What Is Keranique?

Keranique is a line of hair treatment products that promises an over-the-counter solution to thinning hair and female pattern baldness. The company claims that their Hair Regrowth Treatment contains the only available FDA-approved ingredient to regrow women’s hair, and is clinically proven.

Stating that hair loss is a natural part of the aging process, Keranique claims that their treatments thicken existing hair, fortify follicles, and encourage regrowth in just 120 days.

How Keranique Claims to Work

Keranique is intended to be used as a three-step treatment:

Step 1: Cleanse & Condition For Healthy Hair

Keranique Scalp Stimulating Shampoo is a sulfate-free, paraben-free, and dye-free formula that includes keratin and ceramides, which company claims can promote hair and scalp health and result in stronger, thicker hair. The shampoo also claims to reduce buildup while promoting microcirculation.

The accompanying Volumizing Keratin Conditioner also includes keratin, and promises "body, dimension, and volume,” while containing a specialty protein that serves to stabilize the hair fiber, preventing breakage.

Step 2: Re-Grow Your Hair

Especially designed for women, since it’s important that they use the appropriate strength, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment features 2% Minoxidil and promises “a serious solution to hair loss.” When used twice daily, we’re told this occurs by "promoting oxygen, blood, and nutrients to the hair follicles to make them stronger and help regrow hair."

Important note: While traditional droppers are still available through customer service or at retail locations, Keranique now provides an “Easy Precision Sprayer” in all of its kits. The company claims this exclusive feature is better at directing the product to treatment areas.

The company states that just as hair loss occurs over time and is a process, so too is hair regrowth, although they emphasize that hair regrowth can be typically seen in as little as four months.

Users should be aware that if the treatment is discontinued, normal hair loss will resume. Keranique also urges anyone suffering from a disease of the heart and blood vessels, or skin disease of the scalp, to consult with their doctor before using Minoxidil products.

Step 3: Protect & Style

Keranique offers two different styling products that promise to help hair look thicker, fuller, and healthier:

Protect & Style Option 1:

Included in Keranique’s kits (both those sold on TV and online) is the Lift and Repair Treatment Spray, which is described as an easy-to-use product that adds instant body and bounce, protects hair from high humidity, and prevents frizz and flyaway for 24 hours.

Keranique claims the Lift and Repair Treatment is clinically proven in one application to mend 96 percent of split ends, while also preventing breakage. It can be used for blow-drying, holding, and setting, as well as protecting, controlling and finishing any style. It will also help improve the strength of dry, weak, and thinning hair.

Protect & Style Option 2:

Also available on their website or at retail locations, the Keranique Thickening & Texturizing Mousse promises to protect hair from heated styling tools that cause dullness, breakage, and damage. The company claims that their mousse incorporates flexible and substantive polymers to maintain body and hold without stiffness, and leave hair smoother to the touch, without weighing it down.

Does Keranique Work?

Keranique’s sulfate-free shampoo, conditioner, and styling products do not appear to contain any unique ingredients that regrow hair. However, the company claims all of its products are specifically designed for women with thinning hair or hair loss.

For example, their shampoo and conditioner include peppermint oil that will create a tingling sensation not found in other products, which the company claims is an indication of increased microcirculation. The company also states their shampoo and conditioner contain a blend of gentle anionics, along with nonionic Decyl Glucoside, which provides non-surfactant moisturization.

Keranique also indicates that its gel-based conditioner features a lighter weight than traditional cream-based conditioners, thus creating increased volume for women with thinning hair.

Finally, according to sites like the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the product in Step 2 is the only one to include ingredients proven to combat hair loss.

Specifically, 2% Minoxidil is the only FDA-approved ingredient clinically shown to regrow women’s hair. However, it’s not unique to Keranique. The same concentration can be found in generic products that could cost less when bought in bulk.

It’s also important to note here that only Minoxidil is FDA-approved; not Keranique itself. With this said, the company emphasizes they’re the only one with an approved sprayer for targeted application to treatment areas.

Keranique’s Pricing & Refund Policy

Keranique’s products can be purchased through two different offers:

30-Day Risk-Free Trial Offer

On the system’s website, a two-month supply is available through a 30-day risk-free trial, less $3.95 for shipping and processing.

