Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Tecovas Reviews

Tecovas

Overall Rating

3.9

39 Customer Reviews

Summary

Tecovas is an Austin-based boot company that operates exclusively online to provide their customers with cowboy boots that are allegedly significantly cheaper yet high-quality compared to competition.

Write a Review

Tecovas Review - Are These Boots Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Jun 10, 2020

Tecovas is an Austin-based brand of handmade cowboy boots. The boots are advertised as “handmade, high-quality boots that don’t break the bank” on the company website.

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

Paul Hedrick, the company founder, grew tired of the inconvenience of shoe stores and spending almost $1,000 on quality cowboy boots. In 2014, he quit his job and began traveling the world to research ways to make and sell boots more affordably. After 16 months of research and numerous trips to Mexico, he sold his first pair of boots.

The company states that by not having a storefront keeps prices low (about half the price of traditional retail they claim) because you won’t need to pay middlemen for markups at the physical store.

This review examines the boots' details, uses, and cost to help you decide if they're right for you.

What Makes These Boots Stand Out?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots set themselves apart from the competition by providing unprecedented value, being handmade, and offering classic styles for customers to choose from.

Tecovas claims that their boots are twice the quality of other boots at their price point and half the price of similarly quality boots. Their strategy for keeping costs lower is cutting out the retailer and subsequent markups, ensuring that the cost savings are passed on to the customer.

The boots are handmade in León, Mexico in a traditional construction process that takes over 200 steps per shoe. Finally, the company strives to produce the boots in timeless styles that won’t go out of style when trends change.

Pricing

At the time of writing, Tecovas boots ranged in price on the company website from between $195 and $455.

While the company previously maintained a showroom in Austin, the boots are currently only available from the brand’s online store. They proclaim that this makes them the first direct-to-consumer western brand. Orders can be placed online, and all questions should be directed through email to howdy@tecovas.com.

The brand states that all sizes and products listed on their website are available for immediate order, meaning that the vast majority of successful orders are shipped within one business day.

Selecting free shipping at checkout means most orders will arrive within 3-5 business days, and the company provides options to upgrade to Next Business Day or 2nd Business Day shipping as well.

The website also states that all orders are shipped with a free peel-off return label and instructions for issuing a return. If the label is lost for any reason, customers can email the company to receive a new one.

Important Details

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

The company also makes it clear that Tecovas insoles aren’t designed to be removed from the shoe, meaning that some customers might find it difficult to wear them with an orthotic or special insert. To ease the process, the company suggests ordering boots a half size up to accommodate the extra room.

While it is possible to tear out the insole to accommodate larger inserts, the company notes that this will void their ability to be returned.

Bottom Line

Our research into Tecovas painted a pretty clear picture of the brand.

Customer reviews on HighYa for the boots are overwhelmingly positive, and the company implements an easy return policy in case you aren’t completely satisfied with your purchase.

However, the reviews we looked at on the company website seemed to indicate that only a small portion of customers end up returning their boots.

Those looking for a rugged work boot are likely to be disappointed with Tecovas, as the boots are designed more for walking and fashion than work. Nonetheless, reviewers consistently praised how well their boots held up after months of regular wear.

If you are looking for a pair of high-end cowboy boots that will last for longer than a season, then Tecovas boots might be a brand to begin your search.

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 39 Reviews
5 Star:64% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:7% 2 Star:5% 1 Star:17%
74% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Tecovas:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Jan 23, 2021

Don't waste your valuable time!

By Scott A., Lampasas, TX, Verified Reviewer

A little background, I ordered the original pair of boots on 12/28/2020, I was told it would be about 10 days for delivery. I received a shipping notice that my boots were on the way, but when they didn't show up, I called customer service. They said they would look into it, they probably did. They got back to me and said FedEx lost the package. Really? OK, so they shipped another pair. So, back and forth emails, the totals are this, 10 failed delivery dates, 1 day they said they attempted delivery (lie, we have a camera at the end of our driveway). Today, they said they delivered the package (another lie). Now FedEx is doing an "investigation".

You could say that this isn't Tecovas' fault. But I asked them to find another delivery company and was told that I may need to change my address. Really? To what? I've not had any issues with deliveries before, as a matter of fact, FedEx delivered other items to my home today, less the boots of course.

As the title says, don't waste your valuable time, especially if you live rurally. I've wasted well over 8 hours dedicated to this issue with no signs of relief. Your items will conveniently come up missing. I can only hope I can get my money returned. But if it's anything like the boots, good luck!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly customer service

Delivery options

Posted on Nov 21, 2020

Awesome product and customer service!

By Sharon G., Summerville, SC, Verified Reviewer

I recently ordered the Penny online, and absolutely loved them. When we learned a Tecovas store had opened on King Street we couldn't wait to go. My husband and I were there today and bought two pairs of boots. The customer service was awesome, relaxing, and top-shelf. We'll be back!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality of the product

The fabulous staff

The beautiful store

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 19, 2020

Great boots!

