Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Bombas Socks Reviews - Are They Worth the Price?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Bombas

Overall Rating

2.2

108 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Founded in 2013, Bombas is a sock company that crafts their products from high-quality components and gives a pair to the homeless for each one sold.

Pros

  • Variety of sizes, styles, and patterns
  • The company donates one pair of socks for every purchase
  • Comfortable and versatile, according to many customer reviewers

Cons

  • More expensive than many brands
  • May not last long before getting holes
  • Might not fit true to size

Our Full Review

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Dec 19, 2019

Buying quality socks that hold up isn’t easy. All too often, we spend money on a pair we expect to last, only to wear holes in the heels. Are Bombas socks the exception?

Bombas is a women’s, men’s, and kid’s sock manufacturer that crafts its products from high-quality extra-long-staple cotton yarns with natural moisture-wicking and antimicrobial properties.

These socks are designed to provide you with “engineered comfort” and long-term durability in each pair. The brand sells socks specialized for a variety of activities, including everything from cardio workouts to corporate meetings.

Another selling point for this brand is that the company donates a pair to the homeless community for every one purchased.

But before handing over your money, take a couple of minutes to read through our analysis so you can make an informed decision about whether Bombos socks are worth buying.

Which Types of Socks Does Bombas Offer?

Bombas sells a variety of socks for women, men, and kids as single pairs and in multi-packs. You can search the site by filtering the options by color, height, and occasion.

All Bombas socks come with extra padding on the footbed. This purportedly adds support and improves its lifespan, and the company claims that this padding isn’t thick enough to cause shoe discomfort.

Bombas also emphasizes their socks “contain a small amount of latex” and “are made in factories that use latex.” If you’re allergic to latex, they recommend choosing another brand. Other materials in their socks include the following:

  • 63–78% Extra Long Staple Cotton (Merino options contain 78% wool)
  • 13–34% Polyester
  • 3–6% Rubber
  • 1–7% Spandex
  • 1–12% Nylon

Percentages vary by sock type.

Bombas Women’s and Men’s Socks

Women’s socks are available in five heights no show, ankle, quarter, calf, and knee-high/over the calf. Knee-high versions are only available for women, and over the calf for men. Both span three main categories:

  • Dress– Lightweight Crew, Marls, Donegal, Dress Solids
  • Athletic – Running, Skiing, Hiking, Tennis, Golf, Grippers, Basketball
  • Casual – Merino Wool, Lightweight Crew, Cushioned, Marls, Originals

Bombas Women's and Men's SocksBombas’ women’s and men’s socks are available in many popular heights, designs (as well as limited editions), and materials, including extra-long-staple cotton and Merino wool.

Bombas Kid’s Socks

Comparatively, Bombas kid’s socks are only available in calf and ankle heights. Options include Grippers, Athletic, Daily Use, and themes like holidays and Sesame Street.

Bombas Kid's SocksBombas’ kid’s socks promise to deliver all the comfort, support, and softness found in the adult versions, just in smaller sizes.

How Much Do Bombas’ Socks Cost?

Bombas socks are primarily available directly through the company, though we also saw a few styles listed on Amazon.

Adult women and men’s sizes run between 4 and 16, and kid’s sizes are between 1.5–8.5 (toddler) and 9–3 (youth). Bigger adult sizes are available in select styles.

Women’s & Men’s

  • Single pairs: $10.50–$24
  • 4 to 12-packs: $30–$172.80

Kid’s Socks

  • 3 to 12-packs: $15–$64.80

The company indicates their socks are true to size, although they'll slightly shrink the first time you wash them. After that, they should retain their size.

All Bombas orders come with a Happiness Guarantee that covers free exchanges and returns (including free shipping), at any time, regardless of their condition.

In order to request one, customer support can be reached at (800) 314-0980 or via their site’s contact form.

The Bombas Giveback Program

Bombas donates one pair of socks to a homeless shelter in the United States for every pair donated. This has already totaled over 5 million donated pairs of socks.

The company also operates a Giving Directory with 2,500 partners across the country who have collectively donated more than 25 million clothing items. You can get involved by emailing the company at giving@bombas.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 60 customers have left reviews for Bombas on our website, and these reviews average 2.3 stars. Amazon also sells a few pairs of Bombas socks, and most pairs average four stars. Here’s what the main opinions are:

High-Quality Socks

Many reviewers wrote that they loved Bombas socks, especially compared to other brands. They noted that the socks were comfortable, easy to put on, and lasted through lots of use.

