Keeps Review: Does It Works, Side Effects, Cost

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Feb 2, 2018

Working with a dedicated team of doctors, pharmacists, and care specialists, Keeps is an online men’s health brand that provides access to affordable, scientifically-validated, FDA-approved medications that can help stop your hair loss before it’s too late—without ever leaving your couch. And all of this without jargon, hoops to jump through, or gimmicky marketing.

Simply answer questions about yourself on their website and upload a few pictures, and a licensed physician will provide a personalized diagnosis and treatment plan within 24 hours.

From there, you’ll receive a daily treatment supply once every three months—and since Keeps built their own supply chain and sells direct to customers, you pay half the price for these medications as at your local pharmacy.

If you need assistance at any point, the company emphasizes that their friendly, trained care specialists are just a phone call or email away.

The same hair loss medications at half the price? No waiting rooms or pharmacy checkout lines? Delivery to your door? There certainly seems to be a lot to like about Keeps, but be sure to read this brief article in advance so you can make the most informed decision possible.

The Basics of Genetic Hair Loss

As we discuss in How to Choose a Hair Loss Product, hair loss can be the result of many different causes (or, combinations thereof), including vitamin deficiencies and other poor nutritional habits, excess stress, grooming and hygiene habits, and certain medications, to name just a few.

However, the most common cause—experienced by about 50 million U.S. men—is something called androgenetic alopecia; more commonly known as male and female pattern baldness.

In those with this genetic condition, a hormone called dihydrotestosterone (DHT) “attaches” to hair follicles and begins to shrink them, so that their natural lifecycle becomes increasingly shorter. Eventually, the follicle ceases producing hair altogether.”

While there’s currently no cure for pattern baldness, two of the most common clinically substantiated treatments include Finasteride and Minoxidil, both of which Keeps offers. Before we take a closer look at how these might help, though, let’s investigate their examination process.

How Does Keeps Work?

Overall, the Keeps process works over three steps:

Step 1: The Questionnaire

You’ll start off by entering basic details like your name, date of birth, gender, and email address. From there, you’ll dive into more detailed topics like:

Hair loss – When did you first notice it? Where on your head are you experiencing it? Have you noticed stray hairs in any of the following places (shower, pillow, brush, in food, etc.)? Any symptoms of itching or burning scalp, sudden and recent increase in hair loss, dandruff or greasiness, changes to skin color? Have you taken Minoxidil, Propecia, or anything else to address your hair loss in the past?

Lifestyle – Indicate your choices (do you drink more than three alcoholic beverages per day, smoke cigarettes, eat a restrictive diet, work out with extreme intensity?). Have you experienced any of the following over the past three months (death of a loved one, major surgery or illness, loss of a home or job)?

Photos – Here, you’ll take photos of the top of your head, your hairline, and your crown, and then upload them to the site. (If necessary, you can skip this step and come back to it later.)

Keeps Photo UploadPart of the examination process involves uploading images of the top of your head, hairline, and crown. You can use your computer’s camera, or you can utilize previously taken images. Credit: Keeps.com

Medical History – Any other family members (parents, siblings, etc.) experiencing hair loss? Have you been diagnosed with erectile dysfunction? Have you already seen a healthcare professional for your hair loss? Taking any current medications or supplements? Health conditions? Allergic to any medications? Anything else you would like the doctor to know?

Despite the number of questions presented here, we completed the process in less than 10 minutes, after which we entered our personal information, including the address and phone number.

Step 2: The Review

Within 24 hours of submitting your information, one of Keeps’ contracted physicians, who’s licensed in your state, will review your case and complete your consultation, at which point you’ll receive an email notification.

The doctor will also use your answers to create a recommended treatment plan, involving one or more of the following products:

Note: If you already have a prescription, you can skip this step and purchase treatments directly through Keeps.

Step 3: The Plan & Products

After receiving your email and logging back into your account, you’ll be able to see what your doctor recommends and then place your order accordingly. This will arrive within two to three days, with auto-refills shipped every three months.

Finasteride (brand name Propecia/Proscar, among others), 1 mg – An FDA approved prescription medication often used to treat benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), or an enlarged prostate, as well as androgenetic alopecia.

Without going into unnecessary detail, it’s a 5-alpha-reductase inhibitor, which works by potentially blocking the effects of DHT. As mentioned on the Keeps website, it often only reduces, but doesn't always stop, hair loss, and it can be effective on all parts of the scalp, including the hairline, crown, and vertex.

Minoxidil (brand name Rogaine), 5% Solution – Comparatively, Minoxidil (whether through Keeps or another company) is an FDA approved over-the-counter topical treatment that’s been clinically shown to help grow thicker, longer hair, and actually increase hair count.

