What is PrettyLitter?

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jan 13, 2017

PrettyLitter cat litter takes the guesswork out of making the best life for your cat by alerting owners to any possible health concerns with litter that changes color after use—helping you to detect feline issues before your vet does.

Why would cat owners need color-coded kitty litter to alert them of potential illness?

Felines are great at hiding signs of not feeling well because animals who get sick in the wild get eaten. This means that cats rarely show any indication of illness until it’s progressed to a point that they can no longer hide what’s wrong.

Plus, not only will cats often disguise any symptoms, but a kitty who’s feeling under the weather will likely curl up in an out of sight area for several days, making signs of sickness more difficult owners to spot.

PrettyLitter CEO and co-founder Daniel Rotman invented the illness-detecting litter after the loss of his own beloved cat, Gingi from an illness that might have been treatable with earlier detection.

The complete PrettyLitter team also includes Product Advisor Carly Martinetti, who had previously created the popular animal blog Featured Creature, and Veterinarian in Chief Dr. Geoff DeWire, a graduate of U.C. Davis School of Veterinary Medicine (which is the top rated veterinary school in the country).

In short, the folks behind PrettyLitter appear to really know—and care—about animal health.

PrettyLitter 101: The Basics

PrettyLitter looks similar to the white, crystal-based litters that many cat owners are already familiar with. It’s made of silica gel, which means that it’s quite light when compared to clay litters. (A month’s supply only weighs four pounds!)

Silica gel, which you’re most familiar with seeing in those little packets that are tucked into shoe boxes to keep moisture out, is used because if offers superior odor protection. The water in your cat’s urine evaporates, while all that’s left is absorbed into the silica crystals—odor and all.

Note that silica gel litter is feline safe—meaning that if your cat were to ingest a crystal when grooming after using their box, it would simply pass through their system naturally.

Another perk to silica gel? Unlike clay litters, the substance is totally dust-free, which is great for those with allergies—plus, it’s healthier for cats, too. (It’s also eco-friendly.)

PrettyLitter is manufactured in China. Some consumers consider this to be an automatic strike due to economic or quality concerns. However, there are no US-based crystal cat litter manufacturers—and PrettyLitter states that, because they have the utmost concern for your pet’s safety and health, they perform extensive quality checks to ensure that their standards are met.

How Does PrettyLitter Work?

PrettyLitter is poured into your cat’s litter box like normal—ensure that the litter is at least two inches deep throughout the entire box.

Litter should be cleaned daily, with solid waste being removed with a scooper. As you’re cleaning the litter box, you’ll notice colored patches indicating where your cat has urinated. Here’s how to decode the colors of PrettyLitter:

  • Dark yellow/ olive green: Normal urine
  • Blue: High alkalinity which may indicate either FLUTD, Struvite Crystal formations or kidney issues.
  • Green: Abnormal acidity which may indicate either FLUTD, calcium oxalate crystals, urinary blockage in males or kidney issues.
  • Orange: Presence of bilirubin.
  • Red: Presence of blood, which may indicate Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disorder (FLUTD), Crystals (Crystalluria) or Interstitial Cystitis. In rare cases, it can also mean bladder cancer, an internal injury, poison ingestion, and/or if it's a female cat over four months old who hasn't been spayed, she may be in heat.

Note that sometimes temporary color changes can occur as a result of a new diet, changes in environment or temporary stresses that may cause a cat's pH levels to elevate or drop.

So, if you notice a color other than dark yellow or olive green, PrettyLitter instructs that you should closely monitor your cat’s behavior and urine for the next 24-48 hours. If the color change continues, you should consult your veterinarian.

If you have a multi-cat household and notice a change in color, PrettyLitter suggests isolating your cats into different rooms with their own litter box for a time until each urinates and you can determine which animal is possibly ill.

As explained in the Nat Geo Wild video above, PrettyLitter isn’t intended to be a diagnostic in and of itself. Instead, changes in color can offer early detection for health issues such as urinary tract infections, pancreatitis, liver failure, and diabetes. And, early detection can help you save on your vet bill—or possibly save your kitty’s life.

