ActivatedYou Morning Complete Review - Is It Safe and Effective?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Jun 22, 2020

Morning Complete by ActivatedYou is a green apple-flavored dietary supplement drink allegedly helps provide you with more energy as well as the digestive benefits commonly accomplished by probiotics and probiotics.

To use, add one scoop of Morning Complete’s in eight ounces of your choice of liquid (ActivatedYou recommends water or green tea) and consume

This article reviews the available medical literature to examine the effectiveness and safety of the ingredients found in this supplement. Learn if it’s right for you.

Ingredients

Overall, Morning Complete’s easy-dissolve formula is comprised of eight different proprietary blends, each of which contains anywhere between two and nine ingredients.

Because of the sheer number of ingredients here, we’ll divide each blend into its own section. We’ll then discuss any related clinical evidence that we discovered in our review of the available literature.

Prebiotic and High Fiber Blend, 4.05g

Compared to probiotics (more in a second), prebiotics are non-digestible fibers that may support overall health by serving as food for the friendly bacteria found in your digestive tract.

Morning Complete contains chicory root fructooligosaccharides and cinnamon bark, which are common prebiotic ingredients.

Fructooligosaccharides are thought to reduce hunger by making you feel full. This benefit was seen at 16g doses over 3-4 months, though doses less than 10g did not affect appetite.

Probiotic-boosting effects seem to be possible even at lower doses; 4-15g/day improved constipation and increased friendly gut bacteria in healthy subjects.

Unfortunately, as ActivatedYou only offers the total for the blend, we do not have information for the amounts of each ingredient.

The amount of fructooligosaccharides is likely much smaller than doses that were proven successful in both curbing appetites and boosting probiotics.

Green Superfoods Blend, 735mg

A mix of vegetables ActivatedYou claims can help optimize nutrient intake and overall wellness, including spinach, broccoli, kale, mulberry leaf extract, alfalfa leaf, barley grass, and berberine HCl (from Berberis aristata root).

These plants contain many essential vitamins, nutrients, and other substances. A few examples include:

  • Spinach – High levels of calcium, phosphorus, potassium, vitamins A and C, and riboflavin.
  • Broccoli – Strong antioxidant abilities due to the presence of ingredients like ferulic acid, vitamin C, sulforaphane, and indole-3-carbinol.
  • Kale – Lutein, beta-carotene, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, potassium, vitamin C, vitamin A, iron, folate, protein, and fiber.

The berberine included in this blend is an ammonium salt from plants found in Europe, Asia, and Africa. They may offer anti-inflammatory, neuroprotective, and diabetes fighting effects.

A randomized trial, demonstrated that 500mg of berberine three times daily over a 3-month span improved insulin sensitivity, waist circumference, and insulin secretion in subjects with metabolic disease.

As this particular blend totals 735mg and includes 5 other ingredients, it’s safe to say that the berberine content does not come close to the 1500mg doses found to be successful in the study.

Metabolic Enhancing Blend, 390mg

This Morning Complete blend promises to help support a healthy body weight using a mix of green tea leaf extract, ginger root, white tea leaf extract, turmeric root extract, bitter melon fruit extract, and black pepper.

Green tea is a common ingredient in products that claim to have metabolism-boosting effects, though this ingredient is thought to offer many other effects.

Caffeine and catechin, an antioxidant, are likely responsible for many of green tea’s effects.

Green tea doses ranging from 90-400mg up to 3x daily all seemed to boost energy expenditure to the same degree when combined with 200mg of caffeine.

The combination of 500mg of green tea and exercise improved body weight, BMI, waist to hip ratio, and body fat percentage to a higher degree than accomplished with exercise alone.

Antioxidant Blend, 100mg

This blend contains the following food extracts that could help your body as it ages: Lyceum berry, pomegranate fruit extract, and Polygonum cuspidatum (50% resveratrol).

These antioxidants are thought to fight off free radicals. Molecules thought to be associated with a wide variety of negative effects ranging from aging to cancer.

Pomegranate may offer anti-inflammatory effects. In diabetic patients, those that consumed 250mL of pomegranate juice daily for 3-months had reduced levels of blood tests that indicate inflammation.

