Dr Marty Nature's Blend Review: Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 15, 2019

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a new dog food whose only ingredients are a variety of freeze-dried meat, poultry, and fish as well as fruits and vegetables.

What makes the food unique is that it uses natural, “raw” ingredients and does not contain any filler grains that you’d find with cheaper dog food. The freeze-dried element is a rare trait, too, as most food is cooked in factories first or is wet food out of a can.

Dr. Marty is a brand named after veterinarian Dr. Martin Goldstein. According to the company’s website, Goldstein is lauded as “one of the world’s leading veterinarians” for more than 40 years. Goldstein is a graduate of Cornell University’s College of Veterinary Medicine and authored a book titled, “The Nature of Animal Healing: The Definitive Holistic Medicine Guide to Caring for Your Dog and Cat”.

In a time when organic, non-GMO food is a big deal for human consumers, dog food that contains freeze-dried whole foods is certainly an appealing option for dog owners. In this review, we’ll analyze Nature’s Blend, talk about what its ingredients do, what it costs, and how it compares to other similar dog foods.

At the end of our review, we’ll include an opinion-based section that covers our thoughts about the general strengths and weaknesses of this product.

Nature’s Blend Feeding Plan

The food’s website has a very specific daily feeding schedule depending on the weight of your dog:

  • 5 lbs: ½ cup
  • 10 lbs.: ¾ cup
  • 20 lbs.: 1 ¼ cup
  • 25 lbs.: 1 ½ cup
  • 30 lbs.: 1 ¾ cups
  • 40 lbs.: 2 cups
  • 50 lbs.: 2 ½ cups
  • 60 lbs.: 2 ¾ cups
  • 70 lbs.: 3 ¼ cups
  • 80 lbs.: 3 ½ cups
  • 90 lbs.: 3 ¾ cups

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Ingredients: What They Are and Their Benefits

The defining characteristics of this dog food are its ingredients. As the food’s website says, “Nature’s Blend … is a nutrition-packed formula designed to give your dog a healthier, happier life. We blend a variety of (ingredients) for the balanced, complete nutrition your dog needs.”

Here’s the list of the ingredients contained in the dog food:

  • Turkey
  • Beef
  • Salmon
  • Duck
  • Flax
  • Beef liver
  • Turkey hearts
  • Turkey liver
  • Sweet potato
  • Eggs
  • Pea flour
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Blueberries
  • Cranberries
  • Pumpkin seeds
  • Spinach
  • Ginger
  • Salt
  • Mixed tocopherols

As you can see, this is a hefty list of natural ingredients devoid of the common fillers you see like cornmeal.

Now, ingredients play a big role in your dog’s nutrition, but so do the food’s balance of proteins, moisture, and other ingredients. There needs to be a certain balance in order to provide your dog with a beneficial meal.

Here’s a breakdown of these factors:

  • Crude protein: 39%
  • Crude fat: 23%
  • Crude fiber: 2.5%
  • Moisture: 5%
  • Omega-3 fatty acids: 5%

We turned to PetMD’s page on balanced dog foods to get an idea of where these percentages fall in terms of the recommended allowances.

PetMD says that protein amounts should be between 18% and 25% and that the fat content of dog food should be between 10% and 15%.

And, according to pet food company IAMS, the fiber content of your dog food should be between 1.4% and 3.5%.

Also, dog website This Dog’s Life notes that moisture content should be between 6% and 10%.

Based on these numbers, we think that Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is on the high side for protein and fat, right on the mark for fiber and a little below the normal range for moisture, which is understandable because the food is freeze-dried.

The high fat is a bit of a concern because it can have negative effects on your dog’s health only if you aren’t giving your dog daily exercise.

“The problem comes in when animals are allowed to eat excessive amounts of calories (including table scraps and treats) without proportionate exercise,” the site notes.

Now, on the positive side, proteins contain amino acids that are the building blocks for your dog’s muscles and, since they only produce half what they need on their own, they need to get a good amount from their food.

Fats, PetMD points out, “provide energy, as well as taste or flavor, to foods, and encourage the absorption of certain vitamins.”

Their article goes on to say that fat can help dogs “maintain healthy skin and a shiny, healthy, coat.”

As a quick side note, This Dog’s Life notes that mixed tocopherols are a vitamin E supplement and are far healthier than the alternative, a preservative called “BHA”.

Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend Cost and Return Policy

With so many natural ingredients packed into a bag of Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend, it can, no doubt, be considered a premium dog food. As such, it demands premium prices compared to other dog food that we’ll talk about after we discuss pricing and returns.

