Keranique Reviews: Will It Really Regrow Your Thinning Hair?

By HighYa Staff
Updated on: Sep 25, 2017

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse and Condition for Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Specially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect and Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect and Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect and Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing and Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 187 Keranique Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 113 4 star: 11 3 star: 7 2 star: 3 1 star:  53
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 187
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • More hair than ever

    • Lake Forest, CA,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In 2013 I was in a terrible car accident. By all means, I shouldn't have come out of it alive. But I was very lucky. However, the trama of the accident affected me more than I realized. I started losing my hair and it wasn't stopping. I went to a doctor who told me that the trauma was most likely for the loss of hair. She wanted to start me on some medication, but I had heard about Keranique. So I called and decided to give it a try. I knew I had to be patient for the results to take effect, so I decided to give it 6 months. I believe around 3 months I started seeing little hair starting to grow, like baby hair. And they continued to grow. At 6 months the hair was definitely filling in the places where I was losing my hair. And at the end of the first year, my hair had become fuller than it was before the accident.

    If you are experiencing any loss for whatever reason, I would certainly advise you to not hesitate to call and start a program on the Hair Re-Growth Treatment. Do understand, you must give it time to take effect. Give it 6 months and I know you will be thrilled. I have been using the product since 2012 and have no plans to stop the treatment. You must continue with it. If you stop, so will your hair re-growth. But take it from me, seven years later, my hair beautiful and I absolutely swear by this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Can't live without this product!

    • Palmdale, CA,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Karanique for about 3-4 years. I cannot even think of not using this product every day to every other day. It has given me back a part of me that I thought I would lose forever. It's a great product and the company really is a great place to work with. If you need hair growth then this is your company to deal with you. When (which is not often) there is a problem they are quick to take care of you. I will be using this product until I go home with the Lord.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    My scary situation

    • Texas,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ALWAYS had thick long hair that ALWAYS got compliments...until one medication made about 2/3s of it fall out within two months time! I don't wash my hair but like 2-3 a week, but with the Keranique, it has filled in the bald spots. I have new growth about six inches in two months time. It's still not as thick as I hope it will be...but I feel much more confident. I believe it's worth every penny! Thanks Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I love it

    • New Hampshire,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Keranique for two weeks now. I love the shampoo and conditioner; it had left my hair looking fuller and much healthier. It smells like mint and feels great. I also use the leave in spray.

    I cannot say whether the hair growth product works; it's too soon.

    I lost my hair due to Steven Johnson Syndrome. I went from a beautiful head of hair to hair you could see through. This product has been great. My hair is getting better every day.

    I talked to customer service and the lady was helpful and cordial. That was my experience with Keranique. I wish I had started using it sooner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Regret ordering

    • Newcastle, Australia,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had bad experiences ordering online and I was never going to do it again, but I saw the advertisement for Keranique hair products and my hair is thinning out a lot so I read through the whole ad. It was a risk-free trial to try the product - nowhere did it say if I didn't ring to cancel and return products before one month I would be charged $87 (AUS dollars), and another $87 the next month. Anyway, I have been caught out before so I am returning unused and NEVER AGAIN am I going to order anything online! I thought (and this is what they should do) that they would send a small sample for you to try and if you liked it then you would order a bigger supply - that is a more honest method of selling a product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Happy customer

    • Maryland,
    • Feb 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Keranique works well and I have been using almost three years. The products give me volume and shine. I am seeing less scalp showing and I feel like my hair is thicker than before starting.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Heart problems

