Zantrex Black Review: Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 5, 2014

When compared to the Red and Blue formulations, Zantrex Black claims to be a new, accelerated, rapid-release formula that provides quick, “high-velocity” weight loss results. On top of this, Zantrex Black is claimed to be formulated for maximum potency and extreme energy.

Because it’s summertime, it’s likely that you want to gain the perfect, swimsuit-ready body you’ve always wanted. After all, no one can blame you for wanting to look your best. But to find out whether or not Zantrex Black is the best way to accomplish this, we took a hard look at the supplement’s claims, and what you can realistically expect from taking it.

Important Details About Zantrex Black

At its most basic, Zantrex Black contains a proprietary formula of ingredients that are claimed to help you burn fat and lose weight, increase your energy, and decrease your appetite. However, unlike other Zantrex formulas, the new Black version is claimed to rapidly release into your system in order to provide you with the fastest effects possible.

With this in mind, Zantrex Black’s proprietary ingredients include the following:

  • Protein 0.5g

  • Niacin 30mg

  • Zantrex-3 Proprietary Blend 1,160mg
    Yerba Mate (leaf) Extract, Guarana (seed) Extract, Trimethylxanthine, Damiana (Turnera diffusa var. aphrodisiaca) (leaf) Extract, Green Tea (leaf) Extract, Kola (seed) Extract, Schizonepeta (flower) Extract, Black Pepper (fruit) Extract, Rhodiola crenulata (root) Extract, Asian Ginseng (root) Extract, Maca (root) Extract, Cacao (seed) Extract, Black Tea (leaf) Extract

According to the Zantrex Black product page, you should take 2 liquid-filled softgels 15 minutes prior to each meal, along with a full glass of water. If necessary, you can take 1-2 additional softgels at a time throughout the remainder of the day to experience a “significant energy boost,” although the company recommends that you don’t exceed 6 softgels during a 24-hour period.

Important note: Under the details section of the Zantrex Black webpage, it also claims that you should not take more than 4 capsules per day. While this may be a typo, this is something you’ll definitely want to confirm in advance.

Zantrex Black Pricing and Refund Policy

Each bottle of Zantrex Black contains 84 softgels and is priced at $39.99 plus $6.95 shipping and handling.

Zantrex Black comes with a 30-day return policy, less shipping and handling charges. In order to initiate the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-898-5153.

Keep in mind that Zantrex Black is also available through a variety of third party retailers such as GNC, Amazon.com, CVS, and many more.

Our Conclusions About Zantrex Black

As with any other nutritional supplement, weight loss or otherwise, if you’re expecting “magical” results with Zantrex Black, you’ll likely be disappointed. However, can this supplement help to boost your overall weight loss goals? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Price

With 84 pills per bottle and a manufacturer’s price of $39.99, this works out to about 14 days before you’ll need to refresh. While this is certainly less expensive than some of the other weight loss supplements we’ve reviewed, this still means you’ll be paying about $80 per month, assuming you take 2 softgels before each meal (6 per day).

Ingredients and Effectiveness

Overall, there is very little evidence showing any of the ingredients contained in Zantrex Black can actually burn fat, and what evidence does exist is inconclusive. Because of this, you shouldn’t expect to take Zantrex Black and just watch your body begin shedding fat.

However, because this supplement contains a fair amount of stimulants, these can help curb your appetite and reduce your calorie intake, thereby potentially helping you to lose weight.

Customer Reviews and Negative Side Effects

Zantrex Black appears to have a mixed online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing increased energy and reduced appetite. However, most complaints referenced negative side effects related to the high level of stimulants, including stomach ache, headache, dizziness, and skin flushing.

With this said, due to the high amount of stimulants contained in Zantrex Black, if you’re especially sensitive to these types of ingredients, you may want to avoid the supplement altogether. Even if you’re not sensitive, you will probably want to avoid taking it close to bedtime in order to get a good night’s sleep.

Bottom Line

As we’ve mentioned in most of our weight loss supplement reviews, the only proven method of losing weight and keeping it off is through regular exercise and a healthy diet. While supplements like Zantrex Black may help give you an extra boost, whether through appetite suppression or providing extra energy during your workouts, they are only intended to enhance the benefits of exercise and diet, not to replace them.

As long as you only expect Zantrex Black to help support your exercise and healthy diet habits, this supplement may help provide the extra boost you need. However, if you’re on a tight budget or are sensitive to stimulants, you may want to look elsewhere.

» See Also: A Beginner’s Guide to Losing Weight and Getting in Shape

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 47 Zantrex Black Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 5 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 45% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 47
Sort reviews by:

  • Hives

    • Illinois,
    • Jun 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have taken this pill in the past with no problems. Today within 10 minutes I had broken out in hives, face, arms, and hands. So bad that I went to convenient care and my blood pressure was extremely high. Loaded me up with Benadryl and still 7 hours later, my arms are still red, raised, and itchy. Face and neck are better but still itchy. Start on steroids tomorrow.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Feels great

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking for something to help lose at least 10lbs, 20lbs would be better. I researched for days and read about Zantrex Black and gave it a try. Good price, so I figured why not, the only thing I have to lose it weight...lol. I have RA, Hashimoto's and suffer from depression, so I'm tired all the time. I drink coffee all day. I have been taking Zantrex Black for two days and I FEEL AMAZING! I have not had the need to drink coffee, and it makes me thirsty, which is good because I don't drink a lot of water. I suffer from constipation as well and this product fixed that! Two days in a row I "went."

