About Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 12, 2016

By “harnessing the power of polyphenols,” Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher promises to significantly fade the appearance of dark spots in just a few weeks. How?

According to Gundry MD, Dark Spot Diminisher delivers a “breakthrough” solution to your skin that can address the problem from the inside, helping to reduce the appearance of age spots, sun spots, liver spots, macules, freckles, and more on the outside. Then, its polyphenols can help protect against UV damage and the glycation process (more soon), which can prevent future dark spots from appearing.

And because Dark Spot Diminisher claims to strengthen cell membranes and provide better moisture retention, Gundry MD promises to deliver fresh looking skin for any skin type.

To accomplish this, Gundry MD tells us you only need to apply a dime-sized amount of Diminisher to your dark spots twice daily (once in the morning and again at night), and you could see visible results in as little as two weeks. Perhaps best of all, they claim to only use 100% safe ingredients without any reported side effects.

Even if Dark Spot Diminisher really can help you “take back the glow you deserve,” will it provide the most value for your money? Are there other options that could work just as well, but at a lower price? Let’s start finding some answers to all your important questions.

What Are Dark Spots and How Do They Form?

Age spots can go by many names, including sun spots, liver spots, solar lentigines, and more. Regardless of what you call them though, they’re simply flat brown (sometimes black or grey) spots underneath the skin caused by the accumulation of melanin.

Here’s a good way to think about it: If you spend too much time in the sun, your skin naturally produces more melanin to protect against further UV damage. This is what most of us refer to as a suntan.

After years of sun exposure, this melanin can begin “clumping” together permanently, resulting in age spots, which become more prevalent after we reach the age of 40. This is why sun spots most often appear in areas frequently exposed to sun, such as the face, back of the hands, forearms, and shoulders.

Glycation, AGEs, and Polyphenols

What about the glycation and A.G.E. referenced in the Dark Spot Diminisher video and on their website? Glycation occurs when a protein or lipid molecule bonds with a sugar molecule, resulting in a “haphazard process that impairs the functioning of biomolecules.”

The final result of the glycation process is something known as advanced glycation end products (AGEs), which “are known to contribute to increased oxidant stress and inflammation, [and are] are linked to the recent epidemics of diabetes and cardiovascular disease.”

Polyphenols, on the other hand, are a type of antioxidant found in a variety of foods, which, like most other antioxidants, might have the ability to fight free radicals and reduce instances of cancer and other diseases.

Now, is there anything contained in Dark Spot Diminisher that can fade dark spots or reduce the effects of glycation?

What Ingredients Does Dark Spot Diminisher Contain?

According to Gundry MD’s website, Dark Spot Diminisher contains:

Deionized Water, Propanediol (Vegetable Derived), Diglucosyl Gallic Acid, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil, Squalane (Derived from Sugar Cane), Glycerin (Vegetable Derived), Terminalia Ferdinandiana (Kakadu Plum) Fruit Extract, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Dimethicone, Cyclopentasiloxane, Rhodiola Rosea (Roseroot) Extract, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Euterpe Oleracea (Acai) Fruit Extract, Lysolecithin, Oxycoccus Palustris (Arctic Cranberry) Seed Oil, Resveratrol, Diamond Powder, Niacinamide, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Sodium Acrylate/ Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Vaccinium Angustifolium (Blueberry) Fruit Extract, Polysorbate 60, Fragrance (Parfum), Ethylhexylglycerin, Caprylyl Glycol, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Pullulan, Sclerotium Gum, Tetrasodium Glutamate Dictate

Like just about every OTC skincare treatment, the vast majority of Dark Spot Diminisher’s ingredients act as emollients, lubricants, preservatives, and skin conditioning agents. As such, they’re primarily responsible for making the cream feel good against your skin while helping your skin retain additional moisture.

While this is certainly positive, most of these seem to have very little clinical evidence indicating that they’ll address dark spots in any meaningful way.

To this extent, diglucosyl gallic acid is a patented molecule that’s converted into trihydroxy benzoic acid (THBA) by the body’s natural microorganisms, which may even skin tone and lighten pigmentation. However, there doesn’t seem to be any publically available clinical evidence supporting these claims.

The mild caffeine content found in green tea may help temporarily (and very mildly) firm skin, while the diamond powder is an abrasive, supposedly to help exfoliate skin and promote cell turnover.

Finally, Kakadu Plum contains high levels of antioxidants (which we’ve already discussed), as does acai and blueberry.

What conclusions can we draw? Based on the available clinical evidence for each of its ingredients, it doesn’t seem that Dark Spot Diminisher’s formulation would be especially effective for promoting even skin tone or reducing the appearance of age spots.

How Much Does Dark Spot Diminisher Cost?

