What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

78 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 28 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 1 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 42% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 78
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy trial for free, you will then have to pay anyway

    • Washington DC,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I get this like a gift from an Amazon survey and I didn't like it because it doesn't work, and later they asked me to pay, and I said to them that it was a gift from an Amazon survey and I don't want the product because it doesn't work now. Then I used all the product, and they want me to send back the products. I explain I used all of it and there is nothing to send back, and now they send me letter to pay for the product I used to my credit card, so don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Total rip off

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only bought it because it was a $3.50 trial and with exchange charges, it was $5.15. To be honest, I thought it might be a scam. But I risked the $5.

    To my surprise, it arrived about 4-6 weeks later. It was terrible and made my hair dry, so I only used it once. Then two months later, I noticed $106 was taken out of my account by this company! Total 100% scam. I was so shocked and couldn't afford to lose $106.

    Don't buy it! My rating os less than 1 star, but there was no option for that.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Unfair

    • Arizona,
    • Oct 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    For the free trial, I was asked to pay $3.95 to pay for shipping. However, they charge me for failing to call them to cancel the transaction. I did not open the package until after 30 days. I was so unhappy. If they were only completely honest with conducting their business and claim that their products were real and effective and true to its claim, they would give 3 months at least before their customer can truly say it works.

    I don't think they need to charge their potential customer but to wait until they experience that good results are shown after that free trial, but they ripped me off. Don't be fooled by the free trial and don't provide your account.

    I learned my lesson.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Keranique

    I got Keranique for my wife to use for the first time since most of the "store shelf products" keep making her lose her hair.

    After two deep shampoo treatments and set with Keranique, she is amazed by the gradual improvement of the lost of dandruff and having getting back thicker and healthy hair.

    We recommend Keranique to anyone struggling to find a good hair product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What Keranique has done for me

    I began using Keranique last year after completing a course of chemotherapy for cancer of the colon. I didn't lose too much hair, but Keranique quickly renewed my beautiful tresses. Onto 2017 and my cancer returned. Different meds this time affected my hair loss, however, Keranique helped considerably to prevent total hair loss.

    I know when I complete this round of chemo my hair, with the help of Keranique, will return to its former beauty!

    And I will be well again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Amazing results

    • Charlotte, North Carolina ,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’m so glad I found Keranique. It literally showed results in two weeks times.

    I had been suffering from thyroid and had lost almost most of my luscious thick hair. I tried all kinds of products and medications; I even tried Aveda products for two years. I spent so much money on so many products nothing worked. After eight years I saw the ad for Keranique on the TV and I thought to myself, "why not give this a try?" I’m so happy I ordered Keranique. I can actually see hair growing.

    This product works. I would highly recommend this product to everyone.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Saved my life

    • North Little Rock, Arkansas,
    • Oct 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My experience in using Keranique as a black women has been wonderful because we think it's not for our type of hair. I started using it on September 3, 2017, and I can already see my hair filling in on both temple areas. Now the crown of my head is damaged as well, and there is fuzzy hair that I can see.

    My sister has been using Keranique since January 2017, and I was immediately sold on using the product after seeing her results. Her hair was chemically taken out as well as mine. We both were getting quick weave hairstyles with using hair glue and wearing them too much. Her hair had come out in patches. It took about 4 months, and her hair grew back in her damaged area. I had to buy me the same product. Like I said, it works.

    I'm very excited and cannot wait until December to see just how much regrow I will have. I do have before pictures to show my damage areas.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Kansas,
    • Oct 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hair is looking healthier, fuller, and hydrated. I have been using Keranique for about 6 months, and I am loving the results I get from these products. It takes a little time to see results, but it does work, and you will be happy with the results.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Keranique dry shampoo

    I used the dry shampoo product by Keranique and really liked it. I felt like the product gave more volume to my hair and my scalp wasn't as visible. I do like the product and would recommend it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Keranique

    I am very excited about my new baby hair growth, and it started showing it self sooner than expected.

    I started losing my hair when I was told I had Graves Disease. Along with my eyes bugging out, just what I needed to see was my hair thinning. After the removal of my Thyroid, my hair wasn't coming back so I started using the Keranique system and much to my surprise, within six weeks I started seeing all these little short hairs stick straight up. I can use spray to lay them down, but why? I am so happy to see the new growth that I let them blow in the wind (LOL).

    I know others that have Thyroid issues and even if you are blessed not to have this issue but just thin or hair loss, this is NOT a scam. It may not work as quickly for you, but follow the directions and give it time; IT WORKS. I love Keranique and look forward for my shipments to get to me. Oh yes, it smells great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Have been recommending to my friends

    Great all around experience with this product. My hair feels great, and I have been getting complimented on it, which is a huge confidence booster for me since I have long been self-conscious about my dry and thinning hair. I've recommended it to a few friends already.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 78

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review