Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Trim Down Club

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Trim Down Club

Overall Rating

2.8

71 Customer Reviews

Summary

Trim Down Club is an online-only weight loss program, created by nutritionists and dietitians, focused on proper nutrition to help you shed unwanted pounds. It may be right for you, but there are some downsides to this program.

Write a Review

Trim Down Club Review: Can You Lose Weight With This Diet?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S

Updated on: Apr 24, 2020

What Is Trim Down Club?

Developed by nutritionists and dieticians, Trim Down Club is a membership-based weight loss program that allegedly helps you lose unwanted fat permanently and naturally, increase strength and energy, and live healthier, and simply feel better.

The company addresses the root cause of weight gain by providing three things:

  • Customized meal plans that match your body type, your tastes, and your lifestyle
  • A collection of recipes that are delicious, nutritious, and most importantly, enjoyable
  • Nutritional advice

Trim Down Club claims to bring together a community of like-minded people who are intent on helping others enjoy good food and lose weight, which is why they call themselves a “club” in the first place.

This review focuses on how the Trim Down Club programs and whether there is scientific backing to its purposed benefits.

How Does The Program Work?

Trim Down Club primarily helps members lose weight by eliminating highly processed food from their diet and providing step-by-step instructions to melt fat naturally.

According to the website, this is possible even without 1) counting calories or macronutrients, 2) subscribing to fad diets or pills, or 3) hunger or deprivation. In fact, their program promises to allow you to replace every bad food that you eliminate with at least one good food that you enjoy.

Additionally, Trim Down Club’s active community of members is intended to help keep you motivated throughout the process, as well as provide different interest-specific groups for you to join.

What Kinds of Recipes Are Featured?

Trim Down Club provides a vast assortment of recipes for breakfast, lunch, and dinner on their website, as well as salads, soups, drinks, and seasonings, sauces, and condiments. These even include desserts, since they emphasize you shouldn’t be deprived, although you will need to eat sweets in appropriate portions.

If you’re wondering if any options match your tastes, you can browse their recipes page without first signing up for membership. And if you need a specialized menu based on your specific needs, such as gluten-free, low-cholesterol, low-sugar, non-dairy, or vegetarian, Trim Down Club offers options for you as well.

According to the company, these recipes can be made using foods found at your local supermarket, although they may cost more than the groceries you’re currently buying.

Does Trim Down Club Focus On Exercise?

Trim Down Club states that 80 percent of weight loss revolves around the foods you eat, and only 20 percent relate to exercise. The company focuses primarily on balanced nutrition incorporating whole, fresh foods, and claims that many people use the program to lose weight without ever exercising. While possible, this review demonstrates the necessity of including exercise in addition to a healthy diet.

With this said, Trim Down Club membership does include access to an exercise program that incorporates fitness equipment you already own.

Does Science Back Up Trim Down Club?

Though Trim Down Club can cater to a variety of dietary choices, their methods for weight loss are rooted in portion control.

Reducing portion size is just one method of weight loss, though it is a well-studied one.

In obese female subjects assigned to different weight loss methods, those that were provided pre-portioned foods lost weight the quickest, though the weight also returned rather quickly.

Also, these subjects received professional guidance. Providing education is a staple of Trim Down Club’s mission and another component proven to help deliver weight loss results.

Those that received education regarding portion control via regular text messages lost more weight than those who received monthly print outs.

Current dietary guidelines for portion control are available. The need to adopt this practice with regards to calorie-dense foods is highlighted. These recommendations seem to be in line with suggestions made by Trim Down Club.

Lastly, Trim Down Club seems to offer ample opportunity to take part in various groups based on your interests. The accountability component offered in this setting as it related to weight loss has been investigated.

In a review of 138 studies, researchers found that weight loss is 50% more likely when progress is monitored in a public context or when at least one person shares in the process.

Similarly, another study found that women maintained weight loss better when they had accountability both from peers and through group educational sessions.

Safety

Implementing healthy lifestyle changes like those associated with Trim Down Club are vital for weight loss success, though they are not without risk.

Making drastic dietary changes can negatively impact how you react to your medications, lead to a nutrient or energy deficit, or electrolyte and hormone imbalances that can be harmful.

Your exercise plan should also include gradual increases in intensity. Starting off at a level that is appropriate for your current fitness level can help you avoid overstress your heart.

Despite their potential to positively affect your health, you should still speak with your doctor before making drastic lifestyle changes. They can track your progress over time and help monitor safety.

Pricing & Refund Policy

Currently, customers can sign up for a Trim Down Club membership for $1.99, which covers the first month. After that, the price increases to $9.90 per month.

