About Mindvalley Academy

Founded by Vishen Lakhiani and headquartered in Beaverton, OR, Mindvalley Academy claims to be the world’s first online education site devoted to “personal growth, self-education and entrepreneurship.” By providing “courses that really matter and elevate your human potential,” they’re focused on helping you “unlock your extraordinary life.”

Mindvalley Academy has been featured in Inc. magazine and on BBC, and holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 14 closed complaints within the past three years. From a customer satisfaction standpoint, it appears the most common complaint includes confusion over the 10-day trial. However, it seems that customer service is quick to address and find solutions to any reported problems.

How the Mindvalley Academy Works

Mindvalley was originally a digital publishing company that has slowly evolved into several businesses across numerous industries, from mobile apps to health & wellness. Regarding Mindvalley Academy specifically, the company claims to have more than 200,000 students, and to feature some of the world’s top teachers, thought leaders, and experts, all of whom are focused on building new models of education, wellness, and methods of leading your ideal life. The company calls this idea “culture hacking,” which involves the close integration of technology and education aimed at “recoding” the culture and moving humanity forward.

Mindvalley Academy currently features several paid courses across a variety of categories, and claims that their goal is to have helped more than 1 billion people by the year 2050. The courses are divided into 4 primary categories:

Body

  • Health & Fitness – Get happier, healthier, more energetic, and more productive.
  • Yoga & Energy Practices – Helps to “anchor” your energy, and to harmonize your life.
  • Alternative Healing – Takes an “inside out approach” to healing and invigorating yourself.

Living

  • Happiness & Positive Living – Increase your happiness, boost your positivity, and live a longer, healthier life.
  • Wealth & Abundance – Remove the blocks to abundance, and start thriving.
  • Career & Entrepreneurship – Find your purpose and live an extraordinary life.

Social

  • Parenting & Family – Learn from your children, and parent better.
  • Love & Relationships – Find your soulmate, and then nourish the relationship.
  • People Skills & Social Life – Open your heart and live with happiness and love.

Mind

  • Spiritual Growth – Boost your awareness and become one with your consciousness.
  • Meditation – Change your perspective and be open to new possibilities.
  • Manifesting – This is the art of turning your thoughts and desires into reality.

According to the website, the top three courses are currently:

  1. The Silva Method – Helps you to “create a breakthrough life”, and features more than 43,000 enrolled students.
  2. OmLife – Helps you discover “revolutionary technology” that allows you to experience the benefits provided by deep meditation, but only in minutes. More than 24,000 students currently enrolled.
  3. Unlimited Abundance – A home training program with just over 18,000 students, this course will help you break through 24 “Abundance Blocks.”

If you’re looking for a detailed list of the top Mindvalley programs, click here. It’s interesting to note that courses listed on the Top Courses page do not appear anywhere else on the site, and vice-versa.

Mindvalley Academy Pricing & Refund Policy

Mindvalley courses are currently priced between $36 and $149, depending on the length of the course, and whether it is online or includes physical materials. However, Mindvalley Academy does offer $1 trials, which give you the ability to try any program you wish for 10 days. If you’d like to keep the program, simply wait until the 10-day trial ends, and your payment method on file will be billed accordingly. To cancel prior to the end of the trial, simply email customer support, and no further charges will apply.

If you’ve ordered a program that includes physical (versus digital) materials, delivery will occur within 5-7 business days via USPS. Shipping costs for most home study courses cost $7.95 within the U.S.

All Mindvalley Academy courses come with a 90-day money back guarantee. To request a refund, simply fill out a contact form, and someone from customer support will reply shortly.

Bottom Line: Is Mindvalley Academy a Scam?

With all this information, you’re probably asking, “So, is Mindvalley Academy a scam?” Based on our research, Mindvalley Academy does seem to be a legitimate business that is focused on providing cutting edge courses focused on transforming your life. However, there are some things to consider prior to purchasing a course.

First, the current list of Mindvalley Academy courses is limited to 4 at the moment, though the site promises more to come. However, the actual number is a little confusing, since one set of courses are listed under the four main sections of the site, and another set are listed under the Top Courses page. In addition, despite relatively favorable online reviews, some of the Mindvalley Academy courses could be considered “pseudo science,” and are not backed by studies to prove their efficacy. With this said, just like any other self-help course, some individuals may experience life-changing results, while others will experience none.

Mindvalley Academy customer service personnel seem to be very attentive to finding solutions to any customer complaints, and their $1, 10-day trial seems to be a great way to find out if one of their courses is right for you. And even if you’ve already been billed for a course, you’ll still have a full 90-days to request a refund, if you find yourself unhappy with the material later down the road.

