About HiSmile

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Mar 28, 2018

You want a whiter smile, but your teeth and gums are too sensitive for hydrogen peroxide.

The good news is that HiSmile manufactures a line of peroxide-free teeth whitening products that use sodium bicarbonate instead, which can provide a pain-free alternative. No more irritation to your gums or mouth.

Despite its gentleness, the company claims their teeth whitening systems can deliver noticeable results in as little as 10 minutes by removing extrinsic (i.e., surface) stains, and can make your teeth up to eight shades whiter within six applications.

Add to this HiSmile’s 100 percent clinically proven results and patented mouth guard, and you’ve got a safe, easy, and effective way to whiten your teeth in the comfort of your own home.

But before you hand over any money, there are some things you need to know. First, we’ll talk about the price of their different products.

HiSmile Products, Pricing, & Refund Policy

Overall, HiSmile currently offers five different natural, vegan products, which come with a 30-day money back guarantee (from the date of purchase), if customers don’t achieve teeth that are at least two shades whiter. According to the company, here’s what you’ll have to do to request one:

  1. Take a clear photo of your teeth before using.
  2. Use exactly as instructed.
  3. Take a clear photo after you've completed all whitening applications.
  4. Send your before and after photos to the company, along with a photo of the used products.
  5. Once approved, your refund will be processed.

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Kit

HiSmile’s kit includes 3 x Teeth Whitening Gel syringes, 1 x Mouth Tray and LED Light, a Teeth Whitening Shade Guide, and a step-by-step Instruction Manual. Here’s how it works:

  1. Apply 1/4 of the gel to the face of the top of the mouth guard, and 1/4 of the gel to the face of the bottom of the mouth guard.
  2. Then, place the guard in your mouth and turn the LED light on. After 10 minutes, the light will turn itself off and beep.
  3. Afterward, rinse your mouth and mouth guard.

The kit will give you six applications (two applications per syringe). The company recommends using the gel every day (consecutively) for the first six applications, followed by one weekly application to maintain results.

HiSmile’s Whitening Kit is priced at $79.99 AUD, $59.99 USD, £49.99, €54.99.

If you’ve ordered HiSmile’s Whitening Kit previously and only need individual pieces, these are available for purchase as well:

Day & Night Toothpaste

The Day formula contains something called a Micro-Shield wax that promises to prevent stains from occurring, while the night toothpaste is said to use “charcoal and other natural ingredients to remove stains and detoxify the mouth.” Features a pleasant peppermint flavor.

Pricing: $19.99 AUD, $15.99 USD, £11.99, €13.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Teeth Whitening Gel Syringes

These use a blend of sodium bicarbonate and sodium chlorite to provide whitening, along with light activators like pomegranate, aloe vera, and chamomile, to help whiten up to eight shades in 10 minutes, without sensitivity. For use with HiSmile’s LED Light & Mouth Tray.

Three gel pens are priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Pen

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Pen can be used for touch-ups when you’re on the go, and is also great for hard-to-reach areas. Contains the same peroxide-free formula found in the syringes.

Priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Coconut Whitening Mouthwash

Features sodium bicarbonate as its key whitening ingredient, along with coconut to extract toxins from your teeth and gums. Application only takes about two minutes.

Five coconut tubes and an instruction manual will cost you $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

How Do HiSmile’s Prices Compare To Other At-Home Whitening Kits?

Compared to some of the other teeth whitening products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, including Whitening Coach, Action Pro White, and many others, HiSmile’s kit is about half the price.

However, the ASOTV whitening kit Dial-a-Smile comes in less than HiSmile, while other tray-based bleaching systems can be purchased locally for as little as $11.

Granted, all of these use hydrogen peroxide, while HiSmile uses sodium bicarbonate. But whether we’re talking about tooth sensitivity or whitening results, is there any difference between these two ingredients?

Hydrogen Peroxide vs. Sodium Bicarbonate

Most at-home teeth whitening kits use carbamide peroxide, which breaks down into hydrogen peroxide. In turn, this creates an oxidation reaction that dissolves stains and lifts them away.

The sodium bicarbonate (more commonly known as baking soda) in products like HiSmile, on the other hand, basically acts as a mild abrasive to scrub away stains from the surface of your teeth.

Comparing their effectiveness, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains, especially those that may be older and located deeper within your teeth. However, it can cause some tooth and gum sensitivity, although this usually subsides quickly after treatment.

Overall, after undergoing exhaustive clinical testing, peroxide is considered very safe by the ADA for use in at-home whitening products.

Interestingly, since it’s an abrasive (however mild), extended use of sodium bicarbonate can lead to irreparable enamel damage. Sure, you might not experience any immediate tooth or gum sensitivity, but over the long term, using a baking soda-based whitening system can be much more harmful to your teeth than a peroxide-based one.

