About Crazy Bulk

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Mar 24, 2015

In business since 2004, Crazy Bulk claims to offer 100% legal, natural, prescription-grade anabolic steroids and bodybuilding supplements for cutting, bulking, building lean muscle mass, increasing stamina, and more, without the need for a prescription.

Crazy Bulk claims their supplements provide all the benefits of real steroids, with none of the side effects,” in addition to the ability to transform your body in as little as 30 days. Let’s take a closer look at some of them.

Crazy Bulk’s Supplements

Crazy Bulk sells 14 different supplement formulations and packages, including:

  • D-Bal (Dianabol) – Claimed to mimic the effects of Methandrostenolon (Dianabol) that can help retain nitrogen in muscles and can boost protein synthesis, resulting in increased muscle size and strength.

  • Anvarol (Anavar) – An alternative to the anabolic steroid Anavar, this supplement is claimed to use phosphocreatine to help you create ATP for increased energy during cutting cycles.

  • TBAL75 (Trenbolone) – Claimed to mimic the effects of Trenbolone for nitrogen retention and huge muscle gains.

  • Anadrole (A-DROL) – Recreates the effects of Anadrol to improve muscle oxygenation.

  • HGH-X2 Somatropinne – Triggers your body to release more human growth hormone (HGH) for rapid gains and improved recovery between workouts.

  • Winidrol (Winstrol) – An alternative to Winstrol that’s claimed to help make you stronger, faster, and more powerful.

  • Clenbutrol (Clenbuterol) – Works as a thermogenic to increase your metabolic rate and help you burn more fat.

  • Testosterone Max – Uses twice the concentration of tribulus terrestris as other brands to increase free testosterone, resulting in increased strength and maximum muscle gains.

  • Decaduro (D-KA) – An alternative to Deca-Durobolin that’s claimed to increase nitrogen retention and result in massive muscle gains.

  • NO2-Max – A nitric oxide booster claimed to widen blood vessels and increase muscle oxygenation for improved muscle recovery and boosted gains.

  • Gynectrol – Claimed to help reduce “excess fatty tissue stored over the pectoral muscles” and to help you get rid of your “man boobs.”

  • Bulking Stack – 1 bottle each of D-Bal (Dianabol), Testosterone-MAX, DecaDuro (D-KA), and TBal75 (Trenbolone).

  • Cutting Stack – 1 bottle each of Anvarol (Anavar), Testosterone-MAX, Winidrol (Winsitrol), and Clenbutrol (Clenbuterol).

  • Ultimate Stack – 1 bottle each of D-Bal (Dianabol), Testosterone-MAX, DecaDuro (D-KA), TBal75 (Trenbolone), Clenbutrol (Clenbuterol), and Anadrole (A-Drol).

According to Crazy Bulk, all their supplements are manufactured in a cGMP facility in the US. Along with proper diet and exercise program, the company claims you should experience results within 2-4 weeks.

Look, there’s no doubt that steroids can have a huge impact on your overall fitness, although they also come with some nasty health effects. So can Crazy Bulk’s steroids provide many of the same benefits, without the side effects—or the legal consequences? Consider the following:

What’s in Crazy Bulk’s Supplements?

In short, we’re simply not told. According to the company’s FAQ, “To protect our proprietary formula, we cannot list our ingredients on our website.” And despite an intensive online search, we didn’t locate any third-party websites that listed this information either.

In fact, out of all Crazy Bulk’s 14 supplements, the only ingredients listed on their website are tribulus terrestris for their Testosterone Max formulation and phosphocreatine for Anvarol.

As we’ve mentioned many times in our testosterone booster reviews and in our article Do Testosterone Boosters Really Work, there is insufficient clinical evidence showing that tribulus terrestris can increase testosterone levels in the human body.

On the other hand, creatine is listed as “possibly effective” for enhancing athletic performance, although “Many factors seem to influence the effectiveness of creatine, including the fitness level and age of the person using it, the type of sport, and the dose.”

With this in mind, we have no idea how much phosphocreatine Anvarol contains, or whether or not this is enough to provide any benefits.

Are Crazy Bulk’s Supplements Really Steroid Alternatives?

Because we’re not informed about any of the ingredients contained in their supplements, there’s no way to know how they would affect your body, or whether or not these effects will resemble steroids in any way.

Are Crazy Bulk’s “Steroid Alternatives” Legal?

