About OurTime

OurTime is an online dating website specifically targeted at single men and women ages 50 and over.

In order to begin using OurTime.com, you’ll first need to sign up for a free account by entering your name and email address, choosing a username, and then uploading a photo and writing a short bio about yourself (both of which are optional, but greatly increase your chances of meeting a match). You can also answer questions about yourself such as height, weight, gender, marital status, smoking preferences, your body type (e.g. “slender,” “a few extra pounds,” “big and beautiful,” etc.), as well as how you’d classify your looks.

Once your OurTime account is set up, you’ll gain immediate access to your dashboard, which includes your inbox, a list of people who have viewed you, your Flirts, other users the system has automatically matched you with based on answers to the above questions (known as Instant Match), as well as the number of tokens remaining (more about this in a moment). You’ll also be able to view members who are currently using the site and who are available for live chat.

With this said, the primary communication methods you’ll use on OurTime.com are:

  • Flirts, which are “nudges” you can send to other users to let them know you’re interested based on the information found in their profile.
  • Direct messages
  • Live chat

Nearly all communication on OurTime will begin with Flirts, and if the other user is interested you can begin sending messages back and forth, and eventually have a live chat session.

Sounds pretty straightforward, right? But regardless of the type of relationship you’re pursuing, is OurTime.com the best way to meet someone over the age of 50? Consider the following:

Beware of Online Dating Scams

Unlike some of the other well-known “mainstream” dating sites such as Match.com and eHarmony.com, OurTime.com does not attempt to verify that the information posted by each user is legitimate, so you’ll have no idea if they’re being truthful or not.

Because of this, you’ll want to familiarize yourself with OurTime’s Safe Dating Tips before you contact other users.

Other Mature Dating Websites

Also, keep in mind that there are several other niche websites for mature individuals, so you’re not just limited to OurTime.com. In fact, as we’ll discuss in a moment, the company behind OurTime even hosts another mature dating site called SeniorPeopleMeet.com.

What’s the Deal with All These Tokens?

Do you remember taking your kids to the carnival, county fair, or indoor arcade/playground, and purchasing a ton of tokens in order to play games, enjoy rides, and eat all the fun junk food? Well, once you move outside of traditional dating sites, the trend seems to be nickel-and-diming you for each and every connection you make, using this same token/coin concept.

This means that in addition to the cost of your membership, you can also purchase OurTime.com coins to help promote yourself and put your profile in front of more users. However, unlike other coin/token-based sites, such as AnastasiaDate, Zoosk, and FarmersOnly.com, it appears OurTime only uses coins for self-promotion, in addition to hiring the services of the company’s Profile Pro profile consulting service, which can help you “design a profile that will get you noticed and boost your chances for romance.”

We’ll talk more about this in the Pricing section, but keep in mind that using this coin-based model, you can quickly spend tens (or hundreds) of dollars promoting your OurTime profile in the blink of an eye.

Why Don’t Customers Seem Pleased with OurTime?

Overall, it appears that the vast majority of OurTime.com members were dissatisfied with their experience. Why?

Because based on more than 230 BestReviews.net reviews (as of 3/2/15), OurTime had an average rating of 1.5 stars. Here, most complaints appear to revolve around fake accounts set up to lure you into paying more (we’ll talk about this again in the final section), which is known as a romance scam; the inability to adjust key search criteria (e.g. age range, distance from your location, etc.); the automatic account renewal feature; and poor (essentially non-existent) customer service.

In addition, DatingSiteReview.com readers gave OurTime.com an average rating of 2.1 stars, with many of the same complaints noted previously.

From a company perspective, OurTime is owned by People Media, Inc., who also operates Match.com and other niche dating sites such as BlackPeopleMeet.com, CatholicPeopleMeet.com, JPeopleMeet.com, LoveAndSeek.com, SeniorPeopleMeet.com, and SingleParentmeet.com. The company holds an F rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 540 closed complaints (as of 3/2/15). Once again, nearly all complaints reference the same situations as above.

OurTime.com Pricing & Refund Policy

OurTime is free to join, although you’ll need to upgrade to a paid membership if you want to read flirts you’ve received, to send emails, and to chat live with other members. Prices are as follows:

  • 1 Month: $29.99 – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Standard: $88.94 ($14.99/mo) – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Best Value: $107.94 ($17.99/mo) – Includes mobile access, message read notification, profile highlight, and message highlight.

Important note: Keep in mind that your membership plan will automatically renew, so if you don’t want this to occur, you’ll need to contact the company and have your account cancelled before the renewal date. As we mentioned above, this automatic renewal feature is the top complaint associated with OurTime, so it’s very important to keep this in mind if you decide to give the site a try.

