Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Bombas Socks Reviews - Are They Worth the Price?

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Bombas

Overall Rating

2.4

91 Customer Reviews

Write a Review

Summary

Founded in 2013, Bombas is a sock company that crafts their products from high-quality components and gives a pair to the homeless for each one sold.

Pros

  • Variety of sizes, styles, and patterns
  • The company donates one pair of socks for every purchase
  • Comfortable and versatile, according to many customer reviewers

Cons

  • More expensive than many brands
  • May not last long before getting holes
  • Might not fit true to size

Our Full Review

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Dec 19, 2019

Buying quality socks that hold up isn’t easy. All too often, we spend money on a pair we expect to last, only to wear holes in the heels. Are Bombas socks the exception?

Bombas is a women’s, men’s, and kid’s sock manufacturer that crafts its products from high-quality extra-long-staple cotton yarns with natural moisture-wicking and antimicrobial properties.

These socks are designed to provide you with “engineered comfort” and long-term durability in each pair. The brand sells socks specialized for a variety of activities, including everything from cardio workouts to corporate meetings.

Another selling point for this brand is that the company donates a pair to the homeless community for every one purchased.

But before handing over your money, take a couple of minutes to read through our analysis so you can make an informed decision about whether Bombos socks are worth buying.

Which Types of Socks Does Bombas Offer?

Bombas sells a variety of socks for women, men, and kids as single pairs and in multi-packs. You can search the site by filtering the options by color, height, and occasion.

All Bombas socks come with extra padding on the footbed. This purportedly adds support and improves its lifespan, and the company claims that this padding isn’t thick enough to cause shoe discomfort.

Bombas also emphasizes their socks “contain a small amount of latex” and “are made in factories that use latex.” If you’re allergic to latex, they recommend choosing another brand. Other materials in their socks include the following:

  • 63–78% Extra Long Staple Cotton (Merino options contain 78% wool)
  • 13–34% Polyester
  • 3–6% Rubber
  • 1–7% Spandex
  • 1–12% Nylon

Percentages vary by sock type.

Bombas Women’s and Men’s Socks

Women’s socks are available in five heights no show, ankle, quarter, calf, and knee-high/over the calf. Knee-high versions are only available for women, and over the calf for men. Both span three main categories:

  • Dress– Lightweight Crew, Marls, Donegal, Dress Solids
  • Athletic – Running, Skiing, Hiking, Tennis, Golf, Grippers, Basketball
  • Casual – Merino Wool, Lightweight Crew, Cushioned, Marls, Originals

Bombas Women's and Men's SocksBombas’ women’s and men’s socks are available in many popular heights, designs (as well as limited editions), and materials, including extra-long-staple cotton and Merino wool.

Bombas Kid’s Socks

Comparatively, Bombas kid’s socks are only available in calf and ankle heights. Options include Grippers, Athletic, Daily Use, and themes like holidays and Sesame Street.

Bombas Kid's SocksBombas’ kid’s socks promise to deliver all the comfort, support, and softness found in the adult versions, just in smaller sizes.

How Much Do Bombas’ Socks Cost?

Bombas socks are primarily available directly through the company, though we also saw a few styles listed on Amazon.

Adult women and men’s sizes run between 4 and 16, and kid’s sizes are between 1.5–8.5 (toddler) and 9–3 (youth). Bigger adult sizes are available in select styles.

Women’s & Men’s

  • Single pairs: $10.50–$24
  • 4 to 12-packs: $30–$172.80

Kid’s Socks

  • 3 to 12-packs: $15–$64.80

The company indicates their socks are true to size, although they'll slightly shrink the first time you wash them. After that, they should retain their size.

All Bombas orders come with a Happiness Guarantee that covers free exchanges and returns (including free shipping), at any time, regardless of their condition.

In order to request one, customer support can be reached at (800) 314-0980 or via their site’s contact form.

The Bombas Giveback Program

Bombas donates one pair of socks to a homeless shelter in the United States for every pair donated. This has already totaled over 5 million donated pairs of socks.

The company also operates a Giving Directory with 2,500 partners across the country who have collectively donated more than 25 million clothing items. You can get involved by emailing the company at giving@bombas.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

More than 60 customers have left reviews for Bombas on our website, and these reviews average 2.3 stars. Amazon also sells a few pairs of Bombas socks, and most pairs average four stars. Here’s what the main opinions are:

High-Quality Socks

Many reviewers wrote that they loved Bombas socks, especially compared to other brands. They noted that the socks were comfortable, easy to put on, and lasted through lots of use.

