GOLO Diet Reviews

  This company has claimed this profile, is getting alerted on any new customer reviews entering this page, and may engage in dialogue with its customers to address their matters.

Companies cannot pay money or provide goods in order to remove or alter customer reviews.
GOLO Diet

Overall Rating

3.4

64 Customer Reviews

Summary

GOLO is a diet program designed to help aid weight loss through exercise, meal plans, and its Release supplement. Learn what customers are saying.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.4 Stars out of 64 Reviews
5 Star:56% 4 Star:3% 3 Star:3% 2 Star:3% 1 Star:34%
63% Recommend This Company
Start your review of GOLO Diet:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Feb 18, 2016

Don't Waste Your Time

By Shannon, New Orleans, LA, Verified Reviewer

I ordered the GOLO Starter Kit, and although their website says you have 40 days to return it if you aren't satisfied, they do NOT pay for the return shipping costs. They'll give you the $1.00 back, but big whoop, they can keep the dumb dollar! They pretty much hold your credit card hostage until they receive the box back, or they'll charge you the full amount.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Shannon, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our return policy. You are correct we do not pay the return shipping on products sent back to us as we offer free shipping at the time of order. I am not sure what you mean by ‘hold your credit card hostage’ but most companies do not refund the amount you paid until you return the products to them. Our $1 trial gave our customers 40 days to decide if they wanted to keep it and we feel that was a fair amount of time.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 325 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2016

I feel like I was deceived.

By Linda Richard , United States, Verified Reviewer

Should have known the so called trial of this product was not what it seemed like to me at first. I did not sign up for anything more than the advertised $1 trial. Everything else they tried to get me to buy, I declined. I was charged the one dollar and was happy to try their product. Today, I was charged nearly $60 on my credit card. I have no idea what the charge is for. Don't get cheated by their too good to be true trial. I beginning to think it's never a good idea to give any of these online deals your credit card info. Beware!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Linda, We are sorry that there was some confusion with our $1 trial offer. At the time, our program was priced at $59.90, with a $1 trial offer. With that offer you received our complete plan for $1, plus free shipping. If at the end of 40 days we did not receive the product back, you were charged the balance of $58.90. Because you decided to keep the program, you were charged this amount. We do not ‘try to get you to buy anything’ but we did offer additional supplements at the time of order. If you chose additional supplements, you were still only charged the $1. We feel our offer was very fair and many people have benefited from having the ability to try our program before totally investing in it.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 308 People Have Voted

Posted on May 31, 2016

Unhappy!

By Lynette Hardin, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I saw the ad on TV and decided to order this, well the price was $39.99 so I thought I would definitely try this. When I checked out, it charged my credit card $109.00 not the $39.99! That should tell us all something. I immediately called their customer service. They were closed so I left a voice mail. It's been four days and no return call. It's a good thing I have my bank to dispute the charge.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Lynette, We are sorry that we were unable to return your call promptly. Our office hours are Monday-Friday 9-5 EST. We try to return calls and emails promptly so I apologize. According to our records we did credit you the amount that was ordered inadvertently and, because we were unable to stop the shipment, you were sent the additional products gratis. If that is incorrect, please contact us at 800-730-4656 to discuss. We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 289 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 19, 2016

DO NOT order this product.

By Tracy, TX, Verified Reviewer

Ordered this for my Mom. She did not like the product after giving it a shot for over 2 weeks. Said it made her tired and irritable. Called the GOLO company to see about getting a refund. Their policy is 30 days FROM the date you order. So tell me why a company offering a bonafide​ weight loss product would have in essence a NO REFUND policy. Because they are crooks and know their product does NOT work and WILL NOT refund your money. 30 days from the date of order. (They could technically take 29 days to deliver it and then you would be totally screwed.) Even half way legit companies selling weight loss products give more than a 30 trial period. I would have rather put $90 on a roulette table. Better odds.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Tracy, We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with GOLO. I can understand ‘not liking a product’, however, many things can make you feel tired and irritable when following a new eating program, especially if you eliminate processed food, caffeine, sugars or other foods. Note: Most supplement products are not returnable once opened. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee, this is notated multiple times on our website and also in our terms and conditions. We have worked very hard to offer an affordable, healthy weight loss solution and feel our return policy is fair. Our orders are shipped promptly the following business day from the order date, and we offer 3 day priority shipping.