Socks Wore Out Quickly

Other reviewers were less happy with Bombas’ quality. They wrote that they wore holes into the heels of the socks quickly—sometimes after just a single use. A few wrote that the socks got beat up in their washing machines and that they shrunk to the point of being uncomfortable to wear.

Some of these users wrote that the quality between pairs seemed inconsistent, as certain pairs deteriorated much faster than others.

Socks Painfully Tight and Not True To Size

According to a few reviewers, Bombas socks don’t always fit true to size. One woman noted that the socks cut off circulation in her calves to the point of being painful.

Others wrote that the socks were a half-inch longer than expected and were uncomfortably bunched around their toys and ankles.

Too Expensive for the Quality

One consistent complaint about Bombas socks seems to be that they are pricy for what you receive. Many reviewers noted that the socks didn’t seem any more special than regular pairs they bought for a fraction of the price and that they expected them to be more comfortable or and last longer.

Key Takeaway

Bombas socks are a big success for many customers, but others are less happy with their quality, sizing, and price tag.

Bombas Socks vs. Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont

If you’re looking to pay more per pair of sock to ensure you get comfort and great quality, there are several brands up for consideration. Below, we’ve compared what you get from Bombas socks to Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont.

Bombas Smartwool Darn Tough Vermont
Cost Per Pair
(Calf Length Casual)
$15–$18 $21–$30 $21–$23
Main Material Merino wool, cotton Merino Wool Merino Wool
Types of Socks Men’s, women’s, children’s socks for casual, sport, and dress use Men’s, women’s, and children’s socks for all purposes, with an emphasis on sport Men’s, women’s and children’s socks for sport, hiking, and casual use (all made in Vermont)
Average Amazon Review 3.8–4.3 4.5–5 4.5–5

Of these three brands, Bombas is the cheapest option, and the only brand to include cotton in some of its socks. That’s likely one reason why they are cheaper than brands that use only Merlino wool. However, cotton isn’t recommended for sports use as the material absorbs sweat and then drys slowly.

Both Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont have higher average rankings on Amazon than Bombas. Customer comments show that people praise both of these brands for their quality and durability, which are two things that Bombas was occasionally critiqued of by reviewers.

Our research showed that Bombas seems to offer better-packaged deals than the other companies, which may give it the advantage if you’re looking to buy multiple pairs at once.

Key Takeaways

Bombas socks make sense for those who want to give back with their purchase, those who want to buy specialized socks for specific purposes, and those who want socks made from natural materials. If you want long-lasting, lower-cost socks, you can probably find a brand better suited to your needs.

The Bottom Line

Bombas socks offer a lot of fun wrapped in the feel-good mentality of knowing that your purchase is benefiting charity. There is a wide variety of sock types and styles to choose from, so you’re likely to find a pair that fits your specifications.

However, they earned poor reviews for their overall fit and quality. For the price of these socks, you might expect them to last longer than they will before you wear holes in the heels.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t consider this brand. Just keep your expectations realistic about their longevity, and we think that you’ll find a lot to like from the cute cuts and prints available on Bombas socks.

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 108 Reviews
5 Star:16% 4 Star:6% 3 Star:7% 2 Star:22% 1 Star:47%
25% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Bombas:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jun 10, 2022

Terrible customer service

By Jeanne B. , Los Gatos, CA

In this day and age, what company in the world has no way to do an online return or exchange? Bombas! IF you buy any product and hope to return it for any reason, good luck. They have no way to do it online. You have to do a request online and they don't get back to you for days. Even when they do respond they tell you that they are busy and will get to you soon, which, by the way, I am still waiting for. Too bad because the product is good.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Sports socks are good

Give aways to others

Savings on packs

Terrible customer service

No automated return process - takes a whole week to hear from them

Don't last very long

Company Response from Bombas

Jun 13, 2022

Hi Jeanne,

Savannah, here, from Bombas' Customer Happiness team!

Thanks so much for your review, although we're really sorry to hear that you've had this experience with our service.

Our customers' happiness is our #1 priority so we'd really like to help with your return and we'll definitely be passing your feedback along to our Website team.

We'll send you a private message here so we can help you directly!

Posted on May 29, 2022

Disappointed

By Regina B., Hartford, CT, Verified Reviewer

I received 3 knee-high and 3 crew-cut socks for Christmas gifts. I remember seeing these socks on Shark Tank and was happy to have received them. These socks are brightly colored and I liked the unique designs. They were soft and finally, the toe box was big enough for my long toes to all fit comfortably in.