By Michael C., Lubbock, TX, Verified Reviewer

After my first pair (suede) I was so impressed I ordered 5 more pairs over time. They all fit great and were comfortable from day one. Nice craftsmanship with consistent quality.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast shipping

High quality

Fair price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Oct 20, 2020

Bad customer service

By Richard B., California, Verified Reviewer

This company is one of the worst companies I have ever done business with. Customer service, they never answer you, they ship a pair of boots via FedEx and it goes to Charlotte in North Carolina, I live in Southern California. Why are the boots going to the East Coast when I live on the West Coast? When I email to find out why, no one ever answers me. If I put a stop payment on the payment of the boot, they would surely contact me. Looks to me like they only worry about money, not the customer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Posted on Oct 16, 2020

Great company and products

By Todd S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased 3 pairs of boots, black caiman, gun smoke ostrich, and gun smoke python as well as a pair of jeans, and both a large and small leather duffle.

So far all products have been great and any interaction with the company has been great as well.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Style and quality

Fit and comfort

Price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 5, 2020

Comfortable

By Mario R., New York, Verified Reviewer

I received a pair of Tecovas Suede boots as a gift and from the moment I got the package and took them out and started wearing then they felt so comfortable, I didn't need to break them in at all.

I would recommend the Tecovas brand to my friends.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 22, 2020

Difficulty in putting Tecovas boots on.

By Dan E., Santa Ana, CA, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased two pairs of Tecovas, one caiman and one ostrich. The ostrich was purchased for my brother. The problem that both of us have experienced with our boots is the high, high, high degree of difficulty we have had putting the boots on. My caiman boots are extremely comfortable to wear but I sometimes cannot wear them at all because my foot gets stuck in the shank before ever reaching the footbed. I don't know why but my guess would be that the circumference of the shaft opening is not big enough.

I would like to wear my boots more often but if I go to the gym to work out I can't guarantee that I'll be able to put them back on.

I am also very interested in buying the American alligator boots but based upon the degree of difficulty I have wearing my caiman boots I can't see spending the money on the alligators.

I have worn boots all my life including many many Justins, Dan Post, Tony Lama, Texas, Ariat, to name the ones I can remember and/or still have. I have never encountered the problems putting on my boots with any other brands that I have encountered with Tecovas. Again, once on they are great, but getting them on is a struggle.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 7, 2020

Really bad customer service

By Rich M., New York, NY, Verified Reviewer

Bought a pair of boots which came damaged, did an exchange and got another damaged pair. Needed them for a specific date so I told them I need them soon so they said they would overnight them. First off, I was already mad they sent me 2 damaged pair, second, the lady had the worst attitude. Fast forward, I never got my boots so when I called she said the lady never even processed them. Not sure if they were trying to scam me, either way, will never shop here again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 27, 2019

Great boot

By Edward S., Lehighton, PA, Verified Reviewer

Bought a pair of Earls Roper Boot last year, beautiful boot, great leather, took a while to break in (2 months), but now they're good, very comfortable. Bought the same size in sneakers, you have to practice getting them on (YouTube video helps) and buy a boot rack from Amazon (Lariat makes it for $13), and your boot comes right off, no problem, ingenious invention, again, see YouTube video.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Dec 12, 2019

My first pair of boots

By Joe S., Turnersville, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I bought my first pair of boots ever, The Duke Pecan Ostrich. The Tecovas site said buy the same size as a pair of quality dress shoes. I chose my natural size of 9.5. They were too big due to too much heel lift. I returned them for a size 9 with the included return label. I put the boots on, they were snug across the top of the foot with nice toe room and a little heel lift. All the websites say that is a proper boot fit. I conditioned them as suggested and wore them for two hours. I was amazed of the comfort as they are not even broken in yet! These boots feel like slippers. I am already saving for the Top line Alligator Boots. Great job Tecova. I will be a custom for life!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 5, 2019

I ain't taking off my Johnny's!

By Uncle S., Missouri, Verified Reviewer

Old Marine Grunt here. I've worn many boots in over 60 years of walking. Bad knees, busted up feet and a back I wish I could trade in. Wife ordered me the Johnny's Granite Suede when she noticed my favorite pair of Lamas sole was coming off.

I put them on and damn near wept. My feet feel like they're cuddled in butter. Perfect fit OUTTA DA' BOX on my 13 D flat as pancakes kickers! Clearing out the closet and making room for more Tecovas. Take a hike Tony! Done with you Dan! Naconas No Mo!

Tacovas, the boot company your feet will REJOICE IN.

Semper Fi and a Big Ooh Rah!

P.S. I would've paid DOUBLE for these!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted
Showing 1-11 of 39

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.