Sugar Balancing Support, 100mg

A three-ingredient blend that promises to help maintain healthy blood sugar levels using gymnema sylvestre leaf, fennel seed, and pine bark extract.

Pine bark contains a chemical called pycnogenol, an extract obtained from trees found in France. In a review of 5 trials with over 300 participants in total, 150 mg/d of pycnogenol or greater seem to reduce levels of blood tests associated with inflammation.

Again, this blend consists of multiple extracts that total 100mg. Clearly, the pycnogenol content will not exceed the 150mg dose found to be effective.

Cellular Function and Liver Support, 55mg

This blend contains algal oil DHA powder, organic aloe vera leaf, and milk thistle seed extract.

Silybin is the active ingredient in milk thistle and is thought to safeguard the liver from toxic substances.

In 87 patients with liver cirrhosis, those randomized to receive140mg of milk thistle 3x daily for an average of 41 months lived longer than those that received a placebo. Another study found this same dosing regimen to be associated with few deaths from liver-related diseases.

The milk thistle content of the Cellular Function and Liver Support Blend is much smaller than the doses tested in the current literature.

Adaptogens, 55mg

This Morning Complete blend contains astragalus root extract, rhodiola rosea root extract, and diindolylmethane.

Astragalus is an herb found all across Asia and thought to offer a number of effects like boosting immune function or regulating blood sugar.

While astragalus improved sugar and fat metabolism in diabetic mice, support for these effects in human studies are lacking.

More research is needed to determine the safety and effectiveness in human subjects.

Probiotic Blend, 10 billion CFU

Beneficial bacteria strains play a huge role in our digestive health, as well as our body’s immune response.

So, by balancing the digestive tract using supplements that contain these strains, common benefits include reduced gassiness and bloating, increased energy, improved digestion, and decrease irritable bowel syndrome symptoms.

Morning Complete contains many popular bacteria strains found in standalone supplements, including B. coagulans, L. gasseri, L. plantarum, L. fermentum, L. casei, L. acidophilus, B. bifidum, B. longum, L. rhamnosus, and S. thermophilus.

Lactobacillus acidophilus is commonly included in probiotic blends and is thought to offer relief for diarrhea and stomach discomfort, while also supporting immune function.

A review of 34 randomized studies found that daily doses of L. acidophilus ranging from 2 hundred million to 2 hundred billion were effective at reducing the risk for diarrhea.

It’s important to keep in mind that there are over 20 L. acidophilus strains, and they all behave differently.

As these effects are strain-specific, you can’t predict how Morning Complete’s blend will behave as they do not offer information for the specific strains of each probiotic.

Potential Side Effects

It is challenging to provide details regarding safety as ActivatedYou provides only total amounts for each blend, but not the amounts for each individual ingredient. Additionally, studies detailing long-term use for these products are lacking.

Nonetheless, the available studies we’ve reviewed can offer some takeaways for this product.

Pre and probiotics blends are generally safe, though mild side effects can include stomach pain, gas, bloating, and diarrhea have been reported.

As Morning Complete offers many strains that comprise the 10 Billion CFU total, the individual strains are probably included at safe doses.

Ingredients in the Super Foods blend, like berberine, were tested safely at much higher doses than what is found in Morning Complete. This blend may offer doses that are safe but not effective.

Green Tea’s safe intake level is 338mg; Morning Complete’s total metabolic blend includes multiple ingredients and totals 390mg. The other blends contain ingredients that have been similarly safe in human subjects.

Astragalus has not been extensively tested in humans, however. This ingredient and many of the others included in Morning Complete lack long-term studies.

As the safety of these blends has yet to be characterized over long durations of time, it is best to include your physician in the decision to use this or any dietary supplement.

The Cost

ActivatedYou priced Morning Complete as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $79
  • 3 Bottles: $213 ($71 per bottle)
  • 6 Bottles: $403 ($67.17 per bottle)

All orders come with a 90-day satisfaction guarantee, less S&H, which you can request by contacting customer support at 800-720-8403.

