Zantrex Black Review: Does It Really Work?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Updated on: Mar 4, 2020

Zantrex Black is proposed to enhance both energy and weight loss through a unique blend of ingredients.

Carrying extra weight can place you at a higher risk for chronic medical conditions like diabetes and cardiovascular disease. For many, losing weight is often easier said than done.

While diet and exercise are mainstays for any weight loss plan, Zantrex Black may be a beneficial addition to your regimen.

According to their website, by taking 2 softgels with water 150 minutes before breakfast, lunch, and dinner, you can expect to:

  • Quickly boost your energy
  • Rapidly lose weight loss
  • Control your appetite
  • Elevate your mood

These certainly sound like highly desirable effects, but are they possible?

In this article, we’ll help you determine if Zantrex Black is the safe and effective weight loss supplement you’ve been missing.

Zantrex Black Active Ingredients: Do They Work?

Zantrex Black’s ability to deliver these benefits is allegedly related to the unique blend of ingredients.

You can expect the following packed into every 2 softgels:

Niacin (30mg)

Proprietary Blend (1,160mg)

  • Yerba Mate
  • Guarana Extract
  • Caffeine
  • Damiana Extract
  • Green Tea Extract
  • Kola Seed Extract
  • Schizonepeta Extract
  • Black Pepper Extract
  • Rhodiola Crenulata Extract
  • Asian Ginseng Extract
  • Maca Extract
  • Cacao Extract
  • Black Tea Extract

While they do not provide the quantity of each specific ingredient in the blend, the secret behind the proposed effects is related to the caffeine content of this supplement – about 300mg per serving.

We’ll focus on the caffeine content to help you get a better understanding of what Zantrex Black can offer.

Can Caffeine Content Deliver the Proposed Effects?

In addition to including caffeine itself, Zantrex Black offers 5 additional ingredients that contain this stimulant: yerba mate, guarana, green tea extract, kola seed extract, and cacao extract.

The caffeine offered in each of these ingredients amounts to about 300mg in every 2-softgel serving. For your reference, this is about 3x the amount of caffeine included in an 8oz cup of coffee.

Thus, you’d take in 900mg of caffeine daily when Zantrex Black is taken as directed.

Caffeine has several reported benefits like boosting memory, increasing alertness, enhancing athletic performance, and even reducing the risk for some cancers.

The caffeine-containing ingredients in Zantrex Black are intended to boost your energy and help you lose weight.

The effects of this stimulant have been widely studied.

A recent review of 34 studies detailed some of the immediate benefits that caffeine has related to athletic performance. Doses ranging from 3 to 6mg/kg body weight improved vertical jump, sprinting speed, and performance during agility tests.

In healthy subjects, 3mg/kg of caffeine given before physical activity increased the number of sweat glands and oxidized more fat when compared to those that didn’t receive caffeine. These effects were smaller in obese women, however.

This study found weight loss was more effectively maintained in those that consumed more caffeine.

A recent review of 13 randomized trials concluded that caffeine intake might promote reductions in weight, BMI, and body fat.

The proposed energy and weight loss effects seem to be supported at doses comparable to those found in Zantrex Black.

You should always start with a more comprehensive weight loss plan that includes diet and exercise. The use of a dietary supplement alone would not offer all of the available benefits of implementing healthy lifestyle changes.

Is Zantrex Black Safe?

While many of these ingredients have been safely studied individually, their combination may increase your risk for side effects and toxicity.

This is best illustrated in a 2012 case report. A 38-year-old woman taking Zantrex-3 (200mg of caffeine per serving) for 2 months experienced blurred vision and seizures. These symptoms were resolved after discontinuing use.

Though this is just one case, use can be risky.

The FDA states that rapidly consuming 1,200mg of caffeine can cause seizures. While you’ll fall under this number when taking Zantrex Black as directed, the addition to your typical coffee, soda, or tea intake can put you in an unsafe range.

Also, 400mg daily is considered the safest use of caffeine – daily Zantrex Black use alone can more than double this number.

Consuming too much caffeine often results in restlessness, nausea, agitation, rapid heart rate, and unsafe increases in blood pressure.

For these reasons, it’s best to avoid Zantrex Black or similar stimulant-containing supplements. Always ask a physician before use and never consume them in ways other than what is recommended.

Cost and Where to Buy

You can pick up 84 softgels of Zantrex Black directly from their website or from Amazon for $39.99 or $19.87, respectively.

When used as directed, one bottle will last you 14 days. You’ll have to double the pricing to get through an entire month.

This product ships free from both Zantrex and Amazon.

Zantrex also offers a no-hassle guarantee that is not constrained by a time limit. According to their site, simply contact Customer Service Hotline at 1-800-898-5153 and ask for a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number.

