What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

166 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 100 4 star: 10 3 star: 6 2 star: 2 1 star:  48
Bottom Line: 67% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 166
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Noticed fast results

    • Missouri,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My hair loss is primarily around edges of my head. I noticed that only after 4-6 weeks I saw hair starting to fill in where there was previously hair loss. I recommend this product. And I am a recent user. If it keeps performing, I am looking forward to showing off my own hair again!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Wow!

    • Georgia,
    • Aug 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Keranique changed my life. I was devastated when I started to notice my hair loss at the top and front of my head. I saw this product on TV and thought I would give it a try, and I am so glad that I did. A woman's hair is her crown and glory and losing it can hurt. I may not get the thickness back, but it is no longer thinning and falling out when in the shower, however, I believe with continuous use of this product the thickness may return. Please give Keranique a try when all else fails, you will not be disappointed.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Shiny and full!

    • Spring Lake, NJ,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried many products that claim to add volume to hair but never found one I really liked until I tried Keranique Thickening and Texturizing Mousse. Most products left my hair looking dull and feeling tacky. Keranique leaves my hair shiny and full of body. I love this product and will definitely buy it again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Avoid!

    • New York,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Keranique products as they recommend for a period of 3 months at least, so on the 4th month when I decided to take a break for a week, my hair on the back of the head just fell off. Half of my head is bald, so I read some other reviews and found many people with the same problem. The moment you stop using it you'll lose your hair, so either use it forever or don’t start this journey...

    I wish I could upload some pics of my baldness...If you really have tiny, damaged hair, don’t use this product, it’s not worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Masha, my name is Sarah, I am a Customer Relations Liaison with Keranique. I am very sorry to hear about your frustrations, our goal is for you to have a rewarding and satisfying experience with Keranique. I would love the opportunity to discuss your experience, usage, and goals with Keranique, so we can work together to resolve your frustrations. Please send an email with your contact information to Keranique@keranique.com. Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Keranique Mask

    • Westtown, NY,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using the Keranique Mask for a few weeks now, and I love the way my scalp feels after the little crystals exfoliate, taking away any buildup and dead cells, allowing my scalp and hair to breathe. I feel this will promote hair growth and reduce hair loss. I would recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Conditioner/mousse review

    • New York,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved using the Keranique Mousse. It was lightweight and helped provide shape and depth without a sense of stickiness or heaviness.

    The conditioner took a little getting used to. The exfoliating factor is not something I've ever experienced in a conditioner....after a few tries, I liked it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Happy hair

    • Melbourne, FL,
    • Aug 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have tried many hair growing techniques for most of my life. Everything that I have ever tried never produced any positive results. Until I tried Keranique. I have been using these products for almost a year now. The results have been amazing for me. My hair is actually growing longer and getting thicker. I have been getting all kinds of compliments about all the hair I have, and how good it looks. My hairdresser can't believe how well it's doing. My confidence is much higher now. I'm so excited about the path I'm on with this product. I almost didn't give it a try, so happy I did. I tell everyone about this. If you haven't tried it, you should, it really works. Thanks Keranique.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Product can't be beaten

    I have been using the Keranique products for the past six months. I'm known to keep changing the texture shine and length of my hair. Plus no split ends. I'm a 67-year-old woman and I color my hair blond. I'm sure it would be all grey if it weren't for coloring. I've never noticed before my color to be so shiny and my hair to be this thick. I'm not hyperbolizing when I say my hair is gotten so thick that one elastic normal elastic band is not sufficient in length to hold my ponytails. I need to custom make my elastics because my hair is so thick and volume. I noticed a change in how shiny it is and split ends.

    I'll never again switch to another product. My favorites are the shampoo and the conditioner and the spray on the lift and repeat treatment. No need for the Aldine product as my hair is so voluptuous. At 67 my hair now is back to looking like it did in my twenties no exaggeration. With the design of the bottles, you get the use of the very last drop of shampoo and conditioner, unlike most other manufacturers. Bravo Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse!

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse for the first time this week and LOVED it! First, the smell is just incredible, and it left my hair looking thick and luscious. I will definitely continue using and would recommend to a friend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    I love my Keranique

    • Grosse Ile Township, MI,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I, like many women my age, need certain medications. One of them can cause hair loss. But it's such an important medication that I can't not take it. I was looking for some help and found Keranique. I love that it helps my hair grow back, but also it makes my hair shiny, healthy looking and silky soft. The easy applicator makes it a quick task to help my hair grow, AND I love the spray. It helps my curls stay curly and also helps my hair look smooth with a soft touch. I will never go without my Keranique.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awesome products!

    • New Jersey,
    • Jul 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am SO happy to have found the Micro-Exfoliating Follicle Revitalizing Mask and the Marula Oil Hair Treatment Mist. As someone with mild dandruff, discovering an exfoliating hair mask had been a lifesaver! Not only has the mask helped to reduce my dandruff, but it leaves my hair feeling healthy and strong. In addition, I have been searching for a long time for a product that would moisturize my hair without leaving it feeling greasy. The Marula Oil Treatment has proven to be the perfect product, as it is non-greasy, very lightweight, and moisturizing! I am truly loving my Keranique products and plan on purchasing more in the future!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 166

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review