Keranique Reviews: Will It Really Regrow Your Thinning Hair?

By HighYa Research Team
Updated on: Sep 25, 2017

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness.

The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse and Condition for Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Specially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect and Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect and Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect and Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing and Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.


Read 195 Keranique Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 118 4 star: 11 3 star: 7 2 star: 4 1 star:  55
Bottom Line: 68% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 195
Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    It really does work

    • Vineland, NJ,
    • Nov 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I order this product Keranique to help regrow my thinning hair on top of my head. To my surprise, I noticed after using Keranique shampoo and conditioner and the spray for 4 days that my hair has stopped falling out, and also noticed that the part is not as wide like it was. I use it exactly like it says, this is the best product I purchased, I have tried others but to no avail. Thank you Keranique, you made a believer out of me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Love the Keranique products

    • Harpers Ferry, WV,
    • Sep 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Have been using the shampoo, conditioner, hair growth, scalp conditioner, and KeraViatin Supplements since November 2018. There has been a great improvement in my hair. In fact, the hair that is growing back is my original color - not white.

    My husband has been encouraging my use of these products as he can see the difference as well. My scalp had bald spots and now new hair is returning. I highly recommend all Keranique products.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not satisfied

    • Hamburg, NY,
    • Sep 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I didn’t see any difference, it made my hair super flat, no volume what so ever. I used it as directed, not happy, especially for the price. I’m sure it’s worked for others but it’s definitely not for everyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    My hair is thicker

    • Jul 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hair was thinning and always seemed greasy.

    Now my hair is thick, full of volume, and I can barely find my part anymore. And the spots on the side of my head that were really thinning out, you can’t even see anymore. And I just switched to the shampoo and conditioner for curly hair, to see if it works better for my curly hair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    So much hair loss

    • Brisbane, Australia,
    • Jun 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Using the full system for 3 months resulted in MORE hair loss and definitely no improvement in my hair. I ended up with about 20-25% less hair than when I started.

    Pros: Tingly, cool feeling that's pleasant on the scalp. Fast shipping. OK customer service (once you get through...).

    Cons: Expensive, difficult to obtain in Australia (not available in stores here - online only), auto-subscription was in tiny print (so that was an unpleasant surprise).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Confident on my wedding day

    • La Habra, CA,
    • May 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had learned about the brand from perusing the aisles at Ulta. For years I had been saddened and quietly struggling with hair loss and thinning. I already had thin hair (in terms of volume and density, not in terms of each individual hair’s thickness), so losing hair in my twenties was horrifying. Last year, my hair stylist mentioned the thinning. Like she verbally, in an honest but finesse way, pointed out the issue. It was so embarrassing yet so freeing at the same time. I wasn’t ready to spend the money, but I earmarked the experience for when I had the budget to spend. Then, in August, I got engaged. We decided on a 6-month engagement. My hair stylist prodded that it’s important to feel and look my best on my wedding day, and we would have enough time to get my hair looking it’s best if I started now. With wedding bills piling up anyway, I decided, “Why the heck not?”. I went for it with one of the starter kits that includes vitamins, a root spray, and shampoo conditioner. It worked fine but nothing magical with the thinning hair. I repurchased the pills in full size because my hair seemed to be growing longer, faster. My stylist suggested I use the Hair Regrowth Treatment for women - it's a precise spray for where you part your hair. She suggested this because the top of my head had most of the thinning. I used it as recommended (twice daily) and didn’t expect much. To my surprise, in just a few months I noticed all these baby hairs sprouting on the side I part my hair! And almost no fall out in the shower. My hair part used to be so visibly bare and it became lush like never before. Needless to say, I was so thankful to my stylist and over the moon with my hair on the wedding day. Thank you, Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfied

    • Rome, NY,
    • May 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first saw the advertisement for your product I had to research it more. Apparently, I didn't go far enough because I purchased the product and never saw any results so I stopped using it. I even continued using some of my medication that makes my hair stop growing. Well, much to my surprise as several other products, my hair fell out. I don't know what you people are trying to sell or who you're paying to say that they have long beautiful hair due to using your product, is full of it. It doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    What perfect products can do.

    • Fremont, CA,
    • Apr 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What made me decide to call Keranique. I look at people my age who are losing their hair and I know myself I never want to go through that again. I had cancer and shaved my head. I was lucky my hair came back.

    I noticed I am reseeding in my hairlines in front of my face.

    Keranique sent me all products needed to keep my hair growing with smooth results.

    I will never forget the first time I used the Shampoo and Conditioner. My hair felt thicker and the volume was throughout my whole head. Right then I knew there was no shampoo in any drug store that would be able to do this.

    I also use the hair regrowth spray pump. Wow, does this work. I could see little hairs coming in on reseeding areas I was targeting. So they filled in and now are growing right along with the rest of my head.

    The mask for re-vitalizing is wonderful. I use it maybe once a month and sometimes more. One must take time to let it sit on your head with a cap on. When getting ready to take off the cap and get into the shower you will feel little particles that help clean the scalp and perk it up. Exfoliating! This product also works on all hair follicles. What a good feeling as I dry my hair.

    These are the products I use on a weekly basis. There are more wonderful products that I have that Keranique carries, but these I will never give up.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    More hair than ever

    • Lake Forest, CA,
    • Apr 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    In 2013 I was in a terrible car accident. By all means, I shouldn't have come out of it alive. But I was very lucky. However, the trama of the accident affected me more than I realized. I started losing my hair and it wasn't stopping. I went to a doctor who told me that the trauma was most likely for the loss of hair. She wanted to start me on some medication, but I had heard about Keranique. So I called and decided to give it a try. I knew I had to be patient for the results to take effect, so I decided to give it 6 months. I believe around 3 months I started seeing little hair starting to grow, like baby hair. And they continued to grow. At 6 months the hair was definitely filling in the places where I was losing my hair. And at the end of the first year, my hair had become fuller than it was before the accident.

    If you are experiencing any loss for whatever reason, I would certainly advise you to not hesitate to call and start a program on the Hair Re-Growth Treatment. Do understand, you must give it time to take effect. Give it 6 months and I know you will be thrilled. I have been using the product since 2012 and have no plans to stop the treatment. You must continue with it. If you stop, so will your hair re-growth. But take it from me, seven years later, my hair beautiful and I absolutely swear by this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Can't live without this product!

    • Palmdale, CA,
    • Apr 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Karanique for about 3-4 years. I cannot even think of not using this product every day to every other day. It has given me back a part of me that I thought I would lose forever. It's a great product and the company really is a great place to work with. If you need hair growth then this is your company to deal with you. When (which is not often) there is a problem they are quick to take care of you. I will be using this product until I go home with the Lord.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    My scary situation

    • Texas,
    • Mar 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ALWAYS had thick long hair that ALWAYS got compliments...until one medication made about 2/3s of it fall out within two months time! I don't wash my hair but like 2-3 a week, but with the Keranique, it has filled in the bald spots. I have new growth about six inches in two months time. It's still not as thick as I hope it will be...but I feel much more confident. I believe it's worth every penny! Thanks Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 195

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review