Read 338 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 278 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 87% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 338
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Sounded too good to be true (and it was)

    • Newport News, VA,
    • Mar 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like most other cat owners who heard about PrettyLitter, I was SO excited to try a new litter that promised less scooping and most importantly, no smell! I purchased my bag on 3/12 (arrived 3/14), and it's now 3/28.

    It seems that I have the same issues the other 1-star reviewers had; week one was great, but the urine odor was noticeable at the end of the week. This week the whole downstairs smells HORRID and it's just unbearable. I really wanted this to work out, but it's back to the old litter I go.

    Now I have to contact customer service and get my subscription canceled before they send me another bag of this junk. I just hope customer service isn't as terrible as other people are saying.

    Some extra details for the review team:

    - I purchased a new litter box prior to adding my PrettyLitter to ensure proper depth. I purchased a box size that was recommended on the PrettyLitter website.

    - I used the card to measure the depth, and it was correct.

    - I have one cat.

    - The box was not placed in a humid area.

    - I scooped the box and sifted all the litter around daily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 6, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thank you for sharing your feedback, Ashley. As you know, PrettyLItter was designed so one bag lasts one cat, one month. I'm interested to know why your PrettyLitter only lasted two weeks! Odor control is a serious benefit of using our product, and I'm sorry to hear it didn't work for your household. We have recorded your experience, and I'd love to follow up with you for more information to determine what might have happened. Your feedback means the world to us. Please send me an email at meow@prettylitter.com (Attn: Cassie), and I would be happy to reach out to you directly and chat with you more about your experience. I look forward to hearing from you soon, and thanks again for sharing your thoughts.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    PrettyLitter or gold. Which is cheaper.

    I received a broken Priority Mail envelope with a 2lbs bag of litter stuffed inside. When I open the envelope, I had litter all over the place. I compared the amount litter received against my standard sized litter box. It would take four 2lbs bags of litter to fill the litter box. That's $84.00 a month. I really can't give an opinion about the quality of PrettyLitter or how well it works because even the litter reached an wiped the cat's butt, it would not be worth it. Even if it worked perfectly, no litter is worth $1,008.00 a year (shipping is not even included).

    The litter is made in China, so you know it very cheap to make. I don't mind a person making money, but I don't want someone to use the love of a pet to rip me off. Obviously, this is sold by a Vet because if you examine your own Vet, you'll find this tactic is used by more and more Vet every day. I am beginning to think this is being taught in Vet schools.

    So, the end result is I think this PrettyLitter is useful to get rich, and if you think your cat has issues, find an honest Vet. I'd be much cheaper in the long run.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for your feedback Edward. I'm sorry to hear about your damaged order. Were you able to contact customer service and reported the damaged bag? We're happy to send you a replacement.

      I'm also happy to clear up any questions about our product and pricing. PrettyLitter ships 4lb bags, and one bag is designed to last a month for one cat in a medium sized litter box. If you happen to have a larger litter box and need more PrettyLitter, we could set you up to receive 2 bags of PrettyLitter (8lbs total) which would be $39/month. You can also customize your frequency, so you're always getting the litter you need when you need it. I also wanted to be sure you knew that offer free shipping within the contiguous US!

      I want to be sure we sent you a replacement for your damaged bag, so you can at least give it a try. Please email meow@prettylitter.com and we'll be happy to help. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us, and let us know if there's anything else we can do to help!


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wish I read the negative reviews first! Buyers beware!

    • New York,
    • Apr 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order and chose to cancel 20 minutes after I couldn't find the exact ingredients and.

    I spoke to someone in customer service and asked to cancel my order. I was informed I received a shipping update already but upon inspection of it (while on the phone), there wasn’t a tracking number or any info on the FedEx site, so obviously, the litter didn’t ship yet.

    He said he’d contact shipping to try to cancel it and I’d get a response via email as to whether or not he could do so. Well, surprise, I never got an email and now (5 hours later) I see the tracking is updated with a label, tracking number and an ETA.

    The kicker? He said I’d have to pay return shipping if I wanted to return it, so I’ll be refusing the delivery. No one likes to be misled/lied to by customer service.

