Start your review of Vroom:
  • 313 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Service
2.2 out of 5
5 star: 20% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 57%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Buyer beware

    • By Jesus D.,
    • Arizona,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    BUYER BEWARE!

    Take a moment if you will, and follow along as I tell you my buying experience thus far with Vroom.

    First and foremost, this is not my first automobile buying experience. I’ve purchased other autos, new and used, before at traditional dealerships. I chose Vroom initially because they catered to my demographic. An online purchase, that could be done with ease without having to leave the comfort of my home. I’ve purchased tons of things online before from reputable sites, including the purchase of my current home. I’ve also sold items online, so I made sure to choose a company that I believed to be reputable and had obviously had experience in selling vehicles online. That company I thought was Vroom, but alas I was wrong. Please take some time and read my story, allow me to share with you my car buying experience with Vroom.

    So, in November of 2018 I chose Vroom to purchase my vehicle. I initially applied for appraisal of a vehicle I was looking to trade in/sell. I already knew I could sell this vehicle on the private market for $2,000 to $2,500 but didn’t really want to deal with that hassle, and was obviously willing to take a loss for foregoing having to deal with a private sale. Needless to say, Vroom's appraisal was anything but a small loss, since they only offered me $150.00 cash for said vehicle. I can understand this part of their business model, buy low and turn around and sell to make a profit, and this is not necessarily as to why I am discontent with Vroom, but I wanted to share this part of my experience nonetheless.

    Ten days later I submitted my application for a used vehicle I found on their website. I thoroughly reviewed the pictures they had posted online as well as their Carfax report. I still pulled my own Carfax report to be sure I wasn’t being misled. Both reports matched up, so I was excited to move forward with the purchase. After filling out the application online with all the pertinent credit information, I received a call the next day from Tyler. He was calling to complete the credit application since there was going to be a co-signer on the application. Everything gets verified and he provides the rates and emails them out. We took a day to think over whether we want to complete the purchase and the following day decided we liked the terms and called Tyler to let him know. Obviously, there are documents that need to be signed and returned. Tyler is aware that the co-signer and I didn’t reside in the same city and sets it up so that the docs go to one of us and then gets to the other person and then finally to Vroom.

    This is where it all begins to go downhill. It turns into what can only be described as an episode from The Three Stooges, even though after all this I would probably find them to be more competent at completing this transaction. The initial documents were sent to an address that was non-existent, an address that neither I nor the co-signer gave in the online application or by phone. I realized this because I used the FedEx app to check the tracking number that was given and saw the address after FedEx called me on their failed attempted delivery. I called Vroom, they say they have the info down as whatever sales had written down. This should have been my first red flag since blaming other departments would become a trend. I contacted them and asked for a supervisor, they said none were available and that one would get back to me. I received a voicemail from a supervisor and returned the call three times, leaving a voicemail all three times and never getting a return phone call. Eventually, they corrected the information and they re-did the contract and resent it with the correct address.

    We get the corrected info and this time it is delivered correctly since it does have the correct address. We sign and initial the paperwork and send it back. A couple of days later we get an email saying that one of the documents is missing my initials, so they will resend the lone document for me to initial and return. They sent the document alright, but they sent it to the co-signer instead of to me. I call Vroom and let them know of this situation, so they email prepaid postage so the co-signer can get it sent to me. At that same time, we get notification of the vehicle no longer being held for the sale because we did not return the document within 24 hours, even though it was sent to the wrong person. Once again, I call and request a supervisor, who tells me that once they get the document they will then put a hold on the vehicle. I tell her that the co-signer and I aren’t in the same city so it could be a day before they (Vroom) get the document and obviously someone could purchase the vehicle out from under us. She showed no empathy and could care less, and never provided another alternative. I recommended that if I was able to send her the return tracking number by their time of closing would she then put the vehicle back on hold. I informed her that I took responsibility for the missing initials, but because it was an error on their end for sending the requested document to the wrong person, there should be some leeway. She agreed with my offer, this forced me to have to leave and drive three hours away to were the co-signer was with the document so I could initial it and send it out so the tracking number showed as sent.

