About Gundry MD Prebiothrive

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 17, 2016

Do you constantly experience food cravings? Do you find it difficult to control your eating habits, along with your weight?

If so, the Gundry MD Prebiothrive supplement promises to use a “breakthrough” combination of prebiotics to help the good bacteria in your gut thrive, while simultaneously reducing the number of bad bacteria.

As a result, we’re told you’ll be able to bring natural balance to your digestive system and experience increased energy, decreased junk food cravings, a healthier appetite, along with less gas, bloating, and discomfort.

To accomplish this, Gundry MD claims Prebiothrive features only 100% natural and safe ingredients and comes with no reported side effects. Simply mix one scoop of the odorless, tasteless powder into any beverage, 2-3 times per day.

The bottom line is that many of us don’t eat the foods we should, so our digestion and overall health can take a hit.

But is there anything found in Gundry MD Prebiothrive that can “completely revitalize your gut, no matter how out of balance it is”? Does it have some stiff competition, or is it really a “game changer”?

Stick with us and we’ll explore these—and many other—important questions.

What’s the Difference Between a Probiotic and a Prebiotic?

The HighYa team has talked a whole lot about probiotics over the years, which are specific strains of bacteria that can help improve digestion, boost immune system response, and more—although there’s limited evidence that they can help you lose weight.

And if your digestion is much more effective and you’re feeling good, this can translate into secondary benefits like improved energy.

On the other hand, prebiotics are a form of fiber that can’t be digested by your body, so they pass into your gut mostly intact, where they can act as a food source for probiotic bacteria. In other words, it helps them thrive.

Although most prebiotics don’t focus on a specific bacteria strain, in order to meet the definition they must increase the number or activity of bifidobacteria, a bacteria “family” often associated with improving constipation, reducing total cholesterol, addressing some aspects of IBS, and more.

Specifically, what prebiotics does Prebiothrive use?

How Does Gundry MD Prebiothrive Work?

After sitting through Prebiothrive’s hour-long sales video, what did we learn?

The first half of the video talked about the potential dangers of eating foods containing lectin, such as tomatoes, legumes, and more.

However, although Gundry MD’s Lectin Shield supplement promises to address this problem, Prebiothrive doesn’t. As a result, we’re not really sure why Dr. Gundry spent so much time talking about it.

During the second half of the video, we learned how “bad” gut bacteria can impact everything from your energy levels to your food decisions. Instead of killing them though, you simply need to nourish the “good” bacteria.

To accomplish this, we’re told Prebiothrive only contains three ingredients:

Bimuno is a powdered supplement in its own right, which claims to contain a “unique complex of patented galacto-oligosaccharides,” which can help bifidobacteria thrive. This is where Prebiothrive gets its “7-day” claim.

WebMD doesn’t list acacia as providing any kind of real-world benefits, although they list inulin as “possibly effective” for lowering triglyceride levels and reducing constipation (but only for elderly individuals).

Given this, what about Dr. Gundry’s claim that in his video that, “everything you’ll hear today is based on real science, and has been proven out in clinical tests”?

This is a prime example of the different between something being clinically studied, and something being considered “proven.”

The former technically only requires one study, while the latter requires a large body of double-blind, peer-reviewed clinical trials, most of which will point to the same general conclusion.

For more about this concept, be sure to read How to Tell the Difference Between Legit and Fake Clinical Studies

Prebiothrive’s Potential Side Effects

Because of the rapid increase in certain bacteria strains often caused by prebiotics, you may temporarily experience increased fermentation, leading to gassiness and bloating.

However, this should subside within a few days of regular use.

Similarly, WebMD indicates that acacia can cause mild “gas, bloating, nausea, and loose stools.”

How Much Does Prebiothrive Cost?

How much you’ll pay for Prebiothrive largely depends on where you purchase it. For example, if purchased through Gundry MD’s SilenceYourCravings URL, you’ll pay:

  • 1 Jar: $49.99
  • 3 Jars: $132.00
  • 6 Jars: $199.00

On the other hand, if purchased directly through the Gundry MD main site, you’ll pay $79 for a single bottle.

