Bombas Socks Review: Are They Worth the Price?

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Dec 19, 2019

Buying quality socks that hold up isn’t easy. All too often, we spend money on a pair we expect to last, only to wear holes in the heels. Are Bombas socks the exception?

Bombas is a women’s, men’s, and kid’s sock manufacturer that crafts its products from high-quality extra-long-staple cotton yarns with natural moisture-wicking and antimicrobial properties.

These socks are designed to provide you with “engineered comfort” and long-term durability in each pair. The brand sells socks specialized for a variety of activities, including everything from cardio workouts to corporate meetings.

Another selling point for this brand is that the company donates a pair to the homeless community for every one purchased.

But before handing over your money, take a couple of moments to read through what we learned during our research so you can make the most informed decision possible about whether Bombos socks are worth buying.

Pros: Cons:
  • Variety of sizes, styles, and patterns
  • The company donates one pair of socks for every purchase
  • Comfortable and versatile, according to many customer reviewers
  • More expensive than many brands
  • May not last long before getting holes
  • Might not fit true to size

Which Types of Socks Does Bombas Offer?

Bombas sells a variety of socks for women, men, and kids as single pairs and in multi-packs. You can search the site by filtering the options by color, height, and occasion.

All Bombas socks come with extra padding on the footbed. This purportedly adds support and improves its lifespan, and the company claims that this padding isn’t thick enough to cause shoe discomfort.

Bombas also emphasizes their socks “contain a small amount of latex” and “are made in factories that use latex.” If you’re allergic to latex, they recommend choosing another brand. Other materials in their socks include the following:

  • 63–78% Extra Long Staple Cotton (Merino options contain 78% wool)
  • 13–34% Polyester
  • 3–6% Rubber
  • 1–7% Spandex
  • 1–12% Nylon

Percentages vary by sock type.

Bombas Women’s and Men’s Socks

Women’s socks are available in five heights no show, ankle, quarter, calf, and knee-high/over the calf. Knee-high versions are only available for women, and over the calf for men. Both span three main categories:

  • Dress– Lightweight Crew, Marls, Donegal, Dress Solids
  • Athletic – Running, Skiing, Hiking, Tennis, Golf, Grippers, Basketball
  • Casual – Merino Wool, Lightweight Crew, Cushioned, Marls, Originals

Bombas Women's and Men's SocksBombas’ women’s and men’s socks are available in many popular heights, designs (as well as limited editions), and materials, including extra-long-staple cotton and Merino wool.

Bombas Kid’s Socks

Comparatively, Bombas kid’s socks are only available in calf and ankle heights. Options include Grippers, Athletic, Daily Use, and themes like holidays and Sesame Street.

Bombas Kid's SocksBombas’ kid’s socks promise to deliver all the comfort, support, and softness found in the adult versions, just in smaller sizes.

How Much Do Bombas’ Socks Cost?

Bombas socks are primarily available directly through the company, though we also saw a few styles listed on Amazon.

Adult women and men’s sizes run between 4 and 16, and kid’s sizes are between 1.5–8.5 (toddler) and 9–3 (youth). Bigger adult sizes are available in select styles.

Women’s & Men’s

  • Single pairs: $10.50–$24
  • 4 to 12-packs: $30–$172.80

Kid’s Socks

  • 3 to 12-packs: $15–$64.80

The company indicates their socks are true to size, although they'll slightly shrink the first time you wash them. After that, they should retain their size.

All Bombas orders come with a Happiness Guarantee that covers free exchanges and returns (including free shipping), at any time, regardless of their condition.

In order to request one, customer support can be reached at (800) 314-0980 or via their site’s contact form.

The Bombas Giveback Program

Bombas donates one pair of socks to a homeless shelter in the United States for every pair donated. This has already totaled over 5 million donated pairs of socks.

The company also operates a Giving Directory with 2,500 partners across the country who have collectively donated more than 25 million clothing items. You can get involved by emailing the company at giving@bombas.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 60 customers have left reviews for Bombas on our website, and these reviews average 2.3 stars. Amazon also sells a few pairs of Bombas socks, and most pairs average four stars. Here’s what the main opinions are:

High-Quality Socks

Many reviewers wrote that they loved Bombas socks, especially compared to other brands. They noted that the socks were comfortable, easy to put on, and lasted through lots of use.