    So yes, customer service sucks as expressed by many other customers, and that's the most important part of a company, how they treat customers AFTER they purchase. I am hoping I don't have to cancel my credit card to avoid being ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thank you for sharing your feedback Rob. This is not the service we aim to provide and we're sorry for the frustration. We're sorry we weren't able to cancel your order after it was placed, but most importantly that you were waiting on our support team to get back to you. I've recorded your experience and will be sure to follow up.

      I'd like to make it right for you and answer any questions you may have about our ingredients. Please email meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and I'd be happy to reach out to you directly. Again, thank you for your feedback as it drives continuous improvement. I hope to hear from you soon.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a regular size litter box for one cat. I ordered the recommended size, and it arrived yesterday. It was less than one inch deep in my litter box. For kitty litter "to work" there must be over two inches of litter in the box. "Otherwise, the urine pools at the bottom and shortens the life of the litter." The company claims that one bag is enough to fill a medium sized litter box two inches deep. My litter box is regular/normal size. Nothing fancy at all. There was a note on the card that said to call if you did not have at least 2 inches of litter for one cat and "they would take care of it." I called, and the representative said they could send me another four pounds of litter out to me for free. When I asked about that not being enough since it was LESS than one inch, she told me that they have a six-pound bag. She asked me to hold, came back on the line, told me that she had already processed my "payment" and changed my subscription to $39 per month. I was charged for the six-pound bag so that there would be enough litter in the box.

    I was not asked before my card was charged. This is unacceptable. I also will not pay $40 for cat litter for one month. The litter changes color if there is a potential color but they do not tell you what the potential issue may be just to take the cat to the vet, with no other help to explain the abnormalities in the cat to the vet. I am not impressed. Actually, very disappointed in this company. It is very misleading. "They will take care of it" means that they will charge you another $20 without permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thank you for sharing your experience Sarah. It seems like this was a rare and unfortunate circumstance where our support team missed the mark. This is not the service we aim to provide, and I apologize. I'd like to make this right and see what we can do to get you the PrettyLitter you need so you can give our product a proper try. Please send an email at meow@prettylitter.com (Attn: Cassie) and I'll be happy to reach out to you directly.


  • 5 out 9 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I absolutely hate when I'm automatically enrolled in auto shipping! I'm sure I opted out of it, but there must not have been a choice because I was automatically charged for another bag. No warning email that I was about to be charged, just a confirmation email if my account was charged. When I tried to log in to cancel this subscription I never signed up for, it said my email address was invalid and I didn't have a login! Therefore I was forced to call to have this subscription canceled. I have no actual comment on the litter since I haven't even used it yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 13, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your feedback Erin. We appreciate it more than you know. We try to make it clear that PrettyLitter is a subscription service, but I can understand your surprise if you thought you were placing a one-time order! The subscription ensures our customers get the PrettyLitter they need, right when they need it. We make it easy to control exactly when you’re getting your shipments, but most of our customers prefer the ‘set it and forget it’ approach.

      I'm sorry for the surprise, and that you weren't able to log in to your account to manage your order. We're taking your feedback seriously, and want to make our subscription as clear and easy as possible. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. If there's anything else you need, or if you'd like to give us another try, don't hesitate to reach back out.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service and a crap product

    • Orlando, FL,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter isn't even close to anything they claim it is. It's super lightweight, so it tracks EVERYWHERE. The urine doesn't clump so your poor cat box just gets more and more urine added to it, and it doesn't "mix" in as they claim. The smell is awful, and it absolutely does NOT last for a month. After three weeks, my cat started using my rugs to pee instead of the box full of pee. When I reached out to the company, I got no response except to bill me and send me another bag. I was asking to cancel my subscription. I think it might seriously hurt your cat. Don't waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Kelly. PrettyLitter shouldn't be tracking more than any other litters, but (as you mentioned) our product is very lightweight, so it can sometimes be kicked out of the box.

      PrettyLitter was designed to solve for all the pain points of owning a litter box- a lightweight litter that has health monitoring, low dust, and the best odor control. We take product complaints seriously and will be sure to record your feedback about the tracking and odor control.

