Jump To:
Our Editorial Review
Customer Reviews

Tecovas Reviews

Tecovas

Overall Rating

3.9

45 Customer Reviews

Summary

Tecovas is an Austin-based boot company that operates exclusively online to provide their customers with cowboy boots that are allegedly significantly cheaper yet high-quality compared to competition.

Write a Review

Tecovas Review - Are These Boots Worth It?

By Lydia Noyes

Updated on: Jun 10, 2020

Tecovas is an Austin-based brand of handmade cowboy boots. The boots are advertised as “handmade, high-quality boots that don’t break the bank” on the company website.

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

Paul Hedrick, the company founder, grew tired of the inconvenience of shoe stores and spending almost $1,000 on quality cowboy boots. In 2014, he quit his job and began traveling the world to research ways to make and sell boots more affordably. After 16 months of research and numerous trips to Mexico, he sold his first pair of boots.

The company states that by not having a storefront keeps prices low (about half the price of traditional retail they claim) because you won’t need to pay middlemen for markups at the physical store.

This review examines the boots' details, uses, and cost to help you decide if they're right for you.

What Makes These Boots Stand Out?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots set themselves apart from the competition by providing unprecedented value, being handmade, and offering classic styles for customers to choose from.

Tecovas claims that their boots are twice the quality of other boots at their price point and half the price of similarly quality boots. Their strategy for keeping costs lower is cutting out the retailer and subsequent markups, ensuring that the cost savings are passed on to the customer.

The boots are handmade in León, Mexico in a traditional construction process that takes over 200 steps per shoe. Finally, the company strives to produce the boots in timeless styles that won’t go out of style when trends change.

Pricing

At the time of writing, Tecovas boots ranged in price on the company website from between $195 and $455.

While the company previously maintained a showroom in Austin, the boots are currently only available from the brand’s online store. They proclaim that this makes them the first direct-to-consumer western brand. Orders can be placed online, and all questions should be directed through email to howdy@tecovas.com.

The brand states that all sizes and products listed on their website are available for immediate order, meaning that the vast majority of successful orders are shipped within one business day.

Selecting free shipping at checkout means most orders will arrive within 3-5 business days, and the company provides options to upgrade to Next Business Day or 2nd Business Day shipping as well.

The website also states that all orders are shipped with a free peel-off return label and instructions for issuing a return. If the label is lost for any reason, customers can email the company to receive a new one.

Important Details

Cowboy boots have historically been put to a variety of uses, from farm work to office fashion. Which category does Tecovas best fit in?

According to the company website, Tecovas boots are better suited to professional situations than working outdoors. Most models aren’t designed to withstand the elements or rugged outdoor use, meaning that they aren’t necessarily well-suited to riding a horse or mucking out a stall.

The company also makes it clear that Tecovas insoles aren’t designed to be removed from the shoe, meaning that some customers might find it difficult to wear them with an orthotic or special insert. To ease the process, the company suggests ordering boots a half size up to accommodate the extra room.

While it is possible to tear out the insole to accommodate larger inserts, the company notes that this will void their ability to be returned.

Bottom Line

Our research into Tecovas painted a pretty clear picture of the brand.

Customer reviews on HighYa for the boots are overwhelmingly positive, and the company implements an easy return policy in case you aren’t completely satisfied with your purchase.

However, the reviews we looked at on the company website seemed to indicate that only a small portion of customers end up returning their boots.

Those looking for a rugged work boot are likely to be disappointed with Tecovas, as the boots are designed more for walking and fashion than work. Nonetheless, reviewers consistently praised how well their boots held up after months of regular wear.

If you are looking for a pair of high-end cowboy boots that will last for longer than a season, then Tecovas boots might be a brand to begin your search.

Customer Reviews

3.9 Stars out of 45 Reviews
5 Star:62% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:8% 2 Star:6% 1 Star:17%
73% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Tecovas:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Aug 10, 2021

Don't buy the Ostrich

By Robert M., Saint Louis, MO, Verified Reviewer

These boots were a disappointment from the start. I have never stopped using a pair of boots because they look so bad. I just shine them and go. These have a lot of life and just sit in my closet looking ugly.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Comfort

Leather quality

Posted on Jul 27, 2021

First pair, not last pair

By Bruce N., Conshohocken, PA, Verified Reviewer

Selection and ordering of the boots were a breeze, shipping notifications were on time every step of the order process, and delivered when promised by FedEx in a well-packaged box. Boots were wrapped in protective plastic, socks were included inside. Inspected the boots, no scuffs, no missed or loose stitches, the bison leather had no issues with the dye, Vibram soles had no issues. Boots slid right on, size ran true no heel slip. I could feel the boot adjust to my instep and foot contour, no issues at work, good support, and traction on dirt, mud, and grass. These Banderas are keepers.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality

Website

Order tracking

Boot shafts unlined

Posted on Jul 6, 2021

Jasper

By Monte J., Austin, TX, Verified Reviewer

After looking at them in the Tecovas store, I ordered a pair of Jasper in my size. The boots arrived quickly but were subpar. The dye on the Ostrich skin was really splotchy and non-matching pieces of skin were used in the same boot. I took them back to the store, and the clerk lectured me on smooth Ostrich skin and that there was nothing wrong with the boots. I showed her the display Jasper pair, which were basically perfect, and she did not have an explanation and refunded my money. I have four other pairs of Tecovas including another pair of Jasper and am happy with all of them. They should not have sent the pair I received and should train their employees to argue about clearly defective boots in hopes of avoiding a refund.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Good value

Quality control

Posted on Jul 5, 2021

Not worth the money

By Ron O., Madera, CA, Verified Reviewer

While the boots were new, they looked and seemed of quality materials. After wearing them for about a year (about two times a week) the leather on the upper part of the shaft split and showed a thin rope under the very thin leather. Then on the toe of the sole the leather wore completely out so as to show the inner sole. I believe that the leather that is used to make these boots is of inferior quality leather. Of course I am not a leather expert and this is just my opinion.

Length of Use: 6–12 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Boots look nice when new

Poor quality

Posted on Jul 2, 2021

Great boots at any price

By Paul B. , California

My wife and I together have 15 pairs. Enough said!

By the way, I have 2 pairs. Do the math!

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Mar 14, 2021

Repeat customer

By D C., Huntsville, AL, Verified Reviewer

I've ordered several times, with good results. The boots are nice, well made. I have several other brands including custom boots, and these are slightly better as the finishing work inside is more carefully done. They were out of the boot jacks several times, finally got them to send me a notice when in stock. The mail went astray but finally arrived (not their fault). I'd like to see more information about caring for Caiman, and some boot "covers" sometimes called boot socks - the boots wear them, not you. Other companies have them, such as Lucchese.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality

Customer service

Veteran discount

Need more wide sizes

Needs more information on boot care, Caiman

Needs optional boot covers

Posted on Jan 23, 2021

Don't waste your valuable time!

By Scott A., Lampasas, TX, Verified Reviewer

A little background, I ordered the original pair of boots on 12/28/2020, I was told it would be about 10 days for delivery. I received a shipping notice that my boots were on the way, but when they didn't show up, I called customer service. They said they would look into it, they probably did. They got back to me and said FedEx lost the package. Really? OK, so they shipped another pair. So, back and forth emails, the totals are this, 10 failed delivery dates, 1 day they said they attempted delivery (lie, we have a camera at the end of our driveway). Today, they said they delivered the package (another lie). Now FedEx is doing an "investigation".

You could say that this isn't Tecovas' fault. But I asked them to find another delivery company and was told that I may need to change my address. Really? To what? I've not had any issues with deliveries before, as a matter of fact, FedEx delivered other items to my home today, less the boots of course.

As the title says, don't waste your valuable time, especially if you live rurally. I've wasted well over 8 hours dedicated to this issue with no signs of relief. Your items will conveniently come up missing. I can only hope I can get my money returned. But if it's anything like the boots, good luck!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Friendly customer service

Delivery options

Posted on Nov 21, 2020

Awesome product and customer service!

By Sharon G., Summerville, SC, Verified Reviewer

I recently ordered the Penny online, and absolutely loved them. When we learned a Tecovas store had opened on King Street we couldn't wait to go. My husband and I were there today and bought two pairs of boots. The customer service was awesome, relaxing, and top-shelf. We'll be back!

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Quality of the product

The fabulous staff

The beautiful store

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Nov 19, 2020

Great boots!

By Michael C., Lubbock, TX, Verified Reviewer

After my first pair (suede) I was so impressed I ordered 5 more pairs over time. They all fit great and were comfortable from day one. Nice craftsmanship with consistent quality.

Length of Use: 1–2 years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Fast shipping

High quality

Fair price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Posted on Oct 20, 2020

Bad customer service

By Richard B., California, Verified Reviewer

This company is one of the worst companies I have ever done business with. Customer service, they never answer you, they ship a pair of boots via FedEx and it goes to Charlotte in North Carolina, I live in Southern California. Why are the boots going to the East Coast when I live on the West Coast? When I email to find out why, no one ever answers me. If I put a stop payment on the payment of the boot, they would surely contact me. Looks to me like they only worry about money, not the customer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

Posted on Oct 16, 2020

Great company and products

By Todd S., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased 3 pairs of boots, black caiman, gun smoke ostrich, and gun smoke python as well as a pair of jeans, and both a large and small leather duffle.

So far all products have been great and any interaction with the company has been great as well.

Length of Use: 2+ years

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Style and quality

Fit and comfort

Price

No “cons” were specified in this review

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 1-11 of 45

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.