Socks Wore Out Quickly

Other reviewers were less happy with Bombas’ quality. They wrote that they wore holes into the heels of the socks quickly—sometimes after just a single use. A few wrote that the socks got beat up in their washing machines and that they shrunk to the point of being uncomfortable to wear.

Some of these users wrote that the quality between pairs seemed inconsistent, as certain pairs deteriorated much faster than others.

Socks Painfully Tight and Not True To Size

According to a few reviewers, Bombas socks don’t always fit true to size. One woman noted that the socks cut off circulation in her calves to the point of being painful.

Others wrote that the socks were a half-inch longer than expected and were uncomfortably bunched around their toys and ankles.

Too Expensive for the Quality

One consistent complaint about Bombas socks seems to be that they are pricy for what you receive. Many reviewers noted that the socks didn’t seem any more special than regular pairs they bought for a fraction of the price and that they expected them to be more comfortable or and last longer.

Key Takeaway

Bombas socks are a big success for many customers, but others are less happy with their quality, sizing, and price tag.

Bombas Socks vs. Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont

If you’re looking to pay more per pair of sock to ensure you get comfort and great quality, there are several brands up for consideration. Below, we’ve compared what you get from Bombas socks to Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont.

Bombas Smartwool Darn Tough Vermont
Cost Per Pair
(Calf Length Casual)
$15–$18 $21–$30 $21–$23
Main Material Merino wool, cotton Merino Wool Merino Wool
Types of Socks Men’s, women’s, children’s socks for casual, sport, and dress use Men’s, women’s, and children’s socks for all purposes, with an emphasis on sport Men’s, women’s and children’s socks for sport, hiking, and casual use (all made in Vermont)
Average Amazon Review 3.8–4.3 4.5–5 4.5–5

Of these three brands, Bombas is the cheapest option, and the only brand to include cotton in some of its socks. That’s likely one reason why they are cheaper than brands that use only Merlino wool. However, cotton isn’t recommended for sports use as the material absorbs sweat and then drys slowly.

Both Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont have higher average rankings on Amazon than Bombas. Customer comments show that people praise both of these brands for their quality and durability, which are two things that Bombas was occasionally critiqued of by reviewers.

Our research showed that Bombas seems to offer better-packaged deals than the other companies, which may give it the advantage if you’re looking to buy multiple pairs at once.

Key Takeaways

Bombas socks make sense for those who want to give back with their purchase, those who want to buy specialized socks for specific purposes, and those who want socks made from natural materials. If you want long-lasting, lower-cost socks, you can probably find a brand better suited to your needs.

The Bottom Line

Bombas socks offer a lot of fun wrapped in the feel-good mentality of knowing that your purchase is benefiting charity. There is a wide variety of sock types and styles to choose from, so you’re likely to find a pair that fits your specifications.

However, they earned poor reviews for their overall fit and quality. For the price of these socks, you might expect them to last longer than they will before you wear holes in the heels.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t consider this brand. Just keep your expectations realistic about their longevity, and we think that you’ll find a lot to like from the cute cuts and prints available on Bombas socks.


Read 69 Bombas Socks Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 2.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 13 4 star: 4 3 star: 7 2 star: 12 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 28% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 69
Sort reviews by:

  • Horrible Christmas Gift

    • By Michele W.,
    • Everett, MA,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    These socks were a Christmas gift, sadly. I was given knee socks, I have skinny legs. The top ribbing of the socks is so tight, does not stretch in any fashion, it is CONSTRICTIVE. It left welts and stung where the sock rests right below the knee, where the ribbing sits.

    Again, I have skinny legs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 14, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Michele,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, although I'm sorry to hear your socks aren't fitting perfectly for you. We have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that we take very seriously, so we'd love to help you exchange those for some pairs that work better for you.

