What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

109 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 59 4 star: 3 3 star: 4 2 star: 1 1 star:  42
Bottom Line: 57% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 109
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    I was losing my hair, which is fine and thin to begin with. I had at least three bald spots. I began using this product early spring 2017. My hair was so bad that I wore a wig when I left home. After 2-3 months I began to see a big difference. New hair was coming in all over. My hair-dresser was amazed how much new hair I was getting. New hair is still coming in. My hair is getting thicker and I have no more bald spots.

    Bottom line: Keranique is the best product for thinning hair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    The product made my hair fall out by the handfuls

    I have been battling with this company since September when my hair started falling out by the handfuls, which I've collected in a Ziploc baggie. I've got nothing but the run-around. The crazy part is they're trying to make it like it's my fault that their product caused my hair to fall out.

    I submitted paperwork with pictures to back up my claims. I requested a settlement for my pain and suffering. I am looking for anybody that has had the same experience to file a class action lawsuit against the company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2018

      Sami Callaghan

      Hi Bessie. I too have had the same problem as you. I have kept my hair that has fallen out, in a container at home. I just called, yet again, after being on hold for over 40 minutes and then the call just ‘cutting out'. This time the person I spoke to was so rude, still tried to sell me on other products. And then told me that I owe them even more money, even though they debited my account only four days ago!

      It’s unbelievable how much hair has fallen out. Never in 30 years has my hair just fallen out of my scalp like this. I am MORE than willing to join you in trying to stop this scam, a so-called ‘business’.

      If you would like to contact me personally, my email is sami.callaghan88 [at] gmail.com.

      Look forward to speaking with you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Saint Paul, MN,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Keranique has helped me not worry about my thinning hair! It feels better, it looks better, and people have noticed! The vitamins are wonderful, and their customer service is kind and respectful of my time. I have turned one sister on to Keranique and will probably be a customer for life!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Bad product!

    I have grown more hair on my backside! I started losing more hair "BY THE HANDFULL" within a week! I wanted to give it a chance, so I used it for three more weeks. I have lost A LOT of hair! My hair is significantly thinner than before starting with this product. Do NOT buy this!

    If I could give ZERO stars, I would!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    This product works as long as you follow all the steps

    • 1101 ELM Ave apt 210 Long Beach Ca 90813,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Before Keranique I was being treated with medicine and shots. And then I say their ad many times in the last two years. But I was not sure that it would work for me. I tried it for the first time last year in mid-November 2017. It does work, but it takes time for this product to show results. Within two months, my hair began to grow. It was slow at first, but you have to be patient and you will see growth like I did. It really surprised me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great product

    My hair was getting thin on the top, and I had always had a full head of hair. I was told by my doctor and my dermatologist that it was hereditary and nothing could be done. When I saw Keranique advertised I thought I would give it a try. Couldn't hurt, right?

    It's been five months and I am seeing growth around my hairline and some on the crown of my head. I can't say how happy I am. I am hoping with time that it will continue to thicken. The shampoo and conditioner leave my hair full and manageable. I have been happy with all the product that I have used to date.

    Also, the customer service is the best. They have been so helpful with any questions that may arise. Great products. A+ rating.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Wow

    I kept seeing Keranique on Facebook, but I read all about it and didn't buy it. I thought it was too expensive. However, seeing my hair was depressing; it was so flat, I had to tease it every day to make a bigger hairstyle. I get my hair done twice a week with my hairdresser, and she wasn't happy it was thinning and was dry. I decided "all right, I'll give it a try."

    I sent for it, and my hairdresser used the whole set, she did it every time I went to her. I didn't trust what I saw, but it was shiny, it felt like I had more hair, and that blew me away, that something actually did what it advertised! I had a very wispy fringe (bangs) and now I have a lovely fringe all the way down to my eyebrows! I just love it and have told several friends how good it is. Thank you for making a product that actually works!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Losing hair

    It's been at least 7 or 8 months that I have been using this product. Before I started using it, I had bald spots and my hair would just break off. I tried everything and nothing worked.

    I came across the ad for Keranigue treatment, so I decided to give it a try. Well, 7 to 8 months later, I am so glad that I tried it because my hair has never looked better or healthier. I now have new hair growing where the bald spots were, and the comb they send you with the treatment does not break your hair off.

    Thank you so much for this product. My hair now is long and beautiful and I have never been happier than I am right now. So again thank you so much.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Love Keranique!

    • New Jersey,
    • Jan 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Keranique has helped my hair regrow in such a small amount of time. When I faithfully use Keranique, it does the job. I am extremely satisfied with my results and will continue to use Keranique.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    A must in hair care

    I love Keranique! My stylist sees new hair growth every time I see her, every three weeks. The products smell wonderful. The product you spray on your hair does not feel stiff and/or sticky. Other products I’ve used for hair thinning have left my hair feel stiff and sticky. My hair overall looks so much healthier. It’s thicker and styles so nicely. The company is wonderful with whom to work. They will answer any question 24/7 with complete kindness and helpfulness. I highly recommend this product for great looking hair.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Can't use!

    • Tennessee,
    • Jan 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received my first shipment of the Keranique system. It's a good thing I thoroughly read the instruction sheet.

    Beware, people! If you have HEART DISEASE, as I have, do not use this! It could cause chest pain, rapid heartbeat, faintness, and dizziness!

    Also, it says DON'T USE if: No family history of hair loss and you do not know the reason for hair loss. That's me also!

    It's a shame that they don't reveal these facts BEFORE you buy their system! It will cost me so much postage to return the box that I might as well keep it, but I've wasted my money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 19, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Imogene, my name is Sarah Tuttle. I am a customer relations liaison from Keranique. We are sorry to hear about your experience. As it is our goal for you to have a rewarding and positive experience with our products and our services, I would love the opportunity to speak with you regarding the products and work together to make find a positive resolution. Please send an email with your contact information to keranique@keranique.com. Thank you.

    • Feb 13, 2018

      Debbie Cox

      I have been using these products for approximately five months. I think my hair is improving. It feels like it has more body. I have been wearing a wig for about seven years because of my thin hair. I am so self-conscious of my thin hair. I'm still wearing my wig because it still looks very thin, but it feels better. I want to continue to use this product.

      I saw a comment about heart rate. I'm concerned about this. My heart is having problems, my heart rate is too high for about two months now. I'm having a nuclear stress test in the morning and had a heart monitor for two weeks. I hope these products are not causing these heart problems that I'm having.

      I'm following the directions and want to continue these products. I know it takes time for these products to work and I do have hope that this will help me feel good about myself. I was also wondering if I could use hair color on my hair?

    • Feb 16, 2018

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Debbie, my name is Sarah, I am a Customer Relations Liaison from Keranique. Thank you for using Keranique. If you are under a doctor’s care, it is important to inform your physician of your Minoxidil usage, as you would with any medication. If your doctor recommends stopping Minoxidil, we offer a Minoxidil alternative which you may share with your doctor. Our Keranique Follicle Boosting Serum is a drug and alcohol-free ultra-lightweight daily treatment serum that was developed to support scalp health and nourish your hair follicles. Use every day to promote the appearance of thicker, visibly-volumized and fuller-looking hair.

      Keranique is gentle enough for chemically or color-treated hair. We recommend skipping Keranique the day before, the day of, and the day after you color-treat your hair. In addition, we offer a shampoo and conditioning color boosting formula designed to reduce color loss and protect from fading while nourishing the scalp and follicle, leaving your hair stronger and more vibrant. Please send an email to Keranique@keranique.com so we can better customize your Keranique System.

      Thank you.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 109

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review