In addition to your membership fees, if you’d like to promote your profile or get some assistance writing your bio, OurTime.com tokens are priced as follows:

  • 25 Tokens: $0.99
  • 110 Tokens: $3.99
  • 280 Tokens: $9.99

Another important note: According to the token ordering page on the OurTime.com website, “If your token balance reaches 20 or below, your purchase will automatically renew for the same price and same number until you cancel via your Token settings page. By purchasing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal.” Like your membership plan, this means you’ll continue being charged for tokens you don’t need if you’re not careful.

According to OurTime’s Terms & Conditions, there are no refunds available. In addition, there is no phone number or email address with which to contact customer service; only an online contact form.

Can OurTime Help You Meet Singles Who Are 50+?

Chopping to the point: In short, OurTime might be able to help you meet other singles over the age of 50. However, based on the hundreds of poor customer reviews and their seeming reputation for underhanded billing tactics, it’s our opinion that you’ll want to watch your credit card charges very closely if you decide to sign up for OurTime.com.

In fact, despite the fact that we provided zero information about ourselves when signing up for a test OurTime account, we were contacted by two individuals within 5 minutes. Of course, we would have had to pay in order to view these messages, which may be a strong indication that these were fake accounts set up to convince you to hand over your hard-earned money.

See Also: Watch Out for These 6 Red Flags When Dating Online

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Consumer Reviews for OurTime

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Stay away from OurTime

    Most profiles are not active subscribers. You might as well just use the phone book. The last web design in early September 2017 makes the site even less functional, including hiding profile activity so you can no longer tell when or if the person you are looking at has even logged on to OurTime. No doubt done by OurTime to conceal that the vast majority of the profiles are NOT ACTIVE. Other changes since September include cropping photos so heads are cut off and message read (an additional fee for this one) does not work correctly (the extra charge OT collects from you does work just fine). Inept customer service rounds out the feelings of total frustration, and the knowledge that you got swindled.

    STAY AWAY. I did not think OurTime could get worse! I was wrong, it did.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Scammers playground

    • Saint Clair Shores, MI,
    • Sep 6, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two days into my membership and I knew it was a mistake. I was flooded with out of area/state scammers (under 50 years old). The website is difficult to navigate and steers you towards buying program upgrades. The cancellation process is near impossible! Don't get suckered into OurTime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Huge rip-off

    • Syracuse, NY,
    • Aug 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just called customer service to cancel after being conned into this and got a fake women, scam. Total scam.

    I paid with a credit card, not a good idea for these sites. Customer services message says to click Help, but the help is very hard to find and clicking on it just gives you info about how to add the site to a specific internet browser, not how to get your money back and cancel the "membership." More wasted time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    OurTime is an online dating site targeting the over 50 crowd. It seems like a good idea, but the system lacks a great deal of functionality and the number of people you can contact is limited.

    Anyone can sign up for a free account and view profiles, but they cannot communicate with other members.

    Anyone who is curious about the site must create a free profile to see if they will like it. This creates the illusion of having many members on the site, but in reality most are no longer using the site and even if they are, you are not able to communicate with them.

    Free members are able to send "flirts" and view profiles, but you must be a paid member to use any other feature. Once you become a paid member you will be able to receive flirts from unpaid members which means your inbox will be cluttered up with flirts from people cannot reply to any message you send them. The "flirt" function is a simple one click button so you can click on hundreds of profiles in a very short time, even though you did not read their profile and not able to follow up with further communication.

    To make matters worse, you have no way of knowing who is a paid member and who is not, so if you see someone you are interested in and spend the time to read their profile and send them a message, there is a very good chance that they will never see or read your message. As a paid member you will be able to see if they have read your message, but that is after you have already invested your energy into writing to a person that you think you might like.

    There is a “Match” feature that creates daily matches for you. However, those matches have nothing to do with the search criteria you are using and therefore are useless.

    The software runs slowly, and even though I am a paid member, the site contains ads that clutter up the screen. The chat feature will allow not allow me to enter more than about eight words without locking up, so I need to type a few words, hit enter, and type a few more and hit enter just to type a sentence.

    Along with the ads that clutter up your screen there are popup boxes that pop up every time someone views your profile. Although I’m sure some people like that I find both the ads and popup boxes distracting.

    Once you become a paid member you will have the opportunity to pay for extra features by buying tokens. You will need tokens to use the Match Me, Promote Me, and Notify Me features or to give virtual gifts.

    I do not recommend anyone use this system unless you are bored and don’t mind browsing through inactive profiles and reading through automated messages that are sent to your inbox automatically when someone clicks on a button on profile before going on the next profile.

