Read 652 Quip Toothbrush Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 492 4 star: 59 3 star: 10 2 star: 21 1 star:  70
Bottom Line: 85% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 652
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Nice design...if it worked.

    • New York City, NY,
    • Apr 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very pleased with this toothbrush when it first arrived. I like the design, and it worked well, for a couple of days. (I will add that the first thing I did was remove the annoying "sticky strip" on the case, it's really annoying if you don't intend to stick your toothbrush to the wall.)

    SO, the brush stopped working after about three days. The motor shuts off after about 3-5 seconds. Incredibly annoying. I contacted Quip customer service, and share the opinion of so many other reviewers, that they are TERRIBLE. I was told I had to register my brush online before they could help me. After doing so, they simply sent me an email with instructions for checking the motor and doing some self-repair and replacing the battery. Not sure why they couldn't send it before I registered?

    None of their suggested fixes worked. All I want is a toothbrush that works. I just contacted Bespoke Post (where I bought the brush) to see if they'll take it back, as I was sorely disappointed with Quip's customer service team. I'm also not down with "subscription plans" and Quip holding onto my credit card information indefinitely. Also, I'd replace my brush head probably every six weeks instead of every three months, but that's just me. I don't know if they'll sell you brush heads up front, as I never got that far before Quip became an annoyance instead of a pleasure.

    Too bad, it really does look nice!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 3, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Matt,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip! We can see you had ordered your Quip through Bespoke, and in order for our team to help with creating a replacement order (to validate a warranty), an account will need to be created on our website directly.

      Our help team sends troubleshooting to help with getting your Quip up and running again as quickly as possible. In the case that the steps do not help, we will be able to confirm which part of your Quip will need a replacement. Our warranty covers you for the life of your active refill plan as well as your first year of purchasing Quip if not subscribed.

      Our refill plans are completely optional and have the option to order single items in the "supplies" section of our store page. Just make sure to click on the 'single' button to avoid any plans added to your account.

      We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding or inconvenience caused, our team is always happy to help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Expensive for what you get

    • Fayetteville, NY,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I like the sleek design of the brush, but after using it for a couple of months, I think my manual toothbrush does just as good a job, if not better. You're paying a lot of money for a manual toothbrush that vibrates to tell you when to move to another part of your mouth. I wish I would have saved my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Quip!

      The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say that any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth, exactly the same way if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide habits in that matter. Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis, so there will be no difference in the way that Quip brushes your teeth vs another manual or electric toothbrush if you're brushing properly. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, with brush heads delivered on a recommended basis, Quip is guiding the good habits that really matter.

      That being said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2-full minutes of brushing twice every day whether that be a manual or a different electric toothbrush.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Don't waste your money

    • Virginia,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for a small ultrasonic toothbrush for travel. I use the Sonicare at home, but it's too big for travel, so I came across Quip. Seemed like a good, simple product.

    Then I received it...As another reviewer said, it does little more than make noise. I thought that maybe the battery was very weak, although it was brand new, but no, I put a new battery in it and same poor (non-existent) performance. You can BARELY feel any vibrations in the handle, and none in the brush head AT ALL. And from what I can gather from Quip, you're supposed to use it in the same manner as a manual toothbrush. What? What's the point of it then?

    I think they are able to claim that it works just as well as any other because, well, they tell you to brush just like you would with a manual toothbrush. That's NOT how my Sonicare works, and I've used a Sonicare for about 20 years, and my dentist is very happy with my cleaning regimen.

    Save your money. All you're getting is a slick manual brush with a timer. I'm going to try and return it, but I'm not hopeful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 3, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Quip!

      The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say that any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth, exactly the same way if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide habits in that matter. Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis, so there will be no difference in the way that Quip brushes your teeth versus another manual or electric toothbrush if you're brushing properly. We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard soft nylon bristles, and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes to provide a thorough, yet, non-damaging clean, that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, with brush heads delivered on a recommended basis, Quip is guiding the good habits that really matter.

      Just like with other electric (and manual) brushes, we advise using good technique with Quip’s sonic electric toothbrush. You must still gently and slowly “brush” the bristles on the inside, outside and top surfaces of each tooth in small 2-3 tooth sections at a time making sure to carefully clean around the gum line. This may not be how some other product companies advise using their products, but it is what dental professionals and the ADA recommend, however, if you check your Sonicare handbook, you will notice they also advise the same (gently brushing each tooth one at a time) even with their products.

      That being said, we cannot speak to personal preference. The best brush for you should be one that encourages 2-full minutes of brushing twice every day whether that be a manual or a different electric toothbrush.

      We thank you for giving Quip a try!


