About OurTime

OurTime is an online dating website specifically targeted at single men and women ages 50 and over.

In order to begin using OurTime.com, you’ll first need to sign up for a free account by entering your name and email address, choosing a username, and then uploading a photo and writing a short bio about yourself (both of which are optional, but greatly increase your chances of meeting a match). You can also answer questions about yourself such as height, weight, gender, marital status, smoking preferences, your body type (e.g. “slender,” “a few extra pounds,” “big and beautiful,” etc.), as well as how you’d classify your looks.

Once your OurTime account is set up, you’ll gain immediate access to your dashboard, which includes your inbox, a list of people who have viewed you, your Flirts, other users the system has automatically matched you with based on answers to the above questions (known as Instant Match), as well as the number of tokens remaining (more about this in a moment). You’ll also be able to view members who are currently using the site and who are available for live chat.

With this said, the primary communication methods you’ll use on OurTime.com are:

  • Flirts, which are “nudges” you can send to other users to let them know you’re interested based on the information found in their profile.
  • Direct messages
  • Live chat

Nearly all communication on OurTime will begin with Flirts, and if the other user is interested you can begin sending messages back and forth, and eventually have a live chat session.

Sounds pretty straightforward, right? But regardless of the type of relationship you’re pursuing, is OurTime.com the best way to meet someone over the age of 50? Consider the following:

Beware of Online Dating Scams

Unlike some of the other well-known “mainstream” dating sites such as Match.com and eHarmony.com, OurTime.com does not attempt to verify that the information posted by each user is legitimate, so you’ll have no idea if they’re being truthful or not.

Because of this, you’ll want to familiarize yourself with OurTime’s Safe Dating Tips before you contact other users.

Other Mature Dating Websites

Also, keep in mind that there are several other niche websites for mature individuals, so you’re not just limited to OurTime.com. In fact, as we’ll discuss in a moment, the company behind OurTime even hosts another mature dating site called SeniorPeopleMeet.com.

What’s the Deal with All These Tokens?

Do you remember taking your kids to the carnival, county fair, or indoor arcade/playground, and purchasing a ton of tokens in order to play games, enjoy rides, and eat all the fun junk food? Well, once you move outside of traditional dating sites, the trend seems to be nickel-and-diming you for each and every connection you make, using this same token/coin concept.

This means that in addition to the cost of your membership, you can also purchase OurTime.com coins to help promote yourself and put your profile in front of more users. However, unlike other coin/token-based sites, such as AnastasiaDate, Zoosk, and FarmersOnly.com, it appears OurTime only uses coins for self-promotion, in addition to hiring the services of the company’s Profile Pro profile consulting service, which can help you “design a profile that will get you noticed and boost your chances for romance.”

We’ll talk more about this in the Pricing section, but keep in mind that using this coin-based model, you can quickly spend tens (or hundreds) of dollars promoting your OurTime profile in the blink of an eye.

Why Don’t Customers Seem Pleased with OurTime?

Overall, it appears that the vast majority of OurTime.com members were dissatisfied with their experience. Why?

Because based on more than 230 BestReviews.net reviews (as of 3/2/15), OurTime had an average rating of 1.5 stars. Here, most complaints appear to revolve around fake accounts set up to lure you into paying more (we’ll talk about this again in the final section), which is known as a romance scam; the inability to adjust key search criteria (e.g. age range, distance from your location, etc.); the automatic account renewal feature; and poor (essentially non-existent) customer service.

In addition, DatingSiteReview.com readers gave OurTime.com an average rating of 2.1 stars, with many of the same complaints noted previously.

From a company perspective, OurTime is owned by People Media, Inc., who also operates Match.com and other niche dating sites such as BlackPeopleMeet.com, CatholicPeopleMeet.com, JPeopleMeet.com, LoveAndSeek.com, SeniorPeopleMeet.com, and SingleParentmeet.com. The company holds an F rating with the Better Business Bureau based on 540 closed complaints (as of 3/2/15). Once again, nearly all complaints reference the same situations as above.

