High Impact Plant Protein Review - Does It Actually Work?

By Anthony Dugarte, M.D., C.S.C.S
Published on: Feb 28, 2020

What is High Impact Plant Protein?

Tony Horton's High Impact Plant Protein from Power Life is a supplement that helps support muscle strength and recovery.

During exercise and other strenuous activity, your muscles are damaged at the cellular level - you may notice this as soreness. During the recovery process, your muscles repair themselves, allowing for the ability to come back even stronger.

Many things may influence recovery; dietary protein may help expedite this process. Protein supplements are widely available, though Tony Horton may offer one that differs from most.

High Impact is a protein supplement that contains a blend of plant-based ingredients that allegedly do more than just support muscle recovery.

According to his website, High Impact also supports digestion, reduces gas and bloating, and increases energy. The supplement is intended for those concerned with age-related muscle loss, as well as those interested in boosting strength and muscle performance.

Can one supplement offer so many benefits?

In this article, we’ll help you determine if there is any merit to Tony Horton’s claims by reviewing the scientific support for High Impact’s blend of ingredients.

The High Impact Ingredients: Do They Work?

To use High Impact, simply mix one scoop in 80z of water or your favorite smoothie. In addition to 100% of your daily value of Vitamin D, each scoop of High Impact contains:

  • Vegan Protein Blend - 15g (Pumpkin, Sunflower, Flax, Mung Bean, Yellow Pea)
  • Chromium
  • AlgaRich Vegi-P55 Chlorella
  • Ca HMB
  • Digestive enzymes (Prohydrolace)

Some of the ingredients listed above have been included for benefits other than those related to supporting muscle recovery.

Chlorella is a nutrient-rich algae that is often considered to be a superfood. Among its many alleged health effects, it may offer antioxidant capabilities. Chlorella boosted antioxidant enzymes in smokers.

Prohydrolase is an enzyme responsible for protein digestion. It is often included in protein supplements to promote the absorption of nutrients and improve digestion.

In a recent study, 250mg of prohydrolase did not add to the muscle-building capability of a whey protein supplement when compared to placebo. More research is needed to fully characterize the role of this enzyme in muscle strength.

As the bulk of High Impact’s benefits are supposedly due to the vegan protein blend, the focus of our research will revolve around this topic.

So the question is, do plant-based proteins offer better results than traditional animal-based protein supplements?

Plant-Based vs. Animal-Based Protein

For adults, the recommended dietary allowance (RDA) for protein is 0.8g protein/kg body weight daily. Athletes are often instructed to take in 2-3x this amount.

In a 185lb individual, The RDA would be around 70g of protein, whereas the suggested intake for an athlete may approach 170g each day.

As High Impact offers 15g per scoop, keep in mind that the majority of your protein must come from your diet. They also recommend consuming after a workout - this practice seems to be supported by research.

Their vegan protein blend is intended to support healthy muscle development. While High Impact has not been specifically studied, there are a number of studies that compare plant to animal-based proteins.

One study compared the consumption of 24g of pea or whey protein before and after strenuous activity. Over 8-weeks, pea protein produced similar outcomes to whey for body composition, muscle thickness, force production, exercise performance, and strength.

Low dietary protein intake can result in age-related muscle loss. In elderly subjects, plant protein was actually better at guarding against this loss.

In a review of 9 studies, soy protein was found to produce similar results in terms of muscle mass and strength when compared to animal-based sources of protein.

More work is needed to determine prohydrolase’s ability to improve protein digestion and absorption. However, there is enough evidence to demonstrate that plant-based proteins are comparable to animal sources in building muscle, enhancing strength, improving performance, and preventing age-related decline.

Is High Impact Safe?

Protein supplements are generally safe to use; this macronutrient is readily available in many of the plant and animal-based foods we consume.

Athletes and those that regularly engage in various forms of physical activity routinely double the RDA for protein.

Though protein toxicity is rare, our bodies don’t use excess efficiently. When too much is present, your kidneys, bones, and liver can be negatively affected.

Signs that you’re consuming too much protein may include dehydration, stomach pain, nausea, headaches, or diarrhea.

Speak to your physician before making drastic alterations in your diet.

The Cost

High Impact is currently only available from Tony Horton’s website.

It is offered in chocolate or vanilla and ships free at the following prices:

  • $69.95 for 1 jar
  • $188.85 for 3 jars
  • $353.70 for 6 jars

While you’ll save the most by purchasing 6 jars, keep in mind a single jar contains 15 servings. You’ll need 2 to get you through the month.

They also back every purchase with a 90-day guarantee. To process your return, call 855-462-2496 or email support@mypowerlife.com.

Are There Any Alternatives?

Plant-based nutrition has been gaining popularity over the last few years. Thus, there are many brands offering vegan protein blends.

A simple internet search will reveal the many options available.

Vega is a good example. They offer low-calorie, high-protein pea-based supplements packed with vitamins and minerals. Plan to spend about $100 on their site for about 45 servings.

While this is a pretty hefty price tag, it is still more cost-effective than High Impact.

