Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review: A Detailed Look

By Lydia Noyes
HighYa Staff
Updated on: Apr 30, 2020

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher claims to combat many forms of skin discoloration, including age spots, sun spots, and liver spots. This advanced serum promises to transform a blotchy, uneven skin tone to restore your skin and give you a more youthful appearance.

Dr. Gundry is an American doctor and author who formerly worked as a cardiac surgeon. He’s written numerous books on holistic wellness through a better diet and has released a line of supplements and skincare products designed to keep you looking young and feeling healthy.

The Dark Spot Diminisher’s formula contains a range of ingredients that will purportedly improve your skin’s health without adverse side effects, meaning that you can use it for the long term.

These claims aren’t unique within the anti-aging skincare industry. Does the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher stand out from other options? Our analysis of this premium product will help you decide if it is a good option for you.

Pros
  • Ingredients show clinical evidence for reducing dark spots
  • Minimal side effects associated with ingredients
  • Positive customer reviews indicate it works for many
Cons
  • Confusing pricing information
  • No ingredients that stand out compared to other dark spot treatments

How to Use It

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is a skincare serum designed for twice-daily use. The company suggests you apply it to your trouble spots twice daily in the morning and evening.

You can start by applying a dime-sized amount to your dark spots and surrounding areas, massaging it into your skin with gentle circular motions.

Make sure you leave it on for as long as possible before showering or otherwise rinsing it off so that the active ingredients have time to work.

Analysis of Ingredients

Many of the ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher act as emollients, exfoliants, skin lightening agents, humectants, thickening agents, preservatives, natural sources of antioxidants, and other skin conditioning agents.

A few deserve a second look.

Bacillus ferment is an enzyme-based skin exfoliant that is used as an alternative to alpha hydroxy acid (AHA), a class of compounds that are often used to plump and smooth the skin while visibly brightening dark spots. Some people experience adverse side effects from AHA’s like burning, itching, or even blisters, so bacillus ferment is often used as a milder alternative with less risk of irritation.

Diglucosyl gallic acid, also known as trihydroxy benzoic acid alpha-glucoside, is a patented molecule that’s used to lighten skin pigmentation and brighten your overall skin tone. It can reduce dark spots and prevent new ones from forming.

Sodium hyaluronate is a common ingredient in anti-aging products because it will purportedly increase your collagen production to improve your skin’s elasticity and fill in fine lines and wrinkles. Clinical evidence shows that it will work as described, but only when taken as injections. There’s less evidence right now that it will work when used topically in a skin cream.

Diamond powder is often added to skincare products, both to increase their perceived value and to act as a natural exfoliant. The powder is commonly used as a brightener to disguise fine lines and wrinkles by reflecting light off your skin. However, this ingredient is listed low in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher, so you shouldn’t assume there’s much in it.

Finally, the serum includes a range of plant extracts that are known as polyphenols. Renowned for their high antioxidant content, polyphenols applied topically are considered an effective way to combat some of the causes of aging skin, including environmental damage and free radical exposure.

Overall, many ingredients in the Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher show promise for working as described to moisturize your skin and lighten your dark spots.

Possible Side Effects

According to the company website, all Dark Spot Diminisher ingredients are 100% safe for topical use and won’t lead to skin irritation when used correctly.

We didn’t uncover any known side effects throughout the research process, and in at least one case—bacillus ferment—a milder version of a popular ingredient is used to reduce irritation further.

If you tend to have sensitive skin, it’s still a good idea to perform a patch test before using this product. Dab a small amount on your arm and watch how your skin responds over 24 hours before applying it to your face.

Pricing and Money-Back Guarantee

Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher is currently listed on the company’s official website at the following prices:

  • One Bottle: $120
  • Two Bottles: $228
  • Three Bottles: $324

However, we also found an “internet only promotion” offer from the company where the same-sized bottles of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher cost the following:

  • One Bottle: $49
  • Two Bottles: $86 ($43 each)
  • Three Bottles: $120 ($40 each)

In other words, you may want to shop around.

Shipping seems to be free for all purchases, and you can expect two to seven-day delivery.

