Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Gundry MD Total Restore

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Gundry MD Total Restore

Overall Rating

4.3

563 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a dietary supplement that is designed to fight leaky gut with a blend of natural ingredients. This supplement is pricey and scientific support for the primary proposed action is lacking, so you may not get what you bargain for.

Pros

  • Favorable return policy
  • Natural blend with some support for various benefits

Cons

  • Research supporting the ability to improve leaky gut is lacking
  • Extremely expensive

Gundry MD Total Restore Review - Does It Work As Advertised?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: May 14, 2020

What is Total Restore?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a supplement that will allegedly help you fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

The term “leaky gut” refers to a process in which the lining of your digestive tract is more absorbent than it should be. This increases the risk of harmful toxins to seep out of your intestines and into areas of your body where they may cause harm.

According to Gundry MD, this can result in signs and symptoms like bloating, digestive irregularity, gas, fatigue, excess body weight, and even food cravings.

There are a number of causes for these symptoms, and just as many potential remedies. Total Restore from Gundry MD allegedly offers a natural option. In fact, according to the product page, you can expect the following by taking 3 capsules daily with the largest meal of your day:

  • Better digestion
  • Improved gas, constipation, and irregularity
  • Less bloating and a flatter stomach
  • Reduced cravings
  • A healthier body weight
  • More mobility and decreased joint pain and stiffness
  • Increased energy
  • Improved mood

As you may notice, many of these claims are seemingly unrelated to digestive health. While these benefits are obviously desirable, it seems like this is a lot to accomplish for a single dietary supplement.

In this article, we’ll help you sort through these claims and evaluate their merit by reviewing the available research for Total Restore’s key ingredients.

Total Restore Ingredients: Does Science Back Them Up?

Total Restore from Gundry MD is a dietary supplement that is designed to fight leaky gut through a blend of natural ingredients.

While increased permeability of the intestinal lining may allow harmful toxins into areas of the body they shouldn’t be, the link to this process and chronic disease outside of the gastrointestinal tract is uncertain. Therefore, leaky gut is not a widely accepted medical diagnosis.

Currently, there does not seem to be any interventions that are effective in improving the function of this barrier or altering the course of any associated diseases.

Nonetheless, Total Restore may be able to address other issues.

Each 3-capsule serving contains the following ingredients:

  • L-Glutamine - 213mg
  • N-Acetyl- D-Glucosamine (NAG) - 142mg
  • Magnesium Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (MBH)- 86mg
  • Grape Seed Extract - 58mg
  • Licorice Roots Powder - 54mg
  • Wormwood Powder - 50mg
  • Cinnamon Bark Powder - 50mg
  • Maitake Mushroom Extract - 34mg
  • Organic Strawberry, Organic Raspberry, Organic Blueberry, Organic Tart Cherry, Organic Elderberry, and Organic Cranberry - 22mg total
  • Cloves Buds Powder - 17mg
  • Black Pepper Seeds Power - 17mg
  • Grapefruit Seeds Extract - 17mg
  • Marshmallow Roots Powder - 10mg
  • Zinc L-Carnosine - 10mg
  • Berberine Bark Powder - 3mg

We’ll highlight the available research for some of the key ingredients here.

L-Glutamine

Glutamine is an amino acid. It’s commonly included in dietary supplements that claim to boost immune function, support digestive health, and support brain function.

It may be included in Total Restore for its suspected ability to enhance mental function, though 2,000mg doses negatively affected the ability of individuals to complete reaction time tasks. Even at large doses, this ingredient does not seem to be effective for these purposes.

NAG

NAG is derived from shellfish and is proposed to protect your digestive tract from the harmful effects of gluten.

In a laboratory model, NAG was effective in limiting the harmful effects of rye, barley, and oat glutens in small intestinal cells obtained from 26 children with gluten intolerance.

Data supporting the use of NAG is lacking outside of this study is lacking, however.

MBH

Beta-hydroxybutyrate is an exogenous ketone, one that is created outside your body. Like other Gundry MD products, it is probably included in Total Restore as ketones may be used as a source of energy.