    The supervisor had informed me that I just needed to call before 8 pm closing time their time. When I called which would have been thirty minutes before they closed, the recording informed me they actually close at 7 pm. Now, I’m not saying she purposely misinformed me, but the writing is on the wall. Additionally, when I told that same supervisor that I had previously left various voicemails for another supervisor and never received a return call. She stated that the supervisor was on a prolonged absence and that’s why she wasn’t returning my phone call. I used to work as a supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. Anytime any of us took an extended absence we made sure to leave a detailed voicemail regarding that absence with our return date so whoever needed to reach us would know why we would not be returning a phone call. This should have been my second or third red flag.

    Now, we begin the third stage of the process. A process that was started late November has brought us to mid-December. We get notification that everything is approved and we receive a call that the vehicle will be delivered 12/21 between 12-6 pm. So, we wait all day and at 4 pm we receive a call stating that they are four hours away, obviously not within the time frame they said the car would arrive by. At around 10 pm the doorbell rings and the car is here. Before I sign for the car I have to look it over. So, at 10 pm I’m supposed to look over a black car and sign for delivery of it. I sign for it because at the end of the day I know I have 7 days to return it. I wasn’t able to do much with the vehicle since I had to leave for a holiday vacation the next day.

    When I return I take it directly to the dealership to get it thoroughly inspected to make sure I am going to keep the vehicle. Mechanically everything is excellent on the vehicle, the only points of concern are on the back fender where there is a horrible correction paint job, and the rear spoiler glue is becoming undone on the right side. Listen, I get it, it is a used vehicle, so I expected some issues. Where I have a problem is that anybody who has sold something online knows that you always take pictures and or point out the blemishes on the product you are selling, otherwise it looks like a classic bait and switch. Had these blemishes been discussed or pointed out on the website there is a good possibility I would have still purchased the vehicle though maybe tried to haggle the price but Vroom never failed to mentions these deficiencies on their website description or in their pictures.

    It is now February, and obviously I decided to keep the vehicle regardless of its cosmetic defects that I will pay out of pocket to correct. Yet my story and saga are still not done. I contacted Vroom because my temporary registration was about to expire and I still hadn’t received my license plates. I call and speak to Roderick and he asks if I have the vehicle, to which I reply yeah, I’ve had the vehicle since December. He says he doesn’t show a vehicle being delivered to me. I inform him that Ally Bank has already taken out payments for the vehicle so I most definitely have the vehicle. I tell him that at this point I would rather just register the vehicle myself as I can’t really deal with this incompetence anymore. He said I would have to redo the contract again for that to happen. That’s the wrong thing to tell a law student, as nothing in the contract requires that they be the ones who registers the vehicles. He then says that I’ve paid for them to do it. I tell him I could care less if I lose money because I only have a week left of my current registration and they obviously haven’t been able to do anything correctly including registering my vehicle. I’m placed on hold as he speaks to a supervisor and states they will send me new temporary tags and will fill out the registration correctly so they arrive before the temporary tags expire. As of now, I’m still waiting for my permanent tags and plate.

    I understand this is a lengthy review, but I hope you’ve taken the time to read this. As this has been my experience with Vroom. It may have been harder for me to deal with because I used to be a Supervisor for a top 3 insurance company. If there was ever any department that made an error we never placed the blame on them. We owned the error because we were all one company and did whatever we could to make the customer whole whenever WE as a company made a mistake. We also returned our calls promptly when left with a voicemail or left the appropriate voicemail so as to make our customers aware if we were not going to be available. We also provided customers with all the alternative solutions available to them as opposed to having our customers doing our job for us and giving us the solutions. Since at the end of the day we were there to assist them.

    Secondly, if you are going to sell a product online, describe its blemishes, customers understand used vehicles may come with defects, hiding them and not pointing them out only makes the bait and switch theory even more plausible.

