About Mindvalley Academy

Founded by Vishen Lakhiani and headquartered in Beaverton, OR, Mindvalley Academy claims to be the world’s first online education site devoted to “personal growth, self-education and entrepreneurship.” By providing “courses that really matter and elevate your human potential,” they’re focused on helping you “unlock your extraordinary life.”

Mindvalley Academy has been featured in Inc. magazine and on BBC, and holds an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 14 closed complaints within the past three years. From a customer satisfaction standpoint, it appears the most common complaint includes confusion over the 10-day trial. However, it seems that customer service is quick to address and find solutions to any reported problems.

How the Mindvalley Academy Works

Mindvalley was originally a digital publishing company that has slowly evolved into several businesses across numerous industries, from mobile apps to health & wellness. Regarding Mindvalley Academy specifically, the company claims to have more than 200,000 students, and to feature some of the world’s top teachers, thought leaders, and experts, all of whom are focused on building new models of education, wellness, and methods of leading your ideal life. The company calls this idea “culture hacking,” which involves the close integration of technology and education aimed at “recoding” the culture and moving humanity forward.

Mindvalley Academy currently features several paid courses across a variety of categories, and claims that their goal is to have helped more than 1 billion people by the year 2050. The courses are divided into 4 primary categories:

Body

  • Health & Fitness – Get happier, healthier, more energetic, and more productive.
  • Yoga & Energy Practices – Helps to “anchor” your energy, and to harmonize your life.
  • Alternative Healing – Takes an “inside out approach” to healing and invigorating yourself.

Living

  • Happiness & Positive Living – Increase your happiness, boost your positivity, and live a longer, healthier life.
  • Wealth & Abundance – Remove the blocks to abundance, and start thriving.
  • Career & Entrepreneurship – Find your purpose and live an extraordinary life.

Social

  • Parenting & Family – Learn from your children, and parent better.
  • Love & Relationships – Find your soulmate, and then nourish the relationship.
  • People Skills & Social Life – Open your heart and live with happiness and love.

Mind

  • Spiritual Growth – Boost your awareness and become one with your consciousness.
  • Meditation – Change your perspective and be open to new possibilities.
  • Manifesting – This is the art of turning your thoughts and desires into reality.

According to the website, the top three courses are currently:

  1. The Silva Method – Helps you to “create a breakthrough life”, and features more than 43,000 enrolled students.
  2. OmLife – Helps you discover “revolutionary technology” that allows you to experience the benefits provided by deep meditation, but only in minutes. More than 24,000 students currently enrolled.
  3. Unlimited Abundance – A home training program with just over 18,000 students, this course will help you break through 24 “Abundance Blocks.”

If you’re looking for a detailed list of the top Mindvalley programs, click here. It’s interesting to note that courses listed on the Top Courses page do not appear anywhere else on the site, and vice-versa.

Mindvalley Academy Pricing & Refund Policy

Mindvalley courses are currently priced between $36 and $149, depending on the length of the course, and whether it is online or includes physical materials. However, Mindvalley Academy does offer $1 trials, which give you the ability to try any program you wish for 10 days. If you’d like to keep the program, simply wait until the 10-day trial ends, and your payment method on file will be billed accordingly. To cancel prior to the end of the trial, simply email customer support, and no further charges will apply.

If you’ve ordered a program that includes physical (versus digital) materials, delivery will occur within 5-7 business days via USPS. Shipping costs for most home study courses cost $7.95 within the U.S.

All Mindvalley Academy courses come with a 90-day money back guarantee. To request a refund, simply fill out a contact form, and someone from customer support will reply shortly.

Bottom Line: Is Mindvalley Academy a Scam?

With all this information, you’re probably asking, “So, is Mindvalley Academy a scam?” Based on our research, Mindvalley Academy does seem to be a legitimate business that is focused on providing cutting edge courses focused on transforming your life. However, there are some things to consider prior to purchasing a course.