Morning Complete

Buy Morning Complete from Amazon:

Morning Complete costs $78.52 for one jar, with free shipping. ActivatedYou suggests you take one scoop each day, so one jar is equal to a 30-day supply.

$78.52 (1 Bottle)

Bottom Line: Is Morning Complete Right for You?

Morning Complete’s blends contain numerous ingredients that seem to offer a wide variety of benefits.

It’s important to balance this information by pointing out that all of the supplement’s ingredients are part of proprietary blends, so there’s no way to know if it contains the same amounts found in supporting clinical studies.

While the amounts included are likely safe, they may be too small to offer many of the proposed benefits, however.

Furthermore, at between $67 and $79 per bottle depending on quantity ordered, it certainly isn’t the least expensive whole-health powdered supplement we’ve researched, either.

Unless you’re deficient in the ingredients it contains, most of us don’t need to take a dietary supplement.

Speak with your primary physician to help determine whether or not you’re deficient in any nutrients.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of ActivatedYou Morning Complete:
  • 692 Customer Reviews
  • 92% Recommend This Product
4.4 out of 5
5 star: 62% 4 star: 27% 3 star: 4% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 3%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Gary K.,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I learned that even though I didn't take the last step to confirm the purchase and actually closed the window, apparently the fact that I had already submitted my credit card number was sufficient for the seller to complete the purchase anyway, because I received an email providing an order number and thanking me for my purchase. I am furious. This is simply outright fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Sep 18, 2018

    Huckster order process turned me off. Cancelled purchase.

    I was impressed by Maggie Q's video advocating Morning Complete. I actually began the order process, opting for six bags. However, I was dissuaded from completing the order because of the "bonus" offers soliciting my purchase of other products. If Morning Complete is such a comprehensive solution, why the need to hawk additional products? And for every offer I declined, there was another demanding my attention. I was completely turned off and canceled my purchase altogether. Why can't she be satisfied with my initial positive response? Her company's hard-line sales tactics are unsavory at best. I've always thought highly of her and I must say I'm disappointed. Just another huckster.

    • Sep 19, 2018

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Gary, my name is Chloe with ActivatedYou. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm very sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our check out process. We take all reviews seriously, so I will pass along your feedback to our customer service team. I want to note that these offers are meant to help our customers save money and are never meant to confuse or turn away our customers. They are all also optional and are able to be canceled at any time. Please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com and I will be more than happy to further discuss your experience.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Not good

    Overall Experience:

    After researching reviews, comparing ingredients and claims, and watching an actress speak for more than 25 minutes about Morning Complete by ActivatedYou, I made a purchase. If the brand's claims are to be believed, this product is superior to similar products I've tried. Not so.

    From my ordering experience to breaking the seal and trying the product I am extremely disappointed (and a little upset). The feeling I had from using was similar to what I experienced when I had food poisoning (like a diuretic that I had not intentionally taken).

    Several calls to customer service (and a few more tries of Morning Complete) to report what I had experienced, this jar is on its way back for a refund. (Not so fun fact: you will have to pay for return shipping yourself!) In sum, I have paid $12.90 (return shipping) to feel as if I had been food poisoned. (Not to mention the billing mishaps and varied contradicting customer service explanations.)

    Morning Complete only if you want a product: (a) that does not work, (b) in a small quantity (the jar was a quarter filled), (c) of a questionable quality, (d) you'd buy anyway because you have money to burn. There are no reasons why I would recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 21, 2018

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Theresa, my name is Chloe with ActivatedYou. I’m very sorry to hear this was your experience. As you can see from the hundreds of positive reviews of Morning Complete, a majority of our customers have loved their overall experience with Morning Complete. However, we do understand that everybody is built differently, so it may work well for some and not for others. As always, we ask that you consult your primary care physician prior to trying a new product to ensure that you do not experience any interactions while taking it.

      Morning Complete is made up of incredibly high-quality ingredients. All of our products go through rigorous testing for quality, purity, and potency at an independent 3rd-party facility. In addition, our return policy can be found on the bottom of our website where we state we do not cover shipping and handling. I am so sorry for the confusion and miscommunication that we have caused. We wholeheartedly stand by our 90- day money back guarantee, and I would be more than happy to refund you the cost of shipping for the confusion that we have caused. Please reach out to me at chloe@activatedyou.com to begin the refund process. Again, I’m sorry that this was your experience and I look forward to hearing from you!