If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 239 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2016

GOLO Weight Loss Pills

By Lisa King, Utah, Verified Reviewer

I was just looking at their website and had clicked on the 90 day plan. It automatically processes your order and doesn't give you an opportunity to actually "confirm" your order. I don't really see how I "saved" 30.00 either since one bottle is 29.95 anyway. So I was charged $89.85. I requested a cancelation on my order twice with no response from GOLO whatsoever. Due to being on vacation I could not refuse the package upon arrival. I don't see any return policy offered to the customers.

Since taking this product I have not lost any weight whatsoever and I do not feel any different health-wise either. I have a couple of months worth of the product left but do not expect to see any results whatsoever. I have cleaned up my diet and have started an exercise regimen. I was hoping for a little jump start but am not seeing it at all with GOLO. I would not recommend this product to anyone. You'll only be losing weight in your wallet or bank account. I think losing weight with "a pill" is an impossibility and I'm going to quit buying these alleged weight loss pills from companies. Save your money. This product does not work at all.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Lisa, We are sorry to hear that you experienced problems while ordering GOLO. When you click the ‘order’ button, you are actually placing an order.

Our 30 day plan (one bottle) is $39.95, not $29.95. With this plan you receive the Release supplement, our meal plan, free online membership and our other booklets to help you follow the program. I have personally reviewed our cancellation requests and we have had no luck finding one for your order. GOLO offers a 30 day money back guarantee on our program, this is notated multiple times on our website.

If you would like to further discuss, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 272 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 26, 2016

Another scam

By Paula Williams, Santa Cruz, CA, Verified Reviewer

I did this and nothing happened. I thought I have insulin resistance, but if I do, this product made no difference. Keep your money and just eat a balanced diet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Paula, We are sorry to hear that you did not get the results you were looking for with GOLO. From this review we cannot tell how long you followed GOLO. Depending on how much weight you need to lose, current health status (including insulin resistance) and how closely you followed our plan, results will vary. Our program is not a ‘quick-fix’ or a ‘magic pill’, but a healthy, affordable and sustainable way to lose weight and improve your health.

If you would like to further discuss your results, we are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 208 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 1, 2016

Don't waste your money

By Samantha Emmons, Texas, Verified Reviewer

I got this for my father and thought it would help him lose weight. He has been on GOLO for 120 days and has not lost anything at all. All it did was make him feel sick and made him very constipated. No one in this company ever calls you back. There is no refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 22, 2016

Hi Samantha, We are sorry to hear that your father has not lost weight with GOLO. Results may vary depending on how closely the program is being followed and/or current health status. Our program includes the Release supplement along with a patented meal plan that has helped many people lose weight and improve their overall health. We also offer free support and coaching via phone or email and try to return calls and emails promptly. We noticed that you received your order on 4/25, which means that as of the time of this review your father would have been on GOLO for about 70 days. We would be more than happy to talk with him to see how we can help. We are available by phone at 800-730-4656 M-F 9am – 5:30pm and Sat-Sun 9am – 4:00pm EST, or you can contact us at support@golo.com

Sincerely,

Jackie

Customer Support Manager

Helpful Review? 184 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 5, 2016

The Expense That Keeps On Taking…

By Chris, Moorpark, California, Verified Reviewer

Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don't forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop.

The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That's no secret.

Golo addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you're not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet.

Aside from various fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in Golo Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price Golo charges.

