What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

140 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 82 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 140
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Surprisingly pleased new customer

    • Poughkeepsie, NY,
    • Jun 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After reading several online reviews about Keranique's hair regrowth kit, I was skeptical on whether or not to try it. I was given the opportunity to try out the kit and was quite pleased with the outcome. I have thick, curly hair that often gets frizzy just hours after I shower. Although I have only used Keranique's products a hand full of times so far, I have noticed positive results with my hair. My curls are holding better, there is less frizz, and my hair seems softer and fuller. I know it takes a couple of months to really see progress, but I am willing to keep using Keranique's products to see if it continues to strengthen and nourish my hair.

    Thanks, Keranique, for quality products!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    My experience with Keranique

    • Winchester, CA,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am very pleased with the results I got with using Keranique. It took about four months before I saw some results, so don't get discouraged. Also, I did some researched as to why my hair was falling out in the first place. Most causes are thyroid or hormones. Mine happened to be hormones. Just be patient. Let the staff help you and give you support.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy! This product makes your hair fall out!

    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product doesn’t even deserve a star!

    I’ve been using this product for under eight weeks and I’ve lost half a head of hair! It’s gotten worse and worse as the weeks have gone by. Never in my life have I clogged up the drain with one wash. My hair won’t stop falling out! It looks like I’m going bald!

    Keranique is a scam, and I hope someone will have the power to shut them down!

    I tried calling their number provided on their website and it said disconnected, so I emailed them. Her response was that it’ll take time for the minoxidil to work and to give it time. At the time of purchase, I wasn’t aware of their product containing minoxidil and only purchased their shampoo, conditioner, follicle spray and lift spray. These products clearly haven’t worked and caused more damage than good. I responded to her email with photos of my balding scalp and never received a response back.

    I hope someone out there can take this company down! It’s caused me severe stress and anxiety. With the rate of how much hair is falling out my next purchase will be a wig!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Beware of supposed free offers

    • South Australia,
    • May 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this product as a FREE gift from Aldi. This was absolutely not the case. I was sent a second delivery of the product and a bill for $79.95. I contacted Keranique customer service and arranged the return of this delivery and cancellation of any further shipments. During this lengthy process conducted by an employee whose English was barely understandable, I was bombarded with offers of more product despite the fact that the reason for my call was the dissatisfaction with the process and my clear wish to have no further contact with this company. I acknowledge my gullibility in accepting a supposedly free offer from a high profile retailer, but the attitude of Keranique was totally unacceptable.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 29, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Janet, my name is Sarah and I am a Customer Relations Liaison from Keranique. We are sorry to hear about your experience. It is our goal for you to have a rewarding experience with our products and our Customer Service. Please send an email to keranique@keranique.com with your customer information so we can, not only better assist you with your account, but also look into the service that you received. Thank you for making us aware of your experience, and I look forward to working together to find a satisfactory resolution.

      Thank you

      Sarah

      Keranique Customer Relations

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    It really works

    I have been using Keranique for several months and the results are amazing. I have really thin, straight hair with no body, and I hated my hair. Since I started using Keranique, my hair looks thicker with great body, and I love the way it looks! The products are expensive but well worth the investment.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Highly recommend

    I am in my 70's and have experienced extreme hair loss. I tried other "hair restoration " products, none of which worked.

    I decided to try Keranique. I followed the simple and very clearly written directions, and in a few weeks my hair began to feel and look more full. Also, my hair looked more radiant and silkier.

    Use this product as directed and be prepared to be amazed at the great result.

    Keranique has excellent customer service. The representatives are friendly, courteous and knowledgeable.

    I highly recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Keranique is amazing!

    • Highland, NY,
    • May 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been using Keranique for about two weeks. When I started, it caused a small amount of hair loss but it quickly subsided, and now I love how my hair feels. The shampoo and conditioner smell great and feel refreshing when I use them. It made my hair thick and soft, and gave it a ton of volume. My hair feels silky smooth, and it doesn't feel weighed down like some other smoothing products make my hair feel. I'm extremely happy with how Keranique has affected my hair!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Hair growth and stronger and fuller, thicker more manageable hair.

    I have been using Keranique for a month now and I can see new growth that's fuller, thicker and my hair is more manageable than ever before. It's more stronger and I have less breakage. The shampoo and conditioner together reinvigorate my scalp and reduce split ends and breakage. I love the hair regrowth treatment it has given me optimum hair regrowth. The lift and repair treatment spray adds lift and provides 24-hour frizz control.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    I love Keranique and have been using it since December 2017. My hair is growing longer and thicker. I had five back surgeries since March of last year ending in August. My hair started falling out and getting worse. I saw a post on Facebook talking about this product, my daughter had like the post, so I thought I would give it a try.

    I have been using it ever since and my hair is getting longer and thicker. Yes, I would tell anyone to use it. My hair shines and after putting it on my hair it feels soft. I love it. Their customer service is the best; they are always polite and professional, they do not try to push you into anything. They listen to what you want and need.

    I love Keranique and will continue using it. I don't know what more I can say about this product other than it is great. I am 60 years and always have had long thick hair, and now I am getting it back. Thanks to them and their product. I told my daughter about the product and now she is using it too. I tell everyone I see to give it a try because once they do, they will keep on using it. Thanks for everything.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So glad I tried Keranique

    I've recently had knee surgery and as in the past, medications used during and after surgery can/will affect hair growth/loss. I first noticed spots on my scalp that were thinning. I decided to try Keranique. I've been using Keranique for several months now. Within about 2 and 1/2 months, I started noticing new growth (baby fine hairs) along the hairline. I have used this product religiously and am amazed at the results. I no longer have thin spots, plus my hair is coming back curly. I will always be grateful to Keranique. I LOVE their shampoo and conditioner.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Like

    I really like the products, and the employees are very friendly. They are helpful and give great advice. I like how you can add products to your monthly order or hold off until the next month.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 140

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review