Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5 Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5

Overall Rating

3.9

108 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Unify Health Labs claims to offer a dietary supplement that will support healthy digestive to improve whole-body health. This product may be able to offer a reasonable option for digestive, immune, and overall health. However, the dosages contained in this dietary supplement are much lower when compared to clinical studies.

Pros

  • Prebiotics and probiotics blends are generally recognized as safe (GRAS)
  • Blend of ingredients and their strains all relate to promoting gut microbiota
  • 90-day money-back guarantee

Cons

  • Certain strains can provide side effects that may include diarrhea, cramping, flatulence, and constipation
  • Longer than normal shipment, taking as long as 15-20 days

Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5 Review: Is It Safe and Effective?

By Rocklend Davis, Ph. D.

Updated on: Jul 13, 2020

What Is Multi-GI 5

Multi-GI 5 is a dietary supplement from Unify Health Labs that contains prebiotics, probiotics, and a blend of ingredients alleged to improve gut health.

In your gastrointestinal tract (GI), prebiotics allows for changes in the composition and/or activity of microorganisms to occur in the GI tract.

Probiotics help to develop the microorganisms in the GI to help ensure an appropriate balance of the bacteria that is necessary to maintain normal function in the GI.

Specifically, improved digestion is associated with more efficient absorption of important nutrients that we get from a well-balanced diet.

Unify Health Labs claims that you will experience benefits with daily use of their dietary supplement. According to their website, by taking 1 scoop, the company alleges that you may experience:

  • Healthy digestion
  • Improved weight management
  • Increased energy
  • Healthy GI lining
  • Balanced gut flora

In this article, we’ll help you determine if there is in fact support to back the claims made by Unify Health Labs by reviewing available research for the active ingredients.

Multi-GI 5 Ingredients: Do They Work?

Multi-GI 5 contains 3 blends of ingredients to support gut health: GI Health Blend, Prebiotics, and Probiotics. It is easy to see that the proposed benefits of this supplement are related to this blend of prebiotic and probiotic strains.

First, we’ll discuss GI Health Blend ingredients.

Fermented L-Glutamine, 200 mg

Glutamine is an amino acid in the human body and is primarily used by the cells in the intestinal wall.

While there appears to be some progress made with glutamine supplementation in the role of GI health, most of the progress is based on observational studies.

Acute oral glutamine supplementation, even at lower dosages (0.25 g kg), was able to support GI health in a study of healthy active males.

Magnesium BHB (KetoVantage ®), 70 mg

Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (BHB) is a ketone body that is used by the brain as fuel. Further, BHB may aid in transporting energy from the liver to the surrounding tissues while fasting or during exercise.

Results from a study of healthy trained cyclists found that BHB supplementation increased exercise performance by 2%.

Studies, however, are limited with regards to understanding BHB supplementation and performance of higher intensity exercise. A study of trained endurance athletes experienced a decrease in endurance at a higher intensity. This effect may be present due to decreased representation of carbohydrates.

Deglycyrrhizinated Licorice Root Extract, 50 mg

Deglycyrrhizinated licorice (DGL) extract had the glycyrrhizin removed. Due to the removal of this compound may limit or even decrease adverse effects in its true form licorice.

A laboratory study found that deglycyrrhizinated licorice may play a role in alleviating ulcers from aspirin-induced mucosal damage in rats.

DGL extract of 75 mg, taken twice daily was used to treat functional dyspepsia and was revealed to improve symptoms in humans. The DGL dosage contained in this GI Health Blend, according to the nutrition label on Unify Health Labs, indicates 50 mg.

BioPerine ® Piper Nigrum Extract, 10 mg

Piper Nigrum Extract, also known as black pepper, may be used for medicinal purposes or as a preservative. Dietary piperine plays a role in stimulating the digestive enzymes of the pancreas, enhances the digestive capacity, and decreases GI food transit time.