OurTime.com Pricing & Refund Policy

OurTime is free to join, although you’ll need to upgrade to a paid membership if you want to read flirts you’ve received, to send emails, and to chat live with other members. Prices are as follows:

  • 1 Month: $29.99 – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Standard: $88.94 ($14.99/mo) – Includes mobile access.
  • 6 Months Best Value: $107.94 ($17.99/mo) – Includes mobile access, message read notification, profile highlight, and message highlight.

Important note: Keep in mind that your membership plan will automatically renew, so if you don’t want this to occur, you’ll need to contact the company and have your account cancelled before the renewal date. As we mentioned above, this automatic renewal feature is the top complaint associated with OurTime, so it’s very important to keep this in mind if you decide to give the site a try.

In addition to your membership fees, if you’d like to promote your profile or get some assistance writing your bio, OurTime.com tokens are priced as follows:

  • 25 Tokens: $0.99
  • 110 Tokens: $3.99
  • 280 Tokens: $9.99

Another important note: According to the token ordering page on the OurTime.com website, “If your token balance reaches 20 or below, your purchase will automatically renew for the same price and same number until you cancel via your Token settings page. By purchasing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal.” Like your membership plan, this means you’ll continue being charged for tokens you don’t need if you’re not careful.

According to OurTime’s Terms & Conditions, there are no refunds available. In addition, there is no phone number or email address with which to contact customer service; only an online contact form.

Can OurTime Help You Meet Singles Who Are 50+?

Chopping to the point: In short, OurTime might be able to help you meet other singles over the age of 50. However, based on the hundreds of poor customer reviews and their seeming reputation for underhanded billing tactics, it’s our opinion that you’ll want to watch your credit card charges very closely if you decide to sign up for OurTime.com.

In fact, despite the fact that we provided zero information about ourselves when signing up for a test OurTime account, we were contacted by two individuals within 5 minutes. Of course, we would have had to pay in order to view these messages, which may be a strong indication that these were fake accounts set up to convince you to hand over your hard-earned money.

See Also: Watch Out for These 6 Red Flags When Dating Online

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

38 Consumer Reviews for OurTime

Average Consumer Rating: 1.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  37
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • Bad customer service/bad site

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Dec 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to upgrade my membership first on my phone and then on the website. In both cases, my card was declined. I was using a debit card and it was declined both times even though I had plenty of money on it. I even tried my PayPay account which also had plenty of money. I was only going to sign up for 30 days, but then I got an offer for a discounted 60-day membership.

    After the payments were declined, I called customer service. The man I talked to said that the payment was declined because my email address was mistyped. What does that have to do with the price of tea in China? So I tried again. Still declined.

    I just called again today, and the woman I spoke to wouldn't answer a simple question without my email address. All I wanted to know is, was my payment declined because I wasn't using a credit card? She offered to take my payment over the phone, but I declined because I wanted the discounted six months which the man had told me that they couldn't do over the phone. I gave her the website and she said that she still couldn't answer my question. Then I asked for her supervisor and she said that without my email address she couldn't transfer me to her supervisor.

    This whole thing seems like a scam, or something, to me if they can't answer my simple question or transfer me to a supervisor without my email address. I would not recommend this site to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst than "FakeNews"

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Nov 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been on this website for about a week when I noticed that out of the at least 30 inquiries to the members on this site, I HAD NO REPLIES! I check into the matter and was told that I was putting in information that was too specific and the message was deleted. Nice that I check into it, otherwise, I would still be waiting for a reply from members.

    I made the corrections that were required and sent out inquiries to possible members and waited for a reply. No replies after a couple of days of waiting. Most people check their email at least once a day by computer or by phone. I found out that they did receive my inquiries! 90% of the members I inquired about were "Ghosts."

    Did not exist! I tried different members and same thing. Ghosts! I may not be Mr. Wonderful with my picture I presented, but one would think that at least one member would respond.

