Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5 Review: Is It Safe and Effective?

By Rocklend Davis, Ph. D.
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Jul 13, 2020

What Is Multi-GI 5

Multi-GI 5 is a dietary supplement from Unify Health Labs that contains prebiotics, probiotics, and a blend of ingredients alleged to improve gut health.

In your gastrointestinal tract (GI), prebiotics allows for changes in the composition and/or activity of microorganisms to occur in the GI tract.

Probiotics help to develop the microorganisms in the GI to help ensure an appropriate balance of the bacteria that is necessary to maintain normal function in the GI.

Specifically, improved digestion is associated with more efficient absorption of important nutrients that we get from a well-balanced diet.

Unify Health Labs claims that you will experience benefits with daily use of their dietary supplement. According to their website, by taking 1 scoop, the company alleges that you may experience:

  • Healthy digestion
  • Improved weight management
  • Increased energy
  • Healthy GI lining
  • Balanced gut flora

In this article, we’ll help you determine if there is in fact support to back the claims made by Unify Health Labs by reviewing available research for the active ingredients.

Multi-GI 5 Ingredients: Do They Work?

Multi-GI 5 contains 3 blends of ingredients to support gut health: GI Health Blend, Prebiotics, and Probiotics. It is easy to see that the proposed benefits of this supplement are related to this blend of prebiotic and probiotic strains.

First, we’ll discuss GI Health Blend ingredients.

Fermented L-Glutamine, 200 mg

Glutamine is an amino acid in the human body and is primarily used by the cells in the intestinal wall.

While there appears to be some progress made with glutamine supplementation in the role of GI health, most of the progress is based on observational studies.

Acute oral glutamine supplementation, even at lower dosages (0.25 g kg), was able to support GI health in a study of healthy active males.

Magnesium BHB (KetoVantage ®), 70 mg

Beta-Hydroxybutyrate (BHB) is a ketone body that is used by the brain as fuel. Further, BHB may aid in transporting energy from the liver to the surrounding tissues while fasting or during exercise.

Results from a study of healthy trained cyclists found that BHB supplementation increased exercise performance by 2%.

Studies, however, are limited with regards to understanding BHB supplementation and performance of higher intensity exercise. A study of trained endurance athletes experienced a decrease in endurance at a higher intensity. This effect may be present due to decreased representation of carbohydrates.

Deglycyrrhizinated Licorice Root Extract, 50 mg

Deglycyrrhizinated licorice (DGL) extract had the glycyrrhizin removed. Due to the removal of this compound may limit or even decrease adverse effects in its true form licorice.

A laboratory study found that deglycyrrhizinated licorice may play a role in alleviating ulcers from aspirin-induced mucosal damage in rats.

DGL extract of 75 mg, taken twice daily was used to treat functional dyspepsia and was revealed to improve symptoms in humans. The DGL dosage contained in this GI Health Blend, according to the nutrition label on Unify Health Labs, indicates 50 mg.

BioPerine ® Piper Nigrum Extract, 10 mg

Piper Nigrum Extract, also known as black pepper, may be used for medicinal purposes or as a preservative. Dietary piperine plays a role in stimulating the digestive enzymes of the pancreas, enhances the digestive capacity, and decreases GI food transit time.

However, these health benefits are only shown in animal studies. Further studies and research are required in humans to confirm effects, especially in the long-term.

BioPerine received a GRAS status (generally recognized as safe).

Berberine Hydrochloride, 3 mg

Berberine is known as an alkaloid that comes from plants. Berberine may have a role in anti-diarrhea and anti-inflammatory.

A study of 196 patients with irritable bowel syndrome received berberine hydrochloride of 400 mg twice daily for 8 weeks. The findings from the study suggest that berberine hydrochloride can reduce GI issues.

Further, berberine hydrochloride supplementation at this dosage presented with side effects that were related to digestion. Some reports included:

  • Cramping
  • Diarrhea
  • Flatulence
  • Constipation
  • Stomach pain

These symptoms disappeared after decreasing the dosage by 300 mg. Included in one scoop of the Multi-GI 5 GI Health blend is 3 mg of berberine hydrochloride, which is well under the dosage utilized in the study.