However, it’s generally only effective for the crown and vertex areas of the scalp (in other words, it’s not ideal if you’re experiencing a receding hairline), and it can take three to four months of daily use to experience any benefits.

Could Hair Loss Treatments Like These Cause Side Effects?

The Keeps website emphasizes that both Finasteride and Minoxidil, are generally considered safe, although all drugs come with some risk of side effects.

For example, RxList indicates that common Finasteride side effects (no specifics provided) include impotence, loss of interest in sex, trouble having an orgasm, abnormal ejaculation, dizziness, weakness, and skin rash. However, Keeps points out that only 3.8 percent of users experienced some form of these side effects during clinical trials, and they often resolved themselves over time.

In some instances (again, no specifics), WebMD reports that Minoxidil can cause temporary burning, stinging, or redness at the application site. Keeps tells us that some users might also experience some initial hair shedding at the onset of treatment.

When absorbed through the skin, in rare instances, WebMD reports the ingredient has also been linked to side effects like fast/irregular heartbeat, hand/foot swelling, weight gain, chest pain, and difficulty breathing when lying down.

Where Is Keeps Available and How Much Does It Cost?

According to the company’s website, Keeps is currently available in more than 25 states across the country (covering about 80 percent of the population). For men who already have a prescription, they can ship treatments to all 50 states.

To access more information about the states in which Keeps is currently available, be sure to visit their website.

With these details in mind, when ordering through Keeps, you’ll pay:

  • Finasteride (prescription required): $25/mo
  • Minoxidil (OTC): $10/mo
  • Doctor Consultation: First visit is free, $30 per visit thereafter (patients typically only need one visit per year)

Again, you can skip the consultation part if you already have a prescription for Finasteride from your doctor. Minoxidil is available in all 50 states without a prescription.

Per the company’s FAQ, all orders for prescription medications are fulfilled by Eagle Pharmacy, located at 350 Eagles Landing Dr, Lakeland, Florida, 33810.

All orders come with a flat $3 shipping fee. Minoxidil and Finasteride currently aren’t eligible for payment using FSA/HAS, so you need to contact your benefits provider directly if you have questions regarding insurance coverage for these medications.

If you have other questions about Keeps specifically or would like to cancel your subscription at any time, customer support can be reached at (833) 745-3377 or help@keeps.com.

What Do We Know About Keeps as a Company?

Keeps was launched in January 2018 and is based out of New York, NY.

It was co-founded by Steve Gutentag and Demetri Karagas, who met during their first week of college at NYU Stern School of Business. Ten years later, after Demetri pointed out Steve’s thinning hair, they partnered with Dr. Jerry Shapiro and Dr. Antonella Tosti to create “a convenient, effective, and affordable solution for men's hair loss.”

Previously, Steve and Demetri were co-founders of Get Maid and program managers at Google.

Keeps vs. Hims

We’ve mentioned it before, but it bears repeating here: Becker’s Health Review reports that the telemedicine industry (“the remote diagnosis and treatment of patients by means of telecommunications technology”) is set to attract seven million patients this year alone.

And based on the number of companies entering the market who are taking advantage of this explosion in telecommunications technology, this growth doesn't appear to be slowing down anytime soon.

The industry is in its infancy, however, so there’s currently only one other company competing directly for (most of) the same customers as Keeps, who also offers reduced pricing, automatic monthly shipments, and remote diagnosis from a state-licensed physician:

Company Medications Offered Monthly Pricing
Keeps Finasteride / Minoxidil $25 / $10
Hims Hair Kit Finasteride / Minoxidil $28.50 / $13

How to choose? As with just about any other consumer purchase, the right option for you is going to almost solely come down to your needs and personal preferences.

For example, if the price is your primary concern, Keeps’ medications are meaningfully less expensive than Hims, although the latter also sells supplements, a DHT blocking shampoo, and Sildenafil (Viagra) for ED. So, if you’d like to purchase these products as well, the convenience offered by Hims’ one-stop-shopping might make up for their higher prices.

We had the opportunity to exchange emails with a Keeps representative, who emphasized that the company “feels many of these supplementary products are unnecessary and unproven.” As a result, they pointed out several key differentiators compared to Hims, including:

  • Keeps is creating the first simple, modern solution, so men will have the opportunity to take action before it's too late. After all, they pointed out, “hair loss is not inevitable, and if you start while you still have hair, it's actually optional.”

  • For decades, they tell us, companies have benefited from misinformation and men's insecurities to sell products that don't work or aren't needed. Instead, Keeps promises to only sell products proven to work, while making sure you get just the one or two you need.

Either way, it’s important to point out that in the case of Keeps and Hims, their telemedicine services aren’t intended to replace the care offered by your primary physician.