Once again, although Crazy Bulk claims their supplements are 100% natural and legal, without a complete ingredients list, there’s no way to be sure. With this said, when using the term “steroid,” there are 2 types that fall within this category:

Anabolic steroids (also known as anabolic-androgenic steroids), which are synthetic versions of the sex hormone testosterone. When taken regularly, anabolic steroids can result in increased muscle mass and strength, although common side effects include high blood pressure and cholesterol, acne, decreased hormone levels, increased agitation, and more.

This is a large part of why anabolic steroids are classified as a Schedule III substance and are illegal to own without a prescription in the U.S.

On the other hand, there are steroid precursors that the body converts into anabolic steroids once ingested. However, since 2012, the only steroid precursor still legal within the U.S. is DHEA, so it’s likely that many of Crazy Bulk’s supplements contain this ingredient (although WebMD lists DHEA as having insufficient evidence showing it can improve physical performance).

Do Crazy Bulk’s Supplements Cause Any Side Effects?

As you may have guessed, it’s difficult to say without knowing all the ingredients contained in Crazy Bulk’s supplements. However, WebMD claims that common side effects associated with DHEA are “acne, hair loss, stomach upset, and high blood pressure.” However, while tribulus terrestris may be safe for use for up to 8 weeks, long term side effects are unknown.

In addition, creatine (especially for amounts in excess of 20mg per day) can result in side effects such as stomach pain, nausea, diarrhea, and muscle cramping.

What Are Crazy Bulk’s Customers Saying?

Crazy Bulk and its supplements are primarily promoted through an independent affiliate network, who will often post fake online customer and personal reviews with hopes to mislead instead of inform. With this in mind, there weren’t any legitimate online customer reviews available for Crazy Bulk at the time of our research.

On top of this, several images on the CrazyBulk.com website indicate that the company is BBB accredited, although there aren’t any links provided, and there isn’t a listing for the company on the Better Business Bureau website. And because there isn’t a Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy listed on the Crazy Bulk website, we couldn’t confirm if the company operates under a different name.

A screenshot of Bleu Sapphire's websiteCrazy Bulk indicates that they’re accredited with the Better Business Bureau, although there isn’t a listing for the company on the BBB website.

Interestingly, Crazy Bulk claims to have been in business since 2004, although the company’s URL has only been registered since July 2014.

Crazy Bulk Pricing & Refund Policy

Crazy Bulk supplements are priced as follows:

  • D-Bal (Dianabol): $59.99
  • Anvarol (Anavar): $54.99
  • TBAL75 (Trenbolone): $61.99
  • Anadrole (A-DROL): $54.99
  • HGH-X2 Somatropinne: $59.99
  • Winidrol (Winstrol): $58.99
  • Clenbutrol (Clenbuterol): $61.99
  • Testosterone Max: $59.99
  • Decaduro (D-KA): $61.99
  • NO2-Max: $59.99
  • Gynectrol: $61.99
  • Bulking Stack: $179.99
  • Cutting Stack: $184.99
  • Ultimate Stack: $274.99

According to the Crazy Bulk website, every third item you purchase is free, and every order within the US and UK comes with free shipping. Outside of these countries, shipping is a flat rate of $9.99.

All unopened Crazy Bulk products come with a 7-day refund policy, which you can initiate by contacting customer service at cs@crazybulk.com or through their online contact form.

Are Crazy Bulk’s Supplements an Alternative to Steroids?

When it comes down to it, the biggest red flag is that—like many other nutritional supplements manufacturers—Crazy Bulk makes a whole lot of very big claims without a shred of evidence to support them.

In fact, out of their entire supplements lineup, we’re only informed about 2 different ingredients, neither of which have sufficient clinical evidence showing them to provide the massive results claimed by Crazy Bulk.

Because of this, as well as the company’s questionable marketing techniques and high prices, means that, in our opinion, Crazy Bulk’s supplements probably don’t work anywhere near as well as they claim—and almost certainly not as well as anabolic steroids.


Read 38 Crazy Bulk Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 4 3 star: 4 2 star: 3 1 star:  22
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Pseudoscience and unsubstantiated claims in their "supplements"

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The website is intentionally misleading, it lists the supplements as steroids. One is literally called D-BAL and has a big DIANABOL printed on the front of the bottle. If a pill bottle has a chemical name on it, you assume that's what's in the pill, because otherwise why the heck is some completely unrelated chemical being printed in bold on the front of the bottle? That's the case with Crazy Bulk items. But make no mistake, there is nothing even remotely "steroidy" about these wares.

    The "natural substitutes" are supported by pseudoscience, conflicting research, or in some cases no research at all. For example in a gynecomastia medication they sell, of all the ingredients in it only TWO are actually proven to do a damn thing for weight loss: green tea and caffeine which you can get anywhere for far cheaper.