However, your body preferentially burns carbohydrates for energy - if you follow a regular diet, fats will not be used for this purpose. Therefore, the suspected ability to boost energy and promote brain function is only possible when carbs are not present.

Zinc

Zinc is an essential mineral that has a role in many biochemical reactions. Thus, a deficiency can lead to a variety of unwanted effects.

Zinc is included in Total Restore for its suspected role in promoting weight loss, energy, and mental function.

Low zinc levels were associated with obesity, elevated BMI, and larger waist circumference in premenopausal women.

In a randomized study, 30mg of zinc daily over 4-weeks reduced the BMI and body weight of obese individuals.

Lastly, in individuals 70-years or older, 150gm of zinc protected against cognitive decline when compared to placebo.

Cinnamon Bark

This spice is often included in dietary supplements for its suspected ability to offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting benefits.

While a review of 10 trials found 120mg/d - 6 g doses to effectively reduce fasting blood sugar over 4 to 18-weeks, digestion related benefits were not well supported.

Berberine

Berberine is a plant-based ammonium salt that may possess anti-inflammatory, neuroprotective, and diabetes-fighting properties.

In a randomized trial, individuals with metabolic syndrome that took 500mg three times daily over 3-months had remission of the syndrome, better insulin sensitivity, and improved waist circumference.

Black Pepper

Black pepper may offer antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and disease-fighting capabilities.

In Total Restore, black pepper may function as a prebiotic to help boost your friendly gut bacteria. In overweight subjects, 6mg of black pepper was also effective in decreasing BMI and body fat.

Is Total Restore Safe?

As many of the ingredients found in Total Restore are obtained naturally from a balanced diet, they are generally safe to consume in the quantities offered in this supplement.

Your biggest risk for harm may come from delaying appropriate medical attention for the symptoms you’re experiencing. Using a dietary supplement that doesn’t address the underlying cause can allow them to persist or even worsen.

Additionally, you should avoid Total Restore if you have an allergy as NAG is obtained from shellfish.

For these reasons, It is best to speak with your physician before trying to treat symptoms. The first step should always be to determine the underlying source. You can then work together to determine the safest plan of care.

Total Restore Cost

You can purchase Total Restore directly from Gundry MD’s website. There are a few pricing options, and all orders over $60 ship free.

For non-members, Total Restor pricing is as follows:

  • $69.95 for one bottle
  • $191.85 for three bottles
  • $317.70 for six bottles

Also, you have the option to join the VIP program. This subscription plan includes automatic monthly shipments, as well as more savings and free shipping. You can cancel shipments at any time, and VIP pricing is as follows:

  • $44.95 per month for one bottle
  • $121.95 per month for three bottles
  • $229.95 per month for six bottles

Gundry MD backs your purchases with a 90-day money-back guarantee. If you aren’t happy with Toral Restore, you can contact customer support at (800) 852-0477 to start the refund process.

What Are the Alternatives to Total Restore?

While Total Restore’s blend of ingredients is challenging to find offered in a single supplement, other supplements claim to address leaky gut.

Also from Gundry MD, Lectin Shield is a good example. It allegedly offers benefits that are identical to those that Total Restore is proposed to address, though the mechanism of action and ingredients list for these 2 supplements differ substantially.

Lectin Shield is purported to act by limiting the actions of lectin, a protein found in both animals and plants that may play a role in various digestive issues and chronic medical conditions. It offers twice as much NAD in addition to a number of other extracts.

Considering the cost of Total Restore, you’d save money with Lectin Shield; 1 and 6-bottle orders are $50 and $240, respectively.

Though the risk for harm is low, Lectin Shield is still quite pricey. Also, the research supporting the actions of the ingredients is limited, and the company claims it can address an issue that is not currently supported as a medical diagnosis.

Despite a favorable return policy, you should save your money and seek the guidance of your doctor if you’re experiencing digestive symptoms.

The Bottom Line

Total Restore’s blend of natural ingredients has varying support for their proposed actions. However, scientific support backing the main benefit of this supplement, addressing leaky gut, is lacking.

Despite a favorable return policy, Total Restore is still one of the pricier dietary supplements that we’ve reviewed at HighYa.

