Carvana Reviews - How It Works, Warranty, Financing, Returns

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Carvana

Overall Rating

2.2

538 Customer Reviews

Summary

Carvana’s all-online used-car purchasing process allows you to choose a car online, get financing and have the car delivered directly to your home.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 538 Reviews
5 Star:19% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:6% 2 Star:11% 1 Star:57%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Carvana:
Sort Reviews By
This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.

Posted on Oct 22, 2019

Update

By Jesse R., California, Verified Reviewer

10/21/19 Found the car back for sale on their website and no email letting me know. With it being back up this soon, that means there was no "fix" to the car and I was lied to. Very dishonest and poor business practices.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 22, 2019

Update

By Matthew C., Florence, SC, Verified Reviewer

Will see what happens.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2019

Worst car-buying experience EVER!

By Bonnie K., Portsmouth, NH, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely the worst car buying experience EVER! You people should be ashamed. EVERY TIME I speak to you about the same ongoing issue, I get completely different answers each time.

I purchased my car a couple of months ago. I received a call at the last minute letting me know their hauler wasn't working and 2 of their reps had to personally drive my car to me, from GA to NH. I was in desperate need of a car, so I accepted their offer. The car was a filthy mess inside and out upon receiving it. After the initial 7-day test drive, learning more about the car, which was skipped entirely when going over the car in person, I learned that my car was almost bone dry in oil and needed to go for an oil change right away, which is not 100% typical when buying a car through a so-called reputable company.

After another couple of weeks, I realized that my temp tags were about to expire. I called Carvana to find out the status of my registration and was told, I never sent in an Ltd. POA, which you all need to act on my behalf. I signed not only the POA, but a stack of other forms, in the 2 Carvana employees' presence, as well as in front of my husband. The 2nd Carvana rep who was there that day even signed as a witness and the 1st employee notarized it. The woman on the phone, when I later called to find out the status, had the audacity to ask me "well, maybe you accidentally kept it, so you can go get it notarized?" Ummm...?! If she had ANY CLUE, she would know I couldn't bring an already-signed form to get notarized by another party who didn't witness the signing of the form. AND, coincidentally, you have every other form that was signed by me on the date of delivery of my car...just not the POA?! So, not only do you all not know where that form is, but there is a signed POA, just floating around somewhere. So, you all got me a new POA which I signed, notarized and overnighted back to you ASAP. All during which, Carvana told me to go to the DMV, with only a P&S in hand to beg for another temporary plate. Which I did. And received.

And fast forward again to 2 days ago when I realized my temp tags were about to expire again. So I called Carvana and asked what this 2nd hold up is about. It's been well over 2 months and any communication about any of this seems to only be coming FROM ME, TO YOU...with STILL no resolution IN SIGHT. I told you all (2 days ago) that my local DMV wouldn't issue me another temp tag; the 1st time was a courtesy, since I didn't have the registration in hand yet...still! So you tell me you are going to put me in a rental, on your dime (but just wait...again, there's yet ANOTHER catch to this nightmare!). Apparently it is Carvana's policy to only rent out standard vehicles (Corolla or smaller). There's nothing wrong with that car, but if that small of a car fit my needs, I would've bought a small car instead of a full size SUV. Also, we were getting ready to drive 7 hours for a pre-planned trip (this is yesterday now) and there was NO way literally to fit all of our stuff! The 1st Carvana rep said she spoke to the local Enterprise Rent-a-Car and they advised her they were all out of SUVs. When we called back, a 2nd rep said that was incorrect; she didn't know if the local Enterprise had SUVs, or not, but that they didn't have the authority to upgrade us from a standard vehicle and that every member of the mgmt team was in an all-day meeting...and no one had the ability to override anything. The rep I spoke to actually encouraged me to drive my UN-registered vehicle the 20-30 minutes to the closest Enterprise location and risk getting pulled over and having my car towed, if not worse! So instead we wound up paying even more by taking a cab for the 30-minute drive to Enterprise.