    Yet the remaining ingredients in the supplement have NO supporting evidence to show they actually work. One of them, Evodiamine, has a single study that showed minor fat-burning potential in MICE, and nothing for actual humans. Gugulipid is another that has conflicting research and the consensus in the scientific community is that there is no causal relation between it and fat burning in humans.

    The recurring pattern here is that they're selling supplements based on unproven and unsubstantiated ingredients. There is also a TON of astroturfing going on with Crazy Bulk, which is very alarming. Google searching the website or any of its products will produce website after website singing nothing but unequivocal praise, and not a single criticism, which is suspicious. All of these are small, fledgling websites that had their URL registered around the same date and all possess very similar linguistic style in the writing, vocabulary and paragraph construction - which looks curiously like it was written by the same person/people.

    Therefore you should take ANY review about this website and its products with a grain of salt. I'm not saying that every review is astroturf, but I'd be surprised if most WEREN'T. Instead, just do the research, find out what the ingredients are of these supplements, look for peer-reviewed journals of studies on them or at least check Wikipedia before spending money on them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Disgusted with the service

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Oct 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am absolutely disgusted with the service. I ordered D-Bal. I got an email that my order has been confirmed. After 2 days I received another email saying that my order has been canceled due to I have to call up and verify. I did that. I had a lady that answered the phone, she was Indian, could barely speak English, would not understand, canceled my order, I am refunded. After using this product I did not want to stop because I wanted to see the results, but this is the most largest bad service. I do not recommend it to anyone because they can cut you off whenever they want and they will not send the product out. I'm absolutely disgusted that this is a big company and I had to get refunded and my product was canceled. Very sad, disgusting service inappropriate behavior. If I could give a 0-star rating I would. Very very very bad service. I could not believe how bad this place is. I do not recommend anyone to get anything from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Oct 21, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Ali,

      Thank you for your feedback.

      We use fraud detection software to help protect our customers from fraudulent transactions using their details. We tried reaching out to you to verify your details but unfortunately couldn't get through. If we are unable to verify a customer's details, it is our policy to cancel the order and refund the payment.

      We apologize for the inconvenience caused but we hope you can understand we ultimately do this to protect our customers.

      Kind regards,

      Jordan

      Customer Service


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff

    • Texas,
    • Oct 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Yes, it does work. I've been trying their supplements for a year and am amazed by the results. Zero problems ordering. Those on this site who claim it is a scam are a) from rival companies, b) don't work out, or c) take the stuff sparingly. Most likely a).

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Starting to take the Ultimate Stack now

    • Denmark,
    • Jul 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hi, I wish that I have seen this site before I bought the Ultimate Stack from Crazy Bulk. Anyway, now I will try the products for a month and give the results of both my strength/muscle growth and fat loss.

    I have chosen "No" to "Bottom Line" here because I can't recommend a product that I haven't been trying yet.

    I will also take before and after pictures.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 18, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Kenneth,

      Thank you for your feedback.

      We look forward to hearing about your results within the next month or so. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

      If you're happy with your results and you'd like to share, feel free to submit your before and after photos to our testimonial challenge to pick up another stack and a t-shirt for free. You can see the details here: https://crazybulk.com/testimonials/.

      Kind regards,

      Jordan

      Customer Service


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy

    • Frederick, MD,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the product D-Bal and it never showed up. My email says that it was delivered and when I try to make a claim with UPS it says that a claim cannot be made on this product. This is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Marathon, NY,
    • May 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had been taking Growth Factor 9 and it truly works for those of you out there who like the HGH supplements. I doubled my weights lifting just in two days. I thought umm...maybe something better out there. Saw some great reviews on Crazy Bulk and decided to try it. I ordered on a Sunday and my bank declined it and I had a call stating that did I know it was coming from Cyprus? No, I was told they were in Maine by a woman who had called me before my bank called and offered a discount for the trouble ordering.

    I am out my money as I canceled my card but lost the money for the 3 months supply. They had my card...and the numbers associated with...not taking any chances. Don’t order...truly a SCAM.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 28, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Garrett,

      Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about the inconvenience you experienced trying to place an order on our website. Unfortunately, some U.S banks block a few of the transactions made when placing an order through our website as we are using a European based payment provider and some U.S banks classify this as an international transaction.

      We apologize for any confusion caused. Our warehouse in the US is located in Maine, but, as clearly stated on our website (https://crazybulk.com/contacts/), our company headquarters (and bank) are based in Cyprus, Europe.

      We canceled the order as requested on 20/05 and have issued a refund for the funds, which will reflect in your account within 2 - 5 working days.

