Bombas Socks Review: Are They Worth the Price?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Dec 19, 2019

Buying quality socks that hold up isn’t easy. All too often, we spend money on a pair we expect to last, only to wear holes in the heels. Are Bombas socks the exception?

Bombas is a women’s, men’s, and kid’s sock manufacturer that crafts its products from high-quality extra-long-staple cotton yarns with natural moisture-wicking and antimicrobial properties.

These socks are designed to provide you with “engineered comfort” and long-term durability in each pair. The brand sells socks specialized for a variety of activities, including everything from cardio workouts to corporate meetings.

Another selling point for this brand is that the company donates a pair to the homeless community for every one purchased.

But before handing over your money, take a couple of minutes to read through our analysis so you can make an informed decision about whether Bombos socks are worth buying.

Pros
  • Variety of sizes, styles, and patterns
  • The company donates one pair of socks for every purchase
  • Comfortable and versatile, according to many customer reviewers
Cons
  • More expensive than many brands
  • May not last long before getting holes
  • Might not fit true to size

Which Types of Socks Does Bombas Offer?

Bombas sells a variety of socks for women, men, and kids as single pairs and in multi-packs. You can search the site by filtering the options by color, height, and occasion.

All Bombas socks come with extra padding on the footbed. This purportedly adds support and improves its lifespan, and the company claims that this padding isn’t thick enough to cause shoe discomfort.

Bombas also emphasizes their socks “contain a small amount of latex” and “are made in factories that use latex.” If you’re allergic to latex, they recommend choosing another brand. Other materials in their socks include the following:

  • 63–78% Extra Long Staple Cotton (Merino options contain 78% wool)
  • 13–34% Polyester
  • 3–6% Rubber
  • 1–7% Spandex
  • 1–12% Nylon

Percentages vary by sock type.

Bombas Women’s and Men’s Socks

Women’s socks are available in five heights no show, ankle, quarter, calf, and knee-high/over the calf. Knee-high versions are only available for women, and over the calf for men. Both span three main categories:

  • Dress– Lightweight Crew, Marls, Donegal, Dress Solids
  • Athletic – Running, Skiing, Hiking, Tennis, Golf, Grippers, Basketball
  • Casual – Merino Wool, Lightweight Crew, Cushioned, Marls, Originals

Bombas Women's and Men's SocksBombas’ women’s and men’s socks are available in many popular heights, designs (as well as limited editions), and materials, including extra-long-staple cotton and Merino wool.

Bombas Kid’s Socks

Comparatively, Bombas kid’s socks are only available in calf and ankle heights. Options include Grippers, Athletic, Daily Use, and themes like holidays and Sesame Street.

Bombas Kid's SocksBombas’ kid’s socks promise to deliver all the comfort, support, and softness found in the adult versions, just in smaller sizes.

How Much Do Bombas’ Socks Cost?

Bombas socks are primarily available directly through the company, though we also saw a few styles listed on Amazon.

Adult women and men’s sizes run between 4 and 16, and kid’s sizes are between 1.5–8.5 (toddler) and 9–3 (youth). Bigger adult sizes are available in select styles.

Women’s & Men’s

  • Single pairs: $10.50–$24
  • 4 to 12-packs: $30–$172.80

Kid’s Socks

  • 3 to 12-packs: $15–$64.80

The company indicates their socks are true to size, although they'll slightly shrink the first time you wash them. After that, they should retain their size.

All Bombas orders come with a Happiness Guarantee that covers free exchanges and returns (including free shipping), at any time, regardless of their condition.

In order to request one, customer support can be reached at (800) 314-0980 or via their site’s contact form.

The Bombas Giveback Program

Bombas donates one pair of socks to a homeless shelter in the United States for every pair donated. This has already totaled over 5 million donated pairs of socks.

The company also operates a Giving Directory with 2,500 partners across the country who have collectively donated more than 25 million clothing items. You can get involved by emailing the company at giving@bombas.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 60 customers have left reviews for Bombas on our website, and these reviews average 2.3 stars. Amazon also sells a few pairs of Bombas socks, and most pairs average four stars. Here’s what the main opinions are:

High-Quality Socks

Many reviewers wrote that they loved Bombas socks, especially compared to other brands. They noted that the socks were comfortable, easy to put on, and lasted through lots of use.

Socks Wore Out Quickly

Other reviewers were less happy with Bombas’ quality. They wrote that they wore holes into the heels of the socks quickly—sometimes after just a single use. A few wrote that the socks got beat up in their washing machines and that they shrunk to the point of being uncomfortable to wear.

Some of these users wrote that the quality between pairs seemed inconsistent, as certain pairs deteriorated much faster than others.

Socks Painfully Tight and Not True To Size

According to a few reviewers, Bombas socks don’t always fit true to size. One woman noted that the socks cut off circulation in her calves to the point of being painful.

Others wrote that the socks were a half-inch longer than expected and were uncomfortably bunched around their toys and ankles.

