About SuperBeets

Everyone wants to naturally maximize their health, but with so many different foods out there, it can be difficult focusing on the ones that will pack the most punch.

To help make the process easier, SuperBeets is a superfood beetroot powder containing high levels of dietary nitrates that, when taken on a regular basis, claim to boost nitric oxide levels, support heart health and healthy blood pressure, promote improved energy, and maintain stamina.

Each batch of SuperBeets is made using a patented low heat drying process that preserves nutritional integrity, so it promises to deliver “exponentially more” nitric oxide power than other conventional beet products.

All you need to do is add one heaping scoop of SuperBeets to 4-6oz of cold water (or to your favorite smoothie or protein shake) up to 2 times per day, and the finely granulated crystals will immediately go to work dilating blood vessels and regulating blood flow to all the organs in your body. With each serving, you’ll get the equivalent of 3 whole non-GMO beets, or 1 half-liter bottle of beet juice—without side effects!

Who knew beets were so power-packed? But what’s all this talk about nitric oxide? When it comes down to it, can SuperBeets really provide all of these great benefits? We’ll break it down in this review.

What Is Beetroot? How Does It Relate to Nitrates?

Beets have been consumed by humans for millennia, although it wasn’t until Roman times that the round, red root portion (i.e. the root) was eaten on a regular basis. Before then, only the leafy greens that sprout above the ground were used.

Despite this, beetroot contains some of the highest sugar content in the vegetable kingdom, along with essential vitamins and minerals such as fiber, vitamin C and B6, magnesium, phosphorus, and more. However, beets also contain a lot of carbohydrates, so eating too many may result in weight gain.

Beets also contain natural chemicals known as nitrates, which are transformed inside the body into nitric oxide (NO), a gas that can help widen blood vessels, improve circulation, and more. As such, nitrates in pill form are often prescribed by doctors for patients experiencing chest pain (angina) related to heart disease.

Now, what about SuperBeets’ claims? Nitrates have reams of clinical evidence showing that they can improve circulation, but can this powdered supplement do the same? Will it also boost energy and promote exercise endurance?

First, let’s take a look at what SuperBeets contains.

What Ingredients Are Found In SuperBeets?

Taking a look at SuperBeets’ nutrition label, there doesn’t seem to be anything unnatural or added after the fact:

  • Calories 15
  • Total Fat 0g
  • Sodium 65mg
  • Potassium 160mg
  • Carbohydrates 4g
  • Sugars 3g
  • Protein 1g
  • Magnesium 10mg
  • Vitamin C 50mg

Seems pretty standard, right? Will these ingredients actually deliver on their promises?

Is There Any Clinical Evidence Supporting SuperBeets’ Claims?

Unfortunately, the company doesn’t provide any clinical evidence on their website to support their claims. On Dr. Nathan Bryan’s page (more about him shortly) under their Leadership section, we found several studies that showed the health benefits of nitrates and nitrites (much of which we covered above), although nothing specifically related to SuperBeets.

Elsewhere online, WebMD claims that there is insufficient clinical evidence showing that eating beets can reliably provide any benefits, although they do mention:

“Early research suggests that taking a specific product (Neo40-Daily by Neogenis Labs) containing beet root and hawthorn berry twice a day for 30 days might reduce a type of fat found in the blood called triglycerides in people who are at risk for heart disease.”

Remember this point, because we’ll come back around to it shortly.

We also came across mixed results for improved exercise performance related to beetroot juice in general (not specifically for SuperBeets, though).

Outside of this, we found numerous websites promoting the vitamin and nutrient content of beetroot, but nothing substantiating the physical effects of the nitrates it contains. Despite this general lack of evidence, will beets in general—or SuperBeets specifically—cause any side effects?

Potential SuperBeets Side Effects

Regularly eating beets or taking a supplement like SuperBeets doesn’t appear to cause many unwanted side effects, although WebMD notes that eating too much can lead to low calcium levels and kidney damage. Due to their strong color, beets can also temporarily turn urine and stool a reddish color.