For this price, you’ll receive access to the following:

  • Personal Menu Planner – This is Trim Down Club’s most popular tool, which provides you with a weekly menu, based on your specific dietary needs. All you have to do is choose the foods you love, and the Planner will combine them into the perfect balance of carbs, proteins, and fats, so you can lose weight and keep it off.
  • 8-Week Plan – This is a carefully designed plan by the company’s Chief Dietitian, Ossie Sharon, who has been helping people lose weight and keep it off for over 30 years.
  • Live Forums – Here, members can meet others who are on a mission to lose weight, as well as ask experts for advice regarding nutrition and fitness, 24/7.
  • Recipes – Using a variety of ingredients that can deliver new tastes, these recipes are approved by Trim Down Club’s dieticians to “determine maximum fat burning capacity.”
  • Guides & Videos – A collection of guides and videos that covers everything from food shopping tips to meal preparation.
  • Articles – The company claims these can help you stay up-to-date on everything related to health and wellness.

In addition, you'll also gain access to the company's 8-Week Plan, Great Soup Recipes, Big Book of Desserts, Cook Well Be Well, Simple Express Meal Plans, Ideal Weight Calculator, Express Meal Plans, community forums, articles, and studies, as well as different groups and activities.

All purchases come with a cancel-anytime 60-day money back guarantee, which can be requested by filling out the company’s online contact form.

Bottom Line: Is Trim Down Club Right For You?

Trim Down Club offers access to portion control education, recipes, exercise, group support, and more. The combination of these elements is proven to support healthy weight loss.

Also, the flow of information with Trim Down Club seems to be consistent, so it may offer an edge when compared to programs that offer less guidance.

Trim Down Club is also relatively inexpensive. Though you may be able to dig up similar information on the internet for free, the nominal fee may be worth the convenience of having everything in one place.

Lastly, their program does offer some exercise guidance, though this is not the emphasis of their method for weight loss. You may be able to seek structured advice in a group setting, but it may or may not be an expert opinion.

If you’re interested in exercise education that rivals the nutritional guidance, Trim Down Club may not be the right choice for you.

Nonetheless, with proven methods and reasonable pricing, Trim Down Club is a decent option if you feel you need help implementing lifestyle changes that promote weight loss.

Still, speak with your doctor before making drastic changes.

Customer Reviews

2.8 Stars out of 71 Reviews
5 Star:35% 4 Star:8% 3 Star:5% 2 Star:2% 1 Star:47%
39% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Trim Down Club:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Mar 24, 2014

Very poor customer service relation

By Sam ,

Be cautious placing your initial order for $47 for then you are prompted to make another $57 purchase for what you thought you were already getting for the $47! No telephone number to contact these people only by e-mail.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 116 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2014

Bad value for almost no results.

By L. Huovinen , Fargo ND

During enrollment, accidentally added an "upgrade" because of the wording. Asked for refund, was told I would have 2 additional downloads provided at no charge and to give the program a chance. Been on it for almost a month and not seeing any real results after eating like a grass fed cow and drinking enough water to float a battleship. Not worth the money, just asked for refund today base their 60 day guarantee. Let's see what happens!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 103 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2015

Poor customer service & representation

By Christine , Colorado

This site sends you enticing videos and information that you must buy in addition to your membership! After paying $250.00 for an advanced membership, I emailed Trim Down Club stating this feature was disappointing. The response I got from my Trim Down Club adviser, Justin, was the following: "You have been removed from the newsletters, menus, & additional weight loss info". Nice punitive response.

I also agree with many other reviews which state most of this weight loss info is found online FOR FREE.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 88 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2015

Trim Down Club is a scam

By M Weigel , Bismarck, ND

Saw the link on a Bottom Line Health website and video offer intriguing. Just went with the $47 minimum membership thank goodness as the website kept wanting to get you to buy more and more. At the end I was left with a message that transaction completed or has expired. No link back to Trim Down Club, nothing! Of course PayPal transaction recorded right away and now disputing. Don't fall for this con job.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 86 People Have Voted

Posted on May 22, 2014

Won't refund me my money

By Sabine , Great Britain

Hi there. If you ever think of joining the trim down club - don't do it. I joint only to find out that the meals are rubbish and as I asked the next day for my money to be refunded they told me that I had to do this by phone. I send them another text telling them that I was living in Great Britain and that this would be very expensive and that there terms and conditions stated that I could cancel within my 60 days by dropping them a line. Still haven't had my money refunded. Think twice before joining

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 60 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 1, 2014

Save your money

By KK , AZ

First thing I noticed after starting the purchase process was that I was required to read and reject several offers that if I didn't purchase "right now" would no longer be available. The actual diet plan in a nutshell is advice to not eat processed foods and only eat natural whole foods. Replace sweets with fruit, eat a lot of vegetables. There are menu examples. I should have known better. What a waste of money. I can lose weight on my own. I guess I was looking for a way to make it easier, and this would not be it. First of all, their promise is that everyone is the same. I cannot lose weight on their plan because it is twice the amount of calories in one day that I need to reduce to in order to lose weight.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2015

Good and bad news

By Koby Lane , New York

So, I had a slightly different experience. I think the initial video is worth watching. Yes it is long. But the info is valuable even though you can get it elsewhere. I notice the woman in video limits her qualifications each time she mentions them. So I am not sure why people quibble.