The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor's advice.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 7, 2016

Hi Chris, We are sorry that you may not have had a great experience with GOLO. We do not have enough information from this review to confirm but on first check we cannot find a customer from Moorpark, CA with the first name Chris. Because Highya does not require you to verify that you are an actual customer, we cannot confirm if you actually tried our product or may have just been given some false information. If you would like to give us your full name we can look up your order to see what happened and try to rectify.

I have responded to each of your comments below in an effort to address your concerns:

"Once you purchase this product, the company forgets about you. The only thing they don’t forget to do is to continue charging your credit card after you tell them to stop."

- At GOLO we do not believe in ‘auto-ship’ or ‘auto-bill’. You are only charged for your initial order. After that, we feel it is up to the customer’s discretion on whether they want or need to continue taking our Release supplement. Our no auto-ship/auto-bill policy is listed over 8 times on our website. Our system does not even have the ability to charge a card after the first order so there is no way that we could continue to charge you.

"The product is moderately effective IF you follow their common sense guidelines. By common sense I mean the basics of good weight & health management. Eat right and exercise. That’s no secret."

- Although it may seem that ‘eating right and exercising’ is ‘common sense’, in order to lose weight effectively it’s a bit more complicated than that. Our program includes our patented meal plan that is personalized to an individual’s energy needs, not just a ‘one size fits all’ diet. And as many people can attest to, just eating right or exercising has not been successful for many.

"GOLO addresses weight gain for those who are prediabetic. Before starting this, see your doctor and find out if you really are prediabetic. If you’re not, this product will not work, period. If you are, your doctor will most likely prescribe a regimen of exercise and a balanced, healthy diet."

- GOLO is for anyone who is trying to lose weight and not just those who are pre-diabetic or diabetic. Anyone who is overweight may be producing too much insulin. When this occurs, insulin begins to work against you, making it difficult to release fat from the body, and easy to gain weight. Managing insulin is critical for effective and lasting weight loss.

"Aside from fruit extracts, the primary ingredients in GOLO Release are Inositol and Flax Seed Oil. These supplements are available at any corner drug store for about $6 a bottle, which is a lot cheaper than the $90 price GOLO charges."

- Our Release supplement is an all-natural, plant based formula that includes 10 active ingredients of which Inositol is one of the ingredients in the proprietary blend. Flaxseed oil is a natural, organic non-active ingredient (binder) in the Release supplement. Our 90 day supply of Release sells for $89.85. There have been over 200 studies on the efficacy and safety of the ingredients in the Release supplement. Included with the Release supplement is our patented meal plan including our 7 day Kickstart plan, membership to our online membership site, and other booklets to support your weight loss journey. Our product is one of the most affordable weight loss programs on the market and is safe and effective.

"The bottom line is: Save your money, eat right, go for a walk each day and follow your doctor’s advice."

- While this advice seems like sensible advice, over 2/3 of our society is overweight or obese. GOLO was created to introduce a total healthcare solution that specifically targets weight gain, obesity and obesity-related conditions and diseases such as type 2 diabetes and heart disease. We want to empower individuals to become better informed, more self-reliant and motivated to take control of their weight and to adopt a healthy lifestyle that will help them achieve a better quality of life. GOLO has helped people all over the world achieve sustainable weight loss and better health through the GOLO Rescue Plan. Numerous doctors not only follow GOLO, but recommend GOLO to their patients.

Please feel free to contact me directly with any further questions at 800-730-4656

Sincerely,
Jackie

Helpful Review? 224 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 8, 2016

Don't Be Fooled

By Brad E., Florida, Verified Reviewer

I tried this product for the last 30 days, in hopes of expediting my weight loss journey. Unfortunately, I gained 6 lbs over the 30 days. When I called to initiate a return authorization, they said sorry you missed your return window (by 3 days). Don't be fooled.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 14, 2016

We are sorry to hear that GOLO did not work out for you. Because this review does not include your name we are unable to verify your account and order date. GOLO's Rescue Plan includes the Release supplement and a patented meal plan that when used together have helped many people lose weight the healthy way. Because we have not spoken to you, we have no way to confirm your compliance to our program.

