About HiSmile

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Mar 28, 2018

You want a whiter smile, but your teeth and gums are too sensitive for hydrogen peroxide.

The good news is that HiSmile manufactures a line of peroxide-free teeth whitening products that use sodium bicarbonate instead, which can provide a pain-free alternative. No more irritation to your gums or mouth.

Despite its gentleness, the company claims their teeth whitening systems can deliver noticeable results in as little as 10 minutes by removing extrinsic (i.e., surface) stains, and can make your teeth up to eight shades whiter within six applications.

Add to this HiSmile’s 100 percent clinically proven results and patented mouth guard, and you’ve got a safe, easy, and effective way to whiten your teeth in the comfort of your own home.

But before you hand over any money, there are some things you need to know. First, we’ll talk about the price of their different products.

HiSmile Products, Pricing, and Refund Policy

Overall, HiSmile currently offers five different natural, vegan products, which come with a 30-day money-back guarantee (from the date of purchase), if customers don’t achieve teeth that are at least two shades whiter.

According to the company, here’s what you’ll have to do to request one:

  1. Take a clear photo of your teeth before using.
  2. Use exactly as instructed.
  3. Take a clear photo after you've completed all whitening applications.
  4. Send your before and after photos to the company, along with a photo of the used products.
  5. Once approved, your refund will be processed.

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Kit

HiSmile’s kit includes 3 x Teeth Whitening Gel syringes, 1 x Mouth Tray and LED Light, a Teeth Whitening Shade Guide, and a step-by-step Instruction Manual. Here’s how it works:

  1. Apply 1/4 of the gel to the face of the top of the mouthguard, and 1/4 of the gel to the face of the bottom of the mouth guard.
  2. Then, place the guard in your mouth and turn the LED light on. After 10 minutes, the light will turn itself off and beep.
  3. Afterward, rinse your mouth and mouthguard.

The kit will give you six applications (two applications per syringe). The company recommends using the gel every day (consecutively) for the first six applications, followed by one weekly application to maintain results.

HiSmile’s Whitening Kit is priced at $79.99 AUD, $59.99 USD, £49.99, €54.99.

If you’ve ordered HiSmile’s Whitening Kit previously and only need individual pieces, these are available for purchase as well:

Day & Night Toothpaste

The Day formula contains something called a Micro-Shield wax that promises to prevent stains from occurring, while the night toothpaste is said to use “charcoal and other natural ingredients to remove stains and detoxify the mouth.” Features a pleasant peppermint flavor.

Pricing: $19.99 AUD, $15.99 USD, £11.99, €13.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Teeth Whitening Gel Syringes

These use a blend of sodium bicarbonate and sodium chlorite to provide whitening, along with light activators like pomegranate, aloe vera, and chamomile, to help whiten up to eight shades in 10 minutes, without sensitivity. For use with HiSmile’s LED Light & Mouth Tray.

Three gel pens are priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Peroxide Free Teeth Whitening Pen

HiSmile’s Teeth Whitening Pen can be used for touch-ups when you’re on the go, and is also great for hard-to-reach areas. Contains the same peroxide-free formula found in the syringes.

Priced at $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

Coconut Whitening Mouthwash

Features sodium bicarbonate as its key whitening ingredient, along with coconut to extract toxins from your teeth and gums. Application only takes about two minutes.

Five coconut tubes and an instruction manual will cost you $29.99 AUD, $23.99 USD, £18.99, €21.99 (available on subscription for 30 percent off).

How Do HiSmile’s Prices Compare to Other At-Home Whitening Kits?

Compared to some of the other teeth whitening products we’ve reviewed here at HighYa, including Whitening Coach, Action Pro White, and many others, HiSmile’s kit is about half the price.

However, the ASOTV whitening kit Dial-a-Smile comes in less than HiSmile, while other tray-based bleaching systems can be purchased locally for as little as $11.

Granted, all of these use hydrogen peroxide, while HiSmile uses sodium bicarbonate. But whether we’re talking about tooth sensitivity or whitening results, is there any difference between these two ingredients?

Hydrogen Peroxide vs. Sodium Bicarbonate

Most at-home teeth whitening kits use carbamide peroxide, which breaks down into hydrogen peroxide. In turn, this creates an oxidation reaction that dissolves stains and lifts them away.

The sodium bicarbonate (more commonly known as baking soda) in products like HiSmile, on the other hand, basically acts as a mild abrasive to scrub away stains from the surface of your teeth.

Comparing their effectiveness, carbamide/hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains, especially those that may be older and located deeper within your teeth. However, it can cause some tooth and gum sensitivity, although this usually subsides quickly after treatment.

Overall, after undergoing exhaustive clinical testing, peroxide is considered very safe by the ADA for use in at-home whitening products.

Interestingly, since it’s an abrasive (however mild), extended use of sodium bicarbonate can lead to irreparable enamel damage. Sure, you might not experience any immediate tooth or gum sensitivity, but over the long term, using a baking soda-based whitening system can be much more harmful to your teeth than a peroxide-based one.