Each fact and food they tell you about you can easily research on the internet and get similar explanations/advice. Paying the fee allows you spending time doing the research. So hey, if you got it, why not.

Why I wouldn't give this more than 3 stars is all the complaints about over billing. I did not have that problem. I think the company can only blame itself for all the 'scam' name calling. Surely they could handle this stuff better. The video says repeatedly that there is a 'no question' guarantee. So these complaints shouldn't exists if that is true.

Don't expect a lightning cure. There isn't one and I think the claims of how fast this program works are over exaggerated in the video.

I met some nice people, got some good recipes, and re- thought my diet choices. For me, the fee was doable and I got what I paid for. Reading about other people's experiences made me give this a bottom line of: No, I would not recommend it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on May 2, 2016

A quick and easy menu

By Tracy, Melbourne, Australia, Verified Reviewer

The menu from the Trim Down Club is relatively easy to access and follow but all the other emails that they send you is direct marketing to buy this vitamin pill or that, whatever. I am so sick of all the emails with 1 word on it thinking it may be useful information but then you get the link to the video that goes on forever. Then it says you need these tablets at a reduced price, etc.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Dec 22, 2016

Hi Tracy,

My name is Adam Feldman Director of Client Relations here at the Trim Down Club. It makes me happy to see that you found our program easy to access and follow. Comments like yours really brighten up my day!

Regarding our newsletter, I think that it is important that you know that The Trim Down Club has several strategic partnerships. These partnerships are based on mutual interests, and our chief nutritionist, Ossie Sharon, has personally reviewed and approved them all. Furthermore, many of us here at the Trim Down Club have taken these supplements and tried out these programs with success!

While we do get a commission for promoting these products, this is done to help offset our low, one-time fee. Plus, it’s important to remember that no two people are alike and weight loss is a complex issue. We know firsthand that some of our members have excelled thanks in part to these programs. Therefore, we encourage every member to review their own goals and to decide if supplementary systems are right for them.

I am running out of space to write more, so I encourage you to write to me at adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com Rain or shine, I am always here and happy to help!

Sincerely,

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations,

Trim Down Club

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 13, 2013

A great way to manage for eating

By Julie Paterson , Auchland, New Zealand

We recently signed up for the club $47. It was well worth it. It is not about the downloads or the recipes, it is about having the menu planner which works on foods you like and are healthy having a full week prepared for us has made buying groceries and preparing for meal times so much faster and tastier.

I think it's a great way to go. Have started losing weight already which I have been trying to do myself for so very long with no success. Seeing those scales drop and enjoying appetizing nutritious meals is well worth such a small investment.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 11, 2015

$47 package is well worth the one time fee

By Marisa Cirelli | Meyvn , Toronto, ON Canada

Very Informative, access to others who are in a similar mind set, great recipes, geared toward a healthy lifestyle, puts the puzzle in place in reference to grains, protein, carbs, vegetables, and fruits. And the food combinations are done for you.

I Love this Site! Check out my group 50 and Over and take a bite out of life.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 22, 2016

Think I've been had.

By Jan Carpenter, Hertford, UK, Verified Reviewer

Sat thru the presentation, decided to buy the basic package online. Screen then offered me a further package which I did not want, but screen would not allow me "no thanks". So I was billed for the second item. Contacted customer services to ask for an adjustment. I was away from home for 2 days, on my return, they had replied telling me a "ticket" had been opened for me and the next day followed up with "ticket closed, no money refunded". My goods have not yet arrived, but reading others' experiences, looks like the money back guarantee is a fairy story too. First time I've fallen for this - should've read reviews first.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Trim Down Club

Dec 20, 2016

Hi Jan,

This is Adam Feldman, Director of Client Relations with the Trim Down Club.

Thank you for your genuine review. After investigating, I was pleased to see that your original request was naturally solved shortly after the review was written.

With that said, we will surely improve our automatic reply to be more precise!

Going forward, I would like to provide you with free, personal support from one of our experienced dietitians. On top of this, I am available at any time to help you make the most of our menu planner, professional forums, courses and much more.

My direct email is adam.feldman@trimdownclub.com. Together we will ensure that you reach your weight loss goals!

Adam Feldman

Director of Client Relations,

Trim Down Club

Helpful Review? 43 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 71

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.