Those who don’t return their risk-free trial within 30 days (whether by phone, email, or through the Keranique online portal) will be billed two installments of $79.95, 30-days and 60-days after shipment, totaling $159.90. Separate state and local taxes may also apply.

These customers will also be enrolled in the company’s autoship program, which means you will continue receiving a two-month supply of their products every 60 days, and your credit card will be charged $79.95 each month, plus $7.95 shipping and processing.

Keranique Infomercial Offer

The company also offers a four-piece 30-day kit in its 30-minute infomercial at a discounted price of $49.95. The same kit, as well as individual products, can also be found at national retail chains such as ULTA, although consumers will receive some additional free gifts when ordering direct.

Going this route, after the initial 30-day supply, you will receive a 90-day ‘seasonal supply,’ which will be billed in three installments of $49.95, plus one charge of $9.95 for shipping and processing. You will continue receiving a new seasonal supply every 90 days thereafter.

Every shipment of this 90-day season supply comes with a 120-day money back guarantee, less S&H. In comparison, risk-free trial customers have 30-days to contact customer service via 1-888-237-4131, email, or via an online portal, and return their product to avoid being billed further.

If you’re interested in trying Keranique, the individual products can also be found at Amazon through a variety of sellers, and occasionally at a discount.

What Are Customers Saying About Keranique?

Since writing our original article, close to 80 HighYa readers had provided feedback about their experiences with Keranique, giving them an average rating of two stars. Many seemed to be pleased with their thicker, fuller hair, while common complaints related to less-than-expected results and high prices.

On Amazon, Keranique’s Clean and Condition Set and Scalp Stimulating Shampoo had a combined total of more than 700 customer reviews, with a higher average rating of about four stars. We encountered many of the same compliments and complaints found on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Keranique has been in business since 2009 and held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, with nine reviews and nearly 200 closed complaints as of 9/14/17. No details were available.

Our Bottom Line About Keranique

For those looking to regrow their thinning hair, Keranique Hair Regrowth Treatment does contain Minoxidil, which has been proven to work, even in cases of hereditary baldness. However, Minoxidil has been approved by the FDA for almost two decades and is readily available in many other products that might provide the same benefits as Keranique, but at a lower cost and without risk-free trials and autoship enrollment.

With that said, Keranique is a well-established company and is sold in retailers like ULTA and Sephora, and online at Nordstrom.com. They claim to have treated over one million women for thinning hair and hair loss, and we believe that their open line of communication with us goes a long way toward indicating their commitment to helping customers have positive support experiences.

Article last updated on Sep 25, 2017

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

135 Consumer Reviews for Keranique

Average Consumer Rating: 3.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 79 4 star: 5 3 star: 5 2 star: 2 1 star:  44
Bottom Line: 63% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 135
Sort reviews by:

  • 96 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Keranique fraud

    • Midland, TX,
    • Nov 30, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well to start off, the shampoo and conditioner caused a lot of breakage to my hair, it made my hair extremely dry. The vitamins made me extremely tired and fatigue. And regrow solution would burn and cause dandruff in the spot I put it on. When I stopped using the product, my hair started falling out triple the times. Products are a fraud and not worth a penny that they cost. I paid a lot for nothing and customer service is the worst and no help. I asked for a refund, I simply got a "keep trying it and it will work." Never buy this product, you're probably better of with cheaper hair stuff. Oh and let's not forget how they kept charging my account after canceling the order and filling bank disputes. Frustrating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 92 out 95 people found this review helpful

    Keranique review

    • New York,
    • Feb 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received the product and used it for one month. Within the 3rd week, I was noticing that my hair was thinning even more.

    The product didn't work for me, it made my situation even worse. I followed the steps that I needed to follow in order to make my hair regrow and make it look thicker. And throughout all of this time spent on the product, it completely made my hair look thinner and more fragile looking. Now I look much older because it looks like I'm losing my hair.