Most companies have a return policy and ours is clearly notated multiple times on our website and is displayed during the ordering process. We offer free support to our customers at any time especially if they are having trouble on the plan. Please feel free to give me a call at 1-800-730-4656 for assistance.

Helpful Review? 239 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 26, 2016

Bogus!

By Ceci, Denver, CO, Verified Reviewer

I purchased this product a little over a month ago and I am here to tell you that this stuff wasn't for me and the customer service group are rude as heck.

I did not get my money back, the product doesn't work and I am warning you so that you don't get ripped pop like I did. Save your hard earned money. My advice is to get on a good healthy food plan and work out regularly and you will see results.

Shame on GOLO for preying on the vulnerable! They should be ashamed. The only thing I have to say to them is that Karma is a, you know what.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Ceci,

When we spoke with you today, you advised us that you were only able to use the product for a few days and had to stop due to a sensitivity to one of the ingredients.

You returned the supplements to us but threw away the rest of the items that came in the Rescue Plan. We issued you a refund for the items that were returned and advised you that we would be happy to issue a refund for the additional amount if you could return the other items. I am sorry that you were unhappy with this response however we did do all that we could for you and we did refund you in full for the items that were returned.

GOLO has helped many people who had previously been unable to lose weight by "getting on a good healthy food plan and working out". It is not always that easy especially for those with Insulin Resistance. Again, we are sorry that we were unable to issue you a full refund and if you are able to locate the other items we would still be more than happy to issue the final refund when you are able to return them to us.

Helpful Review? 286 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 17, 2017

Dissatisfied

By Barbara R., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

The first three times of usage was okay. My last order was in April and May 2017. I gained, to date, 25 pounds back. UNBELIEVABLE. I called GOLO on June 15, 2017, and spoke to a very rude customer service representative named Cassie, who continuously talked over me, sighing on the phone and refused to get me to a supervisor. The conversation ended with Cassie suggesting that I no longer order GOLO.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jun 19, 2017

Hi Barbara!

I enjoyed speaking with you this morning regarding your questions and am so glad that we were able to discuss and work out the issues. Since everything was ended amicably, I am hopeful that this review can now be removed. Please contact me with any further questions! 800-730-4656

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 46 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 6, 2017

Another supplement joke

By David James, California, Verified Reviewer

Absolutely no help. Zero results! Swallowing air is just as effective.

Their "no hassle refund" is a BIG HASSLE!

What can I say? I fell prey to the insulin resistance angle they use in their advertising. I thought, maybe this one is different than all the other diet scams I tried. I was wrong! GOLO, in my experience, is just another high-priced combination of cheap ingredients in a capsule that does NOTHING!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 7, 2017

Hi David!

We are sorry to hear that you did not have the results you expected on GOLO. Our return policy is, in fact, no hassle. All you need to do is contact Customer Support within the 60 days and request a Return Authorization. We email it to you the same day, then you return the product. Once we receive it, a refund will be issued to your credit card with 7-10 days. All of this is clearly stated on our website, www.golo.com. I reviewed our records and see that you spoke with Customer Support on 7/6/17 and we did send you a Return Authorization. Should you have further questions regarding this process, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

800-730-4656

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 12, 2017

Just another failure

By Geri Harrison-Lowe, Ann Arbor, MI, Verified Reviewer

I have been taking GOLO for over two months and have lost no weight at all, nothing. I was hoping this supplement would be the real deal, but no, it is just like all the other products out there; it doesn't work. I'll be asking for my money back.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jul 12, 2017

Hi Geri!