Nonetheless, if you begin to notice any of the side effects, stop taking the supplement.

Zinc (from Zinc Carnosine Complex), 1 mg

Zinc is an essential trace element and is involved in numerous life processes. Zinc can be found in meats, dairy, nuts, grains, and beans. Zinc may also play a role in strengthening the integrity of the gut.

In mice, zinc was found to impact gut microbiota and offer protection to conditions affecting digestive health. Also, the effects of zinc and their role for gut health in humans needs to be further research.

Prebiotic Blend

Fructooligosaccharide (FOS) 4 g

Oligosaccharides occur naturally and can be found in plants such as onions, chicory, garlic, asparagus, banana, artichoke, and many others.

This blend helps to feed the intestinal gut microbes and the by-product that is released into the blood helps the gastrointestinal tracts.

Low quantities of fructooligosaccharides exist in food.

Prebiotics help regulate the environment of gut microbes in humans. The gut microbes or microbiota are considered its separate organ that contains a large number of bacterial cells that will help to perform many functions.

Further, the use of prebiotics to treat and influence gut health are strain-dependent. A review of 43 studies to examine the effectiveness of prebiotics to treat irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and constipation were inconclusive. This may be due to the limited studies available of prebiotics in humans.

Probiotic Blend

This blend of probiotic contains 5 strains of good bacteria to improve digestion, weight management, and reduce gas and bloating.

Lactobacillus gasseri (100 billion cfu/g) 9 mg

This particular probiotic helps to support immune systems and colonizes approximately 40% of your digestive tract. Also, it may help to help lower stress levels in patients suffering from irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) by improving gut microbiota in healthy adults, improve mental state, and sleep quality.

ProDura ® Bacillus coagulans (150 billion cfu/g) 7.26 mg

Bacillus coagulans is a lactic acid that produces spore-forming bacterial species. This formation protects B. coagulans as it travels through the acidic environment of the stomach to reach the intestines. Once it has reached its destination, it begins the process of germination that will aid in the digestion of carbohydrates and proteins.

B. coagulans may also contribute to increased benefits of prebiotics by encouraging the growth of more healthy gut bacteria. A study supplemented B. coagulans for 28 days in elderly subjects was found to have influenced a higher density of healthy gut bacteria.

A review of toxicology testing studies has found that Bacillus coagulans have a history of safety for human consumption.

Lactobacillus rhamnosus (350 billion cfu/g) 7.13 mg

L. rhamnosus is a commonly used strain and appears to be well documented for the prevention and treatment of infections that occur in the gastrointestinal tract. Furthermore, it may play a role in the treatment and prevention of diarrhea and prevent allergic reactions.

A meta-analysis of 12 randomized control studies suggests that Lactobacillus rhamnosus has a role in preventing antibiotic-associated diarrhea in adults who were treated with antibiotics.

A clinical trial was also able to show the ability of this probiotics role in modulating the gut microbiota composition. This eventually leads to a decrease in potentially harmful bacteria and supports the good bacteria.

Lactobacillus plantarum (400 billion cfu/g) 3 mg

These are identified as good bacteria that attack the bad bacteria.

The possible benefits of L. plantarum may include reducing toxins, bloody pressure, fungal activity, and symptoms of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).

In a clinical trial, L. plantarum was able to decrease symptoms of IBS, particularly the symptoms of abdominal pain and bloating.

While there were no known side effects while taking L. plantarum, there was only one report of an adverse event by transient vertigo in one of the subjects in the trial.

Lactobacillus Casei (300 billion cfu/g) 7.13 mg

Lactobacillus Casei is reported to stimulate the production of lactic acid to help aid in healthy digestion, nutrient absorption, and regularity (gas and bloating).

In a study of 70 patients with constipation were randomized to consume 65 mL of L. casei and noted significant improvement of self-reported symptoms when compared to the control.