You can also obtain your plant-based protein naturally. Corn, broccoli, lentils, spinach, and peas are all nutrient and protein-dense options.

The Bottom Line

While High Impact is a relatively new product, the concept of supplementing plant-based protein has been around for a while. There is plenty of evidence supporting most of Tony Horton’s claims.

High Impact and similar products are generally safe to use. Consuming excess protein rarely leads to serious adverse effects though too much can negatively affect your bones, kidney, and liver.

Also, keep in mind that these supplements should not be the focus of your diet. Obtaining foods naturally allows you to benefit from the fiber and nutrient content from what you consume.

High Impact is relatively expensive compared to many available products. Shopping around may lead you to a more cost-effective brand.

Lastly, remember to speak with your physician before making drastic changes to your diet.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of High Impact Plant Protein:
  • 18 Customer Reviews
  • 39% Recommend This Product
2.8 out of 5
5 star: 27% 4 star: 11% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 22% 1 star: 33%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Cost too high for low quantity

    • By William S.,
    • Jacksonville, NC,
    • Jul 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I have not used this product long enough to write a valuable review on its quality, but I am extremely disappointed with the number of servings per jar.

    I feel confident the product will produce quality results, but at $254.70 for "6" jars that barely had 1/4 of its volume with the powder, I do not plan to re-purchase. I ended up combining the "6" jars into 2 full jars and threw the 4 empty ones away. Wish I had just gone for a refund.

    I know now from other reviews and comments that each "jar" is supposed to contain 15 servings, but in the 30 minutes or more video I watched from Tony, product description, and advertising through the purchase process, I was not aware of this fact (or at the very least it was glossed over).

    For such a large jar, why not just include a full 30-day supply (60 servings at the recommended twice daily consumption)?

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Price
    • Number of servings

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Feeling stronger everyday!

    • By Kim L.,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 30, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I am 62 years old and had knee surgery a year ago. Prior to my surgery, my husband and I would hike and bike and I could easily go on 20-mile bike rides. After my surgery, we continued to bike but I had several falls and seemed to become weaker and more unstable. I had a difficult time getting up from sitting on the floor and was hesitant to walk down the stairs. I've been taking Tony's High Impact Plant Protein every morning in a breakfast smoothie for a month now and just realized the other day that I was running up and down the stairs without thinking about it. I am very happy with the results so far and look forward to what the next 2 months will bring.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Easy to mix the one scoop a day into a breakfast smoothie
    • I like the results that I am feeling
    • The texture can be a little gritty but I found that if I let my smoothie set for 15 minutes after I make it that this texture goes away

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • High Impact Plant Based Protein

    • By Catherine U.,
    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Jun 28, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    JUST got off the phone with a representative from your company. They told me there were 30 serving in each jar. I said that was weird because Tony in his video recommends 2 drinks per day. Then I do research on this product. Biggest complaint was that there were only 15 servings in each container.

    Why are you having your online representatives lie?

    You said in the video the cost of the protein was about the same as a large coffee. You would need three times the amount of powder.

    I feel like I wasted my time listening to your presentation when you are scamming everyone on the price of each container and it only goes for 15 days at 1 drink per day even though you recommend 2 drinks per day in your video.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Liked the presentation
    • Too bad you weren't truthful
    • I really need to recover muscle mass, especially my dear husband
    • You WEREN'T TRUTHFUL
    • Very little product for the money
    • You have online reps lying to the customers

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 29, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Catherine, I'm Jordan from Power Life. I'm so sorry for the confusion and I hope I can help clear some of it up. Our High Impact Plant Protein has 15 servings per jar, as stated on our official website. I'm very sorry for the confusion from our Customer Service Representative and I will be reaching out to them personally to ensure that they have the correct information. We strive to ensure our customers have a positive experience with our company, and I'm very sorry this was not the case for you. I would like to issue you a full refund for your upsetting experience. Please e-mail me directly at jordan@mypowerlife.com so I can begin the refund process. Thank you for bringing this to my attention so we can ensure that our customer service team always has the correct information.


  • Great product!

    • By Donald P.,
    • Cleveland, OH,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    Can’t continue because of the cost. I am 65 years old on a limited budget. Still working out and staying in great shape! Take care and stay safe out there! Regards!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Great product, excellent ingredients

    • By John S.,
    • Mount Laurel, NJ,
    • Jun 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: 3–6 months
    Overall Experience:

    I use the protein as a recovery drink after my morning workouts. I feel it revitalizes my energy, reduces muscle soreness, and definitely is helping increase muscle mass and strength.

    Pros and Cons:

    • Chocolate plant tastes great
    • Reduces soreness
    • Increases muscle mass
    • Little gritty if shaken with water

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Overall disappointed

    • By Trini N.,
    • Brunswick, OH,
    • Jun 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    I was excited to try a plant protein as I have always used whey protein. I thought perhaps at age 56 (female) I might benefit from moving to something new. I didn't have any issues in getting the product, it was delivered quite quickly. I did take issue with the volume of protein in the container as well as the taste. I ordered the chocolate and literally had to choke it down. There is no way I can get through the additional 3 containers I purchased so I'm definitely returning it. Would not recommend.