  • Is it "complete"?

    • By Dee W.,
    • Pennsylvania,
    • Oct 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was actually jazzed to order it. I was convinced by the video that this, and only this, is all I'll need to feel better. So I order the maximum six bags.

    As I go to check out, SIX more pages of add-on offers...including a separate probiotic. Wait a minute! So this isn't "complete"?!

    I called and canceled my order. I don't need to be hounded into extra products by what seems like a greedy company. If they had just accepted my order, or even one (possibly two) additional offers, I may have been a loyal customer for life.

    I understand the "wait, there's more" mentality...more of the same product or a completely different product is ok. But a different product that does the same thing (after boasting completeness), that says you don't have faith in your initial product.

    Customer lost...bye bye.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 8, 2018

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hello Dee,

      My name is Chloe with Activated You. Thank you so much for leaving us a review. Customer satisfaction is a number one priority of ours, and I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Our products are made with high-quality ingredients and go through a testing process to ensure the best quality, purity, and potency. Morning Complete is an amazing product and we believe that you will see the amazing benefits. However, we also offer additional products to check out so that you can receive additional benefits and get the best deal. If you are skeptical I would be more than happy to send over a free package of Morning Complete so that you can experience the benefits risk-free. If you are interested please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com.


  • Abdominal pain

    • By Alice H.,
    • Colorado,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After about two and a half weeks using this product, I am having fairly severe abdominal pain that feels like a cross between cramps, hunger, and heartburn, and I have also experienced some nausea.

    I really wanted this product to work because I have had ongoing problems with constipation and bowel movements for quite some time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 16, 2018

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Alice, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so sorry to hear that this has been your experience. Abdominal pain is not a typical side effect of Morning Complete, so please stop taking it immediately and consult your physician to ensure that it is right for you. If you are unable to continue taking Morning Complete, please email me personally at chloe@activatedyou.com and I will be more than happy to assist you with a refund.


  • Waiting for results

    • By Jeanne G.,
    • Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been taking ActivatedYou for just over a week now. I do have a bowel movement in the morning after I've been up for about an hour. Most times that's the only one I have during the day. I have noticed that I am passing more gas than usual. I am expecting that this will pass but am not sure how long I have to wait for results of no gas and more bowel movements than just one a day. Any suggestions?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Jeanne, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. First, I would like to mention that we typically suggest that our customers take Morning Complete for at least three months to experience the full results. I recommend that you continue to take Morning Complete for at least three more months. At that time, if you still do not experience the results you had expected, I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Please keep me updated on your experience as time goes on! You can email me at Chloe@Activatedyou.com. Thank you!


  • Did not work, side effects, and only partial refund

    • By Mami A.,
    • California,
    • Dec 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First of all, we ordered three bags in the beginning. But after checking out, there were messages on the screen saying we should get three more bags to get the good deal. So I actually went ahead and bought another three. But when I looked at the bill, I was actually charged for six more bags and a total of nine bags were shipped. It says max six bags per person but ships nine bags in one box. And they let that happen...I conpletely don’t understand.

    But anyway, my partner and I tried out one and a half bag (for about a month) but no result. Before, I went to the bathroom almost every day, but after taking this, my bowel movements actually got worse.

    Also, after two days of taking this, I started nose bleeding very frequently. Just all of a sudden. I didn’t know why I was bleeding so often, but when I stopped taking this, the nosebleed stopped.