Place the RMA on the outside of your package and return to Returns Dept. 5742 Harold Gatty Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84116.

Are There Any Alternatives?

There are a number of stimulant-containing supplements available. A simple internet search will reveal many options.

Trans4orm from Evlution Nutrition offers a 2-month supply of this supplement for $29.99 or 2 for $40 at bodybuilding.com. Each capsule provides a blend of B vitamins, extracts, and caffeine-containing ingredients.

Hydroxycut Hardcore Elite from Muscletech is another stimulant-containing dietary supplement. It similarly offers multiple forms of caffeine. At GNC, it is $34.99 for a 25 day supply.

Again, as these products may be harmful, diet and physical activity are a better first step for weight loss.

The Bottom Line

The many benefits of caffeine have been extensively studied. There is ample support for the energy-boosting and weight-loss promoting effects alleged by Zantrex Black.

Reviews for Zantrex Black are fair.

More than 500 users rate it 3.9-stars at Amazon. Happy customers report rapid weight loss, sometimes even with taking much less than the recommended dosing. Those unsatisfied with the supplement report side effects like rapid heart rate and stomach pain.

Nonetheless, stimulant-containing supplements can be dangerous. Zantrex Black, when used as directed, more than doubles the safest daily limit for caffeine. Adding other sources of caffeine (coffee, soda, etc.) can place you at even greater risk.

Implementing healthy lifestyle changes should be your first step in your weight loss journey. If you are interested in Zantrex Black or similar products, do not use them without speaking to your doctor.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Zantrex Black:
  • 49 Customer Reviews
  • 45% Recommend This Company
2.8 out of 5
5 star: 30% 4 star: 10% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 42%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • I like it!

    • By Jackie ,
    • Bassett, VA,
    • Dec 1, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    I like the 12 hour energy level it gives me while having no jitters or dizziness! price I buy mine for $20.00 on sale, I take 3 a day and it last all day long, I have no trouble sleeping. I have bad allergies to food and chemicals. After reading reviews of other products I told myself why am I looking for something else? I like this product. I just started about 2 weeks ago and it agrees with my allergies and gives me energy! I'm giving it a try faithfully.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Energy

    • By Rudy,
    • Riverton, WY,
    • Aug 10, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Like some people who are allergic to a great deal of things myself, I was able to take these as directed to get the energy boost I wanted through the day. I take 6 total, 15-20 minutes before eating and 45 minutes prior to my work out. It's been only a few weeks now but I've lost a total of 17 lbs. I would recommend it only if your are able to deal with the high dose of caffeine and the niacin effect.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great Results

    • By Kay,
    • Louisville, KY,
    • Apr 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I started taking this about 3 weeks ago. It gives me a lot of energy, but doesn't keep me up at night. I down 20 pounds now, of course I am dieting as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love It

    • By Brittney,
    • Kingman, AZ,
    • Jul 21, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have been taking this for a few weeks now, I take it at lunch time 15 minutes before I eat. It suppresses my appetite drastically. I am a person who is very used to caffeine. Being in the medical field, I drink coffee all day so i haven't noticed these side effects everyone is complaining about. Now I only have my coffee in the morning and my pills before lunch and I am good for the rest of the day. I can feel my heart rate a little while after taking them but it's still in the 70's.

    I am a very athletic person and I used to work out all the time but because I am going back to school and working full time, I find it hard to go to the gym. I pretty much eat healthy and an occasional piece of chocolate here and there. I have been stuck at 162 pounds for years as diet and exercise wasn't enough for me.

    I am finally at 156 pounds and I feel great. This product isn't for everyone and should be researched before you take it. Make sure you're not allergic to any of the ingredients and if you are sensitive to caffeine, don't take it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • So far so good!

    • By Big Petty,
    • Hampton, GA,
    • Nov 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Zantex Black about seven days ago. I immediately started at 2 pills before each meal. I definitely see that it helps a lot with suppressing my appetite and energy is so so. In seven days I have lost three pounds, but that is with a 1500 calorie a day diet plan. I would definitely recommend this product as of now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Give it a try if you're not easily affected by caffeine.

    • By Megan Michelle,
    • Ventura County, California,
    • Mar 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Here's some background on me: I'm 22, I'm 5'4. I had my baby 19 months ago, and went from 160 lbs to 200 lbs between getting pregnant and a month ago. I don't eat the greatest, I didn't exercise much before taking these, and I constantly drink coffee (through the day). I do not drink soda and I drink my coffee black. I work full time and go to community college full time.

    My fiancé randomly picked these up from CVS for me to try. I never asked because I don't believe in diet pills. I've never seen good results.