However, these health benefits are only shown in animal studies. Further studies and research are required in humans to confirm effects, especially in the long-term.

BioPerine received a GRAS status (generally recognized as safe).

Berberine Hydrochloride, 3 mg

Berberine is known as an alkaloid that comes from plants. Berberine may have a role in anti-diarrhea and anti-inflammatory.

A study of 196 patients with irritable bowel syndrome received berberine hydrochloride of 400 mg twice daily for 8 weeks. The findings from the study suggest that berberine hydrochloride can reduce GI issues.

Further, berberine hydrochloride supplementation at this dosage presented with side effects that were related to digestion. Some reports included:

  • Cramping
  • Diarrhea
  • Flatulence
  • Constipation
  • Stomach pain

These symptoms disappeared after decreasing the dosage by 300 mg. Included in one scoop of the Multi-GI 5 GI Health blend is 3 mg of berberine hydrochloride, which is well under the dosage utilized in the study.

Nonetheless, if you begin to notice any of the side effects, stop taking the supplement.

Zinc (from Zinc Carnosine Complex), 1 mg

Zinc is an essential trace element and is involved in numerous life processes. Zinc can be found in meats, dairy, nuts, grains, and beans. Zinc may also play a role in strengthening the integrity of the gut.

In mice, zinc was found to impact gut microbiota and offer protection to conditions affecting digestive health. Also, the effects of zinc and their role for gut health in humans needs to be further research.

Prebiotic Blend

Fructooligosaccharide (FOS) 4 g

Oligosaccharides occur naturally and can be found in plants such as onions, chicory, garlic, asparagus, banana, artichoke, and many others.

This blend helps to feed the intestinal gut microbes and the by-product that is released into the blood helps the gastrointestinal tracts.

Low quantities of fructooligosaccharides exist in food.

Prebiotics help regulate the environment of gut microbes in humans. The gut microbes or microbiota are considered its separate organ that contains a large number of bacterial cells that will help to perform many functions.

Further, the use of prebiotics to treat and influence gut health are strain-dependent. A review of 43 studies to examine the effectiveness of prebiotics to treat irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and constipation were inconclusive. This may be due to the limited studies available of prebiotics in humans.

Probiotic Blend

This blend of probiotic contains 5 strains of good bacteria to improve digestion, weight management, and reduce gas and bloating.

Lactobacillus gasseri (100 billion cfu/g) 9 mg

This particular probiotic helps to support immune systems and colonizes approximately 40% of your digestive tract. Also, it may help to help lower stress levels in patients suffering from irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) by improving gut microbiota in healthy adults, improve mental state, and sleep quality.

ProDura ® Bacillus coagulans (150 billion cfu/g) 7.26 mg

Bacillus coagulans is a lactic acid that produces spore-forming bacterial species. This formation protects B. coagulans as it travels through the acidic environment of the stomach to reach the intestines. Once it has reached its destination, it begins the process of germination that will aid in the digestion of carbohydrates and proteins.

B. coagulans may also contribute to increased benefits of prebiotics by encouraging the growth of more healthy gut bacteria. A study supplemented B. coagulans for 28 days in elderly subjects was found to have influenced a higher density of healthy gut bacteria.

A review of toxicology testing studies has found that Bacillus coagulans have a history of safety for human consumption.

Lactobacillus rhamnosus (350 billion cfu/g) 7.13 mg

L. rhamnosus is a commonly used strain and appears to be well documented for the prevention and treatment of infections that occur in the gastrointestinal tract. Furthermore, it may play a role in the treatment and prevention of diarrhea and prevent allergic reactions.

A meta-analysis of 12 randomized control studies suggests that Lactobacillus rhamnosus has a role in preventing antibiotic-associated diarrhea in adults who were treated with antibiotics.

A clinical trial was also able to show the ability of this probiotics role in modulating the gut microbiota composition. This eventually leads to a decrease in potentially harmful bacteria and supports the good bacteria.