All in all, it seems like the Mindvalley Academy courses may be beneficial to some individuals, and presents very little risk for trying it out.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

62 Consumer Reviews for Mindvalley Academy

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 2 1 star:  23
Bottom Line: 58% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bummed about the customer service

    • California,
    • Dec 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a "Quest" and am yet to start, so this review will not be about that; however, when purchasing the Quest, the website sold me on a "Mindvalley" University subscription and oddly I felt like it was advertised to me as an additional "quest" for only $249 instead of the $349 I paid for the original quest. After paying the additional $249, I found out I just paid for a subscription to their "university." Honestly, I feel misled. And unfortunately, it gets worst...four days after the purchase, I sent Mindvalley an email requesting a refund in which I got an auto email that notes a response from them within 48 hours. It has been an additional four days, and still I have received no response from them. Talk about poor customer service.

    Did I mention that finding an email address for the refund request was almost impossible? Their website leads a person back and for to the same websites that in reality offer no email address for customer service. I want to believe the content on Mindvalley is good, however, the really bad customer service makes me believe this company is just a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent company for self-improvement

    • Southampton, Canada,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been a customer of Mindvalley for several years. Eventually, I honed in on energy work and took all energy work courses available from several different leaders. I chose one after a couple of years, and have been working directly with this teacher for the past year. Mindvalley is a wonderful provider of courses to improve mind, body, and soul. I highly recommend it to anyone that is seriously wanting to improve their personal life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent course with Jeffery Allen

    • Toronto, Canada,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have seen some negative reviews, so I thought I would chime in with my personal experience. I ordered the Duality Course with Jeffery Allen through Mindvalley, and the course is absolutely wonderful. It's easy to follow and Jeffery is a great, humble teacher. The course is very professionally put together. There are workbooks, review/recaps, and they have even thought through things like extracting the meditations onto a separate page to make them easier to find later. The course is slow and steady, allowing you to learn at your own pace. I highly recommend this course. The only negative thing I would say is that they send far too many emails once on the mailing list.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Awful company!

    • Florida,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for a video from a third party person that was being marketed by Mindvalley. The video would not play, and access was only granted after giving them much personal information. I immediately started receiving spam emails from Mindvalley. They continue to spam my inbox with three to seven emails per day. The link to the video, which was finally provided after giving them my email address, appeared on the second screen. When I click on it, the entire video disappears. When I refreshed that page, the video reappeared. When I click on it again, it disappeared again.

    I tried to reach their customer service. They do not allow direct access to their customer service. You must go through multiple "help screens" (which are completely useless except for the most extreme imbecile) until you finally have the option to send them an email. So, I sent the email and received yet another email telling me that they would not get back to me for 48 hours. Thankfully, I had chosen a video that was free. Had I spent hundreds or even thousands of dollars with this company, I would be highly irate that they would take so much money, give such poor, poor service, and then refused assistance period for the kind of money that they charge, prompt assistance should be included. It's my hope that another company will start that will put Mindvalley out of business.

    As a side note, Mindvalley will not allow fast forwarding or rewinding in their videos. If your child cries, and you miss something said, you must start the entire video over again. This means that if you are 55 minutes into a one-hour video, you must start all over from the very beginning to be able to understand what was said. These kind of decisions are the decisions of a very greedy company. I am really saddened that good people are choosing to use Mindvalley to reach the public.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 6, 2018

      Mindvalley,

      Hello Michiko,

      I am Greta from Mindvalley team. Please, accept my apologies on behalf of the team about the experience you had. I have checked your case and I noticed that our support agents have addressed it.

      It is true that we firstly guide our customers to our customer support center because there they can find immediate answers instead of waiting for the response of our agents. Our direct support aim is to answer all email inquiries as soon as possible, however, we always set expectations of 48 hours in case we have a big amount of emails coming in.

      You recently signed up for two masterclasses with Mindvalley, and I am sorry you had difficulties watching them. Your feedback was taken and we double checked possible issues within the team. We always recommend using Google Chrome as it is the most compatible with our platform. Both original and replay links work well and if you wish us to send them, let me know.

      As you have asked us to be removed from our database and get no more emails from Mindvalley, I want to assure you that we did that and sent you the confirmation.

      If you see that we could serve you in any other way, please let us know.

      Greta

    • Nov 11, 2018

      Michiko B.

      Well, Greta,

      First, I'm so sorry you work for such a poor company. The reviews are awful. If you haven't noticed, your "support center" is the furthest thing from the truth, also known as a lie (see independent reviews of Mindvalley here and elsewhere for reference). I don't like liars. The pat answers you "provide" leave hurting people searching and desperate. That is appalling! How can you abuse hurting people as you do? Do you need their names? They're right here on this review site. If you were a decent company, these people would have received their refunds immediately but they DIDN'T!

