Zantrex Black Review: Does It Really Work?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Aug 5, 2014

When compared to the Red and Blue formulations, Zantrex Black claims to be a new, accelerated, rapid-release formula that provides quick, “high-velocity” weight loss results. On top of this, Zantrex Black is claimed to be formulated for maximum potency and extreme energy.

Because it’s summertime, it’s likely that you want to gain the perfect, swimsuit-ready body you’ve always wanted. After all, no one can blame you for wanting to look your best. But to find out whether or not Zantrex Black is the best way to accomplish this, we took a hard look at the supplement’s claims, and what you can realistically expect from taking it.

Important Details About Zantrex Black

At its most basic, Zantrex Black contains a proprietary formula of ingredients that are claimed to help you burn fat and lose weight, increase your energy, and decrease your appetite. However, unlike other Zantrex formulas, the new Black version is claimed to rapidly release into your system in order to provide you with the fastest effects possible.

With this in mind, Zantrex Black’s proprietary ingredients include the following:

  • Protein 0.5g

  • Niacin 30mg

  • Zantrex-3 Proprietary Blend 1,160mg
    Yerba Mate (leaf) Extract, Guarana (seed) Extract, Trimethylxanthine, Damiana (Turnera diffusa var. aphrodisiaca) (leaf) Extract, Green Tea (leaf) Extract, Kola (seed) Extract, Schizonepeta (flower) Extract, Black Pepper (fruit) Extract, Rhodiola crenulata (root) Extract, Asian Ginseng (root) Extract, Maca (root) Extract, Cacao (seed) Extract, Black Tea (leaf) Extract

According to the Zantrex Black product page, you should take 2 liquid-filled softgels 15 minutes prior to each meal, along with a full glass of water. If necessary, you can take 1-2 additional softgels at a time throughout the remainder of the day to experience a “significant energy boost,” although the company recommends that you don’t exceed 6 softgels during a 24-hour period.

Important note: Under the details section of the Zantrex Black webpage, it also claims that you should not take more than 4 capsules per day. While this may be a typo, this is something you’ll definitely want to confirm in advance.

Zantrex Black Pricing and Refund Policy

Each bottle of Zantrex Black contains 84 softgels and is priced at $39.99 plus $6.95 shipping and handling.

Zantrex Black comes with a 30-day return policy, less shipping and handling charges. In order to initiate the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-898-5153.

Keep in mind that Zantrex Black is also available through a variety of third party retailers such as GNC, Amazon.com, CVS, and many more.

Our Conclusions About Zantrex Black

As with any other nutritional supplement, weight loss or otherwise, if you’re expecting “magical” results with Zantrex Black, you’ll likely be disappointed. However, can this supplement help to boost your overall weight loss goals? Maybe, but keep the following in mind before placing your order:

Price

With 84 pills per bottle and a manufacturer’s price of $39.99, this works out to about 14 days before you’ll need to refresh. While this is certainly less expensive than some of the other weight loss supplements we’ve reviewed, this still means you’ll be paying about $80 per month, assuming you take 2 softgels before each meal (6 per day).

Ingredients and Effectiveness

Overall, there is very little evidence showing any of the ingredients contained in Zantrex Black can actually burn fat, and what evidence does exist is inconclusive. Because of this, you shouldn’t expect to take Zantrex Black and just watch your body begin shedding fat.

However, because this supplement contains a fair amount of stimulants, these can help curb your appetite and reduce your calorie intake, thereby potentially helping you to lose weight.

Customer Reviews and Negative Side Effects

Zantrex Black appears to have a mixed online reputation, with some of the most common compliments referencing increased energy and reduced appetite. However, most complaints referenced negative side effects related to the high level of stimulants, including stomach ache, headache, dizziness, and skin flushing.

With this said, due to the high amount of stimulants contained in Zantrex Black, if you’re especially sensitive to these types of ingredients, you may want to avoid the supplement altogether. Even if you’re not sensitive, you will probably want to avoid taking it close to bedtime in order to get a good night’s sleep.

Bottom Line

As we’ve mentioned in most of our weight loss supplement reviews, the only proven method of losing weight and keeping it off is through regular exercise and a healthy diet. While supplements like Zantrex Black may help give you an extra boost, whether through appetite suppression or providing extra energy during your workouts, they are only intended to enhance the benefits of exercise and diet, not to replace them.