    Finally, I would think that a company whose literal job is to sell cars could deal with having a co-signer and sending out documents a) to the correct address and b) to the correct recipients. As well as provide their customers with accurate windows of delivery of their vehicles and register them in the appropriate manner within the appropriate time.

    This experience has been anything but what their "motto" or "mission statement" is. If I had to choose to purchase with Vroom again, my answer would be an emphatic NO! I purchased the vehicle in late November and we are past the middle of February and I’m still dealing with their incompetence. Heed this review as a warning of what you may expect if you chose to buy a vehicle from Vroom. If you do, I wish you luck. I’d personally rather go through Carvana or just put myself through the torture of dealing with a salesman at a dealership. In all honesty, I wouldn’t buy gum from Vroom even if they showed me a picture.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Jesus - thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed review. We are sorry for the issues with your experience. We believe this review is the same one left on another site and we escalated that one at the time for our team to review in an effort to improve our processes and service. Again, we appreciate the feedback and if we can help with anything going forward, please let us know. The Vroom team.


  • Horrible, horrible, horrible

    • By Sander,
    • Tonawanda, NY,
    • Nov 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    This is the worst experience I've ever had in my life. Customer service is out of control; nobody helps you, they pass you around, and you get hung up on. I can't get my truck's title or registration. It has been 4 months and nobody helps, and everybody acts like they know nothing; they just keep making up tickets and hang up on you.

    Hours and hours and hours have been wasted on this. The worst experience I've ever had. Lawyers are getting involved. Do not buy a vehicle from this place. I will do everything I can to keep writing bad results about this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Terrible experience with Vroom

    • By Darin Hall,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • Sep 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My experience with Vroom was awful. Do not use their service! It took them 16 days to get the car to me (after I sent them the money) even though I live only five hours away from their fulfillment center.

    I was constantly given the run-around. Not responsive via email and I never got any support from my sales support person. The finance people were pretty on the ball, but that was just because they wanted my money. Once they had my money, it took forever to get anything done.

    The car had a big dent in the hubcap and a rip in the front seat. And to top it off, they only give you one key, and if you ask for a second one, they make you pay for it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Worst experience ever!

    • By Rick Yi,
    • Maryland,
    • Sep 25, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I got my car about a month ago (Audi Q7 2015). Transport used a trailer with my car on the top, so it was not covered. The transporter was trying to clean my hood, bumper, rims, and fenders. Why? I looked at my car and there are scratches all over my hood, bumper rims, and fenders. Bare in mind that it was about 10 pm at night.

    The transporter told me to clean the car and send pictures. I sent all the pictures the very next day. Alex Coates asked me to get estimates, and they will take care of it. After one month of sending pictures and getting estimates, I got no return calls. I had to call almost all the time. Christian Lopez called me and told me they refused to repair the car for the amount it cost, then they offered to pay $2500, which is about half the cost, or they could take the car back.

    I forgot to mention that the interior had parts broken and was dirty with food crumbs everywhere. They had the nerve to tell me "Well, you did buy a used car."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy from Vroom!

    Overall Experience:

    I, like many reviewers, have had an absolutely terrible experience with Vroom. I purchased and put a deposit down. They sent the paperwork a day later than they claimed, then finalized the purchase and wired the money, then they lost my paperwork and then found it.

    It has now been two weeks and I have heard all kinds of excuses on why it has not been shipped. They have lied to me about shipping and claim the car is getting service work done (after claiming it passed quality control). I am going to cancel my order and hope the refund process goes better.

    Do NOT buy from Vroom!