    • Iowa,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After only using Keranique for the last week I have started having bad heart palpitations, racing heart or lagging heartbeat, and dizziness. I have stopped using it immediately and have an appointment with my doctor first thing Monday. I recommend not using this product at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 29 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Biloxi, MS,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is a scam to start with. The trial offer is not the price they advertise. If you keep the trial offer, they charge $120 plus the initial trial payment. The product made my hair fall out. After using the product, I could not get a comb or brush through my hair. It made my hair literally squeaky clean, meaning as I attempted to brush my hair it squeaked. I recommend spending the kind of money they are wanting for this horrible product, on the OLAPLEX system available at Sephora. It is pricey for the amount but literally works wonders after one single use, unlike the Keranique system which takes months. I would leave zero stars if I could. Don't do this to your hair, read the ingredients.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 25 out 27 people found this review helpful

    Do not bother trying

    • Alabama,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They did not come immediately with thorough instructions. Emails were sent later. Made my hair brittle, although one product is a protector, and very difficult to style. The pump is vey difficult to use, and I am not weak. I had to wash hair more than normal due to build-up. Conditioner did not work well to nourish or de-tangle.

    They try to sell you MORE products once you get the kit. Why should you have to buy yet more product if the original works?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 18, 2019

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Marie, my name is Sarah. I am a Customer Relations Liaison for Keranique. We are sorry to hear about your experience with Keranique. Our goal is for you to have a rewarding experience with both our products and our representatives. It is not uncommon for some users to experience dryness while using Keranique as our product line does not contain Sulfates, Parabens or Dyes. Our shampoos are designed to remove impurities and buildup both on the hair and the scalp, while our conditioner adds body and volume without leaving a heavy, waxy and coated feeling on the hair or scalp.

      I can understand how it can be difficult to use the nozzle sprayer at first, but once you unlock the nozzle, it is much easier to apply the product.

      Follow these instructions to open the child-resistant applicator pump:

      - To unlock spray mechanism, firmly hold the bottle upright, with the sprayer facing away from you.

      - Push in the small button at the bottom right of the turner wheel

      - While continuing to push in button, gently pull nozzle to left, as far as possible

      - Nozzle is now in the unlocked position and ready to use

      The key to Keranique is not only finding the best way to apply the Regrowth Treatment for your scalp, but also incorporate the other products within your normal hair care regimen so it works for you, as we all have different types and textures of hair.

      To help combat dryness with Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo and Volumizing Keratin Conditioner - use them as you would normally shampoo and condition. And with the Lift & Repair Treatment Spray, it is heat activated - if you blow dry, curl or straighten your hair - work this into your hair at the root as you style. You can also use it as a light-weight/hold hair spray.

      If you find that you are still experiencing dryness - there are other avenues to explore. We offer multiple Shampoo/Conditioning formulas that all contain our Keratin Amino Complex, which helps to thicken and strengthen your hair, to better customize Keranique to suit your hair:

      - Deep Hydration

      - Damage Control

      - Curl Preserve

      - Color Boost

      Alternatively, we offer a product called Marula Oil Hair Mist which is a light-weight, nutrient-rich scalp and hair moisturizer to better enable manageability.

      I would like the opportunity to work with you to resolve your concerns with Keranique. Please send us an email with your contact information at Keraniqu@keranique.com. Thank you.

    • Feb 13, 2019

      sheila b.

      I am upset because I got charged $89.95 and now $49.95 on my card. I do not want auto-ship anything. I have to cancel my card and dispute these charges. I have only received one 30-day supply, which I only wanted to try one month. Now, as I said, I do not want your product or these charges on my card. NO MORE CHARGES. I am canceling my card.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Apr 3, 2019

      Keranique, LLC

      Hi Marie, my name is Sarah, I am a Customer Relations Liaison from Keranique. It is not uncommon for some users to experience drying, as we all have different types and textures of hair. The most important component for regrowth is the Regrowth Treatment with 2% Minoxidil. Using that twice a day on the thinning areas on your scalp will ensure that you experience regrowth. The other products within our Regrowth System support the strength, resiliency, and thickness of your existing hair - and the new hair as it emerges.

      The key to Keranique is not only finding the best way to apply the Regrowth Treatment for your scalp, but also incorporate the other products within your normal hair care regimen.