However, after only wearing the knee-high socks 1 or 2 times a week the heel in both socks had big holes in a pair the same day I was wearing them. I was surprised as I took off my first sneaker to see the size of the hole and then even more surprised in removing the other sneaker. The socks were pilling but I didn’t expect them to actually be on the verge of breaking through on one sock but let alone both at the same time. I was concerned about the durability as they were pilling and were getting see-through on the sides of the big toe.

Overall these socks are overpriced and absolutely not durable. Since I received these as a gift I’m not out any money but wouldn’t recommend to anyone to buy these socks. My other knee-highs are also pilling and showing signs of wear. I haven’t worn the crew socks much yet as the weather is just getting nice in the northeast. I’ll stick with Hanes socks as I’ve had them for many years with no problems.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Colorful

Nice patterns

Appearance

Poor durability

Over priced

Disappointing wearability

Company Response from Bombas

May 31, 2022

Hi Regina,

Savannah, here, with Bombas Customer Happiness.

We appreciate the feedback, although we're so sorry to hear that you had this experience with your Bombas.

Our products come with a 100% Happiness Guarantee which covers replacements for product quality issues like this. We'd be more than happy to send you replacements as well as get to the bottom of the issue.

Please reach out to us at hello@bombas.com so we can speak with you directly.

Looking forward to making this right!

Posted on May 24, 2022

Great socks at first, but aren’t durable

By Tracy D., Cleveland, OH, Verified Reviewer

I’ve bought numerous pairs of Bombas socks including calf, ankle, and hiking. Some were wool, but most are cotton.

My calf socks are doing okay because I don’t wear them very often, but all of my wool socks wore through within 9 months to a year. The same thing happened to my husband’s wool socks. I had my wool ones replaced with cotton ones, which required all of my replacement credit plus another $20 to $30 because the price had gone up. The replacement socks wore through again and I got another set of replacements for more money. The final ones that I’m using now have only lasted about 1 year but only because I’m careful to rotate which ones I wear. They are beginning to wear through but I’ve decided not to replace them anymore. I’m just using them as rags at this point.

The socks are definitely supportive and hold their shape, but not worth the money in terms of durability versus price. I’ve never had any problems with holes in any other socks that I’ve purchased, especially after a year or less.

I almost wonder if the warranty and low durability are to encourage you to come back and spend more money. I definitely had to pay more for all of my "warranty" replacements.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fit

Cool colors and characters

Durability

Warranty

Company Response from Bombas

May 26, 2022

Hey Tracy,

Savannah, here, from the Bombas Customer Happiness team.

Thanks so much for your review, although we're sorry to hear that you had this experience with your wool Bombas. We completely understand your frustration and, in addition to sending replacements, we'd like to help find a solution.

When you have a chance, please reach out to hello@bombas.com so we can help you directly.

We look forward to speaking with you!

Posted on Apr 2, 2022

Socks never came and they don't respond

By Anonymous .., Florida, Verified Reviewer

Ordered socks and they never came. I went several times to their Contact Us and filled out a form with no response. They do not have a phone or live chat that I can call, so I have nothing I can do.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Bombas

Apr 3, 2022

Hi there,

Savannah, here, from the Bombas Customer Happiness Team.

Thanks so much for your review, although I'm so sorry to hear that you haven't been able to get in touch with us! This is not in line with our standards of service and we definitely want to make this right.

I'll send you a private message here on HighYa so I can help you immediately.

I look forward to speaking with you!

Posted on Apr 2, 2022

Amazing fit but fall apart

By Cca A., Columbus, OH, Verified Reviewer

I love how Bombas no-show socks fit and feel but at $12 a pair these fall apart. I purchased them since they have a “lifetime” guarantee BUT it was a HUGE hassle to get the replacements and they shorted me on those. I feel like the quality has gone down even further because the replacements didn’t last 6 months and after the hassle on the first round, I’m looking for a new brand.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Guarantee

Quality

Fit

Quality

Replacement process

Customer service

Company Response from Bombas

Apr 2, 2022

Hi there,

My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

Thanks so much for your honest feedback, although I'm so sorry to hear that you had this experience with your No Shows and our service. We definitely never meant to short you on our Happiness Guarantee as our Customers' happiness is our #1 priority so we'd love to make this right.

We'd like to find a solution for the defects in your socks - defects are often the result of sizing issues or harmful friction so we think a new style or size might do the trick. We'd be happy to send a trial pair your way so if you're interested please reach out to us here: https://bombas.com/pages/contact-us

We appreciate your support and look forward to speaking with you!