Our Final Thoughts About Keeps

Continuing this emphasis on personalization, in our How to Choose a Hair Loss Product article referenced at the beginning, we point out that the ‘right’ treatment is largely going to depending on your diagnosis. And this is something only your doctor can assist with.

After all, even if you choose to go with Keeps or the competition, they emphasize that you’ll still need the care of a primary physician. While there, you can discuss the potential pros and cons of telemedicine in general and Keeps specifically.

With this said, GoodRx reported that the average cash retail price for a 30-day supply of Finasteride and Minoxidil was $78.93 and $29.78, respectively, at the time of our research. As such, while we didn’t test the service ourselves, if saving money and obtaining these medications more conveniently are your primary concerns, Keeps really does seem to deliver.

» Related: Everything You Need to Know About Hair Supplements

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 27 Keeps Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 21 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 78% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 27
Sort reviews by:

  • 33 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Garbage product and customer service

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Dec 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Trash product and customer service. A complete rip off and scam. I ordered this product (Finasteride) in early August and tried it until late November. No difference at all by early November. So I inform them via email that I would like to discontinue my subscription. They replied, "we are sorry to see you go." And I thought that was it. Only to find out that they then proceeded to charge for another shipment of their product that does not work. So I emailed them about receiving a refund. They replied, "we already shipped it and cannot refund you." So I called and spoke with a rude rep who was not knowledgeable, who put me with a manager that stated: "oh you have to call to cancel." Only to find that they canceled my account via email 2 days prior to my call. So I asked her why do I have to call if you already canceled my account 2 days ago? She could not explain, and when I asked to speak someone higher than her, she said there is nothing she could do for me and hung up on me.

    Worst service and product ever. I am contacting the BBB tomorrow based on the experience and no refund for a product I clearly did not want. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 18 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Omaha, NE,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and used keeps it for two days. On the third day, my hair was completely falling out. I had hair all over the place. I WOULDN'T recommend this product to anyone trying to grow hair! When I called, they told me I couldn’t get a refund, so I just lost my money I put into it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Keeps first use review

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just got my first order of Keeps in the mail. I paid for both Finasteride and Minoxidil. Only received Finasteride. Called customer service and they told me that "Minoxidil is on back order and there is no telling how long it will take for it to be shipped" (couldn't even give me a time frame). Reason being because FDA has it on back order because of government shutdown. Ok, that's fine...but why not mention that during the ordering process (ordered a week ago after the shutdown)? Listen...I never leave reviews on anything but this is messed up, I paid for something and didn't receive it. If I knew what I know now, I would have just paid for Finasteride ($70) and went to my local drugstore and bought Rogaine to avoid all this BS.

    Beware! Keeps is cheaper but Hims probably is better when it comes to customer appreciation. God bless and good luck!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terrible fulfillment

    • Pflugerville, TX,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the drops 2 months ago and have not received it. They then canceled my order and did not refund me, I was then taken off the waiting list. Unethical and unorganized company, will never do business with them again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Unethical

    • Saugus, CA,
    • May 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is poorly run and has horrible customer service! You'll notice the good reviews are from people who have been with them long enough to experience results from the treatment they purchased. These results would be the same no matter who you purchased them from. My complaint is that after three months in they sent me a letter explaining that for reasons beyond their control their supply has run out. However, they were in the process of getting a new supplier and they would still provide a one month supply to tide me over until they could ship the three month supply I already paid for.

    My one month supply never came and I contacted them to complain that for a treatment that requires consistency, this is not acceptable. To make it right, they allowed me to purchase Minoxidil on my own and they would apply the cost as a credit to my account. However, they accidentally canceled my Finasteride and one month later they again sent me an email explaining they still won't have Minoxidil and that now I'd have to wait till June!

    Enough was enough so I canceled my subscription. To my surprise, they not only would not send me my reimbursement but almost three weeks later they sent me a three month supply of Minoxidil. I had already canceled my account, due to the fact that they said they would not have enough supply until June, and they sent me a three month supply of minoxidil anyway. When I contacted them about this they told me it was because I already paid for it! I explained that not only did I cancel my account before it shipped but they expressly told me they would not have enough supply anyway. My purchase should have been refunded since they did not deliver on our agreement. They refused to refund my purchase and my reimbursement. They only offered to add the credit to my account.

    So, in summary, they expected me to have a two-month break in treatment and the only thing they offered in return was a credit. Why in the world would I want credit with a company that can't deliver on their promises and in spite of their miss calculations expect me to continue to support them? Stay away from this company. I believe the circumstances beyond their control are an inability to run a business. They sure as heck don't know what customer service is. I gave them two chances to make things right and they decided to stick it to me. Now, I'm happily paying $5 more a month to a competitor who so far has made good on their promises.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Did not love the customer service.