In all, this means that peroxide-based whitening systems will likely provide you with better, safer whitening results than ones like HiSmile—if you don’t suffer from tooth or gum sensitivity.

What are HiSmile’s customers saying about their results?

A Look at HiSmile Customer Reviews

Since writing our original article, more than 80 HighYa readers provided their feedback about HiSmile, giving the company an average rating of 3.3 stars. Common compliments referenced ease of use, effective results, and solid customer support, while complaints often related to no results. In most instances, a company representative responded directly to this feedback.

TheBlondePerfectionist.com noted that HiSmile was "incredibly easy" to use and that they experienced results by the second application. Ultimately, they were "blown away" by how effective it was.

Similarly, InsincerelyHer.com noted that HiSmile worked fast and gave them “super white” teeth in weeks.

PetiteAnchors didn't see much of a difference with HiSmile, and claimed that "it made no actual difference to my teeth colouring." Granted, the author noted that she had undergone a couple of professional whitening treatments in the past, as well as numerous at-home treatments, and concluded that her teeth simply couldn't get any whiter.

The Bottom Line: Is HiSmile a Pain-Free Way to Whiten Your Teeth?

Can HiSmile provide you with a whiter smile, without sensitivity? With its baking soda-based whitening gel, it’s certainly possible.

Will it provide you with similar (or better) results than other peroxide-based at-home whitening kits? Again, it’s possible, although hydrogen peroxide is generally more effective at removing stains underneath your enamel, which could provide more shades of whitening.

Will HiSmile’s LED light provide any better or faster whitening results? Almost certainly not.

Given all of this, will HiSmile provide a solid value for the money? If tooth and gum sensitivity is your number one concern (and you’ve already tried a peroxide-based kit), then baking soda-based products might be your only option.

The catch here is that you could potentially achieve similar results using a DIY baking soda paste, which can be made for just a couple of dollars. Or, you can purchase a tube of baking soda toothpaste from several different national companies for not much more.

Despite these concerns, the before and after pictures features on HiSmile’s Instagram page indicate that the company has hundreds of satisfied customers. Although due to the abrasive nature of the baking soda in HiSmile’s gel, we’re hoping they don’t continue using the product for too long, or they might permanently damage their enamel.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 151 HiSmile Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 94 4 star: 9 3 star: 2 2 star: 8 1 star:  38
Bottom Line: 66% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 151
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Worse than before

    I was really excited to get this product as I had been unhappy with the colour of my teeth forever. It came in a really nice box and I was really looking forward to my whiter teeth. I used it once a day, just like it's recommended and waited.

    And yes, it actually did something. After like 4 uses, strange white spots appeared on my teeth. I thought they might go away and went on using the gels until they were empty.

    My conclusion: All that happened to me was that I got white spots on my teeth and they now look worse than before. I went to the HiSmile's website to check if they offer a refund or anything like that - but they don't. So I'm certainly not buying this stuff again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 24, 2016

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Katalin,

      We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your results. This type of feedback is rare for us to hear, but we are always happy to help.

      Please email us at info@hismileteeth.com and we can definitely assist you further.

      We look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    0 out of 10

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Apr 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Based on my experience, the product is crap and doesn't work

    When I posted on Instagram that it was crap and it didn't work on myself and five other people agreed, we were tagged in a comment from HiSmiles to contact them to help us get the results. They were not interested in helping at all, they just told me how to use it (which I was doing correctly) and that was the end of that. Save your money!

    I hear charcoal whitens teeth and there is a new company out there who sells it in a little tub. Give that or anything else a go!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 5, 2016

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Alexandra,

      We're sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your results.

      Results will vary greatly from person to person, depending on the type of teeth or conditions of teeth/stains the user has. It may take a number of months to completely rid your teeth of touch stains.

      Feel free to email us at info@hismileteeth.com and we can definitely assist you further and provide you with great tips on how to use HiSmile.

      We look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 23 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Terrible Cheap Chinese Product

    I spent almost $100 on their products and when they arrived I realized it was the same $5 crap on eBay, just with branding. Went through an entire kit and did not notice a single difference. Very disappointed in this rubbish product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 1, 2016

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Sally,

      Very sorry to hear you are not satisfied with your results with HiSmile. As I am sure you can understand results can vary from person to person. However, if you wouldn't mind sending through an email to info@hismileteeth.com, our customer care team will be more than happy to assist you to ensure you achieve your desired results.

      We look forward to hearing from you. Happy HiSmiling x


  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Just awful!

    • United,
    • Nov 26, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was super excited to get my product to try!

    I have seen the YouTube and social media posts and couldn't wait to get my box! I bought everything and even did express delivery but it never showed up.

    The company tried to palm me off onto their delivery service and told me they won't send me out a new box or refund my shipping costs when it is them who has to do this!

    No one wants to help whatsoever. What a bad company!

    They just wanted to get rid of me and not help.

    It is not worth your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 1, 2016

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Faye,

      We do appreciate all customer's feedback.

      I do apologize if you feel you have not received the absolute best experience with HiSmile as we do not wish to provide our customers with any less.