First, the current list of Mindvalley Academy courses is limited to 4 at the moment, though the site promises more to come. However, the actual number is a little confusing, since one set of courses are listed under the four main sections of the site, and another set are listed under the Top Courses page. In addition, despite relatively favorable online reviews, some of the Mindvalley Academy courses could be considered “pseudo science,” and are not backed by studies to prove their efficacy. With this said, just like any other self-help course, some individuals may experience life-changing results, while others will experience none.

Mindvalley Academy customer service personnel seem to be very attentive to finding solutions to any customer complaints, and their $1, 10-day trial seems to be a great way to find out if one of their courses is right for you. And even if you’ve already been billed for a course, you’ll still have a full 90-days to request a refund, if you find yourself unhappy with the material later down the road.

All in all, it seems like the Mindvalley Academy courses may be beneficial to some individuals, and presents very little risk for trying it out.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for Mindvalley Academy

Average Consumer Rating: 2.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 10 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 33% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Powerful source of education

    Mindvalley provides not only a source for education and information which led to my increased sense of well-being, Mindvalley provided a sense of belonging to a community and a sense of being supported not just in my city but in the world. I appreciate the access to such brilliant teachers and mentors.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Mindvalley

    I have been a Mindvalley student for almost three years. When I came across their videos, I was going through a very difficult time in my life. Since then, Mindvalley has been a part of my daily routine. It has helped me become more confident, joyful, and peaceful. My friends tell me that they do not even recognize me anymore (in a good way). I stand taller, project a more positive energy, and I feel overall happier. Do I still have bad days? Absolutely! However, I know when those days come I need to spend more time meditating and listening to the lessons.

    If you are looking for a quick fix, this program will not be for you. Mindvalley challenges you to go deep within yourself and make a change, which takes time. Did I see instant results in some areas? Yes! With all things, some items were easy to overcome, and some has taken effort. I recommend you give it a try. You can access several of their teachings for free on YouTube, and their website and podcast. However, if you want to go deeper, sign up for their premium classes. They have an amazing costumer service, so if you have any problems, they are there to help you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Life changing experience

    Mindvalley has literally changed my life. When I joined it one year ago, I didn’t even expect it to be so transforming. High-quality courses bring great value to your everyday life. You can improve your memory with Superbrain quest, plan 12 categories of your life with Lifebook, get great knowledge about healthy nutrition and even lose some weight with WildFit quest. This all goes with great support from your online community and Mindvalley Tribe facilitators who can always help you on your path of transformation and you never feel alone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No response

    • California,
    • Feb 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I reached out three times to solicit support after having been denied access to the program I paid for, and I still have not heard back - three days later. I am starting to wonder whether it’s a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 12, 2018

      Mindvalley,

      Dear Anca,

      I am Joyce from Mindvalley Support and on behalf of Mindvalley, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the negative experience. Please visit our support center where we prepared Instant answers. You may submit a contact form or email us directly at support@mindvalley.com, or you may give us a call at our call center and we'll try to assist you over the phone.

      1-(888)-597-8384

      7 AM - 7 PM PST

      Mondays-Fridays

      I hope you can give us a chance to help you. We hope to hear from you soon!

      On behalf of Mindvalley, we are sending you our sincerest apologies.

      ***As of March 2018, we have implemented additional reviews on our current processes and we are looking forward to addressing any pressing concerns that customers may encounter.
 We appreciate you for bringing this issue to our attention. As a fast-evolving company, we are always looking for ways to better our service, and your feedback is an important part of that process.
Should you need help in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I will be very happy to assist you personally with anything you need.

      Love and Light,

      Joyce

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Not so subtle politics

    Although I do enjoy the courses and individual instructors, I am not keen on being preached to in a political agenda campaign. Although Vishen claims he is above the fray and will not vilify political opponents, he then produces videos and sends emails detailing his beliefs on why a certain person/politician is "unenlightened/unethical" without using the same criteria for the politicians he approves of. I find this disingenuous. A recent video states he won’t vilify opponents but goes on to say how Trump is such and such, which opened comments up to Trump bashing. Whatever. Seemed like a total lesson fail and yet followers were none the wiser for their "I won’t vilify, I’m above that, but Trump is a racist, sexist, destroyer..." I am tired of political agendas disguised as "enlightenment!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Poor financial support and lack of response to refund request for 2 years