I am sorry to hear that you have not had success with GOLO. Our plan works best when followed as directed. Were you able to follow the meal plan that was provided in your Rescue Plan? We also offer coaching with our certified GOLO coaches 7 days a week. If you are following it without success many times people find that they might just need to make a few tweaks to start seeing results. Please give us a call at 800-730-4656 and we would be happy to help you! :)

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 31 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 7, 2017

Horrible side effects

By Lena Polk, Massachusetts, Verified Reviewer

GOLO Release capsules elevated my blood pressure so high I had to be admitted to the hospital through the ER. I had to stay for two days trying to get my blood pressure down. My Endocrinologist informed me that Rhodiola can significantly raise blood pressure.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 58 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 18, 2017

Gained weight

By Renee G., Illinois, Verified Reviewer

I have always been between a size 2 and 6 my entire life and ate food constantly. When I turned 50, out of the blue I just started gaining weight. I gained 20 lbs over a two-year period and could not figure out why. As a matter of fact, I eat a fourth of what I used to eat. Because I do not fit into the normal category of overeaters or people that do not exercise (walk 3-5 miles every day), I decided to try GOLO. I am not sure if this is based on your body type, but I gained 5 pounds while taking this product.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Sep 19, 2017

Hi Renee!

GOLO is designed to be personalized to your activity level. Did you complete your Personal Metabolic Rate via our members only website to determine your daily food intake? If you did not follow our plan as directed and continued to eat as you did before this is probably why you did not see the results you were hoping for. Please give us a call at 800-730-4656 so that we can discuss and help you achieve your goal weight.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 20 People Have Voted

Posted on May 27, 2018

Product Changed - Does Not Work

By Felix G., Oklahoma City, OK, Verified Reviewer

The Release dietary supplement initially put out by GOLO (containing Magnesium 30 mg, Zinc 5 mg, Chromium 70 mcg, and a Proprietary Blend of 405 mg was phenomenal. It was ideal for insulin management and weight loss. I know for I experienced it. I lost a lot of weight and my blood sugar was under control. However, not long ago, they changed the product by SIGNIFICANTLY reducing all the supplement ingredients. It is now a piece of junk. It no longer works. Tried to contact Customer Service about it. No response. The price for the product remains the same for the three-month supply. This means less cost for the company and more profit. No longer does this company seem to care about its customers or effectiveness of their product. It's just about profits. I will no longer purchase their product or recommend them to anyone else as I used to. Food for thought before you consider buying this product. Don't waste your hard-earned money! I recommend you research a competitor for their products. Good luck.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

May 29, 2018

Hi Felix!

GOLO reformulated our product in June 2017 however, the change actually increased the active ingredients in the proprietary blend and has received much better reviews from our customers. You see, the original supplement was a soft gel that was not vegetarian and it was also rather large and difficult for some to swallow. Based on customer feedback we made the decision to make a smaller, vegetarian pill. In order to do this, the ingredients were switched to powder instead of liquid. When the ingredients are delivered in powdered form, they are actually more concentrated than they are in liquid and this is how we were able to increase the potency in the new capsule that we offer.

Since the change, our customers have reported an increase in energy and much better results. I am truly sorry to hear that you feel that they don't work as well. I would love to speak with you personally to try to resolve your concerns. Please call 800-730-4656 and ask to speak with Eden.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 64 People Have Voted

Posted on Feb 26, 2019

Shipping

By Chase A., Tennessee, Verified Reviewer

Please do not order from GOLO. I wish I could give this zero stars. Never did receive my order it's lost between DHL/USPS. GOLO refuse to refund money even though they can see (tracking) package is lost somewhere. They keep saying the only way they will issue a refund is by returning the package. What freaking package. I don't have one. PLEASE PLEASE DON'T ORDER FROM COMPANY.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 26, 2019

Hi Chase!

I am so sorry that you were unhappy with the shipping on your order. The order was placed on Monday 2/11 and shipped on Tuesday 2/13. Normal delivery time is 3-5 business days once the package has shipped out. According to the tracking it looks as if there was a weather delay and your package took 7 business days to arrive. I sincerely apologize that this happened but unfortunately we are unable to control this type of unforeseen issue that does happen at this time of year.

I can also see that you refused the package at the time of delivery and that as of today, 2/26/19, it is still in route back to us. When we receive the package we will be happy to issue you the appropriate refund.