Dark Spot Diminisher is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $49
  • 2 Bottles: $86
  • 3 Bottles: $120

Like all Gundry MD products (more about this next), Dark Spot Diminisher comes with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee, less S&H. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

Does Dark Spot Diminisher Have Any Competition?

Because you’re reading this review, you almost certainly recognize that there are thousands of other products out there claiming to address dark spots in one way or another. In fact, we’ve reviewed many of these popular products here at HighYa, including Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector, City Dark Spot Corrector, truVitaliti, and Genucel.

Comparatively, how does Gundry MD’s formula stack up?

While their exact formulations can be as diverse as the manufacturers themselves, most dark spot correctors work using ingredients intended to lighten skin, such as hydroquinone, lignin peroxidase, ellagic acid, and more. Conversely, Dark Spot Diminisher uses diglucosyl gallic acid, which appears to have less clinical evidence supporting it than more traditional ingredients.

From a price perspective, most dark spot correctors seem to fall somewhere between $30 and $60, so Dark Spot Diminisher appears to be priced somewhere in the middle.

Who Is Dr. Steven Gundry?

Dr. Steven Gundry is the namesake behind Gundry MD, and has been practicing medicine as a heart surgeon for 30+ years. He’s also Director for The International Heart and Lung Institute in Palm Springs, as well as the Founder for The Center for Restorative Medicine in Palm Springs/Santa Barbara.

According to Dr. Gundry, he founded Gundry MD in order to help customers benefit from a new scientific breakthrough that has allowed literally thousands of people to feel healthier and happier than they ever thought possible.” Exactly what this breakthrough is, we’re not told, but it’s likely something related to polyphenols.

Let’s carry this thought over into the final section.

Will Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Work for You?

In the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher promo video, like many of Gundry MD’s other products (including Primal Plants, Vital Reds, Lectin Shield, and more), the company claims to treat root of the problem from the inside-out. However, since Dark Spot Diminisher is only applied to the surface of the skin, this simply can’t occur.

If Dark Spot Diminisher did actually effect change from the inside-out though, it would be considered a drug (versus and OTC beauty product) and subject to much more intense government oversight.

Next, while polyphenols certainly seem to have some positive clinical evidence showing their ability to reduce free radicals (just like any other antioxidant), it’s not clear exactly how much is needed to accomplish this. Even then, we didn’t come across any evidence indicating polyphenols are especially good at reducing dark spots or preventing UV damage—or that they’re effective at all for these purposes.

In the end, we’re consumers too, and we want to get just as much value for our dollar. Given this, despite the largely positive customer feedback for Gundry MD’s other products, we might talk with our doctor before placing our order.

If you’re intent on ordering though, Gundry MD seems to stand behind their products with a 3-month refund window, which means you might only be out a few bucks in S&H if you’re dissatisfied.


Read 478 Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 253 4 star: 169 3 star: 28 2 star: 8 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 92% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 478
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Henderson, NV,
    • Oct 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using this stuff religiously, day and night, for over four months. It has done absolutely nothing. My dark spots have not faded even a little. This product is a complete ripoff. Do NOT waste your money on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 14, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hey Randy, I'm very sorry to hear that our Dark Spot Diminisher did not work for you! We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund.


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed in results

    • Missouri,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have faithfully applied Gundry Dark Spot Diminisher for the past three months in hopes of seeing some results on my arms and my face. I so wanted it to work; however, there was no difference from when I first started using it. To say I am very disappointed is an understatement!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Nancy, I'm sorry that our Dark Spot Diminisher was not the right fit for you. Thank you for giving the product a try! I've gone ahead and initiated a refund for the order number attached to this review. Please expect a return confirmation within the next 1-2 business days. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    No noticeable results after 1.5 bottles used!

    • Sun Lakes, AZ,
    • Oct 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So far, I have been using Dr. Grundy's Polyphenol Dark Spot twice daily as recommended with zero results after 1.5 bottles used. I purchased 3 bottles and am quite disappointed as of this time. I intend to apply for a full refund either once the bottles have all been exhausted OR prior to the refund date...whichever occurs first. I'm both running out of time and patience so, I certainly hope this product begins to work soon before I reach either deadline as referenced. I'm being quite fair with my decision-making process but time is running out. My wife suggested I take before/after pictures for comparison purposes but I can tell the spots have not changed in appearance whatsoever. If the results should change, I will gladly repost with a favorable review. Thank you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 7, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Steve, I'm sorry to read that you haven't experienced the results you had hoped from our Dark Spot Diminisher. We understand that this product may work for some but not others which is why we have our money-back guarantee in place. Thank you for giving the product a try! I've gone ahead and shared your order number with our customer service team. Please keep an eye out for a refund confirmation email within the next 1-2 business days. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you. Thank you!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    No improvements

    • California,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using for 2 months, I still have dark marks on my forehead...with no improvements. So disappointed! I bought 3 bottles, but going to return them...hopefully without any problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 2, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Heather, I'm sorry our Dark Spot Diminisher wasn't the right fit for you! Thank you for giving it a try. I've gone ahead initiated a refund for the order number attached to your review. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com with any other questions or concerns.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Terrible swelling with first application

    • Blairsville, GA,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got it just yesterday, my order of 2 bottles of polyphenol dark spot diminisher. This morning I used it on a few face dark sports, a few minutes later I had a remarkable swelling and redness on the apple bones and on one side of my right eye.