      Vishen is a hunter looking for prey! A 48 hour response time, means you have a very high dissatisfaction rate, very poor customer service representatives, and/or there's no one willing to work customer service for you and your "team" is miniscule, if it even exists. Yes, I have asked to be removed from their database. I hope everyone else does too! Their company is FRAUDULENT. I will continue to respond to any response you leave here, as I want everyone to know how awful my experience was, and I have awesome willpower.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Mindvalley is unique platform

    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This platform is totally unique and working on personality development in a very superb manner. I'm associated with them from last 4 years and found a lot of change inside me. A few things I like the most about Mindvalley are unique content with amazing presentation.

    Mentors with great background made this superb. I personally like Jason Silva and Psalm. I highly recommend this to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Amazing customer support and customer policies

    • Houston, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Right after taking the subscription of a Mindvalley course I found some issues that seemed like real trouble, but the customer support executive handled it really well and sorted out all my issues.

    Actually, the day to day technology changes make it easier as well as difficult for someone like me, but the Mindvalley platform makes it simpler, so there are no issues now. Thank you guys.

    And I am soon going to opt for the new entrepreneur's course.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 18 people found this review helpful

    They do not give refunds, really bad experience

    • London, England,
    • Sep 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I understand that their teachers and the content might have some value but their money back policy is a scam.

    They deserve 0 stars for the complete lack of customer service. They do not reply within 48 hours as the automatic reply states. They blast you with several emails of how amazing their content is afterward.

    My experience points out that the company is a brainwashing machine to generate money.

    They promise they refund money. They do not.

    They also do not have a customer service telephone number. They communicate only by email.

    They say we refund, yes, and then the small print only the annual subscriptions, not the monthly ones. This is not only unfair, but it is literally a trap to generate income without providing any service, because who wants to try the annual first in case things go wrong.

    They also do not reply to emails for refunds to explain not even to provide a link. As soon as they receive an email asking for refund and cancellation, they send several emails for how amazing their content is.

    In their website, they provide links with very carefully crafted content questions and answers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Mindvalley,

      Dearest Dina,

      I am Joyce from Mindvalley Team, I have investigated your case and found out that the case has already been addressed by one of our support specialists. We would like to apologize if there was a delay in the response you received. I would like to assure you that Mindvalley has no intention to affect your learning experience this way.

      We have no intentions of changing your views, instead, we are here to assist you once you found the best program for your chosen transformational journey. Based on your review, there was a confusion between the difference of the monthly and annual subscription refund policy. I am glad that everything has been completely settled now. We have also processed the refund which you should have received by now.

      The email address info@mindvalley.com is only used for sending out Mindvalley program or offer updates and we can only respond to you if you email us at support@mindvalley.com. If there is anything else we can do for you, please contact us by calling our contact center, 1-888- 597-8384.

      Operating hours: Monday - Friday, 7 AM - 7 PM (PST).

      You are always welcome in case you are interested to know future Mindvalley Courses and events, please let us know, and we will be here for you.

      Love and Light,

      Joyce

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Only one word: "servicio increíble"

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Aug 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an entrepreneur, I've had to face a lot of hurdles on a daily basis and it becomes so hard to maintain the balance between personal and professional life. It's like a seesaw of emotions all the time where you can't concentrate on one thing properly.

    I've followed a couple of local meditation gurus but didn't get the desired results, and then landed to Mindvalley's webinar and truly impressed by the content and presentation.

    These guys are doing a phenomenal job. Simply awesome.

    Thanks guys!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic customer support

    • Aug 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the customer support the most. I have taken a few courses and found them really great, but I had faced some technical issues. Their customer service helped me in a great way. Professional and polite.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Superb platform for life education

    • Aug 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a single mother, I have a lot of challenges in life and I'm up for those, but sometimes I feel loneliness and need a support system. Here comes the Mindvalley in my life with a light of hope. The quality sessions by the well-known and established speakers showed me the path to happiness. I love MIndvalley and recommend to few of my office mates.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Something good for entrepreneurs

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's Marry, a young entrepreneur in the field of e-commerce and has seen a lot of ups and downs at an early age. Sometimes it's like passing through a dark street with no clue of life as an entrepreneur.

    I've attended many seminars and sessions but didn't get the little answers, and then landed on a Mindvalley video by the speaker Jim Kwik. That was the kick, and I've enrolled in a couple of courses and found them great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 62

Write a Review for Mindvalley Academy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review