      In your case, unfortunately DHL did deem your parcel as 'lost' although I can confirm this is a very rare situation, as I am sure you can understand. I have since then refunded the cost of your shipping, resent your parcel and sent you multiple emails to ensure you have received your replacement parcel.

      We would love to hear from you. Feel free to email us at info@hismileteeth.com for any future enquiries.


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    I want a refund

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only bought the products from the website once as a gift for a friend. And now I'm being charged $19.49 for something that I did not buy recently. I send TWO emails and got no reply. There's not even a number that I can call. I want the money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Dec 15, 2016

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Stella,

      Thank you for your feedback.

      Very sorry to hear your most recent experience with HiSmile. I do apologize for the delay if we have yet to get back to you, as I am sure you can understand we receive an influx of emails every day. Please ensure you are emailing the correct email address info@hismileteeth.com and one of our lovely customer care team members will be more than happy to respond to you regarding this issue.

      I believe you have unknowingly signed up for a recurring subscription service. We will be more than happy to assist you with this issue.

      We look forward to hearing from you x


  • 27 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    • Feb 23, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the 6-day kit plus gel for six more days. Oh, do I regret! Nothing happened, nothing at all, it does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 23, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Fleur,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback.

      We do appreciate it as we are always looking to improve our product, company and customer satisfaction.

      As I am sure you can understand that results may vary from person to person depending on the severity of the pre-existing stains and the individual's natural inability to whiten past a certain shade.

      If you wouldn't mind sharing your experience with one of our lovely customer care members at info@hismileteeth.com they will be able to further assist you as best they can, to ensure that you achieve your desired results.

      We look forward to hearing from you.


  • 32 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Texas,
    • Feb 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been waiting for three months for my first order, which is the LED light and the mouth tray, along with gels and other items. I also did the automatic monthly renew for the gels. I have only received the gels.

    I have been emailing them letting them know that I have not received my first parcel and they have yet to do anything about it. I requested a refund for the items, which they agreed, but I would have to pay for the return of the refills. I think it is wrong that I would have to pay for the return since I was never able to use it since they never sent me the first order.

    I am sure if received it I would have enjoyed the product and continued the monthly subscription, but at this point, I am very dissatisfied with the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 8, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Thanks for sharing your recent experience. Very sorry to hear it was not a positive one as we pride ourselves on having exceptional customer service.

      As I am sure you can understand the Black Friday/Christmas period is a very busy time of year with a high influx of order and some sent with untracked shipping can get lost in transit.

      If you wouldn’t mind sending through one more email to our customer care team at info@hismileteeth.com one of our representatives will be more than happy to assist to you to resolve this issue.

      We look forward to hearing from you.


  • 33 out 33 people found this review helpful

    Didn't work

    I bought this product for my friend and myself. It arrived late, then we tried it and it didn't work. I thought maybe I did it wrong, so I tried again. Again it didn't work. Avoid this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 8, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Michael,

      We are very sorry to hear you are unhappy with your results. Results will vary from person to person depending on the type of teeth, conditions of your teeth, and the stains the person has. If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to email us at help@hismileteeth.com.


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Unsure

    • Aug 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the kit and I've used two gels within seven days by following instructions. I went to buy more, and they're $30 for a box of three. Pretty pricey when you think about it, considering the kit is $80, and if you were to buy the gels every week, that's like $170 a month. After one week I haven't seen any difference, plus I paid express and didn't get it within the promised two days, and they didn't reply until the day I received it saying "it's been delivered." Pretty unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 21, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Kellie,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback.

      As I am sure you can understand, that results may vary from person to person depending on the severity of the pre-existing stains and the individual's natural inability to whiten past a certain shade.

      If you wouldn't mind sending through an email to help@hismileteeth.com our customer care team will be more than happy to further assist you in regards to your parcel arriving after the timeframe.

      We look forward to hearing from you.


  • 34 out 35 people found this review helpful

    Shipping fluke

    HiSmile seemed like a reputable company at first glance. Then, I ordered my package and was completely disappointed. I bought $9.99 shipping so it would arrive in 2-4 days, but they don't tell you it's on their terms. Still waiting for my package. I emailed and they told me to allow another 48 hours and they will not refund me for my shipping charge. That's not good, and I would not order from them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 41 out 43 people found this review helpful

    No refund as I haven't taken photos before treatment

    • London, England,
    • Sep 7, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The treatment didn't work for me. I asked for a refund and it was denied as I have not taken pictures before starting the treatment. I am sorry, but I didn't know it was NOT going to work? They should mention it on the box or instructions. PLEASE BE AWARE before buying the product. I am very disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 11, 2017

      Company Response from HiSmile

      Hi Tiziana,

      We're so sorry that you were unable to achieve your desired results. As stated in the terms of our website, to qualify for our money back Guarantee you must be able to provide us with before and after pictures. We value your feedback and we will pass on your suggestion along to our product development team.

      Feel free to email help@hismileteeth.com, if you wish to discuss further.


Showing 1-11 of 151

Write a Review for HiSmile!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review