Dr. Marty bags contain 16 ounces of food and, at the time of publishing, were available via the following pricing tiers:

  • 1 bag: $29.95
  • 3 bags: $83.95
  • 6 bags: $161.70

According to a 2012 article from the Washinton Post, one pound of dog food has about four cups of food in it, which means one bag can last a 20 lb. dog for three days. Basically, the bigger the dog you have, the fewer the days your food will last, with 90-pound dogs consuming nearly an entire bag in one day.

With this in mind, we think that Nature’s Blend pricing is considerably high, as a 20-pound dog will need about 9.5 bags of food to make it through a 30-day month or around $275 a month for 10 bags.

Open Farm is another company who provides free-dried raw dog food. Their 13.5 oz. bags are $29.99, which ends up being more expensive than Nature’s Blend because each Open Farm bag contains 2.5 fewer ounces of dog food.

As for non-freeze-dried food, Blue Wilderness, a well-known healthy dog food, costs $31.99 for an 11 lb. bag from Petco. While Blue Wilderness can’t match the meats-and-vegetables-only mix of Dr. Marty Nature’s blend, it does avoid grains and features a long list of fruits and vegetables along with deboned chicken as its first ingredient as opposed to fillers.

Now that we’ve given you a comparison of this food’s pricing, we want to do a quick overview of its return policy. You have 90 days to return your food if you don’t feel it’s a good fit. The product’s website goes as far as to say they’ll refund 100% of your purchase price “if you don't’ see noticeable improvements in your dog’s health and happiness.”

The food ships to you for free but you’ll have to pay return shipping.

The Final Word: Our Overall Thoughts About Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend

This pet food is a very interesting option if, for no other reason than the fact that you’re getting straight-up meats and vegetables along with a vitamin E supplement.

If you’re a dog owner who has a desire to give your dog raw food, then Dr. Marty Nature’s Blend is a good match for you. The second part of this, though, is whether or not you have the financial means to pay for the food. The cost of Nature’s Blend may be prohibitive, as monthly supplies of the food would be:

  • $275 for a 20-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 30-lb. dog
  • $407 for a 40-lb. dog
  • $515 for a 50-lb dog

The bigger the dog, the more expensive the endeavor when it comes to this food. However, if you’re willing to pay for Nature’s Blend, then your desire to provide your dog with raw, healthy food will most likely be fulfilled.

Keep in mind, though, that the fat content in this food is above the recommended amount, which means you’ll need to be diligent with providing your dog consistent exercise every day to ensure he or she doesn’t gain weight.

Also, keep in mind that you need to transition your dog slowly from his or her current food to this food if you choose to buy it. Dogs’ digestive system can be sensitive and a sudden change from one food to a new one may cause some digestive issues.

» Recommended Reading: Dog Supplements 101: A Detailed Beginner’s Guide


Read 564 Dr. Marty Nature's Blend Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 4.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 414 4 star: 112 3 star: 14 2 star: 7 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 94% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 564
Sort reviews by:

  • 45 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Dr. Marty Dog Food and Supplements

    • Washington,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The only way I can afford Dr. Marty is to be a new customer or returning customer for discounts. After going thru his online presentation, I bought six bags of DRY DOG food for my 12-year-old golden who has had allergy and joint problems all his life. I ended up getting a refund for the dog food as the cost didn't justify the results. I now feed him according to Dr. Marty's advice and must say it is well worth the education.

    His "FREE and HEALTHY" joint supplement is WORTH the cost. After the first order of six bottles, I have just re-ordered and will give up something in my life for it. It has made "Rocker" like a youngin again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 45 out 49 people found this review helpful

    Great food so far, crazy expensive, terrible ordering process

    • Oklahoma City, OK,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great food so far. This food is more expensive than just about any other food in the market. Both times I've ordered I received more than what I ordered and I was charged for it. The second time I ordered I selected three bags and I received twelve! Yes, twelve. I order online all the time, I don't make mistakes like that, ever. Buyer be warned.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 18, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Alan, I'm Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about our pricing, but I wanted to stress that our products are priced this way to reflect the high quality ingredients that are in the formula. We do have sales very often, so our Customer Service can absolutely help you find a deal if there is a sale running. Regarding your orders, I'd like to look in to that further to see where the issue is occurring. We would never want our customers to receive more than they had originally ordered. Please e-mail me at Kat@drmartypets.com, and I'll look into this right away. I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