    I wished I would have read more reviews before wasting my time with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • No car

    • By Don Moser,
    • Lowell, NC,
    • Mar 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    On 2/26 I placed a $500 deposit, on 2/27 I received the contract, and I returned the contract on 2/28. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were reviewing the contract. On 3/2 Vroom said by email that they were getting the vehicle registered. I have heard nothing from them since, and it is now 3/12. I have called and everyone I speak to knows nothing. I am starting to wonder if this is a scam. I want either a delivery date on the car or all my money back. Can anyone help without anyone giving me the runaround?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Don,

      Thanks for leaving us your comments. We're sorry to hear about the lack of communication - this is something we are actively working on. We believe we may have communicated on another review site but please let us know if there's anything we can do for you at this point.

      Thanks,

      The Vroom team


  • Supremely certified cars?

    • By Kenny Johnson,
    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Aug 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought my truck in February 2017, a Ford F-250 Diesel. The truck looked great; no door dings, great paint, great interior. You would think the truck was taken care of. Wrong.

    After having the truck for a week or two, I found out the ball joints were bad on both front wheels, and the truck had the death wobbles. This is caused by a bad track bar and another ball joint. While getting this fixed, the repair person saw that the cab mount bushings were all rotted out. This let the cab loose on the frame, which causes it to move around, creating the knock I heard when you apply the brakes. The bad ball joints could be found just by jacking the front wheels up. The bad track bar could be found just by driving the truck. The cab mount bushings could be seen just by looking at the bottom of the truck.

    I don't think this truck had ever gone through the supreme car care that they state the truck had gone through. This is still not the end of the story. Now the oil cooler that is bolted to the engine is cracked, which in turn burned up the EGR coolers. $5,800 at the Ford dealer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful experience

    • By Tony Rems,
    • San Ramon, CA,
    • Dec 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I wanted to get a car for my son for Christmas. I found just the one I was looking for, although I'm pretty sure they only show stock photos on the site and not the actual car. They promised and promised that I would get it by Christmas, but I had to call, email and stalk them about the car.

    First, they told me it was leaving the next day and would arrive on time. Then they told me they were "getting it ready" and wouldn't confirm a date. Finally, after continually pressing them, they gave a story about a light going on in the car and they won't be able to get it here for Christmas. Now, I'm concerned about getting my money back.

    Service is poor and I would stay away. I used Roadster to buy a new car previously and had a great experience. I had hoped this would be the same, but it's definitely not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don’t waste your time

    Overall Experience:

    Unless you’re prepared to waste a month on this long, unorganized, excuse-filled process, then MOVE ON!

    This company is a joke. I don’t know how they are still in business, such a disappointment. They take the images of the picture and use special effects to hide scratches, dents, and other cosmetic flaws. Then after you decide you want the car, they start inspecting it and fixing things that should have been done before they even listed the car. Wouldn’t those things affect the overall cost of the car? Shouldn’t these things be disclosed beforehand?

    Now based on all the horrible reviews coming true I am expecting the car to show up dirty and damaged, be impossible to register, and if there are any problems with the car, I expect them to be impossible to get ahold of.

    Just go to a real place that takes care of their stuff and trades them the money for the keys, and call it a day! Not a month!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 10, 2018

      Company Response from Vroom, Inc.

      Hi Marlie,

      We're sorry to hear about the experience you had with us, and for the delay in our response. We've been working to improve pretty much all the areas you provided feedback on so we appreciate you taking the time to do so. If there's anything we can help you with in the future, please let us know.

      The Vroom Team


  • Miserable experience

    Overall Experience:

    Where do I begin?

    Do not, I repeat, DO NOT buy a car from this company! Trust the reviews; they are rated poorly for a reason!

    I decided to purchase a Smart Fortwo vehicle from the company in December 2017 and was assigned a sales associate by the name of Ro Doherty. The initial paperwork process was fairly easy, however, once the paperwork was submitted all help ended there. She went on vacation in the middle of the process without informing me and left her cases to a Thadrick Holmes, who was nearly impossible to get in touch with or get to respond back to inquiries. Upon her return, Ro also seemed to disappear in thin air.