PrettyLitter does not clump to contain liquid waste like clay litters. Instead, you’ll need to thoroughly mix the litter every day to avoid your cat saturating the same area several days in a row—this keeps PrettyLitter’s health indicators and odor absorption operating at full capacity.

After using PrettyLitter for one month, it’s time to dump the whole bin into the trash and pour in a new bag. (Be sure to clean any residue that might be stuck to the bottom.)

How Much Does PrettyLitter Cost?

One four-pound bag of PrettyLitter is needed per cat, per month. To order PrettyLitter, first you select how many cats you have:

  • One cat: $21
  • Two cats: $39
  • Three cats: $68 (For four bags—includes a fourth bag for free.)

PrettyLitter is ordered online and ships for free. Your order of PrettyLitter is delivered straight to your door.

All PrettyLitter purchases are backed by a 30-day satisfaction guarantee. If you’re not happy with your order for any reason, let PrettyLitter know and they’ll refund your order immediately.

Note that purchasing PrettyLitter automatically signs you up for their litter club. This includes monthly auto-shipments of your litter—and monthly auto charges. We’re normally very cautious of auto-ship programs, as they can be difficult to cancel and are occasionally indicative of a questionable business.

However, PrettyLitter is very upfront about their auto-ship program and states that the litter club is intended for convenience. After all, who wants to think about litter each month?

PrettyLitter also states throughout their website that, if you’d like to opt-out of auto-renewals, you can do so anytime through the website or by calling (800) 838-3381. To test out how easy it is to cancel, we gave PrettyLitter a call and were connected to a service representative within one minute and once selection on the call menu.

What Customers Are Saying About PrettyLitter

Scrolling though PrettyLitter’s Facebook comments can give you a major case of the feels, as you read customer comments like the following:

“Pretty Litter is has helped my Oliver yet again. Without this litter I would never have known his UTI is back. Anyone who cares for a cat should have this litter.” Carrie Zrelak on December 17, 2016.

“I want to thank you for this fabulous product! Not only is it truly dustless and odorless, but it helped me detect one of my cats had a UTI long before he would have shown any symptoms. I've told everyone I know about this litter. It's a great invention for cat lovers!” Dee Dee Emry on December 17, 2016.

We went back several weeks and were unable to locate a single customer complaint regarding PrettyLitter’s performance or customer service.

Additionally, several customers wrote to say that they had been previously skeptical, but were very pleased with the product’s lack of dust or odor, as well as its ability to help them track their pet’s health. Multiple other customer comments remark that PrettyLitter allowed them to identify illness early, particularly UT infections.

Finally, the company’s dedication to customer service is immediately visible in their responses to each and every comment and question.

What’s the Bottom Line On PrettyLitter?

It’s rare that we get to write a product review that’s so overwhelmingly positive, but there simply aren’t any criticisms we can find regarding PrettyLitter’s product. Their customer service is responsive, the product itself is helpful, easy to use, and delivers on all of its claims.

PrettyLitter is slightly more expensive than other cat litter brands—although, how much more depends on which alternate product you choose to compare it to.

For example, a month’s supply of Arm & Hammer clumping litter is $12.59, which is half the price of PrettyLitter. Pro-Sense Crystal Silica Litter (which uses the same material, but doesn’t feature color changing illness detection), can be purchased for $9.

However, World’s Best Litter is $23.99 for a month supply—and only boasts of superior odor control. So, again, it’s not the cheapest product on the market, but PrettyLitter does provide a value in line with its cost.

Though, any pet owner who has had to pay to treat a UT infection that’s been allowed to develop to later states, possibly resulting in the need for a transfusion and more drastic treatment, understands the potential for PrettyLitter to help save on vet costs.

With the difference in price in mind, we think PrettyLitter is a worthy investment for cat owners, particularly for those who have an adult cat that’s nearing senior years or is prone to illness, such as UT infections or kidney problems.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 324 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 265 4 star: 14 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 324
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter is not a good product

    • Chicago, Illinois,
    • May 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Prior to receiving my PrettyLitter, I was so excited! When the box came, I realized how little four pounds was when the whole package could fit in my apartment's mailbox (we have a 3 x 5, so it is pretty small). When I put it in the litter box, it covered maybe two inches across, so I thought it was correct. A week in, all was well. My cat took to the new litter great, and no strong smells were coming from the box. The litter was tinted yellow but was drying the urine as promised.