Too Expensive for the Quality

One consistent complaint about Bombas socks seems to be that they are pricy for what you receive. Many reviewers noted that the socks didn’t seem any more special than regular pairs they bought for a fraction of the price and that they expected them to be more comfortable or and last longer.

Key Takeaway

Bombas socks are a big success for many customers, but others are less happy with their quality, sizing, and price tag.

Bombas Socks vs. Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont

If you’re looking to pay more per pair of sock to ensure you get comfort and great quality, there are several brands up for consideration. Below, we’ve compared what you get from Bombas socks to Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont.

Bombas Smartwool Darn Tough Vermont
Cost Per Pair
(Calf Length Casual)
$15–$18 $21–$30 $21–$23
Main Material Merino wool, cotton Merino Wool Merino Wool
Types of Socks Men’s, women’s, children’s socks for casual, sport, and dress use Men’s, women’s, and children’s socks for all purposes, with an emphasis on sport Men’s, women’s and children’s socks for sport, hiking, and casual use (all made in Vermont)
Average Amazon Review 3.8–4.3 4.5–5 4.5–5

Of these three brands, Bombas is the cheapest option, and the only brand to include cotton in some of its socks. That’s likely one reason why they are cheaper than brands that use only Merlino wool. However, cotton isn’t recommended for sports use as the material absorbs sweat and then drys slowly.

Both Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont have higher average rankings on Amazon than Bombas. Customer comments show that people praise both of these brands for their quality and durability, which are two things that Bombas was occasionally critiqued of by reviewers.

Our research showed that Bombas seems to offer better-packaged deals than the other companies, which may give it the advantage if you’re looking to buy multiple pairs at once.

Key Takeaways

Bombas socks make sense for those who want to give back with their purchase, those who want to buy specialized socks for specific purposes, and those who want socks made from natural materials. If you want long-lasting, lower-cost socks, you can probably find a brand better suited to your needs.

The Bottom Line

Bombas socks offer a lot of fun wrapped in the feel-good mentality of knowing that your purchase is benefiting charity. There is a wide variety of sock types and styles to choose from, so you’re likely to find a pair that fits your specifications.

However, they earned poor reviews for their overall fit and quality. For the price of these socks, you might expect them to last longer than they will before you wear holes in the heels.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t consider this brand. Just keep your expectations realistic about their longevity, and we think that you’ll find a lot to like from the cute cuts and prints available on Bombas socks.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Bombas:
  • 80 Customer Reviews
  • 30% Recommend This Brand
2.4 out of 5
5 star: 18% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 10% 2 star: 18% 1 star: 43%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Got my delivery in good time

    • By Ellen W.,
    • Ogdensburg, NY,
    • Sep 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I bought Bombas socks for my niece and granddaughter who wear socks EVERY day as I do, will order for me next. I hope the homeless are grateful for what you do, thank you.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Design
    • Colors
    • Softness
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product and super customer service

    • By Rex S.,
    • Lindon, UT,
    • Jun 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 1–2 years
    Overall Experience:

    We fitted the whole family and even Mr. Fussbucket is happy. We had a few problems and every time it was resolved. Just going to order more today. Expensive, maybe, but they are very comfortable and for a diabetic, it works awesome.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Fit
    • Comfort
    • Customer service
    • No “cons” were specified in this review

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Shirts suck

    • By Don K.,
    • Concord, OH,
    • Jun 18, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I don't know about their socks, but I do know their shirts shrink so you can't wear them anymore after two washes.

    I need at least 120 characters? Bombas shirts suck! Bombas shirts suck!

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • I don't like purchasing inferior products

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 18, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Don,

      Julia from Bombas here. I'm sorry to hear that your shirt ended up being too small for you. We have a 100% Happiness Guarantee and would be happy to help with an exchange for the size up or return. Please reach out to us at hello@bombas.com if you'd like some help.


  • Not worth the money

    • By Diane A.,
    • Riverview, FL,
    • Jun 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 6–12 months
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased these socks for myself and swore by them! Then I purchased them for my husband, he wore a pair once and ended up with holes in the heels. He then purchased some more...giving them another chance and he just put a pair on today...NEW pair and they have a hole on the TOP of his right foot. They cost too much to only get half a wear out of them.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Woman's, no problem
    • They are comfortable
    • Men's are too thin
    • Hole forms on the top or the heel

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 4, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Diane,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you so much for your review.

      While I'm glad to hear your socks worked out well for you, I'm sorry that your husband's wore out prematurely. This certainly isn't typical of our socks, and we'd love to help you find a solution.

      So that we can look into the issue and set you up with a free exchange, please shoot us an email to hello@bombas.com and we'll get things started.

      Thank you again, and we hope to hear from you soon!


  • Holy holes

    • By David T.,
    • Denver, CO,
    • May 8, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I love these socks but I've given up on them because of heel holes that appear after about a dozen wearings. At over $10 a pair for little sneaker socks that wear out fast, it is just not worth it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 20, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi David,

      Tim here from the Happiness Team at Bombas. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, though I'm sorry to hear about the holes that formed in your socks.

