Effy Jewelry Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
Effy Jewelry

Overall Rating

2.2

88 Customer Reviews

Summary

Effy Jewelry is an e-commerce company that specializes in selling a wide variety of men's and women's jewelry, including rings, watches, bracelets, necklaces, and more. Learn what customers are saying about this company.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

2.2 Stars out of 88 Reviews
5 Star:21% 4 Star:5% 3 Star:1% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:61%
28% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Effy Jewelry:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 14, 2017

Quality and customer service are a big letdown!

By Dana Royalty, Lawrenceburg, KY, Verified Reviewer

On a cruise three weeks ago, my husband decided to spoil me and buy me a new diamond ring since I lost my engagement ring over ten years ago. We have been married 25 years this year, and he wanted to finally get me another ring. After hearing the jewelry shop workers boast about the amazing quality of Effy Jewelry, the lifetime warranty, and made in the USA brand, we purchased a ring valued at $2,995.

Just two weeks after getting home, I noticed a rough feel to the band of my 24 karats white gold band on my ring. Upon further inspection, I was shocked to see that it was broken completely into. I was shocked but remembered what the workers said about the amazing customer service. So, I called.

The lady did apologize as she told me it would take up to six weeks to fix. Okay, that stinks, but it is what it is. She then told me that I would get an email instructing me further. I was expecting a pre-paid shipping code, but instead, they tell ME that I need to pay for a certain shipping and insure the full value of the ring! Seriously?

I have owned this ring for three weeks, and it broke in half. They should have offered to take complete and total responsibility for anything involved in getting it repaired and back on my finger ASAP! I guess we disagree on what customer service should be.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 49 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 2, 2017

Buyer Beware of Effy

By Felix Cabarle, Mt Holly, NJ, Verified Reviewer

I purchased an Effy ring while on a Celebrity cruise. The convincing sales representative stated that the ring can be traded in or upgraded by Effy at any time. We then asked if the ring can be made in white gold and they said that it can be done. So we purchased the ring and after several weeks it was delivered to our home and it was in white gold as promised.

However, the emerald stone was not the same one that I purchased. During a phone call to Effy, I was told that the stone was indeed the same stone. Later, I contacted Effy to ask if I could visit their store in New York with intent to either trade the ring or have the emerald replaced. I was told that I must contact the cruise line, and they told me that I had to contact their customer service department, I think it is a contract service called Seaboard.

After a month of phone calls and emails in which I asked to upgrade the emerald or to trade in the ring toward a different one, and their assurances that they will help, I am now told to send the ring to their company and they will see what they can do. This after they were sent copies of the receipts and Effy photos of the ring.

I want to point out that we recently went on a cruise in the Caribbean and the Effy stores on some of the islands all repeated an Effy policy that we can upgrade a ring at any time. So I am lied to and given the runaround and neither Effy or the Celebrity cruise line cares. Oh, just to mention that the ring cost $1,500.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 47 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 12, 2016

Not as it seems

By Joanna, Texas, Verified Reviewer

My husband purchased me a Tanzanian bracelet in distance from Effy. It was not fitting right and I was told to take it to their jeweler in Cozumel where he ruined it! I have never seen such poor workmanship.

When we got back from our cruise I was told to send it to Effy in New York, I did that. That was back in March of 2016 and it is now September of 2016. I have not gotten it back nor have I ever worn it once!

I have made a complaint with the Better Business Bureau New York. And 11 days later, Effy still hasn't responded!

By the way Effy is not registered with the Better Business Bureau in any state. This is the worst company to do business with from which I've ever bought from!

Buyer beware: Sugar drips off their lips until you buy and have a problem with customer service! Then you are sent to rafi a man who is not a problem solver at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 51 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2016

Porosity

By Geoff Woodcroft, St. Louis, Verified Reviewer

I bought an Effy men's ring on a cruise in January 2016. I decided to have the ring resized up one size in July due to it always having been a little tight. The jeweler contacted me to say there was a lot of porosity in the white gold shank, making it difficult to resize, he said this was very poor workmanship. This ring was not the quality sold to me and I would advise consumers to steer clear of Effy if they want quality jeweler.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on May 14, 2016

Terrible Customer Service

By Katy, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a sapphire and diamond ring on a cruise and within two weeks of purchase one of the diamonds fell out. It took me a week of emails and voice mails to receive a response from Effy and they told me to insure it and courier it to them at my cost.

I emailed and left messages asking if they would reimburse the costs since the ring was only a few weeks old and they did not respond until I called the cruise line and complained. I then received a call from customer service and was told that Effy are not responsible for the cost and when I said that that since it was within two weeks of purchase, they must make poor quality jewelry, the customer service rep hung up on me. Do not purchase from Effy.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 39 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 12, 2016

AMAZING QUALITY! Something for everyone.

By Liz, Verified Reviewer

Please be careful when reading this review. A lot of inaccuracies.

I am very concerned about anyone thinking this is legitimate, fact-checked review, as it has a lot of errors (grammatical and contextual - like misspelling the designers name), as well that its sources of personal blog posts (which, upon reading, have factual inaccuracies as well).

To start, it saddens me to read such negative things about Effy, as I have many Effy pieces and am thrilled with the quality (like so many, many others).

Let's just talk about this ruby business, as, again, the information here is not totally accurate:

Lead-Glass filled rubies were a common practices across the industry, due to the scarcity of larger, less included rubies, post the ban on trading with Burma, for many years. Please note that lead-glass filled rubies are indeed rubies, they simply have been enhanced (like getting a filling in your tooth - it's still a tooth!). As a July birthday girl, I have quite a collection of rubies, some Effy and some from other retailers. Some of my Effy pieces are genuine rubies (albeit, they are smaller stones), other Effy pieces are lead-glass filled, as I wanted larger "look-at-me" pieces. EVERY TIME I have purchased an Effy ruby, I have been informed whether it was LGF or genuine. It's also right on the tag.

Macy's received a class-action lawsuit because the sales associate failed to tell the customer that they were purchasing a LGF ruby. Again, it's written right on the tag. It's important to remember that these are hourly employees, and not jewelry professionals, so I'm not surprised this got missed.

I agree with the reviewers "bottom line" that you should ask questions. At the end of the day, you're buying a piece of fine jewelry - be knowledgeable. BUT I would love to see the sources that are actually being referenced here when he says "Effy may be beautiful in the short term, the issue argued by experts is that consumers are being sold inferior products at an inflated price" - what experts? Do tell.

Why that particularly irritates me is that I have had pieces for many years, as well as given some to my daughters. This jewelry is the perfect "middle of the market" line - it's high end, better quality, nicer weight, but not with a Cartier price tag.

Lastly, just a heads up to Inna - the previous commenter - I'm sorry to hear you had a bag experience but you do have a limited lifetime warranty for every piece of Effy you buy. This covers manufacturer errors (like small stones falling out), at no cost to you. It lasts forever. I have used it when I lost a small pave stone in an older piece. I called Effy and they took care of it and I got it back in about two months. Also, depending on where you bought it from, you can bring it in and they will handle it for you. My piece was from Bon Ton, and they handled the whole thing.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 21, 2015

Disappointed

By Inna , Florida

One of my ring is Elephant. Very cute however the little tail broke already. I bought it less then 2 years ago.

Second ring is the Snake, very beautiful black snake. However the eye, green stone fell off, I only bought this ring couple of months ago! Very disappointed, will never buy anything Effy. I contacted the company asking to help with repair but no answer.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 44 People Have Voted
Showing 82-88 of 88

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.