    I didn't even waste my time calling their customer service to ask for my money back because they can shove my money up their butt. I just want to warn everyone about this product and to put Keranique on blast, and also to make sure that they don't get anyone else's money.

    Save yourself. Don't waste your time and save whatever hair you have.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 90 out 92 people found this review helpful

    Would never order based on the sales call rep's extremely rude demeanor.

    • Washington DC,
    • Jan 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was looking on the market for a hair loss product for my mom and Keranique came up. I was literally on the first page of the website and entered my name, email, address and phone number but never continued to the next page or saved my information. I went on to read reviews before I continued and was completely appalled by all the horror stories. I immediately exited the page and looked for the nearest drug store for Rogaine (recommended product with a higher concentration of the same active ingredient as Keranique-Minoxidil).

    Five, literally five minutes later I received a cell call from the Keranique rep who went on to try and sell me on the product. I stated my concerns, and he told me that if I have any questions after I received the product to call customer service. I then explained the Rogaine comparison concerns, and he responded the same way, all the while pushing me to give him my card info. I said that I was not interested and he said: "If you cannot afford the product today then I will allow you to enter the free trial, paying only shipping and handling".

    I said again, thank you, but I'm not interested, and before I could finish that statement he confirmed my mailing address and said that once the product arrived that I should forward all concerns to customer service. He then asked me for my card number for the fourth time. I said I'm going to decline. He said, " I don't understand, I'm sure you have bald or thinning hair, why aren't we placing your order?" I said it's actually not for me.

    I was mortified. How can they expect my business if the call just to promote me to buy has gone so horribly? I can only imagine if I were an unsatisfied customer. Heck NO. I would NOT recommend calling them, let alone giving them business! Beware, beware, beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 89 out 91 people found this review helpful

    Not for everyone

    • New York,
    • Feb 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the line of products because I have hair loss at the front my hair on the left-hand side. I didn't expect any results in a short space of time, however, my entire head of hair started thinning. So where I did not have any issues, I now have.

    This product made my hair worse. Maybe it is not for everyone.

    What was disappointing to me was that I had to pay to return the products. They do not offer return labels. Also, when you call to cancel, they try to sell you other products and try to convince you to pay the remaining amount for the three months supply to cancel and keep what you have.

    I am not convinced that this product works as they say it should. Now I have to try something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 13, 2017

      Keranique Support, Customer Relations Liaison

      Hi Nicky, this is not unusual, hair shedding at the beginning of the treatment may happen to a small percentage of users. It’s temporary (usually lasting from 2-6 weeks at most), and this can actually indicate that Keranique® is working. So it’s really a good sign.

      Hair grows slowly on average hair grows about ½ inch per month. It has to emerge from the follicle before it grows from the scalp, so there will be a short period of 3-4 months before you will begin to see a visible difference. As the Keranique® Hair Regrowth Treatment with 2% Minoxidil begins to take effect and regrow hair, it is important to realize that it can also help stop further hair loss by revitalizing and stimulating hair follicles.

      Please contact us at keranique@keranqiue.com with a contact number and we will be happy to provide you with options that may meet your needs.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 89 out 89 people found this review helpful

    It is not a MIRACLE

    I ordered the set to try it out. Was completely compliant as far as following directions and continued until all of the "sample" was finished. Being an older woman (62), used and abused my hair when I was younger, graying and medication making my hair thin/ fine and hard to handle. I guess I was expecting that the company would be honest. We all need to find out through our own mistakes what works for each individual, but hoping for more than just honesty works for me. Companies that offer the moon, knowing full well that their product may not fit each person exactly, is a company I will avoid. Keranique made my hair oily, which it is normally, took the color out and did nothing for giving me "Regrowth", Thicker and Fuller" hair. I also did not get my money back after the promised 100% risk-free trial. Maybe it would work if I put more money and time (like a year of product). Do not promise something to everyone after 6 weeks. I should have known better.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 89 out 90 people found this review helpful

    Don't do it!

    • Texas,
    • Mar 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Zero stars was not an option.

    As any woman knows, it is not socially acceptable to lose your hair. It also crushes our self-esteem when it happens. Keranique plays upon these feelings.