Lactobacillus plantarum (400 billion cfu/g) 3 mg

These are identified as good bacteria that attack the bad bacteria.

The possible benefits of L. plantarum may include reducing toxins, bloody pressure, fungal activity, and symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

In a clinical trial, L. plantarum was able to decrease symptoms of IBS, particularly the symptoms of abdominal pain and bloating.

While there were no known side effects while taking L. plantarum, there was only one report of an adverse event by transient vertigo in one of the subjects in the trial.

Lactobacillus Casei (300 billion cfu/g) 7.13 mg

Lactobacillus Casei is reported to stimulate the production of lactic acid to help aid in healthy digestion, nutrient absorption, and regularity (gas and bloating).

In a study of 70 patients with constipation were randomized to consume 65 mL of L. casei and noted significant improvement of self-reported symptoms when compared to the control.

Is Multi-GI 5 Safe?

According to the nutrition label found on Unify Health Labs’ website, one scoop contains the 3 blends and is instructed to take twice daily.

The available blends contain ingredients that are associated with side effects that include diarrhea, cramping, flatulence, and constipation. If you do begin to experience these symptoms, stop taking the supplement, and notify your physician immediately.

The dosages of the ingredients are well under the dosages that were used in the studies. Lower dosages combined with natural ingredients provide a favorable safety profile.

It is recommended to take the dietary supplement as indicated on Unify Health Lab’s Website. Dosing of any amount should never be increased.

The Cost

Multi-GI 5 is available on Unify Health Labs website. There are multiple purchasing options and ships to you in 15-20 business days. One container of Multi-GI 5 contains 30 servings.

  • 1 bottle (1 month supply) - $69.95
  • 3 bottles - $188.85 (savings of $21.00)
  • 6 bottles - $353.70 ( savings of $66.00)

Each order is backed by a 90-day money-back guarantee with no hassle. To process your refund, email support@unifyhealthlabs.com or call 800-935-4598.

The Bottom Line

Multi-GI 5 includes 3 blends of ingredients that offer many scientifically proven benefits. As a comprehensive blend with many ingredients, this supplement may support overall gut health.

While the dosing of each ingredient is included and safe, it may be too little to achieve the proposed benefits.

We have reviewed products that seek to promote gut health with comprehensive blends and are similarly priced. You may save by avoiding the need for additional supplements, however.

Before treating symptoms on your own, speak with your doctor first.

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 108 Reviews
5 Star:44% 4 Star:31% 3 Star:7% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:10%
77% Recommend This Product
Start your review of Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 25, 2021

Not sure yet

By Doris R. , Lacey, WA

I've only taken it 4 times now. It has a really nasty aftertaste but after reading other people's reviews I at least now know what it is. I have a really slow digestive system and have a real problem when it comes time to go to the bathroom. I'm lucky if I can have a bowel movement every 5/6 days. I already take Miralax every day, so I really want this product to work. Like I said, it came in the mail 4 days ago and I started to drink it that day and the 3 days after and I still have not gone, and my insides are really bothering me with gas and a bloating feeling. But I am going to try it out for a bit more. I do go to the gym 3 days a week so I'm hoping the exercise from that will give me the kick start I need. I only did get 1 exercise day in with this stuff. I am just hoping my body needs to get used to it. I do drink a lot of water, but if you can think of something else to get me started I would like that.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Jul 22, 2021

Blood pressure raised while using product

By Tammy N., Atlanta, GA, Verified Reviewer

I was really excited for this product after reading reviews and ordered 3 jars. Two weeks into using the product and I started having extremely high blood pressure readings. I have never had my blood pressure go above normal. It is usually low. Since this product was the only new thing I had introduced into my diet, I researched ingredients and was amazed to see the dangers of licorice root! I cannot believe I am the only person with this issue! I would love to try the product again but am afraid to after my experience.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2021