    • Hobart, Tasmania, Australia,
    • Nov 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely unhappy with Mindvalley as they have been invoicing me for 2 years despite three communications to stop. I am currently in talks with them and PayPal. PayPal advised that the refunds are processed immediately, and Mindvalley tells me it takes 15 days, which is rubbish. I have communicated with Mindvalley for 2.5 years to attempt to get back my US $812, and they do not do it. The company is built on customer service, and it's appalling, and I am going to take it to social media if this is not rectified. I have all the paper trail, and they continually tell me it is done and it never is, validated by PayPal.

    Hey Elizabeth! Thank you for your message but I'm not able to answer your questions yet!

    If you want to contact support click the button "Support", while if you want to explore chatbot options just click the button "Menu".

    Menu

    Support

    Chat Conversation End

    Type a message...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 44 out 53 people found this review helpful

    Does not help at all

    • Berlin, Germany,
    • Oct 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After having spent a large amount of money on a two-day workshop, the only change that I experienced is that I have less money than before and wasted a whole weekend.

    Vishen spends most of the time talking about himself, how rich he is an that his brain works much better than yours. He wants to reprogram your brain. Not even Donald Trump has such a big ego as Vishen. He seems to ask himself everyday "Why can't everybody be as great as I am?".

    The scary thing is that not only he thinks that he is a kind of Messiah, most of his audience believes that too. I felt like I was in a kind of sect and that Vishen was a kind of guru who tried to brainwash the audience. It reminded me of reports of Scientology.

    Vishen has the goal to teach 1 billion people until 2050 and that is something that should really scare us all.

    I have a strong character and can't be brainwashed easily, but many people attend courses like that only because they are going through a difficult time in their lives. Those people are very vulnerable and very easy to influence. Vishen uses their situation and makes them buy more and more expensive courses without really helping them.

    It's like selling beauty products to a very ugly person by promising that she can be a supermodel if you buy her products.

    Even if you think that his advice may help you, you really should not spend and money of that. For your money you only get the same stuff again and again that is also available for free in his Youtube videos. Do you really want to pay money to someone just to hear how great he is?

    I wonder if all the famous people he mentions all the time know that he uses their name to promote his way of thinking. It's pretty sure some of them would sue him if they knew.

    He also often tells stories and afterwards says something like “I do not know if this story is true, but…” That really makes you wonder how much of what he tells you really is true. It is just immoral to take money from desperate people for telling them lies.

    Vishen's goal is not to improve your life. He just wants your money. You should buy his courses and his books and - in case you are really successful one day - join his 'tribe' called “A-Fest”, which connects people with big egos like his.

    In fact you - as a normal guy - are only interesting for him if you pay him money. Otherwise he would never even spend a minute with people who are not millionaires. He spends a lot of money every year on memberships in exclusive networking clubs, that would never allow people like me or YOU as a member. He make great efforts to be separated from normal people like you and me.

    It is totally legit that people love to make money and become rich. I want to become rich, you want to become rich and Vishen also wants to become rich. The problem is that he tries to become rich by making false promises. It's like selling and expensive "wonder drug" to a cancer patient, although you know that it will not help him.

    If any of your friends plan to order any of Mindvalley's courses, please warn them! There are a thousand ways to spend your money much better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Mindvalley is wonderful!

    I have been a member of Mindvalley for several years. Their customer service is absolutely the best. The courses offered on are very extensive. For me, personal growth is of the utmost importance. I never have a problem finding courses to suit my needs. I highly recommend Mindvalley Academy.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Nothing But The Best. Grateful

    • UK,
    • Aug 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been following MindValley since 2010, and currently own over 10 programs purchased through MindValley Academy. Each of these programs added something special & transformational into my life. The experience with MindValley community, especially with their friendly Support Team, was nothing but the best experience I ever came across elsewhere. Just grateful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 21 people found this review helpful

    The code of the extraordinary mind

    I love Mindvalley and have been a student for over three years. Any complaint I have had was addressed and solved to my standard. I enjoy the approach and the style they use to teach. They bring in the top teachers in the fields and keep up with a fresh course all of the time. We are evolving the human race by creating a new education model, one that teaches soft skills, happiness, and success through finding your purpose. I highly recommend them to everyone searching for a new outlook, an answer to life's questions, happiness, success, and being the best and most they can do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    This company keeps taking money out of my account. They have no customer service; maybe everyone quit on them, I don't know. They say they have outstanding customer service although they make it so you can't call them and I have sent six or so emails and they will not respond.