Is Multi-GI 5 Safe?

According to the nutrition label found on Unify Health Labs’ website, one scoop contains the 3 blends and is instructed to take twice daily.

The available blends contain ingredients that are associated with side effects that include diarrhea, cramping, flatulence, and constipation. If you do begin to experience these symptoms, stop taking the supplement, and notify your physician immediately.

The dosages of the ingredients are well under the dosages that were used in the studies. Lower dosages combined with natural ingredients provide a favorable safety profile.

It is recommended to take the dietary supplement as indicated on Unify Health Lab’s Website. Dosing of any amount should never be increased.

The Cost

Multi-GI 5 is available on Unify Health Labs website. There are multiple purchasing options and ships to you in 15-20 business days. One container of Multi-GI 5 contains 30 servings.

  • 1 bottle (1 month supply) - $69.95
  • 3 bottles - $188.85 (savings of $21.00)
  • 6 bottles - $353.70 ( savings of $66.00)

Each order is backed by a 90-day money-back guarantee with no hassle. To process your refund, email support@unifyhealthlabs.com or call 800-935-4598.

Pros and Cons

Pros
  • Prebiotics and probiotics blends are generally recognized as safe (GRAS)
  • Blend of ingredients and their strains all relate to promoting gut microbiota
  • 90-day money-back guarantee
Cons
  • Certain strains can provide side effects that may include diarrhea, cramping, flatulence, and constipation
  • Longer than normal shipment, taking as long as 15-20 days

The Bottom Line

Multi-GI 5 includes 3 blends of ingredients that offer many scientifically proven benefits. As a comprehensive blend with many ingredients, this supplement may support overall gut health.

While the dosing of each ingredient is included and safe, it may be too little to achieve the proposed benefits.

We have reviewed products that seek to promote gut health with comprehensive blends and are similarly priced. You may save by avoiding the need for additional supplements, however.

Before treating symptoms on your own, speak with your doctor first.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5:
  • 40 Customer Reviews
  • 68% Recommend This Product
3.8 out of 5
5 star: 40% 4 star: 27% 3 star: 10% 2 star: 12% 1 star: 10%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Caused constipation

    • By Mary J.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was really looking forward to the rewards from using Multi-GI 5. Used for a week, had constipation. Stopped using for 3 days, constipation gone. Tried again with warm water, constipation returned with bloating and gas. This product has not been useful to me. Do I return the partially used jar for a refund?

    Pros and Cons:

    • Taste
    • Quick dissolve
    • Cute jar
    • Constipation
    • Bloating
    • Gas

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 30, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Mary, I'm Charlie from Unify Health Labs. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not experience the results you were expecting. While Multi-GI 5 works for many of our customers, we do understand that it may not work for everyone and this is why w stand by our 90-Day Money Back Guarantee. Just e-mail me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com and we can get the refund process started! I look forward to assisting you with this. Thank you for giving our product an honest try!


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Rosa W.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Sep 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I placed a review about how this company running a scam by halfway filling the container and Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com responded about how much they care and to email him, as I did. As a matter a fact, the email is useless, they came back to say bull crap:

    I sincerely apologize for any confusion with your Multi GI 5. I completely understand your concern with the amount of product being less than you expected.

    Due to the nature of the powdered supplement, the size of the jar is kept larger to prevent spillage and overfilling during the manufacturing process.

    I can assure you, however, that our products are filled by weight and each jar will have 30 full servings as labeled. If for any reason, you find that you have significantly less than 30 servings or if you have any additional questions, please reply back to this email, I would be happy to help you!

    I replied back and no response in 2 weeks. Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 28, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Rosa, I just sent you a message through the HighYa messaging system. I'm not able to locate an e-mail from you in my inbox. Please respond back to my message with your e-mail address and I'll make sure you receive a full refund.

    • Previous review
    • Sep 23, 2020

    Scam

    The company is well aware that they're sending the container halfway full unless you inquire about it. Nothing but a scam. I haven't tried it yet but so far I know for sure how they cheat you and how the company is aware of the ongoing issue and doing absolutely nothing about it!