    Week two came, and things were not going so well. The litter was now completely yellow and was no longer drying the urine. It began to smell. By week three, the litter box was filled with a yellow gel with very little dry litter. I tried to dump the "litter" in a dumpster, but the gel was stuck to the box. The smell was so overwhelming, I threw the whole litter box in the dumpster and went and bought a new one. It was horrible. The little four-pound bag you receive lasts two weeks, at best, before it NEEDS to be changed. After that, prepare for a horrible smelly mess! Not worth the price at all.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 27, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Hi Cat, thanks for your feedback. Being a cat owner myself I can understand the challenge of a fresh smelling home with poor odor control from clay litters. I'm sorry you went through this negative experience. Odor control is a top compliment of customers and I'm just curious if I can get to the bottom of your concern.

      You mentioned you had two inches of depth (you think) were you able to measure this? Also, does your cat urinate more than normal? Just to be clear, how many cats do you have? How many litter boxes? How many bags were put into the box? Were you removing litter or were you allowing PrettyLitter to absorb urine, eliminate odors and evaporate moisture?

      Your concern is very rare however we've solved this with another customer and she went from hating PrettyLitter to loving it! Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com for further assistance.

    • Jul 18, 2017

      Jennie D

      I have found the same problem as Cate W. It was amazing when I first used it, there was no smell whatsoever. After week two, the smell became horrible and I had to go out and by more litter and throw this out. I was actually gagging changing the litter boxes.

      I have three cats and three litter boxes and it was also always clumping together and not absorbing as stated. I am going to give it one more try, if it happens again this time, I am done.

    • Nov 9, 2017

      Donna Wemette

      I experienced a similar thing. I’m done with their customer service and their litter!

    • Dec 1, 2017

      Jane Koepsel

      Me too, and I haven't even tried the product. Mine came in a USPS priority envelope. My cat could use an 8" x 10" litterbox. They make it difficult to cancel too. If it actually works, I'd be happy to buy a bag from a store to use a few times a year but this is set up like a big scam. Now, I don't even trust that it works, so it might cost me a trip to the vet. It'd be cheaper to get a full urinalysis and exam from a vet every two to three months than using this litter.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Yes. I experience the same issue, not once but twice. I got the bigger bags too and they didn't last even three weeks. It simply doesn't work with the urine either, since it never caught my sick cats urine.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Sharon W.

      I want to thank those of you who have obviously NOT drunk the Pretty Litter koolaid! I have three cats, all from the same litter (which I found over eight years ago in my barn.) There are two boys, and I shall we say, "big boned" little (snort) girl. All are at least half Bengal cat because of coloring and size. The boys average about 19 lbs. and 'sissy' is 17 lbs. Not that tiny by comparison, a four pound, 18-year-old Siamese mix, I had just prior to this gang! She probably wouldn't have had any problems with this litter. The amount of urine alone that my guys produce, makes me realize Pretty Litter is NOT the litter for us! Thank you all for your honest reviews and the help they gave me in deciding to keep what I'm currently using!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Definitely not what I was hoping for

    • Madison, WI,
    • Oct 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was really excited to try PrettyLitter. And when I got the litter, I was excited. This stuff is super soft, and it looks nice when you first put it in. I imagine cats love this stuff on their feet, it feels nice.

    However, the odor control, no. NOT what the product claims. I mix around the litter three times each day, and it still smells. I just put this litter in less than a week ago, it shouldn't stink. I have 2 two-pound bags in each litter box. So more than the company claims you need in a box. Both boxes have three inches depth, again, more than the company claims you need. But it stinks. I am actually concerned my cats will stop using the boxes because of the smell. So I will likely throw it out soon, after LESS THAN A WEEK.

    The company claims it is likely because I am using too little litter, but I'm not sure how they can claim that when I am using more than it says I need.

    It makes sense, you aren't scooping out the pee, you are mixing it around and around, so the smell is still there. However, the company claims that because of the design and ingredients, it's not supposed to smell. Not the case for my cats.