    The one plus of this system is that customer care responded to my concerns very quickly. They were not able solve any of my concerns but they responded very quickly and confirmed that there was no way for me to know who was a paid member and which members were no longer active.

    There are better online dating sites out there that are more user friendly operated by companies that have more integrity and value your time. I would definitely give this site a thumbs down.

    Also, check out the 382 complaints with the BBB at https://www.bbb.org/dallas/business-reviews/dating-service/people-media-in-dallas-tx-90248947.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • The worst!

    This is advertised as a 50+ dating site. I received approximately 98% of my mail from females (not even so sure of the female part) in the 20-30 age group asking for my phone number, personal email, etc.

    The company's customer service people speak a non-English form of English combined with the Philippines phone system, which makes communication next to impossible. I have attempted to cancel my account/profile on four separate occasions. I'll see if the latest attempt works.

    Terrible site, terrible company, terrible customer service! No value, don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Blatant customer service lies to get you to pay!

    Knowing that many dating sites have fake profiles and false messages that land in your inbox and are not really real personal messages, I called customer service first to ask if the messages were real and written personally to me and not auto messages. They said yes, so I paid for a one-month subscription. They put in a one-time joiners fee of $4.00 added on.

    When I got to that box, out of 11 messages there really only were 10 (I was told one of the users was removed from getting my emails?). I found out that only two were real personal letters. Of those, one was a four-word meaningless sentence, and the other was an obscene long letter from someone who was not even the right gender. The rest of the "messages" were canned auto messages from non-paying members. Not one person that I wrote to ever answered my email. Mind you, I am not a dog. I believe that either these were not paying members, or they were fake profiles.

    People should be reporting this site to their attorney generals offices, and Better Business agencies and the site should know this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don't waste your time or money

    I signed up for a one-month membership. But, experience taught me to check my account settings first. Sure enough, it was set up for auto-renewal. That alone pissed me off. And then come the scammers, creeps, and weirdos from all over the country! I could tell they hadn't read one word of my profile. Now come the requests for your private email. Yeah, right! I deleted my profile and gave them a big, fat, resounding "NO."

    I would NEVER recommend their site! I also took pictures of my account screen showing I WAS NOT signed up for auto-renewal. Did the same showing that I deleted my account. Stay away, ladies, nothing but trouble awaits.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Worst user interface ever

    • Portland, OR,
    • May 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The OurTime site has the worst user interface. Its target is for the 50+ crowd, but I find the homepage to be so distracting. When I go to check my mail, there are constant pop-ups to distract me, usually telling me that someone is viewing my profile. Annoying!

    Part of the page is taken up by ads, and then the other side has a list of people who are available to chat. I just want to see my inbox, and the rest of it is visual noise.

    Why am I getting daily matches for people who are so much older than me or who live in another state? Can't they target the matches based on my search parameters?

    Speaking of search parameters, I figured out how to add filters, but I still get a lot of matches in my search that doesn't fit the parameters.

    I get a lot of emails, and when I click on them, the person has been removed from the site. I can get multiple items in my inbox from one person and most of them aren't actual emails. I wish emails would also go to my email account so I didn't have to log on to read emails.

    There's nothing much about this site that I like. The reason I signed up is because I fall into the 50+ age group. I wouldn't recommend this site to anyone and won't be renewing my subscription.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    They are a rip off

    • Canton, Ohio,
    • May 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They sent me an offer for $19.98 for a 1-month subscription and turned around and charged me $$84.81. And when I sent an email complaining, they sent me an automated response and in no way did they try to fix the problem. So I canceled the membership and have been ripped off the money. They should be reported to the BBB. If they tried to work with me, I wouldn't be so angry!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother

    After some strange coincidences on day 4 of my membership, I decided to read reviews of the site. On the same day, within minutes, two of the men I'd been corresponding with gave excuses why we should email instead. I proceeded to get a lengthy email with a sob story. I checked out the name, and the name and profession corresponded to an exec in another state. No such person in the town he gave. Both emails had the same typos and mistakes.

    Fake accounts, just like I'd read. Doesn't seem to be real science behind the matches, they are not what your preferences are. I wouldn't bother with this site.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Advertising ads on a dating website you are paying for!

    • New Mexico,
    • Mar 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Personally, I did not have a positive experience on this site. This was mainly due to heavy advertising ads on my personal home page of OurTime. I have been on several dating websites that are fantastic, and have no advertising! I can understand that free dating sites use marketing ads, but when you are paying (OurTime is not free), then having to put up with advertising ads is just tacky.

    Because of this, I only visited the OurTime website a few times and ended up wasting a bunch of money. I do not recommend it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for OurTime!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review