Socks Wore Out Quickly

Other reviewers were less happy with Bombas’ quality. They wrote that they wore holes into the heels of the socks quickly—sometimes after just a single use. A few wrote that the socks got beat up in their washing machines and that they shrunk to the point of being uncomfortable to wear.

Some of these users wrote that the quality between pairs seemed inconsistent, as certain pairs deteriorated much faster than others.

Socks Painfully Tight and Not True To Size

According to a few reviewers, Bombas socks don’t always fit true to size. One woman noted that the socks cut off circulation in her calves to the point of being painful.

Others wrote that the socks were a half-inch longer than expected and were uncomfortably bunched around their toys and ankles.

Too Expensive for the Quality

One consistent complaint about Bombas socks seems to be that they are pricy for what you receive. Many reviewers noted that the socks didn’t seem any more special than regular pairs they bought for a fraction of the price and that they expected them to be more comfortable or and last longer.

Key Takeaway

Bombas socks are a big success for many customers, but others are less happy with their quality, sizing, and price tag.

Bombas Socks vs. Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont

If you’re looking to pay more per pair of sock to ensure you get comfort and great quality, there are several brands up for consideration. Below, we’ve compared what you get from Bombas socks to Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont.

Bombas Smartwool Darn Tough Vermont
Cost Per Pair
(Calf Length Casual)
$15–$18 $21–$30 $21–$23
Main Material Merino wool, cotton Merino Wool Merino Wool
Types of Socks Men’s, women’s, children’s socks for casual, sport, and dress use Men’s, women’s, and children’s socks for all purposes, with an emphasis on sport Men’s, women’s and children’s socks for sport, hiking, and casual use (all made in Vermont)
Average Amazon Review 3.8–4.3 4.5–5 4.5–5

Of these three brands, Bombas is the cheapest option, and the only brand to include cotton in some of its socks. That’s likely one reason why they are cheaper than brands that use only Merlino wool. However, cotton isn’t recommended for sports use as the material absorbs sweat and then drys slowly.

Both Smartwool and Darn Tough Vermont have higher average rankings on Amazon than Bombas. Customer comments show that people praise both of these brands for their quality and durability, which are two things that Bombas was occasionally critiqued of by reviewers.

Our research showed that Bombas seems to offer better-packaged deals than the other companies, which may give it the advantage if you’re looking to buy multiple pairs at once.

Key Takeaways

Bombas socks make sense for those who want to give back with their purchase, those who want to buy specialized socks for specific purposes, and those who want socks made from natural materials. If you want long-lasting, lower-cost socks, you can probably find a brand better suited to your needs.

The Bottom Line

Bombas socks offer a lot of fun wrapped in the feel-good mentality of knowing that your purchase is benefiting charity. There is a wide variety of sock types and styles to choose from, so you’re likely to find a pair that fits your specifications.

However, they earned poor reviews for their overall fit and quality. For the price of these socks, you might expect them to last longer than they will before you wear holes in the heels.

That’s not to say you shouldn’t consider this brand. Just keep your expectations realistic about their longevity, and we think that you’ll find a lot to like from the cute cuts and prints available on Bombas socks.

Customer Reviews

2.4 Stars out of 91 Reviews
5 Star:18% 4 Star:7% 3 Star:8% 2 Star:20% 1 Star:43%
29% Recommend This Brand
Start your review of Bombas:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jul 25, 2021

Over-priced

By Greg H., Boston, MA, Verified Reviewer

I did not really have a bad experience with Bombas, but the pricing is not good. I purchased some socks. They are stylish, but pricey. The fit and material do not warrant the price. I suspect the donation is what drives the inflated price. I think the t-shirt pricing is even more pronounced. A Pima cotton t-shirt at Bombas is $40. A very similar (at least equal, potentially superior) Pima cotton t-shirt at a competitor is $32. That is a 25 percent price differential.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Style

Price

Fit

Posted on Jun 8, 2021

Don’t believe the hype

By Shane H. , Sarasota, FL

These are literally some of the worst socks I’ve ever worn. They are thin, slippery, and cheaply made. The marketing is much better than the sock. Overpriced, over-promised, and under-delivered.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Thin

Slippery

Too tight

Company Response from Bombas

Jun 8, 2021

Hi Shane,

My name is Savannah, I am with Customer Happiness here at Bombas.