    • Sep 23, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Rosa, I'm Charlie from Unify Health Labs. I was really upset to read your review. Unify Health Labs is a 100% reputable company and we pride ourselves in creating top-notch products and providing excellent customer service. Multi-GI 5 settles during transportation. Each jar of Multi-GI 5 should contain 30 scoops. If this is not the case for you, just e-mail me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com and we can look into the Lot # and get to the bottom of this. we're always here if our customers have any issues or concerns. Please don't hesitate to contact me if you need anything. I can also issue you a full refund. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Coughing every time I open the container!

    • By Maureen S.,
    • Wichita, KS,
    • Sep 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was a bit nervous to actually take this product as it makes me cough the minute I open it. But I trusted the company and drank it. It totally burned my throat! Should I take more tomorrow? I decided to trust the company again. The 2nd day I coughed immediately. However, it did not seem to burn my throat as much as the first day. I am going to continue for a week or so to see if it helps with weight and energy, but I have to think the fine powder is NOT good for my lungs!

    Pros and Cons:

    • Seems to help with bloating and more regular digestion
    • Makes me cough
    • Burns my throat
    • Price

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Optimistic

    • By Cliff S.,
    • Winston Salem, NC,
    • Sep 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Well, I’ve been at this a week now and thought I’d leave some thoughts. First, if you have a sensitivity to pungent smells, you’ll have to stay away from the dust when pouring. You might consider warmer water for dissolving advantages. I never had digestive issues but, this product will do a job on you if not prepared. I’m optimistic as I bike twenty miles a day. No weight loss yet but we’ll see.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Pungent odor if breathed in
    • Lumpy when mixing

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 23, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Cliff, thank you for your feedback on your 1-week mark! As you mentioned, we do recommend that our customers try Multi-GI 5 for at least 3 months to experience its full results. Please keep me updated along the way. You can reach me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com if you have any questions! Thanks for your update!


  • Burning feel after drinking

    • By William M.,
    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Sep 10, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I just started the Multi-GI 5 three days ago. The strawberry lemonade flavor is pretty good. I’ve noticed a tingling/burning as I’m finishing my drink each time I drank it. Is that normal? I’m a little concerned about that.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Taste
    • Small amount needed to drink
    • Fast delivery
    • The powder makes you cough when inhaled
    • Half full container
    • No fancy container

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 10, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi William! I'm Charlie from Unify Health Labs. I'm happy to hear that you're enjoying the flavor of Multi-GI 5. Regarding the sensation you experience while drinking it, our Product Development is aware of this and is working to reformulate the product so it's not as powdery, which is what is causing this sensation. All of our products go through rigorous 3-party testing and we would never make a product that is unsafe to consume! We're just tweaking the consistency a bit. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience but stay tuned for an update in the near future! Please reach out to me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com if you have any other questions!


  • Not a good experience

    • By Rod D.,
    • Corvallis, OR,
    • Aug 29, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I had really wanted this product to be beneficial. After 10 days, all I am experiencing is diarrhea and loose stools, and constant flatulence. Today I had to go to the bathroom 6 times, and the day is only half over.

    The dust that comes out of the container, and again when I add the powder to water, makes me sneeze and cough. It feels like it is going into my lungs and doing me harm. I really hate that.

    Speaking of hate, the taste is awful. Not Strawberry Lemonade, more like Theraflu. Why didn't the manufacturers make the mixture taste better? I'm really surprised about that.

    Beyond all that, I have seen no changes during these 10 days. The thought of continuing with something that I don't like and that brings me discomfort, is something I am not going to do. I now am more concerned that it is doing me harm, than doing me good. Today I stop.