      We would like to stress that we do not have a record of your full payment details anywhere and therefore cannot authorize a payment without your consent.

      Kind regards,

      Jordan

      Customer Support


  • 10 out 13 people found this review helpful

    It is absolute garbage!

    • Sydney, Australia,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Guys, this company is a total scam, they are nothing but trying to cash out of people's problems. I purchased Gynectrol because of the suggestion from the online salesperson, I was really really excited and had huge hopes that my body would transform. But trust me guys, once I consumed single tablet for the first time, I nearly had a heart attack, the products are SO powerful that it will leave you crap until 8 hours. Bloating stomach, aching heart, and irritation throughout. It is useless rubbish.

    And I decided to contact customer support regarding the issue, and guess what happened, they won't even talk to you once they sell the product. All your queries are unanswered and they will ask for multiple tests from you to prove whatever happened to you. It's just a humble request to my brothers out there to be safe from this scam. Diet and hard work are only the key, there are no shortcuts.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 15, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Sagar,

      Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Our products are made of 100% natural and safe ingredients so it is an extremely rare occurrence to have side effects associated with our products. However, you may be allergic to one of the ingredients. We post all ingredients on the website for customers to review before purchasing.

      I can see that you were in regular contact with our customer service team earlier this year but did not respond to our last email (dated 03/02/2019). We answer all emails within 24 hours, but if you ever need an instant reply we recommend contacting us via LiveChat or telephone.

      Kind regards,

      Jordan

      CrazyBulk Support


  • 2 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Pretty dang good

    I got a four-week supply and stayed my normal weight and doubled my weights I lifted (but I lift hard). After two weeks to get it out of the system I ordered another four-week supply and I have maxed out all machines at the gym I go to and everyone I know says I am swole or love how big and defined my muscles are. People that give low reviews for this company aren't following the directions or isn't working out hard enough.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 25, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Christopher,

      Thanks for your review - we're delighted to hear about your great results! Don't forget to send us some before after photos to take advantage of the testimonial offer to get your free stack and T-shirt.

      You can check out the details here: https://crazybulk.com/testimonials/.

      Kind regards

      Jordan

      CrazyBulk Support.


  • 16 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money and sketchy company

    • Utah,
    • Mar 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    So I ordered the bulking stack from this website with the discounted deal they had. The ingredients are listed on the actual bottle's labels. The products include Tribulus Terrestris, wild yam, whey, creatine, assorted vitamins such as B12, and a couple of others. After about three weeks to a month of taking the stack at full dose (which was about 12-16 pills each time), I did notice a difference in muscle tone and an extra boost of strength during exercise. But in my observations using the Crazy Bulk stack, it is very likely the small results came from simply huge doses of already sold supplements combined together. Within a week of not taking the stack, the notices results dissipated. Total scam as well as the company being secretive, making false claims, and paying people to give false reviews/results.

    TL;DR Not worth the high price for minimal results.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 25, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Joshua,

      We recommend using our bulking stack for a minimum of 8 weeks to see good results.

      All of our reviews and testimonials are written by real customers and we do not pay any of our customers to leave us reviews. The testimonials on our website are sent to us by customers looking to take advantage of our offer for customers that see results and want to share them.

      We give out some free products to them as they are willing to share their stories of how they got on and enjoyed the products. The offer can be seen here: https://crazybulk.com/testimonials/#submit-testimonial

      Kind regards,

      Jordan

      CrazyBulk Support.


  • 4 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Not a magic pill.

    • Scotland,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ll keep this short.

    I only ordered the D-Bal and it worked so I have ordered several times now. As far as I’m concerned, it does exactly what it says on the tin. It’s not a magic pill so I still need to put a shift in when using it.

    Cheers Crazy Bulk, next order coming your way soon.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 20 people found this review helpful

    This company is a scam

    • Portland, ME,
    • Feb 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't order anything from them. They pretended to ship a product, and after two weeks, they said the shipping address was wrong and I had to call the Post Office to track it. When I called the Post Office, the tracking number they provided didn't exist. They are criminals and don't deserve to be in business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Company Response from Crazy Bulk

      Hi Thomas,

      If you can reach out to our customer service team via the online livechat support on our website (available 24/7) or send us an email at support@cb-support.com, we would gladly resend your order to you free of charge. Our warehouse happens to be in South Portland, Maine, so shipping the order to you should be relatively quick.

      If this is an appropriate solution for you, then please confirm your address with the livechat agent or the email you send in to us to make sure there that we can get your order to you!

      Kind regards

      Jordan

      CrazyBulk Support


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Crazy Bulk!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review