    Super bummed. Just not worth the price if it doesn't work. I'd be happy to buy this product and chuck it out after a week and a half every time if the price were lower. But for that price, I expect it to last a month as it says it will.

    I canceled my subscription. I do not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 3, 2017

      Marc M

      I was steered toward PrettyLitter by my daughter who tried it and told me it was great. So I gave it a shot. I used all the recommendations on how to introduce my feline friend to PrettyLitter. Initially, it was pretty easy to get her to use it. But because of odor control, nope, no more. I certainly could not get a month out of one bag, maybe two weeks. So as the odor control was poor at best, it stunk even my daughter eventually said that as well.

      I wanted to cancel it but two reps on different occasions tried to get me to reconsider and help me resolve the "problem". Nope, I still wanted to cancel as one of the suggestions was to use two bags a month. That is definitely not cost effective. So while it is good in theory and yes, it does monitor urine color (which was always healthy). Both my daughter and I stopped using PrettyLitter.

      Personally, I would not recommend.

    • Nov 10, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Hi Kelli,

      My name is Cassie, I am the Director of Customer Experience at PrettyLitter. I was unable to contact you via phone and email but I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your detailed experience. Our obligation is to you and your feline family members, and your feedback means the world to us. We love that you were excited to try our product, and we are sorry to hear you didn’t have the experience you expected. I wanted to reach out personally because I can understand your frustration when using a product exactly as directed and it not living up to your expectations. Odor control is one of PrettyLitter's top compliments, so we're eager to determine what happened and committed to making this right for you.

      We want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter as intended in your multi-cat household. Odor control issues usually stem from shallow litter depth, but there are other potential causes as well. The location of your box, the depth of litter, the number of cats using each box, urine volume per cat, as well as litter box mixing technique all factor in. From your comment, though, I think your problem either stems from too much depth in your litter boxes, or too many kitties using one box. How many cats do you have using the two boxes you're mentioned?

      If each cat has their own litter box, then we recommend filling each of them to 2.0 inches of depth. Under-filling the box can lead to saturation which would cause an odor control issue, but over-filling the box can cause odor issues as well. Based on your review, we may have missed the mark in educating you on the proper use of our product.

      PrettyLitter works because those soft, white crystals you described actually absorb your cat's urine. Over time, the water and moisture evaporate out, leaving the microscopic solids (and the smell) of the urine trapped inside the crystals. Filling the litter box to 3 inches can actually prevent the evaporation from occurring because the extra inch of PrettyLitter is too thick to allow the lower layer crystals to evaporate. In this case, the saturated crystals would stay wet and full of urine at the bottom of the box, leading to the odor issue you're describing.

      In the end, I want you to be able to get the full experience of PrettyLitter, a product you were excited to try and a product we are extremely proud of. Please reply back to my email and I'll be happy to make it happen.

      I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing from you soon!

      Best,

      Cassie

    • Nov 13, 2017

      Kelli G

      Hi Cassie,

      Thanks for your calls and email and thank you for attempting to try to work with me. Unfortunately, after trying the product, I really am not interested in trying it again, even for free. The odor control was awful and I don’t want to cause litter box issues for my cats.

      I’m surprised by how many calls and emails I received after leaving a review for this product considering I only was able to receive a single response to my emails I sent to the company prior to leaving this review. The one response that I did receive from the company representative was passive aggressive and intentionally deceitful (she tried to imply that if I canceled my subscription that I would be charged a fee).

      I left this part out of my review, however, it really irked me that I received multiple calls and emails after leaving a truthful negative review. Yet, I struggled to get any responses before I left a review. The passive-aggressive and deceitful response I receive was unprofessional. So I apologize but I don’t want to have anything to do with the company after my experience.

    • Nov 14, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thank you for following up Kelli, and I appreciate your feedback. The customer is at the heart of everything we do and we take that very seriously. I was resolved to reach out to you personally because of the detail of your review. I could tell you were excited to try this product and wanted it to work but you were left with a less than positive experience.