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Quip - OK product, terrible customer service

    • Oklahoma,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quip toothbrushes are an OK product. However, their customer service is atrocious, and I would not recommend using their service unless you want headaches!

    I rate companies based on how they treat customers. If they are unwilling to fix small errors for small amounts of money (in my case an error of $5), then I have no faith they will fix larger errors without issue or resolve a problem when it arises in the future. In other words, $5 is meaningless to me except for what it says about the company overall who was unwilling to "make it right" for me as well as their advertising partner. This leads me to believe they have more deeply rooted issues and cannot recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 3, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your Quip experience. We believe that we were able to locate your case, which appears to have been in regards to a coupon. Unfortunately, we are not able to retroactively apply outside offers on our end, as these can only be applied through checkout. When applying a coupon, you will see a green banner at the top of your purchase page which will notify you if this was a valid offer or not. Our team is also always happy to help with any questions when placing your order.

      We sincerely apologize for any misunderstanding and can help with any additional questions at help@getquip.com.


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Garbage

    • DC,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Quip stopped working properly less than two weeks after starting usage. I replaced the battery probably four more times before I called it quits and e-mailed the company. They asked me to send it back via USPS. Who has time to go to the post office and wait in their ridiculous lines? They were at least nice enough to refund me $10 for the unused replacement heads or whatever.

    It's a shoddily designed toothbrush, why the heck would you pay $50 for it when you can buy a Braun for much less that lasts MUCH longer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 3, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your Quip!

      Our team works hard to help with some at home troubleshooting and a quick photo request, we have found that we are able to help with addressing any issues that you are having with completing these steps. In the case that you would prefer not to send any photos to proceed with the appropriate replacement, we provide a USPS prepaid return label to send your Quip to our quality control team, we do take these matters very seriously, and it is crucial that our team tests any Quip that is not working as it should, to prevent the same issue from happening again.

      The free USPS prepaid return label can be used at any USPS drop box, so there is no need to go to your postal office in order to send your package back for a replacement.

      We apologize if there has been any misunderstanding, and we would be happy to help you further at help@getquip.com if you are interested in giving your Quip another try.


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Not worth it! Return shipping not included!

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a doctor and got the Quip because I thought it would be a good way to travel and brush my teeth similar to a Sonicare/Oral toothbrush.

    I returned the brush after a day of use because the electric vibration really offers no added value of brushing your teeth by your hands.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jun 28, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your Quip!

      All toothbrushes, whether manual or electric, should still be used the same by using small tooth sized strokes. The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say, any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth just the same if you're brushing your teeth properly. That's why we created Quip, to help guide the habits that matter. Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis, so there will be no difference in the way that Quip brushes your teeth vs. another manual or electric toothbrush if you're brushing properly.

      We also use dentist-recommended, industry standard, soft nylon bristles, and the same sensitive vibrations as many other electric toothbrushes, to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean, that's still gentle on the gums. With the addition of a 2-minute timer and 30-second pulses, the brush heads delivered on a recommended basis, Quip is guiding good habits that really matter.

      We hope this explains why Quip vibrates the way it does. We thank you for giving us a try.


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Not an electric toothbrush

    • Simpsonville, SC,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    So my wife bought two and gave me one even though I use a Sonicare toothbrush. First, the Sonicare was recommended by my dentist and I have had great results over manual brushing. A lot less staining and overall cleaning. And then I tried the Quip but was shocked that is kind of hums, but the brushes do not move. I really don't see the point. If you are a manual user stick with that or get a Quip that has a timer function. If you want an electric toothbrush that works, try Sonicare.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Tim! We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your Quip. The truth is, as the American Dental Association and Consumer Reports say, any electric toothbrush will clean your teeth just the same if you're brushing properly. That's why we created Quip to help guide the habits that matter. Quip has earned the American Dental Association Seal of Acceptance for safety and efficacy in removing plaque and gingivitis, so there will be no difference in the way that Quip brushes your teeth versus another electric or even a manual if you're brushing properly. Quip uses the same sonic vibrations as most other electric toothbrushes set to a sensitive mode to provide a thorough, yet non-damaging clean that's still gentle on the gums. We hope this explains why Quip vibrates the way it does. We thank you for giving us a try.


  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Room for improvement for sure

    • Connecticut,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As far as the product, I have only had it for 30 days, so I will have to revisit this sight in 90 days and share my thoughts based on a meaningful time frame.

    That aside, as far as referring others, let’s just say that will not happen until Quip addresses their customer service area.