Really works for me

By Jillian L., McDonough, GA, Verified Reviewer

The informative video and money-back guarantee along with Randy Jackson's passion for creating this convinced me to try, and I am so glad I did! It made my BM normal, increased energy, decreased bloating and cravings, and generally tastes good. The pepper gives a ginger bite but I like it. What do you have to lose by seeing if this works? I am glad I tried and love the results!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ingredients

Taste

Effectiveness

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jun 28, 2021

It curbs your appetite

By Kamini P., Florida, Verified Reviewer

It does not dissolve very easily in cold water, has lumps. I don’t know why. I don’t know if it helps with digestive problems.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It tasted good

It curbs appetite

Does not dissolve

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

Jul 13, 2021

Hello Kamini. My name is Charlie, I am with Unify Health Labs. I am very sorry to hear about the trouble you're having with mixing Multi-GI 5 in cold water. Here are some tips that may help you with mixing. I recommend adding 1 scoop of Multi-GI 5 to an empty glass and slowly mixing the powder as you pour the water into your glass. If using a shaker bottle, I recommend adding the Multi-GI 5 to your shaker bottle first, then add half of the suggested amount of water and shake. Once you see the product dissolving, add the rest of the water and shake the bottle again until fully mixed. The suggested water amount is 8 oz. per scoop, however, if you would like to increase the amount you are welcome to do so. If you have a blender or a whisk, this is also a great option to help the powder dissolve completely. If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out. My email is charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jun 15, 2021

Very strong pepper taste in the Strawberry Lemonade flavor

By William Z., Yuba City, CA, Verified Reviewer

Maybe there was a production hiccup but the pepper flavor is overpowering in the first canister I opened. Did anyone else notice this in their experience with the Multi-GI 5?

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Very strong peppery taste

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

Jun 17, 2021

Hello William. My name is Charlie, I am with Unify Health Labs. I am sorry to hear you are not enjoying the taste of our formula. Other customers in similar situations have found they enjoy the taste better by adding our formula to their favorite juice or smoothie. While many of our customers love the taste, we do understand it may not be for everyone. For this reason, we stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. If for any reason you are not enjoying your order, it may be returned for a full refund. If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out. My email is charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 5, 2021

Have questions

By Sandy P., California, Verified Reviewer

I just started taking this product. I would love to know how many times in a day I can take it, is it ok if I can take it more than once a day or is just recommendable to just take it once?

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

Jun 8, 2021

Hello Sandy. My name is Charlie, I am with Unify Health Labs. I would like to thank you for your interest in Multi-GI 5. We recommend mixing one scoop of Multi-GI 5 with water or your favorite drink, once daily. Preferably in the morning before a meal. If you ever have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out. My email is Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 3, 2021

Burns my mouth

By Cynthia W., Detroit, MI, Verified Reviewer

Had high hopes, but could not even drink a whole glass! Burned my mouth and throat, and was disgusting! Waste of my money. Be warned.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

Jun 4, 2021

Hello Cynthia. My name is Charlie, I am with Unify Health Labs. I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy our formula's taste. While many of our customers enjoy the taste of Multi-GI 5, we understand that it may not be for everyone. For this reason, we stand behind our 90-day money-back guarantee. I have escalated your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care. If you have any questions or concerns that you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to email me at charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on May 5, 2021

Not what I expected

By Norma B., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

First jar is half empty, there are not 30 scoops in the jar. I am experiencing bad cramps, bloating, excessive burping, and can't sleep due to stomach spasms.