      I wanted to make sure we did everything we could to help you get the experience you expected and the one we intended. In addition, your exchange with our support team is not the level of service we aim to provide. I can assure you we are committed to making it right.

      Thank you again for taking the time to write your experience in detail as it drives our continuous improvement. We appreciate it more than you know. Please let me know if there's anything else I can do to help, you have my contact information and I'm here to help anytime.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. Not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Worst litter ever

    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst litter I have ever used. I have two cats, and the box gets completely saturated in three days. I emailed PrettyLitter who said to add another half a bag per month. I did, and it only extended it for one day. This litter is also the consistency of sand. It's so light, it tracks through the entire house. It looks and sounds like I live at the beach (I don't). Huge waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 30, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Alicia, I appreciate you sharing your honest experience with PrettyLitter. Based on everything you are saying, I can tell you that your experience is extremely rare. I've never heard of anyone having to go through what you are describing in your feedback. Long lasting odor control, low tracking, no mess and easy clean up are our top compliments sampled from the thousands of happy customers currently using the product. Because your concern goes directly against what our customers who are using PrettyLitter report I'd like to ask you a few questions to get to the bottom of why you are experiencing this concern.

      #1. How many litter boxes do you have?

      #2. How many bags of PrettyLitter are you putting in each box?

      #3. What is the depth reading in your litter box after putting in PrettyLitter?

      #4. Are you allowing PrettyLitter to absorb urine, eliminate odor and evaporate moisture or are you removing the "urine clumps?"

      #5. Where is your litter box located in the house? Is that area dry or damp?

      #6. Do your cats urinate more than normal?

      Based on what you are saying, it sounds like you are either not using PrettyLitter one bag per cat per month, removing the "urine clumps" and depleting the litter in the box or your litter box is extremely large. In either case, we have a solution and recommendation for you and yes, PrettyLitter works. It works phenomenally well (when used as directed). Please send me an email at meow@prettylitter.co and if I can't resolve your concern for you, I'll make sure you get a full refund.

      Best,

      Arsalon

    • Dec 14, 2017

      Shannon

      I’m having the same issues. He’s definitely not the only one. I am getting tired of the sand feel all over the room and have tried various litter mats. I ended up having to just keep the vacuum near it and vacuum every other day. I’ve only used it for three weeks and it’s been fine until now. It’s just completely wet. I have one bag with one 6-month-old male cat.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Wow. I had this experience twice Cassie Cobb and notice the "rare" experience is your answer to everyone. How rare is it if we all have the same experience?

    • Jan 5, 2019

      Heidi W.

      I have to agree, this litter tracks easily - but I have yet to find a litter that doesn't. I'd rather step on sand than those darn pearls!

      But if you are using this litter correctly, it does last and it does work. I use one 6lb bag per week for 4 cats. Seem like a lot? No. One bag per cat per month. I have 4 cats. If you have 2 cats, you need 2 bags. If you have a large litter box, you need the 6 lb bag...just ask.

      I have only one litter box and clean it at least twice daily. This litter - no litter - will work if you don't keep your litter box clean or use it properly.

      I'm not sure why there are so many complaints about customer service. They've been great. Easily decreased my order when I lost a kitty, and increased it when I adopted 2 more. I have sent extra bags when I've had cats with medical issues that needed to be separated (thus another litter box needed). I could go on and on. They have been helpful and while pricey - for me their customer service makes it worth it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Completely opposite to what I expected

    • Santa Ana, CA,
    • Jul 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had previously heard about PrettyLitter from a friend, and after scouring the reviews on the website, what actually convinced me to buy it was the claim that this litter is "dust-free," as I have asthma and had reactions to typical clumping litter.

    The first thing I noticed when I opened the box (well, besides the fact that one of the bags of litter was slightly open and a bunch of litter had spilled out) and poured out the bags into the litter box was, "Wow, that's a lot of dust." Literally, plumes of dust smoking up into the air. But I disregarded it and thought maybe it was just settling after being poured.

    That night, when I went to shovel out the poop, the first contact with the litter brought huge clouds of dust billowing up. With each shovel, the cloud became thicker and thicker, and within a minute I was wheezing and having a cough attack.