    Not even two weeks into the arrival of the vehicle, the brakes malfunctioned on the highway nearly causing a major accident. I scheduled a diagnostic inspection with the Mercedes dealership, as Vroom had advertised that the vehicle still had one month of manufacturers warranty left. The dealership informed me that there were visible signs of major flood damage to the vehicle, and that the vacuum pump and wires were rusted and would need to be replaced, a $900+ repair. They also informed me that the manufacturers' warranty expired on December 15, 2017, before I even purchased the vehicle. Because it had been past eight days, the dealership refused a return of the vehicle, despite the false advertising of a manufacturers warranty and the failure to disclose the flood damage (something that would have been easily noticed upon the departure inspection). They informed me they would be willing to process a buyback if I bought another vehicle in its place.

    I complied and began the purchase process of a Lexus CT200h. This time around the purchase process and buyback process was riddled with lack of communication, failure to respond to messages, and administrative errors causing three separate contracts to have to be sent. In addition to the delay, the sales associate made absolutely zero mention that because of a mileage adjustment mistake on their part, my interest rate would increase by several percent, to which I refused the financing. She wound up having to perform another hard pull on my credit report and we came to an agreement on financing and a THIRD set of paperwork had to be sent out.

    Fast forward several weeks of emails and phone calls and lack of message responses between customer service, sales and myself. I finally receive a delivery notice of the Lexus after hounding the company for weeks but had zero communication regarding the pick up of the smart vehicle. Fulfillment/delivery could not provide their own management team updates regarding pickup. I did not receive confirmation of pickup of the smart vehicle until the day the Lexus was picked up. The day of!! At the same time, I had still received zero updates regarding the cancelation of financing/buyback of the smart vehicle after daily requests for updates as well.

    My new vehicle was quoted by a delivery associate to be delivered between 6-9 am, which changed to 6-9 pm, then to 8-11 pm. At 10:30 pm, I still had zero communication from any delivery associate or the driver. My delivery driver contacted me at Midnight (prior to a workday) that they would arrive in 30 minutes and they were delayed due to having a delivery at a remote location (and sent me pictures of the dirt backroads he was driving on with brush overreaching the roads). More than an hour later, after 1 am, the vehicle finally arrived. The tires were absolutely bald and the car was covered in horizontal surface scratches most likely due to the brush the driver had to pass through on his prior delivery. In addition, no temporary tag was provided for the vehicle, so even after its delivery, I could not legally drive it and I STILL had zero update regarding cancelation of financing/buyback of the Smart vehicle.

    On February 16th, after daily calls, I was assured that the payoff for my smart car would be sent that day and that Ally would receive it by Monday or Tuesday of the following week. I now arrive at today, Thursday February 22, 2018, more than two months into this process. I call Vroom/TD Auto YET AGAIN and am told the payoff had not been sent and that there was an internal error and they do not know what happened.

    The returned smart car was re-listed on the Vroom website for sale and was marketed as having a clean history, despite the company being provided physical documentation from a Certified Mercedes Dealership showing the vehicle was flood damaged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I took a gamble, and it didn't pay off.

    Overall Experience:

    I bought a car through Vroom without seeing it. So far, the car arrived several weeks late. I still do not have tags for the car and the company I financed the car through is sending me daily email asking why Vroom has not sent me plates yet. My DMV recommended I hire a lawyer. I was promised a second key, and then after the car was delivered, told this was something I was going to have to pay for.

    It has arrived with multiple scratches and dents, as well as mechanical issues, all noted by the transporter on their 'drop off' sheet. Vroom has refused to support the repair of the vehicle, and now I am outside of the seven-day period...

    When I purchased through Vroom, I read the multiple negative reviews online and decided to 'give it a go' anyway.

    Had I known about all of these issues listed beforehand, I never would have purchased a vehicle through Vroom. Do what you will, but this company poses a risky business proposition...and I would never do this again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 12-22 of 313

Write a Review for Vroom!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Vroom Review: How It Works, Pros and Cons, Vroom vs. Carvana