About OurTime

OurTime is an online dating website specifically targeted at single men and women ages 50 and over.

In order to begin using OurTime.com, you’ll first need to sign up for a free account by entering your name and email address, choosing a username, and then uploading a photo and writing a short bio about yourself (both of which are optional, but greatly increase your chances of meeting a match). You can also answer questions about yourself such as height, weight, gender, marital status, smoking preferences, your body type (e.g. “slender,” “a few extra pounds,” “big and beautiful,” etc.), as well as how you’d classify your looks.

Once your OurTime account is set up, you’ll gain immediate access to your dashboard, which includes your inbox, a list of people who have viewed you, your Flirts, other users the system has automatically matched you with based on answers to the above questions (known as Instant Match), as well as the number of tokens remaining (more about this in a moment). You’ll also be able to view members who are currently using the site and who are available for live chat.

With this said, the primary communication methods you’ll use on OurTime.com are:

  • Flirts, which are “nudges” you can send to other users to let them know you’re interested based on the information found in their profile.
  • Direct messages
  • Live chat

Nearly all communication on OurTime will begin with Flirts, and if the other user is interested you can begin sending messages back and forth, and eventually have a live chat session.

Sounds pretty straightforward, right? But regardless of the type of relationship you’re pursuing, is OurTime.com the best way to meet someone over the age of 50? Consider the following:

Beware of Online Dating Scams

Unlike some of the other well-known “mainstream” dating sites such as Match.com and eHarmony.com, OurTime.com does not attempt to verify that the information posted by each user is legitimate, so you’ll have no idea if they’re being truthful or not.

Because of this, you’ll want to familiarize yourself with OurTime’s Safe Dating Tips before you contact other users.

Other Mature Dating Websites

Also, keep in mind that there are several other niche websites for mature individuals, so you’re not just limited to OurTime.com. In fact, as we’ll discuss in a moment, the company behind OurTime even hosts another mature dating site called SeniorPeopleMeet.com.

What’s the Deal with All These Tokens?

Do you remember taking your kids to the carnival, county fair, or indoor arcade/playground, and purchasing a ton of tokens in order to play games, enjoy rides, and eat all the fun junk food? Well, once you move outside of traditional dating sites, the trend seems to be nickel-and-diming you for each and every connection you make, using this same token/coin concept.

This means that in addition to the cost of your membership, you can also purchase OurTime.com coins to help promote yourself and put your profile in front of more users. However, unlike other coin/token-based sites, such as AnastasiaDate, Zoosk, and FarmersOnly.com, it appears OurTime only uses coins for self-promotion, in addition to hiring the services of the company’s Profile Pro profile consulting service, which can help you “design a profile that will get you noticed and boost your chances for romance.”

We’ll talk more about this in the Pricing section, but keep in mind that using this coin-based model, you can quickly spend tens (or hundreds) of dollars promoting your OurTime profile in the blink of an eye.

Why Don’t Customers Seem Pleased with OurTime?

Overall, it appears that the vast majority of OurTime.com members were dissatisfied with their experience. Why?

Because based on more than 230 BestReviews.net reviews (as of 3/2/15), OurTime had an average rating of 1.5 stars. Here, most complaints appear to revolve around fake accounts set up to lure you into paying more (we’ll talk about this again in the final section), which is known as a romance scam; the inability to adjust key search criteria (e.g. age range, distance from your location, etc.); the automatic account renewal feature; and poor (essentially non-existent) customer service.

In addition, DatingSiteReview.com readers gave OurTime.com an average rating of 2.1 stars, with many of the same complaints noted previously.

From a company perspective, OurTime is owned by People Media, Inc., who also operates Match.com and other niche dating sites such as BlackPeopleMeet.com, CatholicPeopleMeet.com, JPeopleMeet.com, LoveAndSeek.com, SeniorPeopleMeet.com, and SingleParentmeet.com. The company holds an F rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 540 closed complaints (as of 3/2/15). Once again, nearly all complaints reference the same situations as above.