Will not buy again.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Taste

Causes stomach bloating

Severe cramps

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

May 7, 2021

Hello Norma. My name is Charlie, I am with Unify Health Labs. I am very sorry to hear about your experience. However, when taking a probiotic, what you mentioned can be normal. Some customers may experience what is commonly known as die-off symptoms. Die-off symptoms occur when the bad bacteria inside of your body is killed off. The bacteria releases toxins which your body does its best to rid itself of, resulting in some unpleasant but short-lived side effects. Most customers do not experience this, but some may, depending on how much bad bacteria is inside your body. Die-off symptoms can include gas, bloating, constipation, diarrhea, skin breakouts, and various other stomach flu-like symptoms. For most people, this can be anywhere from 2-5 days but this may last up to two weeks. I can assure you, however, that these symptoms are very temporary and quite normal whenever a big change is made to someone's diet, lifestyle, or even their supplemental regimen. Regarding the filling of the jar, due to the nature of the powdered supplement, the contents may have shifted during transit which releases excess air and compacts the product in each jar. The size of the jar is kept larger to prevent spillage and overfilling during the manufacturing process. I can assure you, however, that our products are filled by weight and each jar will have 30 full servings as labeled. While most customers enjoy our formulas, we understand that they may not be for everyone. For this reason, we stand by our 90-day money-back guarantee. If for any reason you are unhappy with our product. It may be returned for a full refund. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to email me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Have a nice day.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 22, 2021

Just used it for the first time

By Christine P., Nutley, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I just had my first drink. I was excited to try it and received my order fairly quickly. When I opened up the jar, it was less than half full. I measured the servings in it, using the measuring cup provided, and there were 26 servings in it, not the 30 I purchased. It didn’t dissolve completely, despite my vigorous shaking. As soon as I drank it, my mouth and throat were burning. When looking at the powder, there were black specs throughout. Could it be pepper? My mouth continues to burn even after finishing the entire drink. I felt the need to immediately go to the bathroom. Obviously, this is my first use and maybe it does the things it promised, but I am hesitant to continue to use this product and am unhappy that I didn’t receive what I was sold. I bought three bottles and if each is short 4 servings, that is almost two less weeks than I had purchased.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quick delivery

Burning it my mouth and throat

Only getting 26 servings per jar instead of 30

Cost

Company Response from Unify Health Labs

Mar 22, 2021

Hi Christine, I'm Charlie from Unify Health Labs. Thank you for reaching out and sharing your concerns. I'm really sorry to hear that you did not receive the full 30 servings. I would like to look into this right away. I'll take the Order # you provided and alert our team to ensure this doesn't happen again. In addition, there is Black Pepper Extract in Multi-GI 5 so this could cause the sensation you're experiencing. Again, I'm very sorry that this was not the experience you were expecting so I would like to issue you a full refund. Please e-mail me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com and I'll begin the refund process. Looking forward to assisting you!

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2021

Amazing product and great taste!

By Lawana E., Dayton, OH, Verified Reviewer

This Multi-GI 5 tastes fantastic and to prepare it takes less than two seconds. I’ve been using this product for about 3 weeks I’m almost certain that it’s helping me to rise early and with more energy than I have had in months. I’m pretty sure my gut is melting away. I was skeptical so I didn’t measure my stomach before starting this product, now I wish I had. Anyway, I will be ordering again soon! And the taste is great even though I cough every time I prepare it, but that seems normal from what I’ve read!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Energy that I haven’t had in months

Great taste

Easy to prepare, less than two seconds

Coughing when I’m preparing the drink

Cost is a little high for my fixed income right now

Wish it could arrive a little sooner after ordering it

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 8, 2021

So far so good

By George J., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I drink it every day before breakfast. The taste is perfect. I have become "regular" which for me is a bonus. It does not curb my appetite whatsoever. If the premise behind the GI 5 is regularity then it is fine. I never had bloating or stomach discomfort. I was mainly having issues with constipation and so far it has corrected that. I was hopeful that my cravings would subside but they have not. I bought two more canisters because they were on sale and will use them up and see how I respond in other ways. I do expel gas pretty much constantly too.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flavor

Easy to drink

Keeps me "regular"

So far does not curb my cravings

Pass gas a lot

I cannot recommend the product yet

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 108

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.