      At your convenience, please reach out to us at hello@bombas.com so we can get things started and help make things right. We're looking forward to hearing from you!


  • I love them but I also don't

    • By Rose G.,
    • Hartford, CT,
    • Jan 13, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took the plunge with Bombas socks over a year and a half ago and have bought many more pairs since. They are comfortable. I don't find that they shrink at all. The sport ones are really good. But my frustration is that they get holes in the toes and heels, sometimes very quickly. And they are pricy, so replacement adds up quickly. The sport ones are a tighter fit, but not in a bad way, and I think they hold up a bit better. These are my everyday socks. I just wish I wouldn't keep getting holes in them. That is making me look for another brand now as I need to replace so many of my Bombas.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 14, 2020

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Rose,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to write us a thoughtful review.

      While I'm happy to hear you've been enjoying our Performance socks, I'm sorry that they've been developing holes prematurely. This is certainly not supposed to happen, and I want to let you know you're covered for replacements under our Happiness Guarantee.

      So that we can help get you set up with some new pairs, at your convenience please reach out to us at hello@bombas.com. We're looking forward to hearing from you and helping make things right!


  • I love these socks

    • By Sandi W.,
    • Fish Haven, ID,
    • Dec 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I sure don’t understand why others are having so many issues with holes in their Bombas. I have several pairs of the original style and the merino wool which I love to wear during our cold winters. I have washed them many times and have not had any thinning or holes. Bombas are just about the only socks I wear now (except for hiking and winter sports) because I like how they fit and feel. Yes, they are pricey but to me, they’re worth it although I wish they were made in America instead of China.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Too tight

    • By Ed T.,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Dec 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased the wool socks in the largest size. Socks are well made but unless your legs are really thin, these socks are way too tight. I even cut off 1/2 inch off the top to get rid of the elastic band at the very top and put two small slits in the socks but they were still too tight for my legs. So tight that the logo sewn into the sock left an indentation in my leg. So unless your legs are super skinny, I recommend you do not purchase.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 19, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Ed,

      My name is Tim and I'm with the Happiness Team here at Bombas. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, although I'm sorry that your socks didn't fit you perfectly. We have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that we take very seriously, and it covers free exchanges, returns, and replacements if you don't like your socks.

      We aren't happy until you are, so when you have a moment, please reach out to us at hello@bombas.com so we can help you find a new style that'll fit you just right.

      We're looking forward to hearing from you and helping make things right!


  • Best compression socks

    • By Donald L.,
    • Roseburg, OR,
    • Dec 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made my first purchase of compression socks from Bombas and they are the BEST I have worn. I've tried many different brands, some better than others, and Bombas are the most comfortable I have tried. They are also easier to put on than most brands and the Bombas price was GREAT. Being able to afford compression socks that are high quality are a win. I'm 77 years old and have edema that requires me to wear compression socks. These are the only ones I'll buy in the future. I also love the Bombas buy one, give one program. Thank you to Robert of Shark Tank for the mention.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointing!

    • By Linda M.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Dec 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a bunch of these because I heard they were good. They are the worst socks. After a few washings, almost every pair has holes in the toes. They also seem to shrink, and feel tighter. I've never had this problem with any other socks. I would save your money and buy another brand. I spent well over $150.00 on regular and athletic socks just to have holey socks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 4, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hey Linda,

      Kairi here from the Customer Happiness Team at Bombas.
 I hope this message finds you well.

      Your feedback is greatly appreciated, although I'm sorry to learn your socks have developed holes - this is not a common occurrence. You are covered by our 100% Happiness Guarantee, which covers hole replacements, so I assure you we will get this all sorted out as soon as possible.

      When you can, please reach out to us via hello@bombas.com with your order number and photos of the socks with holes. Once we receive this, we can send you replacements or issue you a full refund.

      We look forward to hearing from you. Thank you!


  • Too costly for Canadians

    • By Verna M.,
    • Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Nov 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I liked the Bombas socks but ended up paying 30% more because of duty, taxes and postal fees.

    Please warn your Canadian customers of these extra costs unless it is under $20 CAD.