    I will say this: you will suffer the consequences if you take even one of these without eating. I learned that the hard way when I decided to take one at home and drive 30 minutes to breakfast. Had to turn the car around and go to the restroom. Further details would be gross, just take my word. It wasn't pretty.

    Anyway, I take them in the morning RIGHT before eating. I would even recommend eating with five minutes if possible as they act quickly. I take two, and it gives me energy for at least 6 hours. I feel motivated, ready to take on the day within 30 minutes of taking the pill. If I start to see myself getting tired, I take one more right before I eat or while I'm eating and it keeps my perked up until bed time. I don't get to work out until my son has gone to bed (around 7 pm) and have noticed that since taking these, I feel up to doing my workout routine. I haven't missed a day since starting these a month ago. I have lost 6 pounds with these pills, moderate exercise 5 times a week, and decent eating. I still eat fast food probably once a week, and frozen meals a couple times a week for lack of time. 6 pounds in a month, I've learned, isn't bad. It isn't a miracle pill, which doesn't exist. I praise it mainly for it's ability to keep me energized, which helps me get myself to work out. I wake up at 6 am, same time as my son, and if I'm not working or in class, I'm with him, and he's crazy. So by 7 pm (his bed time) I'm normally exhausted. With these pills, I feel fine (it is currently 8 pm and I just did my work out).

    Like I said, the only negative side effects I experienced were when I took them without eating. I am also used to consuming a lot of caffeine in a day, so I suppose if you're not, these might give you the jitters. I would recommend them to anyone that doesn't get jittery after 2 cups of coffee.

    My bottom line is that there's no miracle pill that will shed weight with no exercise or healthy eating! I'm sure if I stuck to a weight-loss diet and exercised harder, (I do a basic routine) I would be losing more. For now, I am happy with 6 lbs a month. It's more than I lost before the pills. Honestly, I was gaining a bit of weight month to month before them.

    Give it a try, I would say. Even one a day could help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Greater results than I expected

    • By Jay,
    • Alabama,
    • May 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I'm 18 years old, weighed 238 and I am 6'2. Honestly, the results were better than I expected. I've been taking the recommended two pills before each meal and I'll tell you, and I'll be honest, you do get a burst of energy from the product, and you will lose weight. However the main side effects are feelings of nausea and diarrhea. I had to get over those two barriers, otherwise I'm happy with the product. I've been taking the product for upwards of a week and a half and I have already lost 8 pounds. I don't exercise, and although it sounds bad, the nausea kind of ruins your appetite so your caloric intake will go down. I'm pretty satisfied with the product, but just a tip - you're going to feel sick while taking it so eat light when you do eat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Zantrex Black gave me my body back!!

    Overall Experience:

    I started taking Zantrax Black in July of 2016 because I was so unhappy with the way I looked and felt. I work in a special needs classroom, and there is a lot of moving to be done on a daily basis. I always felt tired and drained at the end of the day, and I know that my weight played a major role in that. I started at a weight of 265 lbs.

    The Zantrax Black began to curb my appetite from day one. I never felt hungry, and I had the energy to move more. My co-workers began to notice that I wasn't dragging the way I used to.

    Fast forward to the present. I have lost a grand total of 65 lbs, and I've got about ten more to go. In six months I've slimmed dramatically, and I look the best I have in years! My husband loves the results.

    I hope this helps someone else to jump start their weight loss. Don't wait to get started. I promise you'll thank me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product

    • By Dennis Whaley,
    • North Carolina,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I don't recommend this to anyone sensitive to energy blends or caffeine, but I recommend it to anyone else. Zantrex keeps your insulin levels lowered and increases fat burn during the 4-hour window it is active.

    I have been using this product for years and it helps with my lifestyle choices. I do Lean-gains 16/8 protocol, and this is an extremely beneficial product to use. Anyone who has a thing for energy or adrenaline should use this product also. If you are super sensitive, then I don't recommend it (again).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Best I ever used.

    Overall Experience:

    I started taking these pills but with a system that works and the right type of diet and it has helped me lose 15 pounds in three weeks. I would recommend this pill but only if you are committed to your diet and exercise because it really did accelerate the weight loss and now even my wife, and other family members and friends, are jumping on board.

    Trust me, this is no ad, and I am not a spokesperson or even an athletic type of person, so I know it really works. So with that in mind, if anyone wants to know just email me and I will tell you how this pill really helped me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Amazing, true story.

    Overall Experience:

    I tried Hydroxycut and cleanses and slim this and slim that. I started weighing 154 lbs and am a 5ft 5in woman, so curvy to start. In two weeks with NO diet and light exercise, I have lost 10 lbs. So I am now 144 and counting. I am taking six a day. No negative side effects.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a Review for Zantrex Black!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Zantrex Black Review: Does It Really Work? A Detailed Look