About ChristianMingle.com

Based out of Los Angeles, CA, and owned by Spark Networks, LLC, ChristianMingle.com is a website specifically tailored to Christians looking for relationships with other Christians, or simply to establish friendships with those of the same faith. In business since 1996, ChristianMingle promotes friendships, relationships, and marriages based on biblical principles. According to their website, not only is ChristianMingle a dating website, but the company stands behind the Gospel, and confesses Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior. In addition, many of the Advisory Board members are well know Charismatic and Evangelical pastors and leaders.

ChristianMingle.com Features

Like many other online dating sites, including Zoosk, getting started with ChristianMingle is simple and free of charge. When first signing up, you will be prompted to include personal details such as height, gender, date of birth, ethnicity, current city, smoking/drinking preferences, if you’ve ever been married, and whether or not you want children. Other questions correspond specifically to Christian life, such as if you regularly attend church, your denomination, and if you’re part of a ministry.

Once you’ve completed all the questions, you can then begin browsing Christian Mingle using basic or advanced filters, for information such as age range, level of education, smoking preferences, body type, whether or not an individual was raised in the church, and more. With a free guest membership, you have the ability to create your own profile, search the profiles of others, post photographs, send and receive smiles/cards, take part in the message boards, and view upcoming events.

ChristianMingle.com Paid Subscription

If you want to take advantage of all the features offered through ChristianMingle.com, you will need to become a paid member. In addition to the features found in the free membership, you’ll also gain access to the full range of communication tools, including email, instant messaging, private chat rooms, and public message boards. If you already have a free account, you’ll simply need to click on the Upgrade button at the top of the page. Membership fees are as follows:

  • $29.99 per month, on a month-to-month basis
  • $11.39 per month, by paying for three months in advance (lump sum payment of $34.18)
  • $8.39 per month, by paying for six months in advance (lump sum payment of $50.36)

In addition, there is a processing fee of $3.99 added to all first-time subscribers.

The prices above reflect ChristianMingle’s summer 2013 special, which tend to change on a seasonal basis. However, keep in mind that when your plan comes around for renewal, you will be billed standard prices, regardless of the price at which you signed up.

Pros:

  • Dating site specifically tailored to Christian singles.
  • Promotes biblically based relationships.
  • Free to sign up and begin browsing profiles.

Cons:

  • Numerous complaints of excessive promotional email from ChristianMingle, and difficulty unsubscribing from their mailing list.
  • Many complaints of a variety of frauds/scams, though this is a problem encountered on most dating sites.
  • Many accounts of users who claim to be Christians, but who ended up being very different in person.
  • Site design is outdated, and utilizes obsolete interfaces and other technology.

SEE ALSO: Watch Out for These 6 Red Flags When Dating Online

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

9 Consumer Reviews for ChristianMingle.com

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  8
Bottom Line: 11% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-9 of 9
Sort reviews by:

  • Account was hacked. Customer service was unable to help.

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Oct 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my account for almost a month and was very disappointed because my only contact was with scammers, so I canceled my subscription knowing I wouldn’t get my money back, $149.00, but I would not be auto-renewed in six months. Today I got bombarded with women reaching out to me and all wanting me to email the uncle. I received at least 15 messages from different women all with the same uncle’s email. Obviously, my account was hacked. My name has been changed from Kathy to Raymond and my birthday changed by one day. There was no way to access customer service from the app, so I googled it and started an online chat. Nick H couldn’t help me unless I gave him the amount and exact date I started my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Do not pay for an account

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I created an account in July of 2018. Two days later I received a message that my account was suspended due to "suspicion of fraud and your purchase has been refunded." I had made no purchase. In fact, I never interacted with the handful of matches on the site. I was then told that in order to re-activate my account I had to provide: 1) "A copy of a recent, institution issued statement (such as a bank statement, credit card statement or utility bill)" and 2) "A scanned color copy of a valid, government-issued photo ID." What?! Be VERY leery of this operation.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    ChristianMingle is a scam!

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Having been on ChristianMingle FOR OVER a month with not a single match, I can assure you it is a scam. They are also much pricier than any other online dating site. Touting they are a Christian site is a con...they have all kinds of people on the site. I should have just thrown my money out the car window, at least someone "in need" might have found it. NEVER AGAIN with ChristianMingle.