    My computer matches were also a useless joke! I live in Arizona and why would I want to go to California, Kansas, Texas and other out of state places to meet someone for a cup of coffee and some conversation? You got to be desperate or crazy!

    When I decided to write this review, I found other reviews that were finding the same thing. This website is definitely a fraud. Don't waste your money. More important, don't waste your TIME! Can you believe that this site had a 9.6 out of 10 rating!? Another joke. I checked into other sights and all are just as bad, and all have a 9-point rating or better. STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Fraud! They steal your money!

    • California,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do NOT sign up with this service and do not download their app! Once you do - they make it IMPOSSIBLE to cancel the account and WILL keep on charging you every month WITHOUT YOUR AUTHORIZATION! When I tried to cancel my subscription, they said only Apple can (because it was set up through Apple Pay). I called Apple on the phone with them and even though Apple confirmed they can NOT cancel this, OurTime insisted that only Apple can cancel the service. They are charging every month and I have to dispute the charge every month. They STEAL customers' money in charging without authorization and not allowing a customer to cancel. This is plain FRAUD!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    SUCK!

    • Georgia,
    • Oct 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Account hacked, messages sent out I did NOT send, profile completely changed.

    No one cared. Until I posted that I was no longer a subscribing member and wouldn't waste another dime on their site. THEN I get customer service! Telling me I couldn't do that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Crash and burn with online 60 plus, geez

    • Harkers Island, NC,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up less than a month ago. I understand I'm new to this, so I'm willing to give you the benefit of the doubt! I'm not the type to complain, so I will just say it has been a learning experience for me. I think I will take my chances on bumping grocery carts at a grocery store on finding that one who is maybe truly real.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Complete cesspool

    • Chelmsford, MA,
    • Sep 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    95% of the messages and "flirts" I received were obvious scammers - distant states, 60-year-olds with photos of 25-year-olds, embedded phone numbers or email address, the exact same text as other messages, etc.

    The other 5% MAY have been legit - because they weren't young and beautiful or filled with nonsensical profile text out of a romance novel, but based on all the obvious scammers they might just be better-designed scams.

    I would suggest that anyone considering OurTime run, don't walk, in the opposite direction!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Ridiculous and discriminatory

    • California,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I uploaded a photo with a long sleeve top cold shoulder style, but they took the photo because it wasn't in line with their guidelines, while I see constant pictures of the guys practically naked looking! With only small shorts, which I can see everything through! These people are absolutely sick...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total scam

    • Texas,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was on OurTime for two weeks and I don't think one person was legitimate. I ran into all of the scammer scenarios. I just canceled my membership. It was unbelievable, and I wish I had not been so gullible to think online dating for seniors might be a good thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This site is a scam...I will not renew

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The site makes you view pictures and then reports to the subscriber that you viewed their picture. Simply awful.

    When people you are not interested in write a message and you want it to go away, the site keeps sending it...UGH.

    Most disturbing is people 5-600 miles away are included...no option to choose a location. Awful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    OurTime.com and other senior dating sites all scams

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up on OurTime.com recently, in July 2018. It only took me a few days to realize most profiles were fake! It seems that seniors are being targeted on these websites that cater to the over 50 crowd. The profiles are completely fake, and they are trying to scam lonely seniors out of money. There is no verification process at all, so you have entire businesses working out of other countries running these scams.

    These websites need to put some kind of verification process in to protect their paying customers. If you go to Care.com or Babysitter.com, they all have a verification process, and some include background checks. In this day and age, it is only the responsible thing for the owner of this company to do.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Scam after scam.

    • Hilton Head, SC,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The men are not who they say they are, e.g. the pictures. They are looking for women with money, gold diggers, they seem to have accents so even though they say they live in your area, they don’t. Lots are in it to just get laid and if you are lucky to find one you are attracted to, he will ghost you right after he got you.

    Scam after scam.

    Mostly the pictures of them aren’t them so beware and don’t join, and hopefully, a friend will introduce you to a nice person.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for OurTime!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review