What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

178 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 109 4 star: 10 3 star: 7 2 star: 2 1 star:  50
Bottom Line: 69% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 178
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A must buy product

    • Middletown, NY,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I first started using the hair mask about three weeks ago after being recommended to the product by a friend of mine. I use it twice a week as a hair mask before my usual washing routine. This product is amazing! To start off, the product smells heavenly! As I massage it into my scalp, I can feel my hair and scalp getting rejuvenated. After letting it sit for ten minutes, I wash the mask out of my hair and follow on with normal shower routines; shampoo and condition, etc. After using the product for a few weeks, I've noticed less oil build up on my scalp and I feel that my hair stays cleaner longer between washes. Plus, having a reason to give yourself a scalp massage is always a good thing! I love this product, and I love how it makes my hair look and feel!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Keranique Micro-Exfoliating Follicle Revitalizing Mask

    • Highland, NY,
    • Oct 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this product for three months. My result is my hair got stronger and had less shedding. But my parts are still wide.

    I had chemotherapy 9 years ago, so I am not sure this can help, but I still try it.

    It stimulates my scalp and it feels cool.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Leila, my name is Sarah, I am a customer relations liaison with Keranique. We are so happy your hair is stronger from using the Micro-exfoliating Revitalizing Mask, but it sounds as if what you are really looking for is hair regrowth to fill in your part. While our mask is great for hair and scalp health, it does not regrow hair. The good news is that we do have a solution for you! Our Hair Regrowth Systems are clinically proven to regrow hair. If you write to me at keranique@keranique.com I can match you and your hair type with the right products. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Hair loss

    • Australia,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been looking for anything I could use to regrow my hair. It started to get very thin and was falling out. I got to the stage where I was going to buy a wig, I was so depressed. Then I tried Keranique. I've been using this now for a couple of months and I DO have new hair growing. Also, there is hardly any hair in my brush. Now I am so happy. I am going to use this treatment for the rest of my life. I love it and will tell everyone how good this is. If used as directed, it does work.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 15, 2018

      Margie Z.

      Do you wash your hair every day or every other day?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    I have been getting so many compliments!

    • Washington, DC,
    • Oct 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had thin and slow growing hair my whole life, I have noticed a change after using Keranique. It feels great, not only do I notice how much fuller my hair is, but my friends and family are also noticing.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    • Windsor, NY,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Marula Oil Hair Mist really made a difference to my hair. I used it before blow drying and it kept my hair feeling soft. I do want to note, a little goes a long way, which isn’t a bad thing, but other users should keep in mind! Otherwise, a great hair product and I definitely look forward to trying out some other products by Keranique.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Just the product I’ve been looking for!

    • Warwick, RI,
    • Sep 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been living in Rhode Island for a year and seven months now, and I think with all of the stress and change I experienced since, my hair has taken the hit. I feel like my hair couldn’t get used to the water and salt in the air here, and I just couldn’t get my hair right when I would try to style it. I tried a couple of different shampoos and conditioners before I found Keranique, and since using it twice a week as directed, my hair feels smoother, more lively, less frizzy, my scalp less itchy, and just overall, I am feeling happier with my hair. I definitely recommend this product to anyone who needs to find something that works to revitalize their hair!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Totally blown away!

    • Illinois,
    • Sep 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started noticing my hair shedding and receding about 12 years ago. I have at least a 1 and 1/2 inch of receding on the frontal portion of my hairline and a few bald spots on the right side of my head.

    I was up in the middle of the night and the Keranique commercial came on. I said, "I'm going to try this." I'm so glad I did! This is no lie! Within a week (SEVEN DAYS) from initial use, I noticed NEW HAIR where there was NONE since 12 years prior! NEW FREAKING HAIR. The hair on my temple is now back!

    I ran out of the treatment and just called in today so see when it will arrive. I don't want to stop whatever process the treatment is doing to get my hair to grow back in such a short period of time. I am looking forward to the next few months to see what type of growth I will have. I'm so glad that I took the chance with this product. Thank you for Keranique!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Scam!

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Sep 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company, Keranique, has taken hundreds of dollars out of my account even after I sent the product back. I have repeatedly told them to stop taking my money but they won't reply to any of my emails or calls! Don’t do it, it’s a scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 15, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Joanna, we are very sorry to hear about your experience. My name is Sarah, I am a Customer Relations Liaison and we want you to know that your satisfaction is very important to us. We would love to have the opportunity to rectify your overall experience with Keranique. Please send an email with your customer information to keranique@keranique.com so I can look into this further, and work to resolve your frustrations for you. Thank you

    • Oct 17, 2018

      Judy B.

      The packaging sucks. The sprayer quit working after one use. And the container for the finishing spray was so difficult to open, I spilled it on my carpet.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Do not use

    • Florida,
    • Sep 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Keranique products as they recommend for a period of three months at least. I decided to take a break, and now my hair is falling, I thought it was from my shampoo, so I read some other reviews and found many people with the same problem. The moment you stop using it you'll lose your hair.

    Don’t use this product; it’s not worth it!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 18, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Megs, my name is Sarah, I am a Customer Relations Liaison from Keranique. Remember, hair loss is ongoing, similar to working out. You can't work out for a month and expect the results to last a year. Keranique or other products that are designed to repair and regrow your hair must be used consistently to sustain newly growing hair. Once you stop using Keranique Regrowth Treatment with 2% Minoxidil, your hair will revert to its original state over time, resulting in shedding the new hair.

      We understand that hair loss can be devastating, which is why we are here to support you through your hair care journey to achieve your hair goals. We would love the opportunity to discuss your experience, usage, and goals with Keranique. To better assist you, please send us an email with your contact information to Keranique@Keranique.com. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we hope to have the opportunity to better assist you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Skeptic to believer

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I experienced some hair loss in one spot that was very traumatic a few months ago and started researching products for hair loss and ran across Keranique. At first I was very skeptical but used it faithfully for 3 months and to my surprise, I had new regrowth. I have before and after photos. When I show people the pics, they are very surprised by the results. My hair is now thicker and stronger than ever. I’m a happy customer!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Getting results

    • Florida,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've only been using this product for a short time, like three weeks and people are commenting on my hair looking much fuller and more beautiful. I only have thinning hair but I also have one spot at my part, which is getting a little sparse.

    I cannot say enough good things about this product, it is really quite The Miracle Worker.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 178

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review