All orders from the company website qualify for a 90-day money-back warranty that comes into effect on the day you make the purchase. Keep in mind that purchases from other retailers such as Amazon don’t qualify for this refund and that you’ll need to pay any return shipping costs.

You can initiate this process by contacting customer service at (800) 852-0477 or support@gundrymd.com.

Analysis of Customer Reviews

We have almost 500 reviews of the Gundy MD here at HighYa, and the product has averaged an impressive 4.2 stars, with 89% of users saying that they would recommend to it a friend. Here’s a closer look at what these customers want you to know:

Common Compliments:

  • Began to reduce dark spots within a week of use
  • Left hands looking younger after treatment
  • Works well if you prep your skin beforehand

Common Complaints:

  • Didn’t work as promised to lighten dark spots, even after months of use
  • The scent was too strong for some users
  • Results were too subtle for the cost
  • Left a reddish tone on some user’s skin
  • Some experienced delayed shipping

Popular Alternatives

Plenty of options are available today, promising to restore your skin and even out its coloring. Here’s a summary of how it compares to two popular products: the Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector and the City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector.

Gundry MD Polyphenol Dark Spot Diminisher Beverly Hills MD Dark Spot Corrector City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot Corrector
Cost $120 per bottle (1-oz) $129.95 per bottle (1-oz) $72 per bottle (1-oz)
Key Ingredients Bacillus ferment, Diglucosyl gallic acid, Sodium hyaluronate, polyphenols Kakadu Plum, DermalRx, Daisy Flower Extract, Niacinamide Alpha Arbutin, Sepiwhite-MSH, Resveratrol
Average HighYa Rating 4.2, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.5, 89% would recommend to a friend 4.3, 89% would recommend to a friend

As this chart shows, both the Gundry MD and Beverly Hills MD dark spot treatments cost approximately the same amount, at over $120 per 1-oz bottle. The City Beauty Illuminating Dark Spot is comparatively affordable at almost half the cost.

What’s interesting is that all three products rely on significantly different ingredients to achieve the same aim—fading dark spots on the skin. One consistency between them is that each contains a plethora of plant-based ingredients that act as natural sources of antioxidants and polyphenols to improve your skin naturally.

Each has also earned a stellar review from HighYa readers, averaging more than four stars and close to nine out of 10 readers recommending them to others.

In our estimation, this means that you can’t go wrong with experimenting with any one of these dark spot removers. Each company also offers a no-questions-asked return policy, so you will only be out the cost of shipping if you decide it isn’t right for you.

The Bottom Line: Is It Worth It?

Overall, the Gundry MD Dark Spot Corrector seems to be a viable option for improving your skin and fading dark spots. None of the product’s ingredients raised any red flags from a safety standpoint, and many show clinical evidence for improving your skin texture and tone so that you look younger.

One thing to be aware of is that this product seems to be sold at wildly varying price points across the web – even from the official company. We found savings of almost 60% per bottle on different websites, so we recommend shopping around before committing either way.

The Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher was a positive purchase for many reviewers, and there’s a good chance that you will have a similar experience. Just keep in mind that there are plenty of similar products available that will likely deliver the same level of results, so it’s worth shopping around.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher:
  • 543 Customer Reviews
  • 89% Recommend This Product
4.2 out of 5
5 star: 52% 4 star: 33% 3 star: 5% 2 star: 2% 1 star: 6%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Bad business

    • By Liz Breier,
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada,
    • Apr 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I saw an ad for the Dark Spot Diminisher, which was on sale. For one jar it was $44.99 and $4.95 shipping. I received a confirmation but did not see a second order for something else. One email was embedded in another. My credit card was charged $49.98 + $9.95 shipping. The other order was for $75.00.

    I phoned the company to complain but was told the orders had shipped. When I went to pick up the order at the post office, I was told there was an additional charge of $26.00 for duty. I refused to pay it and refused the order. The total order was $ 153.62.

    This is not good business. When I placed the order I wrote down what I had ordered. This is a rip-off. Now I have to get my money back. BAD BUSINESS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 30, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Liz, I'm Aria from Gundry MD. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so sorry to hear about the frustration and inconvenience that you have experienced. Unfortunately, we have no control over a countries custom charges as only about 10% of incoming packages are selected for customs.