OurTime.com Pricing & Refund Policy

OurTime is free to join, although you’ll need to upgrade to a paid membership if you want to read flirts you’ve received, to send emails, and to chat live with other members. Prices are as follows:

  • 1 Month: $29.99 – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Standard: $88.94 ($14.99/mo) – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Best Value: $107.94 ($17.99/mo) – Includes mobile access, message read notification, profile highlight, and message highlight.

Important note: Keep in mind that your membership plan will automatically renew, so if you don’t want this to occur, you’ll need to contact the company and have your account cancelled before the renewal date. As we mentioned above, this automatic renewal feature is the top complaint associated with OurTime, so it’s very important to keep this in mind if you decide to give the site a try.

In addition to your membership fees, if you’d like to promote your profile or get some assistance writing your bio, OurTime.com tokens are priced as follows:

  • 25 Tokens: $0.99
  • 110 Tokens: $3.99
  • 280 Tokens: $9.99

Another important note: According to the token ordering page on the OurTime.com website, “If your token balance reaches 20 or below, your purchase will automatically renew for the same price and same number until you cancel via your Token settings page. By purchasing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal.” Like your membership plan, this means you’ll continue being charged for tokens you don’t need if you’re not careful.

According to OurTime’s Terms & Conditions, there are no refunds available. In addition, there is no phone number or email address with which to contact customer service; only an online contact form.

Can OurTime Help You Meet Singles Who Are 50+?

Chopping to the point: In short, OurTime might be able to help you meet other singles over the age of 50. However, based on the hundreds of poor customer reviews and their seeming reputation for underhanded billing tactics, it’s our opinion that you’ll want to watch your credit card charges very closely if you decide to sign up for OurTime.com.

In fact, despite the fact that we provided zero information about ourselves when signing up for a test OurTime account, we were contacted by two individuals within 5 minutes. Of course, we would have had to pay in order to view these messages, which may be a strong indication that these were fake accounts set up to convince you to hand over your hard-earned money.

See Also: Watch Out for These 6 Red Flags When Dating Online

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 48 OurTime Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 4% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 48
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Lies

    • Oak Ridge, TN,
    • Jul 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Met Thomas. Admitted he lied about his age. So I asked questions and did research. Said he was a widower. Could not verify. Found former home. Sold, and wife listed in another state. Did not like questions but I am not going to trust when he admits the first time we met he lied. Not sure I want to pay to meet a person who lies. And THEN says he wanted a sexual relationship. I’d already said no. Just not worth the stress.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jun 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The worst site imaginable. Look forward to spending two minutes verifying that you're not a computer every time you log in (after paying), so you can see 45 people, two of whom you're interested in (in a top 5 city in terms of population in the US), one of whom has been online in the last year...and a bunch of people a hundred miles away. All good reviews about this horrible site online are ones they paid for. Run for the internet hills.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    The internet is full of consumer traps

    • Maryland,
    • May 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    OurTime.com: I deleted my information from your website many days ago. I thought I had quit your website, but you still charge for it. I went to my account many times and you went to see it, but it showed that “We apologize for the inconvenience: Access to your Account Settings is currently unavailable. Please try again later.” It can't be canceled at all. As a result, you deducted another month's fee of $32 from my credit card, which seems like a trap, because when I pay for my credit card, it's hard to notice, and I have to do everything possible to cancel it, otherwise you will automatically charge continuously. I buy the most expensive in a short period of time one month because I just don't want to buy cheap but for many months and a long time, as a result, you still deduct the most expensive month in a row, which can not be the wishes of consumers. I hope you can return the $32 deducted this month (May) to my credit card.

    Thank you very much.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't use this dating site.

    • Lawrence, KS,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up over a month ago, and then I canceled my automatic renewal because I found this site difficult to navigate, and not many profile choices. After I canceled, I got bombarded with the site's ads with every keystroke, which was an unpleasant experience. I complained to the site's email only to have more of their ads bombard me. The site was so unpleasant that I took a loss by removing my profile. Dating sites should be a halfway enjoyable experience. Do some research on this company because they have other dating sites as well. The company that owns this site has an "F" rating with the BBB.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Difficult setup

    • Wisconsin,
    • Mar 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started to sign up for their "SeniorPeopleMeet" and was redirected. Spent hours trying to set up the app on my phone - kept giving me a useless error message.

