About Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare

Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare is claimed to be a “breakthrough” line of anti-aging products that revitalize your skin and help it look younger, while also improving problem skin, protecting from sun damage, and reversing the signs of aging.

According to the Authentic Skincare website, Christie created the product line to “share her secret,” which was gained “after a career with access to leading scientists.” Christie claims to have also enlisted the help of a cosmetic dermatologist and medical journalist Dr. Doris Day, who “provided key formulation feedback throughout development.”

Overall, Christie Brinkley’s Authentic Skincare line is claimed to embody her passion for anti-aging and being ecologically conscious, and she claims to have been “personally involved in every step in the process.”

There’s no doubt that Christie Brinkley’s name immediately conjures images of timeless beauty and supermodel status. But does this necessarily mean that her Authentic Skincare line will provide any benefits, or that it’s worth the money?

We’ll talk more about this in a moment, but let’s first look at the products within her Authentic line.

Christie Brinkley’s Authentic Skincare Collection

Overall, there are 9 products that make up the Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare line:

  • Recapture Day + IR Defense Anti-Aging Treatment – Claims to help support your skin’s natural defenses against aging, and to support collagen production.
  • Recapture 360 Night Anti-Aging Night Treatment – As you sleep, this product is claimed to contain a “unique peptide, ” and a Bio-Copper Complex that smoothes and rejuvenates your skin.
  • Uplift Firming Neck & Décolleté Treatment – Targets the neck, décolleté, and chest area to improve firmness and elasticity, tighten and brighten skin, and smooth the neckline.
  • Close Up Instant Wrinkle Reducer & Treatment – An eye, mouth, and forehead treatment that’s claimed to provide instantly tighter and smoother-looking skin; to smooth under eye bags and puffiness, and soften the appearance of crow's feet, fine lines, and wrinkles.
  • Close Up + IR Defense Skin Blurring Primer Serum – Instantly reduces the appearance of lines, wrinkles, and pores while protecting against environmental damage.
  • Recapture 360 + IR Defense Anti-Aging Day Cream – A “breakthrough anti-aging solution” containing “scientifically formulated” ingredients that smooth and firm skin, reduce the appearance of dark spots, and decrease the signs of wrinkles.
  • Refocus Under Eye Treatment – Another product containing Bio-Copper Complex, this is claimed to firm and smooth the eye area, reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, and brighten the eye area.
  • Complete Clarity Facial Cleansing Wash – A foaming gel cleanser claimed to remove makeup, balance moisture, and leave your skin refreshed.
  • Complete Clarity Daily Facial Exfoliating Polish – A creamy exfoliator claimed to stimulate skin turnover, provide you with a more radiant complexion, and smooth and refresh skin.

What Ingredients Are Contained in Christie Brinkley Skincare?

Like most skincare and anti-aging products, Christie Brinkley’s line of products contain a lot of ingredients, so we’d strongly recommend reviewing the full list for the particular product you’re interested in, as well as to identify any possible allergic reactions.

With this said, the vast majority of Christy Brinkley Skincare’s active ingredients are proprietary formulations, including Neodermyl, Elix-IR, Sytenol A, K Vita C, Mitostime, Vederine, Phormistim G, Aquaxyl, and several others. And while you may experience some benefits from these, there is insufficient third-party clinical evidence available showing that they work as advertised.

See Also: What Causes Crepey Skin (and How It’s Different From Wrinkles)

On the other hand, some products within the Authentic Skincare line do include “natural” ingredients, such as niacinamide, horse chestnut seed extract, coleus barbatus (forskolin), magnolia super extract, dipotassium glycyrrhizate, caffeine, salicylic acid, aloe powder, and glycerin.

Of these ingredients, the primary benefits (when applied topically) are moisturization, anti-irritant, and anti-inflammatory, although these alone may not necessarily provide the level of anti-aging you’re looking for.

Authentic Skincare Side Effects

Overall, most of Christie Brinkley’s Skincare products should be well tolerated by most individuals. And although we encountered very few online customer reviews (more about this in a moment) that cited allergic reactions, keep in mind that niacinamide can cause flushing and redness, while salicylic acid can lead to dry, peeling skin.