Though the risk for serious side effects is likely low, given the pricing and lack of strong evidence, it is probably best that you seek relief elsewhere.

If you’re experiencing digestive symptoms that are negatively impacting your quality of life, your first stop should be having a conversation with your doctor. While dietary supplements may be helpful, it is best to first understand the source of your symptoms.

Customer Reviews

4.3 Stars out of 563 Reviews
5 Star:61% 4 Star:24% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:5%
90% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Gundry MD Total Restore:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on May 8, 2018

Not a fan

By Kathy Marshall, Wisconsin, Verified Reviewer

I have suffered from colitis for years. After being on steroids for 3+ years, my colitis was controlled and I was taken off the steroids. It was then identified that I had become adrenal insufficient. After 4 years of suffering, I felt like I was finally getting my life back and thought I'd try this supplement. As a result, I am now suffering from bloating, gas, and bloody stools. I would definitely NOT recommend this product to anyone suffering from issues of the gastrointestinal tract!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

May 8, 2018

Hi Kathy, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for reaching out. I am truly sorry to hear about what you are going through. We always encourage our customers to consult their primary physician prior to beginning any new product, that is to ensure that they do not experience any interactions while taking it.

In addition, while we have thousands of customers who have had a positive experience with Total Restore, we do understand that it is not for everyone. I would love to personally issue you a full refund. Please email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com and I can begin the refund process right away. Again, I am so sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 11, 2018

Excellent

By Richard H., Lafayette, LA, Verified Reviewer

After taking Total Restore for six weeks I feel great! I have a lot more energy. I’m a 57-year-old male and was always fatigued and sluggish in the past five years. Now that I have taken Total Restore for six weeks, I have noticed that I have more energy than I need. I feel like a 35-year-old. But most importantly I have worked very hard in achieving a low percentage of lectin consumption. After 6-7 weeks of 20 percent or less in lectin consumption, I have lost 15 pounds. At 57 years old, this is not an easy task. I believe 100 percent that a combination of Total Restore and a lectin-free diet that anyone can achieve a healthy and productive lifestyle.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 20, 2018

Product not delivered, over 2 months since order!

By Lori M., London, England, Verified Reviewer

I have ordered this product on 7th of June 2018, today is 14th of August 2018, and it is safe to say that it is a scam, as it has never been delivered.

Having contacted the customer care, they issue a tracking number of the shipment, when I tried to track, it showed that it has never been actually shipped. I contacted them again, and since 7th of July 2018, is shows en route to the processing facility.

I have asked for a refund and the refund is also not reaching my account. Totally unreliable and unprofessional.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Aug 20, 2018

Hi Lori, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience. I will look into this matter immediately and ensure this never happens again. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will personally issue you a full refund. Our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience or frustration we may have caused. I look forward to hearing from you soon!

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 25, 2018

Summary of Total Restore

By Desiree E., Victorville, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have been taking Total Restore for three weeks. I have been experiencing diarrhea since I began taking the supplement. I don’t know if this is normal and my body will adjust or if I should stop taking it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Sep 26, 2018

Hello Desiree,

I am Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you for leaving us a review. I am sorry to hear about your experience with Total Restore. Most of our customers enjoy the benefits from Total Restore, however, we do understand that everyone is different. In addition, we always recommend speaking to your primary physician before starting a new product. We always want to make sure that our customers are having the best experience possible, so we do everything we can to make sure that we achieve this. If you would like, I would be happy to issue a refund regardless of how long it’s been. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com to get this process started. I look forward to making this right!

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 3, 2018

Allergies

By Sinem Z., Lafayette, IN, Verified Reviewer

I ordered Total Restore as soon as I watched the video about it. I got my three bottles in a few days. I was super excited about it. I immediately started taking them three times a day. However, my body is very sensitive to the new medications. I always have the rare side effects whenever I use a new medication. I have been reading the reviews to see if anyone else had any side effect problems for taking Total Restore. I couldn't find any. Well! I think I will be the first one. On the 4th day, I started having an allergic reaction on my body. Some parts of my arms turned to a red color, and I have a burning/itching feeling. It might be because of the berries or the mushroom in the Total Restore. I will stop taking them for a few days and hope the allergies will go away.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Nov 5, 2018

Hello Sinem, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you might have had an allergic reaction to an ingredient in Total Restore. This is extremely uncommon with any Gundry MD products, as they are 3rd party laboratory tested for quality and purity. We always disclose any major allergens on the label and website. Please discontinue use immediately and consult your physician to help rule out what may be causing your reaction. In the meanwhile, I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com Thank you.