If you have further questions, please feel free to contact Customer Support at 800-730-4656.

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Support

Helpful Review? 36 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 5, 2019

Waste of money. Doesn't work as stated.

By Vincent J., New Jersey, Verified Reviewer

I bought a 90-day supply and didn't eat any more than usual and in fact, eliminated foods as well as cut back on eating to a degree. I watched the scale and thought I might have lost a pound after a month of using the product as directed. At that point I was skeptical, but continued and was on the verge of calling the GOLO people up to get a refund since I was close to their 60-day cut-off. I misjudged on the date and went past and not surprisingly nothing changed in terms of my weight. In essence I wasted $100 on a product and program that is worthless. I had posted a similar message on GOLO, but they seemingly didn't allow the one-star review.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 23 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 12, 2020

GOLO

By Marylou M., Florida, Verified Reviewer

My experience with GOLO was very disappointing. The product doesn’t work, and even though they guarantee a full refund, they always find a tiny flaw to not give your full refund back.

Product doesn’t do what they promise to do.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on May 11, 2020

Didn’t work for me

By Bruce P., Bay Area, CA, Verified Reviewer

Been taking the tablets for 2.5 weeks, gained 2 pounds and feel bloated! Very disappointed. I eat a low carbohydrate diet, I lost 15 pounds since last August and I decided to go for another 7 to 10 pounds using GOLO. It didn’t work! I do not recommend GOLO to anyone. Complete waste of money! Having a very difficult time trying to post my review!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 20, 2020

Buyer beware

By Joan W., Ontario, Canada, Verified Reviewer

Although they claim a 100% refund if you are not satisfied, they withhold a significant portion for shipping costs. So it costs you to return it as well as their ‘free shipping’ costs.

Length of Use: Less than 3 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Misleading ads

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Oct 21, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you did not get the results that you were hoping for with GOLO. GOLO is proud to offer a 60 Day Money Back Guarantee on first time orders. Our return policy states that we do not refund any shipping costs paid. This is listed on our website under terms and conditions. https://www.golo.com/pages/terms Our records show that you did receive a full refund for the GOLO Metabolic Plan minus the shipping charges that are required to ship to Canada. If you have any questions, please reach out to us at support@golo.com.

Jamie,. GOLO Life Coach, CPC

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jan 5, 2021

Took it for the full 90 days, lost zero ounces, let alone pounds.

By Aaron L., Cool, CA, Verified Reviewer

I followed the guide and lost 0 ounces, 0 pounds. I contacted support and they said I had to contact them in under 60 days to receive my refund...so lesson learned. I took the pills after a few bites of each meal, suggesting it's some sort of appetite suppressor, I even cut down on portion sizes and ate slower, still no weight loss. Save your money, buy something else.

Length of Use: 3–6 months

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

Advertising seemed to suggest it might help

Product doesn't work

Their refund policy

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jan 6, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you did not achieve your desired results. When followed as directed, on average people start seeing weight loss between the 2nd and 4th week and lose approximately 1.5-2 lbs. per week. It is also common for people to lose inches before pounds so we always tell people to both weigh themselves and measure their waist once a week to track true progress.

GOLO works to improve the performance of the hormones connected to your weight and for some, this can take a little bit of time. It is important that you are following the recommended servings and portions to put your meals together as laid out in the directions that came with your package in order to see the best results. You may have noticed that you are sleeping better, have more energy or are losing inches. These are signs that things are changing in your body and GOLO is working!

We do offer free coaching for all GOLO customers. Sometimes tweaking your diet a little bit can make a big difference in your results. Please email support@golo.com to set up an appointment.