    • Massachusetts,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is less a review of the physical product and more about the experience with customer service, and I am probably being petty.

    Things started smoothly as I entered my personal information and sent a picture of my melon. I was told "male pattern baldness." Sounded about right to me. I went on and paid for the subscription, no problem, and within a couple of weeks the first shipment came. I found it (for myself) difficult to keep up with the topical application. Nothing notably wrong with it, the process just wasn't for me. I should mention that my hair is still in an OK place, I think I was being more preventative than anything.

    So I emailed customer service to see about canceling my subscription. It cannot be canceled they tell me, not via email anyway, but they can put the subscription on hold for six months. At the time finances were tight so I obliged - I will revisit again in six months to see how things are.

    Six months go by. I had made a note in my calendar to revisit the paused subscription. Unfortunately, things with work were busy and the renew day came and passed and I forgot to contact customer service. Keeps automated renewal did not miss the day. With no reminder of the activation, I got an email notification saying that "My shipment was on the way," with a $78 charge on my card. Crap! I emailed right away. So sorry I forgot to contact, would you please stop the shipment and cancel the subscription, yadda yadda.

    I got an email back from customer service telling me that a hold had been placed on my order and that I had 24 hours to call in and cancel the order or the shipment would be sent. Call Jack Bauer. The rep also told me that I agreed to a subscription and how subscriptions work is that they send every month and that's what I agreed to. Along with that, they attached a screenshot of "what I agreed to."

    Cue my response - no way you're are going to explain to me what a subscription is, belittle me with an agreement screenshot and put me on a timer for 24 hours. I did respond politely, citing that as a customer I reserve the right to cancel a subscription even after an agreement. I told them I would call to cancel and not be returning.

    Shortly thereafter, the founder sends me an email asking for customer feedback, "we hate to see you leave, we always want to hear what you have to say...etc." Along with a notification that my subscription has been canceled. I sent my feedback - with no final response.

    Ok so here is my issue. It took me no time at all to get into this "agreement." Yet twice, when I requested to cancel, I was given the runaround. Should I have called in the first time? Yes. But still, this idea of keeping customers on the hook with a six-month hold is shady. Making me call in during work hours for something that can be done with a few clicks? Huh? They gave no notice of the account going off hold, and no reminder that they were about to charge me again until they already did. When I made a fuss - things got taken care of immediately.

    That's what this review comes down to. Was I the most responsible customer? No. But that does not give warrant to any business to make you hassle and squirm until they take care of your requests. Don't patronize me with screenshots and don't send some BS message from the founder saying how much we care about you. When I email and ask to cancel, simply cancel. I am the customer. Don't "we're a subscription service" to put me on pause and jack me for money with no notification six months later. If you can automate all that other stuff, take the time to automate a reactivation message. By the way, at no point in any time did I require to call into the service center...ONLY to request the subscription cancellation. I did not feel like my best interests were prioritized, quite the opposite.

    Like I said, I am just being petty. Not a fan of how Keeps handled it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Still early but good progress!

    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Keeps for about 4 months now after finding out about the company on a TV commercial. I just got my second shipment and have started to see real progress, especially at the top of my head. I talked with the doctor again before this last shipment and he was able to answer a few questions I had about how I should use the product and when I'd see more results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awesome product

    • Houston, TX,
    • Dec 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I highly recommend Keeps to anybody interested in using a sleek, convenient, and professional platform to prevent baldness. It basically replaces a visit to the doctor with a simple, easy-to-use website. This includes a consultation from an actual doctor who can diagnose male pattern baldness and then prescribe the appropriate medicines. The treatments then show up in the mail. Most importantly, since using Keeps, I've noticed my hair has thickened some, especially in the front on either side where I had noticed it thinning recently. Just try it out and see for yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Solid product, consistent service, great experience

    • New York,
    • Dec 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had a great experience using Keeps. I enjoyed the fact that I did not have to visit a doctor or deal with any pharmacies in order to start receiving the product.

    It's also nice that Keeps is able to re-fill and deliver my prescription without me needing to do anything.

    My hair is still looking good, so I guess it's all good!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Exactly as advertised

    • New York, NY,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Customer for over almost two years, great customer service and great product. I’ve tried other brands and Keeps is by far the best, very satisfied with results. Hugely recommended to friends and family.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Highly recommended product and amazing customer service!

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product worked wonders for my hair! I had regrowth and even thickening of my hair within the first three months on this treatment. My family and friends also noticed the difference and I am looking forward to the next three months on this treatment. Great customer service, available to help and always pleasant. I love how if I have questions regarding my treatment, my doctor is just a message away!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 27

Write a Review for Keeps!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review