As long as you only expect Zantrex Black to help support your exercise and healthy diet habits, this supplement may help provide the extra boost you need. However, if you’re on a tight budget or are sensitive to stimulants, you may want to look elsewhere.

» See Also: A Beginner’s Guide to Losing Weight and Getting in Shape


Read 48 Zantrex Black Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 5 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 44% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 42 out 46 people found this review helpful

    Zantrex Black gave me my body back!!

    I started taking Zantrax Black in July of 2016 because I was so unhappy with the way I looked and felt. I work in a special needs classroom, and there is a lot of moving to be done on a daily basis. I always felt tired and drained at the end of the day, and I know that my weight played a major role in that. I started at a weight of 265 lbs.

    The Zantrax Black began to curb my appetite from day one. I never felt hungry, and I had the energy to move more. My co-workers began to notice that I wasn't dragging the way I used to.

    Fast forward to the present. I have lost a grand total of 65 lbs, and I've got about ten more to go. In six months I've slimmed dramatically, and I look the best I have in years! My husband loves the results.

    I hope this helps someone else to jump start their weight loss. Don't wait to get started. I promise you'll thank me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Energy

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Started taking Zantrex Black 4 days ago. I have had a lot of energy. Usually, if I go for a walk I already get out breath on the second lap. This time, I was able to take 2 laps. Only side effect is muscle aches during the night.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Greater results than I expected

    • Alabama,
    • May 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm 18 years old, weighed 238 and I am 6'2. Honestly, the results were better than I expected. I've been taking the recommended two pills before each meal and I'll tell you, and I'll be honest, you do get a burst of energy from the product, and you will lose weight. However the main side effects are feelings of nausea and diarrhea. I had to get over those two barriers, otherwise I'm happy with the product. I've been taking the product for upwards of a week and a half and I have already lost 8 pounds. I don't exercise, and although it sounds bad, the nausea kind of ruins your appetite so your caloric intake will go down. I'm pretty satisfied with the product, but just a tip - you're going to feel sick while taking it so eat light when you do eat.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Love It

    • Kingman, AZ,
    • Jul 21, 2015

    I have been taking this for a few weeks now, I take it at lunch time 15 minutes before I eat. It suppresses my appetite drastically. I am a person who is very used to caffeine. Being in the medical field, I drink coffee all day so i haven't noticed these side effects everyone is complaining about. Now I only have my coffee in the morning and my pills before lunch and I am good for the rest of the day. I can feel my heart rate a little while after taking them but it's still in the 70's.

    I am a very athletic person and I used to work out all the time but because I am going back to school and working full time, I find it hard to go to the gym. I pretty much eat healthy and an occasional piece of chocolate here and there. I have been stuck at 162 pounds for years as diet and exercise wasn't enough for me.

    I am finally at 156 pounds and I feel great. This product isn't for everyone and should be researched before you take it. Make sure you're not allergic to any of the ingredients and if you are sensitive to caffeine, don't take it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Dec 1, 2015

    10 minutes after taking I became extremely hot and almost passed out. Then came the feeling of needing to vomit. It also effected my airways and everything became tight and hard to breathe. After that passed I just feel jittery.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Great Results

    • Louisville, KY,
    • Apr 18, 2015

    I started taking this about 3 weeks ago. It gives me a lot of energy, but doesn't keep me up at night. I down 20 pounds now, of course I am dieting as well.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 19 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Returning the product

    • Feeding HIlls, MA,
    • Nov 20, 2015

    Got Zantrex Black yesterday, took only one pill this morning, within 20 minutes I felt stomach pain and a terrible pressure in my head, and I was hot and flush in my face. Luckily I can take it back. Just be careful, looks like there are a lot of terrible reactions you can get from it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Warning: do not take Zantrex!