Thanks so much for your review, although I'm sorry to hear that your socks didn't live up to your expectations. Here at Bombas, our customers' happiness is our #1 priority, so we'll do everything we can to make this right.

Our 100% Happiness Guarantee covers returns and exchanges so we'd be happy to help with either. Please reach out to us at the following link so one of our agents can help you directly: bit.ly/bombashelp.

We look forward to turning your experience around!

Posted on May 18, 2021

Love them but...

By Allen B., Puyallup, WA, Verified Reviewer

My son bought me eight pairs of socks for Christmas. It is now less than five months later and they are no more. I loved the sox, the comfort, and the fit, but after a few wears, every one of them had a hole in the heel and I had to toss them. If the heels were reinforced, it might be something to buy again. But now, not likely.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfort

Reinforced at the balls of the feet

Fit

Quickly developed holes in the heals

Company Response from Bombas

May 19, 2021

Hi Allen,

My name is Cory and I'm a member of Bombas' Happiness Team.

Thank you for sharing your concern with us though I'm sorry to hear your socks have been having issues. This is not normal for our socks and with our Happiness Guarantee, I'd love to help make this right for you.

For all of our products, we have a Happiness Guarantee that will always cover you for returns or exchanges. Instead of throwing out your socks, please reach out to us and we'd be happy to send over replacement pairs. That said, I'll be following up with you shortly to help get your replacement order started.

I look forward to helping with this so please keep in touch.

Posted on May 14, 2021

Bombas compression socks

By Ted B., Lancaster, PA, Verified Reviewer

Ripped the second time I wore them. Got them as a gift. Wore once, tore the second time I put them on. A lot of money for a poorly made product that wears well.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Ripped

Company Response from Bombas

May 19, 2021

Hi Ted,

Thank you for sharing your feedback though I'm so sorry to hear this happened to your Compression socks. My name is Cory and I'm a member of the Happiness Team at Bombas, and I'm here to help with this.

At Bombas, we have a 100% Happiness Guarantee that will always cover you for returns or exchanges should you have any issues with your socks. Even a hole in your Compression sock is covered by us! That said, I'd love to send you a replacement pair on us.

Please look out for a private message so we can get this process started for you! I look forward to helping.

Posted on Apr 20, 2021

Comfortable at first, but...

By Amanda H., Maryland, Verified Reviewer

I bought a pair at Dick's and they were nice, so I went online and bought 6 more pairs. They are crap. I responded to a review and Bombas offered to replace them. It's been a month and I have still not received the replacements. They are stringy and falling apart after a month. (I wish I could post a pic here.) Not worth the money and the 100% guarantee seems to be a lie. I have socks from Walmart that have lasted much longer.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfortable at first

Poor quality

Fake guarantee

Company Response from Bombas

Apr 21, 2021

Hi Amanda,

My name is Cory and I'm a member of the Happiness Team here at Bombas.

As always, I thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us as it will only help Bombas continue to improve going forward. Your feedback is so important to us.

With all that being said, this does not sound normal for our socks and we'd love to help with all of your concerns. As you know, we have a Happiness Guarantee that covers you for exchanges and returns. That said, it does look like your replacement order should have been delivered on April 19th but we can definitely help look further into this for you.

Please look out for an e-mail from us shortly for more help. We'll also be able to flag your concerns about our socks for quality assurance. We're here to help, Amanda.

Posted on Jan 16, 2021

Update

By Andrew C., Windsor, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Bombas has resolved my issues.

Thank you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Charity work

Customer service

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Holes in heels and inconsistent fit

By S C., California, Verified Reviewer

Their Merino Wool calf socks had the highest wool content I could find so I purchased a 4-pack of Women's Originals calf socks in February 2020. The calf part kept sliding down so I requested replacements a month later.

I requested replacements only this time with 2 of the pairs being the solid colors as I thought it was a factory defect with Originals. The solids fit looser (even being the same size) and the calf portion slid down more. In 6-10 wears, every pair either got a heel hole or the wool in the heel/ankle fell out in tufts leaving only the nylon thread mesh.

I'm waiting for their stock to replenish as they're out of stock on most wool colors in my size so that they can send me yet another replacement set. I've resorted to sewing the holes closed for now.