    We returned only the unopened bags because the two opened bags were thrown away. And we only got a partial refund. If we were supposed to send the empty bags back, hence the partial refund, well there were no instructions to do so. The site says 100% money back guarantee. We should be getting the full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Nothing good

    • By Susan T.,
    • Mississippi,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Did nothing it promised. Being in a bag was really awkward to measure. Did not send it back due to shipping but I still have a whole bag of it. Also if you have a complaint about this product you have to have at least 180 characters in your complaint, so I bet you will not see my complaint.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 20, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Susan, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience with Morning Complete. Your feedback is valuable as we are always trying to improve our customers' experience. I appreciate your note about the packaging...I will let our Product Development team know. In addition, we do offer a 90-Day Money Back Guarantee! Please e-mail me at Chloe@Activatedyou.com and I can begin the refund process right away. I'm so sorry for the frustration you have experienced but I look forward to making this right by you.


  • Truly awful

    • By Cindy R.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product does not dissolve well and made me gag. I don't know if it works because I could not drink it! I don't know if there are different flavors, but I received apple cinnamon (both things I usually like), but the flavors were overwhelming and made me feel like I was ingesting nothing but lumpy artificial flavoring.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 22, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Cindy, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. I'm so sorry to hear about the experience you had while trying Morning Complete. At this time, we don't have other flavors available but I do know that many of our customers enjoy adding it to their favorite smoothie. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our product so we do really appreciate your feedback. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund, just e-mail me at Chloe@Activatedyou.com and I can begin the refund process right away. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to hearing from you!


  • Second week extreme stomach pain with constipation and a lot of bloating.

    • By Frank M.,
    • Indiana,
    • Mar 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This product is not for everyone. For myself, these two products caused a great deal of digestive problems, including serious abdominal pain along with bloating that would not stop. I was in pain 24/7. Even caused problems when I walked. When thinking of ordering, please check customer complaints about these products. It's very serious.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 1, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Frank, I'm so sorry to hear that this was your experience with Morning Complete! I do want to note that Morning Complete contains probiotics and therefore, some of our customers may experience die off symptoms. These symptoms may last a couple of weeks, but we do understand it may be uncomfortable for some. Please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund for giving the product a try. I hope you are feeling better!


  • Seems like a scam

    • By Jessica L.,
    • New York, NY,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I haven't tried the product yet. But the shopping experience is the worst one I ever got. Right before I placed the order, there were 4 questions asking if I wanted to buy more. I clicked all "no." The final message was "thank you for shopping with us," etc. I thought that was it. One day later, all the sudden, I was informed that my 9 bags of Morning Complete were shipped. I asked the customer service what went wrong. She responded. She said I clicked one "yes" on one of 4 questions. It must be an accident though! But it is so sneaky that I didn't even get the chance to see the final shopping cart before placing the "new" order. Extra $237 was charged! I can't believe that. I made me skeptical about the product. Should I try? I think I will return all the products and I won't pay one cent on shipping fee or handling fee. I will dispute every cent.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 8, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Hi Jessica, I'm Chloe from ActivatedYou. I wanted to take a moment to apologize for your frustrating checkout experience. Our customer's experience is our #1 priority so I was really upset to read your review and I wanted to stress that we would never charge a customer for a product that they did not wish to order. If a glitch occurred in our system, we would happily refund our customer of the unwanted product. So, I would like to make sure that you are fully refunded. Please e-mail me at Chloe.Lee@ActivatedYou.com and I can begin the refund process right away. Again, I'm so sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced but I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.


  • Disappointed

    • By Michelle G.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jun 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I’ve been using this product for a month now and I have to say I’ve noticed changes. Dry, itchy skin, constipation and intermittent stomach cramps for a start. But I’m not on here to give a bad review for a product that obviously has not agreed with my body, but to warn potential future buyers of the absolute vile taste of this product.

    Unbelievably vile taste.

    I wish I’d listened to those alarm bells ringing when the checkout process included multiple sales pushes to buy more, more, more, because honestly, they never amount to anything good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 13, 2019

      Company Response from Chloe Lee

      Michelle, I understand your frustration. I want to apologize that Morning Complete was not the right fit for you and that you did not enjoy the taste. Many of our customers enjoy blending Morning Complete into their smoothie and have seen success with the product. In regards to our upsells, it is an opportunity for our customers to take advantage of prices that they won't find elsewhere. Please email me at chloe@activatedyou.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.


Showing 1-11 of 692

Write a Review for ActivatedYou Morning Complete!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
ActivatedYou Morning Complete