    I am a single mom/grandmother and lost my job. I am raising my grandchild due to my daughter's death. I spoke to them last month and told them I needed my money back. They said I was not eligible for a refund. I am almost certain that on the course from John, during his infomercial he stated you had 90 days to get a refund. I was well within that. I told them to make sure they do not take any more money.

    Well someone blessed me with some money to pay my mortgage and within an hour of that going in, Mindvalley stole $395.00 from my account, which has now been canceled and is overdraft! I can't get any response, and all you can do is email. They are really destroying my life right now and don't care. They do not care about people or helping people at all! Only money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2017

      Rob Foreman

      I'm sorry this happened to you. I do have some issues with Mindvalley Academy but not like yours. To date, I have purchased 16 different programs from them and haven't experienced any negative issues whatsoever with my credit card.

    • Jul 10, 2017

      Brett Harding, Head of Customer Support

      Hi Karen! My name is Laura, from the Mindvalley team. I have fully studied your case and see that the program you referred to belonged to Neurogym (a different company) and it was sold through us.

      You contacted them outside of the refund period and we could not approve the refund without their consent. After communicating with them, I can see that on June 19th we actually issued the full refund that you requested originally. All of these details were explained to you and we thought it was clear that this refund didn't depend on us alone.

      Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and hope your review can reflect the complete customer experience process and not just the frustrating side. We do believe in turning every negative experience into a positive one and I hope we were able to to this for you.

      Enjoy your beautiful day and don't hesitate to contact Laura at support@mindvalley.com if you need further assistance.

      Love and light,

      Lau

    • Aug 17, 2017

      Aunton Kay

      Dear Laura, my bank account was hacked back in July, I have had some money withdrawn and so the bank called me. I am calling on you today because I have a few programs that I simply do not want or cannot handle. I have sent emails and I still have not heard from you. Just like Karen McDonough, I have called your number and never get through!

    • Sep 17, 2017

      Carollyne

      I paid $399.00 for a course. Where is it? I'm irritated. Where is your email address, where is the $399.00 course I signed up for? I need answers. carollyne2 [at] yahoo.com.

    • Sep 25, 2017

      Irma

      Mindvalley respond quickly to emails and have issued a refund for a trial I did not want to carry on with. All in all, good customer service when you contact them. However, the website is confusing and I am struggling to work through everything. I paid for the course thinking I'd get reminder emails to keep me on track and to let me know about the live calls but instead, I keep getting emails about all their other courses. It's a bit much and annoying, all I want to do is progress through the course I paid for.

    • Jan 17, 2018

      Bobbi Walker

      I purchased the Energy Medicine Premium Course by Donna Eden. The course is quite good. My issue is that the closed captioning is not done well. There are 28 instances of the wrong word being typed in just the first module. While this may not be a big deal for folks that can hear, those that need the closed captioning are left scratching their heads. I contacted customer service and they said they would look into it. That was well over a month ago. I just went through the first tape again and none of the corrections have been made. I am going to contact them again, with the specific words and times that they appear. Maybe something will be done about this. If all else fails, I intend to ask for a partial refund.

    • Feb 23, 2018

      VINCENT OWINO

      I have been following Mindvalley for a few months now. The presentation is simply great and breathtaking and Vishen's book ''The Code of Extra Ordinary Mind'' is truly extraordinary. The kind of teachers Vishen brings on board is a clear attestation of what he stands for. Congratulation Vishen AKA Vincent!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Mindvalley Academy!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review