      Typically, Gundry MD is not responsible for customs charges, as we have no idea when or how much will be charged. I will go ahead and issue you a full refund, (no need to send anything back). Please email me at Aria@Gundrymd.com and I can begin the refund process right away. Again, I am so sorry for the inconvenience that you have experienced but I look forward to hearing from you and making this right!


  • Unfortunately for me, this did not work.

    • By Gwendolyn T.,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I read the reviews of how well this product worked for others, and I was extremely excited about trying it. I purchased three bottles and began using it as soon as it was received. I used it every day, twice a day, and my excitement started to fade (unlike my spots) after each bottle was finished. I achieved total and complete disappointment after all three bottles were empty and my face still looked the same. In the end, my spots were not diminished and I am more skeptical than ever about things that "seem too good to be true." I know everything does not work for everyone, but...I was hopeful.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 10, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Gwendolyn, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for giving the Dark Spot Diminisher a try! Since everybody is different, we understand that our products may work for some but not others. Please feel free to reach out to me at Aria@gunrymd.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund!


  • Snake Oil Salesman

    • By Robyn K.,
    • Australia,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I am trying to improve the appearance of my sun damaged skin. Although I did not believe the assertions that dark spots are not sun related I was willing to try. At the very least, I thought, it will make the skin less dry or perhaps even out the color a little. No such luck! It did nothing! I am now 3 bottles in and nothing has changed. No point sending it back as I wanted to after the first bottle as postage is expensive, may as well just use it now.

    What they are selling is akin to the garbage peddled by the snake oil salesman of days gone by. Save your money! Buy cheap creams, rose hip, paw paw – just as efficacious for a fraction of the cost

    I certainly hope Dr. Gundry's approach to his everyday medical job is a little more evidence-based.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jul 16, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Robyn, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry to hear that your experience with the Dark Spot Diminisher is not what you had hoped. Many of our customers experience the positive benefits of this product but we recognize that everybody is different and our products may not work as well for some. I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can get that process started for you right away! Thank you for giving our product a try.


  • Dark Spot doesn't work on my face

    Overall Experience:

    I have been using the Polyphenol Dark Spot Diminisher since June 22, 2018, twice a day at morning and before bed, but unfortunately, this product doesn't work for my face. Even my face got worst and increased my spots and I have started my sunblock in the morning time.

    I don't know. I have been used multiple products against my dark spot but no luck. I will have to visit a skin specialist.

    Thanks Steven Gundry, MD for such a product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 29, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Mohammad,

      My name is Aria with Gundry MD. I want to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. Many of our customers experience positive results with our products, however, we do recognize that everyone is different. I would be more than happy to issue you a full refund on your purchase regardless of how long it's been. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com to get this process started right away!


  • Highly fragranced

    • By Clair R.,
    • South Australia,
    • Sep 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My one star is due to the fact that synthetic fragrance is added to this product and I am highly sensitive to added fragrance. In fairness, the serum felt lovely and was non-greasy. At first, the fragrance was tolerable, but after three applications over a period of two days, I could no longer bear it. On the evening of day two using this product, I felt nauseous, headachy, and foggy-headed. I felt like the fragrance had diffused into my blood stream and lungs it was that overbearing. It seemed to have a cumulative effect as it was not as bad during the first two applications. After the third, I had to get back in the shower and wash it back off again, and I still felt ill afterward. The sick, foggy feeling took a few days to wear off. People with a sensitivity will understand.

    I had persevered using it at first because I really wanted to give it a chance, and like I say, the fragrance was tolerable in the first instance. I'd purchased two sets of three bottles after being enticed by the pop up special offers that occur as you place your online order, and I'd been convinced of its effectiveness after listening to Dr. Gundry's presentation. I had faith and trust that the product was comprised of natural ingredients as this is what I was led to believe during the lengthy infomercial. I have known of Dr. Grundy for some time and listened to his discussions on YouTube regarding health and toxicity. I have also read his book - The Plant Paradox. This gave me a false sense of trust regarding his products and his concern for health.