In all, this means that peroxide-based whitening systems will likely provide you with better, safer whitening results than ones like HiSmile—if you don’t suffer from tooth or gum sensitivity.

What are HiSmile’s customers saying about their results?

Are Customers Speaking Out About HiSmile?

Since writing our original article, more than 80 HighYa readers provided their feedback about HiSmile, giving the company an average rating of 3.3 stars. Common compliments referenced ease of use, effective results, and solid customer support, while complaints often related to no results. In most instances, a company representative responded directly to this feedback.

TheBlondePerfectionist.com noted that HiSmile was "incredibly easy" to use and that they experienced results by the second application. Ultimately, they were "blown away" by how effective it was.

Similarly, InsincerelyHer.com noted that HiSmile worked fast and gave them “super white” teeth in weeks.

PetiteAnchors didn't see much of a difference with HiSmile, and claimed that "it made no actual difference to my teeth colouring." Granted, the author noted that she had undergone a couple of professional whitening treatments in the past, as well as numerous at-home treatments, and concluded that her teeth simply couldn't get any whiter.

Now, let’s wrap everything up as neatly as the box HiSmile comes in.

Is HiSmile a Pain-Free Way To Whiten Your Teeth?

Can HiSmile provide you with a whiter smile, without sensitivity? With its baking soda-based whitening gel, it’s certainly possible.

Will it provide you with similar (or better) results than other peroxide-based at-home whitening kits? Again, it’s possible, although hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains underneath your enamel, which could provide more shades of whitening.

Will HiSmile’s LED light provide any better or faster whitening results? Almost certainly not.

Given all of this, will HiSmile provide a solid value for the money? If tooth and gum sensitivity is your number one concern (and you’ve already tried a peroxide-based kit), then baking soda-based products might be your only option.

The catch here is that you could potentially achieve similar results using a DIY baking soda paste, which can be made for just a couple dollars. Or, you can purchase a tube of baking soda toothpaste from several different national companies for not much more.

Despite these concerns, the before and after pictures features on HiSmile’s Instagram page indicate that the company has hundreds of satisfied customers. Although due to the abrasive nature of the baking soda in HiSmile’s gel, we’re hoping they don’t continue using the product for too long, or they might permanently damage their enamel.

What kind of whitening results did you achieve using HiSmile? Tell us about it by leaving a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

133 Consumer Reviews for HiSmile

Average Consumer Rating: 3.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 84 4 star: 8 3 star: 1 2 star: 7 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 133
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This product did not work for me

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Jul 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried this product for six days straight as recommended for best results. Unfortunately, my teeth are not six shades lighter or anything, they are exactly the same. I took before and after photos and there isn’t much difference at all. I have brought more gel but I feel like maybe it’s just a waste of money and time! It is not the outcome I was hoping to see!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 11, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Ardon,

      Thank you for leaving this review. I understand how disappointing not seeing results may be, and we do understand that individual results may vary as teeth respond differently to the whitening process.

      Due to this, we have implemented our 30-day money back guarantee to assist in customers who do not see results of at least two shades whiter after their six consecutive applications. We would love to assist you and by taking these before and after photos will assist us greatly.

      Please email help@hismileteeth.com, we look forward to speaking soon!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great results

    • Michigan,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had great results! Easy to use, no burning. It was wonderful! It is worth the extra for shipping fast. I love the product and would recommend it. My husband used it to, and we are ordering more. His teeth were noticeably whiter.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 4, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Laura,

      We pride ourselves on using natural ingredients to ensure NO sensitivity or discomfort. I am happy you and your husband love your results with no fuss! Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Spectacular staff

    • Catania, Sicilia, Italy,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love this product. HiSmile was really helpful, the staff is extraordinary, they are well organized and always ready to help customers, thanks for everything. I am very happy with the results obtained.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 4, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Domenico,

      I am so pleased you loved your HiSmile experience from start to finish! Welcome to the family.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing stuff

    • Lansdale, PA,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I LOVE this product! I just had a lot of dental work done and the last thing I wanted to do is whiten my teeth, so I did some research on this product and the previous reviews were great, so I gave it a shot, and here I am giving a great review myself because it definitely does work. And I am definitely happy. Thank you HiSmile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 26, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi William

      Thank you so much for sharing your review!

      I am pleased you experienced such great results and gave us a shot after your dental work! We use natural ingredients to ensure no sensitivity or discomfort and I am so pleased you can confirm this.

      Welcome to the HiSmile family.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Amazing products and service!

    • New Brunswick, Canada,
    • Jun 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HiSmile products are amazing. They work like they should without any discomfort or irritation. Results were exactly what they said they would be. Shipments come in a timely manner. The subscription service is great, so you never run out. Customer service is very friendly and helpful. I recommend them to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Nicole!