    BUYER BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don’t waste your time or money

    • Florida,
    • Jun 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got nothing out of this site. Limited matches are shown. Absolutely no results. Account got hacked, numerous problems. Thre appears to be a lot of scammers on this site. A total waste of time and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Waste of my money!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Mar 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I decided to try this site, and it’s been such a waste of money. I have been on here for a week and for some reason they can’t get my profile to be seen by others. I've contacted them twice, and no one has gotten back to me to explain what’s going on. I feel that since they received their money, they should make things right but that’s definitely not the case. Now I’m inclined to believe all of the negative reviews that I’ve read, and I don’t believe these are real men that are currently on their site. I think by calling it a Christian site makes people want to trust and believe in them. I canceled my subscription and will definitely let people know NOT to use this site at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Calm, Rational, and Unbiased

    • Saint Paul, MN,
    • Jun 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Whenever a business decides to put itself before its customers, I feel an urge to share my story with others (in a hopefully calm, rational, and unbiased way). ChristianMingle recently gave me this urge. I actively used ChristianMingle from May 2015 to March 2016, which is when I met my current girlfriend (I met her on another website, not ChristianMingle). I had a good experience using it, but then I was charged for an auto-renewal of $113.94 in May 2016. I emailed them telling them my situation and that I had forgotten that I would be charged for an auto-renewal for an additional 6 months when my time was up. I have a lot of memberships - some auto-renew and some don't, so it's tough to keep track of. The overwhelming majority of businesses understand this and are understanding when I ask if I can get a refund from an auto-renew (I've probably had this happen about 5 other times - all the businesses were totally cool giving me a refund).

    I emailed them asking if I could get a refund since I hadn't used their website since March (when I entered my current relationship) and had no intention of using it for the time being. I thought this was a reasonable request, but they didn't think so. They told me several times that it's in their "Terms" that I accepted and I should've been more on top of it and canceled my service before the auto-renewal hit. I told them that's fine, but I promised I would never use their service again if they wouldn't make this exception. They told me to call them so they could assist me with my recent charge.

    After 4 call attempts on 3 different days (they closed over 2 hours early one day, closed for lunch another, long hold time), they finally pick up. They look into my situation and tell me that they aren't going to give me a refund, because I basically should've known better and should've canceled my subscription before the auto-renew charge occurred (thank you for making me feel like a 14-year old getting a lecture from an adult again). Essentially it was all my fault. I find it funny that they told me to call them so they could "assist me with my recent charge" by telling me exactly what they told me over email. I told them I would never use their service again if this was the stance they were going to take and they seemed fine with it (they must have all the money and business they could possibly want).

    Like I said earlier, this is one of those rare occasions where the business puts itself before its customers and I thought I should share my story so others don't need to experience the same thing. They knew my situation, they knew I hadn't used their service since March, and still decided to charge me thru November while giving me a lecture about how I'm not a responsible person, because it was in their "Terms" agreement.

    Blessings,

    A calm, rational, and unbiased customer

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    These People are Crooks

    • Knoxville TN,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    If I could have given them zero stars I would have. I signed up for a 6 month plan at a special price. Of course it was in the fine print that they auto renew you in 6 months. That would have been bad enough, but they renew you at the inflated regular price. So now I have six more months to go on a crappy dating site and also get to pay $30 extra dollars for it, for a total of $77 dollars. I called them 2 hours after the transaction was put through. It was still in "pending" status. They refused to cancel it, saying it was stated in the contract. He asked why I wanted to leave and I explained that I wasn't getting enough quality people contacting me and he asked if I wanted him to look over my profile to see if he had any tips for me. Uh NO, I just want my $77 dollars back. Highway robbery. I will never on purpose join again. Crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Highly Recommend

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    Before I found Christian Mingle, I had used other dating websites and found them all to have the same problem. See, I am a Christian who tries to live a life based on biblical beliefs and was searching for a man who did the same. But I always found the other sites would send me people that said they were Christian and never went to church. Or said they were Christian and tried to cheat people.

    What I found at Christian Mingle was a company that was run by Christians who actually wanted to create a dating site that helped people like me sort out those who were not match material. I feel the start up questions they asked me to receive matches helped limit the matches that really didn't match my religious beliefs.

    So if you are truly looking for God's match for you, pray that God gives you direction. Pray about giving Christian Mingle a try. Now I can't say everyone one is a perfect match but that's why it sometimes takes effort on our part to get out there and meet new people. I did and found my husband. After 5 dates from others on Christian Mingle, I found the love of my life. Thanks Christian Mingle for running an ethical business and keeping Christ at the center of it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Waste of time and money

    • Charleston, SC,
    • Jun 12, 2015

    I subscribed so I could contact others and give contact info to unsubscribers so they could contact me and I would put my phone number in the subject line of the message so they could see it as an unsubscriber and christianmingle.com permanently deleted my account for breaking contract rules. They robbed me of $40 and refuse to refund me. Useless site and I highly discourage any Christian or any person from using this site. They are all about the money. These people are not true Christians they are a disgrace to God and everyone else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-9 of 9

Write a Review for ChristianMingle.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review