      Smelling an odor from your PrettyLitter is a sign that it's time to change your litter, which should occur at the end of the month. Saturation and odor control issues that occur before the end of the month usually mean you don't have enough depth of PrettyLitter to absorb the urine. This significantly decreases the life of the litter and the effectiveness of odor control and health monitoring. We suggest at least 2 inches of depth in your litter box for optimum use.

      If you'd like to give us another try, please reach out to our support team at meow@prettylitter.com. We'd love the chance to give you the experience you were expecting!


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this litter for my three-month-old kitten because of all the great reviews I had read, but it turned out to be very disappointing.

    At first, the litter was great. No odor and being flushable was very nice. As for the dust, it was there and it was bad, and even though I do have a covered litter box, I could see the dust while scooping. After ten days, the urine odor became so bad that my nose felt like it was burning from the scent. Because the urine doesn’t clump but gets sifted back into the litter, the odor was staying in the litter.

    I immediately canceled my subscription before they could charge me for another bag. I didn’t complain to the company because I was afraid it would be a hassle to unsubscribe, but there was no hassle with unsubscribing. Would I recommend? No!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Our house smelled like cat urine

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is a colossal waste of money. I've only had it for two weeks and had to throw it out already because it smelled so bad. The litter didn't dry and stayed moist to the point where I was able to scoop it up and out of the box with the cat poop scooper. That's not supposed to happen. It was so potent that it made my eyes water while scooping it out and I had to wear a mask to cover my mouth. This product doesn't work, and it's way overpriced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Nov 5, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out Marylou! It sounds like you were experiencing saturation, which can occur if you don't have enough litter in your litter box. We'd love to make things right for you. Please shoot us an email at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Marissa) and we will make sure you are taken care of. Looking forward to talking with you!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good for about two weeks

    • California,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Then, the urine smell became overwhelming and I had to throw it out. Granted, it is not as messy as regular kitty litter; however, I couldn't get rid of the urine smell - each day it grew stronger.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 24, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out, Marta, and for sharing your experience! We’d love the chance to make it right. If your PrettyLitter isn’t lasting the whole month in terms of odor control, it’s usually because you didn’t get enough depth in your litter box. There are many different sizes of litter box out there, and we want to make sure you’re getting enough PrettyLitter to fill your box, whatever the size! Please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and I’ll be happy to help. Talk to you soon!


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Poor customer service.

    • Memphis, TN,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have not even been able to try PrettyLitter and I already have a bad taste in my mouth. When I clicked place order I realized my address was wrong. So within 5 minutes, I had sent an email to them to correct it on a Saturday. I never received any type of response until Tuesday afternoon, stating I had to call and get it fixed myself. Well that might be easy enough except I never received a shipping confirmation. So I had to call customer service to get this and when I put the tracking ID in, it hasn’t even left. Information was only sent at 5:08 pm on Monday. This is ridiculous considering I sent a total of three emails before they sent this information. Even if it had already shipped, I would hope a nice customer service group would do anything in their power to help and call FedEx themselves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 24, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out Emma. This sounds like a rare and unfortunate circumstance where our support team missed the mark. This is not the service we aim to provide, and we would love the opportunity to make it right for you. Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.com (Attn: Cassie) and we will be happy to help. I look forward to hearing from you!


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this litter

    It does NOT work.

    It's a great concept, but the litter doesn't work well. It tracks everywhere and only lasts three weeks at best before smelling so bad (with daily cleaning) you will choke.

    I have a sick kitty. I was recently at the vet and none of his urine showed a change of color in the litter. Also, the fine sand stuck to him, and he got an infection from it.

    The customer service people are weeks behind in responses. They didn't honor coupons on charges, and I've been fighting a double charge with them for 3 months. They take 3 weeks to get back to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 23, 2018

      Company Response from Pretty Litter Inc.

      Thanks for reaching out Patricia. We take this type of feedback seriously and want to hear more about your experience. We wanted to reach out to you directly, but can't find you in our system! Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and we will get back to you promptly. We would love the opportunity to help in any way we can. Looking forward to talking with you!


Showing 12-22 of 338

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review