Finally, according to WebMD, you should “look for products which have had the toxic substance esculin removed. Horse chestnut products can sometimes cause side effects such as dizziness, headache, stomach upset, and itching.”

See Also: Taking Great Care of Your Skin: 10 Steps You Must Master

Christie Brinkley Skincare’s Customer Feedback

Outside of press releases from the company back February and March (when the anti-aging line was first released), there weren’t a lot of websites offering customer reviews at the time of our research.

However, 5 products in the Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare line were featured on HSN.com, with more than 310 customer reviews (as of 4/15/15). With an average rating of 3.6 stars, the most frequent compliments cited that these products worked well and that they began providing results immediately.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints cited failure to work, high price (and that you don’t get a lot of product for the money), and that some of the ingredients are questionable.

Truth In Aging also wrote an in-depth review about Recapture Day + IR Defense, where they concluded that, although it does include “some good botanicals,” this “doesn’t make up for some badly chosen synthetics” that “to a skin care purist, would be like waving a chicken at a vegan.”

From a company perspective, this line of anti-aging products appears to be manufactured by Christie Brinkley Skincare, LLC based out of Hoboken, NJ, which is not listed with the Better Business Bureau. However, we did find an entry for Christie Brinkley Beauty, although, for all intents and purposes, this appears to be an unrelated company.

Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare Pricing & Refund Policy

Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare products are priced as follows:

  • Recapture Day + IR Defense Anti-Aging Treatment: $79.95
  • Recapture 360 Night Anti-Aging Night Treatment: $79.95
  • Uplift Firming Neck & Décolleté Treatment: $79.95
  • Close Up Instant Wrinkle Reducer & Treatment: $79.95
  • Close Up + IR Defense Skin Blurring Primer Serum: $69.95
  • Recapture 360 + IR Defense Anti-Aging Day Cream: $89.95
  • Refocus Under Eye Treatment: $79.95
  • Complete Clarity Facial Cleansing Wash: $32.95
  • Complete Clarity Daily Facial Exfoliating Polish: $34.95

There is also a 30-day trial available for Recapture-360. Here, you’ll initially pay $3.95 for a month’s worth of product, after which you’ll be billed the full price of $69.95. Then, you’ll be enrolled in Authentic Skincare’s autoship program, which means you’ll continue receiving a fresh jar of Recapture-360 once per month, and your credit card will be charged $69.95 each time.

Note: In many instances, we’ve found free trials to be a sneaky method of charging you full price, and autoship programs to continue billing you for a product you might not be interested in receiving. As such, we recommend avoiding these selling tools.

Granted, you may not experience any of these concerns with Christie Brinkley Skincare, but it’s certainly worth keeping in mind.

With this said, all Authentic Skincare products come with a 30-day refund policy less S&H charges, even if the containers are empty.

To request a refund, cancel your trial, or stop your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-548-1736.

Is Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare Your Anti-Aging Answer?

Overall, Christie Brinkley’s Authentic Skincare line appears to come with a moderate-to-high customer rating, so it may be the case that you’ll experience the same.

However, choosing an anti-aging product is a very personal decision, so what works well for others may not be your cup of tea, whether due to preference, skin type, and more.

If you do decide to give Authentic Skincare a try, the company appears to stand behind their products with a 30-day return policy, although you’ll be out a small amount for S&H charges.

Read Next: 19 Cardinal Rules for Wrinkle Prevention

Tired of Wasting Money? Want to Learn to Shop Smarter?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

59 Consumer Reviews for Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 3 1 star:  52
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • Tried with great difficulty to cancel order!

    • Tauranga, New Zealand,
    • Oct 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Two days ago I put an order in for the "360-day and 360-night" creams. I have just checked out her site after receiving confirmation of order.

    I found this review site and was horrified by all the stories of contact with the firm, also remembered I'd previously tried to return a product (with difficulty), so I rang our New Zealand 0800 number just now.

    It took 15 minutes to get the return address and numbers required to be put on the package, plusit had already been shipped! Within 24 hours?