As we mentioned above, beets are high in carbohydrates and sugars, so they might not be your first choice if you’re on a weight loss program.

Note: According to at least one section of the SuperBeets website, you shouldn’t take more than two 5g scoops in a 24-hour period, while elsewhere they claim you shouldn’t take more than four scoops.

Efficacy and side effects aside, how much will you pay for SuperBeets?

How Much Does SuperBeets Cost?

SuperBeets is available in regular or new Black Cherry Flavors, and is priced as follows:

  • 1 Canister: $39.95
  • 3 Canisters: $79.90
  • 6 Canisters: $149.90

If you place a single canister order, you’ll be charged $8.95 standard shipping (additional options available). The 3 and 6-canister options come with free shipping, along with nitric oxide indicator strips to track your NO levels and the Beet the Odds e-book.

You can also order SuperBeets through the company’s replenishment program. Here, you’ll pay $34.95 per canister each month, or $69.90 every three months (your choice), which can be canceled at any time.

All SuperBeets orders come with a 90-day refund policy, less S&H charges. In order to request one, customer service can be reached at 855-636-4040.

What Are Customers Saying About SuperBeets in Their Reviews?

Interestingly, we found very little online customer feedback for SuperBeets at the time of our research.

Supplement-Geek.com provided a fairly in-depth analysis of the company’s claims and found that, while there is limited clinical evidence showing that consuming beets can increase your body’s nitric oxide levels, a lot of questions remain. For example:

  • Exactly how does this work?
  • Where’s the clinical evidence supporting the company’s claims?
  • If SuperBeets does work, how long does it elevate NO levels?
  • Does SuperBeets work any better or worse than the competition (more about this next)? What about juicing your own beets?

From a company perspective, SuperBeets is manufactured by Neogenis Labs (the company will soon change their name to Human Power of N), based out of Austin, TX. The company had an A+ Better Business Bureau rating based on 3 closed complaints (as of 6/8/16), although no details were available.

Who Is Nathan S. Bryan, PhD & John L. Ivy, PhD?

Neogenis Labs/Human Power of N was founded by two individuals, Nathan S. Bryan, PhD and John L. Ivy, PhD.

Dr. Bryan is an Adjunct Assistant Professor at Baylor College of Medicine, formerly an Assistant Professor of Molecular Medicine within the Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine. He also works with the Texas Therapeutics Institute to “carry out translational research and drug discoveries related to cancer, cardiovascular disease and stem cells.”

Dr. Ivy received his PhD in Exercise Physiology from the University of Maryland, and has “served on the faculty at the University of Texas for 31 years and as Chair of the Department of Kinesiology and Health Education for 13 years.” He’s the author of 170+ scientific papers and numerous book chapters.

The Bottom Line About SuperBeets

Yes, beets contain high levels of nitrates, as do other foods like arugula and iceberg lettuce, spinach, celery, and more. Whatever foods you get them from, though, there simply isn’t enough clinical evidence to say with any certainty that food-based nitrates can improve exercise performance, boost energy, or maintain stamina—including SuperBeets.

Another concern is that we’re not told what levels of nitrates you’ll find in each serving of SuperBeets, although each one contains about one-third of your daily recommended intake of added sugar. As we mentioned above, combined with the high carbohydrate level found in beets, this means that SuperBeets might not be a diet-friendly supplement.

Speaking of which, there are dozens upon dozens of powdered beet supplements available online and at health food stores near you. Granted, not all of these will feature the same patented technology found in SuperBeets, but if you’re in the market for one of these powders, keep in mind that it’s not your only option. Much of the competition is less expensive, too.

Taking this together, should you spend your money on SuperBeets? Between the general lack of clinical evidence, missing customer feedback, and higher price, this is something only you can answer. Whatever you decide though, just be sure to speak with your doctor first.