As long as Bombas will replace them, I guess I'll have to keep asking for new pairs until I get my money's worth as it seems their quality control at the factories need work.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

High wool content

Price for multi-packs

Donating socks

Very short lifespan

Quality/fit inconsistent

Company Response from Bombas

Jan 7, 2021

Hi there,

My name is Cory and I'm a member of the Happiness Team here at Bombas. I appreciate you reaching out to share your experience with us though I'm sorry to hear it hasn't been the best.

Our product was thoroughly researched and developed over two years, and with our Stay-Up Technology, you definitely should not be having socks slide down your legs. I'm so sorry to hear this has happened, this isn't usual for our socks and we're definitely going to do our best to make this right for you. Rest assured, we'll share this feedback with our sock design team to look into for quality assurance purposes.

That being said, as you've mentioned, you're always covered under our Happiness Guarantee for exchanges or returns as you need. Please keep in touch with our Happiness Team here for updates on when the styles you'd like to try are back in stock: http://bit.ly/bombashelp

Bombas has your back and will support you however we can. In the meantime, I thank you again for reaching out and please let me know if you have any other questions or concerns. We're all here to help.

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2021

Love my Bombas

By Suzie N., Delaware, Verified Reviewer

I used to wear my socks inside out as the seams cut across my toes and with Bombas I can wear socks regularly and they keep my feet comfortable and they don't slip all day long.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No seams to feel

Comfort

Colors

On vacation, they took a while to dry hanging out

Posted on Nov 23, 2020

Not worth the money

By Matt I., Columbia, MO, Verified Reviewer

The socks are as comfortable as advertised. However, like so many other reviews, ALL of my socks quickly developed holes in the heels. Every single pair, in the exact same place! Yes, Bombas will replace them, but it's a pain to constantly have to request and wait for replacements. I don't think it's too much to ask that socks last more than a few months. Especially when they cost as much as Bombas.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfortable

Good fit

Durability

Company Response from Bombas

Nov 24, 2020

Hi Matt,

My name is Cory and I'm a member of the Happiness Team here at Bombas.

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us though we're so sorry to hear that this has happened. This is the opposite of the experience we would want you to have with Bombas so again, we cannot apologize enough. Since this is not normal for our socks, we'd love to help out with replacement pairs under our Happiness Guarantee.

Not only do we stand by our products but we also stand by you, our customer, and would love to help turn this around. Please reach out to the Happiness Team here: http://bit.ly/bombashelp

We look forward to hearing from you soon, Matt. Thank you for your feedback, support, and patience.

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 6, 2020

Great socks!

By Donna K., Kentucky, Verified Reviewer

Bought some for Christmas last year for gifts and myself. Absolutely love them. I have worn them a lot and they still look like they did when I bought them. I got tired of buying cheap socks that would fall down on my heel. Love them.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Did not fall down back of my heel

Hold up well after washing

Price, but worth it, plus they donate a pair

Posted on Oct 31, 2020

Comfortable but wear out very quickly

By Ron W., Palo Alto, CA, Verified Reviewer

Have purchased several pair of Men's Ribbed Over the Calf Dress Socks. They are very comfortable but quickly develop holes in either the toe or heel. Bombas replaces the defective socks quickly, but it is becoming a nuisance to have to do request replacements. I have many pairs of Gold Toe Men's Over the Calf Socks that last for many years without wearing out. They are much less expensive and equally comfortable. Bombas has excellent customer service, but its products that I have purchased are not worth the money.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfortable socks

Excellent customer service

Poor quality, socks wear out much too quickly

Expensive considering the poor quality

Company Response from Bombas

Nov 2, 2020

Hi Ron,

My name is Emily and I'm a member of the Happiness Team here at Bombas.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, although I'm very sorry to hear that you've experienced holes in your Bombas replacements. Quality is a top priority for us and we take these issues seriously. It sounds like you may these holes may be coming from a defect, in which case we would take a thorough look and discuss with our manufacturing partners to see what could have gone wrong.

We stand by our 100% Happiness Guarantee no matter what, so we would be very happy to send you another set of replacements in the style of your choice and make things right. Please feel free to connect with our Happiness Team at hello@bombas.com so that we can resolve this issue as soon as possible.

We look forward to hearing from you and look forward to serving you better in the future.

Showing 1-11 of 91

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.