    I have not had any rashes, headache, stomach issues...all is great! I hope I see weight loss results soon!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Zantrex Black

    • Vancouver, WA,
    • Sep 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always seem to have 10 pounds to lose. I have taken almost everything on the market - no wonder weight loss remedies is a multi-billion dollar industry. I find that my appetite is curbed, I do indeed have more energy AND as an added, but as an unintended benefit, it has helped me cut down on my smoking. I used to smoke 4-5 cigarettes a day. Now, I barely smoke 2, and while I am smoking, they no longer are satisfying. I have ordered 2 more bottles. Within the next month, not only will I have lost my 10 pounds, I've lost 3 after the first week, but I will probably not be smoking anymore. Thanks so much, Zantrex Black!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Fantastic product

    • Grand Island, FL,
    • Jul 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have type 2 diabetes and I have not been able to lose weight. I tried this, taking two pills, but it was too strong for me. I now take one pill in the morning and one in the evening.

    I tried other products and they did nothing, but this really works. I have lost 22 pounds in two months. The main thing to note as that it really cuts down on my hunger and how much I eat. I don't notice any boost in energy, but I bought this to lose weight and it's 10000% great.

    I can't thank this company enough for having such a great product out there; it saved my life.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do not waste your money!

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Though this product kept me wakeful, it also turned me into an insomniac. Though it curbed my appetite perfectly, I lost only ONE pound in one month, AND I was not eating any unhealthy foods NOR WAS I in excess of 2000 calories a day.

    This product made me itch all over my body within 20 minutes before I ate. Try something else. This company is only trying a different scheme to make money off of the hopeful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Will never take it again!

    • Mississippi,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would not recommend this to anybody. The headache is not worth it, OMG, I just took some Tylenol and it eased away within 20 minutes. Don't take this unless you want a BAD headache. I felt shaky, it didn't give me any energy, it decreased my hunger, but heck, that probably gave me a bad headache too. I don't think anything on the market is safe. The hospital said that weight loss pills don't work, they just give you bad side effects, and to me, if you gotta deal with crap like that, it ain't worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Allergic reaction

    I had a horrible allergic reaction three times, and the last two were really bad. I finally narrowed it down to it being caused by the Zantrex Black. Heart palpitations, extreme nervousness, turned beat red with a rash. My head felt like it was on fire. Thank goodness I had Benadryl on hand for two bad episodes; I thought I was going to die. I won't be ever taking this product again.

    I had to rate, so I gave it one star only because that was the lowest I could rate it at.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Indecisive on product claims

    • Ohio,
    • Mar 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started Zantrex Black yesterday. I felt perfectly fine all evening besides not really being able to sleep and was extremely dehydrated even after drinking five bottles of water, which from what I have been reading seems to be normal.

    I woke up this morning and took two pills on an empty stomach. Twenty minutes later I felt really hot and flushed like I was going to pass out, then I was extremely nauseous with bad cramping pains and my cheeks and nose are beet red. After it subsided, I felt fine for about three more hours, but then to my surprise, it happened all over again.

    I'm pretty sure it is the Niacin in it that is making people feel this way. It is meant to flush out your system quickly and make you sweat out toxins. As far as weight loss goes, I do feel lighter, but I think it may be from the extra water intake and cutting out high calorie caffeinated drinks. I only recommend this product to individuals who actually eat three times a day, otherwise, you will be dealing with some nasty side effects.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Amazing, true story.

    I tried Hydroxycut and cleanses and slim this and slim that. I started weighing 154 lbs and am a 5ft 5in woman, so curvy to start. In two weeks with NO diet and light exercise, I have lost 10 lbs. So I am now 144 and counting. I am taking six a day. No negative side effects.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Undecided

    • New Albany, IN,
    • Jan 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just started taking Zantrex Black today. I took it at 4:50, and it's now 7:40 and I'm not sure if my stomach is supposed to feel like this. I feel hungry but sick at the same time. I feel nauseous and tired. I had a burst of energy to where my sister could barely understand me when I talked. I was just wandering if anyone else had these symptoms and if it went away after a few uses? I want to lose weight but being healthy and exercise alone doesn't work for me. I need an extra boost.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    First time user

    • Texas,
    • Jan 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started taking Zantrex Black at the beginning of January. My weight loss goal is 40-45 pounds. I did a lot of research on diet and weight loss pills. I think it’s all a scam, to be honest.

    Anyway, I took two capsules before lunch on a Wednesday, and it did give me a boost of energy and curved my appetite. I don’t believe you need diet pills or supplements to lose weight. I believe that if you stop eating fast food and junk food like sweets, candy, fried foods, and “crap food” as my husband calls it, and add an exercise program, you will lose the weight.

    I didn’t have any negative results other than just one. The capsules gave me so much energy that I couldn’t sleep. I’ve been awake for over 24 hours, and I’m still not tired. This is nuts. I’ve read reviews where people have had hot flashes, rapid heart racing, even where in some instances they had to be rushed to the hospital. Take it at your own risk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 47

Write a Review for Zantrex Black!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review