Helpful Review? 29 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 21, 2018

Bad experience

By Sylvia T., Pennsylvania, Verified Reviewer

I've been using it for almost a month and all I've gotten is constipation. I will stop using the product. I would like to return the unused portion. How do I go about doing so? Not satisfied.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Nov 21, 2018

Hi Sylvia, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience with Total Restore. We understand that everybody is different so our products may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to get that refund process started for you right away.

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 1, 2018

Bad taste

By Sherrie T., Sicklerville, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I have been on it a week and stopped it because by day 5 I would wake up in the morning with a horrible taste in my mouth (like vomit), it was terrible, and the stomach pains were unbearable, and I have GI issues. So thank god I only bought the 30-day bottle that I will send back and they will hopefully issue a free refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Dec 3, 2018

Hello Sherrie, thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that Total Restore did not work out for you. Please keep in mind that it can often take one to two months to see the desired results, as with any supplement. If you are having any side effects that are out of the ordinary, we highly suggest you discontinue use and contact your physician. I am more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please send me your order details at Aria@gundrymd.com Thank you!

Helpful Review? 12 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2019

Can’t sleep and stomach ache in the morning

By Cora B., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I am more alert and active, however, I can’t sleep, and I get a stomach ache every morning. I took the pills as directed. I tried three pills with the biggest meal, then I changed one each meal and then I change one each meal breakfast and lunch only. I made sure I drank lots of water. I am hoping this changes or I'll be returning the product soon. I was expecting more.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Jan 22, 2019

Hi Cara, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! I'm happy to hear that you have seen some positive changes. It sounds like you might be experiencing “Die Off” symptoms. This often occurs when probiotics are introduced to the gut and begin killing off the bad bacteria. As always, we ask that you consult your primary care physician prior to trying a new product to ensure that you do not experience any interactions while taking them. Because everybody is different, we do understand that our products may work well for some and not others. Please don't hesitate to reach out at aria@gundrymd.com with any questions or concerns or if you would like to get the refund process started.

Helpful Review? 32 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 14, 2019

Order not received

By Carol M., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

I am completely disappointed. I was waiting for the delivery and when I called they are not processed yet. I waited for 9 days already, what the heck. I already paid, it has deducted to my account, before you end up you keep on pushing other items to buy. I only need the first three bottles. I don’t know, you make me already disappointed with your process. I don’t know how am I going to be impressed with your product!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Feb 19, 2019

Hi Carol, I'm very sorry to hear that this happened! I'd be more than happy to personally look into your account and order to provide some more insight into what may have happened. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and we can get that process started immediately.

Helpful Review? 14 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 19, 2019

Total Restore problems

By Mary L., Perth, Western Australia, Verified Reviewer

Hi, I bought three bottles of Total Restore for my husband and self and we both had adverse reactions. I wrote an email weeks ago to Gundry MD to Ariana and have had no reply. But I do keep getting regular promotional emails from Gundry MD to buy other products.

Could I please be contacted re a refund.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

Feb 20, 2019

Hi Mary, I'm sorry to hear that this was your experience. I want to confirm that I received your email so please give us 1-2 business days to receive confirmation of your refund from our support team. Thank you! If you have any outstanding issues, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com.

Helpful Review? 38 People Have Voted

Posted on May 13, 2019

Product was expired

By Cassandra S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

When I got my products they were expired...clearly on the bottle says 2017. I tried calling to get a refund, was basically told I was out of luck. How can you send out expired products that cost a fortune!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Gundry MD

May 14, 2019

Hi Cassandra, thank you for reaching out! I want to note that the date on our products is our manufactured date, not the expiration date. Total Restore is good to take for 2 years after the manufactured date. I hope this provides some clarification but if you have any other questions, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to help!

Helpful Review? 21 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 563

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.