    The next day, I threw the litter out and stuck with my usual crystal litter.

    I don't know how this litter has gotten solely 4-5 star reviews or how cat owners have found a way to even get past the sheer amount of sandy dust that gets inhaled and envelops your entire face. Granted, my kittens did immediately take to it. But that might not be such a good thing considering they're inhaling just as much dust as I am, if not more, whenever they use it.

    I'm disappointed and slightly repulsed by how they could make the "dust-free" claim, which is completely untrue.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 5, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Hi Mel,

      Thanks for providing us with your experience. Virtually no dust is a top compliment of PrettyLitter users but we believe you. Your experience is very rare however I'd like to send you a complimentary bag of PrettyLitter so that you can open it, pour it out and see that PrettyLitter truly is virtually dust free. Regarding one of your bags being torn when arriving that is also rare and it sounds like there may have been a concern with your order only. I'm happy to resolve this for you as virtually no dust is a claim we stand behind and your order appears to have been damaged during transit. The jostling of the bags could have created dust particles that are not normally present when shipping doesn't tear open orders. Please email me at meow@prettylitter.co and I will take care of you asap.

    • Jul 5, 2017

      Daniel Rotman,

      Mel, let us send you another bag for free. Perhaps the shipping on this one order caused some grinding, I haven't encountered this before. Allow us to send you another bag I'm confident you'll find it truly is dust free.

    • Jul 10, 2017

      Abbie B

      This definitely isn't typical. I never any dust with mine.

    • Jul 31, 2017

      Lisa Funderburke

      I have been using this litter for months, and I never had any dust issues. It's definitely better than any clay clumping litter as far as dust goes.

    • Jun 16, 2018

      Sharon F.

      I also had clouds of dust that floated out of my covered litter box. Shouldn’t say it’s dust-free because it definitely isn’t.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      It is not only very dusty but tracks all through the house. It doesn't last, turn color, or do much as advertised at all.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Okay product but terrible customer service

    After trying the litter out, I thought it was okay, but I found the litter was too light and my cats tracked it all over. So I canceled and asked them to not ship the next month, and they did so anyway. I asked for a refund, and they responded with "It's out of our hands." Don't buy from this company. It seems cool, but it's overrated and not worth the headache I'm now dealing with. Hope this review helps someone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2017

      Melody

      I had excellent customer service and immediate communication every time. Sorry to hear of your experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not so great

    Naturally, my cat had blue in the PrettyLitter. He seemed fine, so I put off going to the vet, but after 2 months of this, it was really getting to me so I took him to the vet. After "x" amount of dollars and tests, it seems that he is in great health and has NO issues. If you're really worried about your cat's urine, you can buy stuff just like PrettyLitter on Amazon to put in your litter box every few months to check it and save yourself a bundle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Hi Keara, we appreciate your feedback on PrettyLitter, and understand you are disappointed and feeling let down. I'm sorry for what you went through but let me help. I wanted to address the potential underlying reasons why you didn't have the same fantastic experience as our other customers while using PrettyLitter. The color change can be confusing at times, therefore, we try our best to educate our customers around PrettyLitter's color changing technology.

      Cats are sensitive to temporary stress in the environment such as strangers in the house or new food diets. PrettyLitter recommends that you pay attention to the spot where the cat urinated and monitor the cat for 24-48 hours prior to taking them to the vet if a color change is observed. You mentioned that your PrettyLitter was changing color for a few months, this may have been a saturation concern and not a potential medical concern.

      PrettyLitter was designed as one bag, per cat, per month in a regular size litter box. If you were not getting two inches of depth and were experiencing a saturation issue that changed the litter a blue color, that may indicate why your cat was healthy when taken to the vet. We recommend you pay attention only to the spot where your cat urinated and not the edges of the litter in determining a color change.

      Lastly, PrettyLitter is the only health monitoring subscription litter on the market and you can not find or purchase PrettyLitter or anything like it on Amazon or Chewy.com. PrettyLitter is exclusively available on www.prettylitter.com! Please let me know how we can be of further assistance by emailing us at meow@prettylitter.com.