  • 31 out 33 people found this review helpful

    My two Yorkies diagnosed with Pancreatitis

    • Ohio,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As many others have reported, my dogs absolutely loved this food, but after eating it per the recommended servings for about a month, both of them became ill, throwing up, and were in obvious pain. We took them to our vet and learned they both had pancreatitis. The vet stated that the crude fat level of 23% in the food was high, especially for little dogs. The treatment for pancreatitis is expensive, and our little guys are not out of the woods yet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 1, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Rick, I am Kat from Dr. Marty Pets. I was really upset while reading your review as this is the first time I have heard of this reaction while a dog was trying Nature's Blend. Please e-mail me at kat@drmartypets.com with your full name so I can notify our Adverse Reactions Team right away. We take these reviews very seriously and we would like to look into this to ensure that this does not happen ever again. I would like to stress that we always ask our customers to consult their pet's veterinarians prior to beginning any new dog food to ensure that it is right for them. I also wanted to mention that we would never make a product that we did not wholeheartedly believe in. There are hundreds of happy customers whose dogs love Nature's Blend, so I would like to get to the bottom of your situation right away. Again, please e-mail me at Kat@drmartypets.com and I will be issuing you a full refund while getting more information from you so I can investigate further. Thank you.


  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Great food but way too expensive

    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two Westies, both 11 years old. Over the years their allergies have gotten worse, so I have tried lots of different foods. I listened to Dr. Marty's whole thing on pet food and was impressed. I bought two bags of the dog food hoping this would be enough for a couple of weeks. My dogs loved the food. However, I went exactly by the weight measurements and in 8 days, both bags were gone. At roughly $30 each with tax and shipping, No freaking way was I going to spend $175 a month for my dogs to eat. That is just crazy. I love making sure my dogs get good healthy food, but that is insane for dog food. And he even says in his sales pitch, I wanted to make this food affordable. No wonder he is a vet to the stars...because they can afford his stuff.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 16, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Alena. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am happy to read that your dogs enjoyed our Nature’s Blend. Nature’s Blend’s ingredients are so nutrient-dense, the shipping cost skyrockets if it exceeds a certain weight. Our current bags are optimized to provide the most possible nutrition with the lowest cost of shipping. Additionally, since all dogs have different appetites, sizes, weight, and activity, we understand that serving sizes may vary. Many of our other customers also enjoy Nature’s Blend as a topper to provide nutrition, rather than the sole source of their dog’s food. Your pups will still benefit with this smaller dosage. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com. I would be happy to help.


  • 30 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Crap, and be careful when giving cc#

    • Leesburg, FL,
    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start by saying my 13-year-old black lab absolutely hated this food. Tried it once and never tried again. Their site says you have 90 days to try. However, what they don't tell you is once they have your credit card, they will send you shipments every 30 days. Nowhere on their site does it state this important fact. When I contacted them and expected them to pay return shipping for the second order, their reply was hysterical. I was told if you pay by credit card you automatically get subscribed to shipments every 30 days. How else do you pay over the web? When I asked the question and why it doesn't state that on their site, I'm still waiting for a reply, which I doubt I will receive. Buyer BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 18, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hello Joyce. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your review of Nature’s Blend and your experience with Dr. Marty Pets. We have many satisfied pups who love Nature’s Blend, but we understand it is not the right choice for every dog. I see that your subscription is now canceled, and you should not be receiving any more shipments. Our Terms and Conditions do state that customers are responsible for shipping charges incurred in returning any product. As a courtesy, I would like to offer you a full refund on all of your orders without any need to return. Please contact me at kat@drmartypets.com so that I may have more information about your experience. Thank you for reaching out and I look forward to hearing from you soon.


  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Got a free sample and...

    • Illinois,
    • Apr 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Dogs seemed to like it very well, however, with two dogs, I can't see myself spending over $1000 monthly to feed them. I love my boys, but they're not eating better than me! I believe the grain free food I currently feed them will be fine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 1, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Duane. I’m Kat with Dr. Marty Pets. We understand that using Nature’s Blend as the sole source for your dogs’ nutrition may be difficult for some. Many of our customer’s experience great results using Nature’s Blend as a supplement topper used together with their dog’s daily feeding regimen. Used this way, your dogs may still experience benefits from the high-quality ingredients used in Nature’s Blend. We also have just come out with our new delicious and nutritious Tilly’s Treasures Raw Beef Liver Dog Treats that can be used a special reward or occasional snack in your dogs’ current diet. Feel free to reach out to me at kat@drmartypets.com if you have any more questions or comments.