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Taste
    • Volume in container

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 24, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Trini, I'm Jordan from Power Life. Thank you so much for sharing your honest feedback about your experience with our High Impact Plant Protein. I'm really sorry to hear that it wasn't what you were expecting. We value all feedback to ensure that we improve upon our products and processes in the future. I would like to issue you a full refund. Please e-mail me directly at Jordan@MyPowerLife.com so I can begin the refund process. I'm sorry for your frustrating experience but I look forward to making this right.


  • Not happy at all with the volume of content inside such a big jar.

    • By Amy B.,
    • Portland, OR,
    • Jun 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    • Length of Use: Less than 3 months
    Overall Experience:

    We received the order 2 days ago and I finally had the chance to open it up. I found ALL 6 containers are in the box and when I opened one, it is only 1/2 full. So, I feel quite shocked. Even if I return the 3 bottles (that supposedly the refund request would come through), each bottle 1/2 full is $45.33. With the volume of the content, I think at best each bottle should be $25.00. All in all, before I received the refund in my account, I paid $272.60 for 6 containers which are only 1/2 full!! Can I please talk to someone about this?

    Pros and Cons:

    • No “pros” were specified in this review
    • Late delivery
    • Refund on half of the order not seen yet
    • Content inside only 1/2 full!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 16, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Amy, I'm Jordan and I work at Power Life. I'm really sorry to hear about your frustrating experience and I'm hoping I can help clear up any confusion. Every jar of High Impact Plant Protein contains 15 servings per jar, with 15 grams per scoop. If there are not 15 scoops in each of your jars, please let me know so we can look into this right away. I mentioned this in a review below but wanted to add in here too...The reason why the bottle is large is because we want to make sure the label is easy to read and contains all the pertinent information about the protein powder. We have heard our customer's concerns so on our next shipment, we will be reducing the size of the container because we want to be more environmentally friendly with our packaging. Since the new containers will be smaller, each shipment will include a quick start guide with any additional product information. We appreciate your feedback. I would also like to assist you with the refund process. Please e-mail me directly at Jordan@mypowerlife.com so we can get this started.


  • Marketing error

    • By Alfred C.,
    • Jasper, GA,
    • Jun 2, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I hadn't even opened the package and saw the large bottle and thought that this is a real effort by "The Tony team" to offer a real opportunity. Once I opened the bottle and saw how little quantity that it held a negative thought started to seep into my psyche, next to that it would only serve 15 days. That was it! So I finished the powder by telling myself I had fallen for another of the Horton sales schemes.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 3, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Alfred, I'm Jordan from Power Life. I'm really sorry to hear about your frustrating experience and I wanted to stress that we take your concerns seriously. I mentioned this in a review below but wanted to add in here too...The reason why the bottle is large is because we want to make sure the label is easy to read and contains all the pertinent information about the protein powder. We have heard our customer's concerns so on our next shipment, we will be reducing the size of the container because we want to be more environmentally friendly with our packaging. Since the new containers will be smaller, each shipment will include a quick start guide with any additional product information. I would like to issue you a full refund. Please e-mail me directly at jordan@mypowerlife.com so I can begin this process. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right.


  • Excellent support for muscle recovery!

    • By Callie L.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 26, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Because I have already been taking and using a different plant-based protein monthly that I love, I merely decided to add the Power Life Plant Protein with my other. I found a need to split up the servings in half so that I could spread it out to a full 30 days of servings for the actual cost and feasibility, that is related to my choosing a 4-star. Overall, I'm intrigued by the support for muscle strength and recovery, which was why I chose this and would recommend it to others. Thank you for making a positive difference.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Excellent while I was taking it

    • By Carlos N.,
    • New York City, NY,
    • May 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very disappointed with re-purchasing. I was away and asked my wife to order enough for the two of us, thinking she would also enjoy the benefits...after five weeks of waiting, we canceled the order. If there is going to be such a gap between using your product then the benefits are all lost...good product, bad service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Carlos, I'm so sorry about this frustrating experience. Our High Impact Plant Protein has been on backorder due to overwhelming demand, but we are projecting to get it back in stock by the end of this month. I'm so sorry for the inconvenience but hope you decide to purchase from us in the future again. Don't hesitate to reach out to me at Jordan@mypowerlife.com if you have any questions or concerns.


  • Great shake

    • By Daniel K.,
    • Sebastopol, CA,
    • May 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Great shake - this product is true to the claims in its advertising. I mix up a shake every day. In addition to the expected results (feeling strong and healthy all day long, with better sleep at night), some additional benefits have surprised me: muscle cramping is gone, and overall digestion has improved - heartburn has stopped. Glad to be using your product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    • May 22, 2020

      Company Response from Power Life

      Hi Daniel, thank you so much for your feedback. I'm thrilled to hear that you are loving our High Impact Plant Protein shake. We love to hear it! Don't hesitate to reach out to me at jordan@mypowerlife.com if you ever have any questions in the future!


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for High Impact Plant Protein!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
High Impact Plant Protein from Tony Horton