    I purchased socks in the past and did not have to pay duty and it doesn’t seem fair now that I am charged shipping twice, once from your site and again from Canada Post.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 4, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Verna,

      Kairi here from the Customer Happiness Team here at Bombas.

      Thank you for leaving a review, however, I'm sorry to hear you were charged additional fees for your order. Unfortunately, Bombas has no control over duties and or taxes set by international governments for imported products.

      Not to worry, however!

      We are dedicated to solving even your smallest issues - it's our 100% Happiness Guarantee. I'll be reaching out to you shortly via email to further assist you.

      Thanks again and I look forward to speaking with you!


  • Knee-high socks too tight

    • By Laura H.,
    • Indianapolis, IN,
    • Nov 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The women's knee-high socks are fine, and don't slip down. In fact, they are so tight in the calf and upper leg they almost cut off the circulation! I am 5'7' and weigh 130lbs...so I don't think my calves are excessively large. They are so uncomfortable, I can't wear them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Laura,

      My name is Kairi and I'm with the Customer Happiness Team here at Bombas.


      Thank you for providing feedback on our Knee-High Socks despite your experience. I'm sorry to learn they didn't fit you perfectly. Fit is always a personal preference, which is why we stand by our socks 100%.

      You are covered by our 100% Happiness Guarantee, so we'd be love to get replacement pairs sent out to you. In addition, we can also refund you for the purchase. It's all up to you.

      I'll be reaching out to you shortly via email.

      Thank you!


  • Wanted to love

    • By Megan B.,
    • Santa Clarita, CA,
    • Nov 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a bundle of 4 Marino wool no-show socks. I love the design idea of a comfortable sock that stays put and I love the model of donating a pair for each pair sold. The socks feel great and are soft and comfortable. I loved them. I washed them once and they are already getting thin in the toe and are "shedding" and piling in an awful way. Really disappointed that they didn’t hold up to washing and are already looking like I will have a hole very soon after wearing them once. Not sure if I would recommend or not at this time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 11, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Megan,

      My name is Kairi and I'm with the Customer Happiness Team here at Bombas.


      Thanks so much for your feedback on our Merino Wool socks, although we're sorry to hear they’re thinning out. This is not a common occurrence, so I ensure you we will make the necessary steps to correct this.

      
Our 100% Happiness Guarantee will cover your replacement pairs or a refund. I'll be reaching out to you shortly via email to assist you further with the process.

      Thank you, again.


  • Holes holes holes

    • By Michael L.,
    • Naperville, IL,
    • Oct 31, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased both dress socks and calf socks and all I can say is it’s hit and miss. The socks are extremely comfortable and feel great, however, most of the pairs have holes in the heels. There is a problem with how these socks are made. You are basically just playing the lottery every time you buy a pair. The way the heels are sewn together is the problem. Straight out of the box some pairs already have holes, wear them a couple of times holes holes holes. Too expensive for these issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hey Michael,

      My name is Kairi and I’m a member of the Happiness Team here at Bombas.

      Thanks for leaving a review, although I’m sorry to learn you continue to experience this issue. This is not a normal occurrence, and I can assure you we will do what we can to right these wrongs.

      You are covered by our 100% Happiness Guarantee, and we'd love to help find a solution and send over some replacements. We'll send you an email to help out, and look forward to speaking with you.

      Thanks, again!


  • Inferior product

    • By Tom C.,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Oct 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Purchased 4 pairs of brown men's dress socks a couple of months ago. 1st pair got a hole in toe after 2 washings. Now a second pair has a rather large hole in the ankle area. Will not pay a premium price for socks that last a couple of months again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 31, 2019

      Company Response from Bombas

      Hi Tom,

      My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

      Thank you so much for your feedback, though I am very sorry to hear that your socks have worn so quickly. I completely understand your frustration and we will do everything we can to make things right.

      You are completely covered for defected pairs by our 100% Happiness Guarantee and we would love to send you replacements. Please email hello@bombas.com so we can further assist you with this issue.

      Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to hearing from you.


Showing 1-11 of 69

Write a Review for Bombas!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Bombas