 519

Write a Review for Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review