GOLO is proud to offer a 60 day money back guarantee. It is listed on our website under terms and conditions which you agreed to when you purchased,

Jamie, GOLO Life Coach, CPC

Posted on Aug 24, 2016

No results

By Natalie I., Boca Raton, FL, Verified Reviewer

After struggling to lose weight with working out -- walking several miles per week, minimizing intake of carbs, and following the Insulin-resistance diet to maintain blood sugar levels. I had hoped that in taking the Golo supplement, that these nutrients would help my body to metabolize more effectively to produce weight loss.

As I opened the Golo package, a bunch of leaflets dropped out. I found the directions for the eating plan confusing. So, after just not "getting" the diet plan, I read the book The Insulin Resistance Diet. I have been following that and taking the Golo.

I followed the instructions and consistently took a Golo pill with my meals. However, after more than 30 days I have just not seen the results that other people have shared. I recognize that this product is not a magic pill. However, it just didn't work for me. I have no issues with the customer service people, as I was charged properly and my shipment arrived as ordered. The issue is the product just doesn't seem to be effective in helping me reach my goals of weight loss.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

Natalie,

I am sorry that you found the plan confusing and I would love the opportunity to speak with you personally to assist you with the plan. I am not completely familiar with the book that you refer to however, I do know that if you were following it you should be able to follow ours AND it will most likely be much easier. Please call me directly at 800-730-4656.

Helpful Review? 187 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 1, 2017

It's not working for me

By John Heil, Houston, TX, Verified Reviewer

I have been following a calorie count and taking the pills as per the instructions and have lost no weight. I am even walking and cannot lose weight. This is very disappointing. I was hoping this plan would work, but it's just like any other diet plan making promises but not delivering.

I really was hoping GOLO was the answer I needed. I was really interested in this plan because I've tried others that didn't work.

Well be wary what you read and consult your doctor first, which I didn't, and learned later that he didn't think it would work. Well, lesson learned.

Now I'm going back to a nutritionist to get an eating clean plan that will fall in line with my needs and body type. I hope this will work because GOLO did not.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Jun 1, 2017

Hi John!

I notice that you say you were "following a calorie count" but GOLO does not want you to count calories. In fact, we never want you to have to do that again!

If you were following a different plan then the one that came with your kit, that is probably why you didn't see the results you hoped for. The biggest problem with diets is that most people don't eat enough when on them. That is why we included a detailed plan to help you learn how to EAT to lose weight. Most of our customers are shocked that they are able to eat so much food and still lose!

I would be happy to assist you personally with your eating plan (remember we offer FREE coaching to all of our customers). Give me a call 800-730-GOLO!

Sincerely,

Eden C.

Director of Customer Service

Helpful Review? 57 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 10, 2016

GOLO is a lot of work

By Gary Cline, Novato, CA, Verified Reviewer

I am writing this review in the hopes that readers will learn more about my personal experiences with the GOLO plan and hopefully benefit. To begin, I purchased the plan in July of 2016 and received my GOLO "box" toward the end of July. My official "start" date was August 2nd, 2016. My starting weight was 183.5 pounds. I had already lost about 5 pounds from my high of 188 pounds on July 15th. My goal weight is 165 - 170 pounds.

By my simple calculations a GOLO Fuel Point is equal to about 3.12 calories. You can see, for example that two eggs equals 50 GOLO points and when multiplied by 3.12, equals about 156 calories, the standard for two 50 gram eggs. So, when you extrapolate this out further for me, my GOLO daily food allowance is 450 points plus 58 "Fit Points" for walking/jogging for 45 minutes a day. You get a total "Daily Fuel Allowance" of 508 points which, when multiplied by 3.12 you get the caloric equivalent of 1,584 in what I call the "Caloric Fuel Allowance."

GOLO says you can go 10% below or 10% higher than your "Daily Fuel Allowance" which, for me would be between 457 points (1426 calories) and 558 points (1743 calories).

I am 67 years old, 5'10" and I know that my Body Weight Maintenance level is approximately 1500 calories/Day. Theoretically, If I consume less than that I lose weight, and the converse is true also. However, I know positively that the only way I can and do lose weight is by consuming around 1,000 calories (or less) a day. This is because with my Maintenance Level at 1500 calories, I would not and did not lose weight on the GOLO Plan.