Don’t leave curious customers in the dark: Tell the world about your SuperBeets experience by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Consumer Reviews for SuperBeets

Average Consumer Rating: 3.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 16 4 star: 1 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  9
Bottom Line: 61% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Hard

    • Sunriver. OR,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We live in Baja during the winter. Upon return, I opened a tub of SuperBeets and found it hard as a rock. I threw it away. Beware, buyers, they never returned my messages. I believe it is a good product though. I just don't want to spend dollars and have this happen again, that's $40 gone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 49 out 51 people found this review helpful

    HumanN fails their own expectations

    I placed a $439.25 REPLENISHMENT order with HumanN on 4/11/2018. As the confirmation page states: "Your order has been received, here is what to expect."

    You'll get an email confirming that your order is processing.

    Your order will ship, typically the same day or next business day depending on when placed.

    Once shipped, you will receive a shipment confirmation email with tracking information.

    Well, NOT one of the three expectations set by HumanN (not me) but the company's own statement has been honored. And to make matters worse, HumanN charged my VISA card for $439.25 on 4/11/2018 (the same day the order was placed). I was surprised that I had no communication from HumanN. I thought perhaps the email just went into a black cloud, so, gave them a call on April 30, 2018. Only to be informed that due to "their new security" my order was canceled. WHAT? Security that charges your account yet cancels the shipment of an order?!

    They were very sorry, and someone from Corporate would give us a call. Well, 28 hours later yes, I received a call from someone from HumanN Corporate. She apologized but reiterated that is was the new security software for my protection. I did not, nor do not, understand how I am protected if you charge my bank account, funds taken out, yet the shipment of the order is canceled to protect me. Then, she asks me if I want a refund. And from there the logic completely goes out the front door.

    I want the product...can you send me the product? Well, no, because the order was canceled. But to receive my funds back into my account I would have to request a refund, and if I still wanted to place an order, she would have to charge my account again. And I had to agree to the order on a recorded line. Fine, may I have a refund of my funds which you have held since 4/11 and can I please order $439.25 of your product via your replenishment program? Yes, please, charge me again.

    Well, it has been 29 hours since that phone call. No email confirmation. My account posted another $439.25 payment to HumanN. On the HumanN's website under my account/orders, it has the original order date with the status of "canceled." Apparently spending $439.25 for a 90-day reoccurring nutritional supplementation is a red flag for HumanN. I have ordered over $300-$400 every 30 days from another nutritional company for over 20 years and have never experienced such a lack of customer service or product. I was shopping when I found HumanN, and they have not won my loyalty, so, I will continue to shop for nutrition but elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Increased energy

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Apr 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife had a major brain stem stroke in October 2016. The stroke left her entire right side effected as well as her memory and eyesight. She has fought major fatigue ever since coming home from the hospital. I heard about SuperBeets ability to give people energy, so we decided to try it. She has been taking SuperBeets twice daily for a week now, and we both can see the difference in her energy level and strength.

    We have tried other products and a lot of different herbs, and nothing has worked like SuperBeets. For me and my wife, this is an answer to prayer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Not sure

    • California,
    • Feb 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking SuperBeets for about 3 weeks now. At times I think it gives me more energy. I also thought my blood pressure was going down. My blood pressure seemed like it was dropping without meds, however, that doesn't seem to be the case. I did discover that I was drinking 8 to 10 oz of water with 1 scoop of SuperBeets.

    I am not sure about my endurance. I try to work out every day, but that sucks too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 18, 2018

      Karen Montes

      Thanks for your post. That’s all I needed to read after watching the ad on Fox News. I got very curious since everyone on the planet wishes they had more ENERGY etc. Your review confirmed the stuff is not doing anything at all. You THOUGHT you had more energy and THOUGHT your blood pressure was lowered but that doesn’t seem to be the case as you said. Endurance questioned, just didn’t understand why you would recommend to a friend with no good results? Thanks for saving me money. Always check these products out to see if there is REAL clinical data. This product DID NOT.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Farmington, NM,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love SuperBeets! It holds my blood pressure down! Before it was 180-85 and now it is 130-65. I've been using it for eight months, and will keep using. I like the taste. I tried the black cherry flavor but I like the regular flavor better, mixed with cold water.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Like it