    A great product with poor customer service will not win in the long run. Further, you should review their return policy, it will tell you a lot as to how management feels about their product. Returns coupled with no attached shipping charge tells you they have faith and confidence in their product - returns where you have to pay for shipping, let’s just say in today’s internet shopping world and those sites I visit, I cannot remember when I had to pay for return shipping.

    Now you may ask why I wanted to return a Quip order. Without getting into specifics let’s just say it has to do with the company's absurd referral program. Granted I may have made a mistake in terms of the referral process, which in the end would have cost them two brush heads (about $10), but in the end whoever reads this review may think twice before they click on the order button, and that may be only one person or it could very well be hundreds. If the later, well, customer service may have saved the company $10 today but who knows how many sales were lost based on my experience.

    P.S. I suspect Quip may have someone on their staff write a counter review phrasing customer service, that said I suspect I am not alone and maybe others will post the same. Quip, you may want to give further thought as to the confidence you have in your product and if you believe it is the best on the market, your return policy should reflect the same. I will be back in 60 days with a product review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Nick,

      We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your customer experience!

      We completely stand by our product which is why we allow for you to try your Quip for 30 days, and if you find that it is not the right fit for you, our team can assist with a return and refund. We are happy to be able to offer free shipping on your initial order within the US with a plan (no cost minimum). However, we cannot cover the cost of return shipping as well at this time. Outside of the 30 days, your Quip is covered for your first year of purchase as well as for the life of your active refill plan.

      We believe we have found your email thread with our support team; we apologize if there has been any misunderstanding around the use of personal referral codes. As our website states, "Personal referral codes cannot be used within your own personal account as these are intended to share with friends and family to use."

      Our team is always happy to assist with any questions before or while placing an order, and they can provide full details regarding our referral program can always be found on our "help" page.

      We again apologize for any misunderstanding, if you have any further questions please email our team at help@getquip.com.


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Fail to honor their guarantee

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've used the the Quip toothbrush for over a year on their subscription service. A few weeks back it stopped working - a crack had opened up in the device.

    They make a big thing of their lifetime guarantee but when I sent them pictures of the damage I had a really rude reply back saying it was my fault as the toothbrush has been tested and never breaks.

    So they refused to replace it. Really shoddy service form a rubbish company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      We are sorry to hear you had some trouble with your Quip! Our warranty covers your Quip for the life of your active refill plan for any manufacturing defects. As our team has mentioned, our handles are heavily tested and the only way we have been able to replicate the damage you had experienced is by removing the brush head incorrectly. We are always happy to help with providing a replacement due to a manufacturing issue as per our warranty policy.

      If you have any additional questions, please do not hesitate to email our help team at help@getquip.com


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Worst customer service ever!

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered a toothbrush off of the website with Quip. A free trial sample of the toothpaste was supposed to be included. My niece helped me place the order, so I’m not quite sure what website we were on, I assumed it was the Quip website.

    I didn’t get the sample of toothpaste and I sent them a message and let them know. Many emails later they’ve decided that no samples be given. They would rather lose the business with the ongoing subscription for 2/3 then send a sample of toothpaste.

    I don’t understand that they would rather lose a customer then send a sample of toothpaste. I have found similar products online, and I will be purchasing that and returning this.

    They said back to me that they have never offered a free sample of toothpaste, and maybe that’s the case I am not quite sure, but after eight emails you would think that it would’ve just been easier to send a lousy sample. And keep a satisfied customer who would be buying their brush heads forever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Hi Anne,

      We apologize if there has been any misunderstanding while ordering. The only packages that will include a free travel toothpaste are the packages that include a large toothpaste as well. Any set that includes toothpaste will also be shown with these items in the store image. Clicking on the question mark next to any package will also include a full description of what is included on day one and in three months time (if ordering a plan). We hope this helps!


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    No customer service available, buyer beware!

    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this toothbrush and it was only OK. So I decided I would keep it just for travel. After three uses it quit working. I sent an email to help@getquip.com and never got a response. I sent 4-5 emails and never got a reply. I tried to call and no one answers their phone...you are directed to leave an email. I tried all of their extensions and the same "leave email" message is given. I doubt that I can get a refund as advertised.

    Oh, and yes, I contacted them within the first week of receiving my toothbrush so well within the 30 days requires. BUYER BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 12, 2018

      Company Response from Quip NYC Inc.

      Our team replies to all emails within 24-48 hours during weekdays, usually much sooner! Unfortunately, without having your full name or email address, we cannot search you in our system. If your email was received in our inbox, it would have definitely been replied to as we do not leave any email unanswered. We would recommend checking your spam or junk folder in the case that our team's reply has landed there. We are always happy to help at help@getquip.com.


Showing 45-55 of 652

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review