      This isn't typical of our socks, so we'd be happy to look into this issue for you and help you out with some replacements. Please email us at hello@bombas.com at your convenience so we can get things started.

      Hope to hear from you soon!


  • A very good product with a conscience

    • By John M.,
    • New Zealand,
    • May 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My family with two athletic teens have ordered three times from Bombas in the last four years. The gap indicates how durable we’ve found the product. After a thrashing, the socks wear out after about two years. With light use, never. Personally I mix and match with synthetic or merino socks depending on how much wicking I need on the day. For families with a conscience, this is the product from a B Corp whose values we share. Knowing that there is a homeless person wearing these good socks that we have effectively donated is cool. Thanks for very good socks, sold with love.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Holes in the heel

    • By Don M.,
    • Las Cruces, NM,
    • Apr 4, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was originally very impressed with the comfort of the socks and have bought over 15 pairs. Then I started having lots of holes in the bottom of my heels. No other socks I wear have had this problem. The customer support from Bombas is really good and will give you replacements with minimal questions. I just do not like to make complaints and ask for replacement socks. They really need to fix how thin their heels are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 6, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Don,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, though I'm sorry to hear about the holes that developed in your socks. So that we can troubleshoot the issue and help you find a solution, please send us an email at hello@bombas.com at your convenience. Once we hear from you, we'll get started on the next steps right away and get you set up with some new, better functioning pairs.

      Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • Socks

    • By Sarah P.,
    • Harrisburg, PA,
    • Mar 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My husband was gifted 4 pairs of your socks last Christmas. He LOVES them. He finds them to be the most comfortable socks he’s ever worn. Sadly, one of the socks developed a hole already. Considering they were approximately 3 months old, we found this disappointing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 24, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Sarah,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for your support and for taking the time to write a review.

      We have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that covers replacements for socks that form holes prematurely, so we'd love to get you set up with a new pair. When you have a moment, please shoot us an email at hello@bombas.com so we can get the ball rolling.

      Thank you again, and we hope to hear from you soon!


  • Horrible horrible

    • By Brent T.,
    • Louisiana,
    • Mar 9, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I was given a 12-pack as a gift. They are no different than a $4.00 pair of Nike socks but not as appealing visually. They were not comfortable and I had the ankle ones which I could not keep on in my shoes when I was jogging, which was absurd. One would think that a $100+ pack of socks would feel good and stay on. I contacted their customer service number and was basically told they were a gift so I was out of luck, I wasn’t going to ask for a receipt but I will say this. I was thinking of buying the no-shows but after the ones I got and the horrid customer service, NEVER AGAIN! I ended up donating the 10 pairs I didn’t wear to a shelter (yea, I said 10, after the first pair was horrible I tried a second pair and it was the same so it wasn’t a fluke). These are not worth the money, eventually, I had to tell the person that gave them because they were going to order some for someone else, glad I stopped that mistake. I’d you want to brag about how expensive your socks are these are great, but if you want wearability and comfort, Walmart is just as good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 10, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hey Brent,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, though I'm sorry to hear your socks were slipping. That's definitely not supposed to happen, and typically when we hear of socks slipping it's because they aren't the perfect size for you. Even if they were a gift you don't have the socks any longer, we have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that always covers free exchanges so we'd love to help you get set up with a style that'll fit and function just right for you.

      At your convenience, please shoot us an email at hello@bombas.com so we can get things started. We're looking forward to hearing back from you soon!


  • Kinda disappointed

    • By Deanka G.,
    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Mar 6, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I loved the idea of this being a charitable thing as well as a good thing for me. I've been hearing forever how these are the best socks you'll ever own, but I guess if you hear commercials enough, you start to believe. I don't know anyone who actually owns a pair. So I finally took the plunge and, I must say, I've worn socks that feel better. These just feel like regular socks to me. They aren't even that soft. And considering I paid over $100 for them? I expected better. I'm supremely disappointed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 6, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Deanka,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, though I'm sorry to hear you weren't happy with our socks. We have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that we take very seriously, so we'd love to help make things right.

      You're always covered for free returns and exchanges, so we'd love to help you find a different style that's more to your liking. So that we can get things started, please shoot us an email at hello@bombas.com at your convenience. We're confident we'll have you up and running in some new pairs that are more up your alley in no time.

      Thank you again, and we're looking forward to hearing from you!


  • Low Cut No Show socks

    • By Pamela G.,
    • Centreville, VA,
    • Feb 27, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    These are the only low cut no show socks that actually stay on my feet! Every other brand I’ve tried slip off my heel into my shoes. These are amazingly comfortable, soft, and well made. I’ve had them for several years now and my big toe hasn’t worn a hole through them! That’s a first for me. I love these socks!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 80

Write a Review for Bombas!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Bombas