My husband and I decided to just go to Enterprise and work it out ourselves, since all we've received from Day 1 has been lies and dealing with completely rude and incompetent staff. At one point, yesterday during all of this back and forth drama and lengthy conversations with DISGUSTINGLY RUDE and INCOMPETENT STAFF, the Carvana rep on the phone was yelling at me, LITERALLY (whomever is reading this...I encourage you to pull the phone call between us and your company to learn of this yourself), screaming over my voice so I couldn't get a word in. Once we got to Enterprise, the manager said no one from Carvana had called them at any point that day thus far and he didn't appreciate Carvana putting words into his mouth, that were not only unauthorized, but were lies. It turned out they had plenty of SUVs. After receiving a call from a Carvana Manager, it took about 30 seconds to upgrade us to the larger vehicle to suit our needs, but that we still needed to pay the deposit. Carvana has now taken over a $6.000 down payment and 2 months of car payments from me...and all I have to show for it is an SUV sitting in my garage that would be illegal for me to drive. And they STILL don't have an ETA for me for my registration!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 22, 2019

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with insight on your Carvana purchase. We are truly sorry about the multiple delays in receiving your registration as well as the condition of which your vehicle was delivered in as we understand this can completely turn around your car buying experience. Carvana prides ourselves in providing the best customer service, to hear that you received less then that is truly disappointing. After reviewing your account, we do see you have been in touch with our Post-Sale Department and were able to get your concerns resolved. We appreciate all of your patience and please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any further concerns.

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2019

"Where buying a car sucks"

By Carmen W., New York City, NY, Verified Reviewer

I've heard from my friends that buying a car from Carvana was more convenient than an actual dealership so I gave it a try. Boy was I wrong. There are just way too many people working on my case and each time they need to put me on hold to "understand the situation". The communication sucks, no one reaches out to you to let you know your process is completed or if there are documents that need to be signed. I was rescheduled for my car delivery 4 times! I would call 2-3 days in advance for a verbal confirmation of my delivery date and time as well as an email confirmation that assured me each time I am getting my car on time. I've called off from work 4 times to receive a car that I have been waiting for almost 2 months for and I still do not have the car! The advocates are unhelpful and not empathetic to my situation except for one, who promised me a reimbursement for my wasted time. And now they're telling me they do not reimburse. This business is inadequate even with it being a great idea, there is just no structure to the execution here.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent experience. We are so sorry for what has transpired during your purchase process. Carvana prides ourselves in providing excellent customer service and to hear that you received otherwise is truly disappointing. Our team works as diligently as possible to ensure we provide our customers with accurate delivery dates and understand that at times we can fall short of that. We take your feedback seriously and will ensure that it is passed along to the proper departments. After reviewing your account, we do see you have been in touch with one of our Specialists regarding your concerns. Please do not hesitate to reach out with any further questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 18, 2019

Very bad service and delay the documents (registration)

By Arun A., Connecticut, Verified Reviewer

After the temporary registration expired, I didn’t get the registration, they told me it will take 15 days more...so I don’t recommend Carvana for anyone. Very bad experience, my car is going to waste for two weeks. I am an Uber driver, I don’t have a job for 15 days. Sfter I call their manager they don’t have any proper answer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

We are disappointed to hear of the miscommunication regarding your registration. At Carvana, we do strive to provide a seamless process before and after delivery of your vehicle. Thank you for your feedback as it is what allows us to grow and better serve our customers. We see that you have since been in contact with one of our Specialists. If issues persist, please do not hesitate to reach out.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 17, 2019

What a joke. Don't waste your time.

By Amy B., Las Vegas, NV, Verified Reviewer

Deplorable company who simply wasted many hours and hours of my time. They expect everyone to be an old-fashioned W2 employee. Despite continuously showing them 8 different ways solid proof of my independent contractor income, they kept finding more ways to waste my time, upload new documents, etc. Every customer service rep will tell you something different. Good luck trying to get through to someone in a timely manner - you can call and get a message saying your wait time is under 5 minutes and it would often take an hour plus to get through to someone. What a total disappointment. I feel suckered. I have never in my life experienced something as frustrating as this experience was.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 18, 2019

We appreciate that you have taken the time to express your concerns regarding your Carvana experience. We are sorry that your underwriting process has not been as seamless as we strive for. Please rest assured that we do not intend for this step in your purchase to be difficult and want to apologize for any misunderstanding we have caused you. At Carvana we do value your time and we want your experience to be amazing. We are sorry that you endured long hold times and understand this can be very frustrating. Please know that we are working on fixing this issue to better serve our customers in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback we appreciate that you have brought these concerns to our attention.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Never inspected the car