    Like others had found, I was "talked over" non-stop at top of her voice. She insisted I must have someone else who would like my order, or their own order. Why was I returning it? Fair enough, but I explained I'd had a very bad reaction with a previous product and my Specialist Dermatologist had said DO NOT use since she had had others in trouble also. I was continually asked the same questions over and over! I ended up literally yelling back (swore as well!), demanding an email to confirm cancellation, still getting an ear-bashing. I couldn't hang up until I had return details.

    When I had those written down and slammed the phone down, guess what? My mobile phone rang and I was being asked to do a survey on my experience! A row of one-star ratings, being the worst I could give! Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's a rort, I feel

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Sep 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rather than worrying about trying the actual product, I am disgusted by their underhanded selling style. I got an email offer that says I can try for free the Christie Brinkley Skin Care by paying only the $1.99 delivery fee. I signed up.

    1) Misleading info - apparently it was USD, which is not that much more, but they omitted to mention it.

    2) Apparently, the fine print says that I have signed up for an auto delivery every two months for $69.95 (presumably USD also), which I stumbled upon only when they made a follow-up call and I asked a few questions.

    3) I called when I received the product, which jogged my memory to cancel the auto delivery and was told I have to pay for the supposedly free product or return it at my own cost!

    I canceled and am going to return the product just on principle.

    On top of that, when you call, the poor call operators (from the Philippines) try to sell you more of the night cream and speak at a hundred miles an hour over you! They are obviously being pressured to sell by scaring you into having to pay for the product or return it! What a terrible operation.

    I would have thought that Christie Brinkley would not have to resort to such low selling tactics! I am disgusted, to say the least, and will never buy her products just on principle!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Cancelling auto ship for Christie Brinkley products

    I received my Activation Kit for $49.95 and went to cancel the auto ship only to learn I still owe $100.00 on the kit! The ad and the infomercial say nothing about that. So instead of returning it, I was offered to pay another $49.95 in order to keep it. I paid the ransom just to be free of it. What a scam! Cindy Crawford's skin care does not do such a thing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 30 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off. Don't fall for it!

    This is NOT a free trial. I signed up and received two jars when I only wanted one. I was billed for both jars, and when I tried to opt out, my Visa was charged the full amount, which was over $200.

    The product doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 27, 2017

      Mandy

      Totally agree with the fact there is no free sample. They scam you by billing for the two jars, then they expect you to buy it every three months. Plus, I had an electric reaction.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 52 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Free Trial 360 Recapture cream

    For starters, this is NOT a free trial. 30 days to trial some cream. I don't think so. I had used about ¼ the first jar if that and decided I did not want this cream. Rang the 0800 number and canceled the order and was told by the customer service person I needed to return the jars of cream to stop being charged for them.

    What are they going to do with a used bottle of cream? The mind boggles really. Maybe they get all the half full bottles and fill them up then ship out to some other poor unsuspecting customer. And to top this off she kept trying to sell me other creams and even offered to take 50% off the price - or maybe I knew someone who would like this product?? Something smells decidedly fishy here.

    The free sample came with two jars in the pack - I ordered 1 FREE jar of cream. I did not ask for two and you expect me to pay to send it back? $208.17 for a free sample is not what I would call free at all. This is a well thought out scam to make big bucks out of people.

    Come on Christie Brinkley, if indeed you do endorse this as your product at least have the decency to make a free sample exactly that - free!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 29 people found this review helpful

    New customer

    • Haverstraw, NY,
    • Mar 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am so surprised with the posted reviews. I have received the trial package less than a week ago, so I do not have a review for the products just yet. I do, however, have a review for the customer service I received today. Kim was very informative about every product and was patient in answering all of my questions, even if I had to repeat them. Her customer service was impeccable.

    I am surprised to read from a reviewer that Christie does not use her own products; however, how true is that? I will do another review within two to three months on the product. So far I see no scam.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 9, 2017

      Smitty

      First, how do you recommend a product you have never used?

      Secondly, maybe you got one representative that knew her stuff, but all the negative posts are here for a reason.

      When a company is begging to take payment only from my bank account because they don't accept my visa, it is concerning. That is because they can bill you regardless. When I placed an order at 5:30, a second after I hit send, they actually called to upsell me is a red flag. The fact the representative couldn't even tell me and tried to avoid answering my questions about how much the regular price is another red flag.