    Please let me know the procedure for getting my money back. Thank you.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • The taste
    • The dust that gets into my lungs
    • Not seeing any positive results, not even small ones

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Rod, Charlie here from Unify Health Labs. I'm so sorry to hear that you had this experience while trying Multi-GI 5. We understand that everyone is different, so while we have many customers who love the benefits of Multi-GI 5, we understand that it may not work the same way for everybody. This is why we honor our 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee. I also wanted to thank you for your feedback regarding the texture of the product. Our Product Development team is looking into updating the formula to avoid issues like this in the future. To begin the refund process, please e-mail me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com! Thank you for your feedback.


  • I see no online info or reviews for capsule form

    • By Don K.,
    • Long Beach, CA,
    • Aug 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I recently purchased Multiple Metabolic 5, which apparently is the capsule version of this supplement. However, the listed ingredients are somewhat different than the Multi-GI 5. I have not been able to find out what other users’ experiences are with the capsules. For me, they have no aftertaste or taste at all. I have done three weeks' worth so far, so I wouldn’t expect extraordinary weight loss but it’s hard to tell if the 4-5 lbs I have lost is simply because of dietary changes. As for whether I’d recommend the product it is too soon to say but you can’t submit the review without making a choice.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to take
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Sep 2, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Don, I'm Charlie from Unify Health Labs. I wanted to confirm that Multiple Metabolic 5 is a different product from Multi-GI 5. You can learn more about Multiple Metabolic 5 here - https://unifyhealthlabs.com/product/multi-metabolic-5/. Because this is a newer product, you may not find too many reviews on it yet! I'm happy to hear that you're enjoying it so far and if you have any questions, you can reach out to me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com. Thank you!


  • New customer

    • By Shauna P.,
    • Newport News, VA,
    • Aug 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have only had my Multi-GI 5 for two weeks now. My large gut area has reduced considerably and the weight is coming off. The weight loss is slow and steady. I suspect I am losing inches because my clothes feel better on me. It is nice to see it happening both ways though. I will continue to take this because I am seeing progress and my stomach feels a lot healthier.

    Pros and Cons:

    • The taste
    • Mixes well with Lemonade
    • I like that the powder is so fine
    • It really gives me a big cough when I open it
    • Clumps sometimes but that is with any powder to me

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Therena D.,
    • Oklahoma,
    • Aug 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have used this product for 3 months. I love it!

    It has made a difference in digestion, sleeping, and energy level. I still have issues with cravings and have not seen much as far as weight loss. Overall I am pleased.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Helped with digestion
    • Helped with increased energy/stamina
    • Improved my sleep
    • Did not help with cravings
    • Did not see any weight loss

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Hoping for great results

    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I give the product 5 stars for delivery time, it came in less than a week after order (so thank you for that). This is my day 1 of taking the product I ordered to improve my digestive system and as a result possible weight management. I took it as instructed - 1 scoop with 8oz of water, but I couldn't find anywhere where it provided when to take it or how many times a day to take it. So I took it this morning before my cup of coffee (I don't usually eat breakfast), and I'll repeat this for the next 3 months and see what happens. I'd really like to know the best way to take the product, for best results (please advise). I'll keep you guys posted on my progress. I can't honestly recommend the product at this time, as this is my day 1. I am really hopeful that it will work as intended. Also, their customer service is the best.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • It tasted like I was drinking Theraflu
    • I couldn't stop sneezing after opening the jar

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Unhappy customer

    • By Theresa V.,
    • East Lansdowne, PA,
    • Aug 11, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    The problem is that my overall experience with Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5 is that I have no changes or experience with it. Have been using it for about six weeks now. I should have seen some changes but I have not. Total waste of money.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Taste isn’t terrible
    • Cough and sneezing when opening the product
    • Seems to constipate
    • Burn to taste

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 11, 2020

      Company Response from Unify Health Labs

      Hi Theresa, Charlie here from Unify Health Labs. I'm so, so sorry to hear about your upsetting experience. While we have many customers who had positive experiences, we do understand that Multi-GI 5 may not work the same way for everybody. But this is why we stand by our 90-Day Money-Back Guarantee! Please e-mail me at Charlie@unifyhealthlabs.com and I can begin the refund process. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.


Showing 1-11 of 40

Write a Review for Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Unify Health Labs Multi-GI 5