By Ryan D., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I was on the market for an SUV because of my first newborn. No 150-point inspection! Delayed car for 3 weeks because of repairs so canceled the order for a 2016 Acura first (broken rear window) then a KIA Sorento SXL 2016 (broken center console then powerlift gate). Also, be careful of car model and make because sometimes it is different in the window sticker.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 21, 2019

Ryan, thank you for providing feedback about your experience with Carvana. We apologize as this is not the experience we want any of our customers. All of our vehicles are used, which does mean there will be standard wear associated with normal vehicle usage. Our 150-point inspection is important, as we will address all necessary repairs in order to have the vehicle meet our high standards. We want to apologize for the delay in your deliveries as we wanted to ensure the vehicle met these standards but understand the inconvenience this delay caused you. Although you decided not to purchase a vehicle through Carvana, we hope that you were still able to find that perfect vehicle.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Wonderful company!

By Sandra B., Frankfort, KY, Verified Reviewer

I was intrigued by an online car dealership. I knew I wanted a certain make and model of a Rogue. I was patient until I found the exact match. Ordering was a breeze. The Carvana employees were super. My car arrived on time and I had a mechanic check it out during the 7-day trial window. The mechanic gave it an A! Can’t say enough about this company-all positive. Loved it so much I bought stock in the company! It had increased 40 percent since I purchased it! I wouldn’t miss out on this company!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 15, 2019

Horrible experience, they do no inspect the documents or vehicle!

By Jose R., Nebraska, Verified Reviewer

It has been a horrible experience. They first deleted all my contacts and asked to resign them. After that the truck was to be delivered and the delivery took way longer than usual, and finally to top it off when they sent the vehicle's title, they never bothered to check if the VIN number on the title matched the vehicle, which it didn't, and I had a horrible time at the sheriff's department trying to explain to them that I bought the car from Carvana and it was their mistake. After that, they promised an Enterprise rental would pick me up and they lied to me, kept me calling Enterprise and Carvana for over 4 hours and in the end nothing was solved. I don't recommend! Keep it local, these guys do not know what they are doing!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 25, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the opportunity to provide feedback on your purchase experience. We want to ensure that each of our customers have a great experience from beginning to end. Overall, your experience does not reflect the convenience and ease that we hope to provide for every customer, and for that we are truly sorry. We are happy to see that you have been in communication with our team to find an amicable solution in regard to the title. If you have any questions moving forward, please give us a call at (800) 333-4554.

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 11, 2019

What a waste of time. Go to CarMax, J.D. Byrider, etc...

By Joe D., Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

Ordered a vehicle and was scheduled for delivery on September 13. They emailed the 12th and said there was a delay. After calling I was told the vehicle was damaged while loading (doubtful). They said they would need to repaint a bumper. When I asked if the price would be reduced because now it's been in an accident, they said no. Was then scheduled for September 27th. On September 26 I checked to see if I had any more "delay" emails. I did not, but when I checked the website my car's delivery date wad no longer September 27th, it was now October 10th. They didn't even notify me of this. When I called they said they will call back and never did. The next day I went to CarMax and bought a 2018 malibu with 19k miles for $16k and a better APR. These guys lie about delivery dates, they are not big enough nor do they have the resources to deliver on time.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Carvana

Oct 16, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Carvana aims to provide customers with the ideal car-buying experience. It looks like we fell short in your case and we sincerely apologize for that. Although unexpected delays can happen, we try our best to reach out and notify customers when these unexpected issues arise. Carvana conducts a 150 point inspection and wants to ensure each vehicle we deliver meets our high standards and would never want to give you a vehicle that is less than that. As Carvana continues to grow, we want to improve every aspect of the car buying process. We take your feedback very seriously and will notify the proper teams. Please contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 10, 2019

Shocked and IMPRESSED

By Diamante C., New Britain, CT, Verified Reviewer

Not only was the process easy and quick, my delivery was on time and we had no issues. Besides having to resubmit a few documents for verification purposes everything went smoothly. I purchased the vehicle and a week later had it at my doorstep. Very pleased.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted
Showing 122-132 of 538

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.