Posted on Mar 10, 2022

Way overpriced for average

By Priscilla M. , San Antonio, TX

I saw a big hype on designer socks. My 7-year-old started to wear tennis shoes more. I remembered socks being uncomfortable at times. So I bought Bombas socks. I have a baby on the way and wanted to get matching Sesame Street socks. I received the package and it was cute but the socks were only okay. For the price of one, you can buy a more comfortable pack of Hanes.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Print

Container

Give back

Fit

Comfort

Price

Company Response from Bombas

Mar 13, 2022

Hey Priscilla,

My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

Thanks so much for your review, although I'm so sorry to hear that your Bombas didn't live up to your expectations.

Here at Bombas, we have a 100% Happiness Guarantee which covers returns, exchanges, and replacements so we'd be happy to help turn this experience around. Please reach out to us here: https://bit.ly/3KmBNOW

We look forward to speaking with you!

Posted on Mar 8, 2022

No customer service

By Gail B., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered a pair of slippers in medium, following size recommendations. They were huge. No one answers their phone and you are told to go online. I forgot my password and went online to change it. They said I would get an email with a code. The code never came, even after trying 3 times. I don’t know if they are a scam, or just don’t care. Never order from them if there is a chance you may have to return.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Style

Zero customer service

Company Response from Bombas

Mar 9, 2022

Hi Gail,

My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

Thanks so much for your review, although we're sorry to hear that you have yet to hear back from us. We're currently going through some internal system changes, which means we're not able to take chat or phone calls. We apologize for the inconvenience!

That said, as our 100% Happiness Guarantee covers exchanges so we definitely want to help as soon as possible. We'll message you privately here so we can collect your order information.

Looking forward to making this right!

Posted on Feb 24, 2022

Not happy with socks

By Charles P., Royersford, PA, Verified Reviewer

Wear out real fast, don’t like, too tight. I have had other socks and they last longer. Maybe try to get your products right, ok.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Colors

Wore out in a month

Too tight

Company Response from Bombas

Feb 26, 2022

Hey Charles,

Savannah, here, from Bombas Customer Service.

Thanks so much for leaving this review, although we're so sorry that you've had this experience with your Bombas!

Our 100% Happiness Guarantee covers replacements for defective pairs so we'd be happy to send you some new Bombas. When you have a moment, please reach out to us at bit.ly/bombashelp so we can help you with this as soon as possible.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

Posted on Feb 21, 2022

Total scam

By Jessica A. , Portland, ME

I ordered their “wool” socks last winter. The socks are incredibly thin and did not last. I only got 4–6 months wear out of ALL 8 pairs I ordered. If I am buying “wool” socks I expect them to last at least 1–2 years. Shameful.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Quality

Company Response from Bombas

Feb 22, 2022

Hey Jessica,

My name is Cory, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

We appreciate your review, although we're terribly sorry to hear what has happened to your Merino Wool Socks.

This sounds like the result of a factory defect or sizing issue. However, no matter the cause, you're completely covered by our 100% Happiness Guarantee so we'd love to get you replacements for these pairs as soon as possible.

At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at bit.ly/bombashelp so we can help.

We look forward to turning your experience around!

Posted on Feb 12, 2022

I wanted to love these

By Lori L., Bethlehem, PA, Verified Reviewer

Toes feel great but the back slides into all of my shoes. Sneakers, loafers, and even barefoot. They slide. Not worth the price at all!

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Thickness

Back slides

Too expensive

Company Response from Bombas

Feb 15, 2022

Hey Lori,

Savannah, here, from the Bombas Customer Happiness Team.

Thanks so much for your review, although I'm sorry to hear that your socks are slipping. That's no fun.

Slipping socks are usually the result of a sizing issue and we'd be more than happy to find pairs that are the perfect fit.

When you have a moment, please reach out to us at bit.ly/bombashelp so we can assist you directly.

Looking forward to speaking with you!

Posted on Jan 13, 2022

Poor quality

By Tracey B., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

It’s fantastic that money is raised for homeless shelters, and socks are donated to the most needy. But the price of these socks is three times what you would pay in the shop - so it’s not the Bombas company that is being altruistic! Poor quality with a plastic feel, not one ounce of softness. Very tight fit and actually uncomfortable to wear. Buy a pair of nice socks from a regular shop and donate the money you’ll save to charity.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Honestly not much, maybe the color choices?

Feel like plastic

Not soft or warm

Too tight and uncomfortable

Company Response from Bombas

Jan 22, 2022

Hi Tracey,

My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review!

We're so sorry to hear that your Bombas haven't lived up to your expectations. Please know that we have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that covers returns and exchanges so we'd be happy to help with either. Please reach out to us here: bit.ly/bombashelp

We look forward to speaking with you!

Showing 1-11 of 108

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.