    This morning I did, and found that:

    1) There is nothing much you can do without paying, and paying a lot.

    2) I know my small town, and I know that nearly, if not all, profiles they show me here are fake.

    Zero stars unavailable.

    A minimum of a $1 a day for introductions to non-existent people?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Every SINGLE time I log in, it makes me change my password

    • New Jersey,
    • Feb 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I find it extremely aggravating that every SINGLE time I go to log in, and I mean every time, it says it doesn't recognize my email and password. So I have to keep changing my passwords. So I have to keep a log because it won't let you reuse an old password and I've gone through so many. I tried changing browsers, no help. The site itself is decent. I had no luck getting guys to respond on Match at all and I consider myself a decent looking 64-year-old woman. Although Match does provide more detail in the profile, which I like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Poor review

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Feb 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not a user-friendly sigh up site. Almost gave up. Member for two months and bailed. Scammers a-plenty, and most members are insincere. Looking for a sugar daddy I suspect. However, best member profiles I have encountered when genuine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    OurTime a lousy site and bad experience!

    • Port Richy, FL,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Joined this crappy site yesterday. Spent 8 hours (really) trying to get the site to work...and it does not! For me at least. Called customer service to cancel my account and have what I posted removed. Luckily I just signed up for $18. When I canceled, the bums took my entire fee! Moreover, these jerks charged me a one-time fee of $8 on top of their monthly fee. This was not disclosed. Anyone fool enough to sign up here deserves what they get.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    OurTime sucks totally

    • Maple Valley, WA,
    • Jan 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site is a complete waste of time. They sucker you into entering a whole lot of personal data, and then you cannot contact anyone at all. That is never explained anywhere. It is all about getting your money. Avoid at all costs, they are just a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    From actual experience, it's a scam

    • Washington,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    OurTime is a joke!

    I'm a guy looking for a woman. An average joe.

    I signed up for six months. I'm a sucker! So, the review is based on experience.

    A limited amount of information on potentials. Limited to 140 characters. So, it's always a shot in the dark. Based on looks only. I fall short, haha. But then, so do the women!

    Very few potentials actually available. The site will continue to post profile info even though the member is gone! You can tell by looking at your flirts sent. It will note when the member was last online. That could be 6 months ago! Most women never respond even if they are active. I guess they are not interested in me and I'm cool with that. It's a numbers game.

    I live in a metro area. 600 matches are said to be available after setting the filters for slender/average, my age range +/- 5 years, Caucasian, any height...50 miles. Actually, about 30 are. The rest don't exist anymore! False and misleading, for sure! Out of the 30, I got one date!

    Scammers continually send you flirts in order for you to send them your email or for you to contact them. OurTime does little to stop them.

    As for dating sites. I get the impression women are simply window shopping. No one seems serious.

    So much false info from women. "A few extra pounds" means obese in most cases.

    Spend your money on a movie or two. It will be way better entertainment!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service/bad site

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to upgrade my membership first on my phone and then on the website. In both cases, my card was declined. I was using a debit card and it was declined both times even though I had plenty of money on it. I even tried my PayPay account which also had plenty of money. I was only going to sign up for 30 days, but then I got an offer for a discounted 60-day membership.

    After the payments were declined, I called customer service. The man I talked to said that the payment was declined because my email address was mistyped. What does that have to do with the price of tea in China? So I tried again. Still declined.

    I just called again today, and the woman I spoke to wouldn't answer a simple question without my email address. All I wanted to know is, was my payment declined because I wasn't using a credit card? She offered to take my payment over the phone, but I declined because I wanted the discounted six months which the man had told me that they couldn't do over the phone. I gave her the website and she said that she still couldn't answer my question. Then I asked for her supervisor and she said that without my email address she couldn't transfer me to her supervisor.

    This whole thing seems like a scam, or something, to me if they can't answer my simple question or transfer me to a supervisor without my email address. I would not recommend this site to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 48

Write a Review for OurTime!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review