Note: While it appears each jar of Prebiothrive contains 10.16oz of powder, there’s no indication of how many scoops this contains—or how often you’ll need to reorder.

Nonetheless, Prebiothrive comes with a 90-day money back guarantee, less S&H charges. In order to request one, Gundry MD’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 852-0477.

Are there other prebiotics out there? Certainly, which you can quickly see by searching online—many of which cost much less than Prebiothrive. Are there other supplements formulated exactly like it, though? No.

A Look at Customer Reviews of Prebiothrive

On Gundry MD’s main website, Prebiothrive has over 600 customer reviews and an average rating of 5 stars. There, common compliments referenced effective results (better overall health, increased energy, a more balanced gut, etc.) and ease of use.

Here on HighYa, as of 6/4/19, over 390 customers left their review for a combined rating of 4.2 stars.

We’ve also written about many of Gundry MD’s other popular products, including Vital Reds, Correct + Calm Redness Relief Cream, Primal Plants, and more.

Overall, these products tend to have very positive reviews from customers here on HighYa, largely with 5-star average ratings and many of the same compliments.

On the other hand, what few complaints there are seem to reference misleading billing and ineffective results. In most of these instances, a company representative responded in good faith to try to rectify the situation.

As far as Bimuno goes, it also seems to have mostly positive online customer reviews that claim it might help quickly improve digestion, reduced IBS symptoms, decreased bloating, and more.

The Bottom Line: Can Gundry MD Prebiothrive Reduce Your Cravings?

Given the level of clinical evidence showing that prebiotics might help boost levels of beneficial bacteria in the gut, taking one of these supplements certainly seems like a logical first step if you’re looking to balance your digestion.

Just keep in mind that—even according to Dr. Gundry’s Prebiothrive video—if you want to maximize your results, it’s recommended that you take a probiotic along with it, which will obviously increase your overall costs.

Speaking of cost, a 30-day supply of Bimuno can be purchased online for about $28, which doesn’t include the triglyceride-reducing potential of inulin, but might provide many other benefits at a meaningfully lower price than Prebiothrive.

You can even find many supplements containing both probiotics and prebiotics in the same formulation (although not from Gundry MD), which might deliver the ultimate bang-for-your-buck.

In the end, though, Gundry MD seems to stand behind Prebiothrive with a 90-day refund policy, which might help ease some of your hesitations if you’re thinking about giving it a try. Just remember you could be out a few bucks in S&H if you decide to process a refund.


Read 425 Gundry MD Prebiothrive Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 225 4 star: 137 3 star: 26 2 star: 10 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 88% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 425
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Taking My Stomach Back!

    • Miami, FL,
    • Nov 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    While doing some research for my Dissertation, I came across a Vital Red advertisement and was compelled to watch the video. This intrigued my interest because In the past 4 years my digestive health has taken a turn for the worst.

    I have always been Lactose intolerant as it seems to runs in my family, I was diagnosed with IBS and now on a daily basis I deal with bloating, gas, and the feeling that my food is never processed. Instead, it sits in my gut and causes me to feel tired, heavy, and lazy!

    My Gastro doctor has given me a very thorough work up to determine the cause and develop treatment, however, it really has not helped.

    I have been using Vital Reds for about 3 weeks consistently, with only a few days break due to an upset stomach. I must say that I feel a difference! Less Bloating, I am regular without having extreme diarrhea, and I have lost about 7 pounds.

    I just decided to order the Prebiothrive in hopes of increasing my digestive health. I guess I just mix Vital Reds and Prebiothrive and I feel positive that the results will be great.

    I have nothing to lose. After feeling that my stomach had taken on a life of its own that was well beyond my control Vital Reds has been great so far. I highly recommend this product.

    Thanks, Dr. Gundry MD

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Very good!