    • Maytown, PA,
    • Jan 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took me a few times to get used to the drink, and now I don’t mind it at all. I drink it with really cold water and rather chug it. I had taken one of my containers and used it and then got busy and forgot to do it every day. So I found my next container and have started taking it again and feel much more energetic.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 86 out 97 people found this review helpful

    Tastes terrible

    This stuff tastes terrible in water. The second day I mixed it in iced tea. And I love beets. I'd eat them a couple of times a week if I could find someone to eat with me.

    Plus I asked my 87-year-old mother to call and order one of these to try while I was at work one day. The sales dept talked her into six canisters and a box of to go packets. Plus we only got one little scoop with her $150 order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 60 people found this review helpful

    Blood pressure

    • Marietta, GA,
    • Sep 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    During the last seven years, my blood pressure was a little high, and I was worried. My docs wanted to put me on meds, which I resisted. I began taking the super beets a year or so ago, and my blood pressure and my pulse are now back to a normal 130/78 and pulse 68. I am 65 years old and very happy with the SuperBeets.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 56 out 63 people found this review helpful

    It works

    • Lakeland, FL,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a 58-year-old man who has been having high blood pressure for the last three years. It is extremely important for me to get the pressure in line, and not just for the obvious reasons. My morning pressure had been around 180+/90+, and this morning, week three into taking SuperBeets, it was 122/82. I am also a type 2 diabetic, who takes Metformin, which depletes one's body of B12, but since day one, I felt the energy boost. I used to drink energy drinks to make it during the day, but have not had one since day one.

    I will mention that if someone eats food high in sodium, like I did this past weekend, there will be an increase in your pressure, so common sense is needed to achieve the goal, but this product, SuperBeets, is a keeper.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 6, 2018

      Rob Hobert

      Yeah, ok, your blood pressure when you wake up was 180 systolic over 90 diastolic. First of all, those numbers are phony. Just like your claims of the beet powder magic. Three weeks later, your BP was down over 60 points. Impossible. I should know being a cardiologist. If your going to inflate claims to sell a product at least make them believable, and medically accurate. Please don't Donald Trump people!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 66 people found this review helpful

    Wasn't happy

    • Brant, MI,
    • Aug 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was recommended to the product by a coworker, who swears by the product. I bought one jar and tried it for at least three works. The only thing I noticed was being a bit lightheaded sometimes when I'd first take it. I never noticed any increase in energy whatsoever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 154 out 169 people found this review helpful

    Bad side effects!

    • Harrison Township, MI,
    • Jun 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this because I have bad circulation in my leg and my husband has high blood pressure. After reading it's food for both, I thought, heck let's give it a try. It did not give me any energy as it says, nor did it help with my circulation, however, my tongue started to get numb and tingly. Then my throats felt like it was closing/swollen, I got terrible mouth sores inside my mouth, red spots inside my mouth and tonsils, and just overall very painful!

    I stopped immediately taking it, and then the same reaction happened with my husband! It has been a few weeks, and I still have scaring inside my mouth and numbness on my tongue! This needs to be addressed.

    I asked the returns person "does anyone else complain of this and give this reason for their returns?" She sounded hesitant to admit, but she said "yes, tingly tongue, and um yeah, some have said mouth pain." This is not just a little mouth pain, it hurts BAD! I am really nervous and hope it did not cause severe damage.

    Because this is new to me and a lot of others, I'm waiting to hear later what health risks this may cause. Ugh, I never would of bought this if I knew from others this was going to happen.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 5, 2018

      Tea

      Is there sulfate/sulphate in this product? Many dried products contain it. It sounds like a sulfate allergy. That concerns me if it is because I am not just allergic to sulfate, but highly allergic to sulfate.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for SuperBeets!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review