    • Dec 1, 2017

      Jane Koepsel

      It's cheaper to go the vet and get a real urinalysis done every three months than to buy this litter. I was shocked by how small the bag is! It fits in a USPS priority envelope!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      I ended up having a sick kitty, and the urine didn't change color so the product doesn't work.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Feb 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very excited to try this product. I did everything I was told to do, scooping and stirring as instructed. My cat is very small and doesn't produce that much waste. So imagine my surprise when this litter lasted about as long as the store bought litter I'd been using (and I don't even scoop that stuff!).

    I bought this litter for the odor control, but by the time I finally changed it (about two weeks into what was supposed to last a month), the smell was so bad my housemates (who live upstairs from me) had begun complaining.

    I had friends who told me they'd like to get it for their two cats and I told them not to waste their money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 21, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts Samuel. I can understand your surprise when PrettyLitter didn't last as long as you expected, and your experience surprises me too! PrettyLitter's silica crystals have superior odor control technology, and one bag is designed to last one cat for one month. I'd love the opportunity to give you a call to determine why this wasn't the case for you. More importantly, I'd like the chance to make it right. Please send me an email at meow@prettylitter.com and indicate Attn: Cassie. I'll be happy to reach out to you directly. I hope to hear from you soon!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      I had horrible customer service. Same issue too. It took them three months to charge back a double charge AND apply the coupon discount they didn't do the first try. Also, the litter didn't work as advertised. I even got the bigger bags. My cat was sick and the litter didn't change color. It's a scam.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    My cat and I both did not like!

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole idea of PrettyLitter sounds amazing and so much better than all other litters from the way they promote it. I completely disagree, and so does my cat.

    The 4-pound bag did fill my litter box completely, but only lasted only about two weeks with one cat. It doesn't clump, which I'm not a fan of. So the pee kind of just becomes part of the litter and smells awful after one week. And the litter all looks yellow now instead of white. After the two weeks, my cat began to poop on the floor outside the box. I'm assuming she didn't want to step in her pee filled cat box. She's not picking with what cat litter I use too; I change it up with whatever is on sale that month. As long as it clumps and has good odder control.

    PrettyLitter says it has less dust when cleaning. Negative! It has worse dust! I had to keep backing away and wait for the dust to go down every time I went to scoop. The smell...there's no odder control what so ever! And they promote such special odder fighting skills this litter has. The worst cat pee smell I've smelled in a while from less than two weeks. And I clean the box every day.

    I will be sticking to my usual cat litter. That clumps, fights odder longer, and is cheaper as well.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 18, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for your feedback, Kaylie. PrettyLitter works because the super dry silica crystals absorb the liquid of your cat's urine. The absorbed moisture will evaporate out of the crystals, leaving the microscopic solids (and the odor) of the urine trapped inside the crystals, keeping the litter pan fresh and clean for continued use throughout the month. We recommend stirring the crystals daily to allow for optimum evaporation and distribution, giving you a full month’s worth of fresh PrettyLitter.

      It's normal if the crystals start turning a light yellow shade over time, but you should only start smelling an odor when these crystals become saturated at the end of the litter’s lifespan. In your case, we’d like to explore why your crystals became saturated so early on. Furthermore, PrettyLitter should not give the dust issue you're describing.

      We'd love the opportunity to record your experience and make it right. If you're open to it, please shoot me an email at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie), and I'll be happy to reach out to you directly. I hope to hear from you soon!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. Everyone has gotten the same response on here, but try it in person and it will take months. Not a good product. It doesn't work at all as advertised, surprised you gave it two stars.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this litter

    It does NOT work.

    It's a great concept, but the litter doesn't work well. It tracks everywhere and only lasts three weeks at best before smelling so bad (with daily cleaning) you will choke.

    I have a sick kitty. I was recently at the vet and none of his urine showed a change of color in the litter. Also, the fine sand stuck to him, and he got an infection from it.

    The customer service people are weeks behind in responses. They didn't honor coupons on charges, and I've been fighting a double charge with them for 3 months. They take 3 weeks to get back to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out Patricia. We take this type of feedback seriously and want to hear more about your experience. We wanted to reach out to you directly, but can't find you in our system! Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and we will get back to you promptly. We would love the opportunity to help in any way we can. Looking forward to talking with you!