      For the Regrowth Treatment with 2% Minoxidil, some people find that the best way to absorb the treatment is to lightly spritz your scalp with water to enable your skin to absorb the Minoxidil better, whereas others find that they can absorb the product sufficiently without dampening the scalp. Remember, the Regrowth Treatment should be applied to your scalp, not your existing hair. And a little goes a long way - if you don't need 6-sprays, don't use 6.

      Similarly with the other products, incorporating the Scalp Stimulating Shampoo and Volumizing Keratin Conditioner - use them as you would normally shampoo and condition. And with the Lift & Repair Treatment Spray, it is heat activated - if you blow dry, curl or straighten your hair - work this into your hair at the root as you style. You can also use it as a light-weight/hold hair spray.

      If you find that you are still experiencing dryness - there are other avenues to explore. We offer multiple Shampoo/Conditioning formulas that all contain our Keratin Amino Complex, which helps to thicken and strengthen your hair, to better customize Keranique to suit your hair:

      - Deep Hydration

      - Damage Control

      - Curl Preserve

      - Color Boost

      Alternatively, we offer a product called Marula Oil Hair Mist which is a light-weight, nutrient-rich scalp and hair moisturizer to better enable manageability.

      We would like the opportunity to discuss your experience, usage, and goals further, so we can help you achieve your regrowth goals. Please send an email with your Customer Information to keranique@keranique.com. I look forward to working with you. Thank you.


  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    A must buy product

    • Middletown, NY,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first started using the hair mask about three weeks ago after being recommended to the product by a friend of mine. I use it twice a week as a hair mask before my usual washing routine. This product is amazing! To start off, the product smells heavenly! As I massage it into my scalp, I can feel my hair and scalp getting rejuvenated. After letting it sit for ten minutes, I wash the mask out of my hair and follow on with normal shower routines; shampoo and condition, etc. After using the product for a few weeks, I've noticed less oil build up on my scalp and I feel that my hair stays cleaner longer between washes. Plus, having a reason to give yourself a scalp massage is always a good thing! I love this product, and I love how it makes my hair look and feel!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Keranique Micro-Exfoliating Follicle Revitalizing Mask

    • Highland, NY,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product for three months. My result is my hair got stronger and had less shedding. But my parts are still wide.

    I had chemotherapy 9 years ago, so I am not sure this can help, but I still try it.

    It stimulates my scalp and it feels cool.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Leila, my name is Sarah, I am a customer relations liaison with Keranique. We are so happy your hair is stronger from using the Micro-exfoliating Revitalizing Mask, but it sounds as if what you are really looking for is hair regrowth to fill in your part. While our mask is great for hair and scalp health, it does not regrow hair. The good news is that we do have a solution for you! Our Hair Regrowth Systems are clinically proven to regrow hair. If you write to me at keranique@keranique.com I can match you and your hair type with the right products. I look forward to hearing from you!

    • Jan 2, 2019

      Yvonne G.

      I order the special priced treatment at $19.95 plus tax $1.40, a total of $21.35. I received the treatment box less two bottles of the Hair Regrowth Treatment for Women, so I called and was told it would the first of January, so I started using the products and some hair grew back, and it also darken my hair.

      When I called this evening about the shipment of my two bottles, at first I was told it would be the end of January, which did not go down too well for me. Then I asked them to stop sending me my monthly products until I told them to do so. That is when I found out that they were actually going to charge altogether $106.89 and just not the $21.35 they already charged me for all the products that they sent me. I said to Anna no way because that is not what its advertisement price was. When I ordered on the phone, I was not advised there was going to be an additional $106.89 for the products that they were sending to me. This is false advertising! I tried to speak to a supervisor, but she would not let me. The pricing is a scam!

    • Jan 13, 2019

      Marina R.

      It is making my hair more brittle and dry. I do not want autoship. Stop my Keranique products.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 187

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review