    I now have to return the six bottles and pay further shipping costs (to and from Australia). I have emailed the company to ask that if under the circumstances they would be willing to refund the shipping cost at least one way for me out of goodwill, but they have declined. I cannot say whether this product will diminish brown spots, as I could not stand to use it long enough to find out. But if you are not sensitive to strong added fragrance, it may be worth a try.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Clair, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. I'm very sorry to hear that this was your experience. We take your feedback very seriously so I have taken note of this and will pass it along to our product development team. In the meanwhile, please email me at aria@gundrymd.com, and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund, no need to send anything back.


  • Disappointed

    • By Liz L.,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Sep 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have been using Gundry MD polyphenol dark spot diminisher for 8 weeks, and it has done absolutely nothing for my dark spots. I am very disappointed and will stop using it. I have dark spots on my face and have used it faithfully twice each day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Oct 1, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Liz,

      My name is Aria from Gundry MD, thank you for leaving us a review. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority, and I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience. While many of our customers do enjoy the benefits of the Dark Spot Diminisher, we do understand that everyone is different. If you would like a refund please email me at Aria@GundryMD.com to get this process started. Thank you!


  • Guarantee

    • By William S.,
    • Texas,
    • Oct 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I called Customer Care and requested a refund. I bought three bottles, used as directed daily, and got no results. Their rep was polite, but unless I return my empty bottles, I would only receive 40% back. If I had known (in advance) that I was supposed to keep empty bottles, I would have done so. They need to do the right thing and refund 100%.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi William, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. As it is industry standard, we ask our customers to send their empty bottles back, but to thank you for giving our Dark Spot Diminisher a try. I'd be happy to issue you a full refund just for giving the products a try. No need to send anything back. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I can get that process started for you right away!


  • Dark Spot Diminisher

    • By Lorie M.,
    • Sun City, AZ,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought two bottles and they DO NOT work. In my experience, it's a sham to make money for Gundry. Do not waste your money, maybe use the money to go to a spa. I would not recommend this for anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hi Lorie, my name is Aria with Gundry MD. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm very sorry to hear that our Dark Spot Diminisher did not work for you. Since everybody is different, we understand that our products may work well for some but not others. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I will be more than happy to issue you a full refund!


  • Sadly, this did not work

    • By Marilee S.,
    • Florida,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I used this product religiously, as directed, three times a day for a month and a half. I took pictures so I could see a difference, and there was none. I will request a refund since they have a 90-day guarantee.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 26, 2018

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Hello Marilee, my name is Aria Goodman and I am reaching out on behalf of Gundry MD. Thank you for your feedback here. I am genuinely sorry to hear that the Dark Spot Diminisher did not work for you. While we do have thousands of success stories with our products, we understand that they may not work for everyone. I am more than happy to process your full refund, please just send me an email at aria@gundrymd.com. Looking forward to hearing back.


  • Don't waste your hard-earned money

    • By Jane B.,
    • Eagan, MN,
    • Apr 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The Dark Spot Gundry product was a complete waste of my money. I have continually used it because it was expensive, but not one shade difference in my dark spots. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT. You're only wasting your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 4, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Jane, I'm very sorry to hear this. Many of our customers have seen success using our the Dark Spot Diminisher but we understand that everybody is different. Therefore, we will always stand by our money back guarantee. Please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be happy to issue you a full refund!


  • Doesn't work for deep, older spots

    • By Karen E.,
    • Seattle, WA,
    • May 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I have used this product for almost 50 days according to the instructions (two times a day). I used it on my face on very dark large spots. I also have freckles and medium toned skin. My spots have shifted down (weirdly) and some fading has happened, but not as significantly as I would have liked. I am on a second bottle because I was hoping for more results after long-term use. However, my spots are now darker...not sure what is happening. I use a very good sunscreen and makeup over that to help cover the spots...not working!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from Gundry MD

      Karen, I'm very sorry to hear that you haven't seen the results you had hoped for! We understand that the Dark Spot Diminisher maywork for some but not others, so please email me at aria@gundrymd.com and I'd be more than happy to issue you a full refund for giving the product a try.


Showing 1-11 of 543

Write a Review for Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Gundry MD Dark Spot Diminisher Review