    • Oct 23, 2018

      Patricia K.

      You didn't get what happened by the description? And the fact that you took weeks to answer to this, shows everyone how slow your customer service really is!

    • Oct 26, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      We apologize for the frustration Patricia. This looks like a rare and unfortunate circumstance where we missed the mark, but we would love for the opportunity to make things right. Please reach out to us whenever you get the chance. Looking forward to talking with you.

    • Oct 27, 2018

      Patricia K.

      It's not RARE or UNFORTUNATE! That's what has been happening, Thanks for the answer back a month late, just another example of your slow customer service.

    • Nov 28, 2018

      Lucas R.

      I have not purchased this product yet, but now I will just to shut this Patricia lady up. She made this review, and spent the day practically copy/pasting the same negative comments on every poor review, even when the response times from the company for those reviews have been within days. No wonder they took 20 days to contact her. After seeing that, I wouldn't want to talk to her either. And, working in customer service my whole life, she would not be allowed to do business with me again. For anything. Keep it up, PrettyLitter. I'm intrigued to see what your product can do, and when I get the funds you will be hearing from me!

    • Nov 29, 2018

      Patricia K.

      If you haven't got the product yet, then you don't know what you are talking about. Paid bot?

    • Nov 30, 2018

      Lucas R.

      Ha! As if I've actually been looking into the product. After looking at your petty behavior, such as responding even to this, I think I'll buy it just to shut you up!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter is our new favorite litter. The best we've ever used!

    • Bethesda, MD,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought PrettyLitter because I was enticed by the subscription delivery to our door. I love the idea of not having to remember to buy litter every few weeks because Peanut gets super grouchy when his litter gets stale and needs a fresh batch. What I didn't expect were all the other perks that come with PrettyLitter.

    It has the best odor control of any litter I've ever used, and that includes clay, wheat, corn and even other crystals. There is zero odor all month. Also, the dust is non-existent, and it's super lightweight. Very easy to carry, pour and store in the house. And of course, there's the health monitoring, which is the coolest thing I've ever seen. What a brilliant idea.

    Also, I found the price of to be comparable to what I was paying for a one month supply of Tidy Cat. Whole jugs of Tidy Cat only last two weeks, so I was spending about $25 a month on it, and PrettyLitter is cheaper than that. Highly recommended!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Very unhappy with PrettyLitter

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Number one complaint is that it turns completely yellow after the first use. I feel my kitties are in complete filth if I leave existing litter in their box after I clean it. It made me want to dump it out and change it completely. I love the concept, and I love the consistency of the product. But it seems not clean, and it did have an odor. I asked for a refund and they said no.

    Bad customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 16, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Hi Linda. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. My name is Arsalon, I'm the Director of Customer Happiness and I'm sorry to see that you were not able to get a proper resolution from our Customer Happiness Team. Our team has a history of high satisfaction scores, therefore, I took your review seriously and looked into the communication between you and Alex, our Customer Happiness Agent.

      Alex did not make it clear to you that PrettyLitter was designed as one bag, per cat, per month. In simple language, that means that if you have two cats then you'd need two bags of PrettyLitter to get amazing odor control all month long. I can see that you were using one bag for two cats and I'm sorry that we didn't make this more clear for you. I want to assure you that although PrettyLitter turns yellow after your cat urinates (a sign of your cat being healthy), that PrettyLitter will become white again after PrettyLitter finishes absorbing urine, eliminating odor and evaporates moisture.

      Lastly, PrettyLitter is made of high-quality silica gel and has a super-low water content. The dry environment created in the litter box by PrettyLitter allows liquid waste to be absorbed instantly. It also dries solid waste quickly thus eliminating odors. PrettyLitter is so dry it does not support the growth of bacteria or other germs as there is no moisture for them to grow or thrive in. I sent you a separate email to offer you a resolution that works for the both of us. Please let me know if you need anything else. Happy to brighten your day.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Yes, the worst customer service and a product that doesn't work. It tracks everywhere and gets ingested. It's not all natural with the chemicals in it to change the urine color.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 324

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review