BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2522 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2522 Reviews
5 Star:87% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Jul 25, 2022

I was a bit dubious at first...

By Janaki K., Rockville, MD, Verified Reviewer

I have participated in psychotherapy on and off for the past 40 years (yeah, I'm older). I was looking for a therapist to deal with acute depression and anxiety in large part due to the COVID-19 situation, and I was striking out on finding a therapist through my insurance.

I had heard the ads on my favorite podcasts for betterhelp.com, and I figured, why not? I signed on, and started with one therapist, who I didn't feel a connection with, so, I pulled the plug, and looked for an alternative, and have found a therapist who has opened up some issues for me that I had thought were unresolvable.

I love the ease of finding a new therapist (I do feel bad for the therapist I "fired" - I've never done that before). But, the virtual platform has been better than I would have ever imagined. My therapist responds via messaging between our sessions, and I feel like I can touch base anytime.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

24-hour availability by messaging

I actually like the journalling option (I had my doubts at first, even though I've kept journals in the past)

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 24, 2022

If you’re seeking help, betterhelp.com is excellent

By Andrew P., Niagara Falls, NY, Verified Reviewer

This is my first time with counseling and talking to a therapist and it’s been nothing but helpful. I’ve only had a few sessions and I already feel better. My wife and I have hit a rough patch in our marriage and my therapist has been helping me get through it with how to communicate better. I would highly recommend betterhelp.com to everybody that’s seeking help.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

They matched me up with a therapist relatively quick

The app is very easy to use

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 23, 2022

10/10 would recommend it

By Monika K. , Croatia

It's for everyone. Young and old, for people who don't know what they want to work on and for ones that only need help with things they are already working on. If you don't like texts you have voice messages and phone calls...but if you hate those you have texts and even video calls. It's for people that want therapies as well for the people who just want to see what it's like to try something like this. I was very skeptical when I first try this, but now I love every minute of its app. 10/10 would recommend it.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Time of use

My therapist

All the options in the app

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 23, 2022

More than what I ever expected!

By Jennifer L., Stevens Point, WI, Verified Reviewer

When trying this I never anticipated what I would get from this is what I actually got! They ask you a number of questions that help them pair you with a matching therapist but you always have an option to change if you feel it's not a good fit. I love how I can message my therapist and she will respond when she has the time, which usually is in a timely manner. I am able to journal and she has access to that as well so she can see what is going on. So it helps her to prepare for our sessions. But I don't have to share it with her, that's just an option. I meet with my therapist once a week and her schedule is flexible and pretty open.

They have financial aid for those with income restrictions, which I think is amazing and goes to show you that they want to help and don't just want money. You still have to pay but they do what they can to make it doable.

I'm glad I found BetterHelp. It definitely was the right move for me!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient can sit at home to do your sessions

The messaging option to your therapist

Journaling

I wish I could see my therapist more than once a week if I needed to

It's a little pricey

Posted on Jul 23, 2022

Amazing help. So confident and helpful when you need it.

By Taylor P., Greeneville, TN, Verified Reviewer

It is amazing for any time you need someone to talk to. They are always there when you need them. This has helped me so much in so many ways.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

My therapist

Giving me confidence

Always having someone to talk to

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 23, 2022

Great therapy app

By Matthew E., Owasso, OK, Verified Reviewer

I put in my characteristics and what not and the therapist they matched me with is very professional. I take notes every session and I do what he suggests and it gets results. Great review, 5/5. I think it was $260 for 4 sessions, but don't quote me on that.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Professionalism

The word therapeutic comes to mind

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 23, 2022

Really was hoping to find a good experience but never got one

By Lita C. , Baton Rouge, LA

I received very disturbing questions and comments from my therapist. Upon expressing questions about the human condition, she responded, “What are you getting at with these questions? What is wrong with you?” In addition to this after I had already started crying from this weird line of questioning, she tried to convince me I had told her I hated the way I looked so much I didn’t want to appear on camera, none of which I had previously expressed to her.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sort of easy to switch therapists

Online

Text therapist

Received traumatic therapy

Was straight up asked what my trauma was

Far too expensive

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

My therapist was a great fit!

By Betsy K., Huntington Beach, CA, Verified Reviewer

She was patient and gave me time to talk about my issues. As per my needs, she gave me tools and techniques to help me work through my issues with my family members. She also helped me focus on the important issues and gave me the tools to move forward.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good match for my needs

Gave me tangible steps to help me move forward

Live session was so much better than a phone session

Just nervous to start with a new therapist

Was nervous about using the video technology

Wasn’t sure I would be matched up with a therapist who would understand my issues

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

Must have for busy schedules!

By Becky W., Omaha, NE, Verified Reviewer

Have a very busy schedule and even with that, I have been able to fit in a therapy session once a week. Making progress on the road to self-love and self-healing.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexibility

Promptness

Ease of use

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

My first positive therapy experience

By Blair S., Richmond, VA, Verified Reviewer

Using BetterHelp has been an extremely positive experience in finding a therapist who was right for me. This was the first time that I found a therapist who actually trusted and respected who I was and what I already knew about myself. It allowed me to sit at home and create a safe space for something that was quite nerve-wracking at first. I still get nervous before talking about vulnerable subjects but I never regret it. My therapist is so understanding and respectful and by the end of the session I almost always feel good about the conversation that we had.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Finds a therapist catered towards your needs

Convenience of staying at home

Accessibility to contacting my therapist outside of session

It is expensive

Can be glitchy

Journal prompts could be better

Posted on Jul 22, 2022

Well matched

By Amy S., Boise, ID, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp did a great job of matching me to the right therapist for me. In my opinion being matched well with a therapist is exceptionally important. We're both entrepreneurial, we're both athletic, and we both enjoy meditation.

Additionally, I have a friend who is a therapist on BetterHelp, she said she chose it because its security is really good.

My therapist respects me and my experiences. She has done a really great job of helping me through my current difficulties. I'm excited about launching into the next phase of my life, and I feel like she is happy for me and with me.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Video appointments

Other methods of communication with my therapist, such as journaling

Easy to send and receive attachments

Sometimes the video crashes on appointments, but when that happens it's easy to switch to a secure phone call

Showing 254-264 of 2522

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.