      But feel free to come and share your experience after you actually try the product and aren't scammed. You will be the first.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 35 people found this review helpful

    She doesn't use her own products

    • Vacaville, CA,
    • Mar 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ok, so I just started buying Christie's skin care line because who wouldn't want to have her skin at 60 right? But she states on her web page she uses Olay Regenerate and Clarins products, so I'm confused.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 5, 2017

      Sara

      Christie gets paid to use Olay and Clarins. Also, she admits to using Botox, so her skin products are probably nothing out of the ordinary.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 136 out 141 people found this review helpful

    Beware a scam

    I received an offer by email for a FREE sample of Christie Brinkley's skincare product. All I had to do is pay $1.99 for shipping. That is until the product arrived and I found out I owed $139.90.

    There was no place on the original ad that there was any other charge for this sample. I called to find out that yes indeed there was a charge. I could return the items and that would take care of it. The biggest slap is they would not even pay for return postage.

    Even if I liked the product I would never buy it because of their deceptive policies and their lack of caring about the deception. Is this how Christie makes her money?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 13, 2017

      Allison

      Do you have the phone number? I cannot find it in their customer service. Did they credit you back?

    • Feb 22, 2017

      Lynne GulbrandI

      I had the same problem with this free sample offer; it's deceptive advertising. I was told by one representative that I could send back the products in one box, but this was not true. It is a good thing I kept the other box, or I would be paying for that product, even though it would be sent back. I will never buy this product.

    • Mar 10, 2017

      Rose Angelo

      I had the same exact problem, and I cannot find a phone number to contact them. Can you please provide me with the phone number? Thank you.

    • Apr 10, 2017

      Serpil elturan

      I have the same problem, and they charged me $93.14 on my credit card without my approval. This is a scam. Please do not fall for a trial package deal. What a shame that they make money this way.

    • Jun 9, 2017

      Smitty

      They called me from an unknown phone number, which is another shady thing to do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 126 out 129 people found this review helpful

    Bad experience, horrible "return policy"!

    • Davis CA,
    • Jan 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had the same terrible experience, but I almost tried for the free product, and ended up with almost $400 of stuff. I didn't complete my order and left the website and this still happened. I never received an acknowledgment of my order or any paperwork! I did dispute one charge on my credit card and got $99 back, sent 2 products back, received partial credit for one. Still trying to pursue, going to try to dispute another charge. I don't usually order free samples, but I went ahead and was going to try because I felt Christie Brinkley could be trusted. Right now I'm out about $180.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2017

      Caro

      Have you had any luck canceling these payments? I am having the same issue, but they tell me nothing can be done. Instead, they suggest that I contact the supplier directly to stop them.

      I didn't request any merchandise except the "free" samples and haven't received any merchandise except the "free" samples. I've been charged about $90 three times now. I would love to hear how you were able to cancel.

      Thank you.

    • May 22, 2017

      Spector

      You, people, are confusing a "free sample" with "free trial." They let you try the product for "free," then you pay if you use it. A free "sample" shouldn't cost anything. The use of the word "trial" makes it all very devious and legal.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 105 out 106 people found this review helpful

    Image Revive among other names

    • Chetwynd, BC,
    • Dec 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company has an F with the BBB. They use Christy Brinkley and Angelina Jolie that I have seen to falsely advertise their products. Image Revive is only one of many product names they go by.

    It's almost impossible to cancel your order and even if you do within the allotted time period you will still be charged ($149.93 myself). Restocking fees, return postage and a whole lot of frustration are all on your shoulders.

    Horrible company to deal with. No ethics!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 101 out 104 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy

    • Berkeley, CA,
    • Dec 11, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I think this company is a sham. I have been charged a total of $395.44 and only received a 5 oz. bottle of serum and a .5 oz. jar of eye cream.

    I called them after I saw the first credit card bill for almost $200 and asked them to cancel my order. Next month another bill of almost $200 and I never received the product.

    I called again to complain and the best they could do was refund half my money. I threatened to call the better business bureau. DON'T TRUST THEM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 59

Write a Review for Christie Brinkley Authentic Skincare!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review