But don't get me wrong here. I'm not bashing the GOLO Plan at all. But now, having tried it for 4 weeks, I realized what was going on and I've made adjustments to the plan that are specific to me and only me. I totally agree with all the GOLO "Matrix Meal Plan" and all of the nutritional advice about eating Real Food, etc. That has helped me a lot. But what I've done is just to simply scale back the portion sizes so that my daily caloric equivalent comes out to 1,000 or less per day. At this rate I figure I'm losing 500 calories a day from my maintenance level of 1500, which equates to 500 times 6 = 3,000 less calories a week, which equals one pound. I can see why so many people have failed using the GOLO Plan out of the box and why it has received so many bad to horrible reviews here. I think that this plan would work best for people who are less than 40 and are simply obese or morbidly obese. Do I think that the GOLO support staff could do a better job? Absolutely! But this plan is similar in a lot of ways to Weight Watchers except WW allows you way, way too much food and calories.

One last thing. The special "Release" supplement is no magic pill. I think it does help some with regularity issues associated with just about any "diet" but the truth is you can take a 250mg Magnesium supplement and achieve the same, or better, results and it's a lot cheaper.

Hope this review helps.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 254 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 4, 2016

Still working on it

By Candi Rivera, Roselle, NJ, Verified Reviewer

GOLO seems so far to be working for me and I hope that the weight loss is going to work too.

So far I feel good and my body totally feels different and better. I will weigh myself on Sunday, it has been three weeks now so I believe it's time to get on the scale. Ever since I started cooking the meals and eating the breakfast plan I have been noticing and feeling full, not hungry after every meal.

I am a full blown diabetic for 30 years now so my weight has been a challenge with the ups and downs of weight control. Here goes nothing and I am hoping this is my last stop.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Feb 8, 2017

We are so happy to hear that the program is working well for you! Please keep us informed of your progress. Happy GOLOing!

Helpful Review? 122 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 21, 2016

Using the positives of the Golo program

By Anonymous, Verified Reviewer

So far, I've lost 3 inches of belly fat and 5 pounds in about 6 weeks. And that's with a holiday family picnic in there with over indulging. A past member of Weight Watchers, I am not a fan of counting and micro managing day to day eating logs. So getting into Golo's Fuel Points was quickly tossed aside. I truly don't like the idea of trying to calculate how much more you can eat every time you add a little more exercise/activity into your day, too. To me, that is too much food-focused living.

Golo also focuses on making your own healthier foods instead of eating prepackaged items. While ideal, this is tough for people with busy schedules out of the house. Their recommended cooking roughly 2 hours a week works here for some meals, but supplementing with canned soups and other prepackaged items is more realistic still. That may and should evolve over time: goal here.

Note: it is summer, too hot to heat up the kitchen. Crockpot cooking in the basement is the focus now.

What works best here is to review their basic food plan, skip all the points calculating and nonsense, and instead use common sense. Develop your own customized plan with their tools. I add in some of Weight Watcher's basics (like visual measuring with servings) and Weigh Down Workshop plus Overeaters Anon for handling cravings, binges and other issues.

Also, instead of using their Facebook closed group, I prefer Overeaters Anon group. The Golo FB group focuses way too much on fuel points and how many are in every item in a recipe and so on. It's like Golo strives to compete with the Weight Watcher's point system, which is crazy because WW has spent tons of time, money and people hours building that so members quickly get points with tech tools. Golo will have a long way to go to catch up.

The price for the plan and product seem fine, even for the exercise band. Shipping was prompt. Customer service is quick & courteous via email, Facebook and on the phone. The staff seem to try to work with you to find the positives and customize a working plan for your lifestyle. So 2 thumbs up!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Company Response from Golo, LLC

Aug 29, 2016

This is great to hear! Thanks so much for keeping us informed.

Helpful Review? 124 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 64

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.