      Thank you for these lovely words, I am so pleased you have loved using your Teeth Whitening Kit and have experienced all the positives when whitening with us! We ensure no discomfort or sensitivity by using natural products and avoiding peroxide that can cause enamel damage to ensure great results and a greater experience for all our HiSmilers!

      Thank you again for these kind words - I have passed them along to our team.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Customer service

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a problem with the product and dreaded the idea of having to contact customer service. I didn’t want to deal with the frustration, confusion, and impatience that would no doubt follow, but I was left with no choice in the end. Little did I know, Brooke was friendliest and most efficient product rep that I had the good fortune of being assigned to. She was wonderful to talk with, completely professional, quick to respond, and solved my problem like a dream. I very much appreciate Brooke making our interaction a good experience. Thank you, Brooke!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Sam!

      Thank you for your honest feedback - I have passed this along to Brooke and she was pleased to have assisted you above and beyond!

      Our Customer Experience Specialists aim to provide the easiest and most convenient assistance to all our customers!

      Once again thank you for your glowing review!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best of the best

    • Stratford, Ontario, Canada,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're looking for a whitening system you have the best one out there! The HiSmile system is the best I have ever used! If you don't have the means to splurge on the full kit (which is worth every penny) then at least try the whitening pen. You see results quicker than any pen out there, and if you pair it with the whitening gel and light kit, you'll see results even quicker! I have had no added sensitivity at all, and I take the pen with me everywhere. Do yourself a favor and stop searching, you've found the one that is going to give you the quickest results with HiSmile!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Jess!

      Thank you for your honest review, we loved reading every word. We aim to assist those that may have experienced sensitivity in the past and use natural ingredients to ensure NO sensitivity or enamel damage by avoiding the use of peroxide in our products.

      We appreciate your support and welcome you to the HiSmile Fam!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Best thing ever

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    HiSmiles’s teeth whitening kit was the best thing I have ever used. My teeth started at a 7, but now they're a 2 after 6 days. I have recommended this product to all of my friends and relatives. If you think the whitening gel has a weird taste, don’t worry; I thought the same thing, but it doesn't. It actually doesn't really have a taste to it. Which is good. I have tried others whitening kits from other places, but none of them have worked. Thank you for reading my review, and I hope this helps convince you to choose HiSmile.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 25, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Meg!

      I am so pleased you saw such amazing results with our Teeth Whitening Kit! We love and appreciate all feedback and yours has made our day.

      We use natural products to ensure no sensitivity or enamel damage which results in a pleasant tasting Teeth Whitening Gel!

      Happy HiSmiling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Completely satisfied with my results

    • Denmark,
    • Jun 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The fact that I can actually see a great difference is more than I can say for any other product that I have tried before. It is actually quite inexpensive to by the gels once you have the kit. No sensibility for me. I am going to bye refills and might also try the toothpaste, since I now know that the products do work. The company has very friendly staff as well. In total, a very nice experience and an awesome product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 17, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Ida!

      Thank you for leaving this great review, we love receiving result feedback and I am so pleased you saw results with no sensitivity! The Day and Night Toothpaste is perfect to assist in maintaining your amazing results.

      Welcome to the family!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Warning: White spots on teeth!

    • Lebanon,
    • Jun 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started using it today, and FROM FIRST USE, it made white spots appear on my teeth which were never there!

    I googled this and it is common with not so good whitening kits. I have been whitening my teeth with whitening reputable toothbrush brands and never had this happened.

    This product is a piece of crap and if these white spots don't go away soon I will file a lawsuit for this poor result.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 13, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi Jad, a possible cause of these spots could be due to fluorosis- I can assure you that this is nothing to cause concern as this can happen with any form of teeth whitening product not just HiSmile.

      If you have fluorosis, using our kit will exaggerate the calcium deposits in your teeth making these parts extremely white. This is not permanent and you should notice that the spots subside within a couple of days of completing the applications as you mentioned this is a common occurrence across all whitening processes.

      We use all natural ingredients to ensure no sensitivity or discomfort when using our products and avoid harsh chemicals such as peroxide as these actually magnify the effects of fluorosis which is one of the many reasons why we avoid adding peroxide to our formula.

      Please get in touch with us via email - help@hismileteeth.com as we would be more than happy to assist you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Results of HiSmile

    • Lebanon,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thank you so much for that beautiful experience of whitening teeth! I got very good results in an easy way, and I recommend everyone to ignite this product! Easy to use for every adult person!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 12, 2018

      Mollie, Customer Experience Specialist

      Hi David, thank you for sharing your experience!

      We hope you enjoy your whiter, more confident smile.

      We're glad to have you as part of the HiSmile, and if you ever have any questions, please feel free to get in contact.

      Have a great day David!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 133

Write a Review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review