BetterHelp Reviews - How Effective Is It?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
BetterHelp

Overall Rating

4.7

2394 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

BetterHelp is an online counseling platform that will pair you with a professionally licensed counselor. Access to counseling can be scheduled at any time, anywhere, and through any smart device. The efficacy of BetterHelp is linked to provider skill and intervention protocols but there are some drawbacks if you fall into certain categories of needs.

Pros

  • Flexibility of schedule that is convenient for your schedule
  • Access to a licensed professional counselor

Cons

  • Results and efficacy are dependent on your paired provider
  • Scheduled counseling sessions will require and will depend on available internet connection and speeds
  • Not covered through insurance

Customer Reviews

4.7 Stars out of 2394 Reviews
5 Star:86% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:4%
94% Recommend This Service
Start your review of BetterHelp:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Sep 7, 2022

Bleeping good service

By Mark D. , North Wales, England

It just works so well, anything that may seem like an issue is just sorted, clear communication, an easy-to-use interface. I literally have a family member now using BetterHelp.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sadly cost has to be mentioned, but it’s a reality and as it’s more affordable it makes it more accessible.

Good communication in every aspect.

The interface, it’s just a simple functional.

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 7, 2022

Best option

By Kara C., Frederick, MD, Verified Reviewer

This company is convenient, knowledgeable, and accessible everywhere. I am so happy my best friend recommended it to me! It fits right into my busy schedule so that I can still get the help that I need!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Trusted

Asked detailed history

Cannot schedule more then one appointment at a time

Appointments a week out, no option to do two a week

App not as easy as hoped to operate

Posted on Sep 6, 2022

Great choice

By Andria B. , Atlanta, GA

The best thing I have ever done in getting help for myself. This company has my vote. I love that my therapist is a woman of her word. I feel like I can open up to her as if we have known each other for years. This service is very well needed in helping you cope with your issue at hand.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

It was fast.

Very great on the one you need to talk too.

Will recommend anyone who seeks help.

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 6, 2022

Awesome therapy!

By Leyann W. , San Antonio, TX

My therapist is professional, kind, caring, and available. The service is easy to use and reasonably priced. I am thankful for this service.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Ease of use

Cost

Flexibility

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 6, 2022

Serious help that actually helps!

By Cyndy F., Florida, Verified Reviewer

BetterHelp is a serious platform dedicated to your therapy journey and providing tools for success. The original therapist I was assigned did not seem to be a good fit and selecting another was easy. My new therapist is amazing, always asking me what I want to get out of each session. I appreciate the handouts and other resources my therapist shares with me to help me recognize and redirect some of my negative thoughts in between sessions.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Very easy to schedule

My therapist is amazing

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 6, 2022

A seasoned therapee

By Martyn D., The Hague, The Netherlands, Verified Reviewer

It began as a means to get help, and now, darn it! I only notice the need when it is too late. What I was met with was a low threshold and flexible system.

What therapy should be, no more hunting for a therapist. No more weeks-long waiting lists for an intake, just to find there is no click. They find a match for you, the therapy looks like what you want it to look like. Then if it doesn't click? Then they'll arrange another match in 24 hours. If you are on the fence, this is the place to be.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Flexible

High quality

Welcoming

Miniscule bugs with agendas, which have quick fixes and easy work arounds.

Posted on Sep 6, 2022

Thank you BetterHelp!

By Isabelle O., Hallandale Beach, FL, Verified Reviewer

I'm so happy I have found BetterHelp! Great service, great options. So accommodating. They make it so easy to use! My therapist is fantastic and they did a great job matching me with her. I do recommend it without any hesitation!

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Options for sessions

My therapist

Reminders

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 5, 2022

Awesome

By Jennifer H., Roeland Park, KS, Verified Reviewer

Love being able to do therapy from home and get the support I need. Always feel better after a session — like I’ve been heard and cared for. I’m so appreciative of the text feature so you can reach your therapist anytime through the week and be able to get support between sessions, too. 10/10 recommend. They even offer financial aid discounts if you qualify.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Convenient

Accessible

Affordable

Having to switch therapists when I moved

Posted on Sep 1, 2022

Very helpful with family issues.

By Rhonda L., Amarillo, TX, Verified Reviewer

I was having trouble with boundary issues with an aging mother-in-law. I am learning boundaries that are fair and respectful to all parties involved.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Listening

Validation of emotions that are not always pleasant and I feel bad about having bad feelings toward a family member

Worksheets that make me think about the situation

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 1, 2022

Someone to listen

By Kevin M., Philadelphia, PA, Verified Reviewer

I've had 5 sessions so far with my therapist after years of avoiding therapy. She listens to my problems and concerns and gives advice without being preachy. I'm glad I have someone like her to talk to.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Someone I can talk to who doesn't judge me.

Online sessions available if you don't like traveling to an office building.

Lots of appointment times and dates to choose from on your time.

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Sep 1, 2022

So great!

By Marlene O., New York, Verified Reviewer

This was my first time ever seeking help from a therapist. I was very nervous, but BetteHelp made it incredibly easy with online, affordable access, and they easily matched me with a wonderful therapist. From the first session, I felt understood and validated. Therapy has given me so many tools to deal with my struggles and an incredible relationship with my therapist. I highly recommend BetterHelp!

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Easy to use

Access from anywhere

Affordable

No “cons” were specified in this review

Showing 34-44 of 2394

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.