    Before I made the order I thought I read all the information available, watched from beginning to end Dr. Gundry’s videos, and I was convinced that it was a safe good product. Now I can tell this has been a terrible experience and will not use it even for a second time.

    I’ll return the 2 bottles immediately, we’ll see if I get my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 20, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi AnaLuisa, I'm very sorry to read this was your experience with our Dark Spot Diminisher! It sounds like you may have had an allergic reaction. As always, we ask that our customers consult their physician prior to starting any new product and please reference our full list of ingredients on our official website to ensure that there won't be any negative side effects. All the products we use are tested by a 3rd party, independent facility to ensure quality and potency. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will personally ensure you receive a full refund.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Saw no results.

    • Utah,
    • Sep 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could say it works. I have used it on my face and back of hand twice a day for a number of months and can't see any difference. I was told to rub in it, which I have done and still no fading.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi P.L., thank you so much for your honest review. I am so sorry to hear about your frustrating experience. As with all products, we do understand that the Dark Spot Diminisher may work well for some and not for others, but this is why we honor our 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. Please e-mail me at Aria@GundryMD.com and I can issue you a full refund right away. Thank you for giving our product a try and I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • California,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the three-month supply after reading the reviews and watching the long sales pitch. I have used it religiously as directed for the past 2 months with zero effect. I will say I like that the lotion has no awful scent and is very moisturizing. Unfortunately, this is not the purpose of my purchase. I will need to ask for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 6, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Marita, thank you for sharing your feedback and for giving the product a try! I've initiated your refund so please be on the lookout for a refund confirmation email from our Customer Relations team. If you have any questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • Klamath Falls, OR,
    • Sep 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am sorry to say that after going through two bottles of the Dark Spot Diminisher in a period of 45 days or so, I see no difference and I did as suggested and photographed the areas on my face and forearms that I wanted to address.

    I used the product every day, twice a day faithfully and see absolutely no change. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 6, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Julia, thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm very sorry to read that our Dark Spot Diminisher wasn't the right fit for you. Thank you for giving the product a try! I will go ahead and initiate a refund for the order number you attached to your review. Please keep an eye out for an email from the Customer Relations team. If you have any other questions or concerns, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to assist you.


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Sep 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As of the 28th of August, I’m pleased to say the company did refund my purchase of this product. As I stated previously, hard to return when you use it all to really see if it works. So be warned if you want a refund, save some of it to return or return the empty bottles? I’m not really sure what they mean by "return product for a refund if not satisfied," but I got my refund so I’m happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Aug 15, 2019

    Disappointed

    I purchased three months worth of this product. It has done absolutely nothing for the spots on my hands, I wrote claiming a refund as per 90-day guarantee, they say I have to return the product for a refund. I don’t have any left, I faithfully used all three bottles as per instructions and recycled the bottles. What’s the point of returning empty bottles? Don’t purchase, it doesn’t work and is very expensive, and the 90-day guarantee is useless as far as I’m concerned.

    • Aug 16, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Lynn, thank you for giving the Dark Spot Diminisher a try. I'm very sorry that it wasn't effective for you. Returning the product is industry standard but I'd be more than happy to initiate a full refund, no need to send anything back. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com with any outstanding issues.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Did not work

    After I read other customer reviews, I purchased the Dark Spot Diminisher. I used the product twice per day as directed and saw no difference after using the entire bottle. I should have requested a refund but missed the deadline after I used the full bottle. I would not recommend this product. Maybe other customers have better luck with it, but it didn't work for me. I have also bought Untox and saw no results with that product either.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Grundy MD Dark Spot Diminisher did not work

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Aug 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used the Grundy Dark Spot Diminisher consistently in the morning and evening for over a month now and I don’t see any improvement to the spots on my cheek, instead, I see the spots look a little darker. I am so disappointed and sad as I had very high hopes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 19, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Yen, I'm sorry to read that the Dark Spot Diminisher did not work for you, but thank you for giving the product a try. I've initiated a refund for the order number you included with this review. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at aria@gundrymd.com with any questions or concerns.


Showing 1-11 of 478

Write a Review for Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review