    I feel better in general. The product is easy to take and the taste is very light and pleasant.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Prebiothrive

    • Sainte-Julie, Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like the product. It helps me clean my system and gives more energy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Prebiothrive

    • Georgia,
    • Jan 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken the Prebiothrive as recommended. It took a few days for me to be able to notice a difference, but it is an effective product. I also use the Vital Reds and highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Prebiothrive

    • Houston,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 54 years old, 5'6" in height and weighed 187 pounds. I was not feeling great after certain meals. Coffee was having the opposite effect making me feel, making me sluggish instead of perking me up for what seems to be a year, but very likely more. I stumbled onto Gundry's diet evolution after seeing his video on lectins. I'd read other books, but this seemed similar to Moser's idea of eating greens and fasting to get healthy, minus the colonics.

    I began the diet and lost weight after two weeks. I received the Prebiothrive and Vital Reds and began taking them after two weeks of losing 10 pounds. I started to see psoriasis on my hands recede. I usually get sick from allergies and haven't had an issue. I don't crave sugar or bread, and December is the worst month for this. I weigh 169 pounds now and feel better than I have in years. If my psoriasis disappears in other areas I have it, I'll give it an 110% score.

    My stomach issues, mental stress, and allergies have receded to almost zero. The diet works and the Prebiothrive and Vital Reds are giving me hope I haven't had in years. Thank you Dr. G!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Excited to see more results

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 60-year-old woman that has nominal problems for my age, but of course, noticing many changes at this age. I felt my husband and I needed to start somewhere to better take of ourselves. We saw Dr. Gundy on Facebook and listened to the whole video, and realized this is exactly what we should start with.

    I ordered the Vital Reds and decided that I really could benefit from a good probiotic so ordered that. We have been using them for just a month and are pleased with the results. I have some greens that I am using up and plan to try theirs in the next order. So far, I have noticed my stools are more regular and "thorough," for lack of a better word. I have more energy and my husband and I have both been exposed to colds and flu this winter and neither of us have fallen victim! This has been a treat as I didn't expect that since have acute asthma so I always catch stuff.

    Thank you for your work. We are very satisfied.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A good cleanse

    I enjoy this when I mix it with chocolate milk. When shaken it becomes more like a malt. I noticed that I became very full and didn't want as much lunch.

    I also noticed I became a bit gassy. After a few days, I noticed that I was passing stools that seemed old. But I am noticing that my stomach and gut is not as bloated.

    I am anxious to see if I get a weight loss after being on this for a few months.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Losing weight!

    This probiotic is really great!

    It has helped me lose weight, and I feel better than I have in a long time! I have more energy, a better gut, and it helps me feel like eating healthier and exercising more often. I feel blessed to have found it.

    Thank you Dr. Guidry! It's truly amazing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I am feeling better after only 2.5 weeks

    • Longview, Texas,
    • Jan 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After watching Dr. Gundry's video, I took a leap of faith. I bought six months supply of Prebiothrive, Primal Plants, and Vital Reds. I have been drinking this delicious concoction for two and a half weeks, and I feel better, much better.

    It was after the New Year holidays, and I started back at my desk, that I noticed a real difference. I feel more alert, less sluggish, and can concentrate better. I work at my desk nine to ten hours a day. I know I don't get the exercise needed to stay healthy. The hope that this could keep my arteries clear of plaque was my initial reason for purchasing. However, the benefits I am seeing make the purchase worth the money. I am more productive and at the end of my day and have the energy to do things around my home.

    I can't tell you which one of these three did it for me. However, I am going to continue using them all. I have even noticed that my skin is getting better. I am a 61 year old, white female professional. This may just be the best thing I have ever done for myself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    I just started a couple weeks ago

    • Palm Springs, CA,
    • Jan 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I take it with my own orange juice. I also take Primal Plants and Vital Reds. So far so good, and it has very good flavor.

    I do take other supplements. I have very expensive urine. I am 94 years old, and all my vitals are normal. I do not take any prescription drugs, but some day I may need glasses.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Prebiothrive, Primal Plants, Vital Reds,

    • Victoria, Australia ,
    • Jan 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have only received my products a week ago, but already I have noticed not as much bloating, more energy, and a little weight loss also. I enjoy the taste of my Vital Reds, Primal Plants ad Prebiothrive, and I cannot wait to see more improvements as I continue to use my products every day. Thank you Dr. Gundry.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 425

Write a Review for Gundry MD Prebiothrive!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review