    But their products are a complete joke! They don't tell you what is in their hair regrowth serum. It is simply Rogaine, the woman's version. (If you are post-menopausal, the men's 5% solution is ok to use.) The shampoo and conditioner are fine I guess, but I think you get better products at your pharmacy or grocery store.

    THIS is the biggest joke. The "thickening" leave-in spray is NOT a leave-in conditioner. Having wavy hair, hair sprayI had to rinse it out just to comb out my wet hair. It was as if I had sprayed hairspray into my hair instead. So basically, it pulled hair OUT, which makes sense! Tangled hair is always bigger.

    Last joke on you; it is NOT a free trial. You pay for shipping (twice). When you realize you have been tricked and want to cancel, they want you to gather all the bottles and such and pay out of pocket to ship them back. BUT they offer a simple, easy way out by paying about $40 to "keep products as used and pay for them," to make it easier on you.

    Please do not buy these products

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 84 out 88 people found this review helpful

    SCAM, beware.

    I ordered this product after I got email from Amazon. I ordered free trial for which they said that i only have to pay for shipping which is around $3.98. And I got the product. After few days I got an email from them that they will charge $84 for next supply. So I called them and they sent me through product cancellation automatic system. I canceled my account and after cancellation they said I will be charged $35.90 for the products I got in free trials and then the call got disconnected.

    Then I again called customer service and product manager talked with me. Her name was Dianna or Dona and she literally shouted on me when I was trying to talk with her about my purchase. I asked her for refund and she said that they don't want my product back and that's why they are charging my card. When I was angry again and I asked her to transfer me to her superior, she said that she is offering me a refund now. When I checked my debit card they have already charged me $35 for this product plus 3 transaction of $1. I still don't understand why they charged me for those 3$ . Please ladies, beware of this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 83 out 85 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Texas,
    • Dec 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I thought I was getting a free sample and I just had to pay $3.00 for shipping, with no strings attached. But instead, I received the full size products and then my account is charged $79.95 two weeks later. And off course when ordering your "free sample" there is a small print that says I'm responsible for return shipping. I called the company and was told that in the package there is a notification that my account will be charged - my problem is that I haven't opened the package yet. But they were quick to charge my account the $79.95.

    The customer service was quick to bargain and was rude.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 76 out 76 people found this review helpful

    Fraud Doesn't Work

    I bought this product in October of 2016. The product does not grow your hair. Instead of growing, it shredded my hair and thinned it out really bad. I don't advise any one to buy this product seriously.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 75 people found this review helpful

    You will be sorry.

    • Brooklyn, New York,
    • Jul 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the FREE trial and only paid the shipping. Before I got the package, I called in to cancel future shipments and they canceled it for me. But then I kept getting emails that they were going to charge my card $80 and I was so confused so I called them and I asked them about it and the lady told me the payment was $297. First off, they lied to me and were planning to take out more money than they said. And second, the lady was trying to tell me I had to pay $297 for a FREE TRIAL. I didn't get a second box or anything, they were making me pay for the first box which was supposed to be free. So I canceled my card and got a new one before they even got a chance to scam me. Ladies, you should do the same.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2017

      Nguyễn Yến

      I wish I would have seen these comments before I ordered from this website. They scam their customers. I had to close my bank account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 73 out 74 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product, even a worse company experience

    • Sep 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered their free trial which only charges you for shipping. This they make very clear, along with all of the things the product is supposed to do for your hair. My hair felt more damaged than ever while using this product and I gladly went back to the brand I was using before.

    I received an email saying my free trial time was coming to a close, and they provided a link that took you to a page that gave you 3 options to choose from towards what step you would like to take next to the product.

    I cancelled it, expecting to only be charged to keep my product. Come to find out, you're supposed to call them, and they charge you full price, divided up into a couple of payments, for the whole product. When I tried to argue them on it, they were incredibly rude and condescending.

    Never again would I buy this product or recommend it to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 31, 2016

      cai

      Hi,

      I've had the same experience. It's infuriating when you're asked to pay for a product that does no good for your hair. And the customer service was rude, as if they were the ones scammed by this product.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 135

Write a Review for Keranique!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review