  • 26 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Cost

    • California,
    • Mar 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is way too expensive for me, I have three little ones. I give my dogs a good grain-free food and I could buy a 40 lb bag for what he charges for one 16 oz bag, the size of a bag of treats. No thanks, I'm not even going to try it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 18, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Trish, Kat from Dr. Marty Pets here. Thank you for your review! I'm really sorry to hear that you feel this way about the pricing of Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend. Our products are priced this way to reflect the high-quality ingredients that we use in our formulas. Nature's Blend, specifically, is made up of only meats like fish, and ranch-raised beef (and more), and then there are other protein sources from fruits and vegetables. This is not your typical grain-free dog food! I wanted to mention that we have multiple sales that run throughout the year. Please give our Customer Service Team a call at (800)-670-1839 and they can fill you in on our current sales. Don't hesitate to reach out to me at Kat@drmartypets.com if you have any other questions or concerns.


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    As good as freeze-dried gets?

    I have only had my dog "mostly" on this for two weeks. He was not wild about adopting it, and I still mix in some of whatever meat or cooked eggs etc. that I am eating in order to provide him incentive to dig in. I like that Dr. Marty's uses a variety of meat proteins, including organ meats. I wish the salmon were "wild caught" as the farmed stuff can be loaded with secondary compounds. The turkey, beef, duck, etc. are also likely from feedlot-type operations as they do not state otherwise. Also not sure how high on the list of good fillers I would place "pea flour" and the relative proportions of other vegetables and fruits are unknown except for the listed order of ingredients (which theoretically is by percentage weight).

    I am also dabbling with TruDog brand freeze-dried which is fairly comparably priced and made from all beef "real U.S. meat, vital organs, and meaty bone." My dog likes this better and the color and texture are certainly red burger-like without any additives. My reservation on that one is that all the beef is Midwest sourced which pretty much translates to 'feedlot fattened' giant cattle operations that are not known for good animal health or humane care.

    More background on my case: I have a 70lb, 11-year-old golden retriever/collie who is the "Dog of My Life" and has been grain free since I got him at 18 weeks and noticed his fur falling out in patches on Iam's. He did well on the wild-caught fish flavor of Orijen (a dry, grain free, complete but expensive ration) for most of his life, mixed with table scraps and the occasional string cheese or bowl of milk as this dog "does well on dairy" and loves it. That said, as he has aged he has gotten more finicky and less enthusiastic about any dry dog food and most wet (canned) foods including the Newman's Own Organic line - hence trying freeze dried and supplementing with as much other healthy meat, egg, dairy protein as possible. I do like the convenience of freeze-dried to at least have on hand as a backup, in spite of cost, so if you know of an even better or more affordable good option, please post.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 24 people found this review helpful

    It's dehydrated! Half price.

    • Portland, OR,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mix a half cup of Marty's with a half cup of water or broth, as suggested on my packages. That about halves the cost for my wife's small dog. Why do so many seem unaware of that?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Excellent, but cost prohibitive

    • Mansfield, CT,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The ingredients in this freeze-dried food are of the highest quality and arrived promptly. If we had one toy breed dog to feed, I would definitely use this diet. It is a convenient, nutritious, safe alternative to a raw diet. Given that we have an Alaskan Malamute, a West Highland Terrier, and a Manchester Terrier x Daschund x Chihuahua mix, the cost would be prohibitive. I think most dogs would love the flavor and would benefit from the quality ingredients. If you have one small dog, it is definitely a diet to consider. We used a bit of the food as a topping and all three loved it. The company responds quickly and politely to inquiries. I did not request a refund since my dogs liked the food and I used the three bags as toppers. When I called to say that while I was pleased with the quality of the product, I could not afford it for my dogs, they were quite understanding.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Scam - about killed by 14-year-old yorkie

    • Savannah, GA,
    • Jul 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    There are no warnings and there should be as this is not necessarily good food for dogs that are older and often have kidney/liver disease. Kidney/liver disease is common in older dogs. If your dog has this - this food will push them over the edge due to their kidneys not being able to get rid of all the excess protein they are getting. This cost me over $1200 in vet bills but thank the good lord we have Peanut back and he is recovering. Beware of this as it may not be good for your dog and it might cost you a lot of money to get your dog back, if you catch it in time and it doesn't kill them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 10, 2019

      Company Response from Dr. Marty Pets

      Hi Robert. My name is Kat and I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I am sorry to read your story and I sympathize with the hard time this must have been for you and your family. Dr. Marty Pets always advises our customers to consult their pet’s veterinarian before making any changes to their pet’s diet. Your pet’s veterinarian will be able to make the best recommendation for your pet’s diet, as they will have access to your pet’s complete medical records and examine their current well-being. Dr. Marty Pets stands by our line of pet food as a delicious and nutritious option for dogs and cats, as this is not a common side effect. I would like more information on your situation. Please email me at kat@drmartypets.com. Again, I apologize for your ordeal and I look forward to your email.


Showing 1-11 of 564

Write a Review for Dr. Marty Nature's Blend!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review