    • Pleasant Grove, UT,
    • Jul 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried Zantrex this morning. I took two pills. About 20 minutes later I had horrible stomach pain. Immediately following I felt very hot and itchy, and my skin broke out in a rash all over my body, face, arms, and legs. My heart was racing a 100 miles an hour. In an instant, I got very tired and felt like my heart rate plummeted. I put my hand over my heart and couldn't feel my heart beat. I was fighting to stay awake. My son was with me and took my pulse and said it was very slow. He rushed me to instant care. They took my blood pressure and told me they weren't equipped to handle this and rushed me to the ER. On the way, I couldn't talk and didn't have the energy to breathe. They kept waking me and told me to fight to stay awake. I felt like my heart was stopping and I was dying. No joke. It was the scariest moment of my life!

    They put an IV in and got me fluids. I felt better about an hour later but felt horrible anxiety and jittery. Maybe that was in response to what I had just experienced or another side effect. I was in the ER for several hours. I just got home, and I feel okay now. It was an emotional experience and I feel horrible for scaring my husband and kids like that.

    Do not take Zantrex Black. It is not worth the risk. Anything that does that to your body can't be safe. I will NEVER take anything like that ever again! I don't know how some of these other reviews have anything positive to say about it. Either they aren't real reviews, or I had an extremely bad reaction. Be careful. I wish I had read reviews first before trying it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Give it a try if you're not easily affected by caffeine.

    • Ventura County, California,
    • Mar 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Here's some background on me: I'm 22, I'm 5'4. I had my baby 19 months ago, and went from 160 lbs to 200 lbs between getting pregnant and a month ago. I don't eat the greatest, I didn't exercise much before taking these, and I constantly drink coffee (through the day). I do not drink soda and I drink my coffee black. I work full time and go to community college full time.

    My fiancé randomly picked these up from CVS for me to try. I never asked because I don't believe in diet pills. I've never seen good results.

    I will say this: you will suffer the consequences if you take even one of these without eating. I learned that the hard way when I decided to take one at home and drive 30 minutes to breakfast. Had to turn the car around and go to the restroom. Further details would be gross, just take my word. It wasn't pretty.

    Anyway, I take them in the morning RIGHT before eating. I would even recommend eating with five minutes if possible as they act quickly. I take two, and it gives me energy for at least 6 hours. I feel motivated, ready to take on the day within 30 minutes of taking the pill. If I start to see myself getting tired, I take one more right before I eat or while I'm eating and it keeps my perked up until bed time. I don't get to work out until my son has gone to bed (around 7 pm) and have noticed that since taking these, I feel up to doing my workout routine. I haven't missed a day since starting these a month ago. I have lost 6 pounds with these pills, moderate exercise 5 times a week, and decent eating. I still eat fast food probably once a week, and frozen meals a couple times a week for lack of time. 6 pounds in a month, I've learned, isn't bad. It isn't a miracle pill, which doesn't exist. I praise it mainly for it's ability to keep me energized, which helps me get myself to work out. I wake up at 6 am, same time as my son, and if I'm not working or in class, I'm with him, and he's crazy. So by 7 pm (his bed time) I'm normally exhausted. With these pills, I feel fine (it is currently 8 pm and I just did my work out).

    Like I said, the only negative side effects I experienced were when I took them without eating. I am also used to consuming a lot of caffeine in a day, so I suppose if you're not, these might give you the jitters. I would recommend them to anyone that doesn't get jittery after 2 cups of coffee.

    My bottom line is that there's no miracle pill that will shed weight with no exercise or healthy eating! I'm sure if I stuck to a weight-loss diet and exercised harder, (I do a basic routine) I would be losing more. For now, I am happy with 6 lbs a month. It's more than I lost before the pills. Honestly, I was gaining a bit of weight month to month before them.

    Give it a try, I would say. Even one a day could help.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Energy

    • Riverton, WY,
    • Aug 10, 2015

    Like some people who are allergic to a great deal of things myself, I was able to take these as directed to get the energy boost I wanted through the day. I take 6 total, 15-20 minutes before eating and 45 minutes prior to my work out. It's been only a few weeks now but I've lost a total of 17 lbs. I would recommend it only if your are able to deal with the high dose of caffeine and the niacin effect.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    So far so good!

    • Hampton, GA,
    • Nov 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the Zantex Black about seven days ago. I immediately started at 2 pills before each meal. I definitely see that it helps a lot with suppressing my appetite and energy is so so. In seven days I have lost three pounds, but that is with a 1500 